Milly

Sophia Lace Shift

$30 – $45 rental ?
$470 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Be the stylish woman in the room wearing this amazing Milly colored lace shift. Perfect for a holiday party, anniversary, or cocktail event. Stick to accessories like the Kendra Scott's Black Stone Bib Necklace, and Kenneth Jay Lane's Coil Snake Ring.
Also available in black.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-10.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up in backup
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-10.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up in backup
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Green lace(100% nylon; lining: 100% silk). Boat neckline. Three quarter sleeves. Pleating at skirt. Exposed back zip. 37'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

421 reviews

Fit
Small 73
True to Size 293
Large 37
Photos 246
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 20, 2013

Great experience! Dress was perfect fit for my Christmas party!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
So many compliments
MK
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 178 lbs
May 29, 2014

I rented this dress for my wedding rehearsal. It was so feminine and elegant!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress runs a little small. It just had a snug fit but wasn't so small that it wouldn't zip. The lace was gorgeous but be careful of what type of necklace you pair with it. Mine kept getting snagged on the lace around the neck. I loved this dress and is my favorite rent the runway dress so far!
ecbailey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Oct 25, 2014

I felt like the best dressed girl at the wedding!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to a friends October wedding. I thought the lace sleeves were more appropriate in her conservative church setting but the fit still made me feel like a million bucks. The lace is relaxed and does have some give, contrary to the other comments about the sleeves being tight. Went without a bra, given the low cut back - so I had a little extra room in the top. Loved the color and received several compliments. Will definitely consider renting again! (paired with the Oscar de la Renta Etoile earrings) As always, the customer service was outstanding! Since this dress wasn't available in a larger size, I was sent a similar lace long sleeve backup dress. Thanks again to Brittany who made the recommendation.
Melissa
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
Nov 2, 2014

Lovely dress! Comfortable and perfect for a fall wedding.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a wedding and was really pleased with the choice overall. It was beautiful (especially the low back!) and very comfortable. It was tight in the right places and loose in the right places. I paired it with a black clutch, simple black heels, and some black and silver earrings. I'm really short and was worried that it would be way too long and unflattering, but it was fine (came right above my knee). That said, the only reason I gave the dress 4 starts, not 5, was because I did wish it was a bit shorter and that the sleeves were slightly longer.
Jill
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Nov 4, 2014

It was a beautiful Sunday wedding, and I felt like I was one of the best-dressed guests!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The photo does not do it justice! The dress fit really well. The style was forgiving but still flattering, a rare feat for most dresses. Also, decided to wear a bra with nude colored straps because it was very subtle. Even my bra-police mother approved.
Rebekah
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 5, 2014

Dress was perfect!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I loved this dress!!! Fit true to size. I weigh 135 but my bra size is a 30F so I was a little worried about the fit but it was perfect! I wore it for a rehearsal dinner and it was comfortable, flattering, and absolutely gorgeous!! The color in person is a little darker than I thought it would be but I loved it!
Morgan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 11, 2014

Gorgeous color and style!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Sleeves fit tight, but overall good fit. Flowy on the bottom and tight on the top. Got lots of compliments and I loved the color and style! Highly recommend.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Nov 20, 2014

Complements and fun. Wore this while chaperoning a high school ring dance.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Lace was a little loose around neckline, shoulders and back. Overall great fit. I added a necklace as a belt and it worked great. I got complements from co-workers and my students :)
Randi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 20, 2014

Gorgeous and comfortable

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Date
Fits wide in the hips and thighs so it's great for pear shapes. Very flattering and super comfortable. Gorgeous dress!! I loved it.
Samantha
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Nov 22, 2014

Great first rental!

Size worn: 10
Rented for: Party
The dress fit great! I was comfortable all night, and loved the color! It was darker than the picture appears.
Molly
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 6, 2014

The dress fit perfectly!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress fit me perfectly. I was nervous renting from online and not being able to try it on before I could actually rent it but it worked out great! The sleeves were a tad tight, but my arms are naturally big and that's a problem I have with a lot of clothing. The neckline was my favorite part. Definitely recommend!
Anna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 7, 2014

Perfect for a wedding!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved wearing this dress! There is not a ton of give in the waist but I didn't have any issues with that (and I usually do) - sat during the ceremony and dinner, enjoyed a multi-course meal and danced alllll night and didn't once notice any tightness or discomfort. I read in other reviews that the lace flopped over for them, but that didn't happen to me. I felt great it in and received several compliments throughout the night!
Sidnie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 8, 2014

Wore to a wedding at a winery in May

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wanted to rent this dress for a long time and am glad I did! At the time, I was closer to a 14, and aside from a little "pooch" in the midsection, this was a very forgiving dress. The sleeves and top are obviously the focal point and the color does not disappoint!
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 11, 2014

Fits like a glove with a touch of sexy on the back.

