Milly

Sweet Madeline Dress

$99 to buy
$405 retail
Stylist Notes

Grab your date and rent this beautiful dress by Milly for the holiday party. A classic combination of gold and black metallic lace is perfect for a night of dancing with friends!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any bust size-comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with bow detail
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow at hips - curvy women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Product Details

Gold and black metallic lace over silk lining. Crew neckline with pleating. Black satin buttons on back with keyhole opening. Grosgrain bow at waist. Hidden back zip. 39'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
568 reviews
Fit
Large
(7)
True to Size
(389)
Small
(144)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 59
Body type: Hourglass
December 12, 2010
I wore this dress to a Christmas party and I haven't felt this pretty in years. It was the perfect fit, comfortable and clearly a classy, expensive dress I could not have otherwise afforded. I would recommend this one to absolutely everybody. It was really flattering. Even my teenager said so and said she would consider wearing it.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
December 25, 2010
I loved loved loved this dress. I wore it a couple times over Christmas and everyone (from my 70 year old grandma to 15 year old cousin) asked me where I got it. The only thing I did not like was that the bust area was too large for me. I wore a size 10 and have a 32 B and it had a lot of room. I will rent again!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 28, 2010
I got this dress for a big fundraiser I planned for the non-profit I work for. It was perfect-- not too flashy, but very elegant. I got so many compliments and felt very pretty! The lace is gorgeous, the buttons on the back are so cute, and the dress looks even better in person than in the pictures. It was slightly roomy in the bust area (I'm a 34B), but not too obvious. The lace also chaffed a lot on my arms, but that's why I'm glad I only rented it for a night! I just wish I could have enjoyed the dress more rather than being so preoccupied with the details of the event (at least other people got to enjoy seeing it ;-)) Overall, a great dress and a good rental experience!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 139lbs
January 13, 2011
Dress is completely adorable! I'm tall & thin, but with curvy hips & a small waist. I am 5' 8" and 130lbs. I rented sizes 4 & 6. I tried on the size 6 first, and it was just perfect, no need to try on the size 4. The top part is golden in color, it's just so pretty and cute. Very happy with Rent The Runway!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Body type: Straight & narrow
January 17, 2011
I LOVE this dress!!! It is more beautiful in person...the gold top is more shimmery/glittery than depicted in the photo. Wore it to a New Years Eve wedding and was definitely one of the best dressed of the night. Oh and the size fit perfectly.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Body type: Petite
January 20, 2011
Got this is a size 2. Too big in the bust (I'm a 32A) for me and the dress itself looks a bit more 'grandma-y' than I expected (probably because the gold lace detail on top was not as subtle as in the picture). I did get a compliment though - overall an above average dress. I especially like the buttons that run up the back. I wore this to a batmitvah. The dress is good for conservative events.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 65
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 138lbs
April 1, 2011
I ordered two sizes...one size 10 is my true size...I ordered a 12 to be on the safe size as well. Neither size fit and I was out $50.00!!! Very sad because the dress was truly beautiful.....
