You are masquerading as ! (switch back)
| REVIEWS |
 
| MY BAG
 

FREE SHIPPING + INSURANCE
What's this?

Rent like a PRO all year long! One year of
free shipping & insurance. Plus, we'll throw in
a free birthday dress. Learn More

Our Runway
What's New
Dresses
Accessories
Occasions
Designers
Stores
Southern Charmer Dress
Rental $50 Retail $470
info
  • Stylist Notes
  • Product Details
  • Size & Fit
Rent this flirty Milly halter, printed dress. It is perfect for any bridal shower, graduation, or dinner date with that special someone. Accessorize with a gold toned accessory like the Erickson Beamon's Gold Digger Ring.
Chat with a Stylist
Black and ivory print with gold foiling. Front sweetheart neckline. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 40'' from shoulder to hem.
Chat with a Stylist
This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - dress is fitted throughout; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips and backside; consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; consider wearing with SPANX
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Chat with a Stylist
  • Enter your shipping zip code
  • Select size
    Select free 2nd size
  • Select the day you'd like your dress to arrive
    We recommend you select a rental start date 1-2 days before your event.
    Renting for Thanksgiving weekend? Enjoy an extended rental on us! Rent for 11/27 and return 12/1.
    • Start Date
    • Mail Back
    • Unavailable
    • *No delivery on Sundays
Got A Minute? Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Photos71

0 Reviews from women like you:

Enter more for better results

Allie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6444
Jan 26, 2014
#bestdressed
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved how this dress looked! Perfect for a Yacht wedding. I definitely felt like the best dressed guest on the entire boat. My only issue with this dress is there isn't a clip at the top of the zipper so I had trouble keeping the zipper up. My boyfriend had to be on zipper patrol most of the night.
Rebecca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5533
Apr 23, 2014
Hot, shiny, little number!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Love this dress, rented it for a Vegas birthday party. Saw Elton John in this shiny little thing. I think he woulda been proud.
Janelle
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2534
Jan 20, 2014
Great, unique dress. Lots of compliments.
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
There isn't any stretch to the fabric, so it felt a bit tight through the hip/thigh area. The waist was a little big, so I used a belt which was pretty cute. Also, the bust was a little small, so I didn't wear a bra - the top was very structured with boning, so this wasn't a problem. I wish more people would put there measurements on here, as that would give better fit information than dress size or weight, so here goes: Bust/Bra: 32D Waist: 24" Hips: 34"-35" Height: 5'4"
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3432
Dec 29, 2013
So sparkly!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Much more metallic in person. Wore to a formal charity event and it was a hit
Amanda
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Body type: Pear
Weight: 110 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2431
Dec 10, 2013
Loved the fabric, but wish it fit better!
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress to my school graduation and subsequent graduation celebration. Although I loved this dress and wish I could give it 5 stars, the fit was just awkward. If you are tall and slender, I would be cautious. For me, it did not feel fitted at top unless you hook the bra that is inside. When I did, it felt perfectly snug... but the problem was this caused the back to gape out like 3 inches. So it was fine when I wore a little black cardigan over it, but when I took off the cardigan I had to unhook the bra, and even with my own strapless bra I did not feel perfectly comfortable dancing and whatnot. Also the waist area could have been a little more fitted. Although it wasn't a perfect experience I am still excited about Rent the Runway and I also have to mention i loved the box that the dress was delivered in. :D
Meghan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4423
Nov 23, 2013
The material was very comfortable and the zipper added a nice touch to the outfit.
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The lining on the inside has a small tear, which was nbd. Honestly though, I thought I looked good in the dress, until I saw my pictures afterward. I looked extremely bloated and washed out. I wish it had boning in the waistline like the last Milly dress I rented. It didn't stay up very well, was crushing my chest from the torso being a tad small for my athletic build. The colors were more dark blue than black, and that became more apparent as well in photos.
