Rent the Runway

ML Monique Lhuillier

Falling Rose Petals Sheath

$85 rental
$398 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

For your next engagement party go for a look that is elegant with a sultry flair in this lace sheath by ML Monique Lhuillier. A ladylike style with a bit of intrigue, this dress is sure to get you compliments all night long! Go with colorful accessories like Oscar de la Renta’s Tres Chic Ring to complete your ensemble.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust but can not be worn with a standard bra due to open back
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt may be more fitted on curvier women; consider sizing up in backup for full hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra due to exposed back
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust but can not be worn with a standard bra due to open back
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt may be more fitted on curvier women; consider sizing up in backup for full hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra due to exposed back
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Rose lace (60% cotton, 23% rayon, 17%nylon). Strapless. Sweetheart neckline. Trumpet skirt. Hidden side zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

103 reviews

Fit
Small 11
True to Size 85
Large 6
Photos 59
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Mar 3, 2013

The compliments were endless

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this for my Barrister's Ball. I absolutely loved everything about the fit of this dress. The length was good. The structure through the waist was comfortable but stable enough that I didn't need to wear a bra with the dress. All in all, very comfortable, even for dancing. The compliments were endless. I loved everything about the dress and will definitely be renting again in the future!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Mar 4, 2013

I was the only person in a red dress... and boy did I get compliments! Even from strangers!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
A little big for me in the chest area, but every where else fit perfectly. I literally got compliments all night long. The dress was absolutely perfect. I will probably rent it again for another event in the future! Any more colors?!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138 lbs
Mar 6, 2013

Surrounded by stars, and I fit right in!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to the Awards Ceremony for First Time Fest in NYC, and felt so pretty while mixing and mingling with the other filmmakers and VIPS! There is nothing better than feeling confident, and this dress made my night! Highly recommended. Sexy, pretty, and so easy to wear!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 15, 2013

My Fiance Loved it!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress was stunning. The fit, bright red color, and great fabric were perfect for our date night and I was so so pleased. I normally wear a size 6 and occasionally a size 8. I ordered the 6 and it was perfect, and even slightly big around the hips. (I'm 135lbs, a 36B and a size 28 or 29 in jeans). I felt like the dress fit my bust perfectly, but my younger sister (34DD) saw the dress hanging in my room later the next day and tried it on to see if she would want to rent it in the future and it miraculously fit her too! I am 5'3" and the dress hit me right at the knee in 3.5in heels. Overall I loved this dress and can't wait to either rent it again or buy it when it goes on sale at Neiman Marcus. Thanks!!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145 lbs
Mar 18, 2013

Loved it, perfect dress & perfect lace!!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a good friend's wedding in Lubbock. The dress was brand new, even with the tags still on it so the lace was perfect! I absolutely loved the color. The open lower back was gorgeous and I should have followed the reviewer's advice on wearing a NuBra instead of a strapless.. I was constantly adjusting and making sure my bra wasn't showing in the back. The ribbing & lining was great. However, my chest looked odd and smushed without a bra on. I probably could have used a 10 in my bust, but the 8 fit the rest of my body perfectly! Overall, amazing dress that I would definitely rent again!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Mar 20, 2013

I had so many compliments on this dress.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
A backless bra is a smart move for this little bitty.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 14, 2013

I felt beautiful and wonderful in this dress. I didn't want to take it off!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Fit very well, couldn't wear any of my bras because of the cut out in the back but a strapless probably would have worked. Loved it!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134 lbs
Aug 25, 2013

Feminine

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress is a very beautiful color, but the one I got had been worn a bunch and had some funny lines around the hips. Oh well - it was still very pretty! I went bra-less but sort of wished I had gotten a NuBra
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 27, 2013

Beautiful & sexy dress

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress as my backup and ended up wearing it to a rehearsal dinner. It was comfortable and I felt sexy in it (it really hugs curves!). I got many compliments and would definitely rent it again!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Aug 27, 2013

This is a beautiful dress - wished I could have worn it.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress runs just a tad bit small. I ordered the 6 based on other reviews, but should have ordered the 8. I got it on , but it fit a little too snug across the hips and it was obviously too tight. The dress is a true red, I was expecting a lighter rose color, but beautiful still the same. I would definitely order this dress again, but in a size 8. RTR was great about giving me credit and fortunately I had a dress in my closet as backup.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190 lbs
Sep 5, 2013

What a convenient way to shop

Size worn: 16
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved everything about this dress, the color, the fit, not to mention the numerous compliments I received in wearing it to a wedding. I do not attend cocktail parties frequently, nor do I have room in my closet for clothes that I will most like never wear again. I received the dress the day before my event and I was able to return it the next day. Rent the Runway is a convenient and great concept. I will definitely use them again.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170 lbs
Sep 10, 2013

on time delivery, dress was in good condition.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
bust area was too tight so i ended wearing an alternate dress. pretty dress though
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 15, 2013

Beautiful dress- would love to buy it!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress fit extremely well while being totally comfortable. It had great boning around the stomach that enhanced the fit and the back was gorgeous. I got tons of compliments on this dress. I was able to dance in it all night without a problem.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 16, 2013

First RTR experience, but not my last!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was very flattering! The red color and the unique back design make sure you will stand out, in a positive way! The dress did look like it was starting to show some signs of multiple dry cleanings but not unless I stared at every inch up and down. It was slightly stretchy so it had a little give to it. When I first put it on, I thought it might be a bit snug but it ended up being the perfect size. I had no problems dancing the night away in it.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
Sep 18, 2013

