Milly

Sophia Lace Shift

$30 – $45 rental?
$470 retail
Stylist Notes

Be the stylish woman in the room wearing this amazing Milly colored lace shift. Perfect for a holiday party, anniversary, or cocktail event.

Also available in black.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-10.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up in backup
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Green lace (100% Nylon; Lining: 100% Silk). Boat neckline. Three quarter sleeves. Pleating at skirt. Exposed back zip. 37'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
653 reviews
Fit
Large
(44)
True to Size
(399)
Small
(98)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
June 25, 2014
Awesome Dress
The dress was super comfortable! It was the perfect dress to wear to a wedding. The neckline detail is awesome. The only con is that the sleeves are a bit tight so I ended up wearing the bigger size and it was totally fine.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133lbs
June 25, 2014
Zipper would not stay up
I wasn't able to wear this dress because the zipper would not stay up. There is no hook and eye, so every time I moved my shoulders, the zipper would start to unzip. Definitely a disappointment, because the green lace was gorgeous.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105lbs
June 26, 2014
Runs big!
The dress is gorgeous but was definitely too long and big ! I usually wear a size 0 but they did not offer that so I figured the 2 wouldn't be too bad. Unfortunately I wasn't able to wear it but if it fits it would definitely be gorgeous!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
June 26, 2014
Loved it.
Fit well, true to size- the fabric was elegant, and the color great for a winter wedding. I couldn't move my arms with reckless abandon due to the more fitted top and delicate lace, but the dress was plenty comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Body type: Pear
June 29, 2014
Beautiful fit in a stunning color!
Fit was great. Ordered a 6 and an 8 and wore the 6. The color was really unique. I received tons of compliments!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
July 1, 2014
Amazing fit, so many compliments!
I rented this dress for my work holiday party, and got so many compliments!! It's classic and classy without being too dowdy, which is just what I was going for - very Audrey Hepburn! I am definitely a pear shape and bigger in the hips, and the skirt ended up being more of a sheath shape than a gathered skirt. But the fabric does have some stretch to it so I was able to wear it without feeling uncomfortable. If I was any bigger in the hips though I might have felt like it was too tight on the bottom. I was also worried about the arms being restricting, as I sometimes have that problem with sleeves. When I put the dress on they were totally fine, and even had a little give to them. I was completely comfortable all night! The lining did stick out past the lace in some places as other reviewers said. I ended up just leaving it, I'm sure no one noticed or cared. And the dress is more green than teal, but still a very pretty color!! This is one of my favorite dresses on RTR right now and I would rent it again in a heartbeat!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
July 7, 2014
Lightweight, beautiful lace.
This was great for an outdoor wedding. The color is beautiful and it's really comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 163lbs
July 15, 2014
My first five star rental!
I rented the 10 and 12 for a work charity party. Both dresses fit great. The 10 fit a little more nicely in the body but I has more room in the arms in the 12 so I went with that one so I could be really comfortable. The dress was in perfect condition. The pockets were awesome and I got tons of compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
July 17, 2014
Compliments all night long!
The dress was true to size and quite comfortable. I did not find the sleeves to be tight as other reviewers did, and I have larger than average arms. As other reviewers have pointed out, the skirt was a little tighter on me than pictured on the model, and didn't flow freely, and the lace at the top kept folding in and required adjusting every now and then. All in all, however, I was very happy with this rental and received compliments all night. The color stands out beautifully among a sea of LBDs.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
July 19, 2014
Beautiful dress and gorgeous color.
Gorgeous color, but there is no stretch in the lace, so I had to size up for a better fit in the shoulders/arms.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
August 5, 2014
Stunning
Non-stop compliments! I didn't love this dress when I first put it on. It was looser than I had hoped and a bit longer too. In fact, I tried to get a replacement dress, but it was too late on Friday night, so I wore the dress. It ended up being a huge hit. Classy length (hit me mid-knee), and conservatively sexy with the lace top and high V back (the back was my favorite!). Did a lot of raving about Rent The Runway when people asked where I got it from! Lots of women said they considered it before but would actually try it now that they've seen it work well in person for someone.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
August 5, 2014
Hated this dress...
