Rent the Runway

Milly

Sophia Lace Shift

$45 rental
$470 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Be the stylish woman in the room wearing this amazing Milly colored lace shift. Perfect for a holiday party, anniversary, or cocktail event.

Also available in black.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-10.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up in backup
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-10.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up in backup
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Green lace(100% nylon; lining: 100% silk). Boat neckline. Three quarter sleeves. Pleating at skirt. Exposed back zip. 37'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

458 reviews

Fit
Small 79
True to Size 313
Large 40
Photos 267
Carolyn
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 14, 2014

Lovely Color

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Tasteful, elegant. I did not end up wearing it, but it fit well and felt appropriate for a work party situation.
Caroline
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 15, 2014

Great Christmas Eve dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
It was a very appropriate and fun dress for a Christmas Even church service and dinner. I'm on the short side, so it was a little longer than I would've liked. It was overall a nice fit, and I received lots of compliments.
Adriana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 18, 2014

Beautiful color, fit, quality

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Loved this dress--my original dress didn't fit & RTR didn't carry the next nearest size, so I switched to this dress. I'm so glad I did. Received compliments all night, and it's more a jade/teal color than forest green, which was great for spring. The lace is synthetic, but it's very rich looking with lots of texture and detail. The boat neck is super flattering, and the elbow sleeves are elongating. Perfectly swishy skirt--not too straight, and not a-line. Overall, a perfect dress.
Chelsea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116 lbs
Apr 22, 2014

I loved wearing this dress, it made my night a very special one. I received many compliments.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was great. Pros: the color and details are absolutely gorgeous. Cons: If you're under 5'1 and you're looking for a above knee dress I don't recommend this dress. It's still an amazing dress!!!
Kristin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 27, 2014

Felt so classy at my birthday party!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was beautiful, fit like a glove, and received a lot of compliments. The cut was very flattering and there was no need to wear a bra (hooray!) The color was so striking and even more beautiful in person! Wish I owned it!
Theresa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 30, 2014

Wore it to a fall wedding. The lace and color are gorgeous. I got tons of compliments.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fitted at the waist. Lower back is an easier zip if you have a fuller bust. Loose in the bottom. I have bigger arms, but the sleeves still fit well.
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
May 1, 2014

This is a beautiful dress and great color on most women.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is super comfortable my only complaint is the lace around the neckline kept folding over.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Body type: Pear
May 8, 2014

Lots of compliments!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Good fit!
Ashley
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
May 12, 2014

Very chic and sophisticated.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to one of my husband's Air Force functions. I received complements all night! What I loved about this dress is that I could just wear a normal strapless bra and the back covered it perfectly. The fit was great. I just had a baby so I wasn't sure what size would fit, but the 4 fit just fine. The length was nice, I'm 5'4" and it hit just about my knees.
Cortney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
May 28, 2014

Perfect for a wedding!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit well. The lace on top wasn't too tight. I didn't have any issues with it not laying flat like other people did. I have bigger hips/butt but the bottom of the 2 fit fine as well. The only con for me was that the sleeves hit me right at my elbow and were rubbing there all night, which was kind of annoying (but not annoying enough for me not to wear it). Overall, great dress!
Tisha
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
May 29, 2014

I got the most compliments from the bride!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this to a friend's wedding. I got several compliments, most of which came from the bride! I would definitely rent this dress again! PROS: Unique dress; very comfortable & flattering; POCKETS!!; lots of compliments; my regular dress size fit me perfectly. CON: the silk "slip" of the dress was longer in the front than the lace, so you may want to have double-sided fabric tape on hand to "hem." Since the lace & slip were the same color, it was not super noticeable. FYI: The dress was more green than it looks in the model picture. With the lower back (zips up to mid-back), you may need some help zipping up & buttoning,
Judy
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 63
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
May 30, 2014

I loved wearing this dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is beautiful. It was sent to me as a replacement for a RTR dress that became unavailable due to damage. I wore this one to a reception the night before a wedding. The fit was true to size; the arms were a bit snug, but loosened within 1/2 hour of wearing. I got numerous compliments on the dress and felt terrific in it, very elegant. The dress requires a strapless bra because of the lace. This was my first RTR experience and I would definitely rent again!
lgm
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 169 lbs
Jun 6, 2014

The comfort and compliments

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Perfect for pear shapes; I wore it to a gala/fundraiser I worked for and the hidden pockets are a plus! Perfect to carry your phone discretely...
Jillian
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Jun 9, 2014

