Blue Rose Bodice Sheath

$75 rental
$450 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Look chic and refined in this deep blue sheath by Moschino Cheap and Chic. The gorgeous color and flattering fit are perfect for all of your upcoming dinner and engagement parties.

Also available in yellow and purple.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 38-48. Italian sizing.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes – very fitted at bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted – curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee -(on a 5'3" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Navy blue stretch poplin (97% cotton, 3% other fibers). Sleeveless. Scoop neckline. Ruched bodice. Hidden side zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. 39'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
108 reviews
Fit
Large
(5)
True to Size
(60)
Small
(41)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
46
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
April 13, 2015
Tons of compliments! Loved the material
Perfect
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
March 8, 2016
Beautiful dress
Fit is true to size, very little to no stretch. Beautiful dress, tons of compliments, and I felt amazing!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
October 20, 2014
Material doesn't seem high quality
The color is nice enough. It does seem to run a little big. I usually wear between a 6 and an 8 and the 46 was huge on me. I generally thought that the quality of the dress didn't seem that great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
48
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
June 7, 2013
Wish I could of worn this dress!
The color of this dress is stunning in person. Be careful though, this dress tends to wrinkle very easily. I wanted to wear this dress out of the 2 I rented, but it was too big for me! It's very sexy dress though. I'm tall and I thought the length was very approiate, so tall girls do not shy from this dress! I'm planning on renting this dress again for the next wedding I have, just a smaller size!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
44
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158lbs
May 12, 2014
Runs Big
Fabric looks shiny in pics, but has a casual cotton feel. Runs big- would wear for a business meeting, not a formal affair.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
June 4, 2013
That I couldn't wear it.
I ordered too big ... the straps were way too long and I could not wear it.
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
February 15, 2015
Gorgeous! but big on top
Beautiful dress I wore for a professional formal affair, and the material was great, but the size 38 wasn't available and so I went with the 40. It was too big on top for me, as I have small shoulders so the straps were way too loose. Loved the fit otherwise though, and so did my fiancé! If you don't usually have strap issues, go for it :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
48
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 200lbs
July 19, 2014
Classy, perfect for a wedding!
I wore this dress to a friends wedding last summer. I ordered the 46 and 48 and ended up sizing up as the dress was a little small on my chest. The over all fit is small and it was form fitting. It made my figure look great! It was light weight and I was able to dance it fairly easy. Overall it was a good choice
View photos (2)
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
November 10, 2014
Dress was great, loved the color, the length, the ruched top. Biggest complaint was the loose straps
PROS: -Beautiful color! -The dress was definitely a bit snug for a size 2. That said, it hugged all the right places and made my boobs look way bigger than they really are! CONS: -The inseam above the left breast was torn/ had come undone. Not a big enough malfunction to keep me from wearing the dress, but noticeable to me. -The straps were pretty loose and my bra kept showing in the back and on the sides
View photos (3)
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
November 13, 2014
My husband loved it, many compliments!
Runs small, not very forgiving fabric. Overall, great dress, perfect for fall wedding.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
March 8, 2013
STYLIST REVIEW!
Loved this dress for any sort of dressy work/cocktail event! It was about as long as I'll go in a dress but it was still flattering for my height. I tried on the 40 which fit, but was a little snug in the bust. So I would absolutely recommend sizing up if you are are a C cup or larger. Beautiful color though, very flattering and a nice fit! Highly recommend!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 25, 2013
Didn't wear the dress.
I thought this dress fit very oddly. I didn't end up wearing it. One size was too small around the bust, the next size was too big on top. Also, the fabric wasn't as dressy as I thought it was going to be. It looks shinier online then it is in person.
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
April 23, 2013
I got a lot of compliments and it was appropriate for the occasion.
I felt the dress was a little more fitted, thus I had to wear a size bigger than usual and, for me, the straps were a little bit too long. Also, the pictures make the dress look shiny, but it really is a less casual looking fabric. It is also more fitted in the bust than in the body of the dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 136lbs
April 24, 2013
Not for busty ladies!
I was so excited about renting this dress! Unfortunately, it was not a success. I ordered two consecutive sizes, and my chest was falling out of the smaller one. Unfortunately, the larger size fit me like a potato sack! I would say that if your bust is larger than your hips, go with a different dress. It really is too bad. The color was so beautiful.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124lbs
May 2, 2013
This dress screams class and style!
