Rent the Runway

Milly

Sweet Madeline Dress

$40 rental
$405 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Grab your date and rent this beautiful dress by Milly for the holiday party. A classic combination of gold and black metallic lace is perfect for a night of dancing with friends! Accessorized with Nicole Romano's Crystal Tears of Joy Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any bust size-comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with bow detail
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow at hips - curvy women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any bust size-comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with bow detail
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow at hips - curvy women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Gold and black metallic lace over silk lining. Crew neckline with pleating. Black satin buttons on back with keyhole opening. Grosgrain bow at waist. Hidden back zip. 39'' from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

492 reviews

Fit
Small 125
True to Size 347
Large 5
Photos 222
Sasha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 26, 2013

Beautiful, classy, and form fitting!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is absolutely beautiful! It was so nice, and the lace was gorgeous. A bit tight in the rib cage area, but looked fantastic and got a ton of compliments! Definitely was sad to return the dress, and would rent it again!
Jane
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Mar 31, 2014

Classy dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to two different occasions in two different sizes! I ordered the 4 and 6; both fit, but the 4 was a little more tailored and snug around the waist--I think I wore spanx with the 4 but not with the 6. I actually rented this last fall before I started working out again and was a bit heavier than I currently am now, so if I rented it again right now the 4 would be perfect. I wore the 4 to a formal sit down dinner that was on the conservative side for work and it was perfect. I wore the 6 to a wedding where I knew I'd be moving around and dancing--also perfect. Like other reviewers, it was a little scratchy but bearable. The only downfall about this dress is that I could tell both dresses had been rented and worn a lot. Nothing was wrong with either one, but they just had a very broken-in look when you inspected it closely. It's definitely a popular dress! I would, however, rent it again for another evening event. Maybe not in the spring or summer but it was perfect for the fall.
Jenny
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 22
Body type: Hourglass
May 5, 2014

Great dress- material not so much

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Loved wearing this dress but the fit was a bit small. Material around the bust and arms was scratchy at first but I got used to it. Definitely recommend going with an up do for this one
Kristin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
May 19, 2014

Beautiful Dress with a Perfect Fit

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wish I could have had the top in a 6 and the bottom in an 8. When the dresses arrived I tried them on and the 6 fit great but was a little bit more snug in the hips than I like. However, I was going to wear it because the 8 was too big in the chest. When the event day came, I was a little more bloated then usual and I had to do the 8. It worked out fine and the only time the top looked bunchy was when I was sitting. I would highly recommend this dress. It is beautiful.
m
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
Jun 14, 2014

Perfect fit for my small size, tons of compliments

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I'm pretty small (probably a 00) so a lot of the dresses in 0 are too large. However because this dress runs small the 0 fit perfectly and was very flattering to my figure. FYI-There is no "give" to this dress. It is structured in the waist and hips which I like as it accentuates your waist. The top half is a gorgeous gold and not as tight so worked great for the conservative event I was attending.
Blair
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Jun 22, 2014

Great dress for a wedding

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fabric was a little tight-but the 2 still looked better than the 4.
Renni
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 22, 2014

prepare for an hourglass shape!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I needed a dress that could work for two different events on the same night - one with a vintage theme and one where the attire was deemed "chic." This dress was perfect for both of these events. I loved the fit, it accentuated all the positives. The first event was dressy so I wore pantyhose but it is better without.
joni
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 28, 2014

Beautiful dress! Fit like a glove!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
RTR is so easy! You just click a button & a beautiful designer dress appears at your door. I'm a big fan!
nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jul 23, 2014

Wore for my engagement party..perfect for a classy look!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress is very true to size. The material does not have any stretch to it and it is very fitted. I ordered the 4 and a backup size in a 6 and the 4 was perfect! I ended up having to wear the 6 because the lace on the 4 was torn which sucked! The 6 was fine, just a little loose around the waist but nothing that was a big deal. The two sizes actually were not even that far off in difference. It was still a perfect dress to celebrate our engagement in! Be careful though as the lace gets caught on things very easily! Although i wore the 6 the 4 would have been my overall choice.
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Body type: Pear
Jul 28, 2014

