You are masquerading as ! (switch back)
| REVIEWS |
 
| MY BAG
 

FREE SHIPPING + INSURANCE
What's this?

Rent like a PRO all year long! One year of
free shipping & insurance. Plus, we'll throw in
a free birthday dress. Learn More

Our Runway
What's New
Dresses
Accessories
Occasions
Designers
Stores
Blog
Blue Rose Bodice Sheath
Rental $75 Retail $450
info
  • Stylist Notes
  • Product Details
  • Size & Fit
Look chic and refined in this deep blue sheath by Moschino Cheap and Chic. The gorgeous color and flattering fit are perfect for all of your upcoming dinner and engagement parties. Accessories like kate spade new york’s midnight statement earrings and Diane von Furstenberg’s Gatsby Glimmer Clutch are the perfect complement.

Also available in yellow, purple, and orange.
Chat with a Stylist
Navy blue stretch poplin (97% cotton, 3% other fibers). Sleeveless. Scoop neckline. Ruched bodice. Hidden side zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. 39'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.
Chat with a Stylist
This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 38-48. Italian sizing.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes – very fitted at bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted – curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee -(on a 5'3" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Chat with a Stylist
  • Enter your shipping zip code
  • Select size
    Select free 2nd size
  • Select the day you'd like your dress to arrive
    We recommend you select a rental start date 1-2 days before your event.
    Renting for Thanksgiving weekend? Enjoy an extended rental on us! Rent for 11/27 and return 12/1.
    • Start Date
    • Mail Back
    • Unavailable
    • *No delivery on Sundays
Got A Minute? Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Photos41

