Sweet Madeline Dress

$90 to buy
$405 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Grab your date and rent this beautiful dress by Milly for the holiday party. A classic combination of gold and black metallic lace is perfect for a night of dancing with friends!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any bust size-comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with bow detail
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow at hips - curvy women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any bust size-comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with bow detail
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow at hips - curvy women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Gold and black metallic lace over silk lining. Crew neckline with pleating. Black satin buttons on back with keyhole opening. Grosgrain bow at waist. Hidden back zip. 39'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
560 reviews
Fit
Large
(6)
True to Size
(387)
Small
(142)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
January 30, 2015
Perfect for a formal occasion!
I received many compliments throughout the night. My only complaint would be about how scratchy the material was both around the neck and underneath the arms. If you're sensitive to certain materials then I would not recommend this dress. However, it was very easy to dance in!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
January 23, 2015
NYE dinner cruise
I actually ordered a size 8 and 10, the larger size fit better but the lace was too thick and stiff making me look larger in size. This dress is for smaller size younger women not my age group.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 121lbs
January 23, 2015
I loved the vintage look of the dress! I received several compliments.
It fit me well, but I am not very curvy. I probably could have worn the 2, except the waist was too small. It is hard to see but there is a wide ribbon and a flat bow around the waist and there is no give in that area. Thankfully I ordered the 2 and 4! I would recommend for anyone without a lot of curves.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
January 15, 2015
Great dress!
I ordered a size 4 & 6. The 4 was snug at the waist but the 6 was way too big in the bust. I was comfortable in the 4. The dress was very pretty and perfect for my work holiday dinner.
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Party
January 14, 2015
Great Dress. Received tons of compliments even from complete strangers!
As several others have said, there is no give in the middle bow. However, I loved this dress and the look. Wore it to my husbands corporate holiday party, very comfortable and flattering!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126lbs
January 8, 2015
Tasteful and classy dress for a work party
I wore this for a formal work sales meeting. Normally, I wear something shorter and flashier, but since these are my coworkers, I figured I should tone it down a bit! This dress was idea, based on the high neckline and relatively longer length. I still felt sexy without feeling exposed! Here are the details: Shoes: gold peep-toe. I didn't love the shoes, but they were all I had in the closet. Hair: http://www.thesmallthingsblog.com/2011/09/elegant-half-up/ (looked better from the back than the front, but it was quick and appropriate. Plus I had to travel to the event, which means I didn't have all my styling tools available Undergear: I wore Spanx. It isn't totally necessary, but the dress is fairly form fitting. The little extra compression gave a smooth look and aided in sitting. I wore a normal bra. Cons: As other reviewers have noted, there is VERY little wiggle room, especially in the rib cage area. I went with the smaller size in order to give me a little more hourglass shape, but I did have to breath shallow the entire night. The lace was a little itchy and stiff, but not really noticeable. If you go down to the smaller size, and your bust is a bit larger, wear a bra with less padding and more compression to gain a few millimeters of breathing room.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
January 6, 2015
Beautiful Dress!! So Elegant!!
Beautiful material The gold part is shiny. Very comfortable while wearing but hard to put on. I highly recommend it.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
January 3, 2015
Christmas party event
Very nice dress for work Christmas party. I received many compliments. I am only 4'11'' so this dress fell right below my knee which I was completely fine with. The dress is tight around the rib cage (no give) and since I'm so short I felt that the top bunched so needed to make sure pull it down. I was very happy with the dress and would rent again.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Weight: 152lbs
January 2, 2015
Both sizes to small.
I was unable to fit in this dress because it would not close in the back. It zipped up my bottom half but when it got to around my bust and shoulders it did not fit. I am athletic and have a broad chest and muscular back I would not recommend this dress if you have that body type.
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
December 30, 2014
I ended up returning.
I ended up returning the dress and not wearing it to my event. It was very pretty and the detail was gorgeous, but I ran into an issue that I'm sure other short gals are familiar with. The length was really off for me. It hit me about mid calf only exposing a couple inches of leg before my ankles. I found the length to be very unflattering and made me look frumpy. It's always challenging with these things when you're not the average height so I took a gamble but unfortunately this dress was a bust for me. Think twice if you're a shorty like me, but otherwise it's gorgeous.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 146lbs
December 29, 2014
Beautiful dress & perfect for X-mas time!
