Rent the Runway

ML Monique Lhuillier

Tulle To Lace Gown

$160 rental
$598 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Look red carpet ready for the gala wearing this drop dead gorgeous ML Monique Lhuillier gown. Be prepared to have all eyes on you looking insanely chic. Shown here with accessories like the Crislu's Classic Lady Earrings and Ben-Amun's Pearl Trellis Bracelet.

Also available in navy and blush.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes
WAIST: Fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Three lengths available. Petite measures 56” from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'0''-5'4'), Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes
WAIST: Fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Three lengths available. Petite measures 56” from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'0''-5'4'), Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black tulle with lace underlay. Sleeveless. One shoulder neckline. Fitted bodice with trumpet flared skirt. Hidden side zipper. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

372 reviews

Fit
Small 110
True to Size 233
Large 12
Photos 259
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 10, 2012

Incredibly elegant & chic!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress made me look & feel like a movie star! I am STILL receiving compliments on it days later - The fit was amazing & I accessorized with emerald green jewelry to give a pop of color!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Dec 14, 2012

The dress photographed amazingly for my NYC old glamour engagement session.

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
The fit was great! This dress really makes you look like you have serious curve even if you are pretty straight. The dress was super long. I'm 4'11 and was wearing 4 inch heels and there were about 3 inches left. It was a good thing that I was stationery for most of the shots. They ran out of 0P or 2P. I normally wear a size 0 but ML dress tends to be smaller in sizes.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 116 lbs
Jan 12, 2013

Gorgeous, figure flattering gown!

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Another great rental! As with most of the long gowns, it's long-I wore 4 inch heels with it. But I like when they touch the floor. I received tons of compliments, wish I could have kept it :) It's very flattering and slimming the waistline, too.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 16, 2014

I felt like a queen the entire night!!!

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I'm usually a size 6/8 but ordered a 8 and a 10 as my back up, I ended up having to use the 10, so it runs a little small! Glad I ordered the 10!!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 8, 2014

The wedding was very formal and elaborate. This dress was elegant for the evening.

Size worn: 4P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was a little long, I wore 3 1/2 in heals with a 3/4 in platform. The side zipper is very hard to zip, make sure you have someone that can help you zip. The bodice was snug for me, so I would suggest if you are a full breasted figure, this dress may not fit. I received numerous compliments about the dress.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107 lbs
Oct 14, 2014

The dress made me feel gorgeous and I was complimented throughout the night.

Size worn: 0P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Overall the dress fit well, but it was slightly loose for me around the bust and waist area. I think it may have been slightly stretched out, but it wasn't noticeable. It was the perfect length for me when I wore 2-3" heels. It was a beautiful dress. I would definitely recommend renting this one.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 20, 2014

This dress is beautiful, but didn't fit me right.

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This was a great dress for the occasion - an evening city wedding in Miami, but it unfortunately just didn't fit me as well as it could. I'm not very hippy so while the size 8 fit better in the bust (I'm usually a size 4), it didn't fit right in the hips and butt. Unfortunately the 6 was too tight in the chest, which was a bummer cause it fit great everywhere else. Nevertheless, I made this backup option work on short notice and rocked it as best as I could. I still got many compliments despite it not fitting as well as it could have.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 20, 2014

This dress is beautiful, but didn't fit me right.

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This was a great dress for the occasion - an evening city wedding in Miami, but it unfortunately just didn't fit me as well as it could. I'm not very hippy so while the size 8 fit better in the bust (I'm usually a size 4), it didn't fit right in the hips and butt. Unfortunately the 6 was too tight in the chest, which was a bummer cause it fit great everywhere else. Nevertheless, I made this backup option work on short notice and rocked it as best as I could. I still got many compliments despite it not fitting as well as it could have.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Oct 31, 2014

Received a ton of compliments. I was told I look like I'm going to the Oscars

Size worn: 0L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
the stomach could have been a little tighter. I loved the dress. I didn't want to take it off, even when the night was over.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132 lbs
Nov 1, 2014

Fabulous Drama & incredible customer service.

