Rent 3 for 1 Valentine's Day weekend! Use code 3FOR1VDAY16. DETAILS

Valid on rentals only. You will pay the cost of the most expensive item. Adding a free backup size will count as 1 of the 3 items. Offer expires 2/13/16 at 11:59pm EST and delivery dates must be 2/5/16 through 2/13/16. Promo code cannot be used on existing orders or be combined with other offers or gift cards. Enter promo code at checkout.

Tulle To Lace Gown

$160 rental
$598 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Look red carpet ready for the gala wearing this drop dead gorgeous ML Monique Lhuillier gown. Be prepared to have all eyes on you looking insanely chic. Shown here with accessories like the Crislu's Classic Lady Earrings and Ben-Amun's Pearl Trellis Bracelet.

Also available in navy and blush.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes
WAIST: Fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Three lengths available. Petite measures 56” from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'0''-5'4'), Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes
WAIST: Fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Three lengths available. Petite measures 56” from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'0''-5'4'), Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black tulle with lace underlay. Sleeveless. One shoulder neckline. Fitted bodice with trumpet flared skirt. Hidden side zipper. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
404 reviews
Fit
Large14
True to Size245
Small117
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 113lbs
May 10, 2015
This dress was very comfortable and it made me look curvy in all the right places.
Dress was very flattering. I am almost 5'2 and I was able to wear this in a petite with 3 inch heels
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
May 8, 2015
This dress was stunning. Very form fitting and made my body look smoking.
I am pear shaped. I have a 30 inch bust, 26 inch waist and 39 inch hips. This dress stuggled with my lower half. My usual dress size is 0 or 2 depending on the brand. The 4R in this barely made it on me. Dance with caution....I wore 5 inch heels and still struggled with the length.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127lbs
May 6, 2015
It was for my stepsister's wedding.
I didn't go with this dress as it was too tight in the hips. Beautiful dress; if it had fit, I would have worn it.
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
May 6, 2015
Omg I absolutely loved this dress I received so many compliments from so many people.
Everyone wanted to take pictures with me as if I was a celebrity. I felt absolutely beautiful. My husband couldn't keep his hands off of me :-) it truly hugs your curves all in the right places.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
April 30, 2015
Great dress.
I did not end up wearing this gown. I opted for a metallic dress I had but it fit really well and was gorgeous. It actually was a great black tie dress as everyone at the wedding was wearing black! Also, I had this shipped to me on SATURDAY and the wedding was on Saturday. The rent the runway staff was so helpful and I was really thankful to have this as a backup. Also, the first couple of times I called I didn't quite get the assistance I was seeking — so just call back!
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
April 28, 2015
Beautiful gown, Great event, and great people!
I received so many compliments! The dress was a little to long, but i ordered a regular instead of a petite. Overall great fit!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 24, 2015
G.LA.M.O.R-OUS
Like others have said the upper portion runs small so I ended up wearing the larger, back up size. It was disappointing as the smaller size 6 fit my curves so beautifully. If you have swimmers shoulders like me size up. The long was the perfect length for my 3 inch heels. If you're over 5'8 and plan to wear heels order the long.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136lbs
April 22, 2015
Beautiful dress!
This dress was not my first pic but it turned out perfect for my event. This dress was a little tight in the bust for me, but I made it work. I am 5"8 with flats this dress would have been the perfect length. I know now I will need a long in gowns on RTR! Live the customer service with RTR!!
Size worn:
0L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
April 21, 2015
The number of compliments I received about the dress
Was a bit small up top but otherwise fit well
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
April 21, 2015
Good customer service
Way too snug in bust. Nice dress but it didn't work for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
April 12, 2015
Spectacular dress! Magical evening!
This dress was absolutely perfect for the fundraiser I attended. As other reviews have indicated, no bra was necessary. The feel of this dress is very glamorous and I received endless complements. No other dresses even came close to this one, which was really fun! I tried both the 10R and 12R, but ended up wearing the more snug dress because it felt more secure and the length was a little better for my height (the 12R was about an inch or so longer). There is a band that clasps inside around the rib cage, but on the 10R the hook was missing and the boning in the bustier part was not straight; this did not affect the fit and I had no problem wearing the dress. The over the shoulder sheer part was not a tight fit, but I just made sure to adjust it as necessary to make it lay the way I wanted, no big deal. I did opt for Spanxs to keep it all smooth. I also rented the bracelet and earrings and could not have been more thrilled with the final look. I wish I had more photos!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148lbs
April 8, 2015
