Rent the Runway

Milly

Sweet Madeline Dress

$40 rental
$405 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Grab your date and rent this beautiful dress by Milly for the holiday party. A classic combination of gold and black metallic lace is perfect for a night of dancing with friends! Accessorized with Nicole Romano's Crystal Tears of Joy Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any bust size-comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with bow detail
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow at hips - curvy women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any bust size-comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with bow detail
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow at hips - curvy women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Gold and black metallic lace over silk lining. Crew neckline with pleating. Black satin buttons on back with keyhole opening. Grosgrain bow at waist. Hidden back zip. 39'' from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

498 reviews

Fit
Small 128
True to Size 349
Large 5
Photos 223
Gray
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 126 lbs
Nov 1, 2013

Very flattering and even prettier in person!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit pretty true to size!
H
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 4, 2013

Cute dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Cute dress, was appropriate for my office Christmas party.
Lex
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 6, 2013

Perfect Opera Dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I rented this dress for my one year anniversary celebration with my boyfriend. We went to the opera and it was absolutely perfect. It fit perfectly and i felt really confident wearing the dress! Perfect for an hourglass figure that is oftentimes very hard to shop for.
Anastasia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 190 lbs
Nov 9, 2013

Loved the dress...but didn't fit me. If you have wide hips and athletic build order one size up.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I'm a 12 but I always have problems with fit around the hips. This dress fit everywhere but there...le sigh. I really wanted to wear this but the next size up wasn't available. RTR sent me a different dress replacement that arrived at my hotel (so convenient!).
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165 lbs
Nov 14, 2013

Couldn't get it over my hips

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The fabric is nice, but doesn't give at all. I have a small waist and larger hips and couldn't get it on!
Abby
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 180 lbs
Nov 18, 2013

Order a size or two up...

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I wasn't crazy about this dress when it came out of the packaging, and then when I went to put it on it wouldn't even fit over my hips. Granted, I am curvy and have bigger hips, but I typically wear a size 10 and that wouldn't even come all the way up. Overall - if you don't have curves this dress might work for you, but otherwise I'd go with something else.
Brooke
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Nov 21, 2013

Mostly True to size

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I'm 6'0 tall so i have trouble finding a dress that will not show my butt when bending over. This dress was made me look great and kept my behind covered. I received multiple compliments on the dress. It was a bit snug in the hip area but not uncomfortable. It was also a little loose in the chest but looked like the style of the dress . I would reccomend this dress!
Anne
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138 lbs
Nov 22, 2013

Great dress. Shipping did not work out.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved this Milly dress and found it to fit true to size. My only complaint is the material is a little on the itchy side. Unfortunately, UPS screwed me on shipping and I was not able to wear it to the event I had originally planned. However, Rent the Runway credited back the cost of the rental for a future date.
Christie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 24, 2013

Gorgeous dress- fit perfectly

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress. I ordered a 4 and size 6, and wore the 4. It was a little itchy as others have said, especially around the arm openings and the back collar area. It looked fantastic on though, and numerous people complimented the dress. I would recommend this for any formal or semi-formal wedding or gathering. The lace was in good condition and the rental couldn't have been any easier.
Stephnaie
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Dec 1, 2013

Runs Small

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is beautiful and nicely made. Unfortunately it was very small... I rented a 10 and 12 and the 10 looked like a 6. The 12 fit, but my chest was squeezed in ... I could hardly breath. I didn't wear the dress...
Olga
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 2, 2013

Great service!!!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit great!! Tight around the bust, but it worked.
Kerstin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 143 lbs
Dec 7, 2013

Back up dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this as a back up dress and didn't end up wearing it. The dress fit really well, and I liked the bottom half, but I didn't care for the gold part on top. My husband said it looked like something an older lady would wear- not the look I was going for!
Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 8, 2013