The compliments!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I normally wear a six, but the band was a little too tight for dancing, so I went a size up. The material is beautiful...just a little scratchy.
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Aug 17, 2014

Great dress for a formal event!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved this dress, although the gold is darker than it appears on the model, so it looks a LITTLE holiday-ish. Overall, it was perfect for a work awards event. I usually wear a 4 or 6 and I ended up wearing the 6... The 4 was too tight in my hips. Great dress- glad I rented it!
Chaoran
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Sep 5, 2014

Great dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fits well looks great but a little scratchy inside around the zipper
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 10, 2014

The dress fit well, but was not as flattering as I had hoped for someone like me who has a big bust

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Comfortable, and figure hugging, although it was not as flattering for me as my bust I think was a bit too big for the dress. It was not a problem with the dress, more of a problem on my side given my figure.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Sep 16, 2014

Great dress for a wedding!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit perfectly and I received so many compliments. Great quality. One recommendation is to put on the dress BEFORE doing your hair and makeup since the dress material does not have much stretch. Highly recommend.
Vanessa
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 2, 2014

Classy, flattering dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I'm glad I ordered a size up! This dress is beautiful. The one I wore had a few snags in the lace and kind of a weird poof on the side where it looked like someone had altered it. The material is a little itchy, but other than that was very nice. Perfect for a wedding!
Lindsey
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123 lbs
Oct 3, 2014

Worked well for an indoor/outdoor SF wedding, if your not a big dancer.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Rented both the size 4 and 6 went with the 6 because the bottom is bit tighter and I have pretty full hips and butt! The 4 pulled a bit too much for my comfort. However the 6 felt a bit too big on top, liked the fit of the 4 up top more. This is pretty typical for me when it comes to dresses. Went with the 6 because it felt more comfortable to sit in being a touch looser. The look of the dress and length were perfect for the wedding. Wasn't too tight in the middle where the ribbon belt area was. Cons...it is pretty heavily lined and the lace is quite scratchy up top in the armpit area. If your going to dance the night away...it gets pretty hot with the heavy material. Would recommend for a wedding or night out if your not a big dancer.
Melissa
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 4, 2014

Quick service, plus to have a back up size

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great dress. Better in person. Definitely will use RTR again!!
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Oct 13, 2014

Love the back details!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Beautiful dress. I really loved the material design. The gold is just enough to really make the dress pop without over doing it. A tad tight on the top for someone bigger chested which made the zipper very difficult.
Caroline
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Body type: Athletic
Oct 23, 2014

Very classy, loved it.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to a formal event/fundraiser for a charity. I am usually a size 4 and couldn't get the zipper up on the side. I wore the six. The dress fits snugly and doesn't give much when you move or get up and down. I understand why some said the material is itchy. It didn't really bother me but I can see how it might bother some. The gold is much more gold than what you see in the pictures and the material was thicker than expected. Overall, I really liked how I felt in the dress and would recommend it.
jackie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 6, 2014

Beautiful Lace

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wore this to a company holiday party. Pictures do not show the true details this dress. The lace all over the dress is gorgeous. I'm 5'2" and it hit right above my knee and had the conservative yet sexy look I was going for. Received many compliments, even from strangers. The waist doesn't give and felt a little tight after eating. I had to pin the back down a little since my bust didn't fill in the top of the dress.
Bonnie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Dec 5, 2014

Holiday Festive

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Rented this dress for a Christmas party. It was beautiful and very Christmas. I thought it made me look slimmer even though I had been enjoying a lot of holiday cookies. The material was beautiful but a little uncomfortable for my arms. They are a bit sensitive. My son loved the material though. It was also a little tight for sitting. I would rent this dress again in a heartbeat though because it was beautiful and flattering.
Heather
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 6, 2014

Super cute dress! Amazing fabric! Classy!

