Sweet Madeline Dress

$40 rental
$405 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Grab your date and rent this beautiful dress by Milly for the holiday party. A classic combination of gold and black metallic lace is perfect for a night of dancing with friends!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any bust size-comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with bow detail
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow at hips - curvy women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any bust size-comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with bow detail
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow at hips - curvy women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Gold and black metallic lace over silk lining. Crew neckline with pleating. Black satin buttons on back with keyhole opening. Grosgrain bow at waist. Hidden back zip. 39'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
539 reviews
Fit
Large5
True to Size375
Small138
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
January 11, 2016
Perfect for company party
I went with the bigger size because there isn't much give. The length was perfect and it was comfortable to wear all day.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
January 11, 2016
This dress is absolutely gorgeous. I received so many complements!! The lace is perfect!
I usually wear a 4 but decided to get the 6 as the back up instead of the 2. I am so glad I did. I ended up wearing the 6 and wished I had done the 8. The 8 would have fit perfectly but I made the 6 work. Loved this dress and I would absolutely rent it again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 5, 2016
Very fancy holiday dress!
Pros: Very beautiful, lots of details that make it stand out. Cons: Uncomfortable everytime I put my arms down, the fabric was beautiful but irritated my skin on my arms. The zipper is on the side and it was troublesome to get the zipper through the belt area on the dress because the fabric was different. At first I thought I was to fat for the dress but realized I had a lot of loose fabric in that section so I feel that this was just a flaw in design. Overall I felt this was a nice dress for a holiday occasion party or if you have a formal occasion.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 4, 2016
A classic lace beauty
This dress was beautiful and very well made. It's form fitting but not tight, fully lined with a little bit of shimmer throughout the fabric. The contrast between the black and gold is stunning. I'm 5'3" and it fell just below my knee, for a very classy look. The bow is not quite empire but definitely sits higher than your natural waist. Best part, you can wear a regular bra with no problem! I wore it for a New Year's Eve wedding and received compliments all night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 4, 2016
Perfect for dressing up a holiday date night.
The dress fit great. I didn't find it itchy, as some previous posts mentioned. I would recommend getting one size larger for a back-up size because there isn't as much stretch in the dress. That said, it was very comfortable and fun to wear for the holidays!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Age: 37
January 3, 2016
beautiful dress. prettier than online.
fit a bit snug around the ribs, so i had to size up.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 31
December 30, 2015
The material was luxurious and the two lace colors with the bow made the dress elegant and fancy.
Go up a size or two. Its elegant and timely and classic at the same time. I received many compliments. If you have a smaller top with a small was it and big hips and thigh this dress is perfect for you. Great for a more conservative wedding ---I wore a shawl. COmfortable to dance in. The dress is nicely lined. I would rent this dress again---I never felt so pretty!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Age: 27
December 30, 2015
Didn't wear this dress
It was a nice dress. I probably wouldn't have picked it if I had it out in front of me to look at. Unfortunately, it runs pretty small. I had the size 8 and size 10. Could not fit in neither I think it just depends on the maker of the dress. Got a Badgeley Mischka dress for another event I have this wknd and I fit in the size 8 just fine. Also, kinda long if you are short like me at 5'1". I had rented it for New Years Eve event, but I guess I will be shopping for a dress tomorrow.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
December 29, 2015
Didn't fit in waist
As others mentioned bust area runs large but waist runs small. Couldn't wear it!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Age: 34
December 23, 2015
Beautiful dress, runs small.
Although I didn't get to wear the dress (I got sick), I would have worn the 10. As others have mentioned it runs small, I normally wear an 8 comfortably.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
December 23, 2015
Christmas Party
Overall fit was good - modest but still has some classy sex appeal. Great for a work holiday party, which is what I wore it for. I personally had an issue with the zipper, it kept snagging. But once I got it to work, no other complaints. It isn't as much of a show stopper as some other dresses on RTR. I have received many compliments in the past on other dresses, not so much with this one. That is the only reason I gave it a 4, but still a very good dress overall.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
December 23, 2015
I got so many compliments on my dress!
I ordered the 0 and the 2. Originally I had trouble zipping the 0 by myself so put the 2 on, which fit perfectly fine. My husband was able to get the 0 zipper and it fit a lot better for me. I am pretty small up top so I had no issues- however if you're bigger it might be snug. The part of the dress that has the band was fairly tight, but I was never uncomfortable. The dress is overall very comfortable and would buy it if I could. Loved my experience with RTR and will be renting again!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 157lbs
December 22, 2015
The dress was gorgeous, fit very well, all eyes were on me all night and I felt very beautiful!
