Rent the Runway

ML Monique Lhuillier

Falling Rose Petals Sheath

$85 rental
$398 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

For your next engagement party go for a look that is elegant with a sultry flair in this lace sheath by ML Monique Lhuillier. A ladylike style with a bit of intrigue, this dress is sure to get you compliments all night long! Go with colorful accessories like Oscar de la Renta’s Tres Chic Ring to complete your ensemble.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust but can not be worn with a standard bra due to open back
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt may be more fitted on curvier women; consider sizing up in backup for full hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra due to exposed back
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust but can not be worn with a standard bra due to open back
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt may be more fitted on curvier women; consider sizing up in backup for full hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra due to exposed back
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Rose lace (60% cotton, 23% rayon, 17%nylon). Strapless. Sweetheart neckline. Trumpet skirt. Hidden side zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

103 reviews

Fit
Small 11
True to Size 85
Large 6
Photos 59
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Apr 15, 2013

The lace and detail were stunning.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress is very well made, though it was a challenge to get all the back clasps closed on my own. I felt a bit restricted in the dress throughout the evening, but that was mostly due to sizing. Note that it really does not stretch, so I wouldn't suggest it for a night involving dancing. Perhaps I read the instructions wrong, but ordering down was a huge mistake. I've been able to wear smaller sizes in other dresses from RTR, but this one was a tight fit in my usual size. I would suggest to any other women with athletic body types or muscular backs/shoulders to order up instead.
Luci
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Apr 15, 2013

The dress was perfect !

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered this dress after i spoke with one of the stylists since i was not happy with the first dress that i ordered. The dress came in the next day and it was so pretty. the color was a vibrant red and the detail on the lace was so exquisite and delicate; the dress also has an open back.
Amy
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138 lbs
Apr 16, 2013

Beautiful dress with an unexpectedly sexy back. Fun way to be a little flirty even after age 50.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Pretty true to size, but not a generous 8. Specialist sent me a 6 and and 8 after I told her my measurements, and 8 just barely fit. Would have liked to try the 10, might have been more comfortable. Dress had nice thick satin lining - went bra-less because of cutout back but was still comfortable. Well-made, in great shape, arrived just when they said - very easy process. Will rent again!
Caroline
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
Apr 24, 2013

Perfect color, perfect fit. Fun elegant party when you have something special to celebrate!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this fabulous dress for my engagement party, and I felt amazing wearing the lovely lace and vibrant, bold color. The fit was perfect for the occasion, and my fiance loved the dress so much for our party! I recommend this dress.
Meaghan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
May 1, 2013

Perfect cocktail party dress.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Love this dress- it also looks great in navy.
Ana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
May 6, 2013

I rented this dress for a City Birthday Party. I wanted something sexy, but conservative.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Dress was super comfortable...it was a bit stretchy too. I never wear a size 8 though, so order bigger as back up size...I'm either a 4 or 6 and I had to call Friday morning to have a size bigger sent to me with a Saturday delivery. RTR did this free of charge. I received lots of compliments and will now be renting the blue dress for another fundraiser this weekend. The purse I chose was the perfect size and held everything I needed, even my phone without looking lumpy.
Joy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
May 13, 2013

Love is RED!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I'm 5' with 3in heels and the dress fell right below the knees. It was also snug in all the right places. Sophisticated yet sexy and the red made me stand out. Compliments everywhere! Worth renting again.
Katy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
May 20, 2013

I spent the entire night as a spokeswoman for Rent the Runway because EVERYONE loved my dress!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fits true to size. It was incredibly elegant, yet also in style. I have larger shoulders and arms and I felt like this dress made me look so slim. I want to rent it again!!
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
May 23, 2013

I loved this dress! Bold, feminine, well structured and delicate

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress and got a ton of compliments! It fits well and the boning gives you great shape. I wore a Nu Bra with it and that worked really well.
Karissa
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 4, 2013

Great fit, beautiful color!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was my first RTR experience and I'm so happy with it! I was very hesitant to try it, but I have 4 weddings with the same group of friends within a year and can't buy new dresses for all of them. This dress is fantastic. The color is just beautiful. My usual size 4 fit like a glove. The skirt is a little restrictive, but it didn't keep me from dancing all night. You're just not going to be doing any crazy leg kicks in it. You can't wear a bra with it, but I used an adhesive bra from Victoria's Secret which worked great.
Tara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 111 lbs
Jun 11, 2013

Wore this to an outdoor wedding in Charleston and received so many compliments!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit was perfect and the back of the dress was stunning. You can't wear a bra because of the open back, but the support sewn into the dress was enough for me (34B)!
Jackie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Jun 11, 2013

