Tulle To Lace Gown

$160 rental
$598 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Look red carpet ready for the gala wearing this drop dead gorgeous ML Monique Lhuillier gown. Be prepared to have all eyes on you looking insanely chic. Shown here with accessories like the Crislu's Classic Lady Earrings and Ben-Amun's Pearl Trellis Bracelet.

Also available in navy and blush.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes
WAIST: Fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Three lengths available. Petite measures 56” from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'0''-5'4'), Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes
WAIST: Fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Three lengths available. Petite measures 56” from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'0''-5'4'), Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black tulle with lace underlay. Sleeveless. One shoulder neckline. Fitted bodice with trumpet flared skirt. Hidden side zipper. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
404 reviews
Fit
Large14
True to Size245
Small117
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 8, 2016
Gorgeous, COMFORTABLE dress! Loved It!
Based on other reviews, I ordered a size 8L. I usually wear either a 6 or an 8; so to be safe, I went with the 8, and I am so glad I did. It was super comfortable and still had a enough structure to accentuate all of the right curves. I didn't NEED to wear Spanx with it (again bc it fit really well), but I did, just to give it a cleaner line. Only downfall to potentially "sizing up" was that the shoulder strap was too long...In other words, after zipping up the dress and making sure it fit around the bust properly, I had about 2 extra inches of fabric in the shoulder. So, I had to pull it down and tuck the extra fabric into the back of the dress/my bra strap. My only guess for this "issue" is that I am not that busty?!? Who knows. But once tucked, I had no problems with it (only minor re-tucks from my husband throughout the night), and I felt SO beautiful in this dress. I also loved that I didn't have to constantly pull the dress up, which was a slight concern when I ordered it (again bc I am not busty); it's so well made, with the right boning and "corset" in the bust, that it just worked. It's an effortless dress that is just gorgeous in person. I also think it photographs really well. I received a ton of compliments... I LOVED it and wish I could have kept it! Also, definitely order the long if you are 5'9;" I only wore 1.5" heels and it was the perfect length ( a regular would have been too short).
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 31
February 1, 2016
elegant, timeless, and classy. received several compliments and a lot of attention!
bodice was snug and fit well. size runs small. i'm usually a 0 or 2 but the 4 was just as tight.
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 41
January 30, 2016
Stunning dress!
I received many compliments throughout the night. It fit snuggly, but comfortably, in the hips. I'm usually a size 8 and ended up wearing the size 10. Love, love, love the one shoulder look. Like others have mentioned, the zipper was tricky to zip because of the material and I had some issues with the neckline folding over at the bust, which I didn't fill out so much. Such an elegant, memorable dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
January 27, 2016
Stunning
Bust is a tight fit if you have a larger chest (friend here is cup size C) making it flatter and spill into mesh area. Long size was a little short (friend is 5'10") so heals were out of the question.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148lbs
January 1, 2016
Came in a day before it was supposed to, which I appreciated very much !
Runs smaller in size I'm usually a size 8 and I used the size 10...... The zipper is a little difficult but other than that, it's a beautiful dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
December 22, 2015
Glamorous dress
I liked the fit, though it was a bit snug in middle.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
December 21, 2015
Gorgeous detail and silhouette!
This dress was so stunning in person--I received compliments all night at my friend's wedding. I am only 5'3" so almost everything is crazy long on me, but not this! Thank goodness I ordered the regular length in addition to the petite length, because my modest-length heels stuck way out of the bottom of the petite size!! The bodice seems to favor straight up-and-down silhouettes, because getting the zipper over my average (C) bust took THREE PEOPLE!!! But it fit like a glove when we got the fussy zipper up after all that work. Also, the zipper being on the same side as the shoulder piece made for crushing my freshly-done hair, which sucked, BUT when all was said and done, this dress was a show stopper. I would go through that whole struggle again just to wear it for a few minutes because it really was beautiful!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Body type: Pear
December 4, 2015
Lovely gown
I absolutely loved the cut and fit of the dress. I was able to go bra less because the dress fitted firmly around the bust and hips. My only issue was the dress was too long for my height.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117lbs
December 3, 2015
Beautiful and elegant dress - got many compliments. Fits really small on the top area!
