Rent the Runway

Milly

Such a Doll Dress

$35 rental
$395 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Rent this sparkling bow back dress by Milly for a holiday cocktail party.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size- high neckline so larger busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not fitted - fuller skirt conceals hips and backside- curvier women should consider sizing up for length
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or NuBra due to low back; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size- high neckline so larger busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not fitted - fuller skirt conceals hips and backside- curvier women should consider sizing up for length
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or NuBra due to low back; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black sparkle matelasse. Crew neckline. Deep scoop back with bow detail. Full skirt with pleating. Hidden back zip. 34'' from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

193 reviews

Fit
Small 18
True to Size 131
Large 42
Photos 91
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 123 lbs
Jan 25, 2012

Gorgeous dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a formal work holiday party. I got so many compliments and it ended up fitting (I was nervous because of my shape). The dress has a beautiful shimmer that you can't really see in the picture and the bow detail on the back is so adorable. I was able to wear a regular bra with it, but I attached it to the dress with bobby pins under the bow so it wouldn't shift. I paired it with a long necklace like the picture and it was PERFECT! I didn't want to send it back!!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 149 lbs
Jan 25, 2012

Beautiful DRESS!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I loved the dress it looked awesome on! The only thing was that when I put on a bra with it my boobs looked smashed so I had to wear pasties but then it looked great!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 31, 2012

Right on!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered this for a formal Sweet 16 party. The fit was very comfortable a bit loose but that's the way it should be. If i got the smaller size it would have been very tight on my pear shape body. The back was not that low, I was able to put the bra extensions to lower the back and it worked. The lenght was excellent for my hight as well, not too short. But more importantly, I felt beautiful and happy that I chose this dress. I would def rent this again. I did not wear a necklace but did put on a long earring and a beautiful bracelet.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Feb 4, 2012

Nice Dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress to a radio ball. When I got it, it looked a little more formal than I had expected. I dressed it down with knee high boots and tights, and it actually worked out quite well. The top of the dress was a bit on the larger size, it would be good for women who are bustier. I choose to size down and the dress looked great on. My one big complaint is that the red underskirt of the dress stuck out the bottom the whole time, which was really obnoxious. If I owned the dress, I would do as far as actually cutting a few inches off that underskirt, it was just way too long.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Feb 18, 2012

nice dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
i ordered this for a semi formal and it was great, the waist is a little lower than i expected on it also the material is very shiny which i couldn't tell in the picture. overall i really liked it!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Feb 23, 2012

Great Dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I love this dress and received a lot of compliments! It does run big. I probably could have gone down a size, but because is was black and not supposed to be form fitting you couldn't really tell it was big. I do have one negative though, the pink liner of the dress showed the entire time. I had a few people tell me my slip was showing... I then had to explain it was the liner of the dress. Other than that it is perfect for a small waisted gal, with hips! :)
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 10, 2012

Classy Dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this to a black-tie work function. I really loved the fit and I felt appropriately dressed. It was flattering yet did not show too much skin for a more conservative event. Another plus was that it was extremely comfortable!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
May 7, 2012

Great dress - Classy and Sexy

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I was worried about how sparkly the dress looked in some of the other review photos, but it was because of flash. It looked just like the website's pictures. Dress looked fabulous on and I got many compliments. If you are going to order, definitely buy / get the low bra back they suggest. It was super helpful.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 22, 2012

Fabulous!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was so fun. I loved how it was subtly shimmering, and I LOVED the bow detail in the back! It is a lower scoop in the back, but with the right low-back bra it worked fine! It also gave me some hips (which I always love) with the skirt flare at the perfect spot. I would absolutely recommend this dress.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 10, 2012

This was such a cute dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress fit about true to size (I also got a 6), but I would say it definitely needs some statement jewelry to go along with the dress. It comes off a little basic in front otherwise.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Aug 13, 2012

Amazing Dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
this dress is amazing - great fit, hits about mid-thigh (my arms, when down, hit the bottom hem) & incredibly flattering. Fabric is strong enough to keep the shape and fit like a glove while not actually pinching anywhere.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 52
Body type: Petite
Aug 13, 2012