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great dress for a formal dinner! Loved it! Material is beautiful although the belt could have been nicer... Overall great rental!
jamie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 7, 2014

Wore this to a Christmas party and received numerous compliments!

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Party
Ordered the 4 with a 6 as back up but the under slip was a little tight so the 6 fit perfect
Ashley
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 9, 2014

Pretty dress for a holiday party.

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Party
I ended up wearing the 0, although much more of the time I wear a 2. It fit well, but the fabric has no give or stretch to it, so when I sat down it felt really tight. Not altogether uncomfortable just tight. The lace under the arms is a little itchy I'm glad I wasn't dancing in it. Beautiful dress! Really great for a holiday party and really nice dressed up with statement jewelry.
claudine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 11, 2014

Material, color and detailing on this dress were very high quality.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The waist fell above my natural waist (not the first time it's happened!) so I had a larger size shipped the next day. The 12 was the only larger size available, it was a bit loose but it worked out. There is no stretch at all in the waistband - so if you tend to have the same problem definitely size up!
RTR Customer
Dec 12, 2014

Lovely lace dress for office holiday party

Size worn: 10
Rented for: Party
Wore this to my husband's company holiday party and felt great all night. The belt band has no give, like other reviewers have mentioned, so standing was better than sitting, but still a comfortable, conservative dress perfect for an office party. The lining near one of the shoulders was a bit messed up, but that is really my only complaint. Great first experience with RTR!
Jenna
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 117 lbs
Dec 14, 2014

Great dress, the zero fit, but it was tight so I went with the 2.

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Party
It's tight like everyone said in the bust area, but besides that it's great!
Rachael
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Dec 18, 2014

Perfect dress for the office party!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
First, apologies for the poor picture; my friend and I completely forgot to get some good photos of us that night. The dress fit me in both the 8 and 10, however, I knew I'd be eating a ton as well as dancing later on in the night, so I chose to go with the 10 for a little extra room. I was surprised that only the top button in back unbuttoned, however, there's a zipper on the side. The dress was a good length standing (not too short), but once seated, I had to be careful of showing too much leg! I found that the fabric around the arms rubbed me a bit, but I am known for having sensitive skin, and it wasn't bad once I stopped thinking about it. Overall, the dress is not made of very giving fabric which makes it very forgiving; I didn't wear hose with it because I didn't need to suck anything in or smooth anything out - the dress did it for me. I highly recommend this dress!
Jennifer
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Dec 20, 2014

Stunning!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The gold and black combination is an elegant combination. The top is rich in color and lace detail. I wore this dress to my graduation from Nurse Anesthesia School. I was ecstatic and proud to have reached this milestone; the dress helped me reflect how I was feeling! Loved it!
Lenaihc
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 108 lbs
Dec 26, 2014

Loved the sparkle and fit !

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit perfectly. Was not too itchy under the arms. The leg movement is very restricting so small steps and not getting into a tall vehicle are recommended ! Otherwise this was one of my favorite rentals !
Bunky
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 132 lbs
Dec 29, 2014

Beautiful dress & perfect for X-mas time!

Size worn: 8
Rented for: Party
I ended up wearing the 8 because the zipper was broken on the 6. The 8 was a bit big on my chest. Would have worn the 6 if it wasn't for the zipper! The lace does get a bit itchy but it wasn't at all annoying!
W
Usually wears: 4
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 3, 2015

Christmas party event

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Very nice dress for work Christmas party. I received many compliments. I am only 4'11'' so this dress fell right below my knee which I was completely fine with. The dress is tight around the rib cage (no give) and since I'm so short I felt that the top bunched so needed to make sure pull it down. I was very happy with the dress and would rent again.
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126 lbs
Jan 8, 2015

