You are masquerading as ! (switch back)
| REVIEWS |
 
| MY BAG
 

FREE SHIPPING + INSURANCE
What's this?

Rent like a PRO all year long! One year of
free shipping & insurance. Plus, we'll throw in
a free birthday dress. Learn More

Our Runway
What's New
Dresses
Accessories
Occasions
Designers
Stores
Royal Treatment Gown
Rental $80 Retail $598
info
  • Stylist Notes
  • Product Details
  • Size & Fit
Walk the red carpet in style wearing this jaw dropping ML Monique Lhuillier fish tail gown. You'll turn heads wearing the Dannijo's Samirah Necklace to get a mix of classic and trendy.
Chat with a Stylist
Black taffeta (100 % Polyester). Strapless. Straight neckline. Ruched bodice with boning. Pencil skirt with trumpet hem. Hidden back zipper. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.
Chat with a Stylist
This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Chat with a Stylist
  • Enter your shipping zip code
  • Select size
    Select free 2nd size
  • Select the day you'd like your dress to arrive
    We recommend you select a rental start date 1-2 days before your event.
    Renting for Thanksgiving weekend? Enjoy an extended rental on us! Rent for 11/27 and return 12/1.
    • Start Date
    • Mail Back
    • Unavailable
    • *No delivery on Sundays
Got A Minute? Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Photos175

0 Reviews from women like you:

Enter more for better results

Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7544
Oct 5, 2013
Such a beautiful gown!!!
Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this for my fiance's military ball, but unfortunately he got really sick so we couldn't go. I ended up doing a photoshoot in it and had sooo much fun!!!! It was a little tight around my chest (I'm 36D) but the length was perfect, even in 5 inch stilettos. As always I will rent here again!!
Meghan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 8441
Oct 2, 2013
Absolutely loved the dress - made me feel red carpet ready
Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great material, has a belt on the inside that eliminates the need for a bra. I'm rather tall (5'9) and needed to wear lower heels than I normally would. Surprisingly very comfortable but hard to use the restroom
Aliesha
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4523
Oct 1, 2013
Perfect fit and elegant! Would def rent another dress for any special occasion.
Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I'm usually a size 4, but it was a little big. Size 2 fit perfect and the length was just right.
Natalie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4533
Sep 30, 2013
Very nice....but a bit big on the top
Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I should have went down in size for my second dress to a 2L just to see how the fit was. This is my second formal dress from the brand ML and the 4L has worked for me. The 6L was way too big so I will start going down a size for my backup dress. The top on this was a bit big on me but the rest of the dress fit me good. I did not want to be pulling up the dress all night so I pinned my strapless bra to the dress and I used double sided tape to keep it in place. Those two tactics worked like a charm and I never had to pull it. The silhouette is perfect for bigger hips and but and the ruching covers up any tummy issues.
Sara
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Canonical User Type: 4433
Sep 25, 2013
Absolutely loved the dress. Great fit, true to size and had never been worn!
Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to a black tie wedding and it could not have been a better match for the evening. Fit perfectly, was able to dance in it all night and was so happy with the overall RTE experience!
jilly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5634
Sep 24, 2013
Felt like a movie star
Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this gown to the Primetime Emmy awards. The show I work on was nominated for an award but I'm not an actress. However, in this dress and in my RTR accessories, I felt like an A-list celebrity. The dress is simple and elegant. It is snug but fits true to size. It will show every curve of your body. My waist is 28" and I'm busty. I am an "apple" or athletic shaped person. I wore a corset with this gown and the gown fit like a glove, but it was comfortable, easy to breath, and easy to move around in. My only issue was i DID have to keep puling it up all night. Though it fit it still somehow snuck down and my corset would peak out on the side. My bad for not wearing a black corset! If you have a black corset you are good to go. The zipper is on the side- making it easier to get in and out of on your own. Originally I planned on wearing the gold Carolina Herrera gown from RTR, but I ordered it too big. Thank goodness for this second look for 25$ or I would have gone to the EMMYs in a sack! This dress is classy and simple though I do admit at first I was worried because the gown is a bit boring for my taste (black dress- same old same old). However the fit was great, its comfortable, and very curve enhancing in all the right places. Ultimately I felt so elegant. I will say I did not get compliments on my gown, but I DID get compliments how I looked and on my accessories - which isn't that better?? So if you want a gown that stands out in a crowd, this may not be it. However if you want a gown that is elegant that acts as a canvas enhancing the person wearing it - this is a perfect gown for you. And honestly, maybe that's the way it should be (don't hide behind your gown kind of thing) :)
Alyssa
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6533
Sep 24, 2013
I wore this dress to the season opening gala at The Met
Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It fit perfectly and I received compliments all night long. A room full of celebrities and everyone kept telling me how beautiful my dress was! I had to sit through the 4 hour opera in it and was surprised at how comfortable it was.
