Giverny Gardens Sheath

$35 rental
$875 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Be a doll in this marvelous MSGM emerald lace dress! Perfect to wear to a bridal shower or your next brunch date with the girls. Shown with the Kenneth Jay Lane's Polished Crystal Drop Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Italian Sizing. Sized 38-46.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt runs slightly narrow so curiver women should consider sizing up for comfort
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Italian Sizing. Sized 38-46.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt runs slightly narrow so curiver women should consider sizing up for comfort
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Evergreen lace over nude lining (83% cotton, 10% viscose, 7% polyamide,). Short sleeves. Crew neckline. Shift body. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. 34” shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
174 reviews
Fit
Large
(4)
True to Size
(115)
Small
(39)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
September 18, 2016
Perfect bridal shower dress
I loved this dress. I wore size 40 which fit very well. Wasn't too snug anywhere. The 38 fit also but I wanted it to look more like a shift than a tight dress, so size up if that's what you're going for. Very pretty green color and lace. Wasn't too hot out in the sun on a hot day. Good length, I have sort of shorter legs though, so it may be pretty short if you're leggy. I'd definitely rent it again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
August 25, 2016
Lots of compliments
The fit was true to size. However I wish I would have sized up because it is a little short and I'm already a fairly short person at 5'1. I found myself having to constantly tug it down. The interior nude slip liner was longer than the dress in the front so I pinned it so it wouldn't keep showing. The color and lace material was very elegant. However this dress had seen better days because you could tell it had been worn many times before me because the lace was ripped in a few areas. Luckily I wore it at night so it was hard to tell. I did like this dress but I don't think I'll be renting it again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 9, 2016
Very cute, beautiful color!
As always, very satisfied with Rent The Runway! This is your average lacy sheath dress, only average in that it's usually a foolproof silhouette to feel confident in- loose in the waist and just fitted enough in the bust and hips to flatter the figure. The color is beautiful, the details and quality of lace was great, and I wasn't bothered by the lining showing, I rarely noticed when it did. However, if you're hoping/wanting the lining to match your skin tone, you should know that it is quite dark/tan. I wore with nude, open toe heels, the gold "Plantation" earrings, and a gold clutch (both earrings and clutch from RTR).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
June 19, 2016
Comfy and beautiful
Loved this dress. Wore it to a wedding at a Vineyard. The color is amazing. And very comfy!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
June 14, 2016
Great dress if you get one that isn't worn out
I loved this dress and really wanted to wear it, but both of the 42 dresses were so worn that I really couldn't pull it off for a dinner out, let alone the baby shower I needed it for. It would have been really comfortable and breathable for a hot day. It was just loose enough around my hips that it didn't pull, but didn't look boxy either. I didn't think it was too short like some reviewers, but I'm just a hair under 5'5". I wouldn't say it's dressy enough for a wedding, but certainly great for a shower with wedge heels or gold flats and some fun earrings.
Size worn:
42
Rented for:
Party
Age: 35
June 14, 2016
Beautiful yet comfortable dress!
I loved this dress! I ordered a 42 and a 44 as a backup and while the length on the 44 was better, the fit overall on the 42 was better. I got a lot of compliments and the dress itself was very comfortable. I'd definitely rent this one again!
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Weight: 110lbs
May 17, 2016
Great lacey number!
I run very petite and short so the length was just perfect, especially with my boots. As other s commented, it can be a bit baggy around the stomach if you have wider hips. It was a little tight up top since I have wider shoulders, but overall, a great shade of green, fairly comfortable dress for a wedding rehearsal.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
May 12, 2016
perfect for summer weddings
fits perfect!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
April 25, 2016
great color and fit!
loved this dress! i ordered it to wear for my baby shower. i wanted something cute to show off the bump a little, and this was perfect. just the right length for me. i ordered a 40 & a 42 and ended up wearing the 42 accommodate the bump, but had i not been pregnant, the 40 would have been perfect. very happy with my choice!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Age: 29
April 22, 2016
Cute but short
Love this dress, so beautiful and well made. Unfortunately I was unable to wear it as it was too short for the bridal shower brunch I rented it for. I wish I could have kept it longer and maybe have worn it for an evening wedding?