I ended up wearing the 8 because the zipper was broken on the 6. The 8 was a bit big on my chest. Would have worn the 6 if it wasn't for the zipper! The lace does get a bit itchy but it wasn't at all annoying!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 28, 2014
Perfect Christmas party dress
I wore this dress to a Christmas party I hosted at my home. It was perfect for the event -- festive but not too over-the-top in the sparkly holiday department. I got a lot of compliments. I opted for the 6 over the 4 because it was a tad tight in the hips and rib cage for me, although the 4 fit my waist and bust better. In the end the dress looked great and was very fun to wear.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 108lbs
December 26, 2014
Loved the sparkle and fit !
The dress fit perfectly. Was not too itchy under the arms. The leg movement is very restricting so small steps and not getting into a tall vehicle are recommended ! Otherwise this was one of my favorite rentals !
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Body type: Athletic
December 25, 2014
The dress was too small and I ended up not wearing it and returned it
The dress was too small and I ended up not wearing it and returned it
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
December 20, 2014
Fun night!
Perfect length for a professional/work oriented event. Classy style. Dress is well made and worth the rental. It seems to run small, so i was glad to have ordered the back up in a larger size!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
December 20, 2014
Stunning!
The gold and black combination is an elegant combination. The top is rich in color and lace detail. I wore this dress to my graduation from Nurse Anesthesia School. I was ecstatic and proud to have reached this milestone; the dress helped me reflect how I was feeling! Loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 158lbs
December 19, 2014
Fun event due to telling everyone I rented the dress…drummed up a lot of business.
Dress was comfortable, didn't need a lot of jewelry, comfortable, long enough to not feel self conscious.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
December 18, 2014
Perfect dress for the office party!
First, apologies for the poor picture; my friend and I completely forgot to get some good photos of us that night. The dress fit me in both the 8 and 10, however, I knew I'd be eating a ton as well as dancing later on in the night, so I chose to go with the 10 for a little extra room. I was surprised that only the top button in back unbuttoned, however, there's a zipper on the side. The dress was a good length standing (not too short), but once seated, I had to be careful of showing too much leg! I found that the fabric around the arms rubbed me a bit, but I am known for having sensitive skin, and it wasn't bad once I stopped thinking about it. Overall, the dress is not made of very giving fabric which makes it very forgiving; I didn't wear hose with it because I didn't need to suck anything in or smooth anything out - the dress did it for me. I highly recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
December 17, 2014
Lovely dress, perfect for an office party.
This is a lovely, office-appropriate dress - the gold is not at all flashy, and it's not too tight. I think it would look best on someone with more curves than I have. :) It was my back-up dress and I ended up wearing a different one.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Body type: Full Bust
December 16, 2014
The dress got here on time and fits perfect
I'm usually a size 2 but I wore a size 0 on this one. Felt slightly tight on the bust but I think it looks perfect anyway. I wanted to keep it
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 117lbs
December 14, 2014
Great dress, the zero fit, but it was tight so I went with the 2.
It's tight like everyone said in the bust area, but besides that it's great!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Body type: Pear
Weight: 158lbs
December 12, 2014
Lovely lace dress for office holiday party
Wore this to my husband's company holiday party and felt great all night. The belt band has no give, like other reviewers have mentioned, so standing was better than sitting, but still a comfortable, conservative dress perfect for an office party. The lining near one of the shoulders was a bit messed up, but that is really my only complaint. Great first experience with RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 11, 2014
Material, color and detailing on this dress were very high quality.
The waist fell above my natural waist (not the first time it's happened!) so I had a larger size shipped the next day. The 12 was the only larger size available, it was a bit loose but it worked out. There is no stretch at all in the waistband - so if you tend to have the same problem definitely size up!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 9, 2014
The color and fit.
I usually wear size 0, but with this one, size 0 runs small, size 2 fits really well. I loved this dress.
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
December 9, 2014
Pretty dress for a holiday party.
I ended up wearing the 0, although much more of the time I wear a 2. It fit well, but the fabric has no give or stretch to it, so when I sat down it felt really tight. Not altogether uncomfortable just tight. The lace under the arms is a little itchy I'm glad I wasn't dancing in it. Beautiful dress! Really great for a holiday party and really nice dressed up with statement jewelry.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 7, 2014
Wore this to a Christmas party and received numerous compliments!
