You are masquerading as ! (switch back)
| REVIEWS |
 
| MY BAG
 

FREE SHIPPING + INSURANCE
What's this?

Rent like a PRO all year long! One year of
free shipping & insurance. Plus, we'll throw in
a free birthday dress. Learn More

Our Runway
What's New
Dresses
Accessories
Occasions
Designers
Stores
Blog
Falling Rose Petals Sheath
Rental $85 Retail $398
info
  • Stylist Notes
  • Product Details
  • Size & Fit
For your next engagement party go for a look that is elegant with a sultry flair in this lace sheath by ML Monique Lhuillier. A ladylike style with a bit of intrigue, this dress is sure to get you compliments all night long! Go with colorful accessories like Anton Heunis’ Red Lotus Earrings and Oscar de la Renta’s Tres Chic Ring to complete your ensemble.

Also available in white and navy.
Chat with a Stylist
Rose lace (60% cotton, 23% rayon, 17%nylon). Strapless. Sweetheart neckline. Trumpet skirt. Hidden side zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.
Chat with a Stylist
This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust but can not be worn with a standard bra due to open back
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt may be more fitted on curvier women; consider sizing up in backup for full hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra due to exposed back
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Chat with a Stylist
This style is currently unavailable.
Shop all dresses
Got A Minute? Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Photos55

