Milly

Sara Lace Shift

$30 rental
$430 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Looking for a modern take on a classic lace dress? Look no further! This gorgeous black lace Milly dress is lady-like with a contemporary feel. Simply pair with Lulu Frost’s Gold Drift Earrings to complete your look!

Also available in teal.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at the bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - slightly fuller skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at the bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - slightly fuller skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black lace over nude lining (70% nylon, 20% rayon.). Three-quarter sleeves. Boat neckline. A-line skirt. Exposed back zipper. Lined. 37” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

357 reviews

Fit
Small 80
True to Size 250
Large 12
Photos 185
Deena
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Jan 2, 2013

Totally elegant and timeless piece, a total hit on New Year's Eve!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Had a minor setback when RTR didn't have my actual size, but they sent my backup which was one size smaller than I usually wear and it ended up working out just fine! I needed an extra set of hands to get it zipped up over my boobs, but I am top heavy and the fabric relaxed a bit throughout the night. I ASBOLUTELY recommend sizing down, especially if you don't have a big chest. The lace was thick and felt durable enough that I didn't have to worry all night about it snagging or tearing. Such a classic style, I can't say enough good things about this dress!!
Kristen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Feb 19, 2014

Classy, romantic, but very uncomfortable.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I'm so happy with the way this dress turned out in my engagement photos. It was a very classy, romantic look which was exactly what I was going for. The only downside is that this dress runs small and it is amazingly uncomfortable. I don't have the smallest of rib cages which unfortunately was where the dress was the tightest. I had marks from how tight it was. LIke other reviewers mentioned as well, the sleeves were pretty tight. I also ordered a 6 and the lace detail was getting pretty rough. It look well worn and there was even a hole in the sleeve of the 8. All in all it wasn't my favorite rental but it did the job. Definitely order a size or two up.
Casey
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 9, 2014

This was my first rental! Rent the runway made it so easy and so much fun!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This fit a little snug on me. Arms weren't a problem. Had to go with the larger size and it's pretty short. I was tugging on it a little in the church!
Teghan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128 lbs
Oct 14, 2014

Perfect for a fall or winter wedding

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a fall wedding and loved it. It was a little tight in the chest area, but I found it to be okay. As other reviews have mentioned, it's difficult to raise your arms in this dress, but it's such a pretty dress that I didn't really mind.
Hannah
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110 lbs
Oct 17, 2014

The perfect dress for winning an award!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I thought this dress ran true to size. Sometimes I can wear a size zero but they didn't have that size available as a backup. However, based on previous reviews I was pretty confident that the 2 would fit, and it was perfect! It was slightly snug in the rib cage, but not uncomfortably so. I received tons of complements all night long! It also has pockets!!
Sara Maude
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137 lbs
Oct 23, 2014

Beautiful and timeless!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was beautifully made and I did not have issues with the lace being worn-in. I ordered a 4 and a 6 and wore the 6, which didn't surprise me since I own 2 Milly dresses in size 6. The dress was a little loose around the waist, but the 4 was a little tight in the shoulder/arms. I opted for comfort and quite frankly the looser waist didn't bother me. I had a lot of compliments the night of and on Facebook afterwards. I opted for a classical look with big double-pearl earrings and red lipstick. It was perfect for fall and since my husband was a groomsman and had to wear a tux, it was a perfect match!
Sara
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 25, 2014

I got so many compliments on this dress! It was beautiful and I would absolutely rent it again.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered the 6 and the 8. The 6 fit great on my bottom but was extremly tight on top, so I decided to wear the 8. It was so soft in the inside and did not feel or look too short. It was hot and sticky when we were outside so I would not reccommend for an outdoor wedding.
Soph
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Nov 2, 2014

Kate Middleton Dress

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I wore this to a Halloween Party where I was dressed as Kate Middleton. I felt the arms were rather tight so I sized up from a 6 to an 8. The rental fee is appropriate for the dress... and overall I was pleased.
Joanna
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Body type: Pear
Nov 6, 2014

Tons of compliments!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
All the other reviews were correct in saying that the arms were tight. I definitely do not have big arms but the lace was a little restrictive in the shoulder and upper arm area. Luckily, it didn't look that way ( and it certainly didn't stop me from dancing!). I got compliments all night on this dress, would love to buy it if I could! Also, if you are 5'6" (or any taller) or have long legs this dress will be VERY short when you sit down.
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Nov 6, 2014

This was such an Amazing dress!!! Got SO many compliments on it!!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was such a great dress. I wore it for a dinner event. The only complaint was it was a little tight under the arms at first but loosened up after wearing. But I would highly recommend it! Wish I could of kept it!!
Ellen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 16, 2014

Very comfortable

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Party
Wore it as a guest to an engagement party, very fun classic dress. A little tight in the arms
Monica
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Nov 18, 2014

Getting the dress 10 mins before the deadline

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
So cute! So many compliments! it photographs pretty well but I think a belt is needed to bring some definition to the waist. especially if you have a more athletic figure ! Arms were a little snug but the size 4 fit... (I'm 5'4 I normally wear a small or a medium depending, for help with sizing go to the milly website)
Annie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 20, 2014

I loved this dress! I wanted to keep it!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was looking for something appropriate but still fun/flattering to wear to an office holiday party at a museum - this was perfect! I felt very classy and especially loved the back. I usually wear a 4, sometimes a 6 - I ordered both and ended up wearing the 6 since the 4 was a little tight on my arms. Definitely recommend!
buffey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Nov 24, 2014

LACE!! LACE!! Sexy LACE!!

