Milly

Sweet Madeline Dress

$81 to buy
$405 retail
Stylist Notes

Grab your date and rent this beautiful dress by Milly for the holiday party. A classic combination of gold and black metallic lace is perfect for a night of dancing with friends!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any bust size-comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with bow detail
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow at hips - curvy women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Product Details

Gold and black metallic lace over silk lining. Crew neckline with pleating. Black satin buttons on back with keyhole opening. Grosgrain bow at waist. Hidden back zip. 39'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
571 reviews
Fit
Large
(7)
True to Size
(391)
Small
(144)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
December 13, 2012
Beautiful dress, too small

This dress is beautiful, but I couldn't fit in it. Order a size up, and I bet you will be thrilled. I couldn't zip it and I am a consistent size 12. The lace is pretty and the shape is flattering which is why I gave it 3 stars.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 23, 2012
Dependable as usual!

This dress is a little slim fitting so I recommend spanx. It was perfect for the work gala I wore it to. Lace was a little scratchy under the arms but not unbearable.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 164lbs
December 29, 2012
very pretty

wore this to a xmas compsany party and it was perfect. The 10 was too tight and the 12 was a perfect fit only that the underarms were pretty itchy. It had no cons what so ever.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
April 21, 2013
..

The material looked cheaper than in the photo and it was way too small. Thankfully I ordered a backup!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
June 6, 2013
Did not wear-returned dress.

Pretty dress. Gold is shinier than expected. Runs a bit small. I usually wear a 4 petite and the 4 regular was pretty snug through the bottom half but a little too large on top. It also fell below my knee and felt a bit long. Also, the lace is very scratchy and really irritated my arms.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
July 2, 2013
Beautiful lace detail, but a touch too small.

I ordered this dress as a back up for a wedding - I loved the detail and colors, but it was juuuuust too small - couldn't zip it past my rib cage.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
October 8, 2013
I received this in my at-home try-on box.

The dress is very pretty and fit nicely (though the zipper was extremely hard to close - seemed like it had warped with time.) The fabric of the dress was heavy and a bit stiff, and scratchy on my arms. It was pretty, though (very classic). Don't think I would rent it, but I would recommend it to others. Great for a company holiday party, etc.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 185lbs
October 27, 2013
I am 6'0" tall and this dress came in pretty short and ultimately unwearable.

Besides the skirt being so short, the slit up the back made the dress unwearable because it was too revealing. I was really let down because the rest of the dress would have looked great, but I couldn't walk out of the house with that slit up the back

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
November 14, 2013
Couldn't get it over my hips

The fabric is nice, but doesn't give at all. I have a small waist and larger hips and couldn't get it on!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 180lbs
November 18, 2013
Order a size or two up...

I wasn't crazy about this dress when it came out of the packaging, and then when I went to put it on it wouldn't even fit over my hips. Granted, I am curvy and have bigger hips, but I typically wear a size 10 and that wouldn't even come all the way up. Overall - if you don't have curves this dress might work for you, but otherwise I'd go with something else.

Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
October 17, 2014
The customer service was AWESOME! The dress didn't fit. Within and hour a new dress was shipped out!

The dress has NO GIVE. I ordered my size because the reviews said it fit true to size. The next size up was not available so I was limited that way had the next size been there that would have been perfect! The customer service was great and sent me two new dresses ASAP!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
December 3, 2014
Pretty, but an odd fit

I really wanted to like this dress, but it just wasn't for me. The top fit perfectly, but the ribbon around the waist made it look squeezed on and the black "skirt" part was somewhat puffy at the top, givign the impression of bulk.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 54
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
June 7, 2015
Champagne Soiree-Worthy

I rented this dress to wear to an evening soiree featuring champagne, chocolate covered strawberries, petit fors and dancing. The guest's attire ran the gamut from extremely formal full length gowns to day dresses as the event was part of a 3-day workshop. My dress caught everyone's attention as soon as I walked in the room. The gold lace on the upper part of the dress is much richer in person than the website shows. The bottom of the dress is black lace, but it has a little gunmetal sheen that draws the eye. The fit of the size 6 was much better than the 8. It was just a hair snug in the hips, but didn't look funny,nor did I have trouble moving or sitting. The backup size 8 was ill-fitting in the bust and the lining at the neckline flipped over so you could see it. Not a good look at all. Overall it was a great dress, The ribbon below the bust is a little snug, with no give, so if you've got a wide ribcage, you might not do well with the dress or may need a larger size.

