Blue Rose Bodice Sheath

$75 rental
$450 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Look chic and refined in this deep blue sheath by Moschino Cheap and Chic. The gorgeous color and flattering fit are perfect for all of your upcoming dinner and engagement parties.

Also available in yellow and purple.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 38-48. Italian sizing.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes – very fitted at bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted – curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee -(on a 5'3" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Navy blue stretch poplin (97% cotton, 3% other fibers). Sleeveless. Scoop neckline. Ruched bodice. Hidden side zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. 39'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
108 reviews
Fit
Large
(5)
True to Size
(60)
Small
(41)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
May 9, 2014
Elegant and classy
Comfortable
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 12, 2014
Odd Fit
I ordered this dress in the equivalent of a 6 and an 8, but unfortunately the 6 was unavailable last minute. They still sent the 8, and I tried it on thinking it may run small since it isn't a mall dress. The 8 was far too big, to the point where it fell off of me. Beyond just being too large, the straps ran long even for its size, leaving either half my bra exposed or I could have pinned it and given an odd loop or gap on the straps. It was also a touch longer than I expected. I'm 5'5" and it covered most of my knees. Again, the dress wasn't technically in my size, and nor was it awful, it just wasn't what I had expected. Luckily customer service was fantastic and let me order a back up dress which I ended up wearing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
June 2, 2014
Great cocktail dress
Great color, great fit and very well made, what more can a girl want.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
June 8, 2014
This was a backup option I didn't wear.
Runs true to size if not a bit smaller. Nice material, pretty color.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
48
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 200lbs
July 19, 2014
Classy, perfect for a wedding!
I wore this dress to a friends wedding last summer. I ordered the 46 and 48 and ended up sizing up as the dress was a little small on my chest. The over all fit is small and it was form fitting. It made my figure look great! It was light weight and I was able to dance it fairly easy. Overall it was a good choice
View photos (2)
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
November 10, 2014
Dress was great, loved the color, the length, the ruched top. Biggest complaint was the loose straps
PROS: -Beautiful color! -The dress was definitely a bit snug for a size 2. That said, it hugged all the right places and made my boobs look way bigger than they really are! CONS: -The inseam above the left breast was torn/ had come undone. Not a big enough malfunction to keep me from wearing the dress, but noticeable to me. -The straps were pretty loose and my bra kept showing in the back and on the sides
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
August 27, 2014
Never wore it
I was a little disappointed in this one. The dress I wanted to order was not available and this was the back up I selected. The fabric was very unflattering and I did not end up wearing it.
Size worn:
46
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 38
August 30, 2014
The dress is nice
Was not as shiny in the pictures. It could fit a little better but overall a great dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
44
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 24, 2014
Classic look
I liked this dress but it was work to make it work. The material has ZERO stretch so it doesn't mold to your curves. It would look much better if you owned it and could have it tailored. The shoulder straps are very long and I am short chested so I folded them at the crease and tacked them with navy thread. You couldn't tell and it made the dress work (otherwise I couldn't have worn it). The dress is very long, I am 5'7" and it was below my knee. I ordered a 44 and 46 because the reviews said it had no stretch and I have bigger hips but probably would have looked better in the 42 because it didn't touch my mid section and made me look very straight. It was an okay rental and I felt fine in it but it would be better suited for a very straight figure and not a curvy/hourglass shape. I will note that it accommodates large breasts very well as I am a 32DD and it covered them just fine.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
November 8, 2013
great dress!
loved this dress, fit in all the right places. perfect length for a work affair, gives your waist definition. i could not wear a bra with this but it was tight enough to give me support. the straps were a little loose. it is conservative but still sexy. the only problem i had with the dress was the zipper, got stuck a few times at waist when the material changes. i would definitely rent this dress again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
October 20, 2014
Material doesn't seem high quality
The color is nice enough. It does seem to run a little big. I usually wear between a 6 and an 8 and the 46 was huge on me. I generally thought that the quality of the dress didn't seem that great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
October 29, 2014
Great dress for a wedding -sexy without being tacky.
Great dress - zipper sticks a bit. Fits really nicely, makes you look hot but not inappropriate. Nice fabric, comfortable for dancing. Would rent again.
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
November 13, 2014
My husband loved it, many compliments!
Runs small, not very forgiving fabric. Overall, great dress, perfect for fall wedding.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
44
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133lbs
April 24, 2014
Classic style
Great overall dress for a holiday work party. Highly recommend.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
March 8, 2013
STYLIST REVIEW!
Loved this dress for any sort of dressy work/cocktail event! It was about as long as I'll go in a dress but it was still flattering for my height. I tried on the 40 which fit, but was a little snug in the bust. So I would absolutely recommend sizing up if you are are a C cup or larger. Beautiful color though, very flattering and a nice fit! Highly recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
44
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 153lbs
March 24, 2013
This dress was perfect, I felt great!