This was my first experience with RTR. My order came in 1 day late and instead of getting size 10 and 8, both dresses were in size 10, which fit and looked great on me and that's all that mattered to me in the end. It was just very stressful since the dress arrived few hours before my event.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
December 21, 2015
Beautiful dress, perfect for the occasion
Loved this dress! Very comfortable and I liked that I could wear a normal bra. The 0 fit, but was just a tad tight around the waist. I opted to wear the 2 because it was more comfortable. Both dresses were in great condition. Would totally rent again.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 59
December 17, 2015
This was a Christmas party with my husband's associates. I received many compliments .
This was a great dress. The ribbon was a little tight so the bigger size made it more comfortable. I normally wear a 6 and the dress I wore was an 8. I am also a little shorter than the models so the dress was a little longer on me.That was perfectly fine. With the elegant lace, I wore simple diamond earrings and looked well put together. I would recommend this dress to anyone.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 144lbs
December 16, 2015
Dress damaged, couldn't wear it
This dress is absolutely stunning. I was really upset I couldn't wear it but the zipper was broken and it wouldn't zip up. The gold and black combo is really beautiful and the waist belt is very flattering. I hope to have occasion to rent it again and hopefully get one that isn't damaged. The rtr process is outstanding and I got another dress which turned out perfectly.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 30
December 13, 2015
Super cute, great fit, perfect for cocktail attire parties
The bow is not stretchy and came a little wrinkled so I had to steam it. That is truly my only complaint about the dress. Fits very true to size (I wear a size 8 in Gap jeans and a size 8 in this dress). The material has a beautiful sheen and is soft against your skin.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
December 9, 2015
Backup Size Up! Wears Really Well.
I usually wear either a 0 or a 2 and the 2 was tight on me. I definitely had to suck in to get it zipped and I should've gotten a backup size 4 instead of the 0. Thank goodness I don't have boobs, or I'm not sure I could've gotten this zipped! There is NO give at all in the fabric. That being said, the dress wears very cute. The black bottom makes you look SKINNY and the gold top is perfect for a Holiday Party. It was perfect for a work event and I had several people ask me where I got it so I told them all about RTR! I am very happy with the rental.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 7, 2015
This dress is so holiday festive! Loved it!
This dress fits true to size. The waistband has no give to it but it was still a wonderful and comfortable dress to wear for a work christmas party.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
December 6, 2015
Amazing dress for work related formal event.
The coverage and length is appropriate for a work event. The only critique I have is that it was a bit loose in the bust area but it is unlikely that anyone else noticed. I received several compliments on the dress throughout the night and highly recommend.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 2, 2015
So many people complimented me all night on this dress! I had to share that I rented it!
The dress fit great! I had no problem dancing, no snugness on my hips or thighs. There was a small tear of the lining on the right side of the dress at the seam near the bottom, you couldn't see it though. The zipper was a little hard zipping up but once it was zipped I was completely comfortable and felt no squeezing or tightness. I loved this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 40
November 25, 2015
Stunning dress, perfect for a late afternoon/evening wedding
For some reason, RTR only sent me the larger size (2) and it fit well but there was a moment of panic until the zipper made it all the way up. This may be a real size 2 - I don't feel like these numbers mean anything anymore, but if you are a bustier petite gal as I am, you may want to oder a size from usual for a backup. This dress was in pristine shape and I got compliments all evening.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 18
November 20, 2015
I wore this dress for me senior homecoming and I got so many compliments on it!
the dress fit really well around my bust and the length was perfect--i didn't have to spend my night making sure my dress was pulled down enough.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Work
November 19, 2015
A beautiful dress. Runs small, high waistline.
I tried on the larger of the 2 sizes ordered, but I found that the waistline of the dress pinched into my ribs. I was planning on wearing the dress for a singing performance, but unfortunately could not do it since it didn't allow for much breathing room. The dress is beautiful, though.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 45
November 17, 2015
The dress was lovely - I felt very lady-like in it and received a bunch of compliments.
This was my overnighted dress and I liked it better than my original pick. The customer rep was wonderful - willing to stay until 7:30pm to make sure she got me a new dress. It was overnighted and here by noon as promised. Well-done, RTR!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 32
November 14, 2015
I was given an award!
After all the awards were given out someone came up to me and said "if there were an award for best dressed, you would have gotten that award hands down!" I loved this dress, very classy and fashionable, easy to style with it, flattering, and a good length. The reviews said the middle band was on the tights side, and I would agree, without that I may have been able to wear a 6, but the 8 was just fine! I loved it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Age: 39
November 12, 2015
Pretty dress but not for everyone
As others said, this runs very small. I am normally a 6 and got this is an 8. It's a super straight cut so if you're curvy on bottom, you may want to pass on this one. The 8 bottom fit fine (a bit long, but fine since it's lace) but the top was big and if you know Milly, you know her dress tops are usually more tailored. In the end it worked out ok, but not the ideal dress for a pear-shaped gal.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 142lbs
November 9, 2015
Perfect for a dressy work event.
