Sweet Madeline Dress

$90 to buy
$405 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Grab your date and rent this beautiful dress by Milly for the holiday party. A classic combination of gold and black metallic lace is perfect for a night of dancing with friends!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any bust size-comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with bow detail
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow at hips - curvy women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any bust size-comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with bow detail
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow at hips - curvy women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Gold and black metallic lace over silk lining. Crew neckline with pleating. Black satin buttons on back with keyhole opening. Grosgrain bow at waist. Hidden back zip. 39'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
561 reviews
Fit
Large
(6)
True to Size
(388)
Small
(142)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 131lbs
March 6, 2014
.
.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34C
March 3, 2014
I had so much fun wearing this to my schools semi formal dance
It fit really nicely but my arms got a little scratchy from the gold glitter stuff! I loved it and I felt really classy in it!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
February 22, 2014
This was my first time renting from RTR and it was a great experience! Got so many compliments!
Fit was great! Ended up wearing my usual dress size. Was able to wear a regular bra with this dress. Paired it with a bracelet, earrings, and black heels. Would defiantly rent this dress again. I felt great in this dress!!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 143lbs
February 21, 2014
Great dress for a wedding in Southern California.
I got both a size 6 and 8 because ever since losing weight for my wedding six months ago, I have no idea what size I am. It turns out the 8 was way to big and the 6 fit just right. The waist was a tad small, but I could sit which is always key. I went with a silhouette that I know works on me to be safe as it was my first RTR experience and I got a ton of compliments. The ribbon that wraps around the dress was frayed a bit in the front, but you really couldn't see it. I have to admit wearing a dress someone else has worn really weirded me out which is why it's taken me a while to pull the trigger despite almost renting many times, but the compliments I got plus the ease at which RTR makes the whole process really makes it worth while. I do like owning my own dresses, but it was a fun experience and I will definitely use the service again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 58
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
February 19, 2014
Excellent dress
Amazing day with my dress
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
February 19, 2014
Would have been better for a wedding than a bachelorette party.
I know I'm short, but this dress hit right at my knee and the bow at the waist made me feel a bit frumpy with such a long dress. The fabric is all beautiful, shimmery, even the black skirt. The waist and skirt fit well, but the top was big, and that is NEVER an issue for me. The sides were gaping any my bra was visible, even though I'm larger on top. Not what I expected from this dress. Would have made a great day-to-night dress for an afternoon/evening wedding with a cropped cardigan or cropped blazer and transition to reception/party dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
February 19, 2014
Classy, elegant! Looks very expensive!!
LOVED this dress. Worn to formal affair and had women coming up to compliment me (total strangers) all night. The detailing on the lace skirt is beautiful and the middle black band really accentuated my waist. Prettier in person; the gold top really sparkles. Fabulous. Will rent this one again.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
February 16, 2014
Kinda tight but it hides all those "problem areas"
The dress looked amazing on, it was a bit tight and after eating at the wedding all night I couldn't wait to get the dress off. The dress has no give on it so what ever size you think you are get the next size bigger. My bust is a 36 D and it fit those ladies perfectly it was in the hips and waist that was tight. The length was amazing, i HATE short dresses and this was a nice in between length for me.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 16, 2014
I wore this dress to a formal company Christmas party. Loved it !!
The dress arrived exactly when it was supposed to. I loved having two sizes, to make sure I got the best fit. The fit was true to size and very comfortable. (I didn't have the problem with scratchy arm holes that some women had). The earrings were gorgeous! I got a ton of compliments, and felt like a million bucks!! I can't wait for another occasion to pick another dress. Thank you!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
February 12, 2014
Classic and sophisticated dress
I loved this dress and received loads of compliments. The lace detail with the little shimmer was really beautiful and feminine. However, with no stretch the dress definitely runs a little small, especially if you're hippy. I also have to agree with those who commented that the lace was itchy, especially around the neckline. Additionally, the slit in the back had ripped an inch or two from wear and tear so I had to stitch it back up prior to wearing. Overall though I was very happy with this rental and already have another one ordered for an upcoming event!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
February 9, 2014
Perfect dress for a holiday party.
