Rent the Runway

Nanette Lepore

Rustic Plum Lace Dress

$70 rental
$370 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Rent this casual but chic Nanette Lepore lace sheath. A great style for any bridal shower, luncheon with your friends, or date night. Pair with House of Harlow 1960's Gold Textured Cuff to finish your look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size- comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - only slightly fitted at waist due to the sheath style of the dress
HIPS: Slightly fitted - Curvier women should consider sizing up for fuller hips as there is a slip with no stretch
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra or a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size- comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - only slightly fitted at waist due to the sheath style of the dress
HIPS: Slightly fitted - Curvier women should consider sizing up for fuller hips as there is a slip with no stretch
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra or a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Plum lace. Crew neckline. Short sleeves. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 33'' from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

355 reviews

Fit
Small 47
True to Size 290
Large 15
Photos 178
Christine
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 10, 2011

Great to have something different to make the night feel extra special -- and my boyfriend loved it!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Loved this dress, wore it for my anniversary dinner. Looked beautiful with black tights and black pumps. So comfortable and easy to dress up or dress down.
Kaitlyn
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Dec 31, 2011

.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I decided to rent this dress for xmas eve and xmas just to dress up for once. I got complements from everyone and felt really comfortable! The dress fits true to size and makes an impression. Would recommend to everyone!
Gloria
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Body type: Straight & narrow
Jan 9, 2012

Every person I talked to at the party complimented my dress! Such a great feeling!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress! I wore it for New Years Eve and felt very elegant, yet still young and fun. The lace details are incredible, the fit is great, and I found it very comfortable. The compliments were non-stop the entire night!
Lauren
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Feb 7, 2012

That I wore this to my bridal shower and I will have these pictures forever. =)

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to my bridal shower. I received so many compliments on it, and I was sad when I had to return it. This was my first dress to rent from renttherunway. I will say that if you have a big bust, you might want to get the 2nd size as a larger one. I got a 6 and a 8; if the zipper had stopped a little lower on the back, i would have wore the 6, but it goes up towards the top of the back, so I had to wear the 8. But, I loved it! I will be renting again.
Carly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132 lbs
Feb 15, 2012

Knowing that I had the perfect dress to wear to Valentine's Day dinner! I felt beautiful and elegant and seeing my boyfriends reaction was amazing!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress is super comfortable and cute! I ordered sizes 4 and 6 and the 4 ended up fitting better as the 6 was a bit baggy in the back. I have a square frame with broad shoulders and the slight give in the material made this dress fit perfectly while still allowing me to move around comfortably. Very happy with this rental and I would even rent it again for another occasion!
Elaine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Mar 6, 2012

I wore the dress to work before the shower, and a customer told me that I looked like a million bucks! Boy did I ever =)

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this adorable dress to a friend's bridal shower, and it was a perfect dress for the occasion. I loved how soft the fabric was and the color was so unique! (I wore the dress to work the day before the shower, and all my coworkers couldn't believe how cute it was, and that I rented it!) I dressed the dress "down" a bit for the shower by pairing it with a pair of black leggings and pumps. As for the overall fit, I am a 36C cup size and the girls were a little too tight in the 8 (I do also have a wide rib cage). Thankfully I sized up for my back up size, and the 10 fit like a glove! The lace overlay was so soft, no scratchy stuff here and I normally have trouble with my upper arms being pitched by sleeves, but not with this dress. I would have loved to have kept this one to wear again!
Manda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 146 lbs
Mar 20, 2012

Originally I wanted a white lace dress for my shower, but I fell in love once I saw the plum and the bib detail. The volume of compliments I received in this dress makes it worth renting.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This dress was fabulous; subtly sexy and very unique. I wore it for my bridal shower and it was a hit. It was light, comfortable and the color is to die for. At first I was worried that it was a little longer than what I wanted (I checked "runs large", but it was more the length that concerned me), but once I was in heels it was fine. Also, I had an issue with one of the two sizes I was sent, and RTR's customer service was excellent at taking care of it.
Denise
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133 lbs
Mar 23, 2012

I felt so comfortable all night.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a wedding rehearsal and rehearsal dinner. It was perfect for the occasion. This was the first time I used renttherunway.com. I was skeptical, but now I can't wait to get another dress. The lace on the dress was so soft...it's almost raised. I thought the fit was perfect. I did get a 2nd size just in case, but the 6 was great.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 30, 2012

One of my favorite dresses ever!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I *loved* wearing this dress!! I rented it for my graduation party and it was perfect for the casual, fun atmosphere at the event. The fit was figure flattering, but not too tight, the plum color was beautiful, and the fabric was lightweight and comfortable. I received compliments on the dress all night... the only bad thing about the experience was returning this dress!!
Stacey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
May 29, 2012