Tasteful and classy dress for a work party

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this for a formal work sales meeting. Normally, I wear something shorter and flashier, but since these are my coworkers, I figured I should tone it down a bit! This dress was idea, based on the high neckline and relatively longer length. I still felt sexy without feeling exposed! Here are the details: Shoes: gold peep-toe. I didn't love the shoes, but they were all I had in the closet. Hair: http://www.thesmallthingsblog.com/2011/09/elegant-half-up/ (looked better from the back than the front, but it was quick and appropriate. Plus I had to travel to the event, which means I didn't have all my styling tools available Undergear: I wore Spanx. It isn't totally necessary, but the dress is fairly form fitting. The little extra compression gave a smooth look and aided in sitting. I wore a normal bra. Cons: As other reviewers have noted, there is VERY little wiggle room, especially in the rib cage area. I went with the smaller size in order to give me a little more hourglass shape, but I did have to breath shallow the entire night. The lace was a little itchy and stiff, but not really noticeable. If you go down to the smaller size, and your bust is a bit larger, wear a bra with less padding and more compression to gain a few millimeters of breathing room.
RTR Customer
Jan 14, 2015

Great Dress. Received tons of compliments even from complete strangers!

Size worn: 10
Rented for: Party
As several others have said, there is no give in the middle bow. However, I loved this dress and the look. Wore it to my husbands corporate holiday party, very comfortable and flattering!
Kristina
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 121 lbs
Jan 23, 2015

I loved the vintage look of the dress! I received several compliments.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
It fit me well, but I am not very curvy. I probably could have worn the 2, except the waist was too small. It is hard to see but there is a wide ribbon and a flat bow around the waist and there is no give in that area. Thankfully I ordered the 2 and 4! I would recommend for anyone without a lot of curves.
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Feb 22, 2015

Perfect dress for holiday party or wedding!

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Wedding
My only complaint is it sometimes hurt under my arms when the dress material would rub against it. But wasn't horrible.
Victoria
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110 lbs
Mar 27, 2015

A sophisticated and subtly glamorous dress!

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Wedding
I loved wearing this dress! I thought it looked classic and subtly glamorous. The size 2 fit, but I wore the 4, as it gave me a little more room to breathe and dance. The fabric rubbed against my arms, which was uncomfortable by the end of the night, but bearable. The lace was frayed slightly at the bottom hem, but I don't think it was noticeable to anyone but me. I received complements throughout the night, and loved my first RTR experience!
D.Ro
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107 lbs
Apr 14, 2015

Great dress for holiday party.

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Party
Great fit. Looks good without showing the goods, which is what I look for in a work party.
Jess
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 19, 2015

Was able to wear this dress to a formal gala and a bachelorette party that were the same night!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was a beautiful dress - I ended up going with the 6 over the 4 - it definitely runs a little small, so I would opt for the next size up when ordering. It was a great dress though - I chose it because I had a formal gala for work and a bachelorette party the same night and I wanted something I could wear to both. It was comfortable although the beading rubs against your arms a little, but not too much to be annoying. Everyone loved it and I even got compliments from strangers! It was a good choice!
Maggie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Apr 23, 2015

Paired with my husband's garnet tie this dress was perfect for a Florida State wedding!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
When the dress first arrived I wasn't sure I was going to love it. The stitching on the black lace overly of the bottom half of the dress was a little silver and and I initially didn't like it because it didn't match the rest of the fabric but it was my only wardrobe option for the wedding I was attending. Once I got ready the day of the event I was surprised to discover that I really loved the dress! It fit perfectly, wasn't tight in the hips and I didn't need my back up size. It is a little itchy when you first put it on but I didn't notice it at all the rest of the evening. The lining is a silk like material which means it doesn't stretch or breathe so I don't think I would recommend this for an outdoor event in the summer. Overall I really enjoyed this dress and would definitely recommend it.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×