Ruffle Wrap and Dance Dress

$58 to buy
$325 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Have a first date? Go with this Moschino Cheap and Chic polka dot ruffle dress for a night of fun and romance. Throw on a statement bangle like the kate spade new york's Putting on the Ritz Bangle and Kenneth Jay Lane's Polished Gold Links Cuff to complete this look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Italian sizing.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra; fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for length
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black and white polka dot crepe(55% rayon; 45% cotton). Wrap body with ruffle trim. Inner lining. Asymmetric hemline. 35'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
67 reviews
Fit
Large
(3)
True to Size
(51)
Small
(12)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
February 8, 2012
This dress was perfect for my early Valentine's Day date with my boyfriend!
This dress is super comfy and looks pretty dressy for being cotton. It is very short with the front of the dress being cut at an angle where the wrap sides come together, so I wore tights to make it feel/look more conservative.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 114lbs
February 13, 2012
RTR surprised me with a free clutch from Dior, which went perfect with my dress!
I rented this for my hub's 40th surprise party and it was perfect. Lots of compliments and questions..."Where did you find that dress?" I had my hair done to match the dress style, and it was a hit. The wrap-style dress is very forgiving, and didn't leave me worrying if it was going to fit or not. Can wear a regular bra, and this dress came with a black full slip. LOVE! Thanks RTR for the extra gift from Dior! My RTR partner in crime also rented the dress shown in this pic!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
February 22, 2012
Cute Dress!
This dress was feminine, classic, and perfect for an afternoon party. I only gave it 4 stars because it was a bit short on my 5'6" frame, especially with the wrap part at the bottom of the dress. I also pinned the top so it wouldn't be so low-cut. I did not receive a full slip like another renter mentioned she received, but I was not expecting one anyway and I didn't need one. One thing about the color: it seemed to me to be a very light black that almost looked navy when I tried to wear the dress with black tights. Overall, I received many compliments and was very happy (once again!) with my rental choice and RTR's customer service!
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
March 13, 2012
Wore this out to the ballet!
I really enjoyed being able to wear something new, and this dress fit the bill. Taller girls take note that it's pretty short though. I am 5'8" and mostly legs, so it may not be an issue if you have shorter gams. The fabric was different from what I was expecting but nice nonetheless. My photos were too large to upload here and apparently I am not tech savvy enough to reduce them on a Mac... so check out Rent the Runway on Facebook to see them on their wall if you have a similar body type and are curious about fit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
April 16, 2012
Adorable & Sexy
Loved this dress. It fit very well, but it is a little short. I definitely recommend using the tape RTR provides. Super cute and fun dress!
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
May 14, 2012
The backup size was a lifesaver and shipping was incredibly simple and convenient. I will rent from RTR again for sure.
I ordered the 40, but added the 42 as a backup. I'm glad that I did, because the 40 was way too short for my 5'10" height. The 42 was a great length (short, but not obscene), and I still wore black tights to avoid any major malfunctions. And since it was a wrap dress, the 42 worked because it was adjustable everywhere else.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
June 8, 2012
Loved the polka dots and ruffled.
I wanted to a fun but not too formal dress to wear for my husband's birthday, and this was perfect. It was a little longer than I would have liked, hitting me just above the knees, but it would probably be perfect for someone a little taller. It was much more low cut than I expected, but it was a great party dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
July 18, 2012
I met one of my design icons while wearing this dress!
I wore this dress to a design event in NY and I absolutely loved wearing it! I am on the small size and often have trouble getting the right fit, but this was perfect for me. The ruffles provided a touch of glamour while the polka dots made it feel little retro. Overall it was very comfortable and I got many compliments on it.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
August 13, 2012
Cutie but a shorty:)
Rented this dress for my 30th Birthday which was a Kentucky Derby Theme. It's gorgeous! It was too short for me to be comfortable though, so I used my Kate Spade as a back up. It didnt cover my booty when I sat down. LOVE the dots and the overall design though. I rented size 6.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
46
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160lbs
August 16, 2012
Who does not love polka dots
This dress was so fun. I got a ton of compliments on it when I wore it out in NYC on a date. It is short but doesn't feel too revealing. I chose not to wear a cami underneath but you could do that if you're not comfortable showing decolletage.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 134lbs
August 31, 2012
Got last night and I love it!!