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress for a military gala and it was absolutely beautiful. I rented the size 4 and size 6 regular. The size 6 was too large for me and had some fabric around the bust that wouldn't lay flat. I wore the size 4 but it was VERY tight in the top and I had to have help squeezing the sides together so I could zip it (and I don't have a large chest at all. ) When I first tried the dresses on and I didn't think either would fit I contacted Rent the Runway for help. They were outstanding and responded very quickly to my concerns. The dress photographs like a dream and has good structure. No spanx needed.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 122 lbs
Nov 13, 2014

Classy but Sassy, just remember to size up!

Size worn: 4P
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I know it is hard to pick a size after reading SO MANY reviews on here so let me spell it out for you: size up (the rib cage area is very tight) and if you are 5'3" and plan on wearing heels get the Regular length. End of story, no debating needed. I got the 4P and it fit great, I just had to wear flats due to the length. Other than that it is a beautiful, comfortable dress that accentuates all of the right places and no shapewear is needed (hallelujah!). My original dress was damaged beyond repair and RTR was able to replace it with this gorgeous number. They are truly amazing!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Nov 18, 2014

I received a lot of compliments. Great dress!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
It runs a little small in the bust area.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 12, 2014

An elegant and stunning statement dress guaranteed to turn ALL heads!

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress for a black tie gala at the Embassy of Italy in Washington, D.C. I am usually a size 0 for all Rent the Runway dresses, however, this dress was a bit snug since the material is stiff, it doesn't give. I had to be very careful when sitting down. I'm a petite girl but I didn't feel that the dress overwhelmed me at all. It was a bit long. I'm 5'1" and wore 4 inch stiletto heels. When you order, definitely get your size and a size up. I wore a normal strapless bra with it, but you really don't have to. Nonetheless, I received compliments all night from both men and women--it really makes a statement.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 12, 2014

This dress saved the day for a friend.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was a backup dress sent after my 1st choice dress was unavailable. My friend flew into town with another RTR dress she didn't love and she ended up wearing this one! I tried it on myself but it was tight in the bust (just as described online) so I wore my 2nd choice dress (seen here) and my friend wore this one.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
Dec 23, 2014

N/A

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit perfectly but was a little too long even with 4" heels. If you're 5'5" and shorter I would recommend a petite size. Other than that, timeless dress.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Dec 29, 2014

Loved it!

Size worn: 2P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this beautiful dress! The 2P was perfect! I wish I could keep it!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Jan 7, 2015

Perfect for Holiday Gala

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is definitely very elegant, although there were some issues with the fit. The upper part of the dress from the waist up has somewhat of a girdle on the inside you have to clip in (similar to the band of a bra). I like this feature because it accentuates the waist, however it does make it very tight. I found the hips to be more roomy than the bust. The 8 was too baggy all around, so I went with the 6 to get a tighter fit through the waist. This didn't leave any room for a bra, though I doubt I would have worn one anyway. The zipper was on the same side as the shoulder strap, which made it awkward to get in and out of, but once you're in, you're in! Another thing to note about this dress is it is VERY thick. I was surprised at how heavy it was and how much it weighed - so many layers of tulle! Luckily I live in Wisconsin, so sweating wasn't an issue. However I would not recommend this for warmer climates or summer events. I am 5'9" and wore the dress with flats. I had 3" heels I was planning to wear, however the 6L just wasn't long enough to do with heels.
RTR Customer
Age: 34
Jan 12, 2015

The customer service is impeccable. They stand true to their word!

Size worn: 4P
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is so flattering. Accentuates the positives and conceals the trouble areas. The fit was great and true to size. Perfect for any shape. I received so many compliments. I wore this dress to a Mardi Gras Ball, which also fell on my birthday. I felt like the Queen of the Ball. It was hard to send this dress back!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 30, 2015

LOVE THIS DRESS!!!!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for a black tie party and it was beyond perfect!! I usually wear between a 6 and 8. The 6 was too small on my bust and the 8 was too big on the waist. I ended up going with the 8 and wish it hugged my body more, but it still ended up looking fantastic!!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 59
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 1, 2015

Stunning gown. Very different; lots of compliments.