Great dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The material was a little different than expected but it was a great dress, wore it with a great necklace. Lots of compliments
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Aug 20, 2012

I wore it for Michelle Obama!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress to interpret for Michelle Obama. It was pretty, formal, and had it fit right, would be quite comfortable. With the low back and loose fit below the waist, you don't need Spanx (YAY) but have to wear a NuBra or other backless bra. Not an issue for someone small chested like me, but might be an issue for bustier girls. My only major issue with this dress is that because I'm short-waisted, the fitted waist on the dress did not line up with my natural waist so it felt a little snug and hung incorrectly. The backup size was too big and because the back is so open, I couldn't get away with wearing a too big size. I'd advise against renting this dress if you're short-waisted because it just doesn't work. I have had this issue with other dresses, but the bodice of this dress runs longer than others.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 21, 2012

Runs a little bit large

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wore this during rush week. The dress was a tad bit big on me but not noticeably. Other than that the style was adorable. Loved the dress and would recommend it.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Aug 31, 2012

Not for me

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was not flattering at all on me. Would not recommend for anyone with wide hips as it made me look much larger.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Sep 4, 2012

Cute dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress out for my friend's birthday to a fancy hotel. This dress was really great, but it was a bit ill-fitting/loose up top (would probably be better for someone who is a bit fuller up top). It was also longer than I had hoped- would have been great for a formal affair, but I was hoping it'd be a bit shorter for a fun night out. All in all, great quality and shine, and the flaws were nothing that some clothes-pins couldn't fix!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Sep 5, 2012

Simple, sweet, and sparkle

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress with Kate Spade's Solarium Bib necklace and it was the perfect combo of black and color for a wedding rehearsal. The dress was surprisingly comfortable and the back is super cute! The slight undertone of sparkles show up well in pictures. Makes you feel pretty without being over-the-top.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 12, 2012

I hosted an engagement party and looked like the perfect hostess without fading into the background.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
You will need to wear a NuBra or no bra.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Sep 17, 2012

Elegant and easy to wear

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a formal wedding in San Francisco with a layered pearl necklace. It runs true to size and has a great fit for anyone with a large bust, small waist and fuller hips/backside. The shine adds a bit of flare when the sun goes down. This dress is super fun because you can dress it up with jewelry and pumps or go casual with more color - love it!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 17, 2012

Like the shimmer dressed it up a little from the typical black dress.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It was good for a larger bust but the waist was a little awkward as I am only 5' tall. I think it would have been perfect if I were taller.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Sep 18, 2012

Beautiful shiny dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Nice dress just runs to large for size
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
Sep 19, 2012

Perfect fit, loved the sparkly fabric, got a ton of compliments on the dress all night.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit perfectly and true to size. The sparkles in the fabric and bow in the back added a perfect amount of detail to the dress. Would definitely rent this again.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Sep 26, 2012

The perfect LBD!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this to two shows during fashion week and it was perfect for the setting. Stylish enough to wear in the setting yet still simple and comfortable enough to go between shows. I'm usually a size 6, but this fit a bit larger on me. It wasn't a noticeable difference in size just enough for some wiggle room. The shimmer in the dress is not overpowering and helps give off a bit of personality from a standard black dress. Also, the back doesn't scoop down as far as the picture seems so you can still wear spanks!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Sep 26, 2012

Friend's Wedding

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I LOVED this dress. It was a litle big on me, so even though I rented a 0 it ran a little big. But I got a ton of compliments and the bow in the back is just SO cute!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 27, 2012

The secret hot pink lining!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore it for my best friends wedding rehearsal and I loved it. The dress was comfortable, the fit was great, and I got a lot of complaints.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 4, 2012

I didn't end up wearing the dress because I rented two, but it is adorable.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress is adorable, though with a little poof on the hips it can make you look a little wider. That said, the waist is slimming and it's short so your legs do show (proving that your not as wide as the poof may indicate). I didn't end up wearing the dress because I only needed one and rented two, but when I tried it on I thought it could get a little tight in the waist after a big dinner because there is no give/stretch in the fabric. The back of the dress is awesome and with nice shoes and jewelry it would look great.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123 lbs
Oct 6, 2012