0 Reviews from women like you:

Enter more for better results

Summer Crockett
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5543
Mar 6, 2013
Surrounded by stars, and I fit right in!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to the Awards Ceremony for First Time Fest in NYC, and felt so pretty while mixing and mingling with the other filmmakers and VIPS! There is nothing better than feeling confident, and this dress made my night! Highly recommended. Sexy, pretty, and so easy to wear!
Liz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6433
Mar 4, 2013
I was the only person in a red dress... and boy did I get compliments! Even from strangers!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
A little big for me in the chest area, but every where else fit perfectly. I literally got compliments all night long. The dress was absolutely perfect. I will probably rent it again for another event in the future! Any more colors?!
Morgan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7433
Mar 3, 2013
The compliments were endless
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this for my Barrister's Ball. I absolutely loved everything about the fit of this dress. The length was good. The structure through the waist was comfortable but stable enough that I didn't need to wear a bra with the dress. All in all, very comfortable, even for dancing. The compliments were endless. I loved everything about the dress and will definitely be renting again in the future!
McKenzie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2432
Apr 8, 2014
Yes, yes, yes!
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I would wear this every day if I could! Fit perfectly and the back detail was to die for!
Whitney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 8424
Mar 23, 2014
Lady in Red!
Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved the look of this dress. The boning didn't stay as staight as I wanted it to, but that was probably just because of my body. Overall a great rent!
Maureen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7433
Feb 26, 2014
Perfect red color and sexy without feeling naked!
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
Fit snugly across my bust so I had to go up a size.
amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 7623
Feb 23, 2014
Simple to return
Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It was a beautiful dress but a little too long for me. I ended up wearing a dress I had.
Tracey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5523
Feb 2, 2014
Stunning dress
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I felt classy and beautiful wearing this dress. Even the bride was envious! It fit well and was sexy without being too revealing. The color would be good on most skintones. I did need to wear a backless bra, however, so those with larger busts might have trouble. The only reason I gave it 4 stars was because the lace was a bit tattered around the edges and you could tell that it had been well-loved by previous renters. I actually had to get out my sewing kit and put in a few stitches around the sleeves and zipper areas. I'm sure it wasn't noticeable unless you were really examining it, but wanted to mention it.
Diane
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5433
Jan 13, 2014
Beautiful Dress!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
True to Size and fabric gives a little. Got lots of compliments!
Britta
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6423
Jan 8, 2014
LOVED THIS DRESS!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Hugged in all the right places. Gorgeous color, lovely fabric and the back was stunning. Received numerous compliments (particularly for the back detail) and would absolutely rent again!
Carly
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5432
Dec 26, 2013
Pretty dress but too clingy
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I ended up renting this one and another red dress to make a decision to wear one. I actually went with the other dress completely. This dress is pretty on but the lining is attached to the dress so it would always bunch up and look really weird on.
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7434
Dec 5, 2013
Beautiful! Everyone at the wedding complimented how pretty the color and style was.
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit true to size.
sapha
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4433
Nov 22, 2013
It was lovely but it made my belly look huge. And I was not a big fan of the fabric. Just not for me
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
True to size but bunches up strangely at belly so unless you are a twig; this will not help
sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5533
Nov 12, 2013
Loved this dress, the color, the fit all of it.. Its very classic and elegant. Will rent again
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It fits true to size, I had ordered both the 6 and 8 as back up and ended up wearing the 6.
Kristin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Canonical User Type: 4433
Nov 10, 2013
This is an incredibly gorgeous dress!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Make sure you wear a Nu Bra. It's an open back, but not incredibly structured in the front.
Suzie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5433
Nov 4, 2013
Tons of Compliments
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Size 6 fit great, was even able to wear a strapless bra w/ clear straps! Dress was a bit worn though. Would rent in a different color again!
Jenn
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6442
Oct 23, 2013
Stunning Dress
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The lace is a little worn out, but still stunning. I would love to purchase this dress. A lot of support around the stomach. Paired it with black suede stilettos with an ankle strap. Wore it to a wedding in October in New Jersey. Would love to rent this dress again in multiple colors.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 3523
Oct 15, 2013
not what I expected
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this for a wedding after a terrific experience with a similar dress from the same designer in navy. This dress did not work for my body type. It ran much smaller than the navy version. It also showed a lot more cleavage than I am used to. I also expected a much deeper red and the dress is more of a dark pink.
Sammie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 122 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4623
Oct 14, 2013
I was able to wear a Monique dress that I could not normally afford to a wedding and fit right in
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I borrowed a size 4 and a 6 and the 6 was tight on me, which was weird. The 4 is true to size and the lace hides all the "bulges"
Alison
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5433
Oct 2, 2013
Beautiful!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The lace seemed a little worn around the edges, but no one would notice but me. It fit great and I got lots of compliments.
Sara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 9533
Sep 30, 2013
Classic little red dress
Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this as my backup dress for a black tie optional event. I did not end up wearing this dress because the longer dress I also ordered was more appropriate for the event. However, this dress fit perfectly and I wouldn't hesitate to order it again for an event where it would be better suited. This dress definitely requires shapewear under it because it is form fitting, it'll also help to get the lining of the dress in the right place. The red color is gorgeous and will help you stand out in a sea of little black dresses.
Ty
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 5431
Sep 26, 2013
Amazing!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress! I wore it to a formal evening wedding and the style was perfect. I received so many compliments as well!
Bridget
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
Canonical User Type: 8544
Sep 18, 2013
Got so many compliments!
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit like a glove. You'll need to wear a backless bra with this dress. This dress looks expensive-I wore it to a September wedding in upstate NY and it was perfect. This is my second Monique Lhuillier dress I've rented and successfully worn in the past month and I look forward to trying more soon!
