Southern Sun Dress

$118 to buy
$470 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This strawberry Milly jacquard print sheath is perfect for a weekend in the Hamptons or for a casual night out. Shown here with classic silver accessories.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - fabric highlights lower abdomen - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs very narrow so size up for full hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10". )

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - fabric highlights lower abdomen - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs very narrow so size up for full hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10". )

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Pink and white cotton link printed jacquard. V neckline with spaghetti straps in back. Hidden back zip. Center back vent. 39" from shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'10".

Share
54 reviews
Fit
Large
(5)
True to Size
(28)
Small
(21)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
June 22, 2012
Only rent if you are petite!
This dress was absolutely adorable, but NOT made for those with an hourglass figure and large chests. Or, size up one-two sizes (something I wish I had done!)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
June 18, 2012
Slim fitting and adorable
As others have mentioned, this dress runs very tight through the hips and I wouldn't recommend this dress to anyone who thinks of their hips as a problem area...or has hips at all hahaha I didn't end up wearing this dress because it was a bit too form-fitting (not appropriate for my particular event), but very cute.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
June 17, 2012
Perfect Daytime Dress
I wore this dress to my graduation in the south and it was a perfect choice. I received more compliments on this dress than any other dress I have ever worn. It does run a little big- I would have ideally had the 6 and 4, but the 4 was unavailable as a back up size. Even a little big it still looked great. It did show more cleavege than I expected, so if you are wearing it to a conservative event then I would be prepared with a matching cardigan. Will probably try to buy this dress for my own closet.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
June 10, 2012
I met a girl at the wedding after she complimented my dress. We bonded over Rent the Runway, I'm inviting her, she's really excited about the concept.
This dress fit great! The only issue I had was finding a bra that worked under it. My normal strapless bra wasn't low enough. I ended up having to get the Maidenform Combo Wing Bra and that worked perfectly. I have no hips (8 on top, 2 on bottom), so I was grateful for all the reviews saying this dress is small in the hips. Normally I don't fill the bottom half of dresses but this one seemed to be made for me.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
April 29, 2012
Everyone loved our dresses! It was the perfect sundress for the races!
Loved this dress! I wore it to the Foxfield Horse Race in Virginia, it fits a little bit funny across the hips but not badly. Definitely wish I could keep this one.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127lbs
April 16, 2012
Not for Curvy Girls!
This dress was absolutely beautiful in person. I rented it for an outdoor dress-up event, sizes 2 and 4 and neither fit right. I have a tiny waist and curvy hips, which was not a great combo for this particular dress. If you size up for the hips, be prepared for the top to be loose. It broke my heart I couldn't wear this!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
November 14, 2011
Napa <3
conservative dress perfect for brunch or meeting the parents. Very Slimming!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
August 8, 2011
Pretty but small in the hips
This dress is really beautiful, but runs very small (especially in the hips/butt). I'm usually a 6 in dresses and the 8 was super tight. I might have been able to make it work with some serious spanx and a crash diet, but it wouldn't have been pretty. However, if you're fairly narrow through the bottom, I'd say go for it. The design is even more vibrant in person.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150lbs
June 6, 2011
This dress is fantastic. It is very fitted however, so size up if you are worried at all about it being too small in one area. The pattern is really bright pink - moreso than I expected. There is also a secondard jacquard pattern that is raised in the fabric. It is interesting and makes it a little dressier, but unnecessary. Overall a great choice!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 6, 2011
Having the perfect dress --- hubby loved it!
The color is amazing --- perfect for a summer wedding. The V-neck is super deep though so make sure you have a good push-up if you are smaller on top.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
May 2, 2011
Perfect dress for spring wedding events.
Wore this dress to a Rehearsal Dinner held on a patio overlooking a horse farm. It was perfect for the occasion. I had to wear the larger size, as this dress is quite straight and tight through the hips - might not be the best choice for fellow pears. The top was pretty loose and I had to tape the bust line to avoid an accident. The V neckline was too low cut for me to wear a strapless bra. I paired it with an orange pashmina that helped me feel a little more modest. The fabric is really beautiful - there is a subtle flower print on the white, with the pink links printed over top.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
November 22, 2010
I ordered on the bigger side based on reviews, but I did need a push-up bra and made use of the double-sided tape to keep the straps and v-neck from sliding - the v is pretty deep. It was so cute on though that I went out and bought the dress so I could wear it again and again.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 38
Body type: Athletic
November 17, 2010
Hips are def.smaller than the top for me... but I loved the color! Made it work for me but I recommend to order 1 size up and get a push up bra.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
September 13, 2010
Love this dress! Runs a little small though in the hips... would suggest ordering a size up.
See more reviews:
2 / 2
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×