Sweet Madeline Dress

$90 to buy
$405 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Grab your date and rent this beautiful dress by Milly for the holiday party. A classic combination of gold and black metallic lace is perfect for a night of dancing with friends!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any bust size-comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with bow detail
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow at hips - curvy women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any bust size-comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with bow detail
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow at hips - curvy women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Gold and black metallic lace over silk lining. Crew neckline with pleating. Black satin buttons on back with keyhole opening. Grosgrain bow at waist. Hidden back zip. 39'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
561 reviews
Fit
Large
(6)
True to Size
(388)
Small
(142)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 105lbs
September 10, 2013
Oddly proportioned on me.
This was my backup dress for a wedding. I ended up wearing my first choice, but I did try this on in 0. The 0 fits rather snugly in the waist so that part is cut for a smaller girl, but the bust is so large and roomy as if it's designed for a tiny girl with HUGE boobs. Either it's oddly proportioned, or perhaps I am! ;-)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 175lbs
September 8, 2013
Nice well made dress.
if you have a long torso it may ride up as you move. it was also very warm with lining and lace.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
September 3, 2013
Dress was a perfect fit! It was perfect for my best friends rehearsal dinner.
The fit was perfect. I have large breasts and it was a little tight at the top but most things are. The armpit area did get a little itchy by the end of the night but overall I loved the dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124lbs
August 24, 2013
Everyone loved the dress!
It ran small the tightest portion is around the bottom set of ribs and it is very hard to zip. It was an amazing dress though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
August 19, 2013
Beautiful, but wore my other selection
This was a truly solid back-up dress, but I didn't end up wearing it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117lbs
August 9, 2013
Very classy- wore it to my boyfriend's sister's wedding. I did not feel sexy, but I felt comfortabl
Fits nicely. Got a lot of compliments on the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
August 9, 2013
I wore this to a red carpet event and fit right in! Ordered as the backup, I ended up wearing this!
I was initially skeptical that the dress wouldn't fit since Milly isn't always forgiving when it comes to fuller cup sizes, but it fit perfectly!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 144lbs
July 31, 2013
This was a perfect spring wedding dress!
It was a little awkward in the chest area, but going with the next size up, fit perfectly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
July 21, 2013
Finding the perfect black and gold dress for my college event.
Runs true to size. Beautiful cut, and the buttons on the back of the dress leave a little room for bustier ladies.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
July 10, 2013
This is one elegant and classy dress!
Beautiful dress, very classy. Bust area is a little big but nothing that was noticeable to anyone else. Loved this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
July 5, 2013
Great dress - super comfy and perfect for a night out on the town!
I am usually a size 8 in dresses, but for some reason, Milly runs small for me so the 10 (back up) fit better.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
July 2, 2013
Classic and comfortable for a holiday family wedding.
Loved the fit of this dress, super comfortable and very flattering. I got so many compliments about the detail and fit of the dress. I wore it with black leggings and black heels. Perfect for a holiday affair. This was my first RTW experience and I have rented many since!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
July 2, 2013
Beautiful lace detail, but a touch too small.
I ordered this dress as a back up for a wedding - I loved the detail and colors, but it was juuuuust too small - couldn't zip it past my rib cage.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 30, 2013
Gorgeous Dress! Excellent quality and detailing in the lace. I wore to a wedding reception.
This is a well made dress which made it a little heavier than normal but still extremely comfortable. The lace is on the entire dress. I usually wear and 8 but for comfort and a more natural look I went up to the 10. All of the fabric in the dress makes a slightly smaller than normal.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
June 28, 2013
Got tons of compliments!
Great for an engagement party.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
June 24, 2013
Loved it! First dress I rented from RTR and was completely satisfied! Would order again it again!
Wore this for my rehersal dinner and received numerous compliments! No give in the fabric so was a little tight accros the chest if taking a deep breath but other than that, it fit great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
June 18, 2013
Loved the dress and got lots of compliments on it as well.
The dress fit well, but doesn't have any stretch in the material. Was a little difficulty getting in and out of.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
June 6, 2013
Did not wear-returned dress.
Pretty dress. Gold is shinier than expected. Runs a bit small. I usually wear a 4 petite and the 4 regular was pretty snug through the bottom half but a little too large on top. It also fell below my knee and felt a bit long. Also, the lace is very scratchy and really irritated my arms.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 5, 2013
Classy and festive
I wore this dress for a Christmas party and a night at the Nutcracker and I loved it. It fit true to size. It was classy and conservative but the gold made it festive. Only negative was that it was a tiny bit itchy but I thought it was completely worth it.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 57
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
May 28, 2013
Having my Jackie O moment wearing my Madeline dress by Milly! USAF event at the Nixon library CA
True to size ....ordered a 2 and 4 and wore the 2.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 27, 2013
Excellent first time experience!
I was nervous about RTR...but the whole process was effortless. Reading all of the reviews and seeing supplemental pics helped tremendously. The dress is more beautiful in person. Stunning details. I received MANY compliments! Will definitely use RTR again!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 97lbs
May 27, 2013
Dress was so pretty!!
