Milly

Such a Doll Dress

$89 to buy
$395 retail
Stylist Notes

Rent this sparkling bow back dress by Milly for a holiday cocktail party.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size- high neckline so larger busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not fitted - fuller skirt conceals hips and backside- curvier women should consider sizing up for length
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or NuBra due to low back; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Product Details

Black sparkle matelasse. Crew neckline. Deep scoop back with bow detail. Full skirt with pleating. Hidden back zip. 34'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
214 reviews
Fit
Large
(43)
True to Size
(147)
Small
(19)
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
April 10, 2011

Beautiful dress but WAY WAY too big. I'm 5'5 and 125 and ordered a 4 and it was like huge. Beautiful material and dress thought.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
May 9, 2011

I wear a size 0 normally and although I am petite, I don't usually have a problem with the tops of dresses fitting correctly. However this one was way too big, even the 0.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
May 5, 2015
Looked much better in photographs with the light reflected than it does in person strangely.

The material was very nice and the dress was very comfortable

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 3, 2011

The smallest size of the dress swallowed me. I was not even able to wear it. Do not order if you are petite!

AshbyJanuary 3, 2011
How tall were your heels? I'm 5'9" and will only be wearing 2" heels, so I can't figure out if the long will be too long!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
November 4, 2012
22nd Birthday and Sorority Semi-Formal made perfect by RTR

Worn to a semi-formal event and received compliments all night. Needed a nuBra because of the low back, but very classy and would wear again. Made my birthday a night to remember!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
February 21, 2013
The back of this dress was gorgeous and everyone commented on how great I looked!

Fits large in the chest, but tight in the ribs

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
April 29, 2013
Cute dress, but had some issues...

The fabric of the dress is adorable, as is the back detailing. It's a perfect party dress that can be dressed up or down with shoes and accessories. Unfortunately, the dress was very large on me in the waist, hips and skirt. I rented the zero, but it felt more like a size four. Also, the seams in the waist had been stretched out and were shiny and transparent in places. Couldn't wear for these reasons.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
April 27, 2014
It was gorgeous and unique! Tons of compliments.

Nothing bad to say about this dress! Loved it!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
July 6, 2014
Beautiful dress!

Loved the dress but unfortunately it was way too big to wear. The waistline hit too low and it looked like a trash bag on. RTR was wonderful in getting me another dress to wear for my semi formal... I wish this one would have fit though!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 140lbs
December 9, 2015
Cute dress but not for me!

This is a cute LBD but it just wasn't right for me. I like a heavier fabric and this one was a little light. This dress runs small IMO. I wear a size 8 and the 8 was WAY too small and the 10 fit, but not comfortably. I ended up wearing my back up dress and it was perfect!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
January 16, 2011
fitted

was very fitted at the top but adorable.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
March 12, 2012
So quick and easy to order, receive and send back! Made my busy life very simple!

Fit perfectly! Could have worn the 4 or the 6 (usually wear a size 2 but this dress is a bit tight/ short) Wore it to a five star restaurant for NYE with my boyfriends family and was the perfect dress - family appropriate yet still fun, sparkly and flirty for NYE. Received a ton of compliments not to mention was able to eat everything on my plate and dance the night away without a care in the world!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
January 13, 2013
I wasn't able to wear it.

Too small in chest.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
February 4, 2013
Lots of compliments on the scoop back!

This dress was darling, maybe not the best choice for my body type right now. This dress would be Ideal for someone with a small waist line. Perfect for a cocktail part of a wedding. The integrity of the dress was definitely worn, but no one else probably noticed but me. The bow accent was also very cute!

