MSGM

Giverny Gardens Sheath

$30 – $35 rental
$875 retail
Stylist Notes

Be a doll in this marvelous MSGM emerald lace dress! Perfect to wear to a bridal shower or your next brunch date with the girls. Shown with the Kenneth Jay Lane's Polished Crystal Drop Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Italian Sizing. Sized 38-46.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt runs slightly narrow so curiver women should consider sizing up for comfort
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Evergreen lace over nude lining (83% cotton, 10% viscose, 7% polyamide,). Short sleeves. Crew neckline. Shift body. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. 34” shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
187 reviews
Fit
Large
(4)
True to Size
(122)
Small
(42)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
October 23, 2012
Love the lace detail!
The coloring of this dress is so unique and the short sleeves are a fun change from the other long sleeve lace styles. It was slightly snug in my hips, so if you are a little curvier I would recommend sizing up for that extra room. Would definitely recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
October 24, 2012
Gorgeous color and so comfortable!
I loved this dress. The color is amazing and so different. I am slim in the hips and it was still a bit snug (although I still wore and loved it) so definitely size up and if you have big hips maybe even go up two sizes. I loved the mini length. I paired with nude peep toe pumps and got tons of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
October 29, 2012
Cute dress but did not work for me.
The color is much more "evergreen" in person and perfect for the fall! The sleeves are a little bit puffy in the shoulder area (can't tell from the model). I usually wear a 2 or 4 so I ordered the 40 and 42. The 40 was a little snug in the bottom area but fit everywhere else. The 42 was just a little to large in the bust area. There is no stretch to the dress so the fit really has to be perfect. I really liked this dress but unfortunately it did not work for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
44
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
November 16, 2012
Great Dress, Needs belt for Waist
This was a great dress. However, it was a back up since RTR didn’t have my true backup size in my other dress. I loved this dress but I didn’t have a chance to wear it. The color is GREAT. looks amazing. It could have used a cute belt to cinch in the waist a bit as it was a tad large in that area (says the girl always thinking dresses are too tight in the waist). Overall I loved this and will rent it when some even comes up!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 19, 2012
Great green dress!
Fits mostly true to size, if a little small. I normally wear a 2-4 and I wore the 40. It is short and form-fitting, very cute.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
November 19, 2012
Perfect for a ladies brunch, bridal shower or birthday! This is a feminine classic!
Nothing beats vibrant colors with feminine lace. This dress was classy with just a hint of sexy from the hemline. I felt comfortable and beautiful. Could not have been happier. I paired it with a pair of Enzo Angiolini nude peep toe pumps! The fabric doesn't give at all but it does fit true to size. Even for bigger busted women like myself. Love this dress!
ElleDecember 14, 2012
Agreed! I wore it for a birthday brunch and it was great:)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
44
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
November 24, 2012
Adorable
Wore this for a welcome dinner the night before a black tie wedding in palm springs. Was more nervous about this one as it was the 2nd dress of my order and I only ordered one size. Also, I am busty with an hourglass shape, so I was concerned that a more shapeless shift dress may just make me look like I was wearing a tent. Thankfully, it fit really well and was absolutely adorable. I typically wear an 8, and the fit was just right. I'm 5'7" though, and opted for flats (even before I received the dress) as I thought the mini length with heels may be a bit too short for the type of event. Would have gladly worn with heels to a different event though. Super cute. Received many compliments.
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 6, 2012
The quality of the dress was phenomenal (obvi), the beautiful green lace details made it special!
The fit of the dress is "true to size", but it does not give you any shape. It fit perfectly up top, loose in the stomach (making me lose my waistline) and a bit snug in the hips (and I don't really have hips). Don't get me wrong, I loveddd the dress and it was perfect for the occasion--my birthday brunch--but I wish the cut was a bit more tailored at the waistline. Anyway, I'm usually an xs/s, size 2 (25/26 in jeans) and I fit the 38 so I hope that helps you decide your size! It was great that I could order two sizes though. I did get a lot of compliments on the dress and it was a great dress for my bday! My first time renting from RTR and I would say it was a success! You can see more pics on my blog www.ellechoi.com xo!
