Tulle To Lace Gown

$105 – $120 rental
$598 retail
Stylist Notes

Look red carpet ready for the gala wearing this drop dead gorgeous ML Monique Lhuillier gown. Be prepared to have all eyes on you looking insanely chic. Shown here with accessories like the Crislu's Classic Lady Earrings.

Also available in navy and blush.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes
WAIST: Fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Three lengths available. Petite measures 56” from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'0''-5'4'), Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Black tulle with lace underlay. Sleeveless. One shoulder neckline. Fitted bodice with trumpet flared skirt. Hidden side zipper. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
436 reviews
Fit
Large
(17)
True to Size
(255)
Small
(122)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 40
September 10, 2015
Bummed I didn't get to wear this
I got this dress sent to me as a backup option when the dress I ordered was no longer available. It is a gorgeous dress, but it was way to formal for the occasion.
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 36
September 24, 2015
I wore this dress for my husbands formal promotion ceremony.
I got two sizes a 12R and 14R. The 12 fit just right but was a little snug in the boob area so I opted for the 14 which was much roomier but a little to loose in the boob area. The dress still looked beautiful on and I got ton of compliments. I even found a cute dress for my daughter to match me. I am extremely satisfied with this company and will use them again.
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
June 2, 2016
This dress is great for a formal wedding!
Despite a few of the reviews here saying this runs small, I thought the sizing was representative of what I normally wear. If you're on the short side, definitely go with the petite sizing! It's the main reason why I chose this dress over a more festive color (there weren't many options left since this event was sort of last-minute).
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 37
June 5, 2016
Red carpet worthy!
The dress was wonderful. I received many compliments. It was a little loose in my hips, and I might have been able to go down to a size 4, but as it was, it was very comfortable! Loved it! I can't wait to RTR again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
June 11, 2016
Gorgeous dress. Received many compliments. Pictures don't do it justice.
I ordered sizes 6 and 8 in this dress for a wedding. I'm a 34D and wasn't sure if the dress would fit since the 6 was pretty snug in the chest area but fit everywhere else and I was swimming in the size 8. I wound up wearing the size 6 and had no trouble breathing in it at all. And even though I'm busty, the tulle in the front of the dress somewhat gives your cleavage a little coverage and makes this strapless dress very tasteful for a wedding. The only problem with the dress was that it was ripped on the side. Luckily and because I was determined to wear this dress, I was able to alter it and wear it to the event. I'm so glad that I did because I received so many compliments throughout the night! Also, even though I'm only 5'2, I was able to wear 3in heels without tripping over my dress, so my feet were comfortable all night long. (The tulle at the bottom seems to glide every time you take a step, so you won't have to worry about stepping on the dress.) I would definitely rent this again.
Size worn:
8P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 37
Weight: 145lbs
June 23, 2016
Watch my full video review snd experience https://youtu.be/HCbskC2F5vo
gorgeous dress, ran tight on chest/ribcage. fabric has no give. pls size up! love the convenience of the site! was my first experience, check out my video for my full thoughts...too many to write down! good luck!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
June 28, 2016
This dress is stunning! It was absolutely perfect for a black tie gala.
The dress was a bit big in the hips and I had to wear shorter heels than expected but overall it looked gorgeous.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150lbs
September 19, 2016
Gorgeous - but too small across ribcage/bust
I loved this dress and was disappointed that it didn't quite fit (and my larger backup size turned out to be unavailable). It's dramatic - fun full skirt, beautiful tulle layers. The fabric does not stretch. I don't think you'd need a bra with it - it does have a shelf bra - but it's designed to compress, not amplify. I would size up for a backup size. I normally wear an 8L and the 10L would have been the right size. I would rent again in the larger size!
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 43
October 15, 2016
Elegant!!!
I was so excited to wear this dress, but sadly as soon as I put the dress on, the zipper started splitting! Luckily I rented 2 other options but this dress was my number one pick. Defective zipper!! UGH!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
October 22, 2016
Beautiful gown
No Stretch - I have a small waist and it did not hug my waist. Tight on hips but big on waist . I wore another dress with some stretch.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134lbs
October 28, 2016
I felt amazing and loved the entire process of Renting the perfect dress!