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fits tight in bust. I'm a 38C, and while the 10 fit much better in the hips, I needed the 12 in the bust. The dress was also a bit too long, but I just lifted the skirt when I walked. Customer service was amazing!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 108 lbs
Feb 9, 2015

fantastic gown!!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I received this dress as a back up for my backup dress. right before my order was set to ship, RTR let me know that my backup size was unavailable an they offered to replace it with another dress, regardless of price! unfortunately, I was unable to wear this dress as I made a goof and ordered the dress in a regular size - not knowing there were petite sizes available. although it fit fantastic and would have suited my mardi gras ball, this dress ended up being several feet too long! there was no way I could have managed to drag that extra material around without ruining it. it was a gorgeous dress that fit amazing, but was just too long for me to wear. I would absolutely consider this dress again in the appropriate length!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 17, 2015

Loads of compliments and feeling like royalty!

Size worn: 6L
Rented for: Wedding
Length was perfect for my 5'9" height along with three inch heels. The size 6 was definitely snug for my 34 D bust, especially ribcage area. I ended up needing a spanx undergarment to cinch myself in a centimeter, which then made it perfect. On a cold, snowy evening this was a warm dress for dinner and dancing.
RTR Customer
Age: 27
Feb 21, 2015

The perfect dress and great customer service!!

Size worn: 8L
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit was great! I could of taken a size down for a tighter fit around the waist but it fit well in the bust-I'm a 34D . The length was perfect for my 5'11" frame. I did wear 2" heels. And the dress was still long enough! I felt like the bell of the ball! A very elegant and comfortable dress! Wish I could if kept it!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Mar 1, 2015

The dress was absolutely beautiful!

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore the dress for a performance in an opera and it fit perfectly. It was a little long, so I had to wear very tall shoes with it. So many people said how beautiful the dress was. This was my first experience with Rent the Runway, and I will definitely recommend it to others and consider renting again.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 175 lbs
Mar 3, 2015

I received so many comments and it photographs perfectly!

Size worn: 14R
Rented for: Formal Affair
I would say the gown runs true to size to slightly small. I was able to wear the size 12 in the other gowns sent, but this one fit like a glove in a 14. It was extremely flattering and super comfortable. Rent the runway went above and beyond when my original dress arrived and didn't fit. They sent me the options I asked for and even threw in some extras for me to try. This dress was absolutely stunning and head turning! Thank you!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115 lbs
Mar 4, 2015

Complements and smiles galore!

Size worn: 4R
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was elegant and sexy. The top was a bit tight (34D) but the remainder of the dress fit with some breathing room. The tulle over the shoulder was a nice way to cover my cleavage yet give a hint of skin.
RTR Customer
Age: 43
Mar 16, 2015

Service

Size worn: 10L
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am usually a 8 in dresses, I ordered this dress in a 8 and 10.... The 10 was a better fit. Dress runs a little in the smaller side...
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Apr 12, 2015

Spectacular dress! Magical evening!

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was absolutely perfect for the fundraiser I attended. As other reviews have indicated, no bra was necessary. The feel of this dress is very glamorous and I received endless complements. No other dresses even came close to this one, which was really fun! I tried both the 10R and 12R, but ended up wearing the more snug dress because it felt more secure and the length was a little better for my height (the 12R was about an inch or so longer). There is a band that clasps inside around the rib cage, but on the 10R the hook was missing and the boning in the bustier part was not straight; this did not affect the fit and I had no problem wearing the dress. The over the shoulder sheer part was not a tight fit, but I just made sure to adjust it as necessary to make it lay the way I wanted, no big deal. I did opt for Spanxs to keep it all smooth. I also rented the bracelet and earrings and could not have been more thrilled with the final look. I wish I had more photos!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Apr 21, 2015