I love the way this dress photographs - it looks darker in person. I received many compliments and felt very elegant all night. My only complaint is that the fit was great everywhere but in the chest area was really small (even though I don't have big boobs), so I couldn't wear a bra with it. If you are anything bigger than a B its definitely going to be very small!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
December 1, 2015
Great black dress
I tried this dress on and loved it. I really did -- it fit all my curves and gave me a great shape. It wasn't extremely comfortable however due to the tight fit around the hips. Standing was fine but sitting wasn't as comfortable and since I was attending a Gala with a lot of sitting I didn't choose this dress. It really was pretty though, my husband loved it.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
November 20, 2015
My 30th Birthday was my Golden Birthday (turning 30 on 30th). HeatherK Photos
It was snug on hips and waist, but the 8P was way to big in bust, so I made the 6R work.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
November 11, 2015
This was stunning. Not perfect, but stunning.
I wore this for a formal pearl-themed gala, and it was great. I loved the sheer overlay over the lace, and a sideswept bun on the opposite shoulder of the asymmetrical tulle was the perfect 'do to accentuate the dress. Some sparkly earrings and NO NECKLACE really made it pop. However, I'm pretty tall and curvy, and this dress, honestly, just wasn't made for my shape. I had to squeeze into it because I think the design is really made to give the illusion of curves to women who haven't got many, rather than being a great dress for women with curves. As other reviewers have said, it's very tight in the hips, and there is NO stretch. I rented the long, as I'm tall, and this was woefully short on me. I made just barely work by wearing shoes that I wanted to show off, but was disappointed by the inadequate length. Really, I wonder if a 14L would have been better... unfortunately RTR doesn't seem to stock enough of those sizes! In the end, it was a great dress and a great night.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
November 8, 2015
I LOVED this dress. It was so beautiful and so flattering. Didn't want to take it off.
This dress was incredibly comfortable and beautiful. I had been worried about other post-ers reviews about the ribcage being too tight, but it was just fine if you didn't snap the snap :) I truly LOVED this dress. It felt good to wear. It was formal but not too fancy where you didn't look like yourself or it looked like you were trying too hard. I pinned the shoulder sash a bit tighter because after many uses, it needed a little more love (otherwise it bunched in some weird places or looked too loose) but all it took was one tiny safety pin and it was perfect! I'm 5'5 and wore 3 inch heels, the Regular length was perfect. If you are a bit bustier, the sheer black sash is perfect bc it hides the cleavage that the tighter ribcage bumps up, lol. Having the blach sash there helps keep the dress appropriate and mindful, while still being a big sexy. Huge 2 thumbs up. I may rent it again for my holiday party!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 26
November 7, 2015
My handsome date and the dress (duh)! :)
The fit was great! The top is a little small as it says in other reviews, but I was able to wear my true size. I'm usually between a 4 and a 6 and wore the 6 because there is no stretch and tight around the hips. I am 5'7.5" and wore the 6R with 1.5" heels and the length was perfect. There is a lot of fabric on the dress so I wouldn't recommend wearing it somewhere where it's going to be very hot. For the tight shape, the dress is very comfortable! I got a lot of complements on the dress and had a great time wearing it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
November 6, 2015
Was first choice, but didn't end up wearing
I was really sad when trying this dress on because I was so excited to wear it to the Marine Corps ball, but it didn't live up to my expectations. The top seam kept flipping up and I'd have to keep tucking it back under so it wouldn't show under the mesh chest part. I knew that it would annoy me during the ball so I didn't wear it. I'm not sure if this is only an issue for women with small chests or what, but it did it with both sizes I had ordered. Shout out to the incredible customer service who worked with me to get a replacement (of my choice) the morning of the ball! They even sent me 2 sizes of the replacement to make absolutely sure it would work.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148lbs
November 5, 2015
I received so many compliments.