IsisJanuary 14, 2013
Love the way you wore this dress. The necklace is key!
ElleJanuary 15, 2013
Thank you so much, Isis! :)
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Body type: Athletic
December 28, 2012
Great dress for a holiday cocktail party!
This dress does run a bit short. I paired it with gold jewelry and patent leather tan heels.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
46
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
January 1, 2013
pretty good
i have broad shoulders and was slightly concerned about the arms fitting, so i went a size up. fortunately, they fit, although they were a bit tight. i'm not accustomed to shift dresses, so the fit was different for me and sitting had a tendency to make it ride up, but the color was beautiful and overall it was a very interesting dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
January 29, 2013
Will not disappoint!
This dress was a bit on the shorter side, but I loved wearing it. It does run a bit small around the hips, so although I wore the size 42 (size 6), an 8 would have probably worked even better. I wore it with the silver wave bangle set from Chamak by Priya Kakkar. Got lots of compliments on the dress and accessories! This was my first RTR rental. Definitely doing RTR again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 30, 2013
Underwhelmed
This was my first choice dress but I didn't end up wearing it. It was too short, too tight, and the fabric was not as lush as I expected.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
February 26, 2013
Show stopper!
Love the dress! It's a darker green in person and complimented my skin tone well. Got compliments all night! I normally wear a size 6/8 but the 6 fit me perfectly. The 8 was a little baggy on me.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
April 2, 2013
Way too short!
I am fairly tall but rented a size 8 and I couldn't wear it. The dress was extremely short.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
44
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
April 8, 2013
Bestie Birthday Bliss
This dress was the perfect dinner dress for my friend's Birthday weekend, which happened to also be St. Patrick's day. It was comfortable and roomy, and the nude fabric underneath the lace is a nice warm tone. The green in the picture is exactly the color of the dress in-person - almost a dark seafoam, which is very in this spring. For larger breasted ladies, size up since the dress is cut as a shift. There is a bit of stretch, and the lace is soft, but you don't want to have a skin-tight look in this dress since it would not give the same classy effect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
46
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
April 8, 2013
Was a great dress for the occasion.
Dress kept riding up and was trying to reveal parts that didn't need to be revealed! :) other than that the dress was really comfy and cute.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148lbs
April 11, 2013
Too short and tight :-/
I usually wear a size 8 and I rented both size 8 and size 10 in this dress. The size 8 was too tight in the shoulders and hip area and the size 10 fit the exact same way. Both sizes were too short. The color is great, but the fit was all wrong.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
April 15, 2013
Classy Way to Wear Lace Trend
I rented this dress to wear to a family baptism. I am 5'-2" and thought it was the perfect length on me for this more conservative event, short without being too revealing. I loved the color and lace fabric in person even more than the photos online; the color green definitely stood out in the room. The fit of the dress was as described by others, good fit through the chest eventhough I have a full bust, loose at the waistline, and a little less room at the hip. I have an hourglass figure and found that I needed the size four to feel comfortable at my hip. I can often wear a size two moving up to a four at times to accomodate my chest, but decided to size up here for more room in the hips since I would be sitting for a good part of the day. I received many compliments and would rent the dress again. If you are trying to decide whether to size up or down for your backup size I would recommend sizing up especially if you do not have a straight and narrow figure.
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
April 23, 2013
The whole process was SO easy, and I got to wear a fabulous dress!