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
April 11, 2011
This dress was great. It runs true to size, I am an 8 and wore an 8. The underarms were itchy but not that big of a deal for how great the dress looked on.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Body type: Pear
April 26, 2011
I ordered the 10 and 12 for backup. I wore the 12 because the 10 was too tight in the hips. Sometimes I can wear an 8 in dresses because my top is so narrow, but this dress is very straight. I had to pin it. The dress did not come with a fit kit. But it was very pretty for my confirmation and baptism.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
May 16, 2011
Loved this dress. The fabric is amazing, the lace looks great. Fit is very flattering. The buttons up the back are such a cute detail. Received so many compliments. If I had to say something negative the only thing I can think of is that it is a little itchy.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 68
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140lbs
August 31, 2011
This was my first rental and I felt like a million bucks in this dress! It is really beautiful and feels very expensive. Although others have found it itchy, I did not. My normal size 10 was a little more snug through the waist than I would usually choose, but my husband found the fit very flattering and, in the end, I found it perfectly comfortable for the evening. Although the dress did not arrive at my home on the day it was supposed to, RTR saved the day by overnighting it to the hotel where I arrived the next day. I danced the night away at a family wedding and couldn't have been happier. I will definitely rent again. Thanks, RTR!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 24, 2011
I recently wore this dress to an evening wedding - it was fantastic! It runs true to size, but I would suggest sizing up for your back up rental. Though I am traditionally a tried and true 4, I ordered a 4 and a 6 and the 6 was more comfortable. It's a great option for slightly taller women looking for an modest length skirt as well!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 26, 2011
Adored this dress! Actually felt a little sad when I had to ship it back. Wore it to a wedding and got compliments all night long. I also found the bust a little big (a Size 8 was the perfect fit for me in the hips, but was a little large on my 36B bust) -- but with the right bra, it wasn't too bad. Overall, awesome dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
October 26, 2011
Winning homecoming and feeling confident!
Got quite a few compliments and fit great! The gold detailing is definitely more prominent in person, and the top isn't as tightly fit as it appears, but the dress still fits lovely.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
November 2, 2011
This dress was fantastic! The picture online does not do it justice, the cut is very elegant and classic and the material is very nice and rich looking - the gold top portion is more sparkly in real life. I wore this dress to a black-tie event at an art museum and it was very appropriate and I received tons of compliments. I agree with the comments below that it is roomy in the bust. I wore a size 8 and am a 36C and I even still had a little room in the bust. Great experience and will definitely rent again!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 64
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
November 3, 2011
I'm not sure whether to say this dress runs "small" or "true to size" or "large". I normally wear a size 6 and this dress fit snugly in the skirt and the bodice was too blousy. But the size 4 was way too small and I couldn't even get it zipped, so I don't know whether the top of the 4 would've been more fitted. The lace on the skirt was nice, but the material on the top was a bit scratchy. The size 6 hem came about 2" below my knee (I am 5') so if I had worn this dress, I would've had to tack up the hem.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 63
Body type: Full Bust
November 8, 2011
This dress is very pretty on a full busted but otherwise slim figure. The picture doesn't do it justice and the description says black and gold sequins..there are no sequins at all. It was a little scratchy but ok for any evening. The size 6 would've been fine except for the bust which is why I sized up to an 8. I'm a 34C. The back button detail is a nice touch. Wore it for a black tie event in Manhattan. My first RTR experience was enjoyable and I'll be back.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 4' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 146lbs
November 10, 2011
Classy dress for a wedding!
Loved this dress - fit very snugly, but true to size. If you have hips, this would be tight in that area. It is a bit itchy, but no real problem. Received many compliments on the lace.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
November 10, 2011
Got tons of compliments!
I wore this to a formal charity event and got so many compliments! It's a beautiful dress and the gold is much more sparkly then the picture shows, which I liked. The size 2 fit but the 4 was more comfortable due to no give in the material. So, if you''re in between size, size up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
November 20, 2011
Not so comfortable in the bust
I am 5'4" and wear a 34DDD. The dress fit everywhere except in the bust; I could not zip the last 2" of the dress so I did not wear it. The material is much more beautiful than the photo, and the button detail at the back is lovely. However, the grosgrain bow at the waist is a little too much, and the fabric is stiff and scratchy. It would be nice for a not-quite-black tie fall wedding.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
November 23, 2011
simple and classic
I wore this dress to a rehearsal dinner. It was the perfect length and fit. It is a little narrow through the hips, but I'm used to things being snug. I would go a size up if you have larger hips
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Hourglass
November 23, 2011
Gorgeous dress but weird fit
For small chested women (size A), there was a lot of extra room in the top, but the dress' hips are narrow. I ordered a size 8 and 10, and the 10 felt more comfortable around the hips but there was too much room at the top and it gaped under my arms, so I wore the 8. I am 5'-6" and the dress fell about an inch above my knees. I loved the dress- especialy the back, but if it was a dress in the store that I tried on, I wouldn't have bought it because of the fit for my body. The gold is much more sparkly than the pictures would imply, so be prepared to stand out but I got a ton of compliments when I wore it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
November 26, 2011
Rehearsal Dinner Hit!
