You are masquerading as ! (switch back)
| REVIEWS |
 
| MY BAG
 

FREE SHIPPING + INSURANCE
What's this?

Rent like a PRO all year long! One year of
free shipping & insurance. Plus, we'll throw in
a free birthday dress. Learn More

Our Runway
What's New
Dresses
Accessories
Occasions
Designers
Stores
Blog
Sweet Madeline Dress
Rental $40 Retail $405
info
  • Stylist Notes
  • Product Details
  • Size & Fit
Grab your date and rent this beautiful dress by Milly for the holiday party. A classic combination of gold and black metallic lace is perfect for a night of dancing with friends! Accessorized with Nicole Romano's Crystal Tears of Joy Earrings.
Chat with a Stylist
Gold and black metallic lace over silk lining. Crew neckline with pleating. Black satin buttons on back with keyhole opening. Grosgrain bow at waist. Hidden back zip. 39'' from shoulder to hem.
Chat with a Stylist
This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any bust size-comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with bow detail
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow at hips - curvy women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Chat with a Stylist
  • Enter your shipping zip code
  • Select size
    Select free 2nd size
  • Select the day you'd like your dress to arrive
    We recommend you select a rental start date 1-2 days before your event.
    Renting for Thanksgiving weekend? Enjoy an extended rental on us! Rent for 11/27 and return 12/1.
    • Start Date
    • Mail Back
    • Unavailable
    • *No delivery on Sundays
Got A Minute? Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Photos183