Ordered the 4 with a 6 as back up but the under slip was a little tight so the 6 fit perfect
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 6, 2014
Super cute dress! Amazing fabric! Classy!
Great dress for a formal dinner! Loved it! Material is beautiful although the belt could have been nicer... Overall great rental!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
December 5, 2014
Holiday Festive
Rented this dress for a Christmas party. It was beautiful and very Christmas. I thought it made me look slimmer even though I had been enjoying a lot of holiday cookies. The material was beautiful but a little uncomfortable for my arms. They are a bit sensitive. My son loved the material though. It was also a little tight for sitting. I would rent this dress again in a heartbeat though because it was beautiful and flattering.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
December 3, 2014
Pretty, but an odd fit
I really wanted to like this dress, but it just wasn't for me. The top fit perfectly, but the ribbon around the waist made it look squeezed on and the black "skirt" part was somewhat puffy at the top, givign the impression of bulk.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
November 10, 2014
Gorgeous dress.
I wish this dress was in my closet! I wore it to an engagement party and loved it. It was just shimmery enough, not over the top. The length was perfect for my height (5'8"). It has no stretch, but fit perfectly. I will definitely consider renting this again in the future!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 6, 2014
Beautiful Lace
Wore this to a company holiday party. Pictures do not show the true details this dress. The lace all over the dress is gorgeous. I'm 5'2" and it hit right above my knee and had the conservative yet sexy look I was going for. Received many compliments, even from strangers. The waist doesn't give and felt a little tight after eating. I had to pin the back down a little since my bust didn't fill in the top of the dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 129lbs
November 6, 2014
Beautiful wedding with great friends
This dress was great! Form fitting but classy, gives you pull to move around on the dance floor, gorgeous color, and not overly thick material. Only con- the lace gets a bit scratchy near the underarm area. However, it wasn't uncomfortable enough to make a mark or make me want to change.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 160lbs
October 28, 2014
More than a LBD
This is a great dress if you want to stand out in a sea of little black dresses. The top is definitely GOLD. I was hoping it would be more ivory w/gold tones. Nice details with the bow at the waist and the black buttons up the back. Figure flattering!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Body type: Athletic
October 23, 2014
Very classy, loved it.
I wore this dress to a formal event/fundraiser for a charity. I am usually a size 4 and couldn't get the zipper up on the side. I wore the six. The dress fits snugly and doesn't give much when you move or get up and down. I understand why some said the material is itchy. It didn't really bother me but I can see how it might bother some. The gold is much more gold than what you see in the pictures and the material was thicker than expected. Overall, I really liked how I felt in the dress and would recommend it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
October 18, 2014
Pretty details!
Pretty dress but I ended up wearing my back-up instead (Icing On The Cake Dress). I usually wear a 4 and ordered this in a 4 and 6 since most of the reviews said it runs small. I agree! The 6 was a good fit but the material felt heavy and I just preferred the other dress.
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
October 17, 2014
The customer service was AWESOME! The dress didn't fit. Within and hour a new dress was shipped out!
The dress has NO GIVE. I ordered my size because the reviews said it fit true to size. The next size up was not available so I was limited that way had the next size been there that would have been perfect! The customer service was great and sent me two new dresses ASAP!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
October 16, 2014
Beautiful dress but very small in the bust
I rented this dress for a gala that I needed a conservative cocktail dress for. The dress is beautiful and would have been perfect if it had fit. I ordered an 8 and 10 and while both fit in the waist and hips I couldn't close the 8 in the bust and the 10 was too tight to be wearable. I'm a c cup and would say if you are more than a b, this might not be the dress for you.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150lbs
October 15, 2014
It was perfect for a early winter occasion. I wore it to a wedding rehearsal dinner.
It fit well, tight but comfortable and very flattering. Held in your stomach.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
October 13, 2014
Love the back details!
Beautiful dress. I really loved the material design. The gold is just enough to really make the dress pop without over doing it. A tad tight on the top for someone bigger chested which made the zipper very difficult.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
October 10, 2014
I ended up not wearing it and had to return it sadly!
I personally found that I was too short for this dress at 5'3 and did not have a long enough torso as it sat very strangely on my hips. I would not recommend it unless you are at least 5'5. If you are narrow, it will fit you the best.
See more reviews:
3 / 14

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×