Rent the Runway

ML Monique Lhuillier

Royal Treatment Gown

$80 rental
$598 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Walk the red carpet in style wearing this jaw dropping ML Monique Lhuillier fish tail gown. You'll turn heads wearing Vera Wang's Night Bloom Necklace to get a mix of classic and trendy.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black taffeta (100 % Polyester). Strapless. Straight neckline. Ruched bodice with boning. Pencil skirt with trumpet hem. Hidden back zipper. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

454 reviews

Fit
Small 51
True to Size 323
Large 33
Photos 372
Jillian
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 16, 2013

Simple, elegant for formal event

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I REALLY loved this dress, but couldn't wear it last year b/c it runs small and I only got one size. I ordered the 6R this year (instead of the 4) and it fit much better. Not perfect - still a little loose in the hips - but at least I could zip it up and walk comfortably! I wore this for the marine corps birthday ball, and it was perfect for the event!
sarahk
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Nov 12, 2014

AWESOME DRESS!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Definitely fits true to size - and loved it! Flattering and comfortable! Great first experience with RTR!!
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 13, 2014

Like, not love.

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
A little short for my liking even in low heels. Snug through hips but a little big in bust. Decent as a backup but not a showstopper
Cait
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 14, 2014

Amazing Customer Service!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress! I am short and with heels the regular barely grazed the ground. The material was thick enough to keep everything where it needed to be and there wasn't endless adjustments needed all night long. I felt like a classic beauty. There was also enough room at the top to avoid underarm pudge but I will say that it is very snug in the ribcage area. That made it a tiny bit uncomfortable after several hours in it. And last but not least, the customer service for RTR is phenomenal! This was a back-up dress I ended up loving more than the original but I got the wrong size. I called at 6pm the night before the ball and after a 3 minute conversation and just $12 I had a replacement dress on the way. And it arrived by 10am! So easy and foolproof! I can't wait to use RTR again!
RTR Customer
Nov 15, 2014

Great dress better service

Size worn: NONE
Rented for: Formal Affair
Excellent customer service!! I ordered a 4R which ended up being too large and 1 day before the ball, I called frantically because the dress was literally falling off me and RTR was wonderful, overnighted a 2r that fit perfectly and I was very happy with the dress.
Amanda
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 16, 2014

Put on this gown and feel like a million bucks! The fabric and cut were elegant and comfortable

Size worn: 8R
Rented for: Formal Affair
I usually wear a size 6 or 8. I am 5'5" and ordered the 8R. With my 4" heels it hit perfectly right above the floor...never swept the ground but my shoes didn't peek through. There was a bit of space in the bust, but I think if I had gone with the 6 it would have been too snug in the hips and would have made it hard to enjoy eating and dancing.
Caroline
Age: 31
Nov 16, 2014

Compliments.

Size worn: 6R
Rented for: Formal Affair
Dress was very comfortable and great for cold weather. Runs a little large in waist and hips, and a little small in the bust if you have large tracts of land and wear a bra. Tags have a tendency to pop out. Very comfortable and a little long but easy to gather the bottom half and keep from tripping. Also, would advise wearing flats - easier to dance in!
Laurel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 18, 2014

So elegant!!

Size worn: 4L
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was great for someone with curves. It fits snugly but it's hugs in all the right places which actually helps hold the dress in place quiet well. The folding of the material all over the dress makes the formfittedness a little more forgiving resulting in a very elegant and flattering evening dress. Couldn't have been happier with this dress
Monica
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138 lbs
Nov 19, 2014

The dress is beautiful!!

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
It's a beautiful dress, I got a lot of compliments, however I'm very curvy I have hips, big bust and a big butt, so I definitely had to wear a spanks to fit into this dress. I'm usually an 8 but thank God they offered a Free back up dress! Tight on the bust and hips. I'm athletic built but curvy too. I t wouldn't zip up all the way but wearing a blk bra helped me hide that. Also. my heels kept getting tangled with the lower lace of the dress, no one could see that but I felt it getting caught towards the end of the night. OTher than that this dress is flawless.
Suzanne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 23, 2014

Perfect for Black Tie

Size worn: 6R
Rented for: Wedding
My aunt wore this dress. It was beautiful, but the top portion of the dress almost seemed stretched out. The grippy plastic that helps keep strapless dresses up kept folding over and showing. She loved the dress regardless and is renting it again for a white tie event! This was her backup dress after her first was damaged. We're glad it worked out!
rita
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 170 lbs
Nov 23, 2014

This gown is stunning. I am 5'2 and wore shoes just a few inches high and the length was great.

