Falling Rose Petals Sheath

$85 rental
$398 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

For your next engagement party go for a look that is elegant with a sultry flair in this lace sheath by ML Monique Lhuillier. A ladylike style with a bit of intrigue, this dress is sure to get you compliments all night long! Go with colorful accessories like Oscar de la Renta’s Tres Chic Ring to complete your ensemble.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust but can not be worn with a standard bra due to open back
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt may be more fitted on curvier women; consider sizing up in backup for full hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra due to exposed back
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust but can not be worn with a standard bra due to open back
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt may be more fitted on curvier women; consider sizing up in backup for full hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra due to exposed back
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Rose lace (60% cotton, 23% rayon, 17%nylon). Strapless. Sweetheart neckline. Trumpet skirt. Hidden side zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
103 reviews
Fit
Large6
True to Size85
Small11
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
September 16, 2013
First RTR experience, but not my last!
This dress was very flattering! The red color and the unique back design make sure you will stand out, in a positive way! The dress did look like it was starting to show some signs of multiple dry cleanings but not unless I stared at every inch up and down. It was slightly stretchy so it had a little give to it. When I first put it on, I thought it might be a bit snug but it ended up being the perfect size. I had no problems dancing the night away in it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 15, 2013
Beautiful dress- would love to buy it!
This dress fit extremely well while being totally comfortable. It had great boning around the stomach that enhanced the fit and the back was gorgeous. I got tons of compliments on this dress. I was able to dance in it all night without a problem.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
September 15, 2013
Fun bright color for a lace dress!
I loved the bright red color for this lace dress. Wore it with black pumps, black/leopard clutch, and silver RtR earrings for a september wedding. The lace was delicate but sturdy with the satin lining and boning of the dress. The cut of the back was fun! Note that the back is cut low and wide, so most likely you need to wear a strapless or stick on bra.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
September 11, 2013
Sexy AND comfortable...yes, please!
This dress was well-made and beautiful. It fit great and was comfortable while still being fitted. I was worried about not being able to wear a bra with the open back but it was supportive enough without.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
September 10, 2013
on time delivery, dress was in good condition.
bust area was too tight so i ended wearing an alternate dress. pretty dress though
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
September 9, 2013
Very Flattering dress! So comfortable! Perfect Fit!
The color of the the dress is fab, it can dark pink in some shades & red in others. Got so many compliments It was really a perfect fit & I'm quite curvy! Was so happy with it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190lbs
September 5, 2013
What a convenient way to shop
Loved everything about this dress, the color, the fit, not to mention the numerous compliments I received in wearing it to a wedding. I do not attend cocktail parties frequently, nor do I have room in my closet for clothes that I will most like never wear again. I received the dress the day before my event and I was able to return it the next day. Rent the Runway is a convenient and great concept. I will definitely use them again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
August 28, 2013
Beautiful bright dress -- very elegant!
The dress was very nice and definitely a success! I wore it to a wedding and got lots of compliments. It does run a little big and was loose in the waist area for me. Also, a very popular dress so a bit worn out in the lace at the edges and hem, which you could only see up close. Good for tall women since it is not too short, hit right at the knee for me and I'm 5'8". Very bright, festive dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
August 27, 2013
This is a beautiful dress - wished I could have worn it.
This dress runs just a tad bit small. I ordered the 6 based on other reviews, but should have ordered the 8. I got it on , but it fit a little too snug across the hips and it was obviously too tight. The dress is a true red, I was expecting a lighter rose color, but beautiful still the same. I would definitely order this dress again, but in a size 8. RTR was great about giving me credit and fortunately I had a dress in my closet as backup.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 27, 2013
Beautiful & sexy dress
I rented this dress as my backup and ended up wearing it to a rehearsal dinner. It was comfortable and I felt sexy in it (it really hugs curves!). I got many compliments and would definitely rent it again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134lbs
August 25, 2013
Feminine
The dress is a very beautiful color, but the one I got had been worn a bunch and had some funny lines around the hips. Oh well - it was still very pretty! I went bra-less but sort of wished I had gotten a NuBra
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
August 22, 2013
Flattering and fun!
