You are masquerading as ! (switch back)
| REVIEWS |
 
| MY BAG
 

FREE SHIPPING + INSURANCE
What's this?

Rent like a PRO all year long! One year of
free shipping & insurance. Plus, we'll throw in
a free birthday dress. Learn More

Our Runway
What's New
Dresses
Accessories
Occasions
Designers
Stores
Blog
Astonishing Amethyst Gown
Rental $110 Retail $795
info
  • Stylist Notes
  • Product Details
  • Size & Fit
Exquisite and breathtaking! Rent this Nicole Miller Astonishing Amethyst Gown and pair with Chamak's Black Ice Bangle Set and Dannijo's Ismene Bib Necklace to finalize the look.
Chat with a Stylist
Purple silk chiffon. Sweetheart neckline. Ruched bodice. Draping detail from waist to hip. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip.
Chat with a Stylist
This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted in bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout bodice; ruching augments lower abdomen - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Very fitted - very fitted just below hips then becomes looser at thigh
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 sizes (Regular, Long): Regular for heights 5'3" to 5'6" (measures 59" shoulder to hem)- Long for heights 5'6" and taller (measures 62" shoulder to hem)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; dress has boning in bodice
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10'')

Chat with a Stylist
This style is currently unavailable.
Shop all dresses
Got A Minute? Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Photos41