This dress was very nice for a wedding!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved it!
Colleen
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Jun 18, 2013

This was a lovely, elegant dress for a wedding!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I got a number of compliments througout the evening, and felt very comfortable eating and dancing all night as the dress is fitted, but still feels fluid. I wore a backless bra with this dress, which worked well. The red was bright and a nice contrast to all the neutral colors at the event.
Andrea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 24, 2013

Loved the dress, it looked awesome and I received tons of compliments!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fitted and Fashionable!
Ally
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 25, 2013

Perfect dress for a summer wedding

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a summer wedding. The fit was great and I couldn't have been happier with the purchase. I'm 5'6 and the dress hit just above my knee. The color is gorgeous. I didn't want to sent it back!
Kaitlin
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175 lbs
Jun 25, 2013

Loved it! I got so many compliments!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I would have preferred a 10 for my torso and butt, but the 10 smushed my boobs so I went with the 12. It was more comfortable but still very flattering. I didn't need a bra (shockingly) and still felt supported. I was able to dance and sit for dinner comfortably. Overall I'd totally recommend this dress for any size, and know that it def looks great for full busted ladies! Thank you RTR! Also, I didn’t pick this out on my own, Stylist Jessica at the RTR Varick St showroom picked it out and it was a winner!
Julia
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Jun 26, 2013

Perfect dress for a wedding!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to my sister's rehearsal dinner. I received so many compliments on it. The material I thought was a lot more sturdy than I was expecting. loose enough in the lower half with non constricting sleeves, which was great for me. I did not wear a bra with it but the support within the dress was enough for me.
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Jul 9, 2013

Beautiful color!! Received so many compliments!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to a friend's summer wedding and received so many compliments!! The dress fit perfectly and I opted to wear it with no bra as it was difficult to find one to go with the open back. The only criticism I have is that the front darts bunched a little bit with the lining so I kept having to pull the dress down...I'm not sure if this was just the case with the specific dress I was sent though. I can't wait to RTR again and I highly recommend this dress!
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 200 lbs
Jul 23, 2013

Sexy dress that hugs your curves right!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit really great!!! I rented the 12 and the 10-- I normally wear a 12, but the 10 fit better. I recently lost a little weight, so I am going to attribute it to that rather than the sizing of the dress. It fit snug, but not uncomfortable at all... the 12 was just too baggy. I would def recommend getting a backless/sticky bra bc of the open back. Looks great with gold accessories :)
Janie
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Jul 24, 2013

Such a beautiful dress-- I wish I owned it!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is absolutely gorgeous! The lace and lining is wonderful and the open back is perfect for feeling a little sexy, but still staying totally classy and appropriate. I wish I had ordered just one size down as I did go braless to for the open back and I have a larger bust. However, the larger size still fit well and the lace holds it shape very well. This dress is absolutely perfect and you'll love wearing it!
Susan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Aug 20, 2013

Beautiful dress

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I am a lot smaller up top and fuller on the bottom. I don't think I would recommend this dress for pear-shaped people. I had to go with the 8 because of my bottom half, but the top was a bit too big. I don't want to take away from how gorgeous the dress is, though. The color is vibrant and it was perfect for the semi-formal wedding I attended.
Rosalind
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Aug 20, 2013

Perfect & Sexy

Size worn: 16
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was perfect for a wedding. It says that it's red, but it was definitely more bright pink. Also, a lot of reviews state that you need a backless bra, but a strapless worked fine. I'm busty but ended up not wearing a bra at all, and it was still supportive.
JM
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Aug 28, 2013

Beautiful bright dress -- very elegant!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was very nice and definitely a success! I wore it to a wedding and got lots of compliments. It does run a little big and was loose in the waist area for me. Also, a very popular dress so a bit worn out in the lace at the edges and hem, which you could only see up close. Good for tall women since it is not too short, hit right at the knee for me and I'm 5'8". Very bright, festive dress!
Daf222
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Sep 9, 2013

Very Flattering dress! So comfortable! Perfect Fit!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The color of the the dress is fab, it can dark pink in some shades & red in others. Got so many compliments It was really a perfect fit & I'm quite curvy! Was so happy with it!
JM
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 11, 2013

Sexy AND comfortable...yes, please!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was well-made and beautiful. It fit great and was comfortable while still being fitted. I was worried about not being able to wear a bra with the open back but it was supportive enough without.
Courtney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Sep 15, 2013

Fun bright color for a lace dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved the bright red color for this lace dress. Wore it with black pumps, black/leopard clutch, and silver RtR earrings for a september wedding. The lace was delicate but sturdy with the satin lining and boning of the dress. The cut of the back was fun! Note that the back is cut low and wide, so most likely you need to wear a strapless or stick on bra.
Anna Lise
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Sep 23, 2013