The fit was perfect. There were no issues with shipping or returning the dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 30, 2016
Got compliments on the dress all night!
The dress was absolutely stunning, and I felt amazing in it. It does run small, I had to go with the 6R, and the last dress I rented was a 2R, but I've found Monique Lhullier in general runs small. There's a built in lined bra- type deal that means you don't have to wear a bra, but you can wear a strapless. I did. This dress may not work for larger chested ladies...the bodice is VERY fitted, and I'm very small up top. It was very comfortable to wear, and my boyfriend of many years couldn't stop telling me I looked beautiful, so I'd rent this dress again and again!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
November 28, 2016
Perfect dress for a military ball
I received compliments all night long on this dress. It felt wonderfully glamorous with a vintage movie star flare. The boning and padding meant I needed no additional support and although the fabric over the shoulder really didn't hold anything up, it gave me the peace of mind that the bodice couldn't go too far. This dress is absolutely on my short list to rent again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 4, 2016
Perfect!
This dress made me feel so beautiful! It has nice bones that hug your body but doesn't make you feel like you can't breathe. This was my 1st time not being in the wedding party and I wanted to go for elegant but not too over the top. This dress was perfect. A little bit long for me, but the raw edge of the dress made it feel romantic. (Pic of me and my best friend aka groom)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
December 12, 2016
I LOVED this dress but thank god I did not order my normal size 4. Definitely order up a size.
Tight around the rib cage and chest area. Runs small. Besides that, I received many compliments all night. It is a beautiful gown.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
January 2, 2017
Sexy dress, that was just a bit too snug.
This dress is beautiful and elegant, however the 8 was just a bit too snug through my hips to fit comfortably through the night, and the 10 would have been too large. I blame the booty.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
January 8, 2017
beautiful dress, fit well
loved the tulle overlay
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Age: 31
January 17, 2017
I rented
First time rent g from RTR. Loved the dress, it does run small so keep that in mind. Reading the reviews really helped. I recived severl compliments on the dress , I will be renting again!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 31, 2017
It was beautiful!
My favorite thing about this dress was the quality of the fabric. It felt fantastic on! Fanastic choice
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
February 12, 2017
Great dress
It was a perfect dress for a Galla! The top is so flattering and the bottom flows beautifully!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 19, 2017
Stunning
I received so many compliments on the dress! The 2p was a bit short but no one noticed, and I danced the night away!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 32
February 27, 2017
The compliments are never ending with this dress!
I am 5'3", 108 pounds, 32C with minimal curves. The dress fit me very well, although it was long. It didn't fit me as tight in the hips, but still loved the dress. I received endless compliments and would recommend this dress to anyone. It did make me look more curvy than I am, and it accentuated my figure well.
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
April 1, 2017
I didn't end up wearing this dress to a wedding.
This dress didn't look as great as I thought it would. It's pretty but it just didn't work on me.
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 1, 2012
Beautiful dress!
So sad I couldn't wear this dress! It's gorgeous! I usually wear a 6. I ordered a 6L and backup size 8L. The 6L fit perfectly everywhere except the bust. The 8L ALMOST fit in the bust but was a little too baggy in the waist. I had to send it back. :( I do lift weights heavily so my lats are on the larger side and have this problem often with dresses not fitting my bust (eventhough I wear an A or B cup). As for the length, I would have preferred regular length, but it wasn't available at that time. I was just going to wear higher heels! I have another event coming up next month. I think I MAY ease up on the weights just so I can wear this dress! It's beautiful!
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 132lbs
November 3, 2012
love the dress
great fit
BriahDecember 17, 2012
Did you wear heels with this dress? I'm the same height and size and was wondering about the length of the dress?
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
November 4, 2012
Gorgeous dress!
I wore this dress to the Marine Corps Ball--very comfortable--fit great (a little long) but I still LOVED it! I'm so pleased with Rent The Runway I will definatly use this again in the future =)
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
November 4, 2012
My fiance' and I wanted a formal look for our engagement photo shoot. It turned out wonderful!!