Arica
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2533
Nov 18, 2013
Perfect for an outdoor wedding
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I was a little worried this dress would be too dressy for an outdoor wedding. It turned out to be perfect. It almost has a linen look to it which looked great. It is a little blue in the sunlight and was definitely a little worn. Worked out great though.
Marian
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2433
Nov 13, 2013
I felt like a chic southern belle!
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I really enjoyed this dress. I am a size 0-2 and I thought the 0 fit great. I don't have a large bust so the extra bra support wasn't really needed, but it did help from constantly having to pull the dress up. This dress also has no wiggle room aka it does not stretch so you need to be careful what size you get or you will not be dancing lol. Other than that I got about a million compliments on it, even from the bride. I wore a pair of gold heels with it which I recommend because it looks like black in the picture but it's navy blue.
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5444
Nov 6, 2013
Classy Vegas Style
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was classy but had enough 'bling' for the Las Vegas wedding. I received many compliments and felt very comfortable it in. The necklace was a fun addition as well!
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5534
Oct 14, 2013
Very cute but the zipper is not ideal.
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I got this as my back up dress and really liked it so I wore it over my first choice. I really wish it the zipper were more secure or that it had a hook at the top because I had to pin it so it wouldn't come down. I felt like i was tugging on it all night to stay up and then having to fix the zipper. I would not recommend it if you are busty. Such a cute dress and I received a ton of compliments- just wish I was more comfortable in it!
Cate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5443
Sep 17, 2013
I got tons of compliments on this dress - I wish I owned it.
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I normally wear a 6 because i have a hard time getting anything smaller over my hips. In this case I wore the 8 because the 6 didn't zip around my waist in the back. However the 8 was a little loose around the bust. Nothing too terrible but not the perfect fit around the bust. I'm pretty tall and it rode up a little short from time to time. But the sweetheart neckline was perfect (a fav of mine) and the amount of shimmer was just right for my brother's wedding rehearsal dinner. Hey RTR, if you need to get rid of this thing feel free to gift it to me.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5533
Sep 16, 2013
Loved this dress
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I think this dress fit true to size, but every designer sizes slightly differently. I'm 5'6, 135 lbs, and I wear a 32A. The dress fit perfectly, the length was slightly above the knee, and I had a little extra room in all areas. There is an extra clasp in the back to cinch the top, which definitely helped. There was no hook/eye closure above the zipper, so it fell completely down to my waist as my friends were exchanging vows! Luckily I had a coat on for the outdoor ceremony. We got a safety pin from the front desk and my boyfriend was able to repair it in minutes and I didn't think about it again all evening. There was some wear and tear on the material; there was a loose gold thread in the front, but I smoothed it down on the dress and wasn't bothered by it. I got lots of compliments and felt great all night! I would definitely rent again! The Badgley Mischka Crystal Cluster necklace looked a little cheap - it was pretty chunky and shiny, almost like it was made of plastic.
Christine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4424
Aug 28, 2013
I was very unhappy with this dress.
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The fabric has NO give whatsoever, it is woven, and it looks like it is very worn. I usually wear a 4 but had to switch to the 6 because it was very tight on top and was not flattering for my bust. I wore the 6 thinking it would be better up top but I was pulling it up and was very uncomfortable all night. This is not a dress that is good for girls with large busts. I will definitely keep this experience in the back of my mind for next time. Stretchy is better.
Whitney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3424
Jul 27, 2013
Perfect for a summer wedding
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Beautiful fabric, TTS fit. The fabric has no stretch, and feels like linen, so it's pretty lightweight. I elected to wear a strapless bra and leave the built in bra strap unhooked, since it caused some weird bunchingin the back of the dress. Unfortunately I then spent the much of the wedding pulling the top of the dress up. It was not the most comfortable for dancing, due to the very straight, non stretchy skirt, boning in the bodice and somewhat loose fit in the bust. Also, I rented the 0 and the 2, and the 0 had clearly been hemmed...it was about 6 inches shorter than the 2. I actually liked the shorter length better but the 2 fit better in the hips. Overall, a beautiful dress though, and one I would rent again.
