Rent 3 for 1 Valentine's Day weekend! Use code 3FOR1VDAY16. DETAILS

Valid on rentals only. You will pay the cost of the most expensive item. Adding a free backup size will count as 1 of the 3 items. Offer expires 2/13/16 at 11:59pm EST and delivery dates must be 2/5/16 through 2/13/16. Promo code cannot be used on existing orders or be combined with other offers or gift cards. Enter promo code at checkout.

Sweet Madeline Dress

$40 rental
$405 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Grab your date and rent this beautiful dress by Milly for the holiday party. A classic combination of gold and black metallic lace is perfect for a night of dancing with friends!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any bust size-comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with bow detail
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow at hips - curvy women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any bust size-comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with bow detail
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow at hips - curvy women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Gold and black metallic lace over silk lining. Crew neckline with pleating. Black satin buttons on back with keyhole opening. Grosgrain bow at waist. Hidden back zip. 39'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
539 reviews
Fit
Large5
True to Size375
Small138
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
May 23, 2013
Perfect Dress for an Amazing Night
Dress fit extremely well. Initially concerned as many reviews stated how itchy it was but I had no problems. I received more compliments on that night than any other night in my life. I highly recommend this dress to anyone looking for a great fitting formal dress. Also, top was more gold than it appears in the image.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
May 22, 2013
Felt great in this dress all night.
Wore this for a family wedding. Got many compliments. The waist it a bit small, and the gold material is scratchy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 21, 2013
great quality. beautiful!
lace was beautifully detailed. size ran small for my D cups-lol!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 52
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
May 14, 2013
The dress was perfect for the wedding.
My sister rented this dress for a wedding. The dress fit great, just a little tight in the waist. The ribbon at the waist gave some definition to the waistline. Very elegant, perfect for the black tie affair. The arm holes were a little tight but still wearable. So if you have big arms, just keep this in mind. My sister is 5' 4" so the dress just hit her right above her knees, a modest length. Her weight is around 125 and she normally wears a size 4 or 6.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 149lbs
May 14, 2013
Very cute dress!
I received compliments on the dress and I did like it. It runs small for sure and I ended up having to wear the bigger size. But then it was very roomy in the bust. Overall a good pick.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
May 13, 2013
Perfect dress for a graduation ceremony
I wanted a dress for my graduation ceremony, i wanted something that was going to be formal enough and that will cover myself up. It was a nice dress, really delicate, pretty and different. The only problem that i found is that it is a bit too long and i am 5'6. Other than that, it was a good rent.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
May 9, 2013
I didn't get to wear it.
It didn't fit.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
May 7, 2013
I rented this dress for my son's christening.
I was nervous about wearing ANY dress so soon after giving birth, but this dress was so flattering and gorgeous! I am normally a size 2, but I got the dress in a size 4 and 6. I ended up wearing the size 6 because it felt most comfortable with my new curves that hadn't quite left me yet :). The dress was stunning and flattering in all the right places so it made me feel like I looked as thought I hadn't just given birth!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 122lbs
May 6, 2013
Pretty dress, easy to wear, received a lot of compliments
I ordered a 2 and a 4 but wore the 2. I may have been able to fit into a 0 but the 2 was comfortable, slightly big on top but not noticable.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
May 5, 2013
Great dress! More impressive in person! Lots of compliments!
I wore this dress for a charity event. I ordered a 0 (my normal size) and a 2. I didn't even need to try the 2. The dress is beautiful and unique...very classy and more for the late 30's and up crowd because of the design and length. It was a tad uncomfortable under the arms as some reviewers said but I didn't really notice until I had it on for 5 hours. This was my first rent the runway dress and it will not be the last!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
May 2, 2013
Wearing a well made dress just feels so much better.
I had ordered the 2 with a 4 as a back-up, when it came time the 2 was unavailable so I was stuck with the 4 which was loose in the waist (mine is 24") so I ended up belting the dress. Like others have said, the lace around the underarms is itchy and with my fair skin I ended up with red marks. Also not the best to try and dance in, there isn't much of a slit in the back. Other than all that, the dress was adorable and very sturdy with a quality lining. Got plenty of compliments.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
May 2, 2013
Right amount of sparkle with a good amount of comfort!
