Milly

Southern Charmer Dress

$82 to buy
$470 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Rent this flirty Milly halter, printed dress. It is perfect for any bridal shower, graduation, or dinner date with that special someone. Accessorize with a gold toned accessory like the Erickson Beamon's Gold Digger Ring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - dress is fitted throughout; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips and backside; consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; consider wearing with SPANX
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Product Details

Black and ivory print with gold foiling. Front sweetheart neckline. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 40'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
153 reviews
Fit
Large
(11)
True to Size
(85)
Small
(55)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Body type: Straight & narrow
December 16, 2012
Got tons of compliments on this dress!
Unique, fun, stands out in a crowd!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
December 18, 2012
Everyone LOVED the dress got great compliments.
Fits true to size, fitted a littler small on me but luckily it fitted. It has a bra strap which is great because it holds your bust and its not needed to wear a bra. The top is like a bustier and after the waist is loose fabric. I wore it for my fiancee corporate christmas dinner party.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
December 21, 2012
super cute with a little black jacket
wasn't as comforable in this style- but ended up wearing a jacket over it and it looked amazing!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 26, 2012
Very pretty - and stands out from all of the other black dresses!
I wore this to my office holiday party this year. It worked well since it was a decent length and is appropriate to a variety of functions. The fabric is light, and almost linen-like, which I did not originally realize when ordering. Although, since there is gold in the dress, it still worked for my holiday party and you could not tell the fabric material unless you are wearing it yourself. I was very happy with the dress since it stood out from everyone elses, the color/design is unique. I can see this working with a variety of skin/hair colors. Note that the color does not look black at all, but rather a navy blue. It felt well, and stayed up all night. Those that have bigger boobs may want a size up. REcommend!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 129lbs
January 2, 2013
A fabulous NYE '13!
This dress wasn't my favorite but still looked great. I loved the colors and sparkle, but the material was a bit uncomfortable and had no give - definitely ran smaller than noted. It especially was tight around the waist, and awkwardly pushed upward when I walked. Also, the zipper in the back had no clasp and kept falling down - my boyfriend had to put a safety pin there so it wouldn't anymore. Overall had a great night and RTR experience but wouldn't rent this dress again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
January 4, 2013
The dress was ill fitting
I usually wear size 2 and the dress was a tad small in 2 but ill fitting in 4. The top section did not fit very well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 142lbs
January 4, 2013
Gorgeous Fabric, Meh Fit
I rented this for a wedding but ended up wearing my back up dress instead. It was simultaneously too big and too small. While the top "fit" though a bit roomy (okay with a padded bra), the bottom was too snug on the hips.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
January 22, 2013
This dress was unforgettable! I wish it was a permanent piece in my wardrobe.
The fit was great throughout the body of the dress. It was too tight to wear a strapless bra but surprisingly did not feel like it was falling down all night. For girls with wider rib cages: it does not have a hook and eye closure, just a zipper up the back, so be aware of that when ordering the dress
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
February 7, 2013
Unable to wear
I rented the dress for a formal affair and was unable to wear it. I ordered a size 2 and 4, the 2 was too big. There was a lot of extra material in the stomach area which made me look pregnant. It was a little tight in the chest, but it would definitely stay up all night if I had the chance to wear it. It's longer than what it shows on the model, it came down to my knees, maybe a little below them. It was a gorgeous dress, just wish it fit better.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
February 12, 2013
Runs true to size, except in the boobs.
Fabric was very pretty. It had a great built in band to help keep the dress up. I would only recommend it if you have A,B, or maaaybe small C cup. I'm consistently a true to size 12, and could not end up wearing it.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 136lbs
March 5, 2013
great, sexy rental
slightly tight through the bust (I'm a moderate B) but other than that an excellent and sexy dress, I received tons of compliments and it was easy to pair with any jewlery (gold, silver or black).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
March 26, 2013
The perfect semi formal dress!
The pattern on the dress is adorable. I received many compliments. The dress fit well, but was too big on the top. The dress could have used a clasp near the zipper to keep it from coming unzipped as well. Overall, the dress was very nice, but I think a size 2 may have been a better choice.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Body type: Athletic
March 29, 2013
Beautiful dress! I got tons of compliments
When in doubt, go down a size (especially if you have a smaller bust). I can often wear a four, and the four in this dress was very loose, especially in the chest.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
March 29, 2013
Beautiful dress!
I really enjoyed wearing this dress. I wore it to a night wedding and felt beautiful! It was a bit tight, so I would recommend sizing up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 105lbs
April 3, 2013
I felt like a million bucks! I received so many compliments.
The dress fits great on me. The built in bra strap helped provide a tight fit so that it made my boobs look bigger in the sweetheart neckline cut. I loved everything about it. My only complaint was my constant wardrobe malfunction. For some strange reason, the zipper kept unzipping itself exposing my back. People kept telling me that my zipper was down.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
April 26, 2013
Cute dress in the pics, but not made for my shape.
