Rent the Runway

Milly

Sweet Madeline Dress

$40 rental
$405 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Grab your date and rent this beautiful dress by Milly for the holiday party. A classic combination of gold and black metallic lace is perfect for a night of dancing with friends! Accessorized with Nicole Romano's Crystal Tears of Joy Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any bust size-comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with bow detail
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow at hips - curvy women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any bust size-comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with bow detail
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow at hips - curvy women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Gold and black metallic lace over silk lining. Crew neckline with pleating. Black satin buttons on back with keyhole opening. Grosgrain bow at waist. Hidden back zip. 39'' from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

490 reviews

Fit
Small 125
True to Size 346
Large 5
Photos 222
Chelsea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 26, 2011

Winning homecoming and feeling confident!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Got quite a few compliments and fit great! The gold detailing is definitely more prominent in person, and the top isn't as tightly fit as it appears, but the dress still fits lovely.
Rachel
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 19, 2011

This was an event where I didn't know many people, but loved by the end of the night that most people knew who I was by the dress.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was great for an evening winter wedding. I am a busty size 10 so I ordered the 10 and 12 but found the 10 fit great. It was very flattering, even for a girl with a bit of a tummy. I received multiple compliments all night.
Pam
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Body type: Full Bust
Dec 23, 2011

Arrived on time and easy to send back out. Thanks!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to my company's holiday party. I really wanted something that looked like it belonged with the holiday season but was conservative enough to wear around co-workers. This dress was a perfect compromise. I received compliments all night long. Overall, I would definitely recommend this dress if you're looking for something classy and chic. I found that this dress runs exactly true to size, and as such, I would recommend you get what you think your real size is then the next larger size you secretly hope you'll never have to wear. My real size fit me perfect and snug.
Alyssa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 28, 2011

Spending Christmas with my family in this dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress fit beautifully - Got tons of compliments and it felt great on.
Kristin
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 149 lbs
Jan 22, 2012

.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
RTR is great! Dress arrived on time and the fit was perfect. I am a size 10 and the dress fit perfectly. I got many compliments on this. I would definitly order from RTR again.
Hannah
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 23, 2012

I felt so elegant all night. I'm nearing 30, but people consistantly tell me how "cute" I am- which makes me feel like a 12 year old! It was so nice to have people talk to me, compliment me, and treat me like an adult.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my first rental from RTR and I loved it! I will definitely use them again. I got both a 4 and 6, but found the 4 to fit much better. I was having a NYE dinner at a very fancy restaurant and felt so elegant all evening. It is pretty tight in the mid-section, but I was still able to eat a 5 course meal without feeling like I was going to explode! I am just shy of 5'1" and you can see in the picture that it comes just below my knees. If your short like me and want something above the knee, this probably wouldn't be a good choice for you. I wanted the dress to be the focal piece so I pulled my hair back and the only jewelry I wore were diamond and pearl studs.
Jennifer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 132 lbs
Jan 27, 2012

I got a lot of complements on the dress and my hubby loved it as well!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress to wear to the CG New Year's Reception at Fort Gordon. I loved it and felt wonderful in it. The fit was perfect. I am 5'4 125 with a large bust and this dress fit me perfectly. I always have to size up in dresses due my bust size. I would recommend this dress for a holiday party, wedding, or something along those lines.
Olga
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Body type: Straight & narrow
Jan 29, 2012

Just what I wanted :)

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress for a holiday company party. It was exactly what I was looking for, stylish and conservative. It's a beautiful dress and I was comfortable the entire night. I would recommend it if you are considering it!
Sam
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148 lbs
Feb 14, 2012

The look was classy, and I got so many compliments.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress flattered me and hugged all the right places. I wore it to an evening wedding with opaque black tights and satin pumps. It was comfy enough to dance in all night long! I didn't want to let this one go!
Polly
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 21, 2012

It was at my bridal luncheon, and all of my best friends and family members were there. All the complements I recieved from everyone in this beautiful Milly dress made me so happy, and helped me to stop being stressed about the upcoming wedding, and enjoy the wonderful party :)

