Milly

Such a Doll Dress

$35 rental
$395 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Rent this sparkling bow back dress by Milly for a holiday cocktail party. Add a pop of color by accessorizing with the RJ Graziano's Watercolor Stone Statement Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size- high neckline so larger busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not fitted - fuller skirt conceals hips and backside- curvier women should consider sizing up for length
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or NuBra due to low back; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size- high neckline so larger busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not fitted - fuller skirt conceals hips and backside- curvier women should consider sizing up for length
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or NuBra due to low back; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black sparkle matelasse. Crew neckline. Deep scoop back with bow detail. Full skirt with pleating. Hidden back zip. 34'' from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

189 reviews

Fit
Small 17
True to Size 129
Large 41
Photos 88
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 17, 2012

Perfect dress for a holiday cocktail party!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I was able to squeeze into the size 2 but the 4 was much more comfortable and very flattering. My boyfriend loved it!!! I did have to wear a special, backless bra which wasn't a big deal because I already had it. Love it and would totally rent it again!!
Michele
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 23, 2012

It was a very cute dress - best for somebody tall because the torso is long.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was very cute. However, I wasn't able to wear it because I felt like it was not in good shape. There are these glitter type strands that were fraying all over the back that looked like it had been work many times.
Katrina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 26, 2012

The dress provided the extra sparkle I was looking for

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress was beautiful. The bow in the back was a great touch. The only thing I didn't like was the hem line where it started cinching was lower than I had expected so the dress fit a bit differently than i anticipated but still loved it and would rent again!
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 27, 2012

Felt like pajamas but looked like the runway!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I absolutely am in love with this dress! It was so comfortable, sexy but not overstated, fun with a little bit of sparkle and a low back with a bow (but not so low that I couldn't wear my normal strapless bra). The only negative was that the hot pink satin lining showed sometimes, which didn't bother me in the situation I was in but might have if I was wearing it to a more formal affair. But it's fun! I wish I could keep it forever.
Frances
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 133 lbs
Jan 1, 2013

Really enjoyed this dress!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fun dress!!!
Diane
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 2, 2013

Customer service was amazing

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress runs very very large- normally a 2 or 4 and the 2 was even too big. Also had a problem where the lining was showing, which im not sure its suposed to. Besides from that a very cute and classy dress
mariel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 2, 2013

cute dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I think I was expecting it to be fantastic but was it just cute. The pink lining was coming out the bottom so I had to fold it up and pin it so it wouldnt show. While it was a cute dress, I wish I got another one.
Cammy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 2, 2013

This dress was perfect!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was absolutely adorable! It fit perfectly and looked very classy. The shimmer of the dress is more pronounced in person but it's very pretty and subtle. The back requires a backless bra
Lynn
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Jan 13, 2013

I wasn't able to wear it.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Too small in chest.
Becky
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 16, 2013

Great service!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for wedding. I have a smaller bust, so the sleeves fell off my arms a bit. Also, the dress had hot pink lining and the lining came out under the hem of the dress about a quarter inch so it definitely showed. I didn't notice this in any of the pictures posted so maybe it was just the dress I received. I ultimately decided to return it to RTR since I didn't like the way I looked. RTR was amazing and gave me a credit for another dress. I can't wait to try RTR out for another event! They have a wonderful customer service team and next time I will definitely use one of their stylists!
Mommy Chic
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Jan 19, 2013

I really gambled on RTR. I had three events in one weekend but I felt great at every one of them.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This is a very cute dress and it was perfect for the occasion. However, I think you need to have straight hips to wear it otherwise the top will bunch and the shoulders will fall off. I ended up wearing it with a blazer because I didn't want to fuss with it but still got a bunch of compliments..
Kaitlin
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 20, 2013

Amazing little black dress for a formal or semi-formal affair!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a friend's wedding that was "black-tie optional" - It was the perfect dress!! I'm typically not big on sparkle but the gold sparkle in this dress was the perfect amount. I typically teeter between a 2 an 4 so I got both sizes; I ended up wearing the 2 but I honestly could have worn either. The only issue I had was that you could tell the dress had been worn a bit. The material had started to fray but it wasn't so much that it was unwearable. I would highly suggest rentitn this dress; you can't go wrong!
Kc
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
Feb 6, 2013