It was a stunning dress inside and out. fit like a glove!
pros - has boning and support no need for spanx cons - none really!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
March 30, 2015
Beautiful dress, but the size I ordered was too small.
My back-up size for the original dress I ordered was damaged or not returned and could not be shipped to me. RTR asked me to select another dress in my back-up size. They sent me this dress and it is very nice. The tulle makes it a little more interesting. I would have loved to have been able to wear it, but the size 8 was too small. I typically wear a size 10, so I was not surprised. I think this dress runs true to size.
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
March 17, 2015
PERFECTION!
As promised RTR had my package delivered the day before we left for the event. I ordered one size up only because I did not want it to be skin tight. I ended up wearing the size 6L. Fit perfectly, not too tight but not too loose. Had so many compliments on the dress ~ definitely stands out in a crowd of black dresses. As far as the length goes, I was a little worried because several said the dress was long. I ended up going with the longer length anyway because I would rather it be too long than too short. I had to wear heels, but you would do that anyway. The length just skimmed the floor. So happy with this dress and with my experience. Thanks RTR!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
March 17, 2015
Not for anyone without a lot of curves
I don't have a completely straight body type, but my curves were way too small to fill out this dress. In all that black tulle I looked like a bride of frankenstein. The fabric might have looked nice if it had been pulled taut, but I looked like I was swimming in it. Came right off and went back in the return pile.
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 43
March 16, 2015
Service
I am usually a 8 in dresses, I ordered this dress in a 8 and 10.... The 10 was a better fit. Dress runs a little in the smaller side...
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115lbs
March 4, 2015
Complements and smiles galore!
The dress was elegant and sexy. The top was a bit tight (34D) but the remainder of the dress fit with some breathing room. The tulle over the shoulder was a nice way to cover my cleavage yet give a hint of skin.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 175lbs
March 3, 2015
I received so many comments and it photographs perfectly!
I would say the gown runs true to size to slightly small. I was able to wear the size 12 in the other gowns sent, but this one fit like a glove in a 14. It was extremely flattering and super comfortable. Rent the runway went above and beyond when my original dress arrived and didn't fit. They sent me the options I asked for and even threw in some extras for me to try. This dress was absolutely stunning and head turning! Thank you!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
March 1, 2015
The dress was absolutely beautiful!
I wore the dress for a performance in an opera and it fit perfectly. It was a little long, so I had to wear very tall shoes with it. So many people said how beautiful the dress was. This was my first experience with Rent the Runway, and I will definitely recommend it to others and consider renting again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 28
February 21, 2015
The perfect dress and great customer service!!
Fit was great! I could of taken a size down for a tighter fit around the waist but it fit well in the bust-I'm a 34D . The length was perfect for my 5'11" frame. I did wear 2" heels. And the dress was still long enough! I felt like the bell of the ball! A very elegant and comfortable dress! Wish I could if kept it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
February 20, 2015
Debutante Ball Black Tie
Loved this dress. Form fitting yet incredibly figure flattering and loved the sheer one shoulder.
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
February 17, 2015
Loads of compliments and feeling like royalty!
Length was perfect for my 5'9" height along with three inch heels. The size 6 was definitely snug for my 34 D bust, especially ribcage area. I ended up needing a spanx undergarment to cinch myself in a centimeter, which then made it perfect. On a cold, snowy evening this was a warm dress for dinner and dancing.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 108lbs
February 9, 2015
fantastic gown!!
I received this dress as a back up for my backup dress. right before my order was set to ship, RTR let me know that my backup size was unavailable an they offered to replace it with another dress, regardless of price! unfortunately, I was unable to wear this dress as I made a goof and ordered the dress in a regular size - not knowing there were petite sizes available. although it fit fantastic and would have suited my mardi gras ball, this dress ended up being several feet too long! there was no way I could have managed to drag that extra material around without ruining it. it was a gorgeous dress that fit amazing, but was just too long for me to wear. I would absolutely consider this dress again in the appropriate length!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 60
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
February 1, 2015
Stunning gown. Very different; lots of compliments.
Fits tight in bust. I'm a 38C, and while the 10 fit much better in the hips, I needed the 12 in the bust. The dress was also a bit too long, but I just lifted the skirt when I walked. Customer service was amazing!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
January 30, 2015
LOVE THIS DRESS!!!!