0 Reviews from women like you:

Enter more for better results

Brenda
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Body type: Straight & narrow
Canonical User Type: 6541
Dec 28, 2012
Loved it!
Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Got tons of compliments!
Dawn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165 lbs
Canonical User Type: 8433
Nov 22, 2012
It was a great dress but I should have gotten the size 10.
Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
When it came it does need to be steamed. You can tell that the dress has been worn many times but for such a beautiful dress it is worth it. The only con I have for it is the top. It does need double sided tape.
Lupearelis
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 8333
Nov 12, 2012
Dress was a beautiful color.
Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I love the way this dress looked on the screen. And chose this dress for my formal event. Unfortunately when I got it, both my size and backup size were damaged. It was also very difficult to figure out how the dress was put on. Lovely dress, but I went with another one I had rented instead.
Heather
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7634
Oct 22, 2012
Pretty but too tight around the bust
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress would have been very pretty but I couldn't get it zipped up over my bust. There is NO give in it on that count. This was a size 8, and I consider myself to be a 6 or 8 depending on the cut. Ironically, my back-up style fit perfectly as a size 6 and the size 8 was too roomy and too long. So you have to pay careful attention to the notes by raters and the discussion with a stylist was very helpful. Also, be prepared to do a lot of steaming of this dress. Very carefully packaged, but it is just the type of material that wrinkles if you look at it.
Marissa
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Body type: Full Bust
Canonical User Type: 6441
Oct 17, 2012
Absolutely loved this dress!!
Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was beyound amazing! Got so many compliments all night!! I would definitely recommend renting this dress!
Tambre
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7433
Oct 13, 2012
Great service and fast delivery
Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Not ideal if you have wider hips, but lovely color
Susan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5533
Oct 8, 2012
Too complicated of a dress for me
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I am so glad I ordered a back-up dress, because this dress definitely looks a lot better on the model. There are two pieces or straps that are hanging off the dress, and everyone who saw it were confused as to how there were supposed to lay on the dress. Girls who are curvy - this is not the dress for you. The cut stops right at the hips, and there is NO give or stretch, so if you're an hourglass or a little fuller on the bottom - this will not work for you. Lastly, this dress comes very very wrinkled. Be prepared to have a steamer with you. There are so many layers of fabric, ironing it will be difficult.
Chrissy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 100 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2424
Oct 3, 2012
Elegant gown sure made a statement!
Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress as my talent gown while I sang. It fit beautifully and even though I'm petite (5'2) the drop-waist didn't shorten me at all. Very comfortable and looked wonderful onstage.
Rhm
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5633
Sep 20, 2012
Belle of the ball.
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Pretty but seemed a bit worn. Shirring and draping are probably more flattering on someone less curvy.
Maria
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3533
Sep 12, 2012
Beautiful Dress
Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great Dress; however, it arrived rather wrinkled and was tough to steam. It is a beautiful dress with a great cut. I am 5'6 and the dress was a little long so just make sure you take that into account.
angel
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 8431
Aug 28, 2012
purple, cleavage disaster.
Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I had high expectations with this dress. I had ordered it for my friends' wedding, and even had it steamed the morning of. When I went to put it on, even with my strapless bra, the top of the dress would not stay up.
Brynn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 114 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2443
Aug 21, 2012
Way too big
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented the 2 and the 4. The dress was so so big I could barely try it on to see exactly what it would look like on me. Also, It sits very weird on the hips. Luckily I ordered a back up dress that I loved. Love RTR for that! The only thing I say positive about the dress is the color is very pretty.
Aubrey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4433
Aug 20, 2012
Weird fit
Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I had this shipped to me as an alternate because the other dress I requested didn't have the second size I requested. You have to have a certain shape for this to look good. The bottom of the drap wraps around weird and didn't fit right. I think this dress would look the best on a curvy figure.
Kizzy
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4543
Aug 20, 2012
Great Dress Too Short
Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to a Mardi Gras ball. The color was vibrant and perfect for the occasion. I typically have to order longer lengths due to my height but I was unable to wear normal high heels (3 1/2 inch) because it was too short. I had to wear a very low heel for the dress to even touch the floor.
nancy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 136 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5434
Aug 14, 2012
not what it seems
Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
this dress arrived and i was excited to open the package because my pass rentals were great. i was disapointed. the dress ran really small in the bust (im a 32DD) and it didnt look like the picture. it also had some wear and tear to it. would not recommend this if u have a bust bigger than a B cup.
Megan
Age: 23
Canonical User Type: 1311
Aug 14, 2012
dress needs to be replaced
Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I received the 0 and it somewhat fit. the top of the dress where the 'glue' was to help keep it was was flipping over and the boning was bent in a strange way, facing out. It obviously had been worn which I expected from a rental dress, but the dress was too worn where it looked 'frumpy'. I was very upset since it had come the day before the military ball and had to go out and buy a $200 dress and then had to wait for my credit to rtr which I wont use on a dress since I wasnt happy with what I got.
ramona
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 7524
Aug 13, 2012
Beautiful
Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress so much but it was too small, so I couldn't wear it, the replacement I got was equally as beautiful but I was still a little disappointed.
Avalon
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3333
Aug 10, 2012
Amazing Dress!!
Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for a formal affair and absolutely loved it! I received complements all night from everyone, including strangers!!! Such a good decision :)
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4132
Jul 30, 2012
Beautiful!
Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my back-up dress so I did not end up wearing it, but I really liked it! Gorgeous fit... and I am very hippy yet this hid it well. The built-in bra was extremely comfortable! The only negative i saw was that all the ruching and draping fabric around the middle seemed to add a bit to my waistline, though maybe for some if you were trying to camoflage a tummy it could work....
L
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 5433
May 1, 2012
Not the best
Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered this dress in two different sizes just in case. I can say that it is true to size and I liked the built in bra feature. However, it just looked awkward after it was on. The extra fabric in the front just made me look bigger in the front and the back. I would only suggest this dress if you are really skinny and have no curves at all. Luckily I had also gotten a back up dress from RTR which turned out perfect!
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6443
Apr 22, 2012
Disappointing 1st rental
Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was great and I was very happy with the fit and length. Being so tall, it's tough to find full length gowns that reach the floor. But other than that, I am pretty disappointed with my first RTR rental. The dress was very very worn. Actually, I had to sew the boning back into the dress since it was fully sticking out on the inside and dug into my side. There were also obvious snags all over the top of the left breast. I feel like once certain dresses get to such a worn state, that they should not be rented anymore. I will not pay $100 to rent a dress again unless I know the condition of the dress is truly up to par. I hope in the future that dresses are inspected better before being sent out to the next renter.
