Milly

Sweet Madeline Dress

$90 to buy
$405 retail
Stylist Notes

Grab your date and rent this beautiful dress by Milly for the holiday party. A classic combination of gold and black metallic lace is perfect for a night of dancing with friends!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any bust size-comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with bow detail
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow at hips - curvy women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Product Details

Gold and black metallic lace over silk lining. Crew neckline with pleating. Black satin buttons on back with keyhole opening. Grosgrain bow at waist. Hidden back zip. 39'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
568 reviews
Fit
Large
(7)
True to Size
(389)
Small
(144)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
October 28, 2013
I loved this dress!
This dress fit so nicely. I wore it to a wedding in Miami and everybody loved my dress! I'm so happy I chose this dress! I will rent again from Rent The Runway.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
October 28, 2013
The perfect dress!
I wore it to an evening wedding w/ a wrap & the jewelry cuff I rented as well... it was perfect! I received many compliments all night. It was a very easy process & I loved presentation in the box when it was delivered. I will definitely order from RTR again. Thank you!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
October 30, 2013
Perfect for a fall wedding in South Carolina!
This dress as great for a casual evening wedding outdoors! It runs a little small - I always wear a 0, but for this dress I had to wear a size 2. I loved the combination of gold next to black lace.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 126lbs
November 1, 2013
Very flattering and even prettier in person!
Fit pretty true to size!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 179lbs
November 4, 2013
Timeless, classic, elegant and perfect for the formal wedding at the Nixon Library in Yorba Linda,CA
There is no stretch to the fabric which makes the dress very true to its size. I usually wear a size 8-10 but I have a little extra in the bust area so the size 8 was tight in the upper area and the size 10 was a little loose in the bust area but, it looked well fitted and very appropriate. It was comfortable, easy to dance in, looked great for the black tie wedding I attended at the Nixon Library in Yorba Linda, CA, looks great in photos, and it's an amazing classic yet sexy and elegant style and fit. The only thing I can think of that was a little "egh" material felt scratchy under the arms. Other than that tiny tiny thing, the dress was absolutely amazing.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 6, 2013
Perfect Opera Dress
I rented this dress for my one year anniversary celebration with my boyfriend. We went to the opera and it was absolutely perfect. It fit perfectly and i felt really confident wearing the dress! Perfect for an hourglass figure that is oftentimes very hard to shop for.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 190lbs
November 9, 2013
Loved the dress...but didn't fit me. If you have wide hips and athletic build order one size up.
I'm a 12 but I always have problems with fit around the hips. This dress fit everywhere but there...le sigh. I really wanted to wear this but the next size up wasn't available. RTR sent me a different dress replacement that arrived at my hotel (so convenient!).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
November 14, 2013
This dress was great!
The dress fit perfectly and was really pretty. My only complaint is that the material along the neckline was not pressed very well, so the dress didn't lay completely flat across the neckline. Other than that, this dress is amazing and I would highly recommend it for a formal function.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148lbs
November 17, 2013
Very Pretty
It was a great dress. There is a slit in the back of the dress that was a little too high. I am 5'8" and w/ the slit in the back, I could not bend down.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
November 22, 2013
Great dress. Shipping did not work out.
Loved this Milly dress and found it to fit true to size. My only complaint is the material is a little on the itchy side. Unfortunately, UPS screwed me on shipping and I was not able to wear it to the event I had originally planned. However, Rent the Runway credited back the cost of the rental for a future date.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 54
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 146lbs
November 24, 2013
Thank you RTR! This was so easy I cannot wait to rent again. The experience was better than expected
This dress was perfect for the black tie event I attended. The fabric is even prettier in person. I would say the fit is a bit snug but I usually wear an 8 and never even tried on my back up size 10. It fit like it was made for me. The zipper does stick at the top but it eventually went up with the help of my husband. I would recommend gold shoes to elongate the leg but the black worked fine. I also rented the earrings shown on the model and they were gorgeous! Great experience overall!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
November 24, 2013
Gorgeous dress- fit perfectly
Loved this dress. I ordered a 4 and size 6, and wore the 4. It was a little itchy as others have said, especially around the arm openings and the back collar area. It looked fantastic on though, and numerous people complimented the dress. I would recommend this for any formal or semi-formal wedding or gathering. The lace was in good condition and the rental couldn't have been any easier.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