The dress was exactly what I wanted

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress but if you have long legs and a short torso you will have to pin the waist so the waist isn't to loose!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Oct 9, 2012

It runs big, couldn't wear.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress looked fun but I ordered a 2 and it was inches too big. I normally wear a 2. Also, the pink slip underlayer showed and didn't lay well under the black. I'm sure it could have been cute--just couldn't wear! I do like the sheen/sparkle of the material. It's a fun version of a black dress.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 11, 2012

Smaller busts order a smaller size! Customer Service is GREAT though!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The dress is beautiful! However, I ordered the 4 and the 6 (since I normally wear can wear a 4) and both sizes were too big. I feel like this dress requires a larger bust which unfortunately I don't have. RTR customer service was fantastic and helped me to exchange the dress for another! I will definitely try renting this dress again when I have an occasion but will plan on getting the 2 and 0.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Oct 14, 2012

I received so many compliments, very Audrey Hepburn- esque!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Very flattering on the waist.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 15, 2012

I chatted with a specialist before hand & they were right on the dot with recommendations

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was try to size. I wore it for a rehearsal dinner and got so many compliments. I loved it!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158 lbs
Oct 17, 2012

Good for a conservative event, looks great with a high bun and statement necklace.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I got a size 6 and size 8. The size 6 fit better on top and on my waist, but was a little snug in the hip and butt area. Also the 6 was also a little too short (black tights would have been a must). When I went up to the size 8, the dress fit okay but looked a little frumpy. I thought the back would be lower (and more dramatic), but I was able to wear a regular bra in both sizes and it did not show. The fabric is so pretty in person. It's like glittery threads were woven in the fabric. The fabric is soft, which would have made it a very comfortable dress for the evening. In the end, I decided to go with my back-up dress because it was more form fitting and flattering.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 29, 2012

Got so many compliments on the dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I normally wouldn't get size 2, but based on the reviews I read I ordered a 2 and a 4 thinking I'd be more of a 4. The 4 was definitely way too big, and the 2 fit well. The waist runs big, it could have fit better around there. But overall the dress was beautiful, textured and sparkly. It came a few inches above my knee, and the back of the dress isn't as low as it looks - my regular bra didn't show. For a plain black dress it was very special and it made me feel very glamorous!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Oct 30, 2012

na - did not wear it BUT the rental experience was very easy.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved the dress however, I have a strange body type as I am very petite but have a large bust. I had to get a larger size for my chest, but then the rest of the dress looked huge, but my chest looked so flat. This dress would look great on anyone with standard proportions.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Body type: Pear
Nov 2, 2012

Fun, sexy dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this as my second choice to wear to a wedding. The fit was so great I wound up wearing it! It's so fun, with the low back and bow (not to mention the hot pink lining). The only reason why I didn't give it five stars is because there were threads hanging off of it in a lot of places. RTR sent me a new one within a day, but it still had the same problem.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Body type: Petite
Dec 3, 2012

it was so easy to receive and mail back

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
perfect!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 13, 2012

Adorable dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I'm 5'9", 135 lbs, and ordered the 4 and the 6. The dress was true to size, and I could have worn either (there wasn't much of a difference in the shape), but I went with the 6 because it was slightly longer on my legs, and I was a little worried that if I bent over too much, the bow on the back would become unsnapped.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Dec 14, 2012

Lovely party dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Runs a bit large. Simple front, but the gorgeous back makes the dress.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 17, 2012

Perfect dress for a holiday cocktail party!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I was able to squeeze into the size 2 but the 4 was much more comfortable and very flattering. My boyfriend loved it!!! I did have to wear a special, backless bra which wasn't a big deal because I already had it. Love it and would totally rent it again!!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 23, 2012

It was a very cute dress - best for somebody tall because the torso is long.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was very cute. However, I wasn't able to wear it because I felt like it was not in good shape. There are these glitter type strands that were fraying all over the back that looked like it had been work many times.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×