I got this dress last night for my cousin's semi-formal wedding and I love it! At first I tried on the 38 and although it "fit", it showed a bit too much cleavage and was too short and high in the front. I'm normally between a 2 and a 4 and the size 40 was way better!! I love it so much that if I could actually buy it, I would! Note: If you have hips, a butt or a bust I'd advise going to the next size up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 129lbs
September 4, 2012
Cute & fun
I rented a skirt but it wasn't available so this wrap dress was sent to me instead at the (cheaper) cost of the skirt rental. I was very happy with this dress. The white dots are not as white, but the black is true and fabric was super soft. The wrap-around style makes it an fit easy, and the length was great...just short enough to be flirty in a rather conservative looking dress. Wore it to a concert and had lots of compliments. Thanks RTR!
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Body type: Athletic
August 22, 2012
Classy, yet Sassy
I heart this dress. I wore it to a baby shower, but then changed shoes and hit the town.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
September 18, 2012
It was a fun, flirty dress great for a day date!
Since it's a wrap dress, there were times when the front overlap sort of opens up. Just be aware of that but likely you won't flash anyone. The material of the dress is really soft and comfortable on the skin.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113lbs
September 18, 2012
Really cute for an ordinary, low key kind of day.
Good fit except for a very low cut on top.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 58
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
September 19, 2012
Such a fun dress for a evening in NYC with friends and family. It's classy and flirty.
Adorable for any age woman. It is short, however, so it might be less comfortable for a taller woman as I am 5'1". The top is big so it would be helpful to have fashion tape to close up the wrap. I would rent it again. Lots of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
44
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
September 27, 2012
adorable dress for a date
this dress is comfy, cute and sexy. I wish I could keep this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
October 3, 2012
AMAZING!
I love this dress!!!!!!! I have rented it twice now because I can't find it anywhere to buy or else I would have! I had to use some of my own double sided tape to hold some of the ruffles down and to hold the front closed. It is very short and the front of the wrap dress comes together at a very precarious spot, making it difficult to sit down in. I wore this to my bridal shower and was great for standing, but when it came time to sit and open presents, I came close to having multiple wardrobe malfuctions. But I still love it so much!
Size worn:
44
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134lbs
October 22, 2012
Adorable and flattering!
Wore this for my bridal shower and it was absolutely perfect. At first, I was worried it was too summery for an October event, but it ended up being a nice day so I didn't feel too bare. But I'd say for Nov-March, unless you wear tights, it might seem a little flimsy for cold weather. I wore it with nude pumps and it looked great! I am generally between a size 6 and an 8, and although both fit me, I ended up wearing the 8 for more coverage. Super cute and versatile dress. Everyone was complimenting it and asking where I bought it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 26, 2012
Cute and flirty
Got this as a backup dress for a Vegas trip. I ended up wearing it on our more "casual" evening. It is very cute but also with a VERY deep and open V-neck. I'm between a 34B and C and wore this with a push-up bra, which I probably didn't need, but was the only bra I had low enough in the front not to show. And I still ended up pinning the top together. Also, the wrap doesn't wrap around very much, so you have to be quite careful when you sit. It was great for Vegas, but don't let the ruffles fool you into thinking it's a "sweet" dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Body type: Full Bust
November 12, 2012
Cute!
Great dress but not my favorite! I think it would probably look better on someone with longer legs!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115lbs
December 9, 2012
Great sexy flirty dress. I wore it to a 40's theme party and my bf and freinds loved it.
Fit great. Would not have been my first choice for a "family" function without a tank underneath. I liked how low it was in the front, but others with a similar bust size (D+) might find it a little risqué. Super comfy and fun to dance in!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 2, 2013
Beautiful dress - Not for my body type
beautiful dress.. i automatically liked the look of it when i saw it online.. it showed up and it was very nice quality and a beautiful dress, however, NOT right for my body. I am short and petite but have 32D cup and it didn't cut me right.. It was very low cut and I could hardly close it to lie flat. Great dress but if you are curvy expect it to be a little on the smaller side.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
January 2, 2013
This is a super cute dress
I rented this dress for my graduation party after I defended my Ph.D. thesis. It was super cute and comfy for the evening. However, I would warn that if you have big boobs you will need a camisole underneath it. I had to pin the dress so that my boobs didn't pop out, but that was sort of expected with the wrap styling. This was perfect length for me since I am short, but taller girls may come off looking a litle overly sexy since it is quite short. Loved this dress!
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
March 4, 2013
Super cute and fun!
