Rent the Runway

Milly

Stepford Wife Dress

$68 rental
$385 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This charming floral-print Milly dress features a contrasting ribbon tie that defines the waist. A ruffle collar that adds feminine flare and is a perfect choice for the dinner party.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at waist with band - conceals midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - skirt appropriate for all body types
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - tall or curvy women should size up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10'')

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at waist with band - conceals midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - skirt appropriate for all body types
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - tall or curvy women should size up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10'')

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Almond organza floral jacquard. Crew neckline with ruffle detail. Button front. Grosgrain waistband. Gathered skirt. Hidden side zip. 34" from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

121 reviews

Fit
Small 16
True to Size 104
Large 1
Photos 46
ahouck
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 20, 2011

Great dress for a conservative affair!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
LOVED this dress!! I am 5'4" and my measurements are 34-26-35. I rented a size 2 and a size 4. For some strange reason the 4 felt snugger on me than the 2, so I went with the 4. Maybe it was stretched from a lot of wear? But I wore this dress to my wedding shower and received MANY compliments on it! I also had to iron down the collar, it looks much better and is not as annoying. I highly recommend this dress!
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 14, 2011

Wore this to my friend's bridal shower and I felt so girly/ladylike. This is definitely something I'd rent again and probably buy!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This is the cutest dress ever. It fit really well and I wore it with tights because it was the middle of winter. Definitely recommend this.
Ele
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 142 lbs
Dec 31, 2011

I felt gorgeous in this dress.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
When I saw the photo, I thought it would be the perfect hostess dress for our annual holiday party. When it arrived, I was SO excited because it was more gorgeous than pictured. The fabric and detail were beautiful. I have to say I really did not want to send this dress back! It was just so gorgeous. Also - I ordered a size 4 and a size 6 - and the size 4 fit great! From waist up I'm easily a 4-6, waist down 6-8. The skirt is a slight A-line, so I was able to go down a size. :)
Dyanne
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Mar 27, 2012

Perfect dress for a Mad Men viewing party!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
I originally rented this dress for a weekend trip but ended up wearing it to a Mad Men viewing party! This dress is absolute perfection. Feminine, classic and intricately detailed. Felt very Betty Draper-ish, hence the name of the dress! I wish I could buy it! High quality dress, arrived on time, in great condition and fit like a glove!
Loreen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Apr 23, 2012

Every guest told me how lovely I looked!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this for my bridal shower and it was absolutely perfect! Every guest I greeted commented on how lovely my dress was. Of course I spread the word about RTR. My mother even RTR for the occasion, too!
aem
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
May 25, 2012

RTR's customer service is amazing... I had to rent this dress twice because my event was rescheduled, and they were more than happy to work with me. I recommend RTR to everyone!!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This is a beautiful dress! I rented it for my engagement pictures (actually ended up renting it twice because the pics were cancelled the first time around due to rain). The 0 was a bit harder to zip up than the 2, but I ended up wearing it because it fit better up top (I have a tiny bust). It was short, but not inappropriately so. Like previous reviewers have said, the collar was a bit funky when it arrived, but I used fashion tape to make it behave :) I was a bit wary of the color (I am very pale and tend to not look good in tan), but the black broke up the tan enough, I thought. The dress would probably look better on girls with a bit more color though.
Erin
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 138 lbs
Jun 23, 2012

Renting from RTR was so simple and worry free! The dress arrived on time and was in perfect condition. It looked just like the online picture. No surprises, disappointment, anything! This is a great service as it allows you to wear a DESIGNER dress for an affordable price! Not only do you look smart and stylish, you feel that way too!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress for my engagement pictures! I wanted something classic and vintage. It was perfect! I also wore this to a wedding and received tons of compliments! It fit perfectly and looked great! I highly recommend this dress and RTR!
Kelly Jo
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Jul 25, 2012

It was great to see people that I haven't seen in 15+ years tell me how fabulous I looked!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was the perfect dress for a wedding that I was a reader in. I have a large back tattoo as well as a larger chest and I wanted them both covered for church :) this dress did the job! It was a little snug but I think overall it fits true to size, I usually wear a 6 or 8. One added bonus is it isn't skin tight so you can eat, drink and be merry without having to worry about spanx or it being too tight! Got lots of compliments as always!
Alana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138 lbs
Aug 2, 2012

This was my first time renting with RTR and I got so many compliments on this dress! I really wish I owned the dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fits true to size. It's really something you can throw on and be ready to go since you don't have to accessorize so much because the dress has a bold print.
Katie
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155 lbs
Sep 3, 2012