Size worn: 16R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit was large but I expected that for my size. Confortable, high quality material, wore a satin shawl from Nordstrom over it and it was perfect. Only complain is that the top of the dress all the way around come up and out revealing the rubber strip that I was self conscious about all night but luckily did not show in pictures. I highly recommend this dress. Wore tight spanx and it was perfect.
RTR Customer
Nov 26, 2014

Great customer service, gorgeous gown

Size worn: 8R
Rented for: Formal Affair
I read all the reviews on this gown and many said this ran true to size. I had a baby six months ago, so my body is still getting back to normal. I chose to get a 8 and a 10 to try since that is my jean size right now. I wish I had gotten a 6 and an 8 to try. I am 5'4 and 145 lbs. I am a 36 C. The size 8r was very long, so I wore 4 inch heels. The over all for was also large BUT the interior of the gown has a bodice clip that helps the gown stay in place. When I called to see of they could send me a size 6, there was no availability in that gown or any gown remotely similar. I tried another completely different gown and that didn't fit at all.... Overall, I was comfortable, elegant, happy, and I received many compliments. I would use rtr again and I plan on using it every year for the marine corps ball.
Meredith Kay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 1, 2014

Perfect fit-a must rent!

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The original dress I had selected I did not feel comfortable enough in the length. Thankfully, I was out of town for the even I ordered the dress for and was able to go into the on-site store in NYC. The folks there were very hospitable with my needs and quickly identifying me this dress to rent. It literally fit like a glove, I am 5'9 and the 2R fit perfect in length and shape. I received complements all night!! You cannot go wrong with this fit!
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Body type: Pear
Dec 2, 2014

I was getting compliments all night - such a fun dress to wear!

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Dress fit well through the body, but was very large in the bust... I had to pin it.
Cecilia
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 4, 2014

Dress fit for a ball,

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This is more than a simple black dress, it's truly gorgeous in person. Although the 0R was a little snug, overall it was better fitted to my body than the size 2R. The length was perfect with my 3 1/2 in heels. I received a lot of complements during the event, and I highly recommend it!
SayRahn
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 4, 2014

Stunning & simple classic

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was near perfect. The dress was a regular in length and would have been a little long with flats, but I always wear heels so it worked beautifully. I received more compliments in the dress than any other dress I have worn. LOVE LOVE LOVE!!
holly
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 8, 2014

Didn't wear

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Ordered 2 dresses. Liked this one but didn't wear. Little too much ruching for me and top was too big.
Kris
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 10, 2014

I love this dress...I felt elegant in it!

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented a 4L and got a 6L as a back-up. I normally wear a 4 or 6. The 4L fit better and felt better...especially the top, but the zipper messed up as I was getting ready that evening so I had to wear the 6L that was too big in the top and I ended up pulling at it a lot, but I still loved wearing it!
Susie
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 10, 2014

The perfect long, black dress!

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was an emergency back-up after both sizes of my first choice were super unflattering on me (Monique Lhuillier Fallen Rose Petal Gown). I read all the reviews and ordered the 10L. It fit like a glove and was so much more figure flattering than the other! I do agree with the other reviewers that the bust was more roomy than it needed to be but really wasn't that big of a deal (a strapless bra helped fill in!). The material was taught and kept everything smoothed out so no need for spanx either! This dress was amazing and made me feel gorgeous all night!!! I would definitely recommend this to anyone and as with renting any dress, just read through all the reviews to help get the right size!
San
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 14, 2014

Beautiful gown but too short :(

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this gown to a black tie holiday party. It was definitely a gorgeous dress, but I am 5'10'' and the dress was too short for me so I had to end up wearing flats. I normally where a size 6, but the only dress they had in a longer length in the store was a 10. So after some pinning and a padded bra, it fit(ish)! Overall, I loved the dress but was pretty disappointed in the length.
RTR Customer
Height: 5' 0"
Dec 15, 2014

Stunning Dress! Everything I expected...