0 Reviews from women like you:

Enter more for better results

Lindsay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5434
Mar 2, 2013
Lots of compliments, but rough fabric made my arms raw by the end of the night!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is fabulous if you plan on wearing it for 6 hours or less. I wore this to a 3:00 wedding and by 9 pm at the wedding after party the underside of my arms were being rubbed raw by the rough overlay fabric. The dress fit great and looked wonderful but after a while it took a toll on the sensitive skin on the underside of my arms! Great rental for a shorter event.
Meg
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3444
Mar 1, 2013
Wore to wedding, compliments all night!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fits true to size. Top is definitely more gold than appears in pictures but still beautiful.
Lisa
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4633
Feb 24, 2013
Gorgeous! Got many compliments on the dress.
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Dress fits very true to size. There is no give or stretchiness. Looks even better in person than on website.
Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 5533
Feb 24, 2013
I wore this to a family party on Christmas Eve, and it was perfect for the occasion.
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress fit comfortably and was easy to move around it. I really enjoyed wearing the dress.
Lisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4533
Feb 15, 2013
Awkward fit, not my favorite.
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I have a large ribcage and the 4 was very difficult to zip up in that area - the zipper may have had some damage, but I notified RTR after I returned it. If it weren't for the zipper issues, I would have worn the 4 because the 6 had too much fabric on top that created a bulge that looked like a fat roll right above the black ribbon. I had to keep pulling it down all evening to keep this from happening. Also, the material can be slightly irritating on the upper arms when your arms are at your side.
Kyndra
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3333
Feb 6, 2013
This dress was amazing. I loved it so much im considering buying it for myself:)
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress fits beautifully and is true to size. it is defiantly a head turner.
Danielle
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4424
Jan 22, 2013
Love the look, don't like the fit...
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress is so cute! I don't like that it is a side zipper. I am a busty woman and side zippers are really difficult for busty gals to get up. If the zipper had been in the back I think it would have worked fine. I didn't end up being able to wear the dress at all :(
Kristina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5532
Jan 20, 2013
WOW!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Never has a dress made me feel so elegant and sophisticated. I wore it to dinner and the opera and it was perfect. The detail in the lace is exquisite. It addition to being a gorgeous dress, it's also super comfortable and wearable with a regular bra which is always nice.
Burnette
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3423
Jan 20, 2013
So many compliments, so little time!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fits like a glove, even at the truest size. I wore this to a wedding and it was fantastic & comfortable. I love how the black lace/bow covers your pooch area so you don't have to be self-conscious when dining. It was easy to dance and move around in. I received so many compliments that night.
Mommy Chic
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7533
Jan 19, 2013
I really gambled on RTR. I had three events in one weekend but I felt great at every one of them.
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Pretty dress. Only thing is I think you need a fuller bust to wear it.
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 5444
Jan 18, 2013
I wore this to my wedding shower and loved it.
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was true to size and fit great.
Holly
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4633
Jan 14, 2013
Beautiful dress, perfect for company party!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I ordered this dress so that I could avoid 'little black dress syndrome,' at my husband's company party. It was perfect for providing a little variety. The fit was not great for me. It was very tight in the rib-cage area, even with shapewear. I ended up wearing the 6. The top was tight, but still a bit blousy in the front . The skirt fit beautifully, but someone with an athletic build and wider ribcage, I would suggest a different dress. When I ordered it, I realized that the waist was fitted, but did not realize how fitted it was on the top. I am still glad I ordered it, but next time will pay more attention to the fit information.
colleen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 149 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5644
Jan 11, 2013
Never wore it
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I thought from the picture this was a classy looking dress. In person the gold top looks cheap and the black lace is "too lacy" The lace is just a pattern that looks bad. Ok for a younger person. Not a Nina Ricci or Valentino look.
Gia
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6543
Jan 9, 2013
I felt like I was wearing something in style, and not something I've worn a dozen times in 5 years.
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Pros: The experience of wearing a dress that was in style right now, without having to commit to buying it and feeling like I had to wear it a milliion times to justify the cost. - I selected a 10 based on the advice of the online fit consultants. I was glad I ordered the 10, but wish I had opened the 8 instead of the 12, because the 10 ended up being a little big. It was fine - I didn't have to wear spanx underneath :) Cons: The dress arrived smelling like cigarette smoke. I had to air it out for a day and a half before the smell was mostly gone. I knew it was dry cleaned, but it still smelled terrible when I opened it, and diminished the experience a little. I felt a little shy and self conscious wearing it for fear that it still smelled. Suggestion: I'd be willing to pay an extra an extra fee for a "non-smoker" dress. With so many states and cities banning smoking in bars and restaurants, it seems like it wouldn't be so difficult to separate the fashions into ones that carry a guarantee of smoke-free, to serve your different markets.
Amanda
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4433
Jan 9, 2013
Amazing dress and got millions of compliments from the CFO and CEO of the company.
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress is slimming and very comfortable except for the arm holes which were a little itchy due to the gold fabric but the hem line is longer if you are going for a more conservative look. Overall a great rental and I wish I owned this dress!
amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 8433
Jan 6, 2013
Dress is beautiful
Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Unfortunately, although the detail on this dress was beautiful (including the black skirt portion which isn't so evident from the pictures), it was just too snug to wear comfortably. Sadly, this dress did not have the second option size available, and, since I was stuck at work for a 24-30hr shift I missed out on the window to return :(
Bethany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4421
Jan 2, 2013
Too big on top.
Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this for a wedding, but ended up wearing a different dress. The top portion was way too big and looked bulky.
Rebecca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6433
Jan 2, 2013
Great dress!! very flattering
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress! I did think it ran just a tad small, but I was able to zip both, just felt more comfortable in the bigger dress. I thought it was very forgiving and flattering. Looked really classy for the winter wedding I went to.
Erin
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5431
Jan 2, 2013