This dress was perfect for New Years Eve. It was comfortable and easy to move and dance in.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
February 1, 2014
Really pretty
I really loved this dress, but it was a little too formal for my event. I ended up wearing another dress. The waist is a little tight and Milly seems to run small. For something more formal I would try this dress again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
January 29, 2014
perfect Dress!!!
it was the perfect dress for the holidays..I received lots of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
January 25, 2014
Absolutely beautiful, flattering dress.
Dress fit true to size and was very flattering and elegant. I actually ended up not wearing these, because the shoes I packed weren't quite a match, but I would definitely rent this again for a future wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
January 18, 2014
Great little dress at a great price!
I'm normally a 2 but wore the 4 because there is no give in the waist. However, it still fit well and looked really nice!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 49
Body type: Hourglass
January 17, 2014
The top of the dress was stretched out so much I could not wear it.
The top of the dress was stretched out so much I could not wear it. I have a medium bust and there was so much extra fabric. Very disappointed at the quality.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 15, 2014
Everyone loved the dress and i loved how I looked in it!
The neckline was itchy because of the fabric used. But the fit was great!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
January 15, 2014
Stunning dress
Perfect for any formal occasion. Busty women beware that it runs small in the chest area, so consider ordering a size up from what you normally wear.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 9, 2014
Super cute!
Wore this to a black tie wedding and loved it. Was a bit tight under my arms, but I am tall.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
January 7, 2014
Classy NYE choice
I would suggest taller girls size up at least one size--the waist came above my natural waist and there was no stretch there so even in a size up the waist was a bit uncomfortable. It looked lovely, just not my favorite rental as far as comfort + style.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 152lbs
January 6, 2014
Great NYE dress!
I wore this dress for NYE-it was perfect. I was worried because I ordered the 6 and the 8 and the 8 was not available . I usually wear a 6 however the reviews recommended to size up (which i've had to do before on another tighter fitting dress). The 6 fit perfectly. I would not even had tried on the 8 if I had it. I am smaller up top so the ribbon was not tight on my rib cage/stomach area at all and I had no problems breathing! I did not have any problems with the gold being itchy under the arms and the length was the perfect (5'6 and hit above the knee). Highly recommend this dress! i wanted to wear it one more time before I had to ship it back. Definitely going to be a favorite!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
January 3, 2014
The perfect New Years Eve dress!
I read the reviews so I knew it would run small and ordered a 12 even though I normally wear a 10. The 12 was perfect. It was a tiny bit big on top, but not really a problem - it showed off my curves in all the right places, and made me look even skinnier than normal. I absolutely loved how it looked and felt beautiful and sexy in it. The only con was sitting down had to be done carefully, but as I was standing most of the night it wasn't a big deal at all and didn't take away from how much I loved how I looked in the dress!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
January 2, 2014
Last minute NYE plans and the dress was at my door the next day!
This dress is gorgeous and I received so many compliments! We had last minute NYE plans and I ordered the dress on Monday, 1/30/13 at 2:47pm. It arrived at my door the next day by 1pm. I was AMAZED! The dress was clean and perfectly laid out. I reserved both the size 2 and the 4. The 2 fit but was so tight around my ribcage area so I wore the 4 and was comfortable! I already rented 2 more dresses for upcoming events. I am officially HOOKED.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
December 27, 2013
Renting from RTR was a breeze!
I rented sizes 0 and 2 and neither one fitted me :( I rented another Milly size 0 and wore it like a glove. For some reason this one wouldn't fit me around the waistline.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 26, 2013
Beautiful, classy, and form fitting!
This dress is absolutely beautiful! It was so nice, and the lace was gorgeous. A bit tight in the rib cage area, but looked fantastic and got a ton of compliments! Definitely was sad to return the dress, and would rent it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
December 23, 2013
Awkward bunching...
This dress was made for someone with a larger torso than I, I think. The skirt was great, but the top didn't fit quite right, and I'm sure it's not because they expected me to have a larger bust. Because it didn't fit right, the pleats at the top looked like more bunching instead of something intentional. However, my friend, who is much taller than me, tried it on, and while it fit perfectly and looked like it was supposed to be there, the pleating still looked weird, and she didn't want to wear it either. This is such a sleek dress, and yet the collar is nearly ruffly. It just looked so strange.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
December 22, 2013
Did not wear
The bow in front looks flat and awkward. Killed a beautiful dress. Also, the dress gets narrow for the waist a little too high in my opinion. Maybe I have too long of a rib cage, but the zipper would not zip at one point because the dress was too tight at exactly one point about two inches above my natural waist. Above and below it was actually loose, but right at the exact top of the black part it was nowhere near fitting. Also, I am a busty girl, but there was more than enough extra room in the chest of this dress.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
December 20, 2013
Dress is timeless...