I rented this dress for a fundraiser for Children's Miracle Network of Oklahoma. This dress was a perfect fit, not too dressy but still "cocktail attire". I rented both a 6 and a 10, wished I would have rented an 8 because it definitely runs true to size. However, I recieved many compliments and it is especially flattering for those who have more of a hourglass shape. The back is open, highly recommend sticky boobies. I also wore spanx to complete the look.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
August 20, 2013
Perfect & Sexy
This dress was perfect for a wedding. It says that it's red, but it was definitely more bright pink. Also, a lot of reviews state that you need a backless bra, but a strapless worked fine. I'm busty but ended up not wearing a bra at all, and it was still supportive.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
August 20, 2013
Beautiful dress
I am a lot smaller up top and fuller on the bottom. I don't think I would recommend this dress for pear-shaped people. I had to go with the 8 because of my bottom half, but the top was a bit too big. I don't want to take away from how gorgeous the dress is, though. The color is vibrant and it was perfect for the semi-formal wedding I attended.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
August 19, 2013
Beautiful lace dress - Size down
I rented this for a wedding but wore the backup style instead. The dress is gorgeous, but ran a little big. I'm normally a 2 but definitely needed the 0. Highly recommend though!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
August 13, 2013
Sexy yet appropriate!
Ordered the size 6 and 4 and the 4 fit almost perfectly! The dress went just past my knees, which may be too long for some, but I felt like the longer length made it more appropriate for the evening wedding I went to. I felt like the lace in the stomach area was a bit stretched out which is why I gave it 4 stars. I was able to wear a strapless bra and it did not show in the back, which I liked. Overall, I received a lot of compliments and really enjoyed the dress!
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
August 13, 2013
Great not-your-standard black dress choice!
Found the dress pretty true to size (though women with fuller hips might have more of a squeeze in the bottom). Red was a pretty color without being overwhelming. Looks great with both gold and silver accessories. Was able to wear a regular strapless bra. The dress came to just above my knees (5'2" wearing 3-inch heels.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
August 12, 2013
Great cocktail dress!
I ordered this as my second dress in a size 4. I think I could have used a 2, but the dress was stretchy and the 4 was good enough. Definitely would prefer to have a low back bra - because my normal strapless showed in the back and I had to pin it down. It really is a beautiful dress and the red was the perfect red - not too flashy but definitely noticeable.
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
July 31, 2013
This dress looked amazing! Loved the cut-out in the back.
The dress fit true to size, had boning in the front and the capsleeves were super cute. I loved the back. My husband loved this dress on me!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
July 28, 2013
Unfortunately didn't fit...
I usually wear a 4 or 6. I rented the 4 and 6 and both were too small. Not good for a full bust. Really disappointed.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
July 27, 2013
Didn't end up wearing it
I really wanted to love this dress, the lace and the color are gorgeous, but it just didn't work for me. I ordered the four and the two and am usually in between those two sizes. The size four was way too big for me on top (I have narrow shoulders and a small-ish bust). The two was brand new, but for some reason the top of the lining wasn't sewn to the lace piece and I was worried it would be flapping over all night, especially since it was still a bit too big on top. I called Rent the runway and they overnighted a second dress so it all worked out. I wouldn't recommend this dress for women who are small on top, but for others the color and lace, and the cutout in the back, are really pretty.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
July 24, 2013
Such a beautiful dress-- I wish I owned it!
This dress is absolutely gorgeous! The lace and lining is wonderful and the open back is perfect for feeling a little sexy, but still staying totally classy and appropriate. I wish I had ordered just one size down as I did go braless to for the open back and I have a larger bust. However, the larger size still fit well and the lace holds it shape very well. This dress is absolutely perfect and you'll love wearing it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 200lbs
July 23, 2013
Sexy dress that hugs your curves right!
The dress fit really great!!! I rented the 12 and the 10-- I normally wear a 12, but the 10 fit better. I recently lost a little weight, so I am going to attribute it to that rather than the sizing of the dress. It fit snug, but not uncomfortable at all... the 12 was just too baggy. I would def recommend getting a backless/sticky bra bc of the open back. Looks great with gold accessories :)
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138lbs
July 9, 2013
Loved it!!