There is very little support for the bust, despite it having a bra clip in the back. Bunches in weird spots, and despite some boning, offers very little structure. I tried on a larger size, and there was a very big gap when zipped up, but it fit ok in the hips. I couldn't wear either to the wedding. :(
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
April 30, 2013
Perfect length
Overall, I was very happy with this dress. It had a built-in bra which is always a plus. Unfortunately, the bra was super tight and made it uncomfortable to sit down. There was no hook-and-eye so I didn't feel like I could unhook the bra and still have support. The fit was perfect in the waist but got a bit bunched when sitting. The dress fell right above my knee. So many people told me they loved this dress and I'm very happy that I chose it. I was worried that it would look worn (note other comments) but besides a little fraying of the gold threads the dress was in great condition.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 12, 2013
Too many lovely dresses, too little time!
I didn't get a chance to wear this one... went for the Pink Oahu Fan Dress by Trina Turk instead, as it was a beach wedding in Florida. Will rent this one in the future, was very flattering!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
May 13, 2013
Not for dancing
The fabric is great but the fit left me tugging this dress up all night. I tried with and without a bra and couldn't find a way to make it work.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
May 15, 2013
I was complimented all night on this dress.
PROS: Unique design; complimented all night; flattered my form. CONS: Runs very small!; uncomfortable material
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 27, 2013
Looked great in pictures.
I thought it was going to be too big in the chest and that I would be playing with it all night, but it was great because it had a built in feature to keep it nice and tight so it did not fall like typical strapless dresses. I really liked the look.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 27, 2013
Dresses arrived on time! Ordered this one in two sizes and a backup in one size.
Ordered this dress and a shoshanna dress for a wedding. This one was too tight in the hips but fit in the 4, and the 6 was too big up top. Just had a funny fit... didn't end up wearing it. Really pretty and good quality though. Would probably work better for a bustier person.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
May 31, 2013
Loved the jacquard!
I am a huge fan of Milly and was quite excited to receive this dress. I accompanied my boyfriend (one of the groomsmen) to a wedding and was quite nervous about finding the right dress to wear because I hadn't met very many of his friends and his parents were also attending. The venue, on a "fanciness" scale of 1-10 was about an 7.5-8, so I felt like wearing a long dress would be too over-dressed. You cannot see it in the photo but I wore this dress with strappy gold sandals that matched the jacquard's gold perfectly. I have an athletic body, so my waist is very small but I have very muscular thighs, so the dress was a bit loose in the waist but tight in the thighs. I wanted to wear Spanx, but because the dress has a satin lining, the Spanx caused the dress to shift too much to one side, so I had to go without them. I was expecting the dress to be a bit heavier, but it was quite light. Perfect for being a guest at a wedding!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117lbs
June 10, 2013
Love Love Love!
As other reviewers said the color looks more like navy than black. There was some slight wear and tear if you looked up close but nothing any one would notice unless they were inspecting it closely. Having a chest on the larger side - I opted to wear a bra and not clasp the internal bra strap. If you are smaller chested though the strap was a great option and would definitely keep everything in place. I truly love the dress and was sad to send it back.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
June 12, 2013
This dress was unique and perfect for the wedding.
The dress fit very well... except for the "bra strap" they have inside the dress. It makes the chest area very tight, even without a bra. I unhooked the "bra strap" and felt relieved! It is NOT necessary to strap the bra as the zipper stayed up and the dress stayed in place perfectly. This is a beautiful dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 17, 2013
RTR offered to send the next 2 sizes up free of charge for overnight delivery when dress didn't fit
I rented this dress for a friends wedding. I received the dress the day before the wedding and both sizes were too small. I immediately jumped on the website and asked if there was anything I could do. They offered to send the next 2 sizes up overnight free of charge. They arrived just in time and fit great! This was a beautiful dress and I received tons of compliments on it. I will warn everyone that it does run small and there is no hook and eye, so we had to use a safety pin to keep the zipper from falling down.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
June 17, 2013
No Harm in a little Southern Charm!
I typically wear size zero, but saw a few reviews that said the dress ran small. While I would have preferred to order zero and two, only sizes zero and four were available. Luckily (lucky southern charm?) the zero fit perfectly and I loved that it had a built in bra. For this particular dress, unfortunately I noticed the tinsel was a little unraveled on the side and on the inside part of the boning was poking through. I contacted RTR right away and received a prompt response of what my options were and I decided to still wear the zero, as the four was big on me. This dress is absolutely perfect for an outdoor summer wedding. The pattern is beautiful and the dress stands out from all of the sundresses. I paired the dress with nude strappy heels and gold jewelry. I received numerous comments on the dress from wedding guests and even event staff- everyone wanted to know where I got it, or who made it. I love sharing RTR with everyone, the usual response is shock when I describe the brilliance of RTR. RTR is especially perfect for me as I am an Event Planner and with numerous events every week- it's my best kept not-so-secret!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 28, 2013
Disappointed
I didn't wear this one. I felt like it cut me in the wrong places and made me look larger in the hips. Also the built in bra was uncomfortable but at the same time I felt like the top was falling down.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
July 27, 2013
Perfect for a summer wedding
Beautiful fabric, TTS fit. The fabric has no stretch, and feels like linen, so it's pretty lightweight. I elected to wear a strapless bra and leave the built in bra strap unhooked, since it caused some weird bunchingin the back of the dress. Unfortunately I then spent the much of the wedding pulling the top of the dress up. It was not the most comfortable for dancing, due to the very straight, non stretchy skirt, boning in the bodice and somewhat loose fit in the bust. Also, I rented the 0 and the 2, and the 0 had clearly been hemmed...it was about 6 inches shorter than the 2. I actually liked the shorter length better but the 2 fit better in the hips. Overall, a beautiful dress though, and one I would rent again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
July 29, 2013
Pretty for a formal wedding
I thought this dress was black, but it is navy blue and gold. Very pretty, but i think it is time to retire it. Mine had a lot of piling and seemed over worn. The fit is a bit awkward. The difference in length between the 2 and the 4 was a lot...the 2 hit 2 inches above the knee and the 4 went 2 inches below the knee. I was in between sizes, but I ended up wearing the 2 because the 4 was way too big on top. Not my favorite dress that I've rented, but it worked out okay for a formal wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Straight & narrow
August 17, 2013
The colors looked very nice - royal blue with shiny gold accents. Great for a summer wedding.