Pretty semi-formal cocktail dress

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit like a glove! Classy, but not super formal, it was perfect for the summer wedding I jIt was a tad snug in the waist but I was okay with that, as I felt that it accentuated my figure. I'm pretty short and it hit just above my knee. I received a lot of compliements. I definitely recommend it!
Katy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Jun 12, 2014

It was the perfect dress for a fall wedding!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I am in LOVE with this dress. I wore it to a fall wedding and it was flattering and comfortable. The color is unique and I got a lot of compliments throughout the night. I am self-conscious about my arms, so this was the perfect dress for concealing imperfections! Would definitely rent this dress again.
Kristin
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jun 13, 2014

The perfect dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great fit. Super comfortable. Extremely happy with this rental!
Lizzy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 17, 2014

I wore this for a Christmas party- beautiful color!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This form fitting dress was perfect! It was modest enough to wear to a corporate Christmas party while still maintaining a level of sexiness with it's form fitted bodice. I have muscular arms so the shoulders were a tad tight; I am glad I went up a size on my back up dress. The most beautiful part of this dress is the lace- elegant and classy!
Sandy
Age: 32
Jun 17, 2014

Gala was a last minute event. Rented the dress online, received it in three days. Beautiful dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was perfect and color beautiful. I looked incredibly put together for a last minute dress. Received several compliments both at the gala and on social media. Great experience!
Emily
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jun 18, 2014

The dress was classy and made a statement, but didn't take away any attention from the bride!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Very true to size, color is beautiful, dress is a little stiff but very flattering!
Ashley
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Jun 20, 2014

Felt pretty in this dress.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered the 6&8 and decided on the 8. 6 fit too, just a lot more snug in the arms and just a little in the body and I knew I'd be doing a lot of eating, dancing, and sitting that evening so I chose the larger size. Got compliments at the wedding and even more from friends when I posted a picture on social media. (Specifically "I love this dress.") I'm hot natured and it's a Texas summer so his dress did make me burn up from time on the dance floor.. probably just me though. Made for a special evening.
Lacey
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Jul 1, 2014

Amazing fit, so many compliments!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for my work holiday party, and got so many compliments!! It's classic and classy without being too dowdy, which is just what I was going for - very Audrey Hepburn! I am definitely a pear shape and bigger in the hips, and the skirt ended up being more of a sheath shape than a gathered skirt. But the fabric does have some stretch to it so I was able to wear it without feeling uncomfortable. If I was any bigger in the hips though I might have felt like it was too tight on the bottom. I was also worried about the arms being restricting, as I sometimes have that problem with sleeves. When I put the dress on they were totally fine, and even had a little give to them. I was completely comfortable all night! The lining did stick out past the lace in some places as other reviewers said. I ended up just leaving it, I'm sure no one noticed or cared. And the dress is more green than teal, but still a very pretty color!! This is one of my favorite dresses on RTR right now and I would rent it again in a heartbeat!
Kathleen
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 175 lbs
Jul 1, 2014

I received so many compliments on the dress! It was gorgeous and I loved wearing it!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit was perfect! I'm in between a 10 and 12 and the 10 fit well on me. The sleeves were a little right but definitely wearable. I loved this dress!!
Alexandra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Jul 7, 2014

Lightweight, beautiful lace.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This was great for an outdoor wedding. The color is beautiful and it's really comfortable.
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Jul 15, 2014

My first five star rental!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented the 10 and 12 for a work charity party. Both dresses fit great. The 10 fit a little more nicely in the body but I has more room in the arms in the 12 so I went with that one so I could be really comfortable. The dress was in perfect condition. The pockets were awesome and I got tons of compliments.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Jul 17, 2014

Compliments all night long!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was true to size and quite comfortable. I did not find the sleeves to be tight as other reviewers did, and I have larger than average arms. As other reviewers have pointed out, the skirt was a little tighter on me than pictured on the model, and didn't flow freely, and the lace at the top kept folding in and required adjusting every now and then. All in all, however, I was very happy with this rental and received compliments all night. The color stands out beautifully among a sea of LBDs.
Kerry
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Aug 5, 2014

Stunning

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Non-stop compliments! I didn't love this dress when I first put it on. It was looser than I had hoped and a bit longer too. In fact, I tried to get a replacement dress, but it was too late on Friday night, so I wore the dress. It ended up being a huge hit. Classy length (hit me mid-knee), and conservatively sexy with the lace top and high V back (the back was my favorite!). Did a lot of raving about Rent The Runway when people asked where I got it from! Lots of women said they considered it before but would actually try it now that they've seen it work well in person for someone.
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 158 lbs
Aug 7, 2014

Perfect for a winter wedding

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this to a winter wedding and got compliments all night. Great first rtr experience.
Beth
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 23, 2014