This gown is absolutely amazing!!! I rented the 8R and 10R. I think I actually could have gone wth the 6R for this particular gown. I usually wear anywhere from 6 - 10 but 8 is my usual size. The heels I wore were probably about 4 inches and the dress hit the floor like the model in the pictur. I'm a curvy girl and this dress is great for those of us with a small waist and curvy hips. You can go without a bra, but I did wear a strapless bra because the chest was a little big for me. I'm a 34C. I wish I had a photo to share. I will definitely rent this gown again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
October 17, 2015
Best gown that I've rented yet from RTR
This dress didn't have my normal size which is an 8L. That size would've fit me perfectly but I had to settle for the 10L. It was roomy in the body and hips but was perfect in the bust...I'm a 36C. The dress has beautiful details and is a classic dress with a few modern surprises. The lace underlay adds a touch of elegance and the asymmetrical tulle portion added drama. For anyone over 5'8" definitely get a long. You won't be disappointed with this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
October 12, 2015
I got constant feedback about how beautiful the dress was & how complimentary to my shape it was.
pros: flattering for shape. because of all the texture from the outer chiffon layer, it is very forgiving to the midsection. very unique looking, no one at the wedding had anything quite like it. cons: be careful if the dress is long. there is a thin and delicate chiffon outer layer that I stepped on a lot and it could rip SO easily. notes: This might run small. I normally wear a 2. However, the 4L fit perfectly. A 2 would definitely not have fit. If you get a 4 and have a chest size of D or larger be prepared to not wear a bra and not to take deep breaths all night ; ) Also, I wore 4.5" heals which was made the dress length perfect!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 156lbs
October 5, 2015
Bombshell
Looked pretty amazing in this dress and got asked to dance, a lot :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
October 3, 2015
Dozens of compliments from attendees dressed to the nine's.
Tight in chest made me size up. Which meant loose on the waist and rear. NO stretch in this dress. I'm 5' 7 1/2" wore 3 inch heels and thought it could have been a tad long on me. But I bet the regular would have been short. Beautiful dress
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185lbs
October 1, 2015
This was a great dress! I felt super sexy, and got several compliments!
The dress was tad tight at the top, which cut in. But I think the next size up would have been too big. Other than that it fit like a glove.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 31
September 29, 2015
Black tie event at the Tower of London!
Dress received so many compliments and everyone thought it had been made for me. I absolutely loved the fit and cut - truly made me feel special and unlike my everyday wear. The only downsides were that there were a few loose strings and seams starting to show wear, but no one else seemed to notice
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 26
September 28, 2015
Perfect for a black tie wedding!
The dress was so comfortable, the perfect length with 3 inch heels, and I received so many compliments. I did not want to take this dress off!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 34
September 24, 2015
I wore this dress for my husbands formal promotion ceremony.
I got two sizes a 12R and 14R. The 12 fit just right but was a little snug in the boob area so I opted for the 14 which was much roomier but a little to loose in the boob area. The dress still looked beautiful on and I got ton of compliments. I even found a cute dress for my daughter to match me. I am extremely satisfied with this company and will use them again.
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 30
September 14, 2015
Beautiful dress, but a little too short for my 6' frame!
This is a really beautiful dress. I did not end up wearing it because it was about an inch or two too short (it was also my backup dress) I'm 6' tall: I ordered the long length and planned to wear flats, but it still did not reach the tops of my shoes. It fit great through the hips, but it was tight through the bust, as some other reviewers mentioned. The inside lining also had some tears, which didn't affect the way it looked from the outside, but probably speaks to how difficult this dress is to get on and off.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 39
September 10, 2015
Bummed I didn't get to wear this
I got this dress sent to me as a backup option when the dress I ordered was no longer available. It is a gorgeous dress, but it was way to formal for the occasion.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
September 4, 2015
I got many compliments on this dress.
I really liked this dress. Great customer service helped me track this dress and made sure I got it on time for my event. This dress is very formal. I would wear it again for a wedding or for a black tie event.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
August 15, 2015
Pretty dress but did not wear it
This dress is beautiful but a hassle to get in and maneuver around. It definitely runs small so I got a 4 and a 6 and the 4 wouldn't even zip. I loved the back view of this dress but the tulle strap had a tear in it. Also with all the extra fabric I felt like it wasn't a slimming dress for me.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Weight: 150lbs
August 9, 2015
Hubby and I attended a gala, and the dress was perfect for the event :)
It fit perfectly, and I usually have gaps given my smaller shape. I loved it!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
August 5, 2015
RTR customer service was amazing and saved the day!
