Royal Treatment Gown

$50 – $80 rental
$598 retail
Stylist Notes

Walk the red carpet in style wearing this jaw dropping ML Monique Lhuillier fish tail gown.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black taffeta (100 % Polyester). Strapless. Straight neckline. Ruched bodice with boning. Pencil skirt with trumpet hem. Hidden back zipper. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
578 reviews
Fit
Large
(44)
True to Size
(374)
Small
(64)
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 16, 2014
Put on this gown and feel like a million bucks! The fabric and cut were elegant and comfortable
I usually wear a size 6 or 8. I am 5'5" and ordered the 8R. With my 4" heels it hit perfectly right above the floor...never swept the ground but my shoes didn't peek through. There was a bit of space in the bust, but I think if I had gone with the 6 it would have been too snug in the hips and would have made it hard to enjoy eating and dancing.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
November 23, 2014
Perfect for Black Tie
My aunt wore this dress. It was beautiful, but the top portion of the dress almost seemed stretched out. The grippy plastic that helps keep strapless dresses up kept folding over and showing. She loved the dress regardless and is renting it again for a white tie event! This was her backup dress after her first was damaged. We're glad it worked out!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
January 30, 2015
Living in Las Vegas, an extra level of WOW is necessary to make an impression. This dress did it!
I am 5'9" so I opted to go with the free backup size sent (instead of the 6 I ordered) so it would be a bit longer. The dress was also tight in the chest so the 8 worked perfectly.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 29
February 17, 2015
I was very comfortable in this dress!
This dress came as a back up for another style I ordered, I ordered a 4L and a 6R and both were too big. The 4L worked just fine, but my midsection was lose and my bust area was tight. Even though I had to pull up the middle section occasionally, the dress worked GREAT and I was very comfortable in it! The Long was the way to go with heels! Next time I'll try a 4 and maybe a 2 instead of a 6. Id rent this dress again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
March 1, 2015
Beautiful Dress!
I rented this dress for a formal affair and charity event. I wasn't sure which size to get so I got the 4R (I'm 5'6" and 122 lbs) and the 2L as a back up. I ended up wearing the 2L with a bustier and it fit like a glove. And actually, the top was the tightest part of the dress for me (I'm still nursing) and the waste and hips had a little room. But the fit was still great! Any smaller in the bust and it would not have fit. I am really impressed with Rent The Runway. I have only used them once but I will definitely use them again! They have it down to a science. :-)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
May 6, 2015
Princess for a night
This dress with the suggested necklace is sure to put you in the spotlight. So many compliments throughout the night and I truly felt like an elegant princess
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
May 24, 2015
Curves for days!
This was my first time renting the runway. So I ordered a 12r and 14r based on others reviews. Wish I had ordered 16l. Because I have a lot of booty and bust it made the dress fall shorter than I expected (but hey you could see my shoes better). I felt it ran small I usually wear a 12 or 14 and this 14 was snug to say the least bit I went with. Overall I consider it a success.m and plan to rent again for another wedding later this summer.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
January 18, 2016
I was super excited about my first RTR! It was super easy to use. I had so many compliments!
Only con was that the back-up dress was incorrect (size, type). However since the one I ordered was perfect, it was not a big deal. Only minor issue was that there were some loose strings at the bottom of the dress and they caught on my shoe.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
March 5, 2016
Beautiful!
I wore this dress for a charity ball my husband was invited to through work. I agree with past reviews that the material was a little different than expected--I thought it would be thicker and more silky but instead, it was thinner and had more of a linen feel. Still beautiful though, and I don't think you would have noticed unless you got really close. Definitely glad I went with the long length, as I am 5'7" and wore two inch heels. Going up stairs was a bit of a challenge considering the gown is so form fitting but I got used to it pretty quickly. Would wear again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
April 24, 2016
Heavier dress than I expected. But beautiful.
This dress fit my hips (true to size there), but was a bit big in the waist and even bigger in the chest. It has a strap and hook inside that can make it tighter or looser across the chest/high waist) I had to stuff quite a bit to make it from looking too big. It just looked a bit weird to me since it ended up giving me huge cleavage I don't normally have. It was a fun dress to wear. I don't normally like to wear strapless dresses and this reminded me why. The length was great. I'm 5'6 and wore 2 1/2 inch heels. You could still see the shoes, which was what I wanted. (I have a tendency to trip on my dresses.) It was heavier than I expected from the pictures. The bunching helps hide a belly of you need it, but it takes away from an hourglass figure a little of you have one.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
March 19, 2015
This dress made me feel pretty!
