ML Monique Lhuillier

Alice Dress

$40 rental
$498 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Attending a bridal luncheon or dinner party? Look so sweet in cobalt lace wearing this chic full skirt style by ML Monique Lhuillier. Add sparkle and shine with kate spade new york accessories’ On the Town Necklace.

Also available in purple, white and teal.

Also available in sizes 16W-22W.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Cobalt lace (60% cotton 23% rayon 17% nylon). Three quarter sleeve. Boat neckline. Full skirt with pockets. Hidden back zipper. Lined. 36” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

908 reviews

Fit
Small 180
True to Size 651
Large 16
Photos 591
Lillian
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107 lbs
Oct 14, 2013

Absolutely OBSESSED with this dress!!!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to an early fall wedding and I have never had so many compliments by complete strangers! The dress was perfect for cooler weather as the material is a little heavier. I wore a zero, which was true to size. I was at first concerned that the top portion would be too tight around my chest because of my bigger chest size, but it was perfecttt. I wish I could have kept this dress...can't wait to rent it again!!
frequent_flyer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 16, 2013

I wore this to my bridal shower, great color, fit.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I saw an image of this dress on a model at Saks, and was worried it would be unflattering. Since oddly made the model look heavy. I found the dress to be very flattering (with heals) and has a very girly flouncy feel to it. Pros- - bright blue, good for my pale winter complexion - conservative enough cut to wear in front of my mother-in-law to be's country club set. - very feminine -warm dress - good under layer Other points -fit and flare is best for more festive occasions - somebody said it looked like I didn't have an under-layer.. the bottom layer matched my skin perfectly. whatever. I didn't even try on my back up dress. So yes, this was a good choice. :)
Claire
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Feb 11, 2014

Beautiful blue lace!!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for a cocktail charity ball event in February, and it was just perfect! The lining kept me very warm throughout the evening, and the blue lace is much brighter in person. It definitely stood out in the sea of black dresses, and I received so many compliments! I rented a 6 and 8 since several of the reviews mentioned the dress being tight in the arms, and I ended up wearing the 6 (my normal size). The sleeves were tight around my arms whenever I initially tried it on, but throughout the night they relaxed and the dress was quite comfortable. I wore nude pumps and the gold Nicole Miller Southern Plantation Earrings (highly recommend!). Definitely would rent this gorgeous dress again!
Courtney
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 147 lbs
Dec 19, 2014

This dress was so cute and so much fun! It's just the right amount of 'twirly' on the dance floor!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I really enjoyed this dress and felt so good wearing it! The color was great, the fabric was nice, and the pockets were amazing! My only complaint is that I wish I wore the 8. While the 6 fit, it was very tight in the arms and a little shorter than I hoped. The 8 arrived with a small rip in the left shoulder blade, so I didn't wear it, but it was much more comfortable. I wore this dress to my company holiday party, and got soooo many compliments! Would definitely wear again!
Jenn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Dec 29, 2014

Made me feel like a rock star!

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Such a great dress! Super comfortable dress. Even had pockets!
salina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Jan 4, 2015

Elegant & So Comfortable to Wear

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore it straight out of the bag. No steam iron needed or hemming tape. There is a nude liner under the lace and pockets. I rented the same necklace as the model to go with this dress. A statement necklace adds a nice touch.
Caroline
Age: 27
Jan 4, 2015

So many compliments!

Size worn: 14
Rented for: Formal Affair
The overall fit of this dress is true to size but I went up one size since I have larger arms and the sleeves were just a little tight on the 12. It was a great length, not too short. The dress was forgiving enough for me to sit down and eat at a wedding and still feel comfortable! I loved wearing it!
Kendall
Age: 27
Jan 4, 2015

Loved it!

Size worn: 10
Rented for: Wedding
This was my first rent the runway experience, and I must say it did not disappoint. This dress is beautiful. The pictures don't do it justice as the lace detail is gorgeously intricate. I felt very comfortable. I don't have a flat stomach, but this dress was very flattering so I didn't feel self conscious in the least. Another thing I liked about this dress is that it was very structured which is very flattering for all body shapes and sizes.
Jennifer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 153 lbs
Jan 5, 2015

I loved that this dress had pockets. Wore it to my BIL dress rehearsal! It was so comfy! LOVE!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I'm a very fit girl and 34DD. this dress fit very well. Loved that I could dress it down with cowboy boots too! So versatile!
Angie
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170 lbs
Jan 7, 2015

Showstop in this vibrant, structured dress!

Size worn: 8
Rented for: Wedding
As soon as I saw this dress on RTR, I knew it was the perfect piece - at the right price! - to wear for a wedding rehearsal in the fall. The blue is absolutely gorgeous and the lace fabric is high-quality. The structured body and waistline was very flattering and I wasn't self-conscious about holding a little extra weight around my gut. However, I'd recommend sizing up if you have a larger bust - the sleeves and the chest were tight, but I actually liked the slimming effect! I ordered an 8 and a 10 and didn't notice a significant difference in the fit or length, so I went with the 8. I was concerned with the length, but even as a tall girl in heels, I didn't feel like I was showing too much leg. Plus, the hidden pockets helped me slyly push/pull down the dress when standing up from my seat! I would definitely rent this dress again. Check it out in other colors! I think I saw it in burgundy, too.
Kaitlen
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106 lbs
Jan 7, 2015

Pretty dress!