I rented this dress for a wedding rehearsal and dinner and it worked out perfectly! Glad I paid attention to the reviews.. I rented the sizes 10 and 12 and went with the 12. Sizing up was smart because you don't want the lace to look like it is pulling in the hips. I was nervous about renting this dress because my hips are curvy but it actually accented all the right areas. I have worn a 10 in another Milly dress where the bottom half was not as fitted. Got compliments the entire evening and makes you sparkle from across the room! Being that it was such a success makes me even more thankful for RTR. I am always weird about wearing the same dress to big events especially when people will remember :) So now off to the next amazing dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 163lbs
November 26, 2011
Polished look.
My first rental from RTR and I was definitely happy! I rented a 2, and 4. While the 2 was a tight squeeze, it was much more flattering. My only issue was with the tightness around the waist but it creates a beautiful silhouette. I wore it to a political event and it was both conservative and eye catching.
AnyaDecember 20, 2011
The dress looks much better in your picture than in the RTR photo. I wouldn't even think of renting this one if I hadn't looked at your pic. Thanks for sharing!
ChristieApril 10, 2012
You look beautiful!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
November 29, 2011
Loved this dress!!
Love this dress. My boyfriend loved it as well! Was slightly longer than it was pictured, but I'm a lot shorter than the model. Overall I would absolutely rent this dress again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
December 7, 2011
Holiday Friendly
I rented this dress for my office Holiday party and got TONS of compliments on it. Overall, it was comfortable and fit true to its size. The material is not stretch and as a result it lies snug at the hips and thighs making it a very form-fitting style. The bottom lace gives this dress a girly touch while the gold top portion jazzes it up for any event without going overboard. One noteworthy point is that the gold is a lot shinier and elegant looking in person. Very satisfied with this rental!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
December 12, 2011
Beautiful dress-- love!
I would definitely rent this dress again...even buy it. It was so beautiful. I had ordered a size 8 and a size 10. 8 didn't fit at all. The 10 fit, but my boyfriend certainly had to help zip me up the side, and it took effort to zip it up to just under my armpit area. I am busty, and it was a little tight from about the top of my rib cage to my shoulders... esp under my arms/back... but it did fit and I was completely comfortable. It is a very classy dress. Especially for girls who are curvy. Love it!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 14, 2011
Beautiful and classy
First RTR experience and it was great. Wore this to a black-tie work event and it was beautiful. Very high-quality material and I echo the comments below that the gold is much shinier/sparklier in person (a good thing). I'm a pretty true size 4 (80% of the time I'm a 4, 20% I'm a 2) and was nervous about the 4 being too tight since some people said the dress ran small. It fit PERFECTLY and was incredibly flattering without being "sprayed on" anywhere. The event had a sit-down dinner and dancing and I was never constricted by the dress.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 14, 2011
Channel your inner Jackie O.
This was my first time renting with RTW and I was naturally a little hesitant about the whole process. I flew to Texas for a wedding over the weekend and crossed my fingers that the dresses would arrive on time and fit well. To my relief, delivery was prompt and the dress went above and beyond my expectations! I cannot describe how beautiful the lace work is on this dress. The fit was perfect, although probably on the smaller size since I typically wear a 2-4 in dresses and went with a 4 in this case. Perfect for someone tall and slender, as the length was great for me (5'9"). The bust area was bigger as others have mentioned -- I'd recommend wearing a "bombshell" bra from VS for those of us with smaller chests. Overall, very pleased and I look forward to renting again for my next event.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
December 19, 2011
This was an event where I didn't know many people, but loved by the end of the night that most people knew who I was by the dress.