I rented this dress for a friend's wedding. I rented the 8 and got a the 6 as a back-up based on others' comments that it was roomy up top. I completely agree that the bust area was rather roomy for my B-cups. The waistline of this dress gave me a great silhouette all while staying comfortable to wear. Overall, I really liked this dress and would recommend it -- however beware that while the top is pretty roomy, the zipper is true to size. Even though I had plenty of room up top, I wouldn't have been able to size down.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
May 1, 2013
Perfect conservative dress for an elegant night!
Very comfortable, allowed for a regular bra, and a true size 4.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
May 1, 2013
Stunning Dress!
I wore this dress for my bridal shower and received so many compliments on the dress. I felt so beautiful that day! It fit like a glove!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148lbs
April 30, 2013
Many compliments...feeling elegant!!
I will start off by saying I felt amazing in this dress! I wore it to a wedding it was elegant and light. It does not have any give in the fabric so I would suggest going a size up. The RTR team was amazing initially I got a 6 and freaked out when it was too small and the following day I was traveling for the wedding. They got me the 8 and a 10 the next day so I had it in time for the wedding. The 8 was a little snug but i could function with no problems. All in all definitely recommend this dress. I would rent it again!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Body type: Pear
April 28, 2013
Loved it
Perfect fit but a little snug
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134lbs
April 27, 2013
The dress was perfect for the occasion! I got so many compliments!
Fit ran small, I am normally a 6 and had to go with the 8. I was comfortable in the dress all night although the top was a little scratchy. Worst CON: the zipper! I tried the 8 and 10. The 8 would not zip up no matter what. I tried on the 10 and the zipper was tough on that as well. Finally I went back to the 8 and was able to zip it up and it fit just right. I was scared I wouldn't be able to unzip it. Last, the top ran a little large for my bust size. It was a great dress though. It looked great and made me feel beautiful.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
April 26, 2013
Gorgeous dress.
I loved this dress, my only criticism was that the pictures/description do not mention the very long slit in the back. It wasn't bad, just completely unexpected. The lace is gorgeous, and it fit perfectly; very comfortable.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 134lbs
April 26, 2013
GREAT, comfortable and elegant dress
I felt great wearing this to a black tie affair - not too over the top, just perfect. I ordered the 8 and the 10 - the 8 was just a bit too snug for me in the chest, but the 10 was great - maybe a bit roomy, but super comfortable. For me, being able to wear my own bra was a big plus - and the top easily accomodated that. LOVED the whole Rent the Runway experience, and would definitely do it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
April 21, 2013
The dress looked fabulous, and I felt absolutely stunning in it. Thank RTR
Overall the dress was great. I had no issues with it. Definitely a great dress to rent for dinner party or a nice evening.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
April 21, 2013
..
The material looked cheaper than in the photo and it was way too small. Thankfully I ordered a backup!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
April 19, 2013
Beautiful and stunning
I wore this dress to a Sigma Chi formal at my university. I absolutely loved it! I felt so beautiful and got a lot of compliments on the dress. It is definitely a classy look! It's a little long on me cause I am really short but I didn't mind the extra length. The zipper does catch a little around the belt area but with an extra hand that is taken care of =) I loved it and would definitely recommend other people to rent this dress
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
April 19, 2013
perfect for a holiday party, if i was going to a holiday party :)
I didnt end up wearing this dress, only because it was a spring event and the lace is very heavy and I felt like the satin covered buttons in the back made it more suitable for a new years or christmas party. the dress is lovely though. there is NO stretch, so order up for your backup size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104lbs
April 18, 2013
Classy!
I wore this dress for my boyfriend's fraternity formal--the theme was black and gold. It fit like a glove, but was a little long for my short height. The top material was also a little scratchy, but not too bad. I got compliments all night!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 153lbs
April 15, 2013
loved this dress- would buy it if I could!
arm holes were a little tight but not too bad. Very flattering - perfect for a friends wedding in New Orleans.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
April 3, 2013
Great looking dress!! Very classy!