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Party
The dress is more fitted than I expected. However, it has a great fit overall. The back has a v-neck and the lace on top is very feminine. I wore it to my company's holiday party. The sleeves were a bit snug. The color is beautiful. I received tons of compliments.
Meghan
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 164 lbs
Dec 12, 2014

Many compliments! Perfect for Christmas party!

Size worn: 8
Rented for: Party
The color of this dress was beautiful, however there were some areas of the lace that were ripped, but it was very hard to see because of the fabric. It was a bit tight where the seam was near the rib cage but was do-able for the night. I was able to dance the night away freely. Overall really enjoyed the dress and received many compliments!
Nycole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 170 lbs
Dec 13, 2014

It was extremely comfortable and the color was gorgeous!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress was beautiful, even though I wasn't super excited about the way it fit me. The color was the best part - it is a really beautiful rich, deep green that you can't really tell from the photos. The lace is really pretty too, and the way it sits along your collar bone is beautiful. It's soft and stretchy and has pockets - all things that make this dress very wearable for a long night!
RTR Customer
Dec 15, 2014

Beautiful dress that stands out among black!

Size worn: 12
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress! The lace detail was beautiful and the back detail made it even more special. I'm usually a size 8-10 but I've found many of the RTR dresses are so tight in the chest that I need to wear a size 12, which was what I wore in this dress. It was so tight in the chest that I didn't need a bra. Very snug to sit in, but not too uncomfortable. I'd rent it again because the lace details and beautiful color stood out among the other black dresses at a September wedding.
Lisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 16, 2014

Gorgeous color!

Size worn: 8
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress. I usually wear a 6 but that wasn't available so I took a shot & went with an 8. It fit perfectly & the color was so beautiful. I was disappointed that the lace at the neckline was fraying as some had said in reviews but I wore a statement necklace & the neckline lace wasn't noticeable. I would rent it again for the right occasion.
Alexandra
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 18, 2014

Color, comfort, and femininity!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress and wish I could have kept it. The fit was true to size, with a bit of give to the fabric. The color was a beautiful dark teal - a little more vibrant than it appears in the model photo. The lace was delicate and comfortable against my skin. A huge hit!
rachelmele
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165 lbs
Dec 20, 2014

Love the open back

Size worn: 10
Rented for: Party
Got to wear it twice in one weekend
Kristin
Age: 31
Dec 20, 2014

Great dress

Size worn: 8
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit tighter on my pear shape than I expected but was just right. Love the color & shape. Glad I got both the 8 & 6, ended up definitely needing a 8.
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 21, 2014

Great for a fall wedding!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Such an easy dress! True to size, good length, good shape, and POCKETS! I ordered this for a fall wedding and even though it turned out to be 70 degrees that day, I loved the sleeves. The low back was great, would go well with an up-do. A strapless bra would work well with this, but I wore a nude bra with straps for the lift factor, and none of my girlfriends noticed when I pointed it out.
Crystal
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 29, 2014

Beautiful deep turquoise color!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress even though someone else at the same wedding rented the same dress (RTR can you start tagging events if people in the same zip code rent the dress?). The length was perfect-knee length and conservative. The lace on top adds visual interest and the back is a flattering cut. My only complaint would be that the dress ran a bit small. I almost always wear a 4 and had to wear a 6 in this dress solely because of the way the shoulders were cut. The 4 looked too tight across the chest and shoulders. This might not be a problem for others unless you have a larger bust or broader shoulders.
Melissa
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Dec 30, 2014

Fun to get a fancy dress in the mail!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This is a beautiful dress. The color and the lace is gorgeous! I usually wear between a six and an eight – definitely had to go with the eight in this one. The lace in the arms was a tiny bit snug (my arms are a bit full and athletic), but not too bad. Because I am short the length did fall below my knees. I think this dress would look better on someone a bit taller, or if you are my height, a bit thinner. I think with my height and weight it made me look a little boxy. All that being said, it really is a beautiful dress and I would recommend it!
Casey
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 2, 2015

I wore this dress to a rehearsal dinner.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Dress fit perfectly. I got a lot of compliments. Dress was super comfortable, I would rent again.
Rachel
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Jan 3, 2015

Size and fit were great!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Was really nervous because this was my first RTR experience (for a New Years party) and the back up size was out of stock, but the fit was great! MIght have sized up if it was available. My dress arrived a lot sooner than planned too! Will definitely rent again for an upcoming wedding.
Chelsea
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 10, 2015

Complements all night!