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I love this dress so much. I wore it to my bridal luncheon, and everyone loved it. I was worried about the fit, because I have wider hips, but it fit perfectly. I'm 5'4 and weigh around 135, and the size 6 was a great fit.
Gabrielle
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 15, 2012

the dress came on time and the whole process went really well!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
wore this dress to prom and I love it! I got so many compliments and definitely did not want to return the dress!
Sarah Lynn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145 lbs
Jun 17, 2012

I wore this dress to a friend's wedding and received many compliments. No one could believe that I rented a $405 dress for $50. :)

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Stats: 5'3" | 145lbs | 32F (DDDD). This beautiful Milly design was snug at the chest but fit perfectly every where else. I ordered both the 8 and the 10 but opted for the 8 because the 10 was a little too loose in the chest, resulting in an unattractive view of my bra. The dress hit at a perfect length, just at my knee. My only gripe, causing my rating to lack 1 star, is that the size 8 arrived with a broken zipper which I struggled to repair the night before.
caroline
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Jul 19, 2012

Holiday Party at my in-laws

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this for a holiday event and thought it was very flattering but the gold lace on top was very scratchy. Would not recommend if you have sensitive skin.
Monica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jul 24, 2012

Very classy and eye-catching dress

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for a family Thanksgiving black tie party. I wore black tights and black pumps. I kept the jewelry minimal since the dress has very decorative lace, fabric and finishes. The fit was perfect, not tight, not loose. Just a nice, easy dress. My sister wore my backup dress and we actually ended up using the photos from that party for our family Christmas card!
Priscilla
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 7, 2012

A self-proclaimed "fashionista" guest kept raving about this dress. Elegantly classic.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit is true to size, except that larger sizes tend to assume an extremely large bust. I am an hourglass and there was a little too much material above the empire waste. Other than that, fit and looked great.
Erin
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 112 lbs
Aug 11, 2012

Wearing such a nice dress really boosted my confidence and made me feel like a million bucks.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this for a black tie event. I was afraid I'd seem underdressed, but it worked out great. I usually wear a 2, and that would have worked, but I liked the fit a little better with the 0. A little itchy under the arms, but bearable. Also, the lining under one of the arms poked out, but I was able to keep it in place with some of the tape RTR included. Overall-loved it!
Ellen
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 122 lbs
Aug 18, 2012

Feeling confident!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I was a little worried about the fit but it worked perfectly!
Arlana
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132 lbs
Aug 23, 2012

Watching my cousin marry the love of her life.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Dress was TTS. Can be a bit uncomfortable on the underarms because of the lace material. Received lots of compliments and would recommend this dress.
TJ
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 26, 2012

RTR customer service is top notch. I had concerns that the dress wouldn't show up on time, but it did, beautifully and effectively package. No concerns of wrinkles with packaging.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I received this dress in a size 6 and 8, but wore the 8 for a little breathing and bust room. Pictures don't do this dress justice. It really is stunning! Reviews of "itchiness" had me concerned, but I wore this dress for 14 hours and didn't have any problem with that at all.
Eddah
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 142 lbs
Sep 16, 2012

Love the dress! Very comfortable and pretty!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Love the dress! Very comfortable and pretty!
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Sep 18, 2012

Great Wedding Dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I LOVED this dress! I am short and it made me look taller and thinner!
Melanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 129 lbs
Sep 19, 2012

The dress was amazing! I felt elegant and beautiful!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It fit true to size. Length is great for a tall girl which is always my concern when renting. A great dress that I would recommend to anyone going to an event where they want to impress!
Jacque
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 25, 2012

Very pretty dress for wedding!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit true to size, very flattering style, loved it!
Peggy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 144 lbs
Sep 28, 2012

Wow - what a great first experience. More compliments than I have ever gotten before!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was down out out with back pain and knew i had no time to shop before a corporate awards ceremony. I logged on to Rent The Runway, found a dress and the order was fast and simple. My order arrived professionally boxed and in garment bags the day before the event. Felt stunning last night. And today's return was slipped into the postage paid envelope and brought to the post office. Fast, easy, beautiful - no malls and no dry cleaning. You have a customer for LIFE. Thank you for such a great cyber fashion experience. Can't wait until next time. XXXOOO
Erin
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 30, 2012

Perfect for a wedding. Loved it !