This dress was great for an evening winter wedding. I am a busty size 10 so I ordered the 10 and 12 but found the 10 fit great. It was very flattering, even for a girl with a bit of a tummy. I received multiple compliments all night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
December 21, 2011
Golden Choice for work party
According to a co-worker at the event I was "idolized by my friends and despised by my enemies" in this dress. I loved the keyhole in the back. The fit was touch and go as I reached my bust line, but once I got it up it was smooth sailing! A great & unique dress for my job's winter party.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 185lbs
December 23, 2011
Arrived on time and easy to send back out. Thanks!
I wore this dress to my company's holiday party. I really wanted something that looked like it belonged with the holiday season but was conservative enough to wear around co-workers. This dress was a perfect compromise. I received compliments all night long. Overall, I would definitely recommend this dress if you're looking for something classy and chic. I found that this dress runs exactly true to size, and as such, I would recommend you get what you think your real size is then the next larger size you secretly hope you'll never have to wear. My real size fit me perfect and snug.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
December 28, 2011
Spending Christmas with my family in this dress
This dress fit beautifully - Got tons of compliments and it felt great on.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
January 3, 2012
Great for any occasion
I rented both a 4 and 6 - I usually fall somewhere in between these sizes. This dress runs very narrow, but is a true 6. I've worn other Milly dresses, too, and wear a 6 in those as well. This dress is GORGEOUS. I wore it to a couple things around Christmastime and was perfect for a nice dinner with my boyfriend as well as Christmas Eve mass; received many complements. It has a beautiful silhouette and the detail on it is spectacular - the pictures don't do a justice. The gold was much more bright, in person, but that made it that much more spectacular.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Body type: Athletic
January 6, 2012
Great
It was a great experience. I loved doing it and i am glad i found this website. it is very easy to do and the choice are unbelievable thank you
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 6, 2012
fitted through hips
I have a tiny waist and larger hips. This dress fit, but it was a little snug in the hips. The dress arrived in perfect condition. Everyone loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 134lbs
January 22, 2012
LOVE this dress!
What a gorgeous dress! The photo of the model doesn't do it justice as it's much more beautiful in person. I wore this for a medical staff cocktail party and received so many compliments! I'm 5' 7 1/2 and 133 pounds with small hips. I usually wear a size small, or 4 or 6 in dresses but wore a size 6 for this particular dress. The size 4 fit, but was a bit snug around my rib cages so I wore the size 6 and it was much more comfortable. It's a little big on top so it's a great dress for women with bigger busts. I'm a 34B so there was definitely some extra room for bustier ladies! But, nonetheless, I LOVE this dress and highly recommend it to anyone who has a more conservative cocktail party to attend. Just beautiful!!!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 149lbs
January 22, 2012
.
RTR is great! Dress arrived on time and the fit was perfect. I am a size 10 and the dress fit perfectly. I got many compliments on this. I would definitly order from RTR again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
January 23, 2012
I felt so elegant all night. I'm nearing 30, but people consistantly tell me how "cute" I am- which makes me feel like a 12 year old! It was so nice to have people talk to me, compliment me, and treat me like an adult.
This was my first rental from RTR and I loved it! I will definitely use them again. I got both a 4 and 6, but found the 4 to fit much better. I was having a NYE dinner at a very fancy restaurant and felt so elegant all evening. It is pretty tight in the mid-section, but I was still able to eat a 5 course meal without feeling like I was going to explode! I am just shy of 5'1" and you can see in the picture that it comes just below my knees. If your short like me and want something above the knee, this probably wouldn't be a good choice for you. I wanted the dress to be the focal piece so I pulled my hair back and the only jewelry I wore were diamond and pearl studs.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Body type: Straight & narrow
January 29, 2012
Just what I wanted :)
I wore this dress for a holiday company party. It was exactly what I was looking for, stylish and conservative. It's a beautiful dress and I was comfortable the entire night. I would recommend it if you are considering it!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 15

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×