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Party
I ordered a size 4 and size 2. I have an hourglass shaped body – and I usually have a hard time finding clothes that fit me at my waist AND my hips perfectly. I wore the size 2 which was a little snug in my bust but fit everywhere else nicely. The 4 was too big in my waist and a little snug in my hips (which was odd because the 2 wasn't) so it fit kind of awkward. In the end, I was very happy with the dress; I received complements on it all night. I would definitely rent this one again.
Kerri
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 12, 2015

This is a perfect dress for people who prefer more length!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I have been very careful about wearing dresses ever since my daughter was born. Short dresses no longer work with toddlers and longer dresses a lot of the time are not "cute" This dress was perfect. My only complaint was the lace was not finished around the edges which I felt looked a little bit tacky (which is why I gave it four stars) Other than that the 8 fit perfectly (I think I could have worn the six except it is a little tight in the bust and the arms (I have larger arms)
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 19, 2015

The lace top of this dress is beautiful.

Size worn: 8
Rented for: Party
Good fit. True to size. Agrees with many of the reviews about the dress. Some of the edges if the lace seemed worn but I was going to a holiday party with dim lighting. I wore this to my husband's business holiday party. It was classy and festive. I loved it.
Abigail
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 21, 2015

Subtle but makes a statement!

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Wedding
Great color and texture! Conservative, but also really fun! The dress gives a little bit with wear, so I'm glad I went with the smaller option.
kathryn
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 180 lbs
Jan 23, 2015

Surpassed my expectations!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I passed over this dress a few times when browsing because I wasn't sure if it would work with my body shape. I normally wear a 10 or 12 and in this dress ended up wearing the 12. I wore it to a family wedding and got tons of compliments. It was a little snug around the bust, but it actually ended up being good thing because I didn't wear a bra. The pockets were great! I loved it so much I didn't want to send it back.
Patricia
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 24, 2015

Beautiful rich color and extremely comfortable dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wore this to the Governor of Tennessee Inauguration Ball. The color was unique but work at a "black tie optional" event. I am 5' 4" and it was a nice knee length. Reviews mentioned tight arms, but they worked for me. This dress was dressy, sexy but understated. I am a "Milly" fan now and will look for other designs. The fit was a custom-fit for a non-custom price! Dress arrived in perfect condition. I wear between a 4 and 6; wore the 6 in this designer.
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180 lbs
Feb 8, 2015

Got a ton of compliments on this dress even though the event canceled!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The party I rented this for was canceled at the last minute, so my boyfriend & I made a date night of it out at our country club. Had a blast just hanging out with him & feeling pretty in this dress. Will likely rent again ... hopefully for an event that doesn't cancel!
RTR Customer
Feb 15, 2015

Great dress!

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Date
Fits true to size. Pockets are a plus! The lace sleeves do not have any stretch, so they may not work for some arms.
Kelly
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Feb 18, 2015

I got so many compliments on this dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The color was beautiful, and it was very comfortable. It even had pockets! I wore it with cowboy boots to a wedding, and it was definitely a hit. I would wear it again!
Caitlyn
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Feb 25, 2015

Got so many compliments on this dress

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Super comfortable able to move freely and dance
Nikki
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 117 lbs
Mar 8, 2015

Beautiful.

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Wedding
Dress is beautiful. I ended up going a size up because the waist of the dress is snug. The dress was longer than expected, and the lining was not cut evenly and was longer in places than the lace overlay. Couldn't fix the length but I did manage to use fashion tap to correct the uneven lining. The dress did snag on everything, I would avoid wearing jewelry with it. The dress didn't really need any jewelry but I paired it with a few bracelets. The neckline was too pretty to be covered up with a necklace. Overall I did like the dress and received dozens of compliments on it the whole night! I would definitely rent this designer again.
Megan
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 169 lbs
Mar 13, 2015

Compliments all night!

Size worn: 12
Rented for: Wedding
This is the third time I have used RTR and this is my favorite rental yet. The dresses arrived early and were in wonderful condition. The color is absolutely stunning and I felt the cut was really flattering. I have bubble butt (no better way to say that) and usually shy away from "shift" dresses, but the skirt was generous. I will say that I believe the dress relaxed over the evening so if you don't mind starting out your event a little snug I would go with your smaller size as it loosens later. It was and early wedding with a lot of celebrating later and I was comfortable the entire day/night. I can't tell you how much I loved this dress and wish I owned it. Compliments all night long and now on social media from photos. Thanks again RTR, so glad I've started using this service.
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 15, 2015

Pretty and classy

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Party
Loved this dress. Fit well; just FYI no stretch in arms. Great color!
Mara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 16, 2015

Beautiful color, but tight in the sleeves

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is a gorgeous teal and the cut was conservative enough for a church wedding without seeming dated. I'm usually always an 8 in dresses, but I sized up having read the reviews. Like many others have stated, the sleeves are really tight and they restricted my range of motion. The 10 fit much better in the chest and arms and was just a little bit roomy in the waist. I got a ton of compliments throughout the evening, and I'd suggest this dress for a spring/fall event -- just order a size up if you are busty or don't have super skinny arms.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×