I loved wearing this dress. The color was a deep, rich blue, and the cut was superb! After reading the reviews I wasn't worried that it would be shiny, but it has this wonderful sheen. The material felt great while it was on, and I didn't have to wear any speciality bras to get into this. Everyone commented on how beautiful the dress was. However, the top is super tight, and the zipper seem to have difficulty going up or down. I am glad I got a size up because there was no way I could have squeezed into the 4.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
44
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
May 7, 2013
I received compliments all night :)
The dress is beautiful and I receive a ton of compliments but it runs small!! I totally understand vanity sizing but I am a 2/4 in J. Crew and I had to suck it in all night in the 8 in this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137lbs
May 30, 2013
Another easy RTR rental gone right!
After reading other reviews about how this dress wasn't as formal as it looks, I decided to give it a try for a special celebratory date with my husband. Turns out the other reviewers were right - this dress is the perfect combination of classic and comfortable. The fabric is what gives this dress just a hint of being casual. I paired it with classic nude pumps for a night on the town and it was perfect. Comfortable, yet it fits like a glove in all the right places. I'm considering renting this dress again in the future for another event. To me, this dress does run a little small though, so I would recommend sizing a size up in your back-up dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 4, 2013
Cute dress, but it didn't fit :(
Sadly I couldn't wear either because it was way too small! I am usually a 4, or sometimes a 6 in designer clothes. I got the 40 and 42 and couldn't zip either! I recommend going 2 sizes up for this one.
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
June 5, 2013
Beautiful and really flattering
Beautiful dress, really flattering. Definitely ran a bit small so I'd order your size and then 1 up just in case. Small through the bust but pretty accurate through the hips.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
44
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
June 19, 2013
Very pretty
The fit and color were very pretty. The dress ran a little small so I sized up. The straps were too big which bothered me. Overall, very nice dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 24, 2013
A little disappointed this time around
This is my 3rd time renting from RTR, and unfortunately I was a slightly disappointed this time. Based on previous reviews, I understood that the dress ran small and I ordered accordingly (ordering my usual size (42/8) and 1 size up (44/10)). Unfortunately, the size 8 - which probably would have worked for me - would not zip up. And while the dress was snug, it wasn't a matter of it being too small - the zipper just wouldn't budge once we got to the seam at the waist, even with my husband trying and both of us working together. The 10 fit comfortably through the skirt but was too big up top (and was also difficult to zip). So I ended up not wearing it. I understand that it's hard to rent or buy a dress without trying it on, so the size issue was not as disappointing to me as the zipper issue and the overall quality of the dresses. They looked pretty worn, and I could tell that others had struggled with the zippers as well. (I also thought I'd get some fashion tape and/or other helpful items with my order as I'm pretty sure I have in the past, but they were not included this time.) Based on my other experiences with RTR I will absolutely rent again, but I'm sad that it didn't work out this time.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
July 10, 2013
Neither size fit me.
I ordered a 4 (my normal size) and a 6 for a backup. The 4 barely fit over my hips - I definitely have hips but nothing extreme by any means - I'm fairly petite so I was surprised that it was so tight. I was able to zip it up but it looked way too tight and it was uncomfortable to just stand, let alone be able to sit or dance at a wedding. The 6 fit well in the hips and waist, but the straps were so large that there was about a 2-3 inch gap between my shoulders and the straps. So needless to say, neither size looked or felt right on me. I had to run out and buy a last minute dress the day before the wedding. I think the dress would only work well for women with very slim hips and a larger bust. What I did like about the dress (even thought I couldn't wear it) is that the fabric was high quality and the color was really nice.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 126lbs
July 29, 2013
Easy, simple, and form fitting.
Runs a little small
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
August 20, 2013
Too Small
The dress is super cute and the material is great. Unfortunately it runs way small so I couldn't wear it. If you have any curves, I would recommend sizing up.
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
September 8, 2013
Love!
I loved this dress. It runs a little snug but the fit is great in a sexy yet classy way. I couldn't be more pleased. I definitely recommend going a size up because it does run a little tight.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
September 11, 2013
rented for an at home try on.