I got a size 6 & 8. Normally, I can comfortably wear a size 6 from pretty much any store. But the size 8 was still too small, and did not flatter my body.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 158lbs
August 7, 2014
Perfect for a winter wedding
Wore this to a winter wedding and got compliments all night. Great first rtr experience.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
August 11, 2014
Not up to par
First for the fit -- if you have a short torso, this will his you in a very weird place. Secondly for the quality -- both sizes arrived and the lace was fraying and ripped all along the neckline. The smaller of the two sizes smelled horribly. Customer service was amazing an overnighted me a backup dress, so all was good there! Misc -- the color was great, a nice deep teal like in the picture. lightweight material, would be comfortable even in warm evening weather.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126lbs
August 25, 2014
Beautiful Dress, Fits a Straighter Profile
This dress is gorgeous. I loved how the neckline looked, and I felt very elegant in it. However, despite wearing between a size 2 and 4, I have hips. In the hips, the dress seemed to not lay very well and looked quite a bit less flattering. On the size 2, the pleats puckered quite a bit, making the dress bunch/pull in places it shouldn't have. On the size 4, while the hips fit a bit better, the pleats still did not lay flat like they needed two--while the waist was a bit big. As such, I choose not to wear this dress as the 2 was too small and the 4 didn't accentuate my waist and still made me feel uncomfortable in the hips.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
August 26, 2014
Stunning color, sooo many compliments!!! You can't go wrong with this dress.
6 fit great but was a little tight in the arms and I knew I would be dancing all night so I went with the 8.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 123lbs
September 1, 2014
Beautiful color and lace made this dress a perfect choice for a fall wedding.
I ordered a 2 and a 4, and I was disappointed to discover that the zipper had obviously been replaced in the 4. The zipper in the 4 was a different color, the snap was missing, and the zipper would not stay up when I tried the dress on (even though the dress wasn't tight at all)...hence the reason for my 3-star rating. Luckily the 2 fit fine, so I just wore that one instead.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
September 2, 2014
The dress was perfect the night was perfect :)
Everything fit well. The dress was true to size. I received tons of compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Weight: 160lbs
September 2, 2014
Perfect for a church setting!
Loved the color.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
September 4, 2014
Felt like Kate Middleton!
The dress fit true to size. I wore the 10 and it was very comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
September 8, 2014
The color was phenomenal - dark green with a hint of teal. Received a ton of compliments.
Arms were cut much smaller than the rest of the dress. Size up if you have chest or wide shoulders; size down if you're pear-shaped. Dress does a wonderful job of still being sexy while letting you feel comfortable and covered up.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
September 15, 2014
BEAUTIFUL DRESS
I'm obsessed with this dress. This was the most beautiful color - it's more of a teal green. It is a very slenderizing dress. Definitely recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
September 23, 2014
Fundraising Dinner
PERFECT DRESS for conservative cocktail attire. Beautiful in person. I want to own this dress. I felt comfortable and beautiful.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
October 11, 2014
The dress is even more beautiful in person.
I ordered an 8 and a 10. I normally wear an 8. The 8 was snug but the 10 was too big. I wore the 8. The color of this dress is beautiful and the lace is one of a kind. The length was perfect for a wedding and I still felt sexy.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148lbs
September 19, 2014
Feeling like a broad
This dress made me feel broad and matronly - while accentuating a non-concave belly. The line across the top of the dress liner does a fantastic job of making my slightly broad shoulders even bigger, while the waist pulls in just at the right spot to make me feel like I have a gigantic belly. So - broad shoulders and a fat belly... It is not going to the wedding with me! This would be better for someone tall and narrow. The 4 didn't fit in my arms, the 6 fit well. I like the v- back, back zipper and color. Pockets could be left out - as they are too high and only add fabric in a bad area.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 162lbs
September 20, 2014
Classy and comfortable. What more could I ask for?
Both the size 8 and size 10 fit. There were things that I liked better about each size. I decided to wear the size 10 because I liked the length as it was a bit longer and came to the middle of my knee. I liked the size 8 as it fit at the top better because it was a snugger fit. Either would have worked. I felt very classy and comfortable throughout the wedding. Received lots of compliments. Highly recommend.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
June 13, 2014