The rental and return process couldn't have been easier. The dresses arrived in perfect condition!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Read multiple reviews before renting this dress, and agree with most of the assessments. It's a beautiful, gorgeous dress. It was perfect my work Christmas party where I wanted something decidedly feminine but conservative. I got compliments all night! Glad I ordered a size up, as the 4 fit except that I struggled to get the zipper up past the bust area. Wore the 6 and it zipped easily. I struggle with finding fashion for my 34D's and I had no worries with this dress. It's even prettier than in photos. My photos came out dark, unfortunately, but it looked great. I know a lot of people said the material was itchy under the arms, but I honestly didn't notice it all night. The fabric does NOT have any "give" so I recommend ordering your usual size and perhaps one size up as a backup - it fits somewhere between "true to size" and "runs small."
dressed
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 8, 2013

Great service, unfortunately the dress did not work out.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I got two sizes, 8 and 10. The 10 fit but was definitely tight. The waistline is high and just cut me in the wrong spot on my ribcage, so I wound up wearing a different dress that I had purchased. Loved the gold and the lace though!
lulu25
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 8, 2013

Gorgeous!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I received so many compliments on this classic, elegant dress. I wore it to a work function.
Michelle
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Body type: Straight & narrow
Dec 17, 2013

Perfect dress for a party!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This is a great dress for a party. It fits true to size(definitely form fitting). It is much prettier in person. I received many compliments.
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 22, 2013

Did not wear

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The bow in front looks flat and awkward. Killed a beautiful dress. Also, the dress gets narrow for the waist a little too high in my opinion. Maybe I have too long of a rib cage, but the zipper would not zip at one point because the dress was too tight at exactly one point about two inches above my natural waist. Above and below it was actually loose, but right at the exact top of the black part it was nowhere near fitting. Also, I am a busty girl, but there was more than enough extra room in the chest of this dress.
Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Dec 23, 2013

Awkward bunching...

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was made for someone with a larger torso than I, I think. The skirt was great, but the top didn't fit quite right, and I'm sure it's not because they expected me to have a larger bust. Because it didn't fit right, the pleats at the top looked like more bunching instead of something intentional. However, my friend, who is much taller than me, tried it on, and while it fit perfectly and looked like it was supposed to be there, the pleating still looked weird, and she didn't want to wear it either. This is such a sleek dress, and yet the collar is nearly ruffly. It just looked so strange.
Marta
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 27, 2013

Renting from RTR was a breeze!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I rented sizes 0 and 2 and neither one fitted me :( I rented another Milly size 0 and wore it like a glove. For some reason this one wouldn't fit me around the waistline.
Sara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Jan 7, 2014

Classy NYE choice

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I would suggest taller girls size up at least one size--the waist came above my natural waist and there was no stretch there so even in a size up the waist was a bit uncomfortable. It looked lovely, just not my favorite rental as far as comfort + style.
Sidni
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 9, 2014

Super cute!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this to a black tie wedding and loved it. Was a bit tight under my arms, but I am tall.
Christina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117 lbs
Jan 15, 2014

Stunning dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Perfect for any formal occasion. Busty women beware that it runs small in the chest area, so consider ordering a size up from what you normally wear.
SLW
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 48
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 17, 2014

The top of the dress was stretched out so much I could not wear it.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The top of the dress was stretched out so much I could not wear it. I have a medium bust and there was so much extra fabric. Very disappointed at the quality.
Kristen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 25, 2014

Absolutely beautiful, flattering dress.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Dress fit true to size and was very flattering and elegant. I actually ended up not wearing these, because the shoes I packed weren't quite a match, but I would definitely rent this again for a future wedding.
yesi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Jan 29, 2014

perfect Dress!!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
it was the perfect dress for the holidays..I received lots of compliments.
Bethany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 1, 2014

Really pretty

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I really loved this dress, but it was a little too formal for my event. I ended up wearing another dress. The waist is a little tight and Milly seems to run small. For something more formal I would try this dress again.
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 9, 2014