Helen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4524
Aug 29, 2013
My BEST RTR experience yet!
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress is so beautiful that I feel compelled to write a review now even though I haven't worn it yet! Both sizes arrived today in perfect condition, perfectly pressed! The fabric is thick and stiff which helps the dress keep its mermaid shape. At first try I thought I would end up wearing the 6 but once I saw how much extra fabric there was I decided to give the 4 another chance and it just fit my body perfectly, curves all in the right places. It's dramatic and elegant. The R is plenty long on my 5'3" frame that I will be able to wear some of my favorite heels with it. I rented a huge chunky necklace to go with it and it too is a piece of art! Doesn't weigh the look down at all just makes me look outrageously divalicious and classically modern. Can't wait to wear this outfit tomorrow and post an update! I'm already sad I have to send it all back! Update: I loved this dress and the necklace got me plenty of compliments. I had to do some little fixes but no big deal I still felt like a movie star. I got tons of compliments and felt amazing in this outfit! Once I wore 4.5 inches heels the dress was the perfect length. Definitely wear your hair up if you're going to wear this chunky a neck piece. I tried to go with half down and it didn't look half as good as when I pinned it up.
Laura
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6532
Aug 23, 2013
I felt like a movie star!!
Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was amazing! It was true to size, and was so elegant! A wonderful way to wear a classy beautiful dress in an inexpensive way. The dress was long, so unless you are really tall, I would order the regular. Our event was a retro charity event, and I was going for the 1940's look, this dress looked great with gloves.
none
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7534
Aug 18, 2013
Loved it!
Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wish I had ordered the 8 and 10 instead of 12 and 10. The 10 was a little big in the ld pull down upper area. When I sat down the back would pull down exposing my bra. Otherwise it was comfortable and easy to move in. I would definitely rent this again. As other reviews had posted, someone stepped on my dress and popped the stitch that holds the bottom but it was NBD.
Kimberly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 8534
Aug 8, 2013
Gorgeous!! Sexy and sophisticated!
Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It fit perfectly. I have a full bust, and the dress definitely showcased that, but everything else was covered, so I went with it! it was gorgeous. I've gained a lot of weight, but this hid it well. If you're going to wear high heels, I'd go with the long. The regular barely covered my 3" heels. They peeped through, but it was okay. Overall, I loved this dress!! My husband kept telling me how amazing I looked all weekend!
Erica
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 3542
Jul 31, 2013
This dress was magnificent! I wore it for a 50's bourbon-themed party, and it was a hit!
Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress fit perfect everywhere including length, (wore 4 inch heels), but was slightly big in the chest area. I think that was just because I didn't have *much to fill in there. :)
Nancy
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 138 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6634
Jul 22, 2013
Beautiful!
Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
First a big thank you to RTR for being so helpful. I received my dress on Thursday and never had a chance to try it on. My daughter's Sweet 16 party was on saturday. On Friday I tried it on and the zipper broke and I started to freak out. I called RTR and they said they will send me another one in first thing on Saturday. I was soo nervous by 12 in the afternoon I had my dress at my door step. The zipper went up and the dress was prefect. I love this dress so much.
Nita
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7524
Jul 20, 2013
I wanted to make a statement with this dress and I achieved just that.
Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for a military ball and the fit was absolutely amazing; I felt like a princess the entire night and on top of that my husband would not leave my side he actually held my hand and showed me off to everyone. I will definitely be renting from here again.
Sally
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7633
Jul 15, 2013
The dress is absolutely beautiful, received compliments all night long!
Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Would definitely recommend this dress. My heels were about 4 inches and the length was perfect. True to size, wore the size 10. I also wore with Kate Spade necklace which complimented the dress and other accessories worn.
Caroline
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 16
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5243
Jul 6, 2013
Loved this Dress! Comfortable and stunning!
Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved everything about this dress. I ordered both a 6L and 4L and the 6L was to big considering my small bust size, and the 4L was snug but fit perfectly. Cons: There were stairs at the location of my event, and it was incredibly hard to walk up them. Some stitching in the tail was already broken when I got there. I used fashion tape to put it back up, but at some point in the night it came off again and I gained a about 3 more inches on the bottom and a 6 inch train. If I had worn heels, it would have been too short. Pros: This dress is so comfortable and it flattered every curve on me. There was enough of a stretch that it could accompany my size 8 butt (which is a problem area when getting dresses as I am a small size 2/4 up top).I could sit in the dress. It was warm, but not too hot or heavy. It was perfect for prom. I could eat in this dress easily and it never felt constricting when I was dancing. It photographed beautifully. I got compliments all night. The length was perfect or my gladiator sandals! I would recommend gold or pearl jewelry, although brass would be cute too.