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It was very true to size and comfortable.
CB
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 1, 2012

Classy dress for a classy event!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered a size 8 and a size 10 (hoping to wear the 8) and when it arrived, I tried it on and the 8 fit like a glove! I received so many compliments all night. I have an hour glass figure and larger bust, so this dress really did compliment my shape. My sis n law even told me to "buy" the dress as it was such a perfect fit. I agree with some that the lace can be a bit rough feeling under your arm pit, but I didn't really realize that until the next day (it was a tad red from rubbing all night). This dress is gorgeous! Thanks RTR.
Julianna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 1, 2012

Super Classy!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great for an hourglass figure, hugs in all the right places.
Candice
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 3, 2012

Beautiful dress! Received compliments all night!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I normally wear a 6, but sized up to 8 per the other reviews. The dress fit beautifully! I did wear spanx, but even without those, the dress fit very well.
Kaitlin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127 lbs
Oct 8, 2012

I felt classy and confident.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The 6 also fit well, but the 4 was a perfect fit for me. The length was perfect, even when dancing. I could eat my dinner and not worry about feeling like I was stuffed into my dress. It was comfortable and classy. Wish I could have gotten a better picture! A clueless guy took it :)
Morgan
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122 lbs
Oct 14, 2012

Very appropriate for a wedding or any semi-formal affair.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress looked great. It is very nicely made and arrived in perfect condition. It was a tiny bit small but I still went with the smaller of the two sizes I got. It looked better in the 2. If I was buying it I would have gotten the 4 to be safe, but the great thing about RTW is you don't have to think about how long something is going to fit. Cons were that I couldn't dance that well in it due to the slim skirt. It was also quite itchy under my arms and the zipper is hard to zip.
Julia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 15, 2012

Thank you Rent The Runway!!!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is stunning. The details are just beautiful. I rented an 8 & 10 but wore the 8. It fit perfectly and allowed room for movement. I couldn't be happier that I picked this dress and can't wait to rent another gorgeous dress for my next event!!!
Sarah
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 17, 2012

Love this dress...

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this dress for a Southern wedding and received numerous compliments! The gold detail at the top, the bow at the waist, and lace overlay at the bottom all worked together to create a classy yet fabulous look. As Milly dresses tend to run a bit long, this dress hit me perfectly right above the knee. I paired this dress with white gold studs, black pumps and a black clutch; given the detail on this dress, simplicity is best when accessorizing. My only regret is wearing my hair down- thinking this would have been even more perfect with an up-do or side bun.
Jackie
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 23, 2015

NYE dinner cruise

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I actually ordered a size 8 and 10, the larger size fit better but the lace was too thick and stiff making me look larger in size. This dress is for smaller size younger women not my age group.
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Jan 30, 2015

Perfect for a formal occasion!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I received many compliments throughout the night. My only complaint would be about how scratchy the material was both around the neck and underneath the arms. If you're sensitive to certain materials then I would not recommend this dress. However, it was very easy to dance in!
Lindsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138 lbs
Feb 11, 2015

Didn't wear it.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress fit ok, but it was not very flattering. It puckered a little bit weird and made me look very hip-y. While I have an athletic build, I have never felt I looked hip-y, so I felt it was very unflattering and underwhelming. I ended up going with something else in my closet as opposed to this dress.
Helen
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 132 lbs
Mar 1, 2015

I wore this dress for a winter black tie wedding.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I love this dress! It was very comfortable. The heavy lace was great for a winter wedding.
Jessica
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Mar 10, 2015

Matching everything including my date!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit perfectly and like a glove (A good glove). Did not need the back-up size 2, but it was reassuring to have. :) There was more room "up top" for larger boobs on the average female, which I do not carry. but size up if you are "full" busted.
Suzanne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Mar 13, 2015

Tight and short!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I usually love all the RTR dresses I've rented, but this one never was worn and sent back. It was way too snug fitting and short. I don't recommend if you have any curves to your body at all.
D
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120 lbs
Mar 26, 2015

Could not zip it up

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
If you have ribs that stick out, you won't be able to get close to zipping this up! Too bad though, it would have been perfect for the work holiday party I rented it for.
Meg
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127 lbs
Apr 16, 2015

Great combination of earrings and dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Classy and elegant dress cocktail dress. Looked and felt great!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×