The compliments I received from my friends & even strangers about how pretty I looked in the dress.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I absolutely loved this dress & felt gorgeous the entire night. The dress does run a little small in the bust so I would recommend sizing up. The shiny silver detail is beautful and the ruffles give it a fun, flirty feel. I would absolutely rent this dress again (: Another great RTR experience!
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 112 lbs
Sep 19, 2012

This dress was even more beautiful than expected. The details are gorgeous. Many compliments!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great A-line fit was comfortable for dancing. I felt it was a bit short when bending down or sitting- though not to the point of being inappropriate for the event.
Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Body type: Petite
Sep 28, 2012

I loved this dress for a spring wedding

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
material was very pretty, but not the most comfortable (scratchy)
Stephanie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115 lbs
Oct 1, 2012

Perfect dress for my bridal shower brunch!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is very pretty, has a great fit, and is extremely comfortable. The sweet "stepford wife" vintage look it absolutely spot on, while still adding a sexy flair. I got two sizes, 2 and 4, and ended up wearing the 2, but it was pretty true to size.
Chiani
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 147 lbs
Oct 2, 2012

FABulous Dress!!!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I absolutely love, love, love this dress! I wore it to an evening wedding in June and it was a hit. The bride even commented on it :) All of the reviews before mine are pretty accurate. I recently transitioned to a 6 from years of being an 8. While the 6 did fit, I had a little more room to breath in the 8. This is a very pretty dress and it made me feel very pretty in it. The clutch that I rented to go with it was a PERFECT match! They are made with the same material.
Ell
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 17, 2012

Such an easy and pleasant experience renting with RTR!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This Milly dress is made with beautiful lightweight fabric. I loved the ruffle detail at the top and the black band around the waist. Convenient side zipper.
Allana
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 80 lbs
Oct 21, 2012

I loved the Dress and got so many compliments!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I was a little worried about it coming on time, but it came early thursday and I love the garment bag since I had to travel 2 hours to where the Wedding was I didnt have to worry about the dress getting wrinkled. I wish I had one more day so I wouldnt have to rush to ship it back. But overall I love the option of being able to rent, I will use this again when ever I have somewhere special to go!
melanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 23, 2012

The RTR experience is unlike any other!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress is much prettier in person. The fit was wonderful. I only had two issues with the dress itself. It's very short (which I knew from the pictures and wasn't an issue unless sitting when I felt I might be showing too much) and the slip lining kept showing which I was able to fix with the fabric tape RTR sent. I got many compliments and felt great. Additionally, I had to use customer service twice and each time the rep. was a nice and as helpful as could be and solved my problem quickly. I will definitely use RTR again when I have an opportunity to dress up.
Monica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 26, 2012

Beautiful design--material not as high quality

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for Thanksgiving weekend, it was my "backup" dress. I loved my original rental so much that I ended up wearing this out with old friends to a nightclub. The dress is really beautiful in the photo. It looks very high quality and luxurious. In person, the fabric felt a little synthetic. It was still beautiful but the flowers felt almost "tissue" like, very thin and flimsy. I still wore the dress and it looked pretty. I got a ton of compliments, it looks very prim and proper. Overall, I wouldn't rent it again, just because it didn't "thrill" me like some other dresses on here have. But the fit was nice, only complaint was type of fabric used.
Ashley
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Dec 12, 2012

The dress was flirty and sexy without being revealing. I danced all night!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was the perfect length for my height. A fabulous combination of classy, fashionable, and fun.
Stacey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Jan 3, 2013

So many compliments!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I loved this dress and would love to actually own it! I would recommend renting a size up for your backup if you have hips (like me). I wore it with footless black tights because it was winter in St Louis for an interview dinner. Looked really cute with my heels and peacoat over top when in outside weather. The dress actually has a slip attached underneath, so the top can be buttoned or unbuttoned depending on the look you're going for. Def worth a rental!
Heather
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 138 lbs
Jan 6, 2013

Great dress for my wedding shower!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was perfect for my wedding shower! I got so many compliments on it! The only issue with it was that it was pretty short, but still covered everything. Also, I thought the dress looked more pink in the picture, but it is actually more of a metallic tan color. Would love to rent again!
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jan 11, 2013

Perfect dress for a wedding and a night out!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was perfect for a wedding. It was comfortable and classy and I received a lot of compliments. Like some of the other reviews mentioned, the collar doesn't stand up like it does in the picture, but it is still an adorable dress.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170 lbs
Mar 23, 2013