I got a lot of compliments wearing this dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
As other reviewers have described, the actual color of this dress is actually a much deeper, more vibrant greenish-blue color. It was gorgeous in person! The material was surprisingly lightweight and comfortable to wear, and I loved the pockets. I'm 5'9" and so I loved that the dress hit just above my knee, it was the perfect length. I felt really elegant and classy wearing this dress. I do agree that the zipper is super annoying (there is no clasp or anything to keep it from getting loose and unzipping), but I knew that going in on the rental and made sure I had a safety pin with me. The arms were also fairly loose, but overall the dress fit me great and I got a lot of compliments on it. I felt like a recruiter for RTR, so many people kept asking me where I got the dress from! I would definitely rent this dress again!
Jamie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 26, 2014

Stunning color, sooo many compliments!!! You can't go wrong with this dress.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
6 fit great but was a little tight in the arms and I knew I would be dancing all night so I went with the 8.
Elizabeth
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Sep 2, 2014

The dress was perfect the night was perfect :)

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Everything fit well. The dress was true to size. I received tons of compliments!
Samantha
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Weight: 160 lbs
Sep 2, 2014

Perfect for a church setting!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Loved the color.
Hannah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
Sep 12, 2014

Didn't love this dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
If you're under about 5'6'' and you want a dress that accomplishes the "sexy but sophisticated" look, this IS NOT the dress to do that. As you can see in the picture, it went all the way to my knees and really didn't flatter my body type (not sure if I'd call it an "hourglass" like it says here, but not sure what else to call it). I normally wear a size 2, which I tried on first, and the sleeves and bust were pretty tight but not unbearable (I have a small-to-average bust size, so someone with a larger bust might find it unbearable), I could still move around. I decided to try on the 4 to see if anything was different besides the fit of the sleeves and chest and didn't notice much except that those areas were looser, so I wore the 4. Oh, and the hem hugs you a lot more than it looks like in the picture, so your legs won't move all that well. I probably won't rent another Milly dress. In sum: if you're on the taller side and are under a C cup, you're probably the ideal body for this dress. Otherwise, it probably won't flatter or fit as well as you'd like.
Christine
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 15, 2014

BEAUTIFUL DRESS

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I'm obsessed with this dress. This was the most beautiful color - it's more of a teal green. It is a very slenderizing dress. Definitely recommend!
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148 lbs
Sep 19, 2014

Feeling like a broad

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress made me feel broad and matronly - while accentuating a non-concave belly. The line across the top of the dress liner does a fantastic job of making my slightly broad shoulders even bigger, while the waist pulls in just at the right spot to make me feel like I have a gigantic belly. So - broad shoulders and a fat belly... It is not going to the wedding with me! This would be better for someone tall and narrow. The 4 didn't fit in my arms, the 6 fit well. I like the v- back, back zipper and color. Pockets could be left out - as they are too high and only add fabric in a bad area.
Jen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 147 lbs
Sep 20, 2014

Classy and comfortable. What more could I ask for?

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Both the size 8 and size 10 fit. There were things that I liked better about each size. I decided to wear the size 10 because I liked the length as it was a bit longer and came to the middle of my knee. I liked the size 8 as it fit at the top better because it was a snugger fit. Either would have worked. I felt very classy and comfortable throughout the wedding. Received lots of compliments. Highly recommend.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 22, 2014

Who knew something so elegant could be so comfortable

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This color pops, perfect for your fall/winter events. The detailing on the dress is beautiful, receiving compliments all night! Definitely a go to if you're looking to stand out but still be on the conservative side.
Helena
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Sep 22, 2014

Sophisticated sexy!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Pros- I received so many compliments in this dress. The style was very unique and unlike anything I've ever tried before. It has a beautiful back and fit my curves perfectly. It was great for a fall New England wedding. Cons- The 8 fit well on my arms and was too loose on my body. The 6 fit perfect on my body, but the arms felt so tight I could rip the dress. In the end I wore the 6 and was just a bit uncomfortable with the arms all night.
Jenna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 23, 2014

Great for a fall wedding

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was classy and comfortable for a fall wedding. My normal size 4 was not available since I rented so last minute, but the 2 worked. It was a little tight on my chest, so you may need to size up depending on your bust size.
Megan
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Sep 28, 2014

Such a classy dress! Very light and comfortable!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I have muscular arms and a large bottom half, but the dress still fit perfectly. Waist hit at the right spot. Great length, hit right above the knees.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 30, 2014

Classic dress and pretty fall color!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fits true to size. I couldn't move my arms in the 2 so I tried on the 4 and it was perfect. Great for a fall wedding!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×