0 Reviews from women like you:

Enter more for better results

Laura
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3442
Mar 27, 2014
gorgeous color & cut
Size worn: 40
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I think the 42 would have been a better fit, but it was unavailable. The 40 was pretty tight, but wearable, and I got a lot of compliments on it, especially the color.
Stephanie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5433
Mar 24, 2014
Perfect fit
Size worn: 44
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I was happy to find the size 6 (44) worked perfectly. I had ordered the backup size in an 8 (46), as well, based on the other reviews and the size notes. However, the backup size turned out to be much too large, while the 6 was a great, tailor-fitted look. The length for my height (5'5'') was just above the knee, which I found to be very flattering, and the neckline was flattering, without being too revealing. The top might be tough for ladies with more going on in the bust area, because that was quite snug. I paired it with the Lauren Merkin "Champagne Metallic Snake Diana w/ chain" handbag and wore nude pumps and pearls to complete the look.
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2534
Mar 21, 2014
Great color!
Size worn: 38
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was great for a Mad Men themed party I attended! Just the right amount of cleavage for me, and the color was great! I'm on the shorter side, and was concerned it would be too long, but it was perfect! The tummy area isn't very forgiving with this dress, so plan/eat/drink accordingly!
Danielle
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 117 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2433
Mar 20, 2014
Gorgeous!
Size worn: 38
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit like a glove and was so flattering! I was so pleased with it. Since this is a popular dress, I did feel like the dress had been worn quite a bit, so something to be aware of - this will not look brand new.
lsg
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4542
Mar 12, 2014
Not my favorite RTR but did the job
Size worn: 40
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for a dinner dance event. The color is not as bright/sheen as in the picture. The dress was obviously worn and color was faded and more matte like. The straps were a tad big and the dress was very tight tho I was able to wear it. I would say it runs small. Overall it was OK, not my favorite dress but still worked out.
Maureen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7433
Feb 26, 2014
wore at a concert and then to a costume party by adding horns & a pitchfork! Devil in a blue dress!
Size worn: 46
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
A bit longer than I had thought it would be. Hit about an inch and a half below my knee and I'm 5'5"
Jaquilyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4434
Feb 26, 2014
Sizing seems off & Straps are long
Size worn: 46
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Was looking to wear this to my bf's annual office party/dinner, but there was just no way. I love the look of the dress and although the fabric is more cotton like than I had expected it's still very nice. (Seemed a little like a bride's maid dress to me) I'm typically a 4, but given my bust and hip proportions I figured I should size up, so I got a 6(44) and 8(46). I should have gotten a 2 and a 4 because I was swimming in both of them. In addition, the straps were too long, causing the front of the dress to be overly revealing. However, perhaps the straps would work better on me with smaller sizes. Either way, I say get your typical size (or even size down) because if you size up it most likely won't fit.
shannon
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3433
Jan 27, 2014
This dress was perfect. The color and fit were exquisite and I would rent it again.
Size worn: 38
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress is very form fitting, but is long enough to be classic. Its a beautiful cobalt color and I received compliments on it all night.
Alexandra
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2423
Jan 23, 2014
Perfect for a classy event
Size worn: 38
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Straps were a bit big for me, and I had to keep adjusting the dress so it wouldn't be too revealing. But otherwise it fit perfectly; I got plenty of compliments. Highly recommended!
Corinne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 6423
Jan 10, 2014
Beautiful color, not great for petites
Size worn: 46
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was beautiful, the detail on the bodice was flattering and I loved it. However, I ordered the equivalent of the 8 and 10 and received the 12 and 14, This was ok! I'm hippy and have an ample... backend so the 12 fit in the skirt. The problem was having to shorten the straps and make the bodice smaller. I ended up sewing myself into this dress. It was a show stopper! But it might be a tough one for other short girls with bums.
Anna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 4433
Jan 6, 2014
Awesome classy dress!
Size worn: 40
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The pic doesn't do this dress justice! The color is more of a rich jewel tone...sapphire. The fit is excellent for curvy and boxy shaped figures (it may even give you some curves that you don't have). The material does stretch but is fairly heavy so it will smooth you some. I got many compliments on this dress and I felt great in it. I paired it with black patent leather pumps and pearl jewelry to keep it classy.
Taylor
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4442
Dec 18, 2013
Perfect dress for a holiday party!
Size worn: 42
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress. It was a great color and VERY comfortable. The length of the dress was accurate with the model's picture. I wore the size I would normally wear. The shoulder straps kept sliding down with either size. I wore this with a black blazer which helped with that problem. Overall, a hit!
Lindsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6544
Dec 4, 2013
Too Small
Size worn: 44
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wear a 34D and couldn't zip the zipper at the bust. Beautiful color for a dress; too bad I couldn't get it to work.
Danielle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4434
Nov 8, 2013
great dress!
Size worn: 40
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
loved this dress, fit in all the right places. perfect length for a work affair, gives your waist definition. i could not wear a bra with this but it was tight enough to give me support. the straps were a little loose. it is conservative but still sexy. the only problem i had with the dress was the zipper, got stuck a few times at waist when the material changes. i would definitely rent this dress again.
Melissa
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3533
Nov 5, 2013
Beautiful dress!
Size worn: 42
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Thank you Rent the Runway for saving the day! I didn't go with my gut and ordered my regular size and one size up. Neither fit. I immediately called and spoke to a Go-to Girl who found two dresses the next size up and had them shipped to me in time for my event. I received numerous comments about the dress, which stood out in a sea of black dresses. The dress is cotton and arrived somewhat wrinkled, but a quick once over with the iron fixed it. I would definitely size up for this dress!
Leah Q.
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 4433
Oct 30, 2013
standout dress.
Size worn: 40
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It fit like a glove! The cut, the color, everything was perfect. I kept my jewelry & shoes simple to let the dress stand out.
ec
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3524
Oct 28, 2013
Great LB(lue)D
Size worn: 40
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This is a versatile dress in a classic cut and a great alternative to the standard LBD for fall/winter. Previous reviewers indicated the dress ran slightly small, so I ordered the 40 and it was just right: fitted but not tight. The dress was a little long in the straps and skirt for me, but not surprising given my height. This dress would work for cocktails, an afternoon wedding, or a work event (+ cardigan), but is probably too casual for a more formal affair. This is a reliable go-to dress.
Jennifer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4534
Oct 28, 2013
All of the great comments I received!
Size worn: 40
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The dress says it is best for A-C cups, but I have DD size and it worked well. Very flattering, appropriate and sophisticated.
Katherine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 4443
Oct 14, 2013
Great color, classic dress!
Size worn: 42
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was a great dress, with some flattering rouching around the waist. IT is very tight through the hips/butt/legs. The 40 fit me but was too tight for the occasion so I went with the 42 and the straps/top was a little bit bigger so it wasnt a perfect fit. Loved the color and was great for a formal affair!