The back of this dress was so pretty! Everyone loved it!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
wonderful fit!
Crystal
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 8, 2013

Not for small hips/waist!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I couldn't wear this dress because it was so ill-fitting for me. I would guess this dress only works for pear shapes. I had to send the dress back, but fortunately had a back-up. If you have small hips and waist and larger bust, you will be swimming in this dress on the bottom even if you size down. This was the first RTR dress that hasn't fit me, so I really can't complain, but be careful with renting this dress depending on your body type!
Ally
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Feb 10, 2013

I wish that this one had fit!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I absolutely loved this dress in the pictures, but when it came in it was MASSIVE (I ordered the 0 and it was falling off). There was no way that I could have worn it. This is such a cute dress, but it's not great for petite girls
MG
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 10, 2013

Size down!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I ordered the Size 2 as my regular size and 4 as a back-up (usually a 4, but read that this dress runs a little large); Ended up that the person who had the Size 2 didn't send it in on time, so I was able to pick out another dress, free of charge! (Great customer service!) However, the 4 was WAY too big and unfortunately, neither sizes of the 2nd dress fit. I have a feeling that the Size 2 would have fit perfectly First time that RTR didn't work out for me!
Brittany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118 lbs
Mar 8, 2013

This was a great rental!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress fit wonderful and was very comfortable!
kelly h.
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Mar 22, 2013

Great New Year's dress!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I've rented this dress twice now, once for a holiday party and again for New Year's. I ended up getting it as a backup since the original dress that I rented for NYE didn't work out. I was happy to know that this dress worked because I had worn it before. The only thing I don't love about the dress is that the top half is a little on the long side. I have a shorter torso and this style is a little awkward, but I was able to make it work both times. I also love the fabric and the sparkles and the cute bow on the back.
Allison
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Apr 3, 2013

Close, but no.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Had to send it back, just couldn't make this one work. Ran too small for me.
Ellie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Apr 8, 2013

The back is what makes the dress! It's subtle but very cute.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I'm around 5"1 and 115 ish so I guess I'd say it runs large since I normally wear a 2 or 4.
Julia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Apr 29, 2013

Cute dress, but had some issues...

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The fabric of the dress is adorable, as is the back detailing. It's a perfect party dress that can be dressed up or down with shoes and accessories. Unfortunately, the dress was very large on me in the waist, hips and skirt. I rented the zero, but it felt more like a size four. Also, the seams in the waist had been stretched out and were shiny and transparent in places. Couldn't wear for these reasons.
Marci
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
May 10, 2013

Great customer service, clean dress that looked fresh, easy to wear!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I received so many compliments on the dress (especially the back)!
Megan
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
May 17, 2013

Great dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Good LBD
Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 133 lbs
May 22, 2013

Great canvas, ready for a statement necklace

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress, though it didn't fit me perfectly.
luckilizzie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Jul 14, 2013

I wore the dress for a military formal and it was a perfect fit!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress is true to size. The back was slightly low-cut for me, I needed to pin my bra to hide it, but other than that it was a great choice! Definitely rent!
Liz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Jul 17, 2013

Everyone complimented the dress and said how great it looked! It made my night.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit: Spot on, a little short...I would have been more comfortable wearing tights. Look: Fun party dress but classy enough for a wedding. The sheen/sparkle is more apparent in person than in the picture.
Michele
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Oct 8, 2013

fun and easy to wear

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was a great dress. I found the lenght to be the right balance between sexy and comfortable. Even with the scoop back, I managed to wear a regular bra just pulled down a bit and it stayed perfectly all night.
kelli
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 8, 2013

A nice dress, like a nice pair of jeans, always makes you feel beautiful when it fits just right.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit is pretty accurate. I usually run between a 4 and a 6, but chose the smaller size for this occasion. It is tighter through the waist/stomach area, but also a material that doesn't show lumps and bumps--so do with that what you'd like. I'm 5'6" and the length was very classy. I wore it with black tights, and it looked great... so you can definitely swing it in the winter too. I was nervous about the material having silver specks because gold is my jewelry of choice, but I still rocked the gold with no reservations. I think it would not be a good choice for a more formal occasion (again, because of the silver specks), but for a wedding or a semi-formal event, it is very appropriate.
Katelyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 144 lbs
Nov 12, 2013