Top Contributor
Size worn:
44
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 165lbs
March 30, 2016
Runs a little short, very cute dress overall
wore this to an engagement party with cowboy boots and a bright blue statement necklace and LOVED it! it was probably too short but it was one of those events where i just didn't care. would rent again!
Size worn:
46
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 24
Body type: Hourglass
March 11, 2016
Great dress - I was sad to return it!
I rented this dress for a St Patrick's Day work event and it was perfect. It fit well however I wore a size larger than normal so I was glad I went up a size for my backup. My only complaint is that the nude lining was a little too long in front so it hung lower than the green lace layer. But I was able to pin the lining up a little so that it wasn't an issue. Overall I loved this dress! It was perfect for the occasion and I would definitely recommend it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
44
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
March 10, 2016
Perfect for a bridal shower!
Loved this dress! I wore it to my friend's bridal shower. It was very comfortable but didn't have much stretch to it so I would recommend sizing up. Will definitely rent it again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
44
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 25, 2016
I wore this dress for a wedding and it was so comfortable all night long!
This dress was a great fit! Shift dresses tend to look a bit like a potato sack if you don't wear the correct size or don't have the right body type for it, but this one was perfect for me! It was not too loose and the length was just right about 6 inches above my knee (I'm 5'1"). The color was beautiful, I paired it with a light pink statement necklace.
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Age: 39
January 11, 2016
Super cute short dress
Awesome color
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
December 27, 2015
Perfect for my sister's bridal shower
I'm 5'8'', so I found the dress to be on the short side, but it worked out for this non-formal event.
Size worn:
44
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
December 15, 2015
This dress was perfect for my friend's wedding where I wanted jaws to drop!
I ordered 2 sizes in this dress and I'm glad I did. The smaller size was just snug enough, but I needed the space in the bust of the larger size. I added the belt to help cinch the waist and add shape. The color is radiant. The 'nude' lining underneath is a little more tan, which was perfect for me with my more olive skin tone. Definitely short. Worn with nude pumps. Compliments all night!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
42
Rented for:
Party
December 11, 2015
Great for my work holiday party
This dress was better than I had originally expected. I usually wear a 4 or 6 and I ended up going with the 42 (I ordered a 42 and 44). The 42 was a little big in the waist/back, but the 40 probably would've been a little too short, even for me (I'm 5'1). Definitely go a little bigger if you want more length. This particular dress doesn't really hug your body, so it's definitely not meant to show off curves. Very appropriate for a work function or something similar. Perfect green color for a holiday party and simple, yet classy.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
October 28, 2015
Awesome color and a lovely look
This was a little short and a bit too cold for the outdoor wedding in October, but I really enjoyed wearing this! I would definitely recommend spanks because the dress is so formless, and any little imperfections that you may be self conscious about can show! Also I absolutely loved the color! It is gorgeous with darker skin tones
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117lbs
October 21, 2015
Great dress, loved the color and fit.
Wore this dress to a wedding and the color and fit was perfect.
Size worn:
44
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 17, 2015
Loved knowing exactly what I was getting thanks to all the awesome reviews!
Wore this to a bridal shower. Had so many compliments! The reviews are spot on. If you have a slim waist and thicker thighs you might have some issues with this dress. There is absolutely no stretch and it fits loose in the waist area. The slip does show and that's why I left out a star. Other than that this dress was a major success!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
October 8, 2015
The wedding was overall formal and I felt perfect in this dress! The color was beautiful.
The fit was perfect for me, the dress is shorter, but so am I, so I liked it. It fit me perfectly, not to tight in any areas. I would rent again if I had another event to wear it to.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
46
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
September 28, 2015
Another successful rental
Overall very happy with this rental. Rented for a formal barn wedding in Vermont in late September. Biggest con.. the dress smelt weird upon arrival, my guess was it was the material. I just took it out of the bag and let it air out for the day and it got better. Dress is good for cooler weather, it's not breathable when you sweat. I'm 5'5" and the length was good, a little short but I felt comfortable, could have been worse. The green was slightly darker than I expected but I was happy with that as I did not want to be bright and stick out at the wedding. I would rent this dress again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
44
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
August 12, 2015
Great fit! I wore to a baby shower and bridal show- both on the same day and it worked great!