I originally ordered a different dress, but due to damages, they could not send it. One of the customer service reps looked at what I had ordered and my back up, and sent me 3 different dresses to choose from, this was the best fit and was amazing :) My main concern was comfort and the ability to wear a regular bra, because I had just had a baby 4 months prior and needed the bust support. I had to wear a strapless with this, but the dress had enough support built in. I could have actually worn the 8L and it would have fit better, but the 10 worked fine. I received so many complements and was extremely pleased that it worked out. I had a slight freak out when in read the email about my first dress, but as soon as I put the new dresses on I had a new dilemma and loved them all!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
August 4, 2015
Glamorous!
Bodice is snug but comfortable. If you are muscular and small chested like me, don't assume you can get away with a small size due to a small bust! Perfect length for 3 inch heels. I'm 5'5" and it just swept the ground.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
July 26, 2015
No stretch - not great for curvier women.
This dress is beautiful - I ended up letting my friend borrow it - she doesn't have much curve to her waist and hips and she looked AMAZING and curvy in this dress. If you're looking to add a bit of shape to a straighter figure, I recommend this dress. If you have some curves it's going to be hard to fit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
June 21, 2015
This was shipped to me overnight after my original selection didn't work. Happy with the service!
Fabric doesn't give so make sure you go a size up if you are busty. My husband worked a small miracle to zip it up at the top (it fit just fine in the waist). It was very easy to wear - no bra needed because it was so tight. Received compliments. Flattering fit.
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
June 20, 2015
So many compliments on this dress. I felt like a princess!
The fit is true to size through the hips but I would say it runs snug through the rib cage and bust area. I wear a 34D bra and could only zip this dress without it. After zipping however, it looked lovely. Regular Length perfect for 3 1/2 inch heels on me and I'm just about 5'3''. Very happy with the earrings that I also rented from RTR.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103lbs
June 5, 2015
Show stopper for a black dress!
Sometimes a black dress can get lost in the crowd but this dress really stood out with the beautiful shoulder and the way the fabric overlaps made me look like I had a little bit more of an hourglass figure. I am 5 ft so renting long dresses is a big struggle, the train was a little long and i was wearing 5 inch heels a couple times my fiancé tripped on it while dancing but most of the night it was fine I did have to hold it up while walking but that would be my only con. I only have a black and white picture on my phone (sorry) but it was elegant (I wore this for a super fancy black tie wedding) and made me feel sexy!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 138lbs
June 4, 2015
Beautiful and stunning.
Loved this dress, I did take into consideration the reviews that said the bust ran small, fortunately that works for me, but if your busty, I would go up a size. The dress was absolutely beautiful and I got several compliments on it, Very flattering in all the right places!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
June 2, 2015
It was such a great experience working with customer reps to get the most perfect dress for me. Tnx!
I loved wearing this dress. It fit so well and did not need any adjusting the entire evening. It was so comfortable and so flattering and just perfect for a formal wedding occasion. The only size left when I ordered was a petite so I could not wear heels and think it would have looked so much better with heels but even without - I got many, many compliments and had a very hard time sending this dress back! Would order over and over with rent The Runway - they are truly an amazing company with the best customer service angel helpers I have ever encountered. Love you guys! xo
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
June 1, 2015
True to petite sizing!
It is a curvy number for sure! Great to accentuate hourglass figures but not at all forgiving on the tummy. I'm 5'1" and the 4P fit but was perhaps a little too short with 3" heels. The 2R worked lengthwise but would close over my 34C chest. Pretty but didn't do the trick.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
May 24, 2015
My first experience with RTR & it won't be my last.
The dress fit like a glove, it was reserved & very sexy!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
May 22, 2015
Everyone commented on how gorgeous the dress was and I felt like a movie star!
Runs small in the bust, I was glad I had the option of the size up from my normal (typically 10-12 depending on designer). I went with the regular length because the long wasn't available. Definitely go with the long if you plan on wearing any kind of heels.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 11

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×