The fit was very nice and the length was just right! I am 5'10 and a 34C. The only drawback was the ruching across the waist of the dress wasn't flush with the dress and it looked kinda funny....I received many compliments! The best part about the dress was the fit across the bust area, it really held everything in. Thanks RTR!
BrookeNovember 6, 2012
how high of heels did you wear? I rented this for next weekend, I'm 5' 11" and still a little worried about the length. it looks awesome!
SamiyahNovember 7, 2012
Hey Brooke! I wore about a 2 to 2.5 inch heel...I could have gotten away with up to a 3.5 I believe....HTH!
BrookeNovember 12, 2012
Thanks for the quick response, you eased my mind!
CarlyNovember 20, 2012
This dress looks incredible on you!
SamiyahDecember 10, 2012
Thanks Carly!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
November 4, 2012
I couldn't have picked a more perfect dress.
I felt like a million bucks in this Monique Lhuillier dress. I'm always a little worried about the length of a dress because of my height (5'2") but paired with a four inch heel the length was perfect. Looking at the picture of the model, I thought that the dress would be hard to walk in but there was more than enough room for taking normal steps. My favorite thing about this dress? It's very forgiving, the lace wraps in just the right places to hide any troubled areas. So many compliments all night! I would def rent this one again!
ElleNovember 7, 2012
To be clear, you got the petite at 5'2" and still wore 4 inch heels? I am the same height and ordered the regular hoping that I could wear the tall heels with that height.
mandyNovember 7, 2012
Yes, i wore the petite with a 4 inch heel. It definitely would have been too long with a shorter heel. Hopefully this dress works out for you!
KTNovember 16, 2012
the dress is perfect on you
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
November 5, 2012
I could not fit into the dress. I am a size 6. I ordered a 6 and an 8. Neither of them would fit!
I could not fit into the dress. I am a size 6. I ordered a 6 and an 8. Neither of them would fit! I was very dissapointed, but I had to return the dressed after the four day rental.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
November 7, 2012
This dress is stunning!
This was my back up dress and my friend (on the far right) wound up wearing it. She and the dress were both stunning!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
November 8, 2012
Pefect!
I loved this dress! It was very classy and not too "prom". I have no complaints!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
November 12, 2012
My co-workers were speechless for the first time and my boyfriend couldn't take his eyes off me!
This dress really is stunning! The fit is a little tight through the hips (not ideal if you are trying to dance up a storm), but I found the top to be a little loose. Granted, I've got some serious curves (42 inch hips and a 36 inch chest), so I would suggest ordering a back up size that is one up from your selected if you are looking for wiggle room. If you are a show lover (as I am) order your size long. I wore 3.5 inch heels and I'm 5'6" and the dress was barely brushing the floor.
Size worn:
0P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103lbs
November 12, 2012
You're gonna want to read this to get full details on exactly how this dress will fit you!
I LOVED this dress and I LOVED wearing it!!! SIZING: I am very petite at 4'11 and 103 lbs and I was very worried about how this dress would look on me because of the flairy bottom, but it was very proportioned and I felt like a mini model in it! Let's discuss length.... I ordered the 0P and with a 5.5 inch heel and a 1 inch platform (Christian Louboutin Bibi Heel) it hung perfectly just grazing the floor. I'm a tiny girl with a booty and it fit perfectly and accentuated my body shape in just the right way. While I'm not completely flat on top (Full A, Very Small B) I put two padded bra's on with this to give me a little extra oomph and it fit perfectly! If you have any lumps and bumps the ruching on this dress will hide it and make it look good! RTR EXPERIENCE: I thought my night was determined to be ruined because of Hurricane Sandy. All the dresses were stuck in odd locations and not coming through on time to the warehouse, but Emily M. was AMAZING! She kept me calm and sent a back up dress just in case, but my heart was set on this and she made it happen. She kept in communication with me and kept checking on when the dress would come in. I got it just in the nick of time! DRESS RESPONSE: I was the hit of the ball... every head turned and I received tons of compliments! I loved every moment of it... I felt like a princess for the night! The facebook comments I got felt AMAZING! Thank you Emily M. and Thank you RTR... I will definitely be a repeat customer.