I rented for my 21st but I was unable to wear :(

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The dress is very cute on the hanger but the fabric has no stretch and caused a little pouch over my stomach area and was much too tight on my hips/butt. I would not recommend for girls with curvier bottom haves because the fabric and shape of the dress is quite unforgiving. This dress would be adorable on a more petite frame. Beautiful fabric and looks more sparkly/shiny in person!
Katie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 18, 2013

they were delivered on time and in great condition!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Pros: True to size, was in good condition Cons: the seams at the was it ere tearing a bit making it look weird
Susan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 18, 2013

Beautiful dress just too big

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is great, albeit a bit noticeably worn. Loved the fabric, sheen, bow in the back. Unfortunately, it was too big to work for my event. I typically am a 2/4 and the 2 as a backup was unavailable. If you order just make sure to size down for your backup.
Janice
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 59
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160 lbs
Dec 19, 2013

Beautiful yet simple black dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I actually didn't end up wearing this dress as the torso on the dress is unusually long and the seams didn't fit my body type. The 10 was too large in the straps and the hot pink lining of the dress was showing through the entire front of the dress. It was beautiful on the model but didn't work out for me!
Maria
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 30, 2013

Was hoping this would be a great New Year's Eve dress

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I really wanted this dress to work for New Year's Eve, but alas the fit was a bit awkward. As noted in the fit section, the waist is tight and doesn't have much give. The size 4 fit my A cup bust well and the poofy skirt worked with my pear shape, but the waist was much too tight. The top of the size 6, on the other hand, drooped on my modest bust (I would have needed to had the taken in to make it work), even though the waist was much more comfortable. As another reviewer noted, this dress requires you to have excellent posture to look good. Any sort of slouching will result in weird sagging around the waist. This, coupled with the fact that the waistline hit me at an awkward spot between my natural waist and hips (I've never been told or thought that I have a particularly short or long torso, so this seemed a bit unusual), resulted in a not very flattering look. I suspect the dress might work on someone blessed with a tighter tummy!
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 2, 2014

Nothing special

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
My backup dress wasn't available, so RTR sent this one instead. The good news was that you could wear a regular bra with it (as long as it goes low enough in the back). Unfortunately, though, it just wasn't anything special on me. If you are curvy/have a larger bust, it just doesn't do much for your shape.
Martii
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 164 lbs
Jan 2, 2014

Wonderful customer service.. this dress however, not so wonderful :(

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered this dress in addition to the Shoshanna Cypress Lace dress (which was beautiful) to have a back up dress for my friends' New Year's Eve wedding. This dress definitely did not "wow" me like the other. The material did not look as classy as in the picture. It actually looked pretty cheap to be honest.. the dress has a hot pink slip underneath which was showing at the bottom when I put the dress on. Overall, I'm extremely happy that the Shoshanna dress fit and looked beautiful because this dress was definitely a disappointment!
Rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 15, 2014

Perfect for a date night!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I wore this dress out on a date in the city. I was looking for something that was dressier, but not over the top and this dress was perfect. It had just the right amount of sparkle to it that I would have wanted and the material was heavier which was good for the winter weather. The 10 was a little big up top for me, but the 8 was not available so I wore it anyway. I tried wearing it with a bra, but the V in the back goes down far and you can see the bra strap so I wore it with no bra and it was no problem. I would suggest wearing with a low back bra or a new bra so there's no strap in the back. I would definitely rent this dress again!
Annalisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 23, 2014

Very pretty but thin fabric.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I really liked the fit of this dress. It was very flattering and comfortable when I put it on. But I noticed the fabric was somewhat thin and when I looked in the mirror you could see the outline of my bra. I tried different bras to try to avoid this but still ended up happening. I ended up returning the dress and getting credit back.
Leela
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Feb 13, 2014

Classy!!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is perfect for a formal event, the silhouette was really pretty and the sparkle adds fun! However, I didn't rate this dress with 5 stars because it was pretty loose in the top (I'm a 34C), yet tight around the hips, so I had trouble sitting comfortably at some points. Overall great rental!
Brooke
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Feb 15, 2014

Wedding on the Boston Harbor

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Too small! It wouldn't even zip up in the back...
Phoebe
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123 lbs
Mar 2, 2014

Fun night at a friend's wedding!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great fit, beautiful dress.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×