Milly

Such a Doll Dress

$89 to buy
$395 retail
Stylist Notes

Rent this sparkling bow back dress by Milly for a holiday cocktail party.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size- high neckline so larger busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not fitted - fuller skirt conceals hips and backside- curvier women should consider sizing up for length
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or NuBra due to low back; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Product Details

Black sparkle matelasse. Crew neckline. Deep scoop back with bow detail. Full skirt with pleating. Hidden back zip. 34'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
213 reviews
Fit
Large
(42)
True to Size
(145)
Small
(19)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134lbs
December 22, 2012
Cute and easy to wear!
This dress is easy with just enough sparkle to make it nice for a work Christmas dinner. I don't think this designer fits me well though as the ribs/waist fit just right, but there was too much room in the bust (I'm a 34B). I just kept it pulled down. The back was just low enough I could wear with a regular bra. The little bow in back is cute. The length was just right and the Surprise Bling necklace was great!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
December 27, 2012
Felt like pajamas but looked like the runway!
I absolutely am in love with this dress! It was so comfortable, sexy but not overstated, fun with a little bit of sparkle and a low back with a bow (but not so low that I couldn't wear my normal strapless bra). The only negative was that the hot pink satin lining showed sometimes, which didn't bother me in the situation I was in but might have if I was wearing it to a more formal affair. But it's fun! I wish I could keep it forever.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 133lbs
January 1, 2013
Really enjoyed this dress!!
Fun dress!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
January 2, 2013
Customer service was amazing
This dress runs very very large- normally a 2 or 4 and the 2 was even too big. Also had a problem where the lining was showing, which im not sure its suposed to. Besides from that a very cute and classy dress
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
January 2, 2013
cute dress
I think I was expecting it to be fantastic but was it just cute. The pink lining was coming out the bottom so I had to fold it up and pin it so it wouldnt show. While it was a cute dress, I wish I got another one.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Body type: Apple
January 3, 2013
Great dress for New Years, Day or Night
I rented this dress for new years eve but with a 5 month old we decided to take a drive up to Jekyll Island, enjoy the pool/hot tub/beach at the hotel and then celebrate New Years Day with a special brunch at the Jekyll Island Club. My husband and I are photographers so we also did a little impromptu photo sesh with my rental. The dress would have been perfect with my sky high studded heels for NYE but also worked well with my black and gold boots for a more casual/comfortable look. The dress has an adorable u back with bow detail. I loved the gold shimmer jacquard fabric. The lining is hot pink and silky but did show at the neckline and at the hem when positioned a certain way (sitting usually) but not a huge deal. Some of the metallic threads were fraying but not really noticeable unless you were inspecting the dress. Metallic threads tend to break easily so it is par for the course with the fabric really. I was told by a RTR rep that this brand ran generous but I found it to run true to size if not a tad small. A lady at the hotel complimented the look and it was comfortable enough to walk around the club grounds. This is a versatile dress I would love to have in my wardrobe!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
January 13, 2013
I wasn't able to wear it.
Too small in chest.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 16, 2013
Great service!
I rented this dress for wedding. I have a smaller bust, so the sleeves fell off my arms a bit. Also, the dress had hot pink lining and the lining came out under the hem of the dress about a quarter inch so it definitely showed. I didn't notice this in any of the pictures posted so maybe it was just the dress I received. I ultimately decided to return it to RTR since I didn't like the way I looked. RTR was amazing and gave me a credit for another dress. I can't wait to try RTR out for another event! They have a wonderful customer service team and next time I will definitely use one of their stylists!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 19, 2013
I really gambled on RTR. I had three events in one weekend but I felt great at every one of them.
This is a very cute dress and it was perfect for the occasion. However, I think you need to have straight hips to wear it otherwise the top will bunch and the shoulders will fall off. I ended up wearing it with a blazer because I didn't want to fuss with it but still got a bunch of compliments..
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
January 20, 2013
Amazing little black dress for a formal or semi-formal affair!