RTR CustomerNovember 13, 2012
U look amazing
ZoeNovember 15, 2012
Thank you :)
EmilyNovember 26, 2012
You look amazing Zoe! I'm so happy that the dress ended uo working out! xoxo Emily M
ZoeFebruary 25, 2013
Just saw this. Thanks Emily M! :) You are AMAZING at your job!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
November 12, 2012
Beautiful gown, should have ordered a shorter size.
I ordered this gown as a back-up. It fit just fine throughout the hips and rear (my biggest concern) however the dress was too long. I am 5'2" and this dress dragged on the ground. I actually put on 6 inch heels, and it STILL wasn't enough to keep me from stepping on it. The top part of the dress where the tulle drapes across the shoulder was too loose. The neckline was just a bit too loose as well at the bust, and the whole thing was slowly sliding down due to the weight of the dress. I originally tried to order the 6P but it was not available. If I had to do it over again, and if it were available, I would have definitely gone with a 6P, as it fit perfectly through the hips. I would have needed fashion tape to ensure it didn't slide off of my bust though!
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
November 12, 2012
Oh My Gorgeous!
It fit like a glove! I have a little more curves and hips than the average size 6 so I wore the 8L for a more comfortable fit. The length was very long. I'm 5'8 and I wore 4 inch heels and the dress still touched the floor.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
November 14, 2012
This dress was perfect for my black tie event - unique and flattering!
The fit - a little snug in a 6R (I'm 5'5'' and 36-29-39) but with 3 inch heels it worked out fine. The top was a little bit tight as well so if you have a larger bust I would recommend sizing up. This was a great shape for my hourglass figure, and I received many complements!
StacieApril 22, 2013
you look adorable, love the attitude, too1
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
November 17, 2012
Didn't get the first size I ordered
Ordered months ago but day before dress to ship they told me up it wasn't available. Same thing happened to my friend. They let me pick out another dress but by that time the ones I really wanted we're not available. Also, my extra size dress didn't fit. I made the mistake of listening to the stylist. Always go for a bigger size than a smaller size! They did try it accommodate me but the fact that what I originally ordered wasn't available rather ruined it for me. I am squeezing into my least favorite of the dresses - I had opted for the extra dress at $25.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
November 17, 2012
Comfortable and elegant.
Currently, it's hard to find a petite size on RTR but this popped up and I had to give it a try. I ordered both the 2R and the 4P because the 2P was not available on the date of the event I was organizing. The 2R was significantly longer and didn't fit as well as the 4P, but I think a 2P would have been perfect. Being gravitionally challenged, I'm used to wearing very high heels with my RTR picks. Plan on wearing a 31/2" heel, even with the petite size. Even as a petite it was a tad long. I did a lot of running around at the event and felt comfortable the whole time. It didn't hurt that the compliments on the dress didn't stop all evening.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 134lbs
November 17, 2012
great dress but not ideal for larger chests
I rented a 4R and a 6R. Both dresses were too long by about 1.5 inches when wearing 4/5 inch heals. A short would have fit a lot better. In terms of fit the 4 was great through my hips and my stomach however there was no way it was going to close through the top. I have a slightly larger rib cage and it definetly caused some problems. Thank goodness the 6 was able to close at the top however it was much looser through the bottem than I would have liked. Also the dress really flattens your chest and was pretty tight through the top. I am a C/D and I had no chest in this dress. It was really comfortable and I got compliments on it all night. If I were to order it again I would get a 6short and just know that it will not be fitted below my waist like the model dipicts it.
kimberlyMarch 23, 2013
did you have to rent two dresses or one and they sent you a back up size?
RTR CustomerMarch 25, 2013
Hi Kimberly! You order both sizes and one is simply a free back-up size!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
November 18, 2012
This dress is absolutely beautiful. A little long, but with a good pair of heels, not a problem!
I wore this dress for a sorority winter formal. I received so many complements; I felt glamorous in it! The dress fit perfectly. It was very flattering around the stomach and really emphasized an hourglass figure. It was too difficult to part with this dress! If I could afford it, I would've bought it myself! Rent this dress and you won't be disappointed. This is the first time I used Rent the Runway and I will definitely be using it again for any more occasions I have!
See more reviews:
1 / 11

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×