Size worn: 0R
Rented for: Wedding
Fit true to size, excellent length, perfectly packaged and pressed. Matched perfectly with the necklace and bag also from RTR.
Rainy
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Dec 15, 2014

This dress was gorgeous! It was also very comfortable and the perfect length.

Size worn: 10L
Rented for: Formal Affair
Besides being gorgeous, this dress was very comfortable and was the perfect length. I wore this to the Marine Corp Ball and received several compliments. This was not my original choice, but the dress I originally wanted had been damaged. They sent me two other dresses to try, but both were too big, so they had two more sent, one being this dress, but it was also too big. So they sent me the dress in the size I needed and received it just 5 hours before my event! Their customer service was amazing and eventually I ended up with an amazing gown that I ended up loving more than my first choice. To top it all off, they sent me a box of chocolates to apologize for things not working out perfectly. I will definitely rent my next gown from them again!
Christine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138 lbs
Dec 15, 2014

This dress was gorgeous and made me feel fabulous!

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I had a great experience with RTR... That being said, when I got my first shipment, the size 6L was perfect but too small for my bust (34DD). I slipped on the 8L, which fit perfect in the bust, but was ripped and completely damaged/unwearable at the ruching area. I called RTR immediately and they shipped me the exact same dress in an 8L overnight. The customer service was amazing. The dress arrived at 4pm, and I was out the door at 6pm, feeling glamorous in my dress. The 8L was a little big in the waist/hips area, but it was necessary to go up a size for the boob area. I loved the dress, and I've already reserved two more dresses for NYE!
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 136 lbs
Dec 21, 2014

It was so easy!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The 4 was too tight. 6 fit perfect and my shoes had no platform. Lots of compliments. Very comfortable dress. Gorgeous. Felt like a million bucks.
Michelle
Usually wears: 6
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 2, 2015

I had to exchange the dress for a larger size but the customer service at RTR were extremely helpful

Size worn: 8R
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was gorgeous and I got compliments on it all night. Unfortunately, I had to constantly fix it. The rubber strip around the top was always showing and looked really tacky. I found myself pulling up the top all night. If you are large in the bust area, I wouldn't recommend this dress. I have a bruise from the clasps digging into me all night.
Kar
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 109 lbs
Jan 3, 2015

This dress MADE our engagement photos. Formal and classy <3

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I am normally a size 2 or 4. I ended up ordering the 0 and 2 just to be safe. I ended up wearing the 0, and it was still a tad bit loose around my tummy. We took our photos last year and I am still getting compliments on the dress. I was sad to return it, but it was exactly what I wanted for my pictures so I couldn't be happier.
kory
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Jan 5, 2015

Wore this to the Magic Castle in L.A. for New Years!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I had someone stop me at my event and literally say "THANK YOU" for wearing this dress. I LOVED it and I felt super hot in it. My only critiques are the following. I'm really a size 8 but the bust in the size 8 was just falling right off me. I'm average chested and even with pinning it and fashion tape I think I would have been holding it up all night so I wore the 6 instead, which still fit BUT the hemline hit the floor with flats on so I couldn't wear heels...which maybe was for the best anyway. I was on my feet for like 7 hours I probably would have been swearing by the end of the night. The other problem with the size 6 was that I didn't actually sit down in it or walk up and down stairs in it until the event and when I sat down for dinner suddenly realized HOW TIGHT it really was around my hips. I was wearing a pair of spanks underneath and I totally went to the bathroom and just took them off and put them in the trash so I could breath. And finally make sure you can walk around easily in this dress. I was stepping on the hem whenever I went up or down stairs and nearly killed myself a few times. Overall though I LOVED it.
Jacqueline
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 173 lbs
Jan 6, 2015

Loved it

Size worn: 10R
Rented for: Party
Very nice
G
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 7, 2015

Beautiful, elegant dress

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The 4R fit just right, but I think I could have gone one size down since it was tad loose on the top. I was also a bit worried that it would be too long (being 5' 0' and all) but with 5'' platform heels it worked out just fine with the dress lightly skimming the floor. Overall, great dress for a masquerade themed holiday party. It was comfortable and I had no issues with having to pull the top up all night (which is my worry with strapless dresses). Received many compliments. I would rent this dress again.
Alevtina
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 13, 2015

Great service!