View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 144lbs
November 12, 2013
I rented for my 21st but I was unable to wear :(

The dress is very cute on the hanger but the fabric has no stretch and caused a little pouch over my stomach area and was much too tight on my hips/butt. I would not recommend for girls with curvier bottom haves because the fabric and shape of the dress is quite unforgiving. This dress would be adorable on a more petite frame. Beautiful fabric and looks more sparkly/shiny in person!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
December 30, 2013
Was hoping this would be a great New Year's Eve dress

I really wanted this dress to work for New Year's Eve, but alas the fit was a bit awkward. As noted in the fit section, the waist is tight and doesn't have much give. The size 4 fit my A cup bust well and the poofy skirt worked with my pear shape, but the waist was much too tight. The top of the size 6, on the other hand, drooped on my modest bust (I would have needed to had the taken in to make it work), even though the waist was much more comfortable. As another reviewer noted, this dress requires you to have excellent posture to look good. Any sort of slouching will result in weird sagging around the waist. This, coupled with the fact that the waistline hit me at an awkward spot between my natural waist and hips (I've never been told or thought that I have a particularly short or long torso, so this seemed a bit unusual), resulted in a not very flattering look. I suspect the dress might work on someone blessed with a tighter tummy!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
February 15, 2014
Wedding on the Boston Harbor

Too small! It wouldn't even zip up in the back...

Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 200lbs
March 18, 2014
Way cute dress but unfortunately didn't fit!

way tight on butt and hips! Barely fit my mom who wears a size 8 in dresses. runs a little small

Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
March 24, 2014
Cute LBD

This was a backup dress that was sent in place of another dress I ordered. It actually worked better than the original dress so I ended up wearing it to my sorority's formal. It was comfortable and I got many compliments.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
May 28, 2014
Not right for me

I ordered this dress as a backup for a bachelorette. I didn't end up wearing it because it didn't fit right. (too big up top, too small at bottom). The sparkle of the dress was really pretty, but it was a much heavier material than I was especting.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 170lbs
June 10, 2014
Great LBD -- but best for gals without a gut

First of all, I think this dress is much cuter in person than in the picture, because the fabric is really pretty. Also, it's really cute! And versatile. Unfortunately for me, it's not so great for an "apple" figure like me. I found it to be a bit tight and not terribly flattering around the gut, but since I couldn't even zip up my first choice I had to go with it. Also, the lining was showing in some places around the bottom and not others, which looked a little cheap to me. Super short, but I don't mind that.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
July 10, 2014
Sparkly!

This dress is more sparkly in person than on the website. Looked nice in pictures! Overall, the waist had no give so I went with the larger size to accommodate. It was flattering and not clingy at the hips, which I liked. It was a cute dress, looked nice, and fit the bill, but there was nothing extraordinary about it.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
October 10, 2014
Perfect dress for holiday party.

This dress was perfect for our company holiday party. It was a little tight on the top (i'm normally a 4 or 6) but worked well enough. The fabric is beautiful and super shimmery. The bow in the back is so cute! I wore it with a great pair of heels and simple jewelry and it was perfect.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
October 28, 2014
Fit not right

I think you have to have the perfect frame to wear this dress. I ordered a 10 and 12 and tried the 12 fist and it was way too tight on my bust. My sister-in-law was looking for a dress to the same wedding so I had her try the 10 and it looked fine from the front but the open back was too loose.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
January 7, 2015
This dress was gorgeous when it arrived. However, I was unable to wear.

The material has just the right amount of sparkle and the bow in the back is adorable. It doesn't hit at the natural waistline- it is a little lower and the hips are a little more fitted than it would seem from the photo and other reviews. I wish I could have worn but I was definitely in between sizes and it just didn't fit my 5' 10" athletic frame. My experience with resolving the fit issue with RTR was great!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
June 22, 2015
Loved this dress!

Rented the dress for a Breakfast at Tiffany's themed bridal shower for my brothers fiancé. I have very broad shoulders and surprisingly the dress fit great throughout the shoulders. It was however tight through the hips. Overall I loved the dress and would rent it again!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 149lbs
January 25, 2012
Beautiful DRESS!

I loved the dress it looked awesome on! The only thing was that when I put on a bra with it my boobs looked smashed so I had to wear pasties but then it looked great!

Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 220lbs
April 3, 2013
Close, but no.

Had to send it back, just couldn't make this one work. Ran too small for me.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 30DD
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
September 14, 2015
Didn't wear, event didn't end up being as formal as I had expected.