December 1, 2013
Loved this dress, wanted to keep it!
Very classy and flattering. I wore it to an event that required a look that wasn't too flashy and this was perfect. Dress ran small in rib cage. I'm almost always a two and I needed the four to breath. Loved the dress, very comfortable.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
December 1, 2013
Runs Small
This dress is beautiful and nicely made. Unfortunately it was very small... I rented a 10 and 12 and the 10 looked like a 6. The 12 fit, but my chest was squeezed in ... I could hardly breath. I didn't wear the dress...
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 2, 2013
Great service!!!!
Fit great!! Tight around the bust, but it worked.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 143lbs
December 7, 2013
Back up dress
I rented this as a back up dress and didn't end up wearing it. The dress fit really well, and I liked the bottom half, but I didn't care for the gold part on top. My husband said it looked like something an older lady would wear- not the look I was going for!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
December 8, 2013
The rental and return process couldn't have been easier. The dresses arrived in perfect condition!
Read multiple reviews before renting this dress, and agree with most of the assessments. It's a beautiful, gorgeous dress. It was perfect my work Christmas party where I wanted something decidedly feminine but conservative. I got compliments all night! Glad I ordered a size up, as the 4 fit except that I struggled to get the zipper up past the bust area. Wore the 6 and it zipped easily. I struggle with finding fashion for my 34D's and I had no worries with this dress. It's even prettier than in photos. My photos came out dark, unfortunately, but it looked great. I know a lot of people said the material was itchy under the arms, but I honestly didn't notice it all night. The fabric does NOT have any "give" so I recommend ordering your usual size and perhaps one size up as a backup - it fits somewhere between "true to size" and "runs small."
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
December 8, 2013
Great service, unfortunately the dress did not work out.
I got two sizes, 8 and 10. The 10 fit but was definitely tight. The waistline is high and just cut me in the wrong spot on my ribcage, so I wound up wearing a different dress that I had purchased. Loved the gold and the lace though!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
December 10, 2013
Beautiful material
Gorgeous dress, but not my favorite. It was a very stiff dress that I had to stand up straight to make sure it fit me well. While sitting it bunched and it was hard to get into and out of my dinner seat. The pattern and design were beautiful, but I think I may not have had the right proportions for this dress. I have a short torso, and I felt this dress, thought it fit, would have worked better on someone with a longer torso.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 11, 2013
Perfect for a holiday party. Very festive. Received lots of compliments.
I ordered the 0 and 2 since I wear both sizes depending on brand/designer. The 0 was really tight around the ribcage so I went with the 2 for comfort. It still fit really well.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
December 14, 2013
Fun for a dressy holiday party.
As others have mentioned, although it fit true to size, the ribbon band is a little unforgiving. Prepare to breathe shallowly all evening.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 46
Body type: Straight & narrow
December 17, 2013
Perfect dress for a party!
This is a great dress for a party. It fits true to size(definitely form fitting). It is much prettier in person. I received many compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
December 18, 2013
LOVED this dress!
This dress was perfect. It fit like I had it made for me. The top portion of the dress was darker gold in person than it appears in the picture which I actually liked better. And the black belt has a little bow on the front which is nice, plus it makes your waist look tiny! Highly recommend this dress for any fancy occasion. I would buy it in a second!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
December 20, 2013
Dress is timeless...
I reserved size 2 and 4. The dress does run a little small in the bust and waist, so I ended up wearing the 4. Dress is very sleek, with a vintage feel. I would definitely recommend this dress for a formal event.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
December 22, 2013
Did not wear
The bow in front looks flat and awkward. Killed a beautiful dress. Also, the dress gets narrow for the waist a little too high in my opinion. Maybe I have too long of a rib cage, but the zipper would not zip at one point because the dress was too tight at exactly one point about two inches above my natural waist. Above and below it was actually loose, but right at the exact top of the black part it was nowhere near fitting. Also, I am a busty girl, but there was more than enough extra room in the chest of this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
December 23, 2013
Awkward bunching...