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was perfect for a winter wedding. Pretty color, true-to-size and comfy. I got many compliments on this dress.
Corey
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148 lbs
Jan 8, 2015

Such a pretty dress! Received so many compliments. Fit great!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Like the other reviews said, a little tight on the arms but it fit pleasantly well (and I'm fairly muscular). Bonus - it had pockets!!
Erin
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 9, 2015

The dress was gorgeous and totally appropriate for a winter wedding. Received many compliments!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
As others have mentioned -- the sleeves where the armpits are, are quite tight! Had to go with a size up because of this. If you're a bustier girl or bigger through the midsection, this may not be the dress for you. I felt as if I looked larger in the dress (hoping I can find a full-body pic to share soon), but the color and lace detail were stunning!
Elizabeth
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 11, 2015

Beautiful wedding

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Dress fit well and was very comfortable. It was form fitting then flowy from the waste down and did not make me feel self conscious at all. Only downside was the arms were a little snug which I only really noticed when dancing. Overall beautiful dress and received many compliments.
Erin
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 183 lbs
Jan 14, 2015

Such an easy process!

Size worn: 12
Rented for: Party
Fit perfect, lots of compliments & stunning color!
carol
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133 lbs
Jan 15, 2015

The color is stunning. The color you see in my photo is the actual dress color. Very vibrant.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
First time I ever rented a dress. The quality was very nice. I wouldn't advise wearing a slip, as there are three layers to this dress. I ordered a size 8 and a 10. I wore the 10. It fit nice. The 8 was a bit snug. First 10 minutes at the party I had two compliments from people I never meet. Made me feel good. The whole night I received about 8. I would probably rent this dress again if it was a totally different party.
Haylee
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 16, 2015

Loved it!

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to my rehearsal dinner and everyone loved it! Wait staff & strangers were approaching me asking where I got it! It was pretty tight up top & I had to have a lot of help zipping it up but once it was zipped it felt perfect. The arms are snug but it wasn't uncomfortable at all. Perfect for a cold night, it kept me very warm!
Katherine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 19, 2015

I wore this to my boyfriend's brother's Naval Officer graduation

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress originally in a size 4, thinking it would fit me because many of the reviews mentioned that the dress ran true to size. The dress fit everywhere except the sleeves were tight. I did not read about that in the reviews. I would recommend ordering a size up solely for the sleeves. The dress was comfortable and easy to wear. I paired it with black tights and boots for a casual look. I also wanted to mention that RTR was great about overnighting me another dress because the size 4 I ordered didn't fit. Overall I was satisfied with this rental and RTR has continued to provide me with great service :)
Madeline
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Jan 22, 2015

Awesome dress

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Awesome dress and very flattering (photo doesn't do much justice since I am slouching but take my word for it). Nice that it is fully lined so if it is an outdoor wedding on a chilly night (it was!) you will be all set!
Leah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185 lbs
Jan 24, 2015

The dress was a beautiful bright blue , I wore this to a rehearsal dinner and a birthday party!

Size worn: 14
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit perfectly, very comfortable, having pockets is always a plus. I was sad to send it back
Diane
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 26, 2015

The color is amazing!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fabric is pretty thick so good for an outdoor wedding at night in the fall. The waist seemed to ride a bit higher on me than the model. Received many compliments from friends and the color is eye popping in person.
Jessi Marie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 26, 2015

Perfect for a winter wedding!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this for my sister's very informal wedding at a restaurant in January. I kept it on for my future father-in-law's surprise 60th birthday party at another reastaurant later that night! I was comfortable all day long. I didnt have to worry about bloating after eating with the a-line cut. I've been renting a size 8 lately because I haven't been keeping myself in the best shape - so my usual dress size should be changed to an 8 - which was true to size. & best of all; it has pockets! Definitely more of a royal blue than the shade on the model...lots of compliments throughout the night!
Courtney
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Jan 29, 2015

Beautiful "Little Blue Dress"

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I absolutely loved this dress! I wore it for my engagement pictures and I think they turned out great! : ) It has a classic girly feel that I just love. Fit true to size, it was a little long on me though. Definitely would recommend!
Kristen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 142 lbs
Jan 29, 2015

Great-fitting dress in a vibrant color!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress. I ordered both the 4 and the 6, and the 6 fit like a glove. The top is particularly snug, so those who are more blessed up top might want to take this into account. As always, I received so many compliments on this and I hate to send it back! Special shout-out to the fabulous Rent the Runway customer service. I was worried that my dress would not arrive in time for my event (shipment was delayed by winter storms), and received assurances that I would receive a full refund if it did not. It turned out that the box was dropped at my door with minutes to spare!
Lori
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155 lbs
Feb 2, 2015

The color of the dress is gorgeous and it was a comfortable and fun dress to wear.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was snug but yet very comfortable and the arms fit a bit tight but the material is a little stretchy so it still felt fine. I loved how the skirt flaired out a little and it was fun to dance in. The dress has 3 layers and is warm so it is a good dress to wear in the fall or winter. I had a 10 and a 12 but opted for the 12.
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 137 lbs
Feb 4, 2015

Classic and stunning!

