Sweet Madeline Dress

$90 to buy
$405 retail
Stylist Notes

Grab your date and rent this beautiful dress by Milly for the holiday party. A classic combination of gold and black metallic lace is perfect for a night of dancing with friends!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any bust size-comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with bow detail
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow at hips - curvy women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any bust size-comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with bow detail
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow at hips - curvy women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Gold and black metallic lace over silk lining. Crew neckline with pleating. Black satin buttons on back with keyhole opening. Grosgrain bow at waist. Hidden back zip. 39'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
568 reviews
Fit
Large
(7)
True to Size
(389)
Small
(144)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
January 15, 2013
LOVED this dress, wore to holiday work party
Ordered this dress on a wednesday for my work holiday party on Friday. Had the dress next day, got two sizes just in case but the size 4 fit great, which is the size i usually wear. Dress didn't run big/small. Dress is a great length for a girl who's a little bit taller, which was important! After the party, put the dresses into the pre-stamped envelope and dropped in the mailbox. GREAT experience.. I can't wait to use RTR again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
January 18, 2013
Beautiful dress, fun, would wear again
I rented this dress for my company's holiday party. It's a gorgeous dress, perfect for a professional atmosphere. For girls that are heavier on top, it does fit VERY tightly in the chest. You can tell it makes my DD size chest look very small, but it also had the same effect on my waist. Would absolutely recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 19, 2013
I really gambled on RTR. I had three events in one weekend but I felt great at every one of them.
Pretty dress. Only thing is I think you need a fuller bust to wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
January 20, 2013
So many compliments, so little time!
This dress fits like a glove, even at the truest size. I wore this to a wedding and it was fantastic & comfortable. I love how the black lace/bow covers your pooch area so you don't have to be self-conscious when dining. It was easy to dance and move around in. I received so many compliments that night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
January 20, 2013
WOW!
Never has a dress made me feel so elegant and sophisticated. I wore it to dinner and the opera and it was perfect. The detail in the lace is exquisite. It addition to being a gorgeous dress, it's also super comfortable and wearable with a regular bra which is always nice.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
January 22, 2013
Fit perfectly!
Love this dress--very festive and charming. Cute accent bow at the waist that you really can't see in the photos. A tiny bit big at the neckline for me but nothing major. Perfect length and lined very well.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
January 22, 2013
Love the look, don't like the fit...
The dress is so cute! I don't like that it is a side zipper. I am a busty woman and side zippers are really difficult for busty gals to get up. If the zipper had been in the back I think it would have worked fine. I didn't end up being able to wear the dress at all :(
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 26, 2013
I loved the quality of the dress and the style, BUT the fabric hurts your underarms!
The fit was tight around your high waste and pretty loose in the boobs. I am a b/c cup and there was some room in the top. The bottom lays beautifully and the quality is great! The fabric is really itchy though and because its sleeveless it rubbed against my arms all night and drove me crazy!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 29, 2013
Lovely dress, good price, and using RTR couldn't be easier!
Overall a very nice dress, especially the skirt. I felt like the top part wasn't as flattering, but maybe it's just me. The lace is a bit itchy under the arms, but not too bad. The zipper is a little stubborn where the two fabrics meet, but just be patient and you'll get there!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
February 6, 2013
This dress was amazing. I loved it so much im considering buying it for myself:)
This dress fits beautifully and is true to size. it is defiantly a head turner.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
February 10, 2013
Lace + Sparkles = Happy New Year!
The dress is lovely. It looks like a party and moves like a party. However, the shoulders cut in at the top, sort of forming a triangle rather than the straight lines of a sheath dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 13, 2013
The service was perfect! The dress showed up exactly when it was supposed to and looked amazing.
I ordered both the size 4 and size 6, just to make sure that I had the right size for the event. Unfortunately, the 6 wasn't available, so I just went with the 4. It was a little tighter in the hips than I would have preferred, but I wasn't completely surprised. I think the 6 would have been better. The whole experience was very smooth.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 15, 2013
Awkward fit, not my favorite.
I have a large ribcage and the 4 was very difficult to zip up in that area - the zipper may have had some damage, but I notified RTR after I returned it. If it weren't for the zipper issues, I would have worn the 4 because the 6 had too much fabric on top that created a bulge that looked like a fat roll right above the black ribbon. I had to keep pulling it down all evening to keep this from happening. Also, the material can be slightly irritating on the upper arms when your arms are at your side.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
February 19, 2013
I felt very elegant in this dress.
I wore this dress for an evening wedding in December. It fit perfectly and was very comfortable. I especially liked the length of it right below the knee and I received several compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
February 24, 2013
I wore this to a family party on Christmas Eve, and it was perfect for the occasion.
The dress fit comfortably and was easy to move around it. I really enjoyed wearing the dress.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
February 24, 2013
I absolutely loved this dress. It fit me perfectly!
I rented this dress to wear to a Mardi Gras charity event with my husband. The dress arrived as promised. I typically wear a 2 after reading the dress description I chose to order the 2 & 4. The size 2 fit me perfectly. The description of the dress was 100% accurate. I received several compliments throughout the night about the dress. I have already started shopping on RTR for my next event in March. I would and do definitley reccomend RTR to all of my friends and anyone I know looking to wear designer gowns for Any Occassion at an affordable price. Thanks RTR
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
February 24, 2013
Gorgeous! Got many compliments on the dress.