Perfectly fit. Pretty and beautiful dress. Ran a bit long for 5-feet tall women. In general would recommend it, great for wedding, graduation and party!!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
May 23, 2013
Perfect Dress for an Amazing Night
Dress fit extremely well. Initially concerned as many reviews stated how itchy it was but I had no problems. I received more compliments on that night than any other night in my life. I highly recommend this dress to anyone looking for a great fitting formal dress. Also, top was more gold than it appears in the image.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
May 22, 2013
Felt great in this dress all night.
Wore this for a family wedding. Got many compliments. The waist it a bit small, and the gold material is scratchy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 21, 2013
great quality. beautiful!
lace was beautifully detailed. size ran small for my D cups-lol!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 53
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
May 14, 2013
The dress was perfect for the wedding.
My sister rented this dress for a wedding. The dress fit great, just a little tight in the waist. The ribbon at the waist gave some definition to the waistline. Very elegant, perfect for the black tie affair. The arm holes were a little tight but still wearable. So if you have big arms, just keep this in mind. My sister is 5' 4" so the dress just hit her right above her knees, a modest length. Her weight is around 125 and she normally wears a size 4 or 6.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 149lbs
May 14, 2013
Very cute dress!
I received compliments on the dress and I did like it. It runs small for sure and I ended up having to wear the bigger size. But then it was very roomy in the bust. Overall a good pick.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
May 13, 2013
Perfect dress for a graduation ceremony
I wanted a dress for my graduation ceremony, i wanted something that was going to be formal enough and that will cover myself up. It was a nice dress, really delicate, pretty and different. The only problem that i found is that it is a bit too long and i am 5'6. Other than that, it was a good rent.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
May 9, 2013
I didn't get to wear it.
It didn't fit.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
May 7, 2013
I rented this dress for my son's christening.
I was nervous about wearing ANY dress so soon after giving birth, but this dress was so flattering and gorgeous! I am normally a size 2, but I got the dress in a size 4 and 6. I ended up wearing the size 6 because it felt most comfortable with my new curves that hadn't quite left me yet :). The dress was stunning and flattering in all the right places so it made me feel like I looked as thought I hadn't just given birth!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 122lbs
May 6, 2013
Pretty dress, easy to wear, received a lot of compliments
I ordered a 2 and a 4 but wore the 2. I may have been able to fit into a 0 but the 2 was comfortable, slightly big on top but not noticable.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
May 5, 2013
Great dress! More impressive in person! Lots of compliments!
I wore this dress for a charity event. I ordered a 0 (my normal size) and a 2. I didn't even need to try the 2. The dress is beautiful and unique...very classy and more for the late 30's and up crowd because of the design and length. It was a tad uncomfortable under the arms as some reviewers said but I didn't really notice until I had it on for 5 hours. This was my first rent the runway dress and it will not be the last!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
May 2, 2013
Wearing a well made dress just feels so much better.
I had ordered the 2 with a 4 as a back-up, when it came time the 2 was unavailable so I was stuck with the 4 which was loose in the waist (mine is 24") so I ended up belting the dress. Like others have said, the lace around the underarms is itchy and with my fair skin I ended up with red marks. Also not the best to try and dance in, there isn't much of a slit in the back. Other than all that, the dress was adorable and very sturdy with a quality lining. Got plenty of compliments.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
May 2, 2013
Right amount of sparkle with a good amount of comfort!
I rented this dress for a friend's wedding. I rented the 8 and got a the 6 as a back-up based on others' comments that it was roomy up top. I completely agree that the bust area was rather roomy for my B-cups. The waistline of this dress gave me a great silhouette all while staying comfortable to wear. Overall, I really liked this dress and would recommend it -- however beware that while the top is pretty roomy, the zipper is true to size. Even though I had plenty of room up top, I wouldn't have been able to size down.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
May 1, 2013
Perfect conservative dress for an elegant night!
Very comfortable, allowed for a regular bra, and a true size 4.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
May 1, 2013
Stunning Dress!
I wore this dress for my bridal shower and received so many compliments on the dress. I felt so beautiful that day! It fit like a glove!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148lbs
April 30, 2013
Many compliments...feeling elegant!!
I will start off by saying I felt amazing in this dress! I wore it to a wedding it was elegant and light. It does not have any give in the fabric so I would suggest going a size up. The RTR team was amazing initially I got a 6 and freaked out when it was too small and the following day I was traveling for the wedding. They got me the 8 and a 10 the next day so I had it in time for the wedding. The 8 was a little snug but i could function with no problems. All in all definitely recommend this dress. I would rent it again!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
April 28, 2013
Loved it
Perfect fit but a little snug
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134lbs
April 27, 2013
The dress was perfect for the occasion! I got so many compliments!
Fit ran small, I am normally a 6 and had to go with the 8. I was comfortable in the dress all night although the top was a little scratchy. Worst CON: the zipper! I tried the 8 and 10. The 8 would not zip up no matter what. I tried on the 10 and the zipper was tough on that as well. Finally I went back to the 8 and was able to zip it up and it fit just right. I was scared I wouldn't be able to unzip it. Last, the top ran a little large for my bust size. It was a great dress though. It looked great and made me feel beautiful.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
April 26, 2013
Gorgeous dress.
I loved this dress, my only criticism was that the pictures/description do not mention the very long slit in the back. It wasn't bad, just completely unexpected. The lace is gorgeous, and it fit perfectly; very comfortable.
See more reviews:
7 / 15
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited Bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×