Milly

Sweet Madeline Dress

$90 to buy
$405 retail
Stylist Notes

Grab your date and rent this beautiful dress by Milly for the holiday party. A classic combination of gold and black metallic lace is perfect for a night of dancing with friends!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any bust size-comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with bow detail
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow at hips - curvy women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Product Details

Gold and black metallic lace over silk lining. Crew neckline with pleating. Black satin buttons on back with keyhole opening. Grosgrain bow at waist. Hidden back zip. 39'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
568 reviews
Fit
Large
(7)
True to Size
(389)
Small
(144)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
October 9, 2012
Everyone loved this dress!
I wore this to a work event and a wedding both in the same weekend. Fit is amazing and dress is comfortable and stunning!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
October 11, 2012
I liked it in theory, but not as much in person
The gold was a deeper and richer gold in person than the more pale gold pictured on the website. The fabric was much heavier than I thought it would be and it kind of felt like wearing a slightly itchy curtain. That being said, it looked great and fit me perfectly, it just wasn't an "all night party dress" and more of a "a few hours and I'm done" type deal for me.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
October 14, 2012
Very appropriate for a wedding or any semi-formal affair.
This dress looked great. It is very nicely made and arrived in perfect condition. It was a tiny bit small but I still went with the smaller of the two sizes I got. It looked better in the 2. If I was buying it I would have gotten the 4 to be safe, but the great thing about RTW is you don't have to think about how long something is going to fit. Cons were that I couldn't dance that well in it due to the slim skirt. It was also quite itchy under my arms and the zipper is hard to zip.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
October 15, 2012
Thank you Rent The Runway!!!
This dress is stunning. The details are just beautiful. I rented an 8 & 10 but wore the 8. It fit perfectly and allowed room for movement. I couldn't be happier that I picked this dress and can't wait to rent another gorgeous dress for my next event!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
October 17, 2012
Love this dress...
Wore this dress for a Southern wedding and received numerous compliments! The gold detail at the top, the bow at the waist, and lace overlay at the bottom all worked together to create a classy yet fabulous look. As Milly dresses tend to run a bit long, this dress hit me perfectly right above the knee. I paired this dress with white gold studs, black pumps and a black clutch; given the detail on this dress, simplicity is best when accessorizing. My only regret is wearing my hair down- thinking this would have been even more perfect with an up-do or side bun.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
October 17, 2012
Beautiful dress, got a ton of compliments.
Runs small. Had to wear the size 8 because the 6 wouldn't zip! Very flattering. Would love to have this dress in my closet!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124lbs
October 18, 2012
Pretty, but awkward fit on me.
It wasn't as form-fitting as it looked on the model. I felt a little frumpy in it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
October 19, 2012
Beautiful, classic, comfortable
I wore this to a wedding. Everything about the dress was understated and elegant. It shimmers without being "glittery" and it hugs all the right places without being too vulgar. Hit me right above my knee and was very flattering o the bottom half. The top was a bit "poofy" so I would recommend having a padded bra or a larger chest if going for this dress. Overall a great rental!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
October 22, 2012
Felt so elegant and classy!
I ordered both a size 8 and 10. The 10 did not arrive so I wore the 8. It was pretty snug, a bit tough to zip on the side and I definitely agree with others that the lace around the armpits can be itchy. I have a very athletic build and the skirt was a bit tight around the seat/legs. Would've been nice to have the 10. Overall though I felt amazing in this dress and received tons of compliments. One person told me I looked "modelesque"!!
KristyFebruary 27, 2013
You look great. Love the neclace, where is the necklace from?
LindseyFebruary 27, 2013
Thanks Kristy! I borrowed it from my friend in the pic and she got it at H&M!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 129lbs
October 22, 2012
Elegant and form-complimenting dress for fancy Rehearsal Dinner!
I ordered sizes 4 and 2 because depending on the designer, I can be either. The 4 fit, but because I'm not terribly busty, I preferred the more snug fit of the 2. I got a lot of compliments on this dress and felt very classy in this dress. It was a snug fit, so I can't say that sitting was the most comfortable, but it definitely was not horrible. I would definitely recommend this dress to anyone who will be attending a formal affair or wedding. Thanks RTR!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
October 22, 2012
Stunning, classy dress for a formal wedding.
I wore this dress to a formal, evening wedding in NYC. Even though I am much shorter than the model, the dress was very flattering and not too long on me (knee length). The cut was great for my hourglass figure that was going through some serious PMS bloating at the time! I was comfortable all night and received a lot of compliments on "my" dress. Ordered it in 8 and 10, and ended up wearing the 10 due to the bloating, and fact that the fabric does not stretch. This dress is a different style for me - I am not usually a lace girl - but I am really glad I got to wear it as something different. A RTR stylist suggested I could go for a short dress rather than the typical long gown for the wedding, especially since the long gowns would all be too long on me, and I would not be able to alter a rented dress. While I didn't end up going with any of her suggestions, I did go for the short dress and was happy with that choice.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