Heather
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5541
Sep 16, 2013
First RTR experience, but not my last!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was very flattering! The red color and the unique back design make sure you will stand out, in a positive way! The dress did look like it was starting to show some signs of multiple dry cleanings but not unless I stared at every inch up and down. It was slightly stretchy so it had a little give to it. When I first put it on, I thought it might be a bit snug but it ended up being the perfect size. I had no problems dancing the night away in it.
Tami
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4533
Sep 15, 2013
Beautiful dress- would love to buy it!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress fit extremely well while being totally comfortable. It had great boning around the stomach that enhanced the fit and the back was gorgeous. I got tons of compliments on this dress. I was able to dance in it all night without a problem.
Kami
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6544
Sep 10, 2013
on time delivery, dress was in good condition.
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
bust area was too tight so i ended wearing an alternate dress. pretty dress though
Ann
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190 lbs
Canonical User Type: 9644
Sep 5, 2013
What a convenient way to shop
Size worn: 16
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved everything about this dress, the color, the fit, not to mention the numerous compliments I received in wearing it to a wedding. I do not attend cocktail parties frequently, nor do I have room in my closet for clothes that I will most like never wear again. I received the dress the day before my event and I was able to return it the next day. Rent the Runway is a convenient and great concept. I will definitely use them again.
Rhonda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5633
Aug 27, 2013
This is a beautiful dress - wished I could have worn it.
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress runs just a tad bit small. I ordered the 6 based on other reviews, but should have ordered the 8. I got it on , but it fit a little too snug across the hips and it was obviously too tight. The dress is a true red, I was expecting a lighter rose color, but beautiful still the same. I would definitely order this dress again, but in a size 8. RTR was great about giving me credit and fortunately I had a dress in my closet as backup.
Kristen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 7423
Aug 27, 2013
Beautiful & sexy dress
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress as my backup and ended up wearing it to a rehearsal dinner. It was comfortable and I felt sexy in it (it really hugs curves!). I got many compliments and would definitely rent it again!
Claire
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4443
Aug 25, 2013
Feminine
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress is a very beautiful color, but the one I got had been worn a bunch and had some funny lines around the hips. Oh well - it was still very pretty! I went bra-less but sort of wished I had gotten a NuBra
Carly
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6423
Aug 22, 2013
Flattering and fun!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for a fundraiser for Children's Miracle Network of Oklahoma. This dress was a perfect fit, not too dressy but still "cocktail attire". I rented both a 6 and a 10, wished I would have rented an 8 because it definitely runs true to size. However, I recieved many compliments and it is especially flattering for those who have more of a hourglass shape. The back is open, highly recommend sticky boobies. I also wore spanx to complete the look.
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3533
Aug 19, 2013
Beautiful lace dress - Size down
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this for a wedding but wore the backup style instead. The dress is gorgeous, but ran a little big. I'm normally a 2 but definitely needed the 0. Highly recommend though!
ellyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4433
Aug 13, 2013
Sexy yet appropriate!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Ordered the size 6 and 4 and the 4 fit almost perfectly! The dress went just past my knees, which may be too long for some, but I felt like the longer length made it more appropriate for the evening wedding I went to. I felt like the lace in the stomach area was a bit stretched out which is why I gave it 4 stars. I was able to wear a strapless bra and it did not show in the back, which I liked. Overall, I received a lot of compliments and really enjoyed the dress!
Ginny
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Canonical User Type: 9524
Aug 13, 2013
Great not-your-standard black dress choice!
Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Found the dress pretty true to size (though women with fuller hips might have more of a squeeze in the bottom). Red was a pretty color without being overwhelming. Looks great with both gold and silver accessories. Was able to wear a regular strapless bra. The dress came to just above my knees (5'2" wearing 3-inch heels.
Carrie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4424
Aug 12, 2013
Great cocktail dress!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered this as my second dress in a size 4. I think I could have used a 2, but the dress was stretchy and the 4 was good enough. Definitely would prefer to have a low back bra - because my normal strapless showed in the back and I had to pin it down. It really is a beautiful dress and the red was the perfect red - not too flashy but definitely noticeable.
chelle3099
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 8543
Jul 31, 2013
This dress looked amazing! Loved the cut-out in the back.
Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit true to size, had boning in the front and the capsleeves were super cute. I loved the back. My husband loved this dress on me!
Julie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5634
Jul 28, 2013
Unfortunately didn't fit...
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I usually wear a 4 or 6. I rented the 4 and 6 and both were too small. Not good for a full bust. Really disappointed.
Dee
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3523
Jul 27, 2013
Didn't end up wearing it
Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I really wanted to love this dress, the lace and the color are gorgeous, but it just didn't work for me. I ordered the four and the two and am usually in between those two sizes. The size four was way too big for me on top (I have narrow shoulders and a small-ish bust). The two was brand new, but for some reason the top of the lining wasn't sewn to the lace piece and I was worried it would be flapping over all night, especially since it was still a bit too big on top. I called Rent the runway and they overnighted a second dress so it all worked out. I wouldn't recommend this dress for women who are small on top, but for others the color and lace, and the cutout in the back, are really pretty.
Renata
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5533
Jul 9, 2013
Loved it!!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Initially I received the wrong size 4 instead of 6, which was too tight. I spoke to Serena and she apologized and guaranteed the size 6 Saturday morning, On Saturday I received it at 9:30 am I was super happy! I wore it to a party and everyone loved the dress. The dress fits great! I was able to wear a strapless bra with it. Thank you RTR and especially Serena! I will definitely rent again from RTR.
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5433
Jun 30, 2013
perfect for an outdoor wedding and a night of fun
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I had thought previous reviews said this dress ran small, however I found it runs large! I am usually a 6, sometimes an 8 and the 8 was definitely too big. I wore it anyway as I didn't have a backup. I was also worried it would be too thick for an outdoor wedding however it was Perfect because it hid any sweat! : ) Definitely would rent again, probably would even go to a 4.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×
×
Save at least $14.95 on every order and rent like a pro all year long. Details
  • free shipping
  • free insurance
  • free birthday dress