The dress fit really well and was super comfortable to wear all night long. I wouldn't say that I have a specific body type like the ones listed below--I have a size C bust and some shape to my body, but not necessarily pear or hourglass shaped-- regardless, the dress looked great on my body The only issue was that the dress is super short. It did a great job of showing off my legs, which I loved, but I was afraid that if I bent over, I would be completely exposed. Length aside, I really enjoyed this dress; from the color which looked fantastic with my red hair, to how comfortable this dress was.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117lbs
April 23, 2013
The color is amazing the fit not so much
I wore this to Easter we went to church and then brunch. I thought the color was amazing however I wore the smallest size and it was to bagy. I also felt like it was a little short.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
May 8, 2013
modern lace elegance
loved this dress at first sight! upon receiving it the green is even more vibrant in person, which i appreciated. the lace is divine and the nude lining beneath is a good complimentary color not to mention a little touch of sass with the slight transparency (recommend barely there nude undergarments!) the fit was perfect at the bust for me, and a little snug on the hips, otherwise it was a good fit. the style of the dress is not to be cinched at the waist, so be weary of that- this is what gives it a cool modern edge. and the length- it is a little on the short side- but dare to go bare! i received compliments all night. this dress went perfectly with the 'urban indochine' wedding i planned and attended :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
46
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
May 10, 2013
So cute but not for pear or hour glass shapes!
I ordered this dress as my backup dress for a wedding at a lavender farm. I ordered the largest size because I know I have hips and boobs. The dress pulled at the hips (I am 44" measured at my hips) and rode up showing the nude slip underneath. Also, the cut of the dress is meant to hang away from the body, so there is very little cut in at the waist. I tried to cinch it in with a nude skinny belt but there was so much extra fabric to get in to my waist (30" measurement) that it looked bulky and emphasized the problem--so I will be wearing All About Crochet Sheath by Alice by Temperley. BUT I wanted to upload a picture and warn all my pear-shaped and hour-glass figured RTR sisters!
KellyApril 4, 2014
Thanks for adding a pic and your review, even though it wasn't the dress you wore. It helped me so much in deciding if this dress was for me! I have a similar figure to you. I'm going to check out the other dress you mention.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
May 10, 2013
Beautiful Dress...for a night out
I rented this dress for a formal work function. The dress itself was very pretty & would have been perfect had it not been too short on me. If your looking for a fun, bright dress for a night out, this is it but I was just not comfortable wearing this at a 4200-person formal work event. Also, the color itself was a bit darker than I expected - closer to a shamrock green rather than the sage green it looks like on the site, but still pretty & perfect for Spring! Positive note - I contact the awesome stylists at RTR right away & they were able to get help me rent a new dress in 2 sizes & have it to me the next day (with only 1 day to spare until the event!). Will definitely be reviewing the 2nd dress
Top Contributor
Size worn:
44
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 144lbs
May 12, 2013
Gorgeous, rich color!
I wore this twice. 1st time for date night with my husband and 2nd time for my head shots. Date Night: Unfortunately I didn't get a back up of this dress, so the size 44 (size 8) was too big. It fit well in the shoulder/bust area, however it was loose in the mid-section. I felt that it didn't accentuate my curves at all and looked boxy. Like another reviewer, I tried it with a belt high on my waist but it didn't look right because the fabric scrunched and gathered. The hem fell about 2 inches above my knees so it wasn't short. Nor did I feel uncomfortable when moving around or sitting down. Head Shots: After wearing it for date night, I decided I wasn't going to be wearing it for my head shots photo shoot. The photographer had a quick, easy fix for the loose fit though- clamping the back with binder clips! The fit around my waist area looked much better! I think if I wore the size 42 (size 6) dress, it would have been perfect.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
May 14, 2013
So delicate!
I wore this to a rehearsal dinner - it was perfect! The sleeves are a little bit more poofy at the top than displayed so if you're broad you may not like it - I'm relatively broad up top but I didn't mind it so much. It's a bit tighter around the hips than most sheath dresses so just be aware. I definitely recommend this one!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
May 16, 2013
Great for day to night!
Love the color of this dress. It is a great day to night dress. It fit well except for around the stomach area. The dress is boxy and doesn't give you any shape. There's a lot of extra fabric in that area. Other than that's a great dress for multiple occasions.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
46
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
May 19, 2013
A great RTR experience & beautiful dress made a special weekend even better!
