Falling Rose Petals Sheath

$85 rental
$398 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

For your next engagement party go for a look that is elegant with a sultry flair in this lace sheath by ML Monique Lhuillier. A ladylike style with a bit of intrigue, this dress is sure to get you compliments all night long! Go with colorful accessories like Oscar de la Renta’s Tres Chic Ring to complete your ensemble.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust but can not be worn with a standard bra due to open back
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt may be more fitted on curvier women; consider sizing up in backup for full hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra due to exposed back
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Rose lace (60% cotton, 23% rayon, 17%nylon). Strapless. Sweetheart neckline. Trumpet skirt. Hidden side zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
103 reviews
Fit
Large
(6)
True to Size
(85)
Small
(11)
Size worn:
16
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 45
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190lbs
September 5, 2013
What a convenient way to shop
Loved everything about this dress, the color, the fit, not to mention the numerous compliments I received in wearing it to a wedding. I do not attend cocktail parties frequently, nor do I have room in my closet for clothes that I will most like never wear again. I received the dress the day before my event and I was able to return it the next day. Rent the Runway is a convenient and great concept. I will definitely use them again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
September 9, 2013
Very Flattering dress! So comfortable! Perfect Fit!
The color of the the dress is fab, it can dark pink in some shades & red in others. Got so many compliments It was really a perfect fit & I'm quite curvy! Was so happy with it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
September 15, 2013
Fun bright color for a lace dress!
I loved the bright red color for this lace dress. Wore it with black pumps, black/leopard clutch, and silver RtR earrings for a september wedding. The lace was delicate but sturdy with the satin lining and boning of the dress. The cut of the back was fun! Note that the back is cut low and wide, so most likely you need to wear a strapless or stick on bra.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 15, 2013
Beautiful dress- would love to buy it!
This dress fit extremely well while being totally comfortable. It had great boning around the stomach that enhanced the fit and the back was gorgeous. I got tons of compliments on this dress. I was able to dance in it all night without a problem.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
September 25, 2013
Another Shining Moment Thanks to RTR!
For my third RTR rental, I chose this gorgeous lace dress and beautiful bracelet. When I received the dress it fit perfectly, but the condition of the lace was very worn. At first I was worried but all it took was one quick online chat with a stylist and I had a new dress in my hands the next day! RTR truly does have amazing customer service which is one of the main reasons I love it so much. The new dress was perfect. I did not wear a bra, but the dress was not super tight so I think I would have tried an adhesive bra if I did it again (which I will!). I received countless compliments and felt fabulous. I can't wait to rent this again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
September 26, 2013
Amazing!
I loved this dress! I wore it to a formal evening wedding and the style was perfect. I received so many compliments as well!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
September 28, 2013
Awesome Dress!!
I rented this dress for a rehearsal dinner and I loved it!! I loved it so much I am renting it again for a wedding this month. It fit true to size I have large chest and was able to get away without a bra.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
September 30, 2013
Classic little red dress
I rented this as my backup dress for a black tie optional event. I did not end up wearing this dress because the longer dress I also ordered was more appropriate for the event. However, this dress fit perfectly and I wouldn't hesitate to order it again for an event where it would be better suited. This dress definitely requires shapewear under it because it is form fitting, it'll also help to get the lining of the dress in the right place. The red color is gorgeous and will help you stand out in a sea of little black dresses.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
October 2, 2013
Beautiful!
The lace seemed a little worn around the edges, but no one would notice but me. It fit great and I got lots of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 122lbs
October 14, 2013
I was able to wear a Monique dress that I could not normally afford to a wedding and fit right in
I borrowed a size 4 and a 6 and the 6 was tight on me, which was weird. The 4 is true to size and the lace hides all the "bulges"
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
October 15, 2013
not what I expected
I rented this for a wedding after a terrific experience with a similar dress from the same designer in navy. This dress did not work for my body type. It ran much smaller than the navy version. It also showed a lot more cleavage than I am used to. I also expected a much deeper red and the dress is more of a dark pink.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 19, 2013
Felt Like a Knockout!
This dress is simply stunning online rack and even better in person! The keyhole back and cap sleeves made it feel sexy and sophisticated - perfect to attend a wedding! The size 6 fit but was shorter and tighter than the size 8. I opted to wear the 8 for the sake of feeling more comfortable sitting and moving. The only problem is you definitely need to wear a low back strapless bra to avoid showing through the lace in the back. Overall I received a ton of compliments and my fiance told me I looked like a movie star! Will definitely use RTR again :)
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
October 23, 2013
Stunning Dress
The lace is a little worn out, but still stunning. I would love to purchase this dress. A lot of support around the stomach. Paired it with black suede stilettos with an ankle strap. Wore it to a wedding in October in New Jersey. Would love to rent this dress again in multiple colors.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
October 25, 2013
Received so many compliments!
Wore this dress for an August wedding and received a number of compliments throughout the evening. Material was slightly heavier than expected, but I was never uncomfortably hot. Mostly true to size - there is a little 'bunching' that occurs in the mid-section of the dress when you move around frequently. However, no one noticed until I pointed it out. Overall, beautiful lace dress in a stunning color!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 4, 2013
Tons of Compliments
Size 6 fit great, was even able to wear a strapless bra w/ clear straps! Dress was a bit worn though. Would rent in a different color again!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
December 1, 2013
This dress was stunning and perfect for my bridal shower! THANKS RTR!!!