I wore this dress to a friend's wedding that was "black-tie optional" - It was the perfect dress!! I'm typically not big on sparkle but the gold sparkle in this dress was the perfect amount. I typically teeter between a 2 an 4 so I got both sizes; I ended up wearing the 2 but I honestly could have worn either. The only issue I had was that you could tell the dress had been worn a bit. The material had started to fray but it wasn't so much that it was unwearable. I would highly suggest rentitn this dress; you can't go wrong!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
January 22, 2013
I loved it and so did my boyfriend so win win.
I should have gotten a size up because of my bust but other than that it fit really well. The neckline had a snag so I reported it to RTR and they reimbursed me fully for the dress. I still wore the dress because I didn't have time to get a different one. The snag wasn't too noticeable so it was okay. I wore this to a rehearsal dinner which was perfect for dinner and then going out.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158lbs
February 4, 2013
Lots of compliments on the scoop back!
This dress was darling, maybe not the best choice for my body type right now. This dress would be Ideal for someone with a small waist line. Perfect for a cocktail part of a wedding. The integrity of the dress was definitely worn, but no one else probably noticed but me. The bow accent was also very cute!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
February 5, 2013
I wore this dress for my 21st birthday party.
Very flattering, loved the sparkle and bow on back!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
February 6, 2013
The back of this dress was so pretty! Everyone loved it!
wonderful fit!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
February 8, 2013
Not for small hips/waist!
I couldn't wear this dress because it was so ill-fitting for me. I would guess this dress only works for pear shapes. I had to send the dress back, but fortunately had a back-up. If you have small hips and waist and larger bust, you will be swimming in this dress on the bottom even if you size down. This was the first RTR dress that hasn't fit me, so I really can't complain, but be careful with renting this dress depending on your body type!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
February 10, 2013
I wish that this one had fit!
I absolutely loved this dress in the pictures, but when it came in it was MASSIVE (I ordered the 0 and it was falling off). There was no way that I could have worn it. This is such a cute dress, but it's not great for petite girls
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
February 10, 2013
Size down!
I ordered the Size 2 as my regular size and 4 as a back-up (usually a 4, but read that this dress runs a little large); Ended up that the person who had the Size 2 didn't send it in on time, so I was able to pick out another dress, free of charge! (Great customer service!) However, the 4 was WAY too big and unfortunately, neither sizes of the 2nd dress fit. I have a feeling that the Size 2 would have fit perfectly First time that RTR didn't work out for me!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
September 18, 2012
Beautiful shiny dress
Nice dress just runs to large for size
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 127lbs
February 25, 2013
Loved this dress. It was the perfect classy yet young and hot. :)
The lining is divine, silky and hot pink. I am bigger up top, but this dress fit great. Could have been a little shorter, but overall great dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118lbs
March 8, 2013
This was a great rental!
The dress fit wonderful and was very comfortable!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
March 22, 2013
Great New Year's dress!
I've rented this dress twice now, once for a holiday party and again for New Year's. I ended up getting it as a backup since the original dress that I rented for NYE didn't work out. I was happy to know that this dress worked because I had worn it before. The only thing I don't love about the dress is that the top half is a little on the long side. I have a shorter torso and this style is a little awkward, but I was able to make it work both times. I also love the fabric and the sparkles and the cute bow on the back.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
March 29, 2013
GORGEOUS
One of my favorite dresses I've rented! I loved the bow detail in the back. The color was perfec for a Decemeber wedding... I was able to wear a bra with the dress which is a huge plus! I received many compliments.
ZoeNovember 25, 2013
looks great, and love the way you styled it with your bun, tights, all of it. can i ask, was it just a regular strapless bra that worked with this? or something else?
NatalieDecember 6, 2013
Thanks Zoe! I loved this dress! Yes, it was just a regular strapless bar and I pulled the back down just a tad.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
April 8, 2013
The back is what makes the dress! It's subtle but very cute.
I'm around 5"1 and 115 ish so I guess I'd say it runs large since I normally wear a 2 or 4.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
April 22, 2013
RTR took a lot of stress off of me in finding the perfect LBD for the Faces of Hope Gala!
The dress fit very well, I really have no complaints and I got tons of compliments!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
May 10, 2013
Great customer service, clean dress that looked fresh, easy to wear!
I received so many compliments on the dress (especially the back)!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Body type: Athletic
June 5, 2013
Perfect Fit!