The perfect dress!
Great fit. Super comfortable. Extremely happy with this rental!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Body type: Full Bust
January 17, 2014
A very gorgeous dress!
I couldn't wear it because it ran very small.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 9, 2014
Prefect dress
Loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
September 22, 2014
Who knew something so elegant could be so comfortable
This color pops, perfect for your fall/winter events. The detailing on the dress is beautiful, receiving compliments all night! Definitely a go to if you're looking to stand out but still be on the conservative side.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
September 22, 2014
Sophisticated sexy!
Pros- I received so many compliments in this dress. The style was very unique and unlike anything I've ever tried before. It has a beautiful back and fit my curves perfectly. It was great for a fall New England wedding. Cons- The 8 fit well on my arms and was too loose on my body. The 6 fit perfect on my body, but the arms felt so tight I could rip the dress. In the end I wore the 6 and was just a bit uncomfortable with the arms all night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 119lbs
September 24, 2014
Beautiful, well made dress!
This was my first choice dress, but unfortunately ended up not working for me. This was for my son's christening, so it fit the occasion perfectly, just not my body! I am 4 months post partum, and the dress showed it. It hit my hip area in a weird way that made me look like a voluptuous busty circa 1960s secretary, not quite the look I was going for. Otherwise what a beautiful dress, def something I'll rent when I lose my baby weight. The arms and top area fit well, all true to size. I didn't notice any tightness in the arm lace, but my arms are small.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 30, 2014
Classic dress and pretty fall color!
Fits true to size. I couldn't move my arms in the 2 so I tried on the 4 and it was perfect. Great for a fall wedding!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
October 1, 2014
Absolutely gorgeous!
Fit: I am normally a 0 or 2 and am glad I ordered the 2. It fit really well but was tight. It's definitely not loose like the picture shows around the bottom of the hem. Maybe a 4 would have done that but that size was not available. Pros: It's a gorgeous color, I definitely recommend for a fall wedding/event! This dress makes you look and feel beautiful! Cons: The lace is really tight, I did not lift my arms up all night. Which is fine, I didn't really need to but be aware of that restriction.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
October 1, 2014
Loved this dress
I ended up not wearing this dress because I rented another one that I liked a little more for my shape. This dress was longer than I expected it to be, but once I put heels on it looked very chique and classy. The skirt is more pencil shaped than it appears in the model, but wasn't tight at all on my hips or butt. The back of this dress is definitely pretty, so plan on wearing your hair up to show it off!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 165lbs
October 5, 2014
I got so many compliments, it was perfect for the occasion
The arms run a little small, the pockets were awesome and everything else was perfect! Such a comfortable dress
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
June 24, 2014
Beautiful dress and true to size but the built in waist is a problem.
The dress is a gorgeous color and fit true to size. The problem for me was I have very long legs and a very short torso. The dress has a built in waist that hit me at my hips and not at my waist. Needless to say, this was not a flattering look. If you have a "standard" torso-to-leg ratio, this dress will probably be great. But if you are like me and need a high defined waist, avoid this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148lbs
October 6, 2014
Beautiful and comfortable
I ordered the 8 and the 10 and ended up wearing the 10. The sleeves were just a bit tight when I first put the dress on but it was not an issue. I was able to dance and was comfortable all night!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 6, 2014
Beautiful, rich color!
The picture of this dress online doesn't come close to doing the dress justice. The color is more of a deep teal green. It was absolutely gorgeous. I was also worried about how it will fit on my waist with the pleating, but it fit perfectly. The dress was conservative, yet comfortable and fun. Great for a fall wedding or other formal event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 108lbs
October 6, 2014
Perfectly elegant dress for my brother's wedding!
I'll be honest: I was super skeptical about this dress. After trying it on initially, I felt like it was a bit too long on my petite frame, a bit weird with the exposed zipper, etc... But hey, it was my brother's wedding day not mine, so on the dress went. I was so wrong about my first thoughts on this dress! Once makeup and hair were done, it was transformed into elegant and retro. Looked much more expensive and high-end than the photos. A timeless no-brainer, even if you don't think so at first glance :).
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 17

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×