Very tight in the ribcage, but the color is beautiful.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 142lbs
September 17, 2013
Classic and Elegant!
This dress was perfect for a wedding. Its very comfortable and the color stands out. I ended up going with the larger size because the fit was a little small around the chest area. It looks very elegant!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 124lbs
September 26, 2013
Lovely, but needed to size up
This is a very pretty dress, but unfortunately I misjudged the size (I ordered a size 40 as a backup on my first-ever RTR order) and wasn't able to zip up past my ribcage. I think anyone with a 36 band size would probably want at least a 42, if not a 44. I had some concerns about the formality of the dress after seeing reviews saying the fabric was more matte that it appeared in the picture, but it would have been perfectly appropriate for the fall wedding at a fancy hotel that I was attending.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
October 3, 2013
Really pretty cut
Although it ran a little small. I've never not fit into a 0, but this was just a bit snug. It fit, but it was much tighter than I would feel comfortable wearing for a few hours, so I went with the backup dress.
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
October 28, 2013
All of the great comments I received!
The dress says it is best for A-C cups, but I have DD size and it worked well. Very flattering, appropriate and sophisticated.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
44
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
October 30, 2013
Overall happy with the dress
The fabric wasn't what I was expecting, looked a little cheaper in person. The dress also ran small for me. I'm usually a size 6 but had to go up a size for this dress. Overall, I liked the dress and the earrings I paired with it (also from RTR).
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
January 20, 2014
Someone stopped me and told me how stunning i looked. I was thrilled :)
So I wore this dress for an October Wedding. The color was awesome and it fit like a glove...size up! This dress runs small and it will be tight in the chest area. The length was perfect and I felt sexy, but sophisticated sexy, if that makes sense. I ordered 2 sizes a 2 and a 4 and i went with the 4 (whatever the conversion is in Euro).
View photos (1)
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
February 10, 2014
So flattering!
I adored this dress. It does fit small like all of the reviews say, I ordered a size up for my extra size and ended up wearing it. Simple and classy, would definitely rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134lbs
March 12, 2014
Not my favorite RTR but did the job
I rented this dress for a dinner dance event. The color is not as bright/sheen as in the picture. The dress was obviously worn and color was faded and more matte like. The straps were a tad big and the dress was very tight tho I was able to wear it. I would say it runs small. Overall it was OK, not my favorite dress but still worked out.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 27
March 30, 2014
I felt like an absolute supermodel and was complimented like one all night!!
The color was absolutely beautiful on and it fit like a glove! It ran quite small I was glad I took a size up in my additional one, I'm a true 2 but my chest is a 32DD. I ended up not being able to wear a bra even with the larger size and the straps were far too long, so I had to pin them. It was so worth the extra trouble for the constant head turns I got all night and the compliments being paid to my man :) I would definitely recommend it and order it again, even with the difficulties it was an amazing dress.
JenycMay 16, 2014
I just received this dress for an event this weekend and have the same issue with the straps; any suggestions on where/how to pin for best look?
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
April 6, 2014
I didn't end up wearing the dreas
I typically wear a 2 or a 4, and there was only a size 2 available so I gave it a shot. It was way too small.
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
April 8, 2014
Simple, well-made, and very flattering!
Classy dress that slims and flatters. You can dress it up or down and pair it with a variety of colors. The dress is a beautiful deep blue color that I paired with coral pumps and earrings. It all looked great together! I ordered a 40 and 42 anticipating that the 40 would be the best fit. The 40 was a little too snug for my comfort, but the 42 fit perfectly. I highly recommend this dress and will be using Rent the Runway for my next occasion!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
April 13, 2014
SPANX NEEDED, unless you're a model
Love this dress! However, upon seeing pictures of myself at the wedding I wished I had wore spanx! It looked this I was pregnant and I consider myself in decent shape!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
April 16, 2014
This is a beautiful dress.
Pros: beautiful color and details, Cons: runs small
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127lbs
May 26, 2013
fit like a glove!
This dress fit like it was made for me and I got a ton of compliments! Beware, though, it is very small up top and gave me cleavage when I typically have none. I normally wear a 4, but the 6 (40) fit perfectly.
View photos (2)
See more reviews:
1 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×