Dress fits very true to size. There is no give or stretchiness. Looks even better in person than on website.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
March 1, 2013
Wore to wedding, compliments all night!
Fits true to size. Top is definitely more gold than appears in pictures but still beautiful.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 2, 2013
Lots of compliments, but rough fabric made my arms raw by the end of the night!
This dress is fabulous if you plan on wearing it for 6 hours or less. I wore this to a 3:00 wedding and by 9 pm at the wedding after party the underside of my arms were being rubbed raw by the rough overlay fabric. The dress fit great and looked wonderful but after a while it took a toll on the sensitive skin on the underside of my arms! Great rental for a shorter event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
March 4, 2013
Dress looked great
Gold top was a little tight and the material is slightly itchy.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
March 7, 2013
Appropriate yet fun
Wore this dress to my best friend's engagement party, which was held in a very loungy, city atmosphere at night. I wanted something that was fancy and fun, but also appropriate. The reviews I read on this dress were all pretty accurate. The dress doesn't have much give to it, so make sure you pick the right size.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
March 8, 2013
no thank you
This dress had no stretch and was extremely difficult to get on. The 12 is definitely more like an 8 or 10.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
March 11, 2013
I wore this dress to my husband's company formal in Salt Lake City. It was sexy but conservative...
Hard to zip because material is thick, but wouldn't stop me from wearing again. It is very well made and very comfortable to sit in etc.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
March 20, 2013
Great dress and got a ton of complements!
Was very true to size and easy to dance in.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
December 16, 2012
Order 1 size up, zipper very sticky. Needed help to zip.
Not quite the quality I expected, but very nice.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
January 1, 2013
Different and beautiful
True to size, detailed, stunning
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
March 18, 2013
Outfit was one of two that I was debating to wear to the event
Dress looked great but was a little tight in the mid-section due to my rib cage. Would have looked and worked fine if I hadn't planned on eating or drinking, but because of this option, I went with a different dress from RTR.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
March 19, 2013
loved it! wore it to a formal event. IT was knee length, i'm normally at 2-4 it ran small. perfec
fits small especially around waist. Knee length.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 21, 2013
It was beautiful, comfortable and fit me perfectly
I wore this dress to a formal fundraising event. It was the perfect dress for the event and for me personally. The dress fit beautifully. I ordered the 4 and the 6 (I normally wear the 4) and the 4 was perfect. Note that the band at the waist has no stretch so I had to be careful with my hair while putting it on, but once I got my head and arms through, everything else was easy. I threw on a pair of gold chandelier earrings and golden sandals and I was set. I have a large chest and I was a little concerned that it would look bad on the high waist, but I think it looked great. I got so many compliments all evening long and it looked formal and dressy without being uncomfortable (I am big on being comfortable first and foremost). I use Rent the Runway so I dont need to repeat dresses but I think I might rent this again.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 112lbs
April 1, 2013
The dress was gorgeous, couldn't be happier. Got lots of compliments.
The size 4 fit better on the bust area, but it was tight on the hips. So I decided to wear the 6. Overall is great and comfortable. The lace can be itchy under the arms, and the zipper on the side is tricky, I need an extra help. But I was very happy with overall, I recommend it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
April 3, 2013
Great looking dress!! Very classy!
I'm sorry I don't have a picture with me in the dress, but I did love it! I wore it to a Sunday evening baptism that was held at a very fancy country club. Its very snug, but not in a bad way at all. It definitely makes you look thinner. I received many compliments throughout the day!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 153lbs
April 15, 2013
loved this dress- would buy it if I could!
arm holes were a little tight but not too bad. Very flattering - perfect for a friends wedding in New Orleans.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104lbs
April 18, 2013
Classy!
I wore this dress for my boyfriend's fraternity formal--the theme was black and gold. It fit like a glove, but was a little long for my short height. The top material was also a little scratchy, but not too bad. I got compliments all night!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
April 19, 2013
perfect for a holiday party, if i was going to a holiday party :)
I didnt end up wearing this dress, only because it was a spring event and the lace is very heavy and I felt like the satin covered buttons in the back made it more suitable for a new years or christmas party. the dress is lovely though. there is NO stretch, so order up for your backup size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
April 21, 2013
The dress looked fabulous, and I felt absolutely stunning in it. Thank RTR
Overall the dress was great. I had no issues with it. Definitely a great dress to rent for dinner party or a nice evening.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
April 26, 2013
Gorgeous dress.
I loved this dress, my only criticism was that the pictures/description do not mention the very long slit in the back. It wasn't bad, just completely unexpected. The lace is gorgeous, and it fit perfectly; very comfortable.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134lbs
April 27, 2013
The dress was perfect for the occasion! I got so many compliments!
Fit ran small, I am normally a 6 and had to go with the 8. I was comfortable in the dress all night although the top was a little scratchy. Worst CON: the zipper! I tried the 8 and 10. The 8 would not zip up no matter what. I tried on the 10 and the zipper was tough on that as well. Finally I went back to the 8 and was able to zip it up and it fit just right. I was scared I wouldn't be able to unzip it. Last, the top ran a little large for my bust size. It was a great dress though. It looked great and made me feel beautiful.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
April 28, 2013
Loved it
Perfect fit but a little snug
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
May 1, 2013
Stunning Dress!
I wore this dress for my bridal shower and received so many compliments on the dress. I felt so beautiful that day! It fit like a glove!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
May 1, 2013
Perfect conservative dress for an elegant night!
Very comfortable, allowed for a regular bra, and a true size 4.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
5 / 15

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×