The fit is small around the waist, so be sure to have your back up size be a size up. Not as comfortable as I had hoped, but still got lots of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
August 28, 2013
I was very unhappy with this dress.
The fabric has NO give whatsoever, it is woven, and it looks like it is very worn. I usually wear a 4 but had to switch to the 6 because it was very tight on top and was not flattering for my bust. I wore the 6 thinking it would be better up top but I was pulling it up and was very uncomfortable all night. This is not a dress that is good for girls with large busts. I will definitely keep this experience in the back of my mind for next time. Stretchy is better.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
September 16, 2013
Loved this dress
I think this dress fit true to size, but every designer sizes slightly differently. I'm 5'6, 135 lbs, and I wear a 32A. The dress fit perfectly, the length was slightly above the knee, and I had a little extra room in all areas. There is an extra clasp in the back to cinch the top, which definitely helped. There was no hook/eye closure above the zipper, so it fell completely down to my waist as my friends were exchanging vows! Luckily I had a coat on for the outdoor ceremony. We got a safety pin from the front desk and my boyfriend was able to repair it in minutes and I didn't think about it again all evening. There was some wear and tear on the material; there was a loose gold thread in the front, but I smoothed it down on the dress and wasn't bothered by it. I got lots of compliments and felt great all night! I would definitely rent again! The Badgley Mischka Crystal Cluster necklace looked a little cheap - it was pretty chunky and shiny, almost like it was made of plastic.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
September 17, 2013
I got tons of compliments on this dress - I wish I owned it.
I normally wear a 6 because i have a hard time getting anything smaller over my hips. In this case I wore the 8 because the 6 didn't zip around my waist in the back. However the 8 was a little loose around the bust. Nothing too terrible but not the perfect fit around the bust. I'm pretty tall and it rode up a little short from time to time. But the sweetheart neckline was perfect (a fav of mine) and the amount of shimmer was just right for my brother's wedding rehearsal dinner. Hey RTR, if you need to get rid of this thing feel free to gift it to me.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
October 7, 2013
Classy print and shape
The dress was really tight around the waist for me. I'm between 25-26". I have no problem sitting down in it though. The top was not very form fitting or flattering to the boobs, the boning created a gap that makes me feel kinda insecure, so I had to slouch a little to hold it up and keep pulling it up all night. The fabric has definitely seen some wear and tear, but in dim light it's ok. I wish there was a size 2 available for me to try on, but overall a nice dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 14, 2013
Very cute but the zipper is not ideal.
I got this as my back up dress and really liked it so I wore it over my first choice. I really wish it the zipper were more secure or that it had a hook at the top because I had to pin it so it wouldn't come down. I felt like i was tugging on it all night to stay up and then having to fix the zipper. I would not recommend it if you are busty. Such a cute dress and I received a ton of compliments- just wish I was more comfortable in it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 102lbs
October 29, 2013
Too big on top
I didn't end up wearing this dress because it was too big on top for me. It literally fell off. The fabric is beautiful, though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 6, 2013
Classy Vegas Style
This dress was classy but had enough 'bling' for the Las Vegas wedding. I received many compliments and felt very comfortable it in. The necklace was a fun addition as well!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
November 13, 2013
I felt like a chic southern belle!
I really enjoyed this dress. I am a size 0-2 and I thought the 0 fit great. I don't have a large bust so the extra bra support wasn't really needed, but it did help from constantly having to pull the dress up. This dress also has no wiggle room aka it does not stretch so you need to be careful what size you get or you will not be dancing lol. Other than that I got about a million compliments on it, even from the bride. I wore a pair of gold heels with it which I recommend because it looks like black in the picture but it's navy blue.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
November 18, 2013
Perfect for an outdoor wedding
I was a little worried this dress would be too dressy for an outdoor wedding. It turned out to be perfect. It almost has a linen look to it which looked great. It is a little blue in the sunlight and was definitely a little worn. Worked out great though.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×