The compliments! I felt like a million bucks. :)

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I got so many compliments on this dress. I have a hard time finding dresses that fit due to my curvy figure. I usually wear a 0-2 top, and a 6 pants, so I find myself always purchasing a dress a size larger and then getting it tailored at the top. Let me tell you, this size 2 fit amazing, and despite my curvy hips fit! It was perfect!
Emily
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 29, 2012

I caught my 6th bouquet in this dress! ;}

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was PERFECT! I fit between a 10/12 and the 10 was snug so I went for the 12! I was able to move all night! The brides mother was going CRAZY telling everyone there that I "rented" the dress and how pretty it was! My boyfriend loved it, which is always a plus!! Will rent - forever - now! :) I'm 5'4" and the dress hit perfectly at my knees!
Amanda
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138 lbs
Jul 20, 2012

The dress arrived exactly when it was supposed to and was extremely easy to return. RTR even included a goody packet of Hollywood tape!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I felt amazing wearing this dress! I ordered size 4 and 6, but didn't even try the 4 on because the 6 fit so well. The dress fell well, to about mid-thigh and was amazingly comfortable, I did not want to take it off at the end of the day! The slip does peek out after walking awhile, but nothing too noticeable. I would definitely recommend this dress!
Tory
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Jul 25, 2012

The wedding photographer told me it was her favorite dress of the season.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was incredibly flattering and the wedding photographer told me it was her favorite dress of the season! I am in love with it so much that I might buy it. The detail is beautiful, but you have to be careful with it to not snag it on anything.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 15, 2012

What an easy transaction!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Great fit - super comfortable. Forgiving in the butt/thigh area, and longer than it looks on the model. I'm 5'4", 130 lbs and size 4 fit perfectly. Lots of compliments!
Ruby
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110 lbs
Aug 21, 2012

A waitress who was serving other tables came over to tell me how much she loved my dress. Pretty amazing considering the restaurant was packed!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress to go out to dinner at Chez Panisse in Berkeley. I was a little nervous I would be overdressed for the occasion, but the dress was really comfortable and allowed me to feel very laid back while wearing it. The dress is so unique and intricate, it's really simple to wear: throw your hair up, put on a pair of simple heels and minimal jewelry and you'll look fabulous! (I even wore it with a worn-in denim jacket and that was a great pairing.) My only complaints were that the dress was very long, but I have really short legs. This is a great dress for people who aren't fussy but still want to look and feel great.
Karmen
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Aug 22, 2012

Rent the Runway's customer service was great, it totally made my experience

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress for an outdoor, country wedding & it was perfect! The dress is so soft and comfortable- I loved it. My only issue was that the lining didn't quite cover the top of my bra & I wish I would have known ahead of time. A black bra is a must for busty girls in this dress.
Marlenne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 171 lbs
Aug 25, 2012

Made changes to this order and it was as easy as exchanging a book

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a Sweet 16 and it was marvelous!!! Felt comfortable and received lots of compliments on having such a great fashion style! Rent the Runway makes it so much easier to have a great wardrobe without paying too high of a price and bulking your closet with lots of dresses...Thank you guys once again and expect MORE rentals from me soon ;)
Jac
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Aug 27, 2012

Easiness of delivery. However, one of my dresses only came in one size (when it was supposed to come in two sizes) and it was too small.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress. I am an athletic build and it was a little too big in the stomach/hips and a little tight in the chest area (34 C/D) however I got so many compliments on the dress and it photographed well. The navy dress was sold out so I rented the plum and loved the color. I would def. rent it again.
Baylor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 30, 2012

My father-in-law, who had the inside scoop and knew that it was rented, says that I have to find it and buy it.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This is a very unique dress and I got so many compliments on it. I love this dress and you will too!
Cat
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 146 lbs
Sep 19, 2012

The party had a Roaring 20s theme, and this dress, with its details, was a smash hit!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Through the hips and waist, the dress was a great fit and really showed off my figure. I happened to rather well endowed in the top area, so it was a little snug, but nothing that was in appropriate, or too tight to move around and dance in. I felt completely comfortable and everyone thought the dress was stunning!
jasmin
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Body type: Apple
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 24, 2012

beautiful color and very comfortable

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was very comfortable and easy to wear. You can just wear a regular bra and don't have to worry about any wardrobe malfunctions. The length and flt are flattering, and the color is beautiful. The only con was my bf's suit jacket button got caught in the lace twice during slow dances. Since it's a rental I panicked a bit (!) but the lace ended up being fine. Would highly recommend.
Alyssa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Sep 24, 2012