October 22, 2012
Gorgeous dress! Everyone thought the dress was right off the runway!
I usually wear a size 2 in dresses. Good thing I got a 4 in this! Love the two size option. Great first experience with RTR! No hassel, simply awesome!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
October 22, 2012
I got so many comments on this dress! Very classy.
It fits true to size and looks exactly like the picture. Very comfortable...will rent this dress again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 23, 2012
This dress was great!! It gave me a slimming look & was very comfortable.
I ordered a 6 & 8 but went with the 8 for a more comfortable fit. It gave me a slimming look. The only con was that it was a little long for my taste- hit about an inch below my knees. However, since it was a black tie event it went well. Can't wait for my next event out so I can rent again!!!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 23, 2012
Beautiful dress but I ended up not needing it.
The dress is absolutely gorgeous and the 6 fit me perfectly. The only issue I had was that the fabric under the arms kind of rubbed (from the lace). I ended up not wearing this dress as I went with another Milly. I love this designer!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
October 23, 2012
I got so many compliments on my dress. The sparkle made me feel so festive and fun!
This was the perfect dress for a formal benefit dinner. It was classy, feminine and beautiful! The size 0 had a higher slit up the back than the size 2. So even though I tend to wear the smaller size normally, I went up. It's not tight, it's fitted. And not short even on me who is close to 6"!! Loved it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
October 30, 2012
breathtaking dress! Pictures don't do this dress justice-the detail of the lace is beautiful!
Very nice fabric, and there were three layers which means -Cha CHing- IT'S NICE!! Very appropriate yet sexy at the same time. I would consider renting this one again that's how much I loved this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 4, 2012
I got so many compliments on this dress - everyone said it looked like it was made to fit!
The top of the dress is slightly darker gold than it appears on the website.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
November 5, 2012
Lovely dress, but small in the bust
I rented this as a "back up" dress and was very excited when it came -- it was really pretty. I ordered up to a size 12 but I couldn't get it zipped past my rib cage. I wear a 38D bra and there was no way it was going to zip closed. it was a bummer b/c it is stunning! I highly recommend to someone who is smaller on top.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
November 5, 2012
Felt great, very comfortable and classy
Great Rental
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
November 5, 2012
I wore this to my best friend's rehearsal dinner at the Ritz-- it was beautiful.
Fit perfectly, and wasn't too short (always a concern for me at 5'9"). Loved it so much I tried to buy it when I returned home from the wedding. Didn't need much jewelry because the top is so detailed- wore Kate Spade studs and some gold bangles. I always worry that lace will look cheaper in person-- this looked even nicer than in photos. Tons of compliments.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Body type: Full Bust
November 6, 2012
This is just the perfect dress for the party. Lots of compliments.....
The dress is comfortable that I was able to dance and rock with it. I will definitely rent my next dress here. The dress is so elegant the gold color is bold and you wont need to wear that much accesories.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
November 6, 2012
Great dress at the great value, many compliments all night!
My first experience with RTR and it was great! Everything arrived on time and the packaging was well done. Return was super easy, the whole process a breeze start to finish. I would definitely recommend this dress and RTR service again.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 7, 2012
Great dress, would definitely recommend
I rented this for a wedding, and it was absolutely perfect. Such a classy dress, and I got tons of compliments. The gold lace looks lighter in pictures than it actually is- it's a true yellow-gold in person. The only complaint I have is that it was a little itchy under the arms (as other people said), but nothing unbearable. Overall it was a great pick, and I was beyond pleased with the entire RTR experience.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
November 10, 2012
Incredibly beautiful dress!
This dress was amazing and even better than I expected. I felt beautiful in it all night. It was amazingly well made with a gorgeous lining and lovely lace detail in both the top and the bottom. A really classy dress. I wore it to a nice dinner and play with my boyfriend; I was overdressed at both (Chicago’s a pretty casual city) but didn’t care because I looked great. I was worried it would be itchy on top because of the other reviews, but it was actually the bottom that was a little itchy to me (sitting on the lace for a 3 hour play got a little irritating). I have super sensitive skin so if I made it with minor irritation I’m sure it would be fine for anyone else. I usually wear a size 4 and am petite and pear shaped. The 4 fit better in the top but was too tight in the hips so I went with the 6. It was maybe a little big on top but I don’t think it was too noticeable. I would recommend it to anyone and it was a great first rental with RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 10, 2012
Beautiful, classy dress. Highly recommend!
I rented this for for a fundraising dinner I was running and it was perfect. I'm 5'5'' and the 4 fit perfectly. Notice that it's not a short dress, so tights are definitely not necessary. It's more on the conservative side, which was perfect for my event. There is no stretch to the fabric whatsoever, so I would recommend sizing up if you're on the fence. Only gave it 4 stars because the zipper sticks pretty bad so you'll need a friend to help you out. Otherwise, perfect! Loved it and would rent again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 11, 2012