Ericka
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3523
Jun 11, 2013
Amazing dress. Very classic and elegant.
Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is truly beautiful from all angles. The size was true and the dress does not stretch, there is no give to the fabric. However THE SNUGGER THE FIT THE MORE DRAMATIC THE EFFECT!! It is very true to size. If you need more give then go with a size larger. It was perfectly fitted but a little snug in the breast area, however I am breastfeeding so my size varies considerably. The length was perfect for me. I am 5'2" and with heels I was 5'6". Any taller shoe and the dress would have been too short. I loved this dress and received so many compliments on it. Everyone loved the way the dress fit and the way the fabric was wrapped. It has a pleated effect throughout the bodice. GORGEOUS, I felt like Barbie!
Kelley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2342
Jun 10, 2013
Glamorous, subtle, flattering, elegant, classy, gorgeous!
Size worn: 0L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Know how high your shoes will be and pick the length accordingly. The dress is fairly simple so the accessories and styling can take different directions and really matter. I went for old Hollywood glamour (:
kellie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6643
Jun 5, 2013
This is the 4th time I have rented from the "Runway" and this was my favorite dress to wear.
Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I felt stunning in this dress. It is rather long even on my 5'10' frame. When I was walking up the stairs I had to lift it up. I paired it with the" In the Mood Necklace "by Erickson Beamon which I got tons of compliments on. Rent this dress! you will love it!
Connie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 59
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 6621
Jun 2, 2013
I absolutely love this dress!
Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress is stunning. It fit beautifully. I wore it to a very formal Gala and received many compliments. I wore 3in. heels with it and the length was great. The Gala was a Black and White Gala so I carried a white clutch and wore white jewelry. I love the fabric and the detail in this gown.
Emilie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3433
May 30, 2013
Beautiful dress and such an easy process to rent and return! Great customer service!
Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was beautiful and flattering for any body type. It was a little bit big up top for me but overall it was a gorgeous dress and perfect for the military ball I attended with my fiancé. I got several compliments on the dress.
Michelle
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4534
May 30, 2013
At the Gala, my husband and I felt like royalty and were even called the "Hollywood Couple".
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit of the dress was excellent! I would highly recommend wearing very high heals because this dress is longer than normal. I wore 3 1/2 inch heals and I was still almost tripping over the front of the train. I did have one problem with the dress: the stitch that held the mermaid look came undone. My husband had to break out the sewing kit because it was only held together by one stitch and the train in the front was so long I stepped on it. Other than that little mishap, the dress fit like a glove.
VTMarie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3533
May 29, 2013
Attention Getter
Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was fantastic, if a little on the safe side. I usually wear a 2 in dresses, but this ran just a *teensy* bit small (I would still say TTS, I just fell a little on the 4 side that night), so I wore the 4 and was comfortable all night. The 2 was a little tight when i sat, but it stayed up better. Lots of compliments all night, for sure. The long was definitely long, and at 5'7", I had to wear good size heels to keep the dress from tripping me. Note that if you're going to be dealing with stairs, the way the dress hugs your thighs will make it hard to pick up the hem, but it's doable. I love the way the ruching and pleating showed off my figure without being too obvious, and those pleats keep you looking svelte even after that big dinner!
Elease
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170 lbs
Canonical User Type: 8534
May 27, 2013
This dress is AMAZING!!! I received compliments all night. I felt like a star on the red carpet!
Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I had sizing issues with this dress for several reasons. I read the reviews and decided to order a 12L and a 14. I really should have ordered a 14L, which was not available. I had a baby boy 12 weeks ago, so I was not really sure what size I wore. The fit of the 14 was exactly what I needed except it was too short in 5 inch heels. So I ended up going with the 12L. Thank God for cinchers. I am 5'6 but my heels made me 5'10-5'11, the 14L would have been perfect but it was not available at the time of my order. I did end up calling the stylist at RTR about my dilemma, they were insanely helpful, despite the fact that I was talking in circles and decided to keep the ML 12L after they walked me though all of the options. I had an amazing night and received a ton of compliments. Even my newborn LOVED the dress. Thanks RTR
brandy
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4532
May 24, 2013
Chose this dress for a black tie Gala. It was lovely. Very pleased with the look!
Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
FIT - I tend to have a problem finding dresses that fit well. Given that I just had a baby 6 months ago, not everything seems to be as it use to be :) That being said, I still fit into a 4, but reserved both the 4 & 6. I am also at a height that puts me in between regular and long. At 5'6, most regular sized dresses are great for length and 3 inch heel. I had to go with the long, the regular was all rented out. With that being said I had to wear 6 inch heels. The dress hugged everything perfectly, and the top stayed up with no problem. I am not well endowed so I normally get a little nervous with strapless dresses. But this wasn't a problem. PROS - quick turn around from the staff at RTR. I couldn't decide if I wanted to rent or buy for this Gala. I kept going back and forth. I sent several e-mails to the stylist, they responded quickly and gave me all the info I needed. I was so happy I rented! CONS - I was silly, and didn't read the full description of the dress. There is a TRAIN. And if you'e like me and rented the long instead of the regular and you are in between sizes. The long is LONG. I had 6 inch heels on and the dress still had length to it (the train part), so careful when you walk, the second size they sent me, it looked as if someone may have put a heel through the dress. I contacted them, and they responded immediately. And have taken care of the situation. Even though the dress was long and had a train. I can't really complain. All in all great dress! I cannot wait to rent again! Not sure I'll ever buy another dress ;) Thank you staff at RTR, saved me some serious cash and made me look/feel beautiful! B
lwhitelo
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4543
May 22, 2013
I loved this gown and so did my husband!
Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It fits pretty true to size but I have a smaller upper body than lower body, so the top part was a little big on me. My only complaint was that the top of the gown folder over a bit and showed the inside, so I frequently had to adjust it so it wasn't showing. It was probably worse since the gown was big on me up top. The length was perfect when wearing a reasonable pair of heels (3 inches).
wendi
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5533
May 21, 2013
I loved this dress! Very flattering and I received numerous compliments.
Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for a black tie work event in NYC, and it was perfect. I rented the 6L - the length and fit were great - the R would have been too short. I was wearing 4" heels with the dress and it was perfect. The whole RTR process was awesome and I definitely recommend this to anyone who needs the perfect dress for an event.
Kenyatta
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 2323
May 20, 2013
This dress (and earrings) made my college graduation photos the perfect sign off to senior year!
Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress is great but can get pretty hot. Be sure to fluff out the bottom petticoat for the full effect.
K
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2533
May 20, 2013
The dress was beautiful and I felt great in it!
Size worn: 0L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I felt that the dress was a tiny bit big, but it was fine. Had to pull it up a few times over the course of the evening due to this. I received many compliments! Oh! I did wear REALLY tall heels - at least 4.5 inches - so, only get the long if you are wearing tall heels and are 5'6". Otherwise, it'll be too long. For me with the shoes I wore, it was perfect!
Belle
Usually wears: 4
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4244
May 19, 2013
This dress was perfect for my senior prom! Everyone kept giving me compliments the whole night!
Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This is the first dress rental that I've ordered from here. I loved the style and fit of the dress. The dress was a size too big for me in the bust though so I needed to keep pulling the dress up all night. Because I am 6'1", the long size was a bit too short for me. I could not wear heels with the dress so I ended up wearing ballet flats. I definitely will order from this site again, but I will have to be more careful with what size I choose next time.
Alli L
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Weight: 117 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3543
May 6, 2013
Awesome, sophisticated dress!
Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress. It was a nice structured fabric, and I loved the seam detail that was all over the dress. I am fairly small busted so it was nice that they had a strap on the inside of the dress that helped hold it up. I received a ton of compliments on this dress, and would definitely wear it again if I had the chance!
Julie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5533
May 1, 2013
How to make your event (or engagement shoot) epic.
Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress really nailed the look that I was going for during my engagement shoot at Lincoln Center. Overall, the fit was good. I'd say that there's a bit too much fabric in the back of the dress, which had to be clipped at certain times during the shoot. Although the 6R fit a bit more snug, the zipper was highly uncooperative. Also, the draping wasn't as good quality / texture as the 8R. It's odd that they put the side zipper on the side of the draping -- you'd think that they'd conceal it on the other side. Regardless, it wasn't too noticeable. I paired it with 5 inch platform peep toes. At 5'4, it made me just tall enough to walk around freely without stepping on the gown. There is a bit of tulle underneath the fishtail bottom which added some fantastic drama. Highly recommend this rental to anyone going to a black tie affair!
Ivy
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 175 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6443
Apr 25, 2013
"I instantly noticed you from across the [dimly lit ballroom full of 1000 people in black tie]."
Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This is my first RtR rental and I was VERY nervous about length. Law Prom had a red carpet theme this year, and when I saw the dress on the site it seemed perfect in theory. I did a showroom appointment so I could try it and and was psyched that the ONE size that was available for the date of my event fit on my (disproportionately large) hips and butt AND was long enough (but barely! you can see in the picture taken from the back that any movement lifted the hem enough to expose my shoes, which were the flattest flats I own. The showroom girls were awesome and helped me choose accessories and navigate the rental process. The bodice is very thoroughly structured with metal boning and a waist tape, so I didn't have to pull it up a single time the whole night (downside was that one of the bones was wearing through the casing and poked me all night, and the hook for the waist tape wasn't sewn on well and popped off at some point). There is NO STRETCH to this thing, so you have to get the size that fits around your largest part. For me that was my lower half. It was definitely snug on the butt, and sitting down wasn't super fun (all the more reason to stay on the dance floor!), but the dress is well structured and durably lined and smoothed all my lumps and bumps out amazingly. I had intended to buy a super-padded black strapless pushup bra to make the top a bit more proportional, but I didn't have time and ended up wearing my regular lightly-lined VS strapless, and it was fine in that the dress didn't fall down or gape open and expose my boobs if I leaned forward. If you are a slender size and have a proportional hourglass shape, this dress will look fantastic on you. Can't wait to rent again.
Meg
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7344
Apr 20, 2013
I wore this dress for my senior recital and felt like a goddess!
Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I'm about 5'8 and the longer length was pretty good with a pair of 6 inch heels (if anything, it could have been longer or I could have worn smaller heels). I needed something that would be able to play in comfortably, and this dress did the trick surprisingly well, even when I was sitting down. The fit was wonderful and I wasn't having to constantly readjust between pieces. A great addition to a big event in my last semester of college!
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
Canonical User Type: 8534
Apr 16, 2013
G-L-A-M!
Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for a hospital benefit and I felt like a million dollars! It’s so glamorous and it hugged my curves perfectly. I could not have been happier! I ordered the long and wore really high heels, but still picked up the dress a little to walk around. I loved pairing it with this amethyst bib necklace – I thought it looked great. I hope that I have an opportunity to rent this dress again – it was amazing!
Taylor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 8334
Apr 12, 2013
Such an easy process!!!
Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered this dress for my sorority formal. The dress I wanted didn't come in a 12 on the weekend I needed it so I ordered a 14. This dress was available in a 12L so I ordered it as a backup. I ended up hating the other dress and loving this one. My date is about 6'8" so I wore 4 inch heel and they were the perfect size for the long. It fit like an absolute glove and I got SOOO many compliments. My only issue was that I somehow managed to release the thread where the side of the dress was bundled up so I had to safety pin it. Otherwise, I absolutely love this dress. I will definitely order it again.
Mrs smith
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3533
Mar 30, 2013
This dress was wonderful and I felt like a true diva!! I won best dress of the party!
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Runs a little small around the bust area.
Lauren
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6424
Mar 27, 2013
It fit like a glove and everyone told me how gorgeous it was all night!
Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Definitely a wonderful choice, it fit perfectly and adding a pop of color with the necklace and lipstick added to the glamor. Unfortunately, I had to go out and buy shoes because I am all of 5 feet tall.. so in this picture i am in 6 inch platform shoes..so if you're petite like me make sure you've got tall shoes! So, so happy with this dress and RTR, thank you for making my night!!
Whitney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6443
Mar 21, 2013
Perfect chic gown for my fancy engagement photos
Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Love this dress and it fits my hourglass figure perfectly in the hips, it was a little loose in the torso but I'm much smaller in my torso than my hips. I got so many compliments from other people walking in the park where the photo shoot took place! This is my 3rd time renting from RTR and I can't wait to rent again!
Laura
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 134 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4434
Mar 18, 2013
looked like a million dollars! wish i could wear this dress over and over again
Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
dresss is gorgeous - top fits tight and stiff, but that worked well for a long night of dancing. the bottom is a little bigger (had room in the hips). overall the construction is very elegant and expensive, and the dress looked amazing. however, when i got this dress, the zipper broke on the four while I was trying it on (even though the dress was not too small on me), and then when I tried on the six, the fabric on the pleat at the bottom came undone, so basically I had two unwearable dresses. rtr refunded me fo the replacement of the zipper, but it was a massive nightmare running around trying to find a seamstress to replace a zipper in one day (since I received my dresses the night before my event). besides that hiccup, the dress was truly amazing. it runs long, so beware, because I was in giant heels and still felt nervous about tripping over the hem all night.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×
×
Save at least $14.95 on every order and rent like a pro all year long. Details
  • free shipping
  • free insurance
  • free birthday dress