Perfect dress for a holiday party.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress was perfect for New Years Eve. It was comfortable and easy to move and dance in.
Carrie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Feb 12, 2014

Classic and sophisticated dress

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress and received loads of compliments. The lace detail with the little shimmer was really beautiful and feminine. However, with no stretch the dress definitely runs a little small, especially if you're hippy. I also have to agree with those who commented that the lace was itchy, especially around the neckline. Additionally, the slit in the back had ripped an inch or two from wear and tear so I had to stitch it back up prior to wearing. Overall though I was very happy with this rental and already have another one ordered for an upcoming event!
Catherine
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Feb 16, 2014

Kinda tight but it hides all those "problem areas"

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The dress looked amazing on, it was a bit tight and after eating at the wedding all night I couldn't wait to get the dress off. The dress has no give on it so what ever size you think you are get the next size bigger. My bust is a 36 D and it fit those ladies perfectly it was in the hips and waist that was tight. The length was amazing, i HATE short dresses and this was a nice in between length for me.
Dina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
Feb 19, 2014

Classy, elegant! Looks very expensive!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
LOVED this dress. Worn to formal affair and had women coming up to compliment me (total strangers) all night. The detailing on the lace skirt is beautiful and the middle black band really accentuated my waist. Prettier in person; the gold top really sparkles. Fabulous. Will rent this one again.
Lindsey
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118 lbs
Feb 19, 2014

Would have been better for a wedding than a bachelorette party.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I know I'm short, but this dress hit right at my knee and the bow at the waist made me feel a bit frumpy with such a long dress. The fabric is all beautiful, shimmery, even the black skirt. The waist and skirt fit well, but the top was big, and that is NEVER an issue for me. The sides were gaping any my bra was visible, even though I'm larger on top. Not what I expected from this dress. Would have made a great day-to-night dress for an afternoon/evening wedding with a cropped cardigan or cropped blazer and transition to reception/party dress.
Margie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Feb 22, 2014

This was my first time renting from RTR and it was a great experience! Got so many compliments!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit was great! Ended up wearing my usual dress size. Was able to wear a regular bra with this dress. Paired it with a bracelet, earrings, and black heels. Would defiantly rent this dress again. I felt great in this dress!!
Lullaby
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34C
Mar 3, 2014

I had so much fun wearing this to my schools semi formal dance

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
It fit really nicely but my arms got a little scratchy from the gold glitter stuff! I loved it and I felt really classy in it!
benay
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 131 lbs
Mar 6, 2014

.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
.
Lindsay
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 5, 2014

loved it!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
waist was really small, was a tight fit, so FYI!!
Sue
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 7, 2014

Beautiful dress!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I originally ordered an 8, but couldn't quite zip it up! I called and had a 10 over nighted to me. Customer Service was great - the dress arrived in plenty of time for my event. The 10 fit perfectly! The dress is beautiful, and I would wear it again in a heartbeat!
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 24, 2014

Pretty; more mature look

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This was my alternate selection for Christmas eve mass. It was very pretty, but I selected my primary dress (Nothing But Lace, Monique Lhuillier) because I felt that the Sweet Madeline dress had a more mature look. The fit was great and it was comfortable but it didn't feel very youthful.
Liz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 126 lbs
May 1, 2014

great black and gold colors for my holiday engagement party

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
hits below the knee and im 5' 7'' so if you are expecting above the knee you need to be pretty tall, lace detail is even better in person. ribbon on the bow came a little wrinkled
Aash
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
May 3, 2014

The color looks good on every skin tone :) It's beautiful!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It's great! So feminine and really good quality!
Steph
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145 lbs
May 18, 2014

n/a

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was cute, but it runs really small at the waist. I'm usually an 8-10, but reading the reviews, I rented the 12. There was a lot of material up top but I could barely zip up the waist. I wore it to the wedding, then had to change out of it b/c it was just too tight :/
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×