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Other
This dress for like a glove! The sleeves were the right size, the waist made me feel 2 sizes smaller than I am and the color is AMAZING! At my sisters rehearsal dinner I got as many compliments as she did!!!!!!
Kate
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 198 lbs
Feb 7, 2015

Another amazing rental!

Size worn: 14
Rented for: Wedding
I wore the 14 for a friends wedding in February . I loved the sleeves and the way the dress fit. The material was light enough but still kept me warm. I felt amazing and got many complements. I was a little cautious with the length of the dress I felt that if I lifted my arms over my head that my bum was going to say hello to the world, but I never felt that the dress was too short any other time. Other than that this dress was an amazing rental!
RTR Customer
Feb 7, 2015

I got many compliments for my dress. It really looks like it was custom made for me. Love ML!

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Party
True to size
Marissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 178 lbs
Feb 7, 2015

Pop of blue elegance

Size worn: 14
Rented for: Formal Affair
Gentle fit, hidden pockets, flouncy a-line skirting, fitted waist, layered lining and soft lace make this bright blue cocktail dress effortlessly flattering. A win.
Kate
Age: 29
Feb 8, 2015

I had a great first experience with RTR! Super easy and I plan on doing it again for future events!

Size worn: 14
Rented for: Wedding
Overall I'm really happy with the dress, but the length felt a little awkward. I'm usually a 12, but the 12 was REALLY tight in the chest (I'm a 36E though) so I sized up to the 14.
Rebecca
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Feb 8, 2015

Rented for my engagement party. Loved this dress, especially the pockets!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
This was my first time using Rent the Runway so I was a little nervous. Was glad I ordered a backup size. Ended up wearing the bigger one because the sleeves were tight on the 6. Received so many compliments. Would definitely recommend it!
RTR Customer
Feb 8, 2015

Tons of compliments all night! The dress was fun and fashionable but still conservative and classy!

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
If you have larger arms like me the sleeves can be a little tight. Overall the fit was good, length was at my knees but I'm only 5'0.
Mary
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 9, 2015

Received many compliments while at the event!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Very comfortable dress. Length and fit were true to size. Formal enough for black tie.
Rebecca
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 13, 2015

Love this dress! Flattering, flirty and fun. In a room of lots of little black dresses I stood out.

Size worn: 8
Rented for: Party
Lots of compliments on the blue accenting my blue eyes. Was my first experience using rent the run way and was very positive experience. I did order a 6 and thank goodness I got the 8 as well, 6 was snug on my arms and 8 was perfect.
Morgan
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Feb 17, 2015

SO Flattering!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was fantastic! I felt so pretty in it and I received so many compliments throughout the night. The blue lace was very vibrant against the nude underlay. I agree with the reviews as far as the sleeves being a little snug- but it wasn't anything that really had an effect on my dancing! I wear a 6-8 and the dress was pretty true to size. I got the 8 just because of the other reviews on the sleeves!
Jessica
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Body type: Athletic
Feb 18, 2015

Formal but fun and different for a wedding

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit was good, I seem to have muscular arms so the sleeves were a bit tight. Edges were a bit frayed from wear and tear but expected. Over all I liked it!
Angel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Feb 18, 2015

Color really popped among a ton of black dresses!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Dress was very fitted if you are more broad-shouldered. Likely should have worn the 6 but liked the length better on the 4. The color in person truly is amazing blue and was fun to wear for a work event.
Andrea
Age: 28
Feb 21, 2015

Loved this dress - wish I could keep it!

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Other
Beautiful dress! Great color and style for any season. Fit true to size and very flattering. The sleeves were a touch on the tight side, but once on it was fine. Really enjoyed wearing it and received lots of compliments.
Samantha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Feb 25, 2015

Beautiful dress. Perfect color & length. Great fit, except the arms.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
I rented this dress for Valentine's Day because I wanted something other than pink/red. I loved the dress and ended up featuring it on my blog as well. I had read previously reviews that mentioned the sleeves were tight so I rented in both my regular size 8 and a size 10 ...and I'm glad I did. I could barely pull the 8 all the way up my arms, it was so tight. I ended up wearing the 10. The waist is slightly higher and the material is thicker so it draped and fit well without looking baggy in other areas. Luckily our plans didn't involve a lot of arm movement. If I were wearing this to a wedding or event where I planned on dancing, I might have even considered going up to a 12. Overall though a very, very beautiful and flattering dress. I got so many complements on the color.
RTR Customer
Mar 2, 2015

Such a flattering dress!

Size worn: 8
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress hides lots of sins! I felt comfortable enough to eat, drink, and dance! The color is gorgeous. Wish I would have worn higher heels though to really accentuate my legs and the flowy skirt. Also great for a cold night, as the material is very thick. I went with the 8 bc I have thick arms and a lot of reviewers commented on the tight sleeves.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×