Would order again for sure! Bought it as a back up for a rehearsal dinner, but it ended up being much more casual of an affair. The only downside I saw was that the seams in the front (that run from the waist to the center of each breast) were a bit pulled so instead of black/silver shimmer all-over, you could see the seam lines that looked like two silver lines running up the front. The size 4 didn't have the same issue, so likely a one-off but not a deal-breaker.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 122lbs
October 19, 2015
ADORABLE, fits perfect and super flattering

I didn't end up wearing this dress to my event because it came in late and I was already gone, but tried it on for future reference and I LOVE how this dress fits! I'm not in my favorite shape of my life and it was still so flattering. Perfect for a wedding, holiday event, etc (sparkly but not over the top).

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 7, 2016
Wore it for a black tie optional work event - the bit of sparkle made it perfect!

Fit true to size, wore a stick on bra which worked just fine. Nips in perfectly at the waist and is the perfect length for running around while working and for dancing!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
June 18, 2016
A gorgeous dress

This was my first RTR and was very pleased. I was the officiant at my best friend's wedding and wanted a dress that was modest but beautiful. I felt glamorous and sophisticated in this dress and was also able to dance! It ran a bit small through the rib cage area so make sure you size up the extra dress. I ordered a backless, strapless bra because of other reviews but it turned out I could wear a regular strapless bra with it. The fabric is nice quality with a hot pink lining and has just enough sparkle.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
July 17, 2016
Great, flattering dress

I wore this dress to my work Christmas party when I was 15 weeks pregnant. The style really camouflaged my belly! I would normally wear a 4, but the 6 fit just fine with my increased size (I gained about 8-10lbs in my first trimester).

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 145lbs
August 16, 2016
Bachelorette party

The fit was great except for in the shoulders was a lil big. I loved this dress def love how it sparkles, was perfect for a night out with the ladies for a bachelorette party. Def love the bow in the back. The only thing is the fabric is kinda heavy so it was a bit hot to wear in August dancing the night away. Overall great dress and I would rent again! Great first time experience with Rent the Runway!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
December 17, 2010

This dress just arrived for my weekend of holiday parties and I LOVE it! Seriously - rent it for your holiday parties now if you can. It has a little more of a pouf at the hip/skirt than is obvious from the pictures, but that balances out the neckline well. Not too short like many Milly dresses, the 4 was a great length on me and I'm 5'7". Probably wouldn't be great for larger chested girls? Definitely recommend it though, can't wait to wear it!

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 30, 2010
Felt amazing in this dress!

This dress is SO adorable on! It was my first rental and I was thrilled with it. I wear a size 6 usually and the 6 fit perfectly (I got an 8 as well and didn't even need it). The fabric makes it look very fun and fancy in person and the cut it very flattering. It assumed from the picture that I wouldn't be able to wear a bra with this dress - but I was able to without it be being visible! Highly recommend this dress for a winter wedding/event!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
January 3, 2011

I really loved this dress. It has a beautiful shimmer that I didn't notice when I rented it, but LOVED when it arrived. I have pretty narrow shoulders, so that was a little tricky for me. I didn't want to pay the $50 to rent the necklace pictured, so I went with the RJ Graziano "Dress Me Up Necklace" and got tons of complements.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
April 18, 2011
My birthday night was made extra special with this dress!

I LOVED this dress. It was perfect paired with a pair of nude heels and was picture perfect the whole evening. I was also able to wear a regular bra with the low back, which made me happy since I didn't have to go out and guy a new one. Would rent again in a second! Pretty true to size, maybe a little large if anything. Perfect for almost any event.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Body type: Pear
May 9, 2011
Fits perfectly in all the right places!

This dress is amazing. It was just a little tight in the waist but otherwise perfect. I have larger hips so I was worried about that but it was no problem. Wore it to a family wedding with a different necklace- that I thought showed off the dress better. It has the cutest pink lining. I seriously wanted to keep it.. would've been my go to LBD.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 53
Body type: Hourglass
June 13, 2011

Perfect LBD. I wore my own multi-strand, pearl necklace. I ordered it in an alternate size 10, but wore the size 8. The back was bit tricky, but I avoided my bra strap from showing.

See more reviews:
2 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×