Initially I received the wrong size 4 instead of 6, which was too tight. I spoke to Serena and she apologized and guaranteed the size 6 Saturday morning, On Saturday I received it at 9:30 am I was super happy! I wore it to a party and everyone loved the dress. The dress fits great! I was able to wear a strapless bra with it. Thank you RTR and especially Serena! I will definitely rent again from RTR.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
July 9, 2013
Beautiful color!! Received so many compliments!
I wore this to a friend's summer wedding and received so many compliments!! The dress fit perfectly and I opted to wear it with no bra as it was difficult to find one to go with the open back. The only criticism I have is that the front darts bunched a little bit with the lining so I kept having to pull the dress down...I'm not sure if this was just the case with the specific dress I was sent though. I can't wait to RTR again and I highly recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 30, 2013
perfect for an outdoor wedding and a night of fun
I had thought previous reviews said this dress ran small, however I found it runs large! I am usually a 6, sometimes an 8 and the 8 was definitely too big. I wore it anyway as I didn't have a backup. I was also worried it would be too thick for an outdoor wedding however it was Perfect because it hid any sweat! : ) Definitely would rent again, probably would even go to a 4.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
June 26, 2013
Loved it
Fits beautifully and it looks great on. Loved it. Great length, hit right above the knee. Great for a wedding
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
June 26, 2013
Perfect dress for a wedding!
I wore this dress to my sister's rehearsal dinner. I received so many compliments on it. The material I thought was a lot more sturdy than I was expecting. loose enough in the lower half with non constricting sleeves, which was great for me. I did not wear a bra with it but the support within the dress was enough for me.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175lbs
June 25, 2013
Loved it! I got so many compliments!
I would have preferred a 10 for my torso and butt, but the 10 smushed my boobs so I went with the 12. It was more comfortable but still very flattering. I didn't need a bra (shockingly) and still felt supported. I was able to dance and sit for dinner comfortably. Overall I'd totally recommend this dress for any size, and know that it def looks great for full busted ladies! Thank you RTR! Also, I didn’t pick this out on my own, Stylist Jessica at the RTR Varick St showroom picked it out and it was a winner!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 25, 2013
Perfect dress for a summer wedding
I rented this dress for a summer wedding. The fit was great and I couldn't have been happier with the purchase. I'm 5'6 and the dress hit just above my knee. The color is gorgeous. I didn't want to sent it back!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
June 24, 2013
Loved the dress, it looked awesome and I received tons of compliments!
Fitted and Fashionable!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
June 18, 2013
This was a lovely, elegant dress for a wedding!
I got a number of compliments througout the evening, and felt very comfortable eating and dancing all night as the dress is fitted, but still feels fluid. I wore a backless bra with this dress, which worked well. The red was bright and a nice contrast to all the neutral colors at the event.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
June 11, 2013
This dress was very nice for a wedding!
Loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 111lbs
June 11, 2013
Wore this to an outdoor wedding in Charleston and received so many compliments!
Fit was perfect and the back of the dress was stunning. You can't wear a bra because of the open back, but the support sewn into the dress was enough for me (34B)!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
June 9, 2013
Spicy & Classy
Love the color - the red is bright and very fun. The lace was perfect and there was a little bit of stretch so it was comfortable.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 4, 2013
Great fit, beautiful color!
This was my first RTR experience and I'm so happy with it! I was very hesitant to try it, but I have 4 weddings with the same group of friends within a year and can't buy new dresses for all of them. This dress is fantastic. The color is just beautiful. My usual size 4 fit like a glove. The skirt is a little restrictive, but it didn't keep me from dancing all night. You're just not going to be doing any crazy leg kicks in it. You can't wear a bra with it, but I used an adhesive bra from Victoria's Secret which worked great.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
June 3, 2013
Gorgeous dress for a perfect Spring wedding!
The color and fit of the dress are great, the only downfall would be that the backside flares out at the bottom. Overall gorgeous, fit is true to size and the length is appropriate for a formal affair.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
June 3, 2013
I am very curvy and was in b/w sizes
the smaller size was too tight and the larger too big and long
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
May 23, 2013
I loved this dress! Bold, feminine, well structured and delicate
I loved this dress and got a ton of compliments! It fits well and the boning gives you great shape. I wore a Nu Bra with it and that worked really well.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
May 21, 2013
Beautiful dress! Also - if you can definitely where a regular bra with this dress.
It is runs slightly small - If you are between sizes, I would size up. Beautiful dress!
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×