This dress was made for someone with a larger torso than I, I think. The skirt was great, but the top didn't fit quite right, and I'm sure it's not because they expected me to have a larger bust. Because it didn't fit right, the pleats at the top looked like more bunching instead of something intentional. However, my friend, who is much taller than me, tried it on, and while it fit perfectly and looked like it was supposed to be there, the pleating still looked weird, and she didn't want to wear it either. This is such a sleek dress, and yet the collar is nearly ruffly. It just looked so strange.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 114lbs
December 6, 2013
Beautiful and elegant dress. Fit like a glove
n/a
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
November 4, 2013
Cute dress
Cute dress, was appropriate for my office Christmas party.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
January 3, 2014
The perfect New Years Eve dress!
I read the reviews so I knew it would run small and ordered a 12 even though I normally wear a 10. The 12 was perfect. It was a tiny bit big on top, but not really a problem - it showed off my curves in all the right places, and made me look even skinnier than normal. I absolutely loved how it looked and felt beautiful and sexy in it. The only con was sitting down had to be done carefully, but as I was standing most of the night it wasn't a big deal at all and didn't take away from how much I loved how I looked in the dress!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148lbs
January 6, 2014
Great NYE dress!
I wore this dress for NYE-it was perfect. I was worried because I ordered the 6 and the 8 and the 8 was not available . I usually wear a 6 however the reviews recommended to size up (which i've had to do before on another tighter fitting dress). The 6 fit perfectly. I would not even had tried on the 8 if I had it. I am smaller up top so the ribbon was not tight on my rib cage/stomach area at all and I had no problems breathing! I did not have any problems with the gold being itchy under the arms and the length was the perfect (5'6 and hit above the knee). Highly recommend this dress! i wanted to wear it one more time before I had to ship it back. Definitely going to be a favorite!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
January 7, 2014
Classy NYE choice
I would suggest taller girls size up at least one size--the waist came above my natural waist and there was no stretch there so even in a size up the waist was a bit uncomfortable. It looked lovely, just not my favorite rental as far as comfort + style.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
January 15, 2014
Stunning dress
Perfect for any formal occasion. Busty women beware that it runs small in the chest area, so consider ordering a size up from what you normally wear.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 15, 2014
Everyone loved the dress and i loved how I looked in it!
The neckline was itchy because of the fabric used. But the fit was great!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 49
Body type: Hourglass
January 17, 2014
The top of the dress was stretched out so much I could not wear it.
The top of the dress was stretched out so much I could not wear it. I have a medium bust and there was so much extra fabric. Very disappointed at the quality.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
January 18, 2014
Great little dress at a great price!
I'm normally a 2 but wore the 4 because there is no give in the waist. However, it still fit well and looked really nice!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
February 1, 2014
Really pretty
I really loved this dress, but it was a little too formal for my event. I ended up wearing another dress. The waist is a little tight and Milly seems to run small. For something more formal I would try this dress again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
February 12, 2014
Classic and sophisticated dress
I loved this dress and received loads of compliments. The lace detail with the little shimmer was really beautiful and feminine. However, with no stretch the dress definitely runs a little small, especially if you're hippy. I also have to agree with those who commented that the lace was itchy, especially around the neckline. Additionally, the slit in the back had ripped an inch or two from wear and tear so I had to stitch it back up prior to wearing. Overall though I was very happy with this rental and already have another one ordered for an upcoming event!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
February 19, 2014
Classy, elegant! Looks very expensive!!
LOVED this dress. Worn to formal affair and had women coming up to compliment me (total strangers) all night. The detailing on the lace skirt is beautiful and the middle black band really accentuated my waist. Prettier in person; the gold top really sparkles. Fabulous. Will rent this one again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
February 19, 2014
Would have been better for a wedding than a bachelorette party.
I know I'm short, but this dress hit right at my knee and the bow at the waist made me feel a bit frumpy with such a long dress. The fabric is all beautiful, shimmery, even the black skirt. The waist and skirt fit well, but the top was big, and that is NEVER an issue for me. The sides were gaping any my bra was visible, even though I'm larger on top. Not what I expected from this dress. Would have made a great day-to-night dress for an afternoon/evening wedding with a cropped cardigan or cropped blazer and transition to reception/party dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 59
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
February 19, 2014
Excellent dress
Amazing day with my dress
View photos (2)
See more reviews:
7 / 15

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×