Wore this dress for a fall wedding and got A TON of compliments. Great for a ton of occasions.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Little worn around the neck but overall very comfortable. It still looked great and no one seemed to notice.
Aja
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 3, 2012

Everyone said I looked gorgeous in my dress. I felt beautiful!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit was perfect for me, but might be a little tight for bustier girls. Spanx were a definite necessity for me, but overall it looked great. The fabric is a little more crocheted than i was expecting and the bib is a lighter purple than the rest of the dress. I was a little concerned about snagging, but luckily I went sans bracelet and ring that evening It made me feel beautiful and even though I was a little nervous about spilling on it or tearing the fabric, I had a great time.
Sara
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Oct 8, 2012

Loved the dress from the day I saw it online, to the sad day when I had to send it back!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This Dress was true to size...without a bra (YIKES) But it worked just fine.
amanda
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 8, 2012

Unique and Beautiful!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I got compliments from everyone at the wedding I wore this to. The bride wanted unique bridesmaids dresses and I was told I was the best dressed several times that day. The service from RTR is amazing and I LOVED the dress!
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 9, 2012

I wore this dress to a wedding and absolutely loved it!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Beautiful color and very comfortable. I recieved several compliments and felt amazing.
Vanessa
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 13, 2012

This dress is amazing. It photographs so well. I received many compliments. I wish I could keep it!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fits well. I usually need either a 6 or an 8. I wore the 6 because the 8 was loose. Both sizes bunched a bit in the front.
Bre
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148 lbs
Oct 21, 2012

Switched to this dress at the last minute and I'm so glad I did! It was lovely and unique ;)

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was true to size and fit perfectly. The color is rich and photographed well. I was so pleased with my experience with Rent the Runway and am looking forward to renting again very soon!
Dar
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 22, 2012

Perfect for dressing up or down!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I was worried that the lace would be too delicate on this dress; but it held up great over my Reunion Dinner. The slip/lining is firmly connected to the lace and it means you can wear a regular bra. I wore the 2, but would have preferred the 0--it appears I was sent the wrong size (maybe a 4?) instead of the 0. For a dress with minimal shaping, the color and design are mega-flattering, but you want to make sure the fit is close.
Beth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 22, 2014

Great dress - just not great for me!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Wore this for a rehearsal dinner - it looked nice but not GREAT. I was so tempted by the lace and color but I just don't think it was a good fit for my body type (short, pear shaped(.
Rods
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 28, 2014

The color of this dress is vibrant; it's beautiful.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress is a snug fit but it is true to size. It photographs really well and is a great color for people with a tan. It is short but not obscenely short - I could sit without a problem. I wore this for my bridal party luncheon and was quite happy with my decision!
Lindsay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Oct 30, 2014

Ended up returning - Love idea but top was low

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I love the color and style of this dress, so so cute. I didn't end up being able to wear this - the cut on the neck was very low and ended up being too revealing. Because of the intricate neckline, it didn't work on me with fashion tape. Too bad, this one would be so perfect for a fun party dress!
Heather
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 3, 2014

Vibrant colour

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is a stunner. It flatters the curves while the crochet detail hides the unflattering ones.
CMH
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 27, 2014

Unique look overall.

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Party
This was not super short, and it was a nice, tight fit. Beautiful color and style.
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 133 lbs
Dec 31, 2014

figure flattery

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
great color, fit perfectly
cb
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 12, 2015

Stood out in a good way!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great Fit
Molly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 13, 2015

Funky, sexy, and comfortable for chasing a toddler all night

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was amazing! I loved the detail of the neckline and it fit very true to size. I got the size 4 as backup and there wasn't much difference between that and the size 6, but I went with the larger size for a bit more length. It was a hot day & I was nervous the dress wouldn't breath enough, but it was great. I got a lot of compliments, but that's always the case with dresses from Rent the Runway!
Shannon
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Feb 5, 2015

Love this dress!

Size worn: 10
Rented for: Party
I wish I could buy this. I wore it with black tights and brown boots for a baby shower. I received so many compliments on the dress. The only downfall is that it arrived with the lining torn in many places and covered in sticky residue from what looked like someone's attempt to use fashion tape. Rent the runway staff was outstanding in handling my concerns about the dress; they provided me not only with a refund, but also a credit toward my next rental. Excellent customer service!!!
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 9, 2015

Love this dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
So comfortable and I loved the fit and color.
Carolyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95 lbs
Apr 30, 2015

Loved this dress - almost bought it!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Perfect fit - runs true to size. Great for a cocktail party, or even just a night out.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×