Flattering and sexy - perfect for a date with my Valentine.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 124lbs
March 4, 2013
Sexy
The dress does run a little small .. I would go for the larger size to be safe.. As I have a large chest and was having trouble keeping the dress from being to showy!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
April 5, 2013
I enjoyed this wrap dress
If the idea of the wrap dress is a bit intimidating, wear a camisole underneath. The fabric is thinner than I expected, so a slip would be a good idea
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
April 18, 2013
Cute dress
This is a nice dress. The smaller size fit but was a little short so I opted to wear the larger size. I wore it to a casual rehearsal dinner for my sister-in-law. I pinned up the top so it wasn't as revealing. Overall a nice dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 26, 2013
Flirty and Fun!
I did a retro look with this dress and it was perfect. I felt so pretty, but not too glammed up. The dress was so comfortable, since there were no zippers or anything in the way. It wrapped around and cinched up like it was made for me. Got some compliments on the ruffles and the simplicity.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
September 10, 2013
ummm
I have natural 32DD so it kept pulled apart around my breast since it was a wrap around. I should have worn a size bigger but I usually wear extra small on everything so I thought it was fine. well it wasn't.
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
September 28, 2013
I wore it for a 50's themed bachelorette party and received lots of compliments.
It fit perfectly. The only problem I had was that the front of the dress would shift when I was dancing and would expose my chest more than I would have liked. I would recommend some kind of tape to keep that from happening. Otherwise I loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 6, 2013
average dress and super short
I wore this dress for a Napa wine tasting. the dress was appropriate but the fabric was disappointing. Its a tighter fitting dress if you are broad shouldered or busty. I'm only 5 foot and it ran super short
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 7, 2013
Fun dress, can be dressed up or down to fit event
It does run a bit small and shows a lot of cleavage! I made it more casual and conservative by wearing a cami underneath, but I would love to wear this again, one size up and make it more dressy for another event. As the other girls said the collar does not stand up like in the picture, but I liked it. For my height, 5'5, it was not too short and all around comfortable and fun :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
December 9, 2013
It is so beautiful, perfect dress! It has a vintage and nostalgic feel.
Love this dress. I'm 5'4" so I didn't think it was too short, just right (hit about 3" above my knees). The only struggle I had was I wore a balconet padded bra, where I should have worn a plunge bra or something a little less padded, so I was always paranoid the wrap would relax up top and reveal my bra. I had to tie it tight around the waist and check on it often to make sure I was decent. But otherwise, it's adorable! Great for a more casual event or affair. Thank you, RTR for taking the pressure off of finding the perfect dress! You make it easy =)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 116lbs
February 17, 2014
Sassy and Fun
I wore this dress for my best friend's bachelorette party. It was comfortable and sassy which was great! It is definitely a WRAP dress. I wore a slip with it and that was fine. However, i would definitely recommend having a slip.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 20, 2014
Super cute and casual!
Fit just like you'd think it would-super cute! Maybe a little too "cute" for the date my boyfriend and I went on but can't think of any cons!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
February 24, 2014
Runs too short & seems lower quality. Hourglass & Pear figures beware. Still a great polka dot!
Unfortunately the dress runs too short for curvy body. Although the back did cover my bum, if I wrapped the dress to fit my waist, the dress would barely cover my crotch. The next size up did give me an extra inch in length, but didn't make me feel much better. I rented this dress for a professional photoshoot with my husband to then follow with a date night. I hoped this dress would be the right combination of classy and fun. I was distraught at first & felt it missed the mark. The material is like cotton and didn't have a polished kind of touch to it. Due to the length issue, I didn't feel comfortable walking out my front door. In the end, I did wear this dress to part of the photoshoot: but I wore tights, cinched my waist with a new fashion belt & didn't tie it. It was still was short, but the front wasn't an issue. The shots came out great & you couldn't tell. I changed dresses for our date though. :)
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
48
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145lbs
March 26, 2014
Loved this dress, very fun!
This dress fits true to size, the only problem for me was the amount of cleavage I was showing. I wish I had remember my camisole when packing.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
May 4, 2014
Cute and classic
It was a cute dress, flirty perfect for a date night
Top Contributor
Size worn:
44
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
May 20, 2014
Comfortable but cute
I wore this to a bridal shower and it was so comfortable! We were sitting to eat brunch and watch the bride open gifts for a while, so it was nice to not have something tight or riding up while i sat. But it didn't look frumpy, it was perfect! Got lots of compliments! It fits true to size because it is a wrap dress and you have a lot of control on how tight you tie it! I would recomend it!
See more reviews:
1 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×