I reserved size 2 and 4. The dress does run a little small in the bust and waist, so I ended up wearing the 4. Dress is very sleek, with a vintage feel. I would definitely recommend this dress for a formal event.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 107lbs
December 20, 2013
I wore the dress to my work holiday party this year and it was the perfect dress!
Perfect fit, super comfortable for dancing, and I received tons of compliments throughout the night!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Body type: Straight & narrow
December 20, 2013
Perfect holiday dress!
I loved this dress and recommend it for your holiday events. You probably will need someone to zip this up for you but once it's on, it's quite comfortable and very elegant - you'll get lots of compliments. Goes well with a gold sparkly manicure!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
December 18, 2013
LOVED this dress!
This dress was perfect. It fit like I had it made for me. The top portion of the dress was darker gold in person than it appears in the picture which I actually liked better. And the black belt has a little bow on the front which is nice, plus it makes your waist look tiny! Highly recommend this dress for any fancy occasion. I would buy it in a second!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 45
Body type: Straight & narrow
December 17, 2013
Perfect dress for a party!
This is a great dress for a party. It fits true to size(definitely form fitting). It is much prettier in person. I received many compliments.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
December 14, 2013
Fun for a dressy holiday party.
As others have mentioned, although it fit true to size, the ribbon band is a little unforgiving. Prepare to breathe shallowly all evening.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124lbs
December 12, 2013
Favorite rental
This dress started my RTR fascination. Milly must know my taste. This dress looks expensive and hot without showing any inappropriate skin. My sister loved it so much she rented the same on that winter. I'm such a happy customer here.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 11, 2013
Perfect for a holiday party. Very festive. Received lots of compliments.
I ordered the 0 and 2 since I wear both sizes depending on brand/designer. The 0 was really tight around the ribcage so I went with the 2 for comfort. It still fit really well.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
December 10, 2013
Beautiful material
Gorgeous dress, but not my favorite. It was a very stiff dress that I had to stand up straight to make sure it fit me well. While sitting it bunched and it was hard to get into and out of my dinner seat. The pattern and design were beautiful, but I think I may not have had the right proportions for this dress. I have a short torso, and I felt this dress, thought it fit, would have worked better on someone with a longer torso.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Body type: Hourglass
December 8, 2013
Gorgeous!
I received so many compliments on this classic, elegant dress. I wore it to a work function.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
December 8, 2013
Great service, unfortunately the dress did not work out.
I got two sizes, 8 and 10. The 10 fit but was definitely tight. The waistline is high and just cut me in the wrong spot on my ribcage, so I wound up wearing a different dress that I had purchased. Loved the gold and the lace though!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
December 8, 2013
The rental and return process couldn't have been easier. The dresses arrived in perfect condition!
Read multiple reviews before renting this dress, and agree with most of the assessments. It's a beautiful, gorgeous dress. It was perfect my work Christmas party where I wanted something decidedly feminine but conservative. I got compliments all night! Glad I ordered a size up, as the 4 fit except that I struggled to get the zipper up past the bust area. Wore the 6 and it zipped easily. I struggle with finding fashion for my 34D's and I had no worries with this dress. It's even prettier than in photos. My photos came out dark, unfortunately, but it looked great. I know a lot of people said the material was itchy under the arms, but I honestly didn't notice it all night. The fabric does NOT have any "give" so I recommend ordering your usual size and perhaps one size up as a backup - it fits somewhere between "true to size" and "runs small."
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 143lbs
December 7, 2013
Back up dress
I rented this as a back up dress and didn't end up wearing it. The dress fit really well, and I liked the bottom half, but I didn't care for the gold part on top. My husband said it looked like something an older lady would wear- not the look I was going for!
See more reviews:
5 / 15
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited Bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×