The dress details are beautiful in person

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This is truly a beautiful dress. FYI - The flower pattern is not printed! I have a larger chest (38C) so I did bump up a size. Thank goddness I did as needed to unbutton the 12 to make it fit around the chest. Also, ran a little short but paired with the boots I felt totally comfortable wearing for my shower.
carlene
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 7, 2013

The whole receiving and returning process was easy!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit: Runs true to size. -able to wear a bra with straps and spanx under the dress. I have a little bit of that muffin top and it hides it pretty well =)
Gina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 24, 2013

Perfect Bridal Shower Dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I loved this dress, it was so pretty and just as comfortable. I don't like ruffled necklines, but this dress really pulled it off and I thought it looked amazing. It was easy to wear, not stretchy but flowy enough that it fit well, and I got compliments from everyone. Completely bridal shower appropriate because it was conservative but just stunning! I would definitely rent this dress again!
Jenny
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 26, 2013

This was my first experience using RTR and I would highly recommend this company to anyone!!!!!!!!!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
i got the dress in a size 4 and a size 6. The size six fit good, except the top was a little to big so I tried on the four and it fit perfectly! Very comfortable to wear and dance in all night!! Might have to iron down the collar.
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
May 6, 2013

Comfortable dress to have fun in and received many compliments. Photographed well too!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fabulous dress. Fit true to size. Sheer top with liner tank/slip underneath. I wore a strapless bra with it, but I suppose a regular nude bra could have been warn. My best friend wore my secondary dress on the right. :)
Kathryn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
May 13, 2013

Stunning dress

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
This dress was extremely comfortable to wear. The fit was true to size with there being nice room and not feeling snug. The detailing of the design and fabric are beautiful.
Kat
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Jun 7, 2013

Loved it!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wore this to a formal affair and absolutely loved it. It wasn't too formal or too casual but just right! Definitely great for dancing too!
Kirsten
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Body type: Pear
Sep 12, 2013

Loved the dress - but it's a bit short!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This came as part of my Rent the Runway At Home Trial. I loved the dress - the fit, fabric everything, unfortunately, it was a bit too short for me to get away with. As others have said, its a bit tight in the bust, but fit me just fine. If only I were a few inches shorter... I recommend for anyone under 5'8 or can pull off short dresses!
Marjorie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 84
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 119 lbs
Oct 18, 2013

Great Dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I have rented this dress three times. i wore it to the Breast Cancer Angels Fund Raiser at the Queen Mary in Long Beach California.
Kara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 24, 2013

Perfect dress for the family holiday party!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress was beautiful and very flattering for all body types. For me it was a tad loose in the waist and I probably would have worn a size 0 if it had been available. It's hard to see, but there are silver accents in the dress that really make it stand out. Loved it.
Sharon
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Body type: Straight & narrow
Jan 10, 2014

Perfect, not too dressy, not too casual

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this for an outside vineyard wedding and it was perfect! Completely comfortable all day and all night. Easy to accessorize with black heels and simple jewelry. I had ordered a size 0 which was unavailable but got a free size 2 which was a tad bit loose on the waist, but not noticeable. I did notice the bottom hem kind of peeked through at times, but it wasn't bothersome. This was my second time using RTR and was overall satisfied with my purchase and experience.
lynn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165 lbs
Apr 20, 2014

None, I didn't wear it

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
This dress runs extremely small. Beautiful in person I unfortunately Didn't fit the one size available
Annie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 125 lbs
May 3, 2014

Wine Tasting in Paso Robles

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Cute
ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 9, 2014

Picture Perfect

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit perfectly... very flattering and looks great in pictures. Wore to a evening wedding.
greeneyes
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jun 25, 2014

Its always nice wearing a dress for the first time!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I am hippy so for this dress to fit well I had to go with my back up. The shape and lines were very flattering!
lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115 lbs
Sep 5, 2014

Great for a vacation date night

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Loved this dress. I'm 5'2'' 120lbs and and pear shaped. This fit wonderfully- wasn't too tight around my hips, made my waist look tiny and was overall quite flattering. Wish I owned it, this is def a repeat rent dress!!
Gabriella
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 6, 2015

Drew Compliments

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The dress easily got wrinkled even tho I steamed it. It was a little itchy and the straps underneath kept falling down. Otherwise it was a beautiful print but not worth the cost.
melanie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
May 11, 2015

Everyone complimented the dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
You need a bra but will want a strapless
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×