I'm normally a 4 but was able to wear a 2... not sure if it was my wedding diet or the fit!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 25, 2013
Perfect dress for a summer wedding
I rented this dress for a summer wedding. The fit was great and I couldn't have been happier with the purchase. I'm 5'6 and the dress hit just above my knee. The color is gorgeous. I didn't want to sent it back!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
December 26, 2013
Pretty dress but too clingy
I ended up renting this one and another red dress to make a decision to wear one. I actually went with the other dress completely. This dress is pretty on but the lining is attached to the dress so it would always bunch up and look really weird on.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
January 8, 2014
LOVED THIS DRESS!
Hugged in all the right places. Gorgeous color, lovely fabric and the back was stunning. Received numerous compliments (particularly for the back detail) and would absolutely rent again!
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Body type: Full Bust
February 10, 2014
This dress was great!
this dress was perfect for the wedding I attended. It was comfortable and had a little give but form fitting and very flattering. the lace and darts hide all the unflattering bits in the middle.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
February 23, 2014
Simple to return
It was a beautiful dress but a little too long for me. I ended up wearing a dress I had.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
March 23, 2014
Lady in Red!
I loved the look of this dress. The boning didn't stay as staight as I wanted it to, but that was probably just because of my body. Overall a great rent!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
April 8, 2014
Yes, yes, yes!
I would wear this every day if I could! Fit perfectly and the back detail was to die for!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 25, 2014
This is a conservative dress with a stunning open back!
The dress has light boning so it keeps a great shape. You might want to safety pin the back eye hooks if your going to do a lot of dancing!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 160lbs
May 3, 2014
Wedding chic
Nervous to wear this without a bra, but once I had it on I didn't even think about it. Wore the bigger of two sizes to have a bit of extra room. Loved everything about this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
June 2, 2014
Not my best RTR experience.
This dress was ok but not my favorite. The color is more hot pink then red as it appears online. Also the dress I had appeared to have been dry cleaned a number of times and had shrunk. The back of the dress around the slit did not sit right but unfortunately given the timing I didn't have time to send it back. Also the shoulder area was restricting (again not sure if that was due to the cut or the dry cleaning). I have a pear figure but had a hard time lifting my arms most of the night out of fear of ripping the dress. If you have wide shoulders this may not be the dress for you.
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190lbs
June 12, 2014
I am bit larger and not all dresses fit nicely and flatter me and this dress made me look amazing!
Fits great. Need to wear a strapless bra if you are larger on top. If you are small, you can wear it without a bra.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
August 6, 2014
I had SO MANY comments on my dress!
The dress was absolutely perfect - no complaints! :-)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150lbs
August 4, 2014
This dress was perfect for a wedding! It was true to size and elegant! I would recommend to anyone!
Love the keyhole back of this dress. Lace + Keyhole back is what sold me! I recevied so many compliments & I would wear it again
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 24, 2014
So many compliments!
Loved everything about this dress. I got so many compliments and the fit is very flattering. Color and material are beautiful.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126lbs
December 13, 2014
The color is amazing! I was testing this dress out as a potential rehearsal dinner dress.
Fit is very flattering!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
January 13, 2014
Beautiful Dress!
True to Size and fabric gives a little. Got lots of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
March 4, 2013
I was the only person in a red dress... and boy did I get compliments! Even from strangers!
A little big for me in the chest area, but every where else fit perfectly. I literally got compliments all night long. The dress was absolutely perfect. I will probably rent it again for another event in the future! Any more colors?!
LovingRTRMarch 4, 2013
I know they have a navy and white one. I rented the red for an event this weekend, I hope to look as good as you!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 14, 2013
I felt beautiful and wonderful in this dress. I didn't want to take it off!
Fit very well, couldn't wear any of my bras because of the cut out in the back but a strapless probably would have worked. Loved it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 141lbs
April 16, 2013
Beautiful dress with an unexpectedly sexy back. Fun way to be a little flirty even after age 50.
Pretty true to size, but not a generous 8. Specialist sent me a 6 and and 8 after I told her my measurements, and 8 just barely fit. Would have liked to try the 10, might have been more comfortable. Dress had nice thick satin lining - went bra-less because of cutout back but was still comfortable. Well-made, in great shape, arrived just when they said - very easy process. Will rent again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
April 24, 2013
Perfect color, perfect fit. Fun elegant party when you have something special to celebrate!
I wore this fabulous dress for my engagement party, and I felt amazing wearing the lovely lace and vibrant, bold color. The fit was perfect for the occasion, and my fiance loved the dress so much for our party! I recommend this dress.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
May 20, 2013
I spent the entire night as a spokeswoman for Rent the Runway because EVERYONE loved my dress!
The dress fits true to size. It was incredibly elegant, yet also in style. I have larger shoulders and arms and I felt like this dress made me look so slim. I want to rent it again!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
June 11, 2013
This dress was very nice for a wedding!
Loved it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
June 18, 2013
This was a lovely, elegant dress for a wedding!
I got a number of compliments througout the evening, and felt very comfortable eating and dancing all night as the dress is fitted, but still feels fluid. I wore a backless bra with this dress, which worked well. The red was bright and a nice contrast to all the neutral colors at the event.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
June 26, 2013
Perfect dress for a wedding!
I wore this dress to my sister's rehearsal dinner. I received so many compliments on it. The material I thought was a lot more sturdy than I was expecting. loose enough in the lower half with non constricting sleeves, which was great for me. I did not wear a bra with it but the support within the dress was enough for me.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×