Gia
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3424
Jul 16, 2013
Gorgeous dress! Wish I could keep it!
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Out of two dresses, I wore this for an outdoor wedding/indoor reception and the dress worked for both. It's more beautiful in person because the gold detailing really shows through. As other users have posted, the dress has definitely seen some use. Both the 0 and the 2 had several frayed gold threads but nothing you can't fix. No problems with the zipper falling down in the back or the built in bra but the boning in the dress can be uncomfortable if you're going to be sitting down for long periods of time. Still, no regrets. The 2 was comfortable but the 0 fit perfectly. I would definitely rent this again! Very happy with my first RTR experience!
Vanessa
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 5531
Jul 7, 2013
I wore this dress for a summer wedding.
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was very comfortable. It fit well (def true to size) and a breathable material. It's comfortable, lightweight and pretty design. The only issue I had was that the zipper kept coming down slightly but nothing a safety pin couldn't fix. Perfect for a summer wedding.
Lindsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4443
Jul 7, 2013
Nice tight metallic pattern!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Dress was a nice fit (although I could have gone up a size to breathe better!) It was a little tight in the bust, making the top fold over (there isn't as much boning or structure at the top as I would have preferred). However, the pattern and the sheen make this dress look expensive and sexy. I would rent again.
Penny
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7423
Jun 23, 2013
Great dress. Got me hooked on RTR. Looking for an excuse to rent another dress soon.
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I wear anywhere from a size 6 to a size 12 in dresses, so I was very nervous this dress wouldn't fit based on some of the conflicting reviews. I ordered a 10 & a 12, and ended up wearing the 12. I could have made the 10 work, but the boning in the chest made it a little uncomfortable. For starters though, this dress is definitely not black. It's a dark navy that looks black in some lighting. Even the hanger straps are navy. The gold accent in the dress really makes it stand out. Skipped clipping the built-in bra, it was useless and uncomfortable, but wearing a strapless bra worked well with the dress. The fabric is very lightweight, sort of a linen feel to it, which is a plus for summer events. Wore this to a summer wedding with an outside garden ceremony and an indoor reception, and the dress worked in both settings. Overall, I really liked this dress. The only "worn" looking part was that some of the gold strings were popping out, but it wasn't extremely noticeable. People were surprised to hear it was a rental and my friend and I (also wearing RTR) were answering questions about the rental process to people all through cocktail hour. Other than the 12 being just a drop too long for a short person like me, I was really comfortable in it all night.
Sonja Leela
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 2431
Jun 17, 2013
No Harm in a little Southern Charm!
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I typically wear size zero, but saw a few reviews that said the dress ran small. While I would have preferred to order zero and two, only sizes zero and four were available. Luckily (lucky southern charm?) the zero fit perfectly and I loved that it had a built in bra. For this particular dress, unfortunately I noticed the tinsel was a little unraveled on the side and on the inside part of the boning was poking through. I contacted RTR right away and received a prompt response of what my options were and I decided to still wear the zero, as the four was big on me. This dress is absolutely perfect for an outdoor summer wedding. The pattern is beautiful and the dress stands out from all of the sundresses. I paired the dress with nude strappy heels and gold jewelry. I received numerous comments on the dress from wedding guests and even event staff- everyone wanted to know where I got it, or who made it. I love sharing RTR with everyone, the usual response is shock when I describe the brilliance of RTR. RTR is especially perfect for me as I am an Event Planner and with numerous events every week- it's my best kept not-so-secret!
Natalie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5423
Jun 17, 2013
RTR offered to send the next 2 sizes up free of charge for overnight delivery when dress didn't fit
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a friends wedding. I received the dress the day before the wedding and both sizes were too small. I immediately jumped on the website and asked if there was anything I could do. They offered to send the next 2 sizes up overnight free of charge. They arrived just in time and fit great! This was a beautiful dress and I received tons of compliments on it. I will warn everyone that it does run small and there is no hook and eye, so we had to use a safety pin to keep the zipper from falling down.