Kristin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5443
Oct 14, 2013
Unfortunately this dress was not available. However, RTR made it right!!
Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered this dress in a 6 and an 8 for a wedding. Unfortuantely, one day before my event I was contacted and told both the 6 and the 8 were damaged beyond repair. So just beware if you are choosing those sizes! I ended up having fabulous customer service from Serena who worked hard to find me another dress and get it to me on time. She sent 4 other styles, but I ended up going with this dress in the plum rose color. The fit is true to size (I went with the 6) Straps are a little long, but not terrible. Overall an amazing fit. You will love this dress in any color!
Marian
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2433
Oct 3, 2013
Really pretty cut
Size worn: 38
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Although it ran a little small. I've never not fit into a 0, but this was just a bit snug. It fit, but it was much tighter than I would feel comfortable wearing for a few hours, so I went with the backup dress.
Helen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 124 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5433
Sep 26, 2013
Lovely, but needed to size up
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This is a very pretty dress, but unfortunately I misjudged the size (I ordered a size 40 as a backup on my first-ever RTR order) and wasn't able to zip up past my ribcage. I think anyone with a 36 band size would probably want at least a 42, if not a 44. I had some concerns about the formality of the dress after seeing reviews saying the fabric was more matte that it appeared in the picture, but it would have been perfectly appropriate for the fall wedding at a fancy hotel that I was attending.
Jamie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3433
Sep 23, 2013
Fit like a glove, Love this dress
Size worn: 40
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I got so many compliments on this dress. It is simple, but the high quality material and fit make it a stunner.
stacey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2422
Sep 11, 2013
rented for an at home try on.
Size worn: 38
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Very tight in the ribcage, but the color is beautiful.
Amanda
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 3244
Sep 8, 2013
Love!
Size worn: 40
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress. It runs a little snug but the fit is great in a sexy yet classy way. I couldn't be more pleased. I definitely recommend going a size up because it does run a little tight.
Karen
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5432
Aug 24, 2013
Classy Dress
Size worn: 42
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this for a wedding and it was perfect. It definitely ran small - so I'd go for one size bigger. The zipper was hard to get up over the fabric, but once on it looks amazing. The color is really beautiful and the design is simple and stylish.
Susan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5423
Aug 20, 2013
Too Small
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The dress is super cute and the material is great. Unfortunately it runs way small so I couldn't wear it. If you have any curves, I would recommend sizing up.
B
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2523
Aug 19, 2013
This dress was perfect for a wedding.
Size worn: 40
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It was comfortable for sitting and dancing, and it gave me a great shape. The straps were a little large, but it was not noticeable. It hit just below my knees.
Pampers
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 119 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3533
Jul 29, 2013
Easy, simple, and form fitting.
Size worn: 38
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Runs a little small
Colleen
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 119 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3523
Jul 15, 2013
Got TONS of compliments on this dress
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I read the reviews, I am a fairly busty but tiny girl. Normally I wear a 2 or 4 but the 6 fit perfectly. It was my first rent the runway experience and I'm already coming back for more!
Lindsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4443
Jul 7, 2013
Pretty color, tight on bust
Size worn: 40
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I really loved the color and the fabric. The dress is structured and for the most part fits nicely. However the bust area was way tight and too uncomfortable.
Molly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6533
Jun 24, 2013
A little disappointed this time around
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This is my 3rd time renting from RTR, and unfortunately I was a slightly disappointed this time. Based on previous reviews, I understood that the dress ran small and I ordered accordingly (ordering my usual size (42/8) and 1 size up (44/10)). Unfortunately, the size 8 - which probably would have worked for me - would not zip up. And while the dress was snug, it wasn't a matter of it being too small - the zipper just wouldn't budge once we got to the seam at the waist, even with my husband trying and both of us working together. The 10 fit comfortably through the skirt but was too big up top (and was also difficult to zip). So I ended up not wearing it. I understand that it's hard to rent or buy a dress without trying it on, so the size issue was not as disappointing to me as the zipper issue and the overall quality of the dresses. They looked pretty worn, and I could tell that others had struggled with the zippers as well. (I also thought I'd get some fashion tape and/or other helpful items with my order as I'm pretty sure I have in the past, but they were not included this time.) Based on my other experiences with RTR I will absolutely rent again, but I'm sad that it didn't work out this time.
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5533
Jun 19, 2013
Very pretty
Size worn: 44
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit and color were very pretty. The dress ran a little small so I sized up. The straps were too big which bothered me. Overall, very nice dress.
sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7543
Jun 7, 2013
Wish I could of worn this dress!
Size worn: 48
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The color of this dress is stunning in person. Be careful though, this dress tends to wrinkle very easily. I wanted to wear this dress out of the 2 I rented, but it was too big for me! It's very sexy dress though. I'm tall and I thought the length was very approiate, so tall girls do not shy from this dress! I'm planning on renting this dress again for the next wedding I have, just a smaller size!
Amanda
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4443
Jun 5, 2013
Beautiful and really flattering
Size worn: 40
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Beautiful dress, really flattering. Definitely ran a bit small so I'd order your size and then 1 up just in case. Small through the bust but pretty accurate through the hips.
Tara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5434
Jun 4, 2013
That I couldn't wear it.
Size worn: 42
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I ordered too big ... the straps were way too long and I could not wear it.
Mary
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5433
Jun 4, 2013
Cute dress, but it didn't fit :(
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Sadly I couldn't wear either because it was way too small! I am usually a 4, or sometimes a 6 in designer clothes. I got the 40 and 42 and couldn't zip either! I recommend going 2 sizes up for this one.
CDH
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3432
May 19, 2013
Great Dress
Size worn: 40
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this for a gala, and received many compliments. I thought the material was going to be a fancier, shiny material, as it appeared on the model's picture.However, this wasn't the case.. The dress was more of a cotton material and needed fancy accessories to dress it up.
Lauren
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Canonical User Type: 8534
May 9, 2013
Perfect wedding dress.
Size worn: 48
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It's a sexy dress, but not too revealing. It was a bit long, but sophisticated, and the length was fine with heels. I will say the zipper definitely needed an extra pair of hands...it's a tough one.
Sara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 4423
May 7, 2013
I received compliments all night :)
Size worn: 44
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The dress is beautiful and I receive a ton of compliments but it runs small!! I totally understand vanity sizing but I am a 2/4 in J. Crew and I had to suck it in all night in the 8 in this dress.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×
×
Save at least $14.95 on every order and rent like a pro all year long. Details
  • free shipping
  • free insurance
  • free birthday dress