The number of compliments I received about the dress

Size worn: 0L
Rented for: Formal Affair
Was a bit small up top but otherwise fit well
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 24, 2015

G.LA.M.O.R-OUS

Size worn: 8L
Rented for: Formal Affair
Like others have said the upper portion runs small so I ended up wearing the larger, back up size. It was disappointing as the smaller size 6 fit my curves so beautifully. If you have swimmers shoulders like me size up. The long was the perfect length for my 3 inch heels. If you're over 5'8 and plan to wear heels order the long.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 28, 2015

Beautiful gown, Great event, and great people!

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I received so many compliments! The dress was a little to long, but i ordered a regular instead of a petite. Overall great fit!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 14
Age: 23
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
May 6, 2015

Omg I absolutely loved this dress I received so many compliments from so many people.

Size worn: 14R
Rented for: Formal Affair
Everyone wanted to take pictures with me as if I was a celebrity. I felt absolutely beautiful. My husband couldn't keep his hands off of me :-) it truly hugs your curves all in the right places.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
May 8, 2015

This dress was stunning. Very form fitting and made my body look smoking.

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am pear shaped. I have a 30 inch bust, 26 inch waist and 39 inch hips. This dress stuggled with my lower half. My usual dress size is 0 or 2 depending on the brand. The 4R in this barely made it on me. Dance with caution....I wore 5 inch heels and still struggled with the length.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 113 lbs
May 10, 2015

This dress was very comfortable and it made me look curvy in all the right places.

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Dress was very flattering. I am almost 5'2 and I was able to wear this in a petite with 3 inch heels
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
May 22, 2015

Everyone commented on how gorgeous the dress was and I felt like a movie star!

Size worn: 14R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Runs small in the bust, I was glad I had the option of the size up from my normal (typically 10-12 depending on designer). I went with the regular length because the long wasn't available. Definitely go with the long if you plan on wearing any kind of heels.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
May 24, 2015

My first experience with RTR & it won't be my last.

Size worn: 14R
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit like a glove, it was reserved & very sexy!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110 lbs
Jun 2, 2015

It was such a great experience working with customer reps to get the most perfect dress for me. Tnx!

Size worn: 4P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved wearing this dress. It fit so well and did not need any adjusting the entire evening. It was so comfortable and so flattering and just perfect for a formal wedding occasion. The only size left when I ordered was a petite so I could not wear heels and think it would have looked so much better with heels but even without - I got many, many compliments and had a very hard time sending this dress back! Would order over and over with rent The Runway - they are truly an amazing company with the best customer service angel helpers I have ever encountered. Love you guys! xo
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 138 lbs
Jun 4, 2015

Beautiful and stunning.

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved this dress, I did take into consideration the reviews that said the bust ran small, fortunately that works for me, but if your busty, I would go up a size. The dress was absolutely beautiful and I got several compliments on it, Very flattering in all the right places!!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103 lbs
Jun 5, 2015

Show stopper for a black dress!

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Sometimes a black dress can get lost in the crowd but this dress really stood out with the beautiful shoulder and the way the fabric overlaps made me look like I had a little bit more of an hourglass figure. I am 5 ft so renting long dresses is a big struggle, the train was a little long and i was wearing 5 inch heels a couple times my fiancé tripped on it while dancing but most of the night it was fine I did have to hold it up while walking but that would be my only con. I only have a black and white picture on my phone (sorry) but it was elegant (I wore this for a super fancy black tie wedding) and made me feel sexy!
RTR Customer
Jun 20, 2015

So many compliments on this dress. I felt like a princess!

Size worn: 8R
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit is true to size through the hips but I would say it runs snug through the rib cage and bust area. I wear a 34D bra and could only zip this dress without it. After zipping however, it looked lovely. Regular Length perfect for 3 1/2 inch heels on me and I'm just about 5'3''. Very happy with the earrings that I also rented from RTR.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×