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4524
Jun 10, 2013
Love Love Love!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
As other reviewers said the color looks more like navy than black. There was some slight wear and tear if you looked up close but nothing any one would notice unless they were inspecting it closely. Having a chest on the larger side - I opted to wear a bra and not clasp the internal bra strap. If you are smaller chested though the strap was a great option and would definitely keep everything in place. I truly love the dress and was sad to send it back.
Christina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5433
May 31, 2013
Loved the jacquard!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I am a huge fan of Milly and was quite excited to receive this dress. I accompanied my boyfriend (one of the groomsmen) to a wedding and was quite nervous about finding the right dress to wear because I hadn't met very many of his friends and his parents were also attending. The venue, on a "fanciness" scale of 1-10 was about an 7.5-8, so I felt like wearing a long dress would be too over-dressed. You cannot see it in the photo but I wore this dress with strappy gold sandals that matched the jacquard's gold perfectly. I have an athletic body, so my waist is very small but I have very muscular thighs, so the dress was a bit loose in the waist but tight in the thighs. I wanted to wear Spanx, but because the dress has a satin lining, the Spanx caused the dress to shift too much to one side, so I had to go without them. I was expecting the dress to be a bit heavier, but it was quite light. Perfect for being a guest at a wedding!
Lucy
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 5433
May 5, 2013
Gorgeous!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Beautiful dress, the fabric is amazing- More iridescent than in the photo. Dress has elastic at the bust line to help keep it up, which I found helpful. I received a ton of compliments! A good find. Runs a little snug, but generally true to size. If you are in between sizes I would size up.
Kelsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 2323
Apr 30, 2013
Perfect length
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Overall, I was very happy with this dress. It had a built-in bra which is always a plus. Unfortunately, the bra was super tight and made it uncomfortable to sit down. There was no hook-and-eye so I didn't feel like I could unhook the bra and still have support. The fit was perfect in the waist but got a bit bunched when sitting. The dress fell right above my knee. So many people told me they loved this dress and I'm very happy that I chose it. I was worried that it would look worn (note other comments) but besides a little fraying of the gold threads the dress was in great condition.
Ramey Kay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3432
Apr 24, 2013
Got compliments all night long!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I love the dress! It was comfortable, and didn't move! Some strapless dresses wiggle around or slide down, this stayed put... even on the dance floor! I wore it with wedges because the wedding was in our backyard.
Kennedy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 105 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2523
Apr 3, 2013
I felt like a million bucks! I received so many compliments.
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fits great on me. The built in bra strap helped provide a tight fit so that it made my boobs look bigger in the sweetheart neckline cut. I loved everything about it. My only complaint was my constant wardrobe malfunction. For some strange reason, the zipper kept unzipping itself exposing my back. People kept telling me that my zipper was down.
Triccia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 4431
Mar 27, 2013
The numerous compliments by women at a swanky NYC club made me feel like a model!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Accentuated all the right features.
Bex
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5523
Aug 17, 2012
Love love the dress
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress just fits perfectly.
Caro
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5433
Jan 22, 2013
This dress was unforgettable! I wish it was a permanent piece in my wardrobe.
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit was great throughout the body of the dress. It was too tight to wear a strapless bra but surprisingly did not feel like it was falling down all night. For girls with wider rib cages: it does not have a hook and eye closure, just a zipper up the back, so be aware of that when ordering the dress
Andrea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 129 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4423
Jan 2, 2013
A fabulous NYE '13!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress wasn't my favorite but still looked great. I loved the colors and sparkle, but the material was a bit uncomfortable and had no give - definitely ran smaller than noted. It especially was tight around the waist, and awkwardly pushed upward when I walked. Also, the zipper in the back had no clasp and kept falling down - my boyfriend had to put a safety pin there so it wouldn't anymore. Overall had a great night and RTR experience but wouldn't rent this dress again!