Wore this to wedding that was held over New Year's weekend. It was the perfect dress for the event!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I was nervous because many had written how the size of the dress ran small. I actually found it to be true to size. The 8 was too large in the top and the 6 fit perfectly. The middle part of the dress, where the fabric changes doesn't leave much room so if that's an area of concern for you then I could see where the larger size would work. The lace detail was amazing and it was the perfect length dress. Made me feel really classy and I received lots of compliments through the night, even from complete strangers. I don't think you could go wrong with this dress.
Sara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 5534
Jan 2, 2013
Great NYE Dress
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The fit was a little snug in the hips. I ordered both an 8 and a 10 and ended up going with the 10 because it would be more comfortable for dancing. The material was a little itchy and rubbed my under my arms a bit throughout the night. Overall, a great dress and another successful Rent the Runway experience.
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 4423
Jan 1, 2013
Different and beautiful
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
True to size, detailed, stunning
Patrice
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 138 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7634
Dec 30, 2012
Beautiful lace work. Many compliments on this dress
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I am very chesty and did feel a bit squished up top but still a lovely look!!
Donna
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6533
Dec 30, 2012
Beautiful! Fit nicely.I got TONS of compliments!
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It does rub a bit under the armpits, but overall fit very nicely!
Neicha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7544
Dec 29, 2012
very pretty
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
wore this to a xmas compsany party and it was perfect. The 10 was too tight and the 12 was a perfect fit only that the underarms were pretty itchy. It had no cons what so ever.
AMD
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6534
Dec 28, 2012
Beautiful dress that didn't fit right....
Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This is a beautiful dress, but the top gold part of it gapped around my 34D bust and it just didn't flatter me. Something was off so I decided to not wear it. I really wanted it to work on my body, but it didn't.
Amanda
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2533
Dec 26, 2012
Perfect!
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Got so many complements , was perfect for my formal office Christmas party!
luckylady
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4623
Dec 25, 2012
great quality dress
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
a felt a bit frumpy in this dress. Lace is not all that flattering but the quality was fantastic
Stacey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6543
Dec 23, 2012
Dependable as usual!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is a little slim fitting so I recommend spanx. It was perfect for the work gala I wore it to. Lace was a little scratchy under the arms but not unbearable.
Mellie
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 172 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7543
Dec 21, 2012
I got so many compliments. The dress was beautiful and fun to wear!
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented for a holiday party and I received many compliments. It was difficult to put on at first but I figured it out within a few minutes. I am glad I selected this site since I most likely won't ever wear it again. I do plan to use the site in the future.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2441
Dec 19, 2012
I received so many complements on this dress.
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The details on this dress are beautiful. Perfect for a holiday party or winter wedding!
Mary
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3443
Dec 19, 2012
This dress is absolutely GORGEOUS! As all Milly dresses, it runs tight on the hips.
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress is stunning! The picture does not do the lace detail justice! It was much more beautiful in person than online. The buttons going down the top half of the back were a lovely detail. It was of wonderful quality, and it was perfect for a holiday party! Not too sparkly--understated, but classy and festive. I ordered the 2 and the 4. The four was a little big on top, but the two was tight on the hips--as most Milly dresses are on me. I went with the two and wore some spanx. It worked perfectly, and I received many compliments.
Coralin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4423
Dec 17, 2012
Perfect, pretty, comfy dress!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I love Milly, always classic dresses. The 4 fit perfectly, I'm between a size 2 and 4. I didn't end up wearing this dress to my company Christmas Party though, I chose my other rental instead. Would recommend this for anyone that wants to nip in the waist while still being comfy!
sarah
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7433
Dec 17, 2012
I didn't get to wear it because it fit too tightly in the hips.
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The dress has NO give. So order up a size.
Raquel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3533
Dec 16, 2012
THE BEST DRESS EVER!!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I Absolutely loved this dress! I was sad to send it back! I wore for a semi-formal Christmas party and this dress looked very elegant and classy. It also felt very comfortable and the perfect length!
MJ
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3533
Dec 16, 2012
Order 1 size up, zipper very sticky. Needed help to zip.
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Not quite the quality I expected, but very nice.
Evy
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5623
Dec 15, 2012
It was elegant but comfortable dress for dancing.
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I was excited to wear such an elegant dress for my friend's wedding. I thought I could wear the 6 but unfortunately not. I'm so glad that Rent The Runway has a second free dress in a different size or else I would've been in trouble.
Cindy
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 6423
Dec 14, 2012
Classy dress with a sliming fit
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Rented this for a holiday work party. I am usually between a 6 and 8 but the 8 fit like a glove in the hips. The top is a little baggier than I’d like since the fabric is heavy. It photographs great but the fabric is a little rough on the arms. Overall, I was happy with it. It was the right length and coverage for a work event with a little sparkle to make it festive.
Julia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Canonical User Type: 8534
Dec 13, 2012
Beautiful dress, too small
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress is beautiful, but I couldn't fit in it. Order a size up, and I bet you will be thrilled. I couldn't zip it and I am a consistent size 12. The lace is pretty and the shape is flattering which is why I gave it 3 stars.
Kay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4542
Dec 12, 2012
Got tons of compliments on this dress!! Unique and flattering without being over the top.
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Beautiful lace texture and a very flattering fit, very comfortable (only issue being the lace rubbed under my arms, but small price to pay). Bust was a bit big on my small chest, but you couldn't tell at all due to the fabric. Overall a very lovely dress for a fancy work party. I got tons of compliments all night!!
Lorrie
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 7534
Dec 10, 2012
LOVE this dress!!! Got lots of compliments.
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Was a little snug in the hips but was still breathable.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×
×
Save at least $14.95 on every order and rent like a pro all year long. Details
  • free shipping
  • free insurance
  • free birthday dress