Size worn: 6R
Rented for: Party
Great dress! Loved it! True to the size! A lot of compliments!
Jessica
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145 lbs
Jan 17, 2015

This was my first time using RTR and it was a great experience!

Size worn: 4L
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for a Mardi Geas ball. I was hoping to wear flats so I would be comfortable all night. Good thing, because I could not have worn heels even with it being a 4L. It was the perfect length on me to wear with flats.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Age: 34
Jan 19, 2015

The dress hugged my curves like a glove!

Size worn: 8L
Rented for: Formal Affair
Overall a beautiful dress that received compliments all night. A strapless bra is necessary and the weight of the dress caused me to have to pull it up throughout the evening. That's my only complaint though, I'd wear it again in a heartbeat.
Misty
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 19, 2015

Very Elegant!!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I have never received more compliments on a gown ever before! All night long, constant compliments. This was the first gown I've rented and was worried about sizing, but it turned out perfect! A little snug over my hips, but perfect in the waist and bust. I had no issue with spillage or tugging the gown back into place. Once zipped in, I was set all evening. Very tempted to rent this gown again for future events. Just gorgeous!
Brienne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 114 lbs
Jan 20, 2015

Gorgeous. Would totally rent again.

Size worn: 2P
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was a backup dress. I ordered the 2P and would say that it runs small. It was really tight on me and I was uncomfortable most of the night. I probably would have been better in the 4P but it wasn't an option. That said, I loved the look of the dress and I received many, many compliments on it. The discomfort was worth it and I was ok as long as I was standing up (sitting was a nightmare, peeing impossible without getting fully undressed). The length was perfect, but I was wearing 4 inch heels. The style of the dress and the material was perfect for anyone trying to hide lumps and bumps like I was. I really, really loved this dress.
Heather
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 148 lbs
Jan 29, 2015

The dress made me feel like a movie star!

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I LOVED this dress, but I had a few fit issues. I am a solid 10 on the bottom and a 6-8 on top, with my butt being the largest part of my body. I had to use a lot of fashion tape and fold in the sides and pin them to make the 10 work. However, the 8 was too tight (I was afraid I was going to rip it when I tried to sit!). However, even with the fit problems, the dress is extremely figure flattering and made me feel amazing about my body.
Carlene
Age: 25
Jan 29, 2015

Wore this to a Gala, felt like a princess the whole night!

Size worn: 6R
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was perfect! This dress has a piece of fabric inside that cinched in my waist so no need for spanx! If you're taller, definitely get the long, I had to wear flats with the regular length.
RTR Customer
Jan 30, 2015

Living in Las Vegas, an extra level of WOW is necessary to make an impression. This dress did it!

Size worn: 8R
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am 5'9" so I opted to go with the free backup size sent (instead of the 6 I ordered) so it would be a bit longer. The dress was also tight in the chest so the 8 worked perfectly.
Casey
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138 lbs
Feb 4, 2015

The dress...I felt amazing in it! I received many compliments that evening.

Size worn: 6R
Rented for: Party
The event was a New Year's Eve party, Oscar red carpet theme. I rented a 4 and a 6. The 4 was ripped here and there, so the dress didn't lay right. Also, it didn't fit right, it felt a little big. I was nervous about the 6, thinking it would be too big, but it wasn't! The 6 was in perfect condition and actually fit better than the 4. The dress was a little long, so I recommend wearing 3" or higher heels. I felt amazing in that dress!
RTR Customer
Feb 4, 2015

This was my first time using RTR and I am so impressed!

Size worn: 12R
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was able to use all of the reviews to really narrow down a dress that would work for my body type. I'm a curvy girl, 5'4.5", bust 36DD and a booty to match and this dress hugged my curves in all the right places. I got a ton of compliments and I was comfortable all night! Even on the dance floor ;) the quality of the dress was amazing and I can't wait to use RTR for my next event. Worth every penny!!
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 134 lbs
Feb 7, 2015

Beautiful dress that was simple yet elegant. I received so many compliments. :-)

Size worn: 4R
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was perfect and didn't move or fall down. It has a built in bra too which made things easy. Only downside was taking it off to use the restroom - not so easy!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×