LilMrsD
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3533
Dec 28, 2012
Great Holiday dress without being a cliche
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress was beautiful and had an unusual fabric. The gold looked fabulous when the light reflected off of it. My only disappointment was the 2 was too tight but the right length. The 4 fit better but was all the way down to my knees. I wore the 4 and chose to go the classy route.
Lindsay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3433
Dec 11, 2012
I felt very classy and comfortable in this dress
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit well overall, but was a little too long
Mary
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4522
Dec 18, 2012
Everyone LOVED the dress got great compliments.
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Fits true to size, fitted a littler small on me but luckily it fitted. It has a bra strap which is great because it holds your bust and its not needed to wear a bra. The top is like a bustier and after the waist is loose fabric. I wore it for my fiancee corporate christmas dinner party.
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Body type: Straight & narrow
Canonical User Type: 4531
Dec 16, 2012
Got tons of compliments on this dress!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Unique, fun, stands out in a crowd!
Susie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3443
Dec 15, 2012
Everyone kept coming up to me and telling me how gorgeous I looked!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved this dress, it's really beautiful, very glamorous and classy- I wore this to the hospital ball where I am a nurse at. This dress is definitely for someone looking to make a statement. The nitty gritty: for an hourglass shaped woman, the fit was a bit weird. I'm 5'8" with a regular size torso- the cut seemed to be for someone with a short torso- the hips really were up higher than where they were supposed to be, so the dress kept bunching up. The coloring: the dark part is a dark navy blue, not black. The length was perfect for someone my height, this dress would definitely be too long for someone shorter than 5'6". All in all, besides the cut, I was very happy with this rental.
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2332
Nov 12, 2012
Formal Affair done right
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Renting this dress was the best decision I made. It fight perfectly to my body and I received compliments all night. The one problem I could see would be the built in bra area, if you are bigger in that area it could be a little snug and irritating. I would 100% rent this dress again. I kept the whole look simple and I paired it with a Rebecca Minkoff handbag, also rented from RTR. This is definitely a dress that I would recommend to all my friends and family, it makes you feel amazing!
Molly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3533
Oct 9, 2012
Love, Love, Love
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was amazing!!! Fit amazing, felt amazing, excellent condition. I received a ton of compliments. Winner! I love Milly dresses!
LSG
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 5443
Oct 6, 2012
having fun wearing something fabulous!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Honestly, this was not my favorite RTR rental. First of all, it was tight across my hips but oddly loose around the waist. The lining was somewhat twisted causing me to constantly readjust the dress all night. And it almost looked like the front of the dress was black and the back was navy blue (but that might just have been due to wear over time). I still felt pretty and my husband liked it but overall not my favorite and I would not rent it again.
Karenia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3433
Sep 30, 2012
Elegant for bridal shower
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress for a bridal shower brunch with a white cardigan, pearls, and nude pumps. The dress was a hit! I was surprised that the material was as lightweight as it was and had a gold thread that looked gorgeous in the sunlight; both an added bonus. The boning in the dress helped to keep it up and maintain a nice snug fit against my waist. The hemline hit just below my knee which was okay since it was strapless and the added hemline length kept it modest for sitting. I wore a strapless bra with the dress and that seemed sufficient enough although I'm sure a Nubra would've been more comfortable in retrospect. Overall I got lots of compliments on my dress!!!
sovy
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4523
Sep 25, 2012
love the gold detail, the sweetheart neckline is flattering, but be aware that it may slip down.
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved it, it was flattering and beautifully detailed. love the gold, it was just enough sparkle, but not soo much that you were "trying' to hard. I'm 5'3, and the length was just right above the knee. Would totally recommend this dress! It is very fitted...very, maybe order your back up a size up if you're in between?
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×
×
Save at least $14.95 on every order and rent like a pro all year long. Details
  • free shipping
  • free insurance
  • free birthday dress