Danna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 47
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 8641
Apr 17, 2012
Beautiful Color
Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress I received had seen better days. I worked for about an hour to get the wrinkles out, and still missed some right down the front. The two loose pieces that crisscross the dress in the middle were almost impossible to get looking the right way and the top of edge the dress kept flipping down to show the seam. I tried the tape with it, but it didn't help. The color was beautiful, luckily the place I was at was a bit dim, so maybe no one else noticed that I was working with the dress all night.
Emy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7533
Feb 26, 2012
Beautiful Dress
Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This is the original dress I was going to wear. I went with 8R and 12R I'm normally between 8-10. 8R fit and was wearable but I had the upper muffin top hanging out so tried on the 12R which was a bit loose but did the job, until I noticed it was torn in the back wear one of the criss-cross fabric connects to the dress. Looked at the 8R and it was also torn in the same spot on the other side and had 2 stains right wear your bottom would be. Called customer service and they where AWESOME to overnight me another dress (Theia-Navy Taffeta Ruched). Beautiful Dress but didn't get to use.
phaty
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4544
Jan 20, 2012
beautiful dress
Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I was concerned about the length of the dress, but even wearing 4 inche heels it was still floor length. The dress looked beautiful and i got compliments all night! A must rent
blair
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2533
Jan 4, 2012
pretty dress!
Size worn: 0L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Dress fit well in the chest because of the built in bra but was a little loose around my hips (I have small hips and rear). I ended up wearing the backup dress I'd ordered. Plenty of length in the 0L, and the color would have been great for someone a little less pale.
AK
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3433
Jan 3, 2012
Amazing!
Size worn: 0L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I was apprehensive about ordering ths dress, but my whole family voted for this one, and I'm glad I did. This dress was a major hit at the New Years' wedding we attended! I received many, many compliments from guests, even the groom whispered in my ear, jokingly, " try not to upstage me at my next wedding"! I ordered a 2L and a 0L, which the 2 was too large in the bust and waist area. The dress is gorgeous and is flow-y and the dress looks better in person, The purple is more if a plum, which I was fine with. Thanks for yet another successful rental experience, RTR!!
Sara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4444
Dec 7, 2011
LOVED
Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress SO much and I was excited to get it! I was hoping to wear it to the Marine Corps Ball in CA. However, I got it and it was was way too big for me! It could have worked but there is so much fabric in the front for detail that it made me look way bigger than I liked. This dress is so beautiful and was bummed it didnt fit!
Carolina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 6423
Nov 30, 2011
Smashing dress
Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this for my birthday and I got tons on compliments.
valerie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 3421
Nov 21, 2011
Overly Worn
Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress needs to be retired. It was very embarassing for me to have to wear this, as the boning kept popping out all night. The backup dress that I ordered was way too scandelous. Aside from the boning all of the fabric at the top of the bust has been worn off, it looks like too many times of dry cleaning.
deirdre
Age: 34
Canonical User Type: 1511
Oct 25, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
This was the 2nd time i gave this website a chance and could not wear any of the dresses AGAIN. This one was my 1st choice and the phrase "dog-crap(to be nice)" came to mind. Someone stitched a different color purple into a hole in the very front of the bodice. No self respecting NY'r would leave the house in the shape this was in. Beware of the size 2. It will fit but you cant walk out of the house wearing it.
Cait
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 1421
Oct 13, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
Beautiful dress. I'm rather thin but have boobs and butt for my thin frame and this dress showed them off nicely. My only complaint was that the inner layer had some bra like closure that was slightly awkward and didn't seem to help keeping the dress up for me.
DR
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3431
Oct 7, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
This dress looked absolutely gorgeous. I received compliments all night about the fit and the color. It is true it comes a little bit wrinkle when you received it but nothing a steam iron can't fix. This dress is a must have!
Vanny Ann
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 1421
Oct 3, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
I am a size 8 with a full bust and an hourglass figure (34DD), the size 8R fit both my bust and my hips but was lose around my waist. There was lose fabric just drawing attention to that area and making me look larger. While the dress could zip I would not say that it fit. Perhaps this dress works better on straight frames who's wasit does not nip inwards. The dress is gorgeous and the length with heels was perfect. I wish it fit!!
Kerrie
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 1521
Sep 12, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
I wore this dress this weekend for a gala and got tons of compliments! The color is beautiful but unfortunately the dress did show some signs of wear. The ruching over the stomach area was flat when it arrived and the dress was a wrinkled mess. There were two straps of random fabric hanging down in the front (the criscrossed fabric over the hips in the picture) that definitely drew attention to the hips and butt. I immediately took it to the dry cleaner and they were able to make the ruching and criscrossed fabric look quite a bit better. I also put in bra cups to fill in the bust. The length was perfect with a stacked heel. It does fit tight around the hip/butt area and did ride up a little bit. Overall a beautiful dress that was perfect for me and my event but be prepared to spend the extra money getting it pressed at the cleaner.
Lana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 6444
Sep 10, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
I wore this gown for a black tie event and got a ton of compliments. I really enjoyed having the inner bra and even though I am busty (36D) I felt really comfortable. I ordered the 8R and wore 4-inch heels and it was perfect! I would rent this dress again!
Anna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Canonical User Type: 5543
Sep 5, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
Stunning dress! I ordered the long length and it was perfect for my height.
Fi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180 lbs
Canonical User Type: 8444
Aug 15, 2011
Overall fit: Small
Rented this for a black tie wedding. Beautiful but runs small and did not flatter me and the generous booty I've got (as the ruching stopped right over the middle of my rear end...) Wish I could have worn it as this would have been a beautiful dress. If you have hips, size up ladies... size up! :-) On the plus side, the long is definitely a *true* long length (unlike some of the other "long" dresses that still end up being too short on my 5'9" frame), so get your cute heels out tall ladies and party on.
DG
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 1541
Aug 9, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
I loved wearing this dress. It is a beautiful color and super flattering cut. I had a bit of trouble with the rouching riding up but overall thought this dress was stunning!
Lola
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3423
Aug 3, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
Let me begin by saying how gorgeous this dress is! The color is spectacular and the material is whimsical. However, the fit is very precise. Meaning, your torso and hips need to be specific in order for this dress to fit correctly. I believe it shapes weird around the hips. It flattens the booty or in my case, it cuts it in half. Not sure how to explain it. It isn't a dress that will flatter everyone.
ramona
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 118 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2434
Jul 17, 2011
Overall fit: Large
Beautiful dress!! I rented a 0 and 2 and they were both big! i'm 5'7 and 120 with 34C and it was big all over. sadly couldnt wear it but its just a beautiful dress. def best for fuller figures
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×
×
Save at least $14.95 on every order and rent like a pro all year long. Details
  • free shipping
  • free insurance
  • free birthday dress