We attended a wedding with a 2 pm ceremony, and an evening reception. I wanted a dress that would work for both. The blue is a really beautiful color and I felt fabulous wearing it. I accessorized with a blue/green patterned scarf, a gold clutch, and the Oscar de la Renta Cerulean Petal Earrings. It is fitted and doesn't have much stretch but I was still able to dance and not feel uncomfortable. I tend to wear an 8, sometimes a 10, in dresses. The 8 (or 44) fit perfectly. However if I had a larger bust, I definitely would have need the 46. It was a wonderful experience and I can't wait to rent another dress!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 25, 2013
Didn't wear the dress.
I thought this dress fit very oddly. I didn't end up wearing it. One size was too small around the bust, the next size was too big on top. Also, the fabric wasn't as dressy as I thought it was going to be. It looks shinier online then it is in person.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 8, 2013
The fit was incredible!
Not only did the dress look great on but it felt great too!!! The material was not as fancy as I thought it was from the pictures...was a bit more casual than I expected but because of the way the dress fit it was perfect for the occassion!
KellyOctober 2, 2013
Seriously, this dress looks like it was made for you!!
BrigidaOctober 2, 2013
:)) Thank you so much! It really felt great on also!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
April 17, 2013
So many compliments!
This picture doesn't do it justice, but this dress was amazing! Everyone was so surprised that I rented it, someone even said that it looked 'like it was made for me.' The yellow Kate Spade necklace that I also rented completed the outfit. Already ordered the yellow color of this dress for a wedding this summer, can't wait to wear it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
46
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
April 21, 2013
The gorgeous color!
I was so excited that the dress fit me in my "real" size-- so often, couture and high-end dresses are cut small. That said, there were a few issues-- it's a bit long in the upper torso, so I could have benefitted from shortening the straps a bit. Also, the slip came out from the bottom hem, but not when I first put it on, so I was unable to fix this issue. It only did this when I was sitting down, so I just tucked it up. This dress is very fitted and snug, but because it's cotton, it will stretch. I have a wide back/shoulders and am fairly busty, but my regular size still fit, so I don't know that I would even recommend going up a size. My bra was a little funky underneath, but again, that's me, not the dress. I will DEFINITELY rent this again, perhaps in one of the other colors, though I really loved the blue. I have a Coach bag that went perfectly, and I wore the multi-strand of pearls for a perfect ensemble!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
April 23, 2013
I got a lot of compliments and it was appropriate for the occasion.
I felt the dress was a little more fitted, thus I had to wear a size bigger than usual and, for me, the straps were a little bit too long. Also, the pictures make the dress look shiny, but it really is a less casual looking fabric. It is also more fitted in the bust than in the body of the dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
April 24, 2013
Not for busty ladies!
I was so excited about renting this dress! Unfortunately, it was not a success. I ordered two consecutive sizes, and my chest was falling out of the smaller one. Unfortunately, the larger size fit me like a potato sack! I would say that if your bust is larger than your hips, go with a different dress. It really is too bad. The color was so beautiful.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
April 29, 2013
This dress fit like a dream!
I'm usually a size 2, so I rented a size 38 and a 40 as back up. I ended up going with the 40. This dress is gorgeous! The color is great and it fits snug through the chest, waist, and hips, which is what I wanted. When I got the dress, seeing it on the hanger really did it no justice, you must put this dress on!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
May 1, 2013
fantastic color!
Loved the rich blue colow! I am slim but have hips with a small waist , and where most dresses dont give me much shape in the waist, this dress managed to accent it! A little low cut, but it your not modest, it's great!
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124lbs
May 2, 2013
This dress screams class and style!
I loved wearing this dress. The color was a deep, rich blue, and the cut was superb! After reading the reviews I wasn't worried that it would be shiny, but it has this wonderful sheen. The material felt great while it was on, and I didn't have to wear any speciality bras to get into this. Everyone commented on how beautiful the dress was. However, the top is super tight, and the zipper seem to have difficulty going up or down. I am glad I got a size up because there was no way I could have squeezed into the 4.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
44
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
May 7, 2013
I received compliments all night :)
The dress is beautiful and I receive a ton of compliments but it runs small!! I totally understand vanity sizing but I am a 2/4 in J. Crew and I had to suck it in all night in the 8 in this dress.
Size worn:
48
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
May 9, 2013
Perfect wedding dress.
It's a sexy dress, but not too revealing. It was a bit long, but sophisticated, and the length was fine with heels. I will say the zipper definitely needed an extra pair of hands...it's a tough one.
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 13, 2013
Fits like a glove!!!!
The blue is such a nice color, and I felt great in it! I wore it with white pumps and a white blazer for the ceremony, which was a great color to go along with the blue. Great fabric that hugs in all the right places. :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
May 19, 2013
Great Dress
I wore this for a gala, and received many compliments. I thought the material was going to be a fancier, shiny material, as it appeared on the model's picture.However, this wasn't the case.. The dress was more of a cotton material and needed fancy accessories to dress it up.