It was very easy to wear, mostly comfortable and hid everything I wanted to hide. The bust of the dress was a little big but other than that it was perfect!
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 127lbs
May 3, 2017
Just had a baby in January and this dress helped to halo my flaws!! Loved it!
Was awesome received compliments all night especially from my husband ! He is a First Sergeant in the Army so it was important I look elegant and respectful n did I ever ...
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Body type: Pear
Weight: 180lbs
May 17, 2017
No stress dress!
The dress fit my daughter fabulously. RTR went the extra mile to make this process as seem less as possible. Choosing a prom dress to attend someone else's prom could have made for high anxiety... Not so when choosing a dress from RTR! Plus, it made the whole experience affordable while making my daughter look like a million bucks!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
June 13, 2017
Nice dress
Nice dress although I had to keep pulling up the strapless part even though I am a 32D. Otherwise great gown lots of compliments.
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
September 15, 2017
I love this dress!!! I got so many compliments at a gala. Fit perfect
Love this dress!! I felt so beautiful and it was so flattering! It came on time and was so easy to return!! Love RTR
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 37
October 29, 2017
Loved this dress!
I am 5'00 and 110 lbs, the 0R fit perfectly! Very formal gown and elegant!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 30C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
November 25, 2016
Too big
I normally wear a size 0/2 in dresses. The size 2 was falling off and the size 0 was also far too big. The dress is gorgeous though and I was definitely disappointed. The RTR store was very helpful but I was just disappointed I couldn't wear the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 25, 2013
The dress is super classy and really reminds me of Audry Hepburn.
I normally wear a 4 in dresses but I feel as though a 2 would have fit best.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
August 18, 2013
Loved it!
I wish I had ordered the 8 and 10 instead of 12 and 10. The 10 was a little big in the ld pull down upper area. When I sat down the back would pull down exposing my bra. Otherwise it was comfortable and easy to move in. I would definitely rent this again. As other reviews had posted, someone stepped on my dress and popped the stitch that holds the bottom but it was NBD.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 30, 2013
Very nice....but a bit big on the top
I should have went down in size for my second dress to a 2L just to see how the fit was. This is my second formal dress from the brand ML and the 4L has worked for me. The 6L was way too big so I will start going down a size for my backup dress. The top on this was a bit big on me but the rest of the dress fit me good. I did not want to be pulling up the dress all night so I pinned my strapless bra to the dress and I used double sided tape to keep it in place. Those two tactics worked like a charm and I never had to pull it. The silhouette is perfect for bigger hips and but and the ruching covers up any tummy issues.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 142lbs
October 6, 2013
Fell in Love
I didn't really love the dress at first sight but by the end of the night I didn't want to take it off. This dress fit me perfectly and showed off my figure. I usually wear a 6L but went with the 4L instead. It fit really well except the top was a little to snug but was nice because I didn't have to pull it up all night. Seriously, rent this dress. I promise you will fall in love.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
December 25, 2013
Arrived on time
This was my primary dress but I did not wear it. I'm 5'2", 126 pounds, 32DDD-27-36, and I rented the 4 and the 6. The 4 fit, but not as form fitting as expected. I wished my backup was size 2.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
January 12, 2014
Gorgeous, form-fitting gown -- runs big
This was my back up dress and while I didn't end up wearing it to the event, I was a big fan. The dress is heavy (and has a bit of a train) and runs a tad large (I usually wear a size 6 or 8 and the 4 fit me perfectly), but it's a stunning option for a black tie affair..
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
February 25, 2014
Great length, but waist is huge
This was my first choice dress for my husband's work formal. I am a true size 0, and I ordered the 0L with the 2L as my backup. The 0L was HUGE. The waist was several inches too big, and it was unwearable. The length, however, was great. I love that some dresses come in longer lengths. I'm glad I ordered a backup because I liked the backup more, and it actually fit.
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
March 8, 2014
The dress was beautiful and was perfect for the party theme of the night...Old Hollywood Glamour!
The dress is absolutely gorgeous and was perfect for the Oscar Red Carpet Party that I attended (theme: Old Hollywood Glam). It was a little large in the hips but still looked flattering. I could have easily gone a size smaller but wasn't sure if it would have fit my ribcage as I usually have the most difficulty fitting that area (usually too tight). The length was perfect as I am very tall and wore a 41/2 inch heel with it. I received a lot of compliments and felt very glamorous in this dress. I would have LOVED to add it to my dress collection!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
March 24, 2014
I didn't wear the dress because it did not fit my bust. Left to much space.