I'm sorry I don't have a picture with me in the dress, but I did love it! I wore it to a Sunday evening baptism that was held at a very fancy country club. Its very snug, but not in a bad way at all. It definitely makes you look thinner. I received many compliments throughout the day!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
April 1, 2013
Fit was fantastic, classy, excellent condition
Fit was fantastic, classy, excellent condition - another RTR Winner! :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 112lbs
April 1, 2013
The dress was gorgeous, couldn't be happier. Got lots of compliments.
The size 4 fit better on the bust area, but it was tight on the hips. So I decided to wear the 6. Overall is great and comfortable. The lace can be itchy under the arms, and the zipper on the side is tricky, I need an extra help. But I was very happy with overall, I recommend it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
March 28, 2013
Prettier in the picture
If you are debating between this dress and another..pick the other! I didn't hate the dress but it was bulkier on top than I expected. It is a bit unflattering but it is definitely conservative.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 21, 2013
It was beautiful, comfortable and fit me perfectly
I wore this dress to a formal fundraising event. It was the perfect dress for the event and for me personally. The dress fit beautifully. I ordered the 4 and the 6 (I normally wear the 4) and the 4 was perfect. Note that the band at the waist has no stretch so I had to be careful with my hair while putting it on, but once I got my head and arms through, everything else was easy. I threw on a pair of gold chandelier earrings and golden sandals and I was set. I have a large chest and I was a little concerned that it would look bad on the high waist, but I think it looked great. I got so many compliments all evening long and it looked formal and dressy without being uncomfortable (I am big on being comfortable first and foremost). I use Rent the Runway so I dont need to repeat dresses but I think I might rent this again.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
March 20, 2013
Great dress and got a ton of complements!
Was very true to size and easy to dance in.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
March 19, 2013
loved it! wore it to a formal event. IT was knee length, i'm normally at 2-4 it ran small. perfec
fits small especially around waist. Knee length.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
March 19, 2013
i got so many compliments on my dress all night, i kind of stole the show :)
The dress was a little tough to get on so if your getting an up-do just be warned it might get a little messed up but nothing a few bobby pins won't fix. once the dress is on it looks great and is true to size, the only downside is that if you don't have big tata's the top portion is a little loose but nothing insanely crazy. it also runs longer then i thought, it fell right at my knees, i thought it would be a shorter but i am also short so i usually have this sort of problem. i wore this to an engagement party and it was a hit. definitely worth renting :)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
March 18, 2013
Outfit was one of two that I was debating to wear to the event
Dress looked great but was a little tight in the mid-section due to my rib cage. Would have looked and worked fine if I hadn't planned on eating or drinking, but because of this option, I went with a different dress from RTR.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
March 17, 2013
This was perfect for my friends wedding reception!
This dress fit perfectly. I really recommend this to everyone. The only con was that the lace on the dress was a little itchy. But it didn't bother me that much. It was the right length and it was perfect for a fall wedding in New York. LOVED IT!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 13, 2013
It was very festive and formal for a dinner party.
It was a tighter fitting size 6, could not have been any smaller.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
March 11, 2013
Wore to a graduation banquet--felt classy!
Definitely classy for the occasion, but my own mother described as a bit "matronly." I have to agree--wish it was just a little shorter. I'm 5'4 and more legs than torso. was a little tight but the 4 would definitely have been too big--problem was in the bust.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
March 11, 2013
I wore this dress to my husband's company formal in Salt Lake City. It was sexy but conservative...
Hard to zip because material is thick, but wouldn't stop me from wearing again. It is very well made and very comfortable to sit in etc.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
March 8, 2013
no thank you
This dress had no stretch and was extremely difficult to get on. The 12 is definitely more like an 8 or 10.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
March 7, 2013
Appropriate yet fun
Wore this dress to my best friend's engagement party, which was held in a very loungy, city atmosphere at night. I wanted something that was fancy and fun, but also appropriate. The reviews I read on this dress were all pretty accurate. The dress doesn't have much give to it, so make sure you pick the right size.
See more reviews:
7 / 14

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×