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
May 22, 2013
A slinky dress that hugged in all the right places and was comfy enough for dancing!
I got the dress for my senior prom. I wanted to wear something that was simple and sexy, but not too foxy. This dress was the perfect happy medium; it complimented my figure without overexposing it and looked wonderful. It was comfortable and easy to dance in. The fabric is a little surprising; I expected it to be more silky, but it wasn't the same texture-- however, it was still very nice and formal enough for prom, but casual enough that I could wear it other places if I so chose. According to my date, I looked very lovely. This dress is worn well with any kind of jewelry; I wore very urban jewelry-- blue beads-- but it also looked lovely with diamonds and silver filagree. It was fantastic. I highly recommend this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137lbs
May 30, 2013
Another easy RTR rental gone right!
After reading other reviews about how this dress wasn't as formal as it looks, I decided to give it a try for a special celebratory date with my husband. Turns out the other reviewers were right - this dress is the perfect combination of classic and comfortable. The fabric is what gives this dress just a hint of being casual. I paired it with classic nude pumps for a night on the town and it was perfect. Comfortable, yet it fits like a glove in all the right places. I'm considering renting this dress again in the future for another event. To me, this dress does run a little small though, so I would recommend sizing a size up in your back-up dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 4, 2013
Cute dress, but it didn't fit :(
Sadly I couldn't wear either because it was way too small! I am usually a 4, or sometimes a 6 in designer clothes. I got the 40 and 42 and couldn't zip either! I recommend going 2 sizes up for this one.
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
June 5, 2013
Beautiful and really flattering
Beautiful dress, really flattering. Definitely ran a bit small so I'd order your size and then 1 up just in case. Small through the bust but pretty accurate through the hips.
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
June 5, 2013
Bday dinner & drinks in NYC- stranger literally stopped me and said "great dress!" Made my night!
Beautiful color and fabric. I typically wear a 2 or 4, depending on the fit. I definitely needed the 40. The bodice is slim fitting without much "give". I am small chested with small, narrow shoulders so the top was slightly loose. I wore a padded strapless pushup bra to fill out the bust. Classic dress with just the right amount of sexiness. Loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
48
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
June 7, 2013
Wish I could of worn this dress!
The color of this dress is stunning in person. Be careful though, this dress tends to wrinkle very easily. I wanted to wear this dress out of the 2 I rented, but it was too big for me! It's very sexy dress though. I'm tall and I thought the length was very approiate, so tall girls do not shy from this dress! I'm planning on renting this dress again for the next wedding I have, just a smaller size!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
44
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
June 19, 2013
Very pretty
The fit and color were very pretty. The dress ran a little small so I sized up. The straps were too big which bothered me. Overall, very nice dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 24, 2013
A little disappointed this time around
This is my 3rd time renting from RTR, and unfortunately I was a slightly disappointed this time. Based on previous reviews, I understood that the dress ran small and I ordered accordingly (ordering my usual size (42/8) and 1 size up (44/10)). Unfortunately, the size 8 - which probably would have worked for me - would not zip up. And while the dress was snug, it wasn't a matter of it being too small - the zipper just wouldn't budge once we got to the seam at the waist, even with my husband trying and both of us working together. The 10 fit comfortably through the skirt but was too big up top (and was also difficult to zip). So I ended up not wearing it. I understand that it's hard to rent or buy a dress without trying it on, so the size issue was not as disappointing to me as the zipper issue and the overall quality of the dresses. They looked pretty worn, and I could tell that others had struggled with the zippers as well. (I also thought I'd get some fashion tape and/or other helpful items with my order as I'm pretty sure I have in the past, but they were not included this time.) Based on my other experiences with RTR I will absolutely rent again, but I'm sad that it didn't work out this time.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
July 10, 2013
Neither size fit me.
I ordered a 4 (my normal size) and a 6 for a backup. The 4 barely fit over my hips - I definitely have hips but nothing extreme by any means - I'm fairly petite so I was surprised that it was so tight. I was able to zip it up but it looked way too tight and it was uncomfortable to just stand, let alone be able to sit or dance at a wedding. The 6 fit well in the hips and waist, but the straps were so large that there was about a 2-3 inch gap between my shoulders and the straps. So needless to say, neither size looked or felt right on me. I had to run out and buy a last minute dress the day before the wedding. I think the dress would only work well for women with very slim hips and a larger bust. What I did like about the dress (even thought I couldn't wear it) is that the fabric was high quality and the color was really nice.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
July 21, 2013
Gorgeous color, flattering shape!
I loved this dress. I was a little nervous when I received it because of the pleating across the bust and it looked like it was pressed wrong. When I put on the dress, it didn't matter at all and looked great. Loved the color and super flattering.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
44
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
July 24, 2013
Elegant
This dress was flattering and classy. The fabric was less formal looking than in the picture of the model, which made it just right for a family wedding. The only thing that kept it from being perfect was that the lining at the bottom of the dress showed when I sat.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×