The dress was the perfect dress for the award banquet I was attending and for going out for drinks afterwards. What I loved about the dress was that the front fit like a glove and was very classy, but with the deep U back with the bow, the dress could be sexy too. I would buy this dress in a heartbeat!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
June 16, 2013
Great dress for a wedding -- loved the back!
Super cute and I loved the accessories I chose to go with it. Simple but fun LBD! I ended up getting lots of compliments on my shoes randomly, which I picked up last minute from Forever21 the day before haha.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
July 14, 2013
I wore the dress for a military formal and it was a perfect fit!
The dress is true to size. The back was slightly low-cut for me, I needed to pin my bra to hide it, but other than that it was a great choice! Definitely rent!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
July 17, 2013
Everyone complimented the dress and said how great it looked! It made my night.
Fit: Spot on, a little short...I would have been more comfortable wearing tights. Look: Fun party dress but classy enough for a wedding. The sheen/sparkle is more apparent in person than in the picture.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
August 5, 2013
This dress was stunning! It glows in the light and it looked so regal and elegant! I felt beautiful.
The fit was a bit big on the top, I should've gotten a size 0. But other than that, the dress was lovely and the perfect knee length for a formal affair. It was classic, but still spontaneous!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
October 8, 2013
fun and easy to wear
This was a great dress. I found the lenght to be the right balance between sexy and comfortable. Even with the scoop back, I managed to wear a regular bra just pulled down a bit and it stayed perfectly all night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 8, 2013
A nice dress, like a nice pair of jeans, always makes you feel beautiful when it fits just right.
Fit is pretty accurate. I usually run between a 4 and a 6, but chose the smaller size for this occasion. It is tighter through the waist/stomach area, but also a material that doesn't show lumps and bumps--so do with that what you'd like. I'm 5'6" and the length was very classy. I wore it with black tights, and it looked great... so you can definitely swing it in the winter too. I was nervous about the material having silver specks because gold is my jewelry of choice, but I still rocked the gold with no reservations. I think it would not be a good choice for a more formal occasion (again, because of the silver specks), but for a wedding or a semi-formal event, it is very appropriate.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 144lbs
November 12, 2013
I rented for my 21st but I was unable to wear :(
The dress is very cute on the hanger but the fabric has no stretch and caused a little pouch over my stomach area and was much too tight on my hips/butt. I would not recommend for girls with curvier bottom haves because the fabric and shape of the dress is quite unforgiving. This dress would be adorable on a more petite frame. Beautiful fabric and looks more sparkly/shiny in person!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
November 18, 2013
they were delivered on time and in great condition!
Pros: True to size, was in good condition Cons: the seams at the was it ere tearing a bit making it look weird
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
November 22, 2013
This dress made me feel really sleek! Perfect for dinner at a country club.
(excuse my messy room) I have a pretty curvy body and this dress made it look awesome! The hem was flattering and the bodice was tight around my waist but forgiving around my lower tummy area. The open back is really nice! The only thing I did not like was the shoulder straps, when I pull them up, they are loose, but when I wear it off the shoulder, it looks awkward. I would recommend getting some dress tape to make sure your bra straps do not show in the back. Also, when I got the dress, the seams looked a little worn =( but overall, a flattering dress that shows just the right amount of skin for a fancy dinner.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
December 15, 2013
The dress =)
I loved the dress, and thought it fit great! The back is especially super cute, and I got LOTS of complements throughout the evening and even from people who weren't at the event and saw pictures.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 16, 2013
Perfect Holiday Party Dress
Great dress for office Holiday party. Fitted in the middle, so very flattering but difficult to sit down in sometimes. The dress was perfect for this pear-shaped girl!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 17, 2013
Great dress!
Good LBD
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 18, 2013
Beautiful dress just too big
This dress is great, albeit a bit noticeably worn. Loved the fabric, sheen, bow in the back. Unfortunately, it was too big to work for my event. I typically am a 2/4 and the 2 as a backup was unavailable. If you order just make sure to size down for your backup.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 62
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
December 19, 2013
Beautiful yet simple black dress
I actually didn't end up wearing this dress as the torso on the dress is unusually long and the seams didn't fit my body type. The 10 was too large in the straps and the hot pink lining of the dress was showing through the entire front of the dress. It was beautiful on the model but didn't work out for me!
See more reviews:
3 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×