I rented this dress for a black tie party and it was beyond perfect!! I usually wear between a 6 and 8. The 6 was too small on my bust and the 8 was too big on the waist. I ended up going with the 8 and wish it hugged my body more, but it still ended up looking fantastic!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 142lbs
January 19, 2015
AMAZING DRESS.
Truly beautiful dress, well made-flattering from every angle.
Size worn:
4P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 35
January 12, 2015
The customer service is impeccable. They stand true to their word!
This dress is so flattering. Accentuates the positives and conceals the trouble areas. The fit was great and true to size. Perfect for any shape. I received so many compliments. I wore this dress to a Mardi Gras Ball, which also fell on my birthday. I felt like the Queen of the Ball. It was hard to send this dress back!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
January 9, 2015
Short people friendly!!!
This dress is gorgeous, very form fitting, perfect for a formal affair! The length is perfect for short people, both the 0P and 2P fit...just went for the back up instead.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 7, 2015
Perfect for Holiday Gala
This dress is definitely very elegant, although there were some issues with the fit. The upper part of the dress from the waist up has somewhat of a girdle on the inside you have to clip in (similar to the band of a bra). I like this feature because it accentuates the waist, however it does make it very tight. I found the hips to be more roomy than the bust. The 8 was too baggy all around, so I went with the 6 to get a tighter fit through the waist. This didn't leave any room for a bra, though I doubt I would have worn one anyway. The zipper was on the same side as the shoulder strap, which made it awkward to get in and out of, but once you're in, you're in! Another thing to note about this dress is it is VERY thick. I was surprised at how heavy it was and how much it weighed - so many layers of tulle! Luckily I live in Wisconsin, so sweating wasn't an issue. However I would not recommend this for warmer climates or summer events. I am 5'9" and wore the dress with flats. I had 3" heels I was planning to wear, however the 6L just wasn't long enough to do with heels.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 7, 2015
Loved it so much I rented it twice!
This dress fits well in all the right places. I rented it for a formal gala and a formal birthday party. I recieved many compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 30, 2014
So many compliments!
This dress makes you feel like a princess. I received so many compliments...and mostly from women!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 29, 2014
Loved it!
I loved this beautiful dress! The 2P was perfect! I wish I could keep it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
December 23, 2014
N/A
The dress fit perfectly but was a little too long even with 4" heels. If you're 5'5" and shorter I would recommend a petite size. Other than that, timeless dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
December 16, 2014
This was an alternate the stylist sent due to my back up dress being damaged.
I couldn't wear the dress, it was too small on the rib cage. It is not forgiving, so if you're unsure of the size go up a size, or two. I normally wear a 6, and the 8 was too tight, I could ALMOST get it zipped up over my ribs. Very pretty material, elegant and nice movement as I walked.
Size worn:
10P
Rented for:
Wedding
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 15, 2014
Perfection
This dress was beyond beautiful! Received many compliments!!!! Pros: fabric, detail, hugs body, perfect length. Cons: makes chest smaller
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
December 12, 2014
This dress saved the day for a friend.
This was a backup dress sent after my 1st choice dress was unavailable. My friend flew into town with another RTR dress she didn't love and she ended up wearing this one! I tried it on myself but it was tight in the bust (just as described online) so I wore my 2nd choice dress (seen here) and my friend wore this one.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
December 12, 2014
An elegant and stunning statement dress guaranteed to turn ALL heads!
I wore this dress for a black tie gala at the Embassy of Italy in Washington, D.C. I am usually a size 0 for all Rent the Runway dresses, however, this dress was a bit snug since the material is stiff, it doesn't give. I had to be very careful when sitting down. I'm a petite girl but I didn't feel that the dress overwhelmed me at all. It was a bit long. I'm 5'1" and wore 4 inch stiletto heels. When you order, definitely get your size and a size up. I wore a normal strapless bra with it, but you really don't have to. Nonetheless, I received compliments all night from both men and women--it really makes a statement.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
December 12, 2014
Could barely try it on.
I'm very curvy and this dress had some great reviews from my fellow hourglasses, but unfortunately it did not work for me. I could barely even try it on. It bunched awkwardly at my hips and did fit over my bust...at all. This was my second choice, and I'm glad my first choice fit perfectly, but nonetheless I was disappointed in this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 8, 2014
odd fit
I did not wear this dress. It was big in the waist and very tight in the bust. Not flattering at all. Made me look flat chested and bulky.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
December 4, 2014
Beautiful dress
This dress was a backup sent because the original backup wasn't avaliable. It was a stunning dress but was tight in the hips. I was not a fan of the mermaid look, but if it is your style it is extremely pretty.
See more reviews:
2 / 11

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×