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Age: 41
November 12, 2015
Pretty dress but not for everyone

As others said, this runs very small. I am normally a 6 and got this is an 8. It's a super straight cut so if you're curvy on bottom, you may want to pass on this one. The 8 bottom fit fine (a bit long, but fine since it's lace) but the top was big and if you know Milly, you know her dress tops are usually more tailored. In the end it worked out ok, but not the ideal dress for a pear-shaped gal.

Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Age: 36
December 23, 2015
Beautiful dress, runs small.

Although I didn't get to wear the dress (I got sick), I would have worn the 10. As others have mentioned it runs small, I normally wear an 8 comfortably.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Age: 29
December 30, 2015
Didn't wear this dress

It was a nice dress. I probably wouldn't have picked it if I had it out in front of me to look at. Unfortunately, it runs pretty small. I had the size 8 and size 10. Could not fit in neither I think it just depends on the maker of the dress. Got a Badgeley Mischka dress for another event I have this wknd and I fit in the size 8 just fine. Also, kinda long if you are short like me at 5'1". I had rented it for New Years Eve event, but I guess I will be shopping for a dress tomorrow.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
February 13, 2016
Tight ribcage. Didn't wear.

I stupidly rented this after seeing someone I know who's built like a pencil wearing something similar. This is not for girls that have wide ribs or generally broad chests. It'll hold boobs, but not a muscular back. I don't even remember if I got this zipped up. I'm sure the description says it'll fit hourglass girls, but if you're an hourglass, order a size up for sure. I remember the back part mostly, but I feel certain my butt didn't fit in it well, either.

Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
August 21, 2016
I really loved this dress. I have no complaints.

The fit was on the small side. Normally I wear an 8, so I'm really glad I got the extra size because the 10 was much more comfortable. Other than that, it is such a great dress. Hides traditional bra straps and easy to accessorize. Kind of speaks for itself, so looks good with simple hair and accessories, I found. I toned down from what I had originally planned.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 23, 2016
One of the most sophisticated dresses I've ever worn in my life!

It's such high quality. But just a heads up - unlike most lace dresses, this one has NO stretch. No give. The size is the size, the fit is the fit. I recommend it, though this shouldn't be the dress you choose for an event that involves a 4 course meal and staying seated (the delicate buttons might pop)! It's great for mingling/showing off a bit!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Height: 5' 4"
March 21, 2017
The dress is gorgeous!

The dress ran a bit tight for me around the hips. I typically always wear an 8 dress, but I had to size up to the 10 to fit my hips.

Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 60
Body type: Hourglass
December 12, 2010

I wore this dress to a Christmas party and I haven't felt this pretty in years. It was the perfect fit, comfortable and clearly a classy, expensive dress I could not have otherwise afforded. I would recommend this one to absolutely everybody. It was really flattering. Even my teenager said so and said she would consider wearing it.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
December 25, 2010

I loved loved loved this dress. I wore it a couple times over Christmas and everyone (from my 70 year old grandma to 15 year old cousin) asked me where I got it. The only thing I did not like was that the bust area was too large for me. I wore a size 10 and have a 32 B and it had a lot of room. I will rent again!

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 28, 2010

I got this dress for a big fundraiser I planned for the non-profit I work for. It was perfect-- not too flashy, but very elegant. I got so many compliments and felt very pretty! The lace is gorgeous, the buttons on the back are so cute, and the dress looks even better in person than in the pictures. It was slightly roomy in the bust area (I'm a 34B), but not too obvious. The lace also chaffed a lot on my arms, but that's why I'm glad I only rented it for a night! I just wish I could have enjoyed the dress more rather than being so preoccupied with the details of the event (at least other people got to enjoy seeing it ;-)) Overall, a great dress and a good rental experience!

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 139lbs
January 13, 2011

Dress is completely adorable! I'm tall & thin, but with curvy hips & a small waist. I am 5' 8" and 130lbs. I rented sizes 4 & 6. I tried on the size 6 first, and it was just perfect, no need to try on the size 4. The top part is golden in color, it's just so pretty and cute. Very happy with Rent The Runway!

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Body type: Straight & narrow
January 17, 2011

I LOVE this dress!!! It is more beautiful in person...the gold top is more shimmery/glittery than depicted in the photo. Wore it to a New Years Eve wedding and was definitely one of the best dressed of the night. Oh and the size fit perfectly.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Body type: Petite
January 20, 2011

Got this is a size 2. Too big in the bust (I'm a 32A) for me and the dress itself looks a bit more 'grandma-y' than I expected (probably because the gold lace detail on top was not as subtle as in the picture). I did get a compliment though - overall an above average dress. I especially like the buttons that run up the back. I wore this to a batmitvah. The dress is good for conservative events.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
April 11, 2011

This dress was great. It runs true to size, I am an 8 and wore an 8. The underarms were itchy but not that big of a deal for how great the dress looked on.

Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Body type: Pear
April 26, 2011

I ordered the 10 and 12 for backup. I wore the 12 because the 10 was too tight in the hips. Sometimes I can wear an 8 in dresses because my top is so narrow, but this dress is very straight. I had to pin it. The dress did not come with a fit kit. But it was very pretty for my confirmation and baptism.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
May 16, 2011

Loved this dress. The fabric is amazing, the lace looks great. Fit is very flattering. The buttons up the back are such a cute detail. Received so many compliments. If I had to say something negative the only thing I can think of is that it is a little itchy.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 69
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140lbs
August 31, 2011

This was my first rental and I felt like a million bucks in this dress! It is really beautiful and feels very expensive. Although others have found it itchy, I did not. My normal size 10 was a little more snug through the waist than I would usually choose, but my husband found the fit very flattering and, in the end, I found it perfectly comfortable for the evening. Although the dress did not arrive at my home on the day it was supposed to, RTR saved the day by overnighting it to the hotel where I arrived the next day. I danced the night away at a family wedding and couldn't have been happier. I will definitely rent again. Thanks, RTR!

Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 24, 2011

I recently wore this dress to an evening wedding - it was fantastic! It runs true to size, but I would suggest sizing up for your back up rental. Though I am traditionally a tried and true 4, I ordered a 4 and a 6 and the 6 was more comfortable. It's a great option for slightly taller women looking for an modest length skirt as well!

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 26, 2011

Adored this dress! Actually felt a little sad when I had to ship it back. Wore it to a wedding and got compliments all night long. I also found the bust a little big (a Size 8 was the perfect fit for me in the hips, but was a little large on my 36B bust) -- but with the right bra, it wasn't too bad. Overall, awesome dress!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
October 26, 2011
Winning homecoming and feeling confident!

Got quite a few compliments and fit great! The gold detailing is definitely more prominent in person, and the top isn't as tightly fit as it appears, but the dress still fits lovely.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
November 2, 2011

This dress was fantastic! The picture online does not do it justice, the cut is very elegant and classic and the material is very nice and rich looking - the gold top portion is more sparkly in real life. I wore this dress to a black-tie event at an art museum and it was very appropriate and I received tons of compliments. I agree with the comments below that it is roomy in the bust. I wore a size 8 and am a 36C and I even still had a little room in the bust. Great experience and will definitely rent again!

Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 64
Body type: Full Bust
November 8, 2011

This dress is very pretty on a full busted but otherwise slim figure. The picture doesn't do it justice and the description says black and gold sequins..there are no sequins at all. It was a little scratchy but ok for any evening. The size 6 would've been fine except for the bust which is why I sized up to an 8. I'm a 34C. The back button detail is a nice touch. Wore it for a black tie event in Manhattan. My first RTR experience was enjoyable and I'll be back.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 4' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 146lbs
November 10, 2011
Classy dress for a wedding!

Loved this dress - fit very snugly, but true to size. If you have hips, this would be tight in that area. It is a bit itchy, but no real problem. Received many compliments on the lace.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
November 10, 2011
Got tons of compliments!

I wore this to a formal charity event and got so many compliments! It's a beautiful dress and the gold is much more sparkly then the picture shows, which I liked. The size 2 fit but the 4 was more comfortable due to no give in the material. So, if you''re in between size, size up.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
November 20, 2011
Not so comfortable in the bust

I am 5'4" and wear a 34DDD. The dress fit everywhere except in the bust; I could not zip the last 2" of the dress so I did not wear it. The material is much more beautiful than the photo, and the button detail at the back is lovely. However, the grosgrain bow at the waist is a little too much, and the fabric is stiff and scratchy. It would be nice for a not-quite-black tie fall wedding.

Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
November 23, 2011
simple and classic

I wore this dress to a rehearsal dinner. It was the perfect length and fit. It is a little narrow through the hips, but I'm used to things being snug. I would go a size up if you have larger hips

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Hourglass
November 23, 2011
Gorgeous dress but weird fit

For small chested women (size A), there was a lot of extra room in the top, but the dress' hips are narrow. I ordered a size 8 and 10, and the 10 felt more comfortable around the hips but there was too much room at the top and it gaped under my arms, so I wore the 8. I am 5'-6" and the dress fell about an inch above my knees. I loved the dress- especialy the back, but if it was a dress in the store that I tried on, I wouldn't have bought it because of the fit for my body. The gold is much more sparkly than the pictures would imply, so be prepared to stand out but I got a ton of compliments when I wore it!

See more reviews:
5 / 15

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×