Got so many compliments!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit like a glove. You'll need to wear a backless bra with this dress. This dress looks expensive-I wore it to a September wedding in upstate NY and it was perfect. This is my second Monique Lhuillier dress I've rented and successfully worn in the past month and I look forward to trying more soon!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 26, 2013

Amazing!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress! I wore it to a formal evening wedding and the style was perfect. I received so many compliments as well!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Sep 30, 2013

Classic little red dress

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this as my backup dress for a black tie optional event. I did not end up wearing this dress because the longer dress I also ordered was more appropriate for the event. However, this dress fit perfectly and I wouldn't hesitate to order it again for an event where it would be better suited. This dress definitely requires shapewear under it because it is form fitting, it'll also help to get the lining of the dress in the right place. The red color is gorgeous and will help you stand out in a sea of little black dresses.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 2, 2013

Beautiful!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The lace seemed a little worn around the edges, but no one would notice but me. It fit great and I got lots of compliments.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 122 lbs
Oct 14, 2013

I was able to wear a Monique dress that I could not normally afford to a wedding and fit right in

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I borrowed a size 4 and a 6 and the 6 was tight on me, which was weird. The 4 is true to size and the lace hides all the "bulges"
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118 lbs
Oct 15, 2013

not what I expected

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this for a wedding after a terrific experience with a similar dress from the same designer in navy. This dress did not work for my body type. It ran much smaller than the navy version. It also showed a lot more cleavage than I am used to. I also expected a much deeper red and the dress is more of a dark pink.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Oct 23, 2013

Stunning Dress

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The lace is a little worn out, but still stunning. I would love to purchase this dress. A lot of support around the stomach. Paired it with black suede stilettos with an ankle strap. Wore it to a wedding in October in New Jersey. Would love to rent this dress again in multiple colors.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 4, 2013

Tons of Compliments

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Size 6 fit great, was even able to wear a strapless bra w/ clear straps! Dress was a bit worn though. Would rent in a different color again!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Nov 10, 2013

This is an incredibly gorgeous dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Make sure you wear a Nu Bra. It's an open back, but not incredibly structured in the front.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 12, 2013

Loved this dress, the color, the fit all of it.. Its very classic and elegant. Will rent again

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It fits true to size, I had ordered both the 6 and 8 as back up and ended up wearing the 6.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 22, 2013

It was lovely but it made my belly look huge. And I was not a big fan of the fabric. Just not for me

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
True to size but bunches up strangely at belly so unless you are a twig; this will not help
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 5, 2013

Beautiful! Everyone at the wedding complimented how pretty the color and style was.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit true to size.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 26, 2013

Pretty dress but too clingy

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I ended up renting this one and another red dress to make a decision to wear one. I actually went with the other dress completely. This dress is pretty on but the lining is attached to the dress so it would always bunch up and look really weird on.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 8, 2014

LOVED THIS DRESS!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Hugged in all the right places. Gorgeous color, lovely fabric and the back was stunning. Received numerous compliments (particularly for the back detail) and would absolutely rent again!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 13, 2014

Beautiful Dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
True to Size and fabric gives a little. Got lots of compliments!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 2, 2014

Stunning dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I felt classy and beautiful wearing this dress. Even the bride was envious! It fit well and was sexy without being too revealing. The color would be good on most skintones. I did need to wear a backless bra, however, so those with larger busts might have trouble. The only reason I gave it 4 stars was because the lace was a bit tattered around the edges and you could tell that it had been well-loved by previous renters. I actually had to get out my sewing kit and put in a few stitches around the sleeves and zipper areas. I'm sure it wasn't noticeable unless you were really examining it, but wanted to mention it.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Feb 23, 2014

Simple to return

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It was a beautiful dress but a little too long for me. I ended up wearing a dress I had.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Feb 26, 2014

Perfect red color and sexy without feeling naked!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
Fit snugly across my bust so I had to go up a size.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 23, 2014

Lady in Red!

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved the look of this dress. The boning didn't stay as staight as I wanted it to, but that was probably just because of my body. Overall a great rent!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Apr 8, 2014

Yes, yes, yes!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I would wear this every day if I could! Fit perfectly and the back detail was to die for!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 25, 2014

This is a conservative dress with a stunning open back!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress has light boning so it keeps a great shape. You might want to safety pin the back eye hooks if your going to do a lot of dancing!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138 lbs
Jun 2, 2014

Not my best RTR experience.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was ok but not my favorite. The color is more hot pink then red as it appears online. Also the dress I had appeared to have been dry cleaned a number of times and had shrunk. The back of the dress around the slit did not sit right but unfortunately given the timing I didn't have time to send it back. Also the shoulder area was restricting (again not sure if that was due to the cut or the dry cleaning). I have a pear figure but had a hard time lifting my arms most of the night out of fear of ripping the dress. If you have wide shoulders this may not be the dress for you.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190 lbs
Jun 12, 2014

I am bit larger and not all dresses fit nicely and flatter me and this dress made me look amazing!

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fits great. Need to wear a strapless bra if you are larger on top. If you are small, you can wear it without a bra.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Aug 6, 2014

I had SO MANY comments on my dress!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was absolutely perfect - no complaints! :-)
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 3, 2014

Beautiful, but tough shoulder measurements

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Beautiful lace! The color and style of this dress were amazing. However, I had some issues in the shoulder area. I couldn't even button up the top flaps in the back to close out the cut-out area. I tend to have slightly wide-set shoulders and I could barely even move my arms in this dress, I felt like the kid from A Christmas Story!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126 lbs
Dec 13, 2014

The color is amazing! I was testing this dress out as a potential rehearsal dinner dress.

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Wedding
Fit is very flattering!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×