I was looking for something dressy, but not too revealing, for a work function that I was going to. The dress fit really well overall and a regular strapped bra could be worn with it. The chest area was a little big, but I made it work. The material is slightly itchy, but worth dealing with for how nice it looked on. Other than the itchy material, I was very comfortable and covered in this dress and didn’t have to worry about and wardrobe malfunctions in front of coworkers. This dress is perfect for a company holiday party or fall/winter wedding. One tip is to steam the bow – it came a little smashed and with the touch of a steamer, it puffed back up.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
November 2, 2015
N/A Did not wear
As the other reviews said, there wasn't any give to the material so I was not able to fit in the 0 and the 2 was too big. Was not a flattering fit but I wish it was, beautiful dress, nice material.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 112lbs
October 29, 2015
This dress makes you feel very elegant!
Very flattering with the black color block from the waist down. A little scratchy under the arms.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
October 26, 2015
LOVE THIS DRESS - EVERYONE SAID I LOOK SO CLASSY!
Beautiful perfect dress for a fall wedding. Everyone was complimenting me and telling me how great I looked - this dress is definitely an ego booster. It's a pretty tight fit though, so at the beginning of the wedding was feeling great but after dinner I definitely had to stop myself from finishing my plate - I could feel the dress getting tighter around my rib cage! I tend to be pretty narrow and small chested so if you are not so slim or flat on top I would definitely size up. The last thing to note about the dress is that even though the material is beautiful but it did get pretty scratchy on my arms whenever it scratched against the dress - honestly it just meant I was dancing wildly with my arms in the air most of the time :D In spite of that - I actually think I would rent this dress again - that's how amazing I felt in it all night :)))
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Age: 50
October 8, 2015
Needed a dress quickly for a 50th anniversary party at my husband's work. The dress worked well.
This dress does run small from the bust line down. Like other reviews stated, the band under the bust line has no give, which made me go up a size.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
October 7, 2015
A dress you don't need to think about, it just goes.
Some renters of this dress commented on the scratchy gold material and they were right, it was a little scratchy but it didnt bother me too much. the dress was tight fitting. I had a little trouble zipping up the side of the dress. But i wore my usual size and wore my "adds 1 cup" bra to make the front fill out more. I opted for dangly gold earrings and a chunkier gold bracelet. I wore strappy black heels. I got a few comments on the dress. People don't believe I rented it. I thought it was perfect for the wedding and I was able to dance and get low in it. The bow in the front was a little frayed though. I snipped the frayed edges and forgot about it. This picture really shows how glittery the front of the dress. It's a darker gold. I wore this for an October wedding.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 39
October 6, 2015
Received tons of compliments on this dress
Side zipper was a little hard to work with - otherwise, the dress was perfect!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
September 24, 2015
.
.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
September 21, 2015
Beautiful dress that was very flattering!
I wore this dress for a work christmas party and it was perfect. I wouldn't have gone out and bought a similar dress but it was glitzy enough for a holiday party and still comfortable for the entire night. I received many compliments on the dress throughout the night!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 54
September 14, 2015
Perfect dress for an evening out!
This dress was beautiful, I received many compliments on it. I wish I would have ordered the 8 as my back up size. The six was very fitted and a little tight under the arms, but it worked fine. I'm very narrow in the hips, but have broad shoulders and wear a 36 C or 34 D bra.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 146lbs
September 1, 2015
This dress is more beautiful in person and the quality of the material is better than expected.
The material is quite heavy, so wearing this for an outdoor August wedding ceremony probably wasn't the best choice. Regardless, the dress was great. I am usually a size 6 and it would have look better around my bust area to wear a size 6, but the material does not stretch at all by the ribbon area, so I know it would be more comfortable to sit in with a size 8. Towards the end of the night, my arms started feeling a bit irritated due to the rubbing against the lacing of the material. This was my first RTR experience. RTR mistakingly shipped my dress to their shipping location and not to my address. However, I called when I noticed it the delivery was made to another location and they expedited my dress to the proper address. Customer service deserves 5-stars.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 23, 2015
My dress came exactly when RTR said it would come, and the return process was simple!!
The dress was perfect. My only complaint is that the fabric around the underarms was a little annoying. Other than that, it was a beautiful dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
August 18, 2015
Wore this to a wedding on NYE!
I loved the buttons up the back and was very comfortable even after eating dinner :)
See more reviews:
1 / 14

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×