Snug in all the right places

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I used this for a photo shoot for promotional pictures for a website, and i loved this dress! Wish I could own it. It is snug in all the right places, perfect for that hourglass picture. I do have a wide ribcage and larger up top and I think if I had wanted to do some dancing, I would have wanted a bigger size, but for standing and looking fierce, it was amazing!
Sara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 25, 2013

Another Shining Moment Thanks to RTR!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
For my third RTR rental, I chose this gorgeous lace dress and beautiful bracelet. When I received the dress it fit perfectly, but the condition of the lace was very worn. At first I was worried but all it took was one quick online chat with a stylist and I had a new dress in my hands the next day! RTR truly does have amazing customer service which is one of the main reasons I love it so much. The new dress was perfect. I did not wear a bra, but the dress was not super tight so I think I would have tried an adhesive bra if I did it again (which I will!). I received countless compliments and felt fabulous. I can't wait to rent this again!
Jamie
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 28, 2013

Awesome Dress!!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for a rehearsal dinner and I loved it!! I loved it so much I am renting it again for a wedding this month. It fit true to size I have large chest and was able to get away without a bra.
Kathryn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 6, 2013

Gorgeous!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit wonderfully. I didn't wear a bra because of the open back and felt secure enough to dance the night away. It was a especially warm night for this time of year and I was comfortable the whole night! This dress hugs you in all the right places!
Cassie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 17, 2013

Photographs beautifully

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit like a glove and photographed beautifully. It was very comfortable to wear. I wore a backless bra without any issues. The only negative comment I have is that this dress was very worn. The sleeves and under arm area were embarrassingly tattered looking. Luckily, with the dim lighting, the imperfections weren't noticeable to others.
Sonja
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 19, 2013

Felt Like a Knockout!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is simply stunning online rack and even better in person! The keyhole back and cap sleeves made it feel sexy and sophisticated - perfect to attend a wedding! The size 6 fit but was shorter and tighter than the size 8. I opted to wear the 8 for the sake of feeling more comfortable sitting and moving. The only problem is you definitely need to wear a low back strapless bra to avoid showing through the lace in the back. Overall I received a ton of compliments and my fiance told me I looked like a movie star! Will definitely use RTR again :)
Atalie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 25, 2013

Received so many compliments!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this dress for an August wedding and received a number of compliments throughout the evening. Material was slightly heavier than expected, but I was never uncomfortably hot. Mostly true to size - there is a little 'bunching' that occurs in the mid-section of the dress when you move around frequently. However, no one noticed until I pointed it out. Overall, beautiful lace dress in a stunning color!
Kaitlyn
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 1, 2013

This dress was stunning and perfect for my bridal shower! THANKS RTR!!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I'm normally a 4 but was able to wear a 2... not sure if it was my wedding diet or the fit!
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 124 lbs
Jan 28, 2014

Beautiful!!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I was a bit concerned since there was no stretch in this dress. After putting on my SPANX, the size 2 was too tight and the size 4 fit like a glove. I usually need stretchy fabrics because of my chesty bust and my big butt. Overall, I received so many compliments about the dress. I was the "lady in Red!"
Este
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Body type: Full Bust
Feb 10, 2014

This dress was great!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
this dress was perfect for the wedding I attended. It was comfortable and had a little give but form fitting and very flattering. the lace and darts hide all the unflattering bits in the middle.
adnama384
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 200 lbs
Apr 10, 2014

Great color

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this for my sister's wedding rehearsal dinner, and for the most part loved it. I ordered both the 14 and the 16 but the 16 was just way to baggy up top, although the fit around my butt was better...no surprise there. I have ample junk in the trunk but not enough boob to fill out the larger top. I ended up going with the 14 though but I'd recommend trying both sizes if you have a bigger booty. This dress didn't have much in the way of 'give' at all. Also--my sister is wearing the same dress in white, but I'd like to point out that I totally rented mine first. ;)
Ashley
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 160 lbs
May 3, 2014

Wedding chic

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Nervous to wear this without a bra, but once I had it on I didn't even think about it. Wore the bigger of two sizes to have a bit of extra room. Loved everything about this dress!
Rachel
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 4, 2014

This dress was perfect for a wedding! It was true to size and elegant! I would recommend to anyone!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Love the keyhole back of this dress. Lace + Keyhole back is what sold me! I recevied so many compliments & I would wear it again
Regina
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 24, 2014

So many compliments!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved everything about this dress. I got so many compliments and the fit is very flattering. Color and material are beautiful.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×