I didn't wear the dress because it did not fit my bust. Left to much space. I would've worn it with a padded bra but I knew I would be moving around a lot I didn't want to risk any incidences. The Vera wang I rented fit like a glove anyway.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 104lbs
May 7, 2014
rather large.
The fit of the dress was rather large for someone of my stature. Beautiful dress but I was rather upset that it was large overall.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 63
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 127lbs
May 11, 2014
Glad I had a back up :)
This dress is beautiful, but runs VERY small on the top and large on the bottom; so disappointed it didn't work.
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105lbs
May 14, 2014
LOVED the dress!
I ordered a 0L because a 0R wasn't available, the length was OK because I wore 5 inch platform heels. The dress was a little big and wouldn't stay up in the bust area. I attempted to use double sided tape, but the dress was too heavy to hold. I was pulling and tugging at the dress all night to keep it up. Its a beautiful dress but, was too large for me.
NicoleMay 14, 2014
Georgeous!!!!!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
June 9, 2014
This dress is beautiful!
This dress ran quite large. However, I was able to wear it, as they did not have a size 8L that could be sent. I was very happy with the way the stylists handled my questions and concerns. I will definitely use RTR again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
June 24, 2014
The gown is very sophisticated...
The gown is very sophisticates, I received many complements.... I added a large gold necklace, a thin gold belt, and a broach to the bottom of the gown for added style. My earrings matched the broach. This gown receives 5 gold stars, two thumbs up!!!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
July 14, 2014
Too long, too wide in the hips
This dress ran a bit large. Beautiful dress, but way too long for me, even with tall heels. Was also too big in the hips for my frame.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
October 28, 2014
Had so much fun we didn't take one picture
I ordered the 8R and 10R. My hips are about 39" and based on the ML size charts I found online they should have fit, but no they were big. I got the 6R over-nighted and it fit well. I'm between 5'6 and 5'7 and I was able to wear about a 2.5 inch heel in the R length. I'm a 34B and the 6R fit up there but the 8R was not proportional because it was huge in the bust. Overall I loved the dress fabric and the ruching is really slimming.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
November 2, 2014
Gorgeous choice for a black tie event!
This dress is just gorgeous. It fit a little large in the bust and hips for me but it stayed in place all night and despite the extra room it still gave an hourglass look.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 7, 2014
WAY too big :(
Unable to wear to my event due to the dress being too short and the bust WAY too big (I'm a DD and that's saying something). So disappointed :(
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 10, 2014
This gown was truly glamorous; a complete showstopper!! I got compliments all night long.
The gown is absolutely gorgeous!!! I love the hem and movement and the tulle underneath. It fits a bit large in the bust and waist, but I am small in the bust and in the waist. My favorite of all the RTR dresses! So beautiful!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102lbs
December 8, 2014
Oversized - too big to wear to my event
I rented this for a formal holiday ball. I normally wear a 0, but the 0R was massive. The stomach area seemed to be stretched out, and the strapless top part kept falling down. There was no way I could wear it to my event because my strapless bra was exposed - that's how big this was on me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 21, 2015
Loved this dress!
I rented this for a formal, and rented a 14R as the backup. I wish I had sized down, because the 12 was a little bit too big. I think it looked absolutely gorgeous, but it was just a litle too large in the hips. I actually have another formal and rented this dress again in the 10 and I am so excited for it to arrive.
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
February 9, 2015
Gorgeous, glamorous dress!
I ordered this dress for a charity ball event. I am tall--about 5'10", and I normally wear a size 2 in formals and a size 4 in regular dresses and pants. The 2L fit like a glove (probably too snug), but it was a little too short even without heels. I ended up wearing the 4L to compensate for the length. The length was perfect, although the 4L was a little too large, mainly in the bust. I am a 32D, so I was surprised at how roomy the bust was going up just one size. Wearing a strapless padded bra helped a little. Overall, however, the dress is absolutely gorgeous and made me feel like royalty. This was my first time using RTR, and now I cannot wait for the chance to use it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
February 26, 2015
Gorgeous dress- just ran too large/long. Couldn't wear it, even with platform heels.
Gorgeous dress- just ran overall a bit large and the regular was WAY too long. Couldn't wear it, even with platform heels.
See more reviews:
3 / 15

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×