My size varies (between 8-12 depending on style) so I was hesitant on what size to order. I got the 44 and 46 and ended up wearing the 46. The 44 was definitely too small in the thigh/hip area and the 46 didn't feel much different, but I wore it anyway. Besides feeling a little too tight on the bottom, I really liked it! The beautiful green photographed very well. The experience was so smooth and enjoyable. I'm excited to rent again for my next special event!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
May 19, 2013
The color was perfect
A little on the short side and the lace was a bit smaller than the tan slip underneath (probably from being dry cleaned) so it shows at the bottom.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
44
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
May 20, 2013
Beautiful dress - however, doesn't flatter your figure if you have a fuller bust and smaller waist
The shade of the dress seemed to be a darker green in person than it looks online. I still liked the color and the quality of the material was great. It was a little bit short when I sat down, but was the perfect length when I was standing up and dancing. However, it was very bunchy in the stomach area so the cut didn't really show off my shape as well as I would have liked. I wear a 36DDD bra size, so I think this might have worked better for someone that's smaller on top. It was overall what I expected by reading other reviews and it worked for a rustic barn/winery wedding. Meant to get a necklace like Elle but ran out of time.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
May 21, 2013
The dress was classy, elegant, and hot!
I wore the dress to my graduation and received a ton of compliments. As other women have mentioned the dress is short, but it fit well for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 26, 2013
Amazing Dress!
I wore this dress for a girls day out at a local winery. I was not even there for 5 minutes before I received compliments on this dress. I was even approached by a group of wonderful women who said I was the best dressed in the entire place, and that I should purchase the dress. I have never received so many compliments on one outfit before. I wore a simple dress for a simple girls day and ended up feeling like the belle of the ball. I highly encourage anyone considering this dress to just go ahead and rent it. The size I wore fit perfectly. This dress really is true to size. In my opinion this dress is made for someone who has an hourglass shape.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
May 28, 2013
Shorter than expected
The dress was super cute however it was a lot shortner than I was expecting it to be.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
May 30, 2013
funny fit
the dress is beautiful, but the fit either has too much or too little room for the bum. Didn't end up wearing this and went with my backup.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
June 6, 2013
love this dress!
this dress is so pretty on, it's very flattering and super comfortable. you really don't need any accessories with this either, it looked much better in person than in the picture. it's a little short so beware if you have to sit while wearing this. otherwise, it was perfect!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
44
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 145lbs
June 7, 2013
Provocative and Conservative - Somehow this beautiful lace dress is both
I wore this to my high school reunion and got lots of compliments - my favorite was "provocative." It was a little shorter than I'd usually wear, and I had to avoid raising my arms too high on the dance floor lest my spanks show, but still a hit.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
June 9, 2013
Got a TON of compliments on this dress and was super comfortable in it!
As per some other comments, it runs small in the hips so keep that in mind if you are curvy - it's also really short...and i'm 5'2" - i found myself being careful not to lift my arms or bend over on the dance floor!! Still loved it overall though and would highly recommend to others.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
June 26, 2013
Loved the Color!
This was a fabulous dress to wear to a Spring Wedding. It was so comfortable and easy to move in. I paired it with a pearl and rhinestone necklace that I had of my own. I rented a size true to my own and it fit perfectly!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
June 28, 2013
Classy but still sexy, you can't go wrong with this dress!
This was one of those dresses that I really really didn't want to ship back, I felt like it was made for me. Being 5'2 and very petite, finding dresses that fit properly is usually a bit of a challenge. That being said, this dress fit like a glove, it was fitted in all the right places and just short enough to still be sexy so I could wear it to a classy party. The color is beautiful and unique, I would recommend it for more tanned complexions. This dress was pretty short on me (and I'm 5'2!) so keep that in mind if you are taller and still opting for a smaller size. No pics unfortunately, but highly recommend this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98lbs
July 2, 2013
Great for Petite Girls
This dress fit perfectly. I received complements on the dress all night. Definitely recommend for short, petite girls.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
July 6, 2013
Gorgeous green color
I am a size 4 or 6; I ordered the 40 and 42 and ended up wearing the 40 for a shorter, sexier fit. Great color, great fit. Love the dress.
See more reviews:
1 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×