So many compliments on this dress from colleagues and passersby.
This dress is even more flattering in person than in photos. The skirt is comfortable and has some give and the bodice can accommodate petite and ample chests flatteringly. The grosgrain ribbon waist will not stretch at all, though. A beautiful dress with a steadfast commitment to one's middle.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
November 11, 2012
Beautiful Dress but Beware
Loved the look once I got the dress on...two people and one blister later! Tho the dress fit I could not get the side zipper up by myself. I brought the dress to the event for help and it took two to coax the zipper up past the ribbon at the waist. I brought a back-up dress just in case... Once accomplished tho it looked elegant and appropriate. Its true that the lace is a bit scratchy...but its not a deal breaker.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 14, 2012
Great fit, classic Milly. Very comfortable dress.
Looks great with black tights as well - that wasn't the plan but it was too cold! Did look like it had been worn many times before, nothing noticeable to others but you could see it on the lace being slightly discolored.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 131lbs
November 16, 2012
I love this dress - very classy and sophisticated!
I wore this dress for two black tie occasions, a charity event and a party, and it was perfect for both. The skirt definitely has a slim fit and no stretch, so it would be good to keep that in mind when choosing sizes. This dress would be appropriate for pretty much any formal (or even not-so-formal) occasion!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
November 18, 2012
Beautiful Dress, Great Service! I may never buy another dress!
I wore this dress to a holiday cocktail party. Even though RTR suggested ordering a size up, I ordered a size down for my extra size. The 2 was fitted through the hips and a little loose on top and the 0 was very tight all over, so I went with the 2 so I could breath. Very beautiful dress. As far as service, the dresses arrived on time, well packaged so they weren't wrinkled. The bad thing, is I may never want to buy another dress when I can come on RTR and pick out the perfect dress and get it in two sizes delivered directly to my door. Plus, now you never have to worry about repeating a look!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124lbs
November 21, 2012
I wore this dress for my rehearsal dinner in late October. It was perfect! Very elegant!
Fit was excellent (I read the other reviews and decided on the 4, it was perfect.) The allover lace is gorgeous, and the gold top looks very luxe. I liked how the lace goes over the lining a bit at the bottom.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128lbs
November 24, 2012
Wearing something different helped me stand out!
This dress was really fun to wear. I was a little unsure about it at first because the top is very gold, but the fit was so great that I went with it. I could wear a normal bra with it (amazing!) and the length was perfect for a summer wedding. The lace overlay and the gold made it something different from the other wedding dresses and I was very happy I chose it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 102lbs
November 24, 2012
,..
This dress was perfect. I got so many compliments on it! It fit true to size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
November 25, 2012
What made it unforgettable? ... Putting it on and forgetting you had it on...but no one else did!
Fit was true to size. Gold lace was bold....but nice. Rental price is a great value for this dress. Chose it last minute for a wedding when I found I would get the opportunity to help out with the grandson who is just under 1 year old. Forget the strapless neckline! Received compliments all night long. Father of the bride, my boyfriend, was very pleased as was I. I would definitely rent this again and feel it would be very versatile.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 27, 2012
I thought I was the best dressed at my friend's wedding...other than the bride of course! :)
I have an hourglass figure, but slightly more full on the lower half than on the top. The size 6 fit my hips, but was a bit big on top. The size 4 was definitely tighter in the hips, but fit perfectly on top. I ended up wearing the 4 because the construction of the dress and the fabric did not reveal quite how tight it was! I'm 5'2" (and a half!) and I felt tall and slim! I got a ton of compliments on it and definitely recommend this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
November 29, 2012
So comfortable
I wore this dress to a work cocktail party. For looking great, it was super comfortable too!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 45
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
November 30, 2012
The perfect choice for my husband's holiday work party. Classy, appropriate, elegant.
The fit was true, and I wore a padded bra to better fill out the top, given the gorgeous pleating at the neckline. Best of all was the quality of the lace. I added gold earrings and I was done. BTW, I rented my first two dresses from RTR in one week, and it was the easiest thing possible. It kept me from stressing out over what to wear for notable events.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 122lbs
December 3, 2012
Perfect for the Occasion
I wore this to a black tie holiday gala for work and it was perfect for the occasion...festive and feminine, but also conservative. I was working the event and the dress was comfortable enough for me to wear throughout the evening. My only complaint is the zipper. The dress fit perfectly, but the zipper was very hard to get up and I needed assistance. Overall, I was happy with the dress and I received several compliments.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
December 3, 2012
I wore this dress to my Winter Formal last year, and it was perfect.
It is definitely true to size and fits a bit snugly in the hip area. The only bad thing is that it was hard for my to dance because the skirt ends right at the knee. Sometimes the top would annoy me because the material is scratchy on the outside, but other than that it was perfect for my event.
See more reviews:
3 / 15

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×