I wore this dress to a baby and bridal shower and everyone loved it. I wore the dress with nude heels since it was a day affair. I would definitely recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 31
July 28, 2015
Beautiful color but a little worn
This is definitely a form fitting dress. The color is beautiful, my main complaints would be that it was a little short and also looked a little worn (slip shows because of loose stitching)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
July 13, 2015
Perfect dress for a rustic, outdoor wedding.
I was very happy with this dress! Beautiful color. I could have even went with a smaller size (40). I am 5'6" with an hourglass figure. Large bust (32G). The only real problem I had with it was that it was very fitting in the bust and lower hip areas, but very loose around my waist. So it didn't have much shape to it. If you happen to run into this problem try a belt around the waist!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
44
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 144lbs
July 13, 2015
Such a comfortable dress!
I was skeptical about wearing this dress because of previous reviews, but I actually loved it! The color was amazing and the slip didn't bother me too much. I wore it to my cousin's wedding shower (his fiancé, my future cousin, is pictured with me) and it was perfect! Unfortunately I do have a pudgy stomach, but some spanx did the trick. RTR never disappoints!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
June 10, 2015
Great color!
I wore this to a family gathering and it was beautiful! A combination of sexy and classy. It went great with my cowboy boots!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
June 10, 2015
Tight in the hips
The dress was tight in the hips. While typically it would not have been too tight to deal with, the tightness combined with the short length made me too self conscious to wear it out.
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
June 3, 2015
The color, length, and fabric of the dress was perfect. It was extremely comfortable...............
The size 2 was perfect . It was extremely comfortable, yet very class.
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
May 28, 2015
Great night!
It fit great. I chose to wear the bigger size I had rented since it was a little short and I was going to be sitting most of the night. I got several compliments and overall would rent it again. The ends were a little frayed and the lace had spots where it had snagged or something and didn't look right, probably from one too many nights out or dry cleanings. Overall for my first rent the runway experience, I loved the dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
May 19, 2015
Beautiful Green Dress!
Great Dress for a Summer Wedding! True to size but ran a little short. I would recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
May 13, 2015
pretty fabric, but not a flattering cut for apple/athletic body types
I think this dress would be best for curvy figures. The straight cut wasn't flattering on my apple/athletic body type - giving me no shape. Also, the nude "slip" fabric under the green lace peeks out from the lace at the bottom - and it was unclear whether that was intentional, or a hemming error. I didn't wear it as I didn't feel pretty in it - but again, I think curvier ladies might enjoy it more.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Body type: Pear
Weight: 116lbs
May 6, 2015
Great dress! Perfect length- not too long, not too short.
Great fit, not too tight. Loved wearing for St. Patrick's Day.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
April 30, 2015
Two sizes too small
I think the Italian sizing runs smaller - I rented a 38 (normally a 0) and it was wait too tight all over. I returned unfortunately.
Size worn:
44
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
April 29, 2015
Everyone loved the color and the lace! I was very comfortable wearing it.
Helped to have a belt for sure! Was a little short when sitting but manageable, and also the lining was longer than lace on both sizes. Overall, though I would have gotten it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 17
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
April 29, 2015
this dress was a hit! Great to style around, very cute, soo comfortable and easy to wear.
fits great! Make sure you wear the right under garments or else the dress rides up your bottom
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 23, 2015
Just wasn't doing me any favors
Beautiful color but fit wasn't flattering. Fitted through the bust and butt/thighs but baggy at the small of my back & stomach making me look larger than I am through the middle.
Size worn:
44
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 32
April 20, 2015
Awesome dress!
The fit was perfect--just a little too short for a wedding! I ended up wearing something else.
Size worn:
40
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
April 13, 2015
I wore this dress as a member of the bridal party to my cousin's bridal shower.
I received tons of compliments while wearing this dress and felt absolutely gorgeous! It fit like a glove but the only negative is that it was very short. Beautiful, nonetheless!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 5
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited Bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×