Size worn: 8
Rented for: Other
I rented this lacey number for my daughters high school homecoming presentation ..so proud she made court! All of the moms chose to wear black dresses. I wanted something a little different, so I went with this dress. When I received the dress it was sooooo gorgeous!!!! I instantly fell in love especially with the lace. I chose to wear the 8 over the 6 because I am large up top & the 6 flattened my chest so much it looked like I got hit with a frying pan in the chest..lol. The 8 was tight up top but bearable. It fit great in the waist with a little more room to move in the hips, but all in all great dress. I received so many compliments and the dress is definitely a must rent! I also received a goody bag of great products with my rental..thank you RTR you're the best!!!
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117 lbs
Nov 24, 2014

It was a beautiful dress and the pockets made my life so much easier!

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Wedding
The fit was great. I have larger biceps so the sleeves were on the tight side but not constricting. I got so many compliments on this dress!
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Nov 30, 2014

Such a beautiful dress! Photographs really well.

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Other
This dress fit pretty true so size, however it was a little tight underneath the arms. The black lace overlay was gorgeous and I would definitely recommend this dress to anyone wanting to make a statement!
susana
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 8, 2014

Wore this to a work holiday party and it was perfect!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit like a glove, usually a size 6 but had to size up on this one. Perfect length and sleeves were a lifesaver. Didn't need a jacket or light coat at all. V shaped back added a little bit of sexiness to the dress. Would definitely wear again.
Mallory
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Dec 9, 2014

Family wedding

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I received so many compliments on this dress. I ordered the 8 and 10. I was ready to walk out the door in the 8 but changed at the last minute. It was rather tight in the sleeves and I knew it would bother me all night. Great dress and would definitely rent again.
Meredith
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 12, 2014

This dress was comfortable to dance all night in!

Size worn: 8
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to my boyfriends office Christmas party. The lace was classy and elegant. I received compliments all night! I usually wear a size 8 and ordered both the 6 & 8. I fit into the 6 but couldn't lift my arms up all the way. The 8 was perfect and I love the pockets! Definitely a dress I would love to have in my closet!
Kimberly
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 143 lbs
Dec 14, 2014

Easy breezy, classy classic LBD!

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Party
I chose this dress to wear to my boyfriend's office holiday party where I wouldn't know anyone and I felt classy and confident! The 6 hugged my body without feeling too tight while the 8 flared out a big in the skirt) I ordered sizes 6 and 8 both fit nicely. I ended up going with the more formfitting 6 because I liked the way the lacy fell on the neckline (this differed slightly between dresses). The dress fit comfortably and I was able to go bra less. If you wanted to wear a bra I would suggest sizing up and definitely strapless. My one complaint would be that the sleeves are a bit constricting. I couldn't raise my arms much higher than my chest but for this event it worked out fine. I would go with a different dress if you plan to get wild on the dance floor!
Jennifer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
Dec 14, 2014

Nice Dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore the size 0 version of this dress to a Christmas party in NJ. I am 5'8" and the length was perfect, as was the weight of the fabric for the colder weather. I found it to be classy and flattering. The hidden pockets were a bonus!
Vanessa
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 39
Dec 15, 2014

Beautiful dress! Got a ton of compliments!

Size worn: 10
Rented for: Party
I ordered the size 12 but it came back from the previous rental too damaged and the RTR customer service did everything imaginable to make sure that I had a dress to wear to my party! I can't say enough good things about them!Unfortunately, the replacement dresses didn't fit correctly, and since they had sent the size 10 as a backup originally, I decided to go with that! It was a bit tight because I usually wear a 12, but it fit pretty well anyway! I got so many compliments on the dress and felt beautiful!
Jeannette
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Dec 17, 2014

Loved it! I got so many compliments on this dress! It was perfect for my company party! Fits great!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
No complaints. Fit was true to size for me.
Ellie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 17, 2014

Was a cute dress at one time, but has gotten too much use.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is, as designed, an awesome dress. The pockets and fit are good. However, the dress that I received was so worn out as to be almost unwearable. The delicate lace had clearly been dry-cleaned way too many times (see second photo), so it looked ratty on the edges. There were several places on the sleeves where the lace was actually torn, and as I was sewing it back up could tell that it had already been repaired once. Very disappointed that RTR would keep sending out dresses in this condition.
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 17, 2014

Great fit! Lots of compliments

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered both the 4 and 6 after reading others reviews and seeing their photos. Thank goodness the 4 fit because the lace on the 6 was tattered and I would not have been happy wearing that one. The 4 fit beautifully though and worked out great! I got so many compliments throughout the night and the dress was perfect for the formal fall wedding I was attending. The only complaint I would have is that the dress style itself was not the most flattering on me. The waistline hit me at a odd point since I have a short body and long legs. You can see in the photo that it is not the best dress type for me and makes me look larger, but if I stood at the right angle for pictures it was ok. I did not think it was the most flattering on me, but still received many compliments!
Mel
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 19, 2014

Loved the back of the dress!

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved the dress, wore it to a rehearsal dinner. I got a lot a compliments it was great. The sleeves can be a bit tight and my arms are not big. Overall I would rent this dress again.
carla
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138 lbs
Dec 21, 2014

All of the compliments I received.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was snug in the chest and arms. I felt like I couldn't bend a whole lot. However, it looked great on and the material felt nice. I only wore to the ceremony because I knew that I would be able to move my arms a lot while dancing if I wore it to the reception. Even though it was tighter in the chest, it offered enough support that I didn't need to wear a bra.
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138 lbs
Dec 21, 2014

Cute dress for rehearsal dinner!

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Party
This dress was really comfortable. I ended up not wearing a bra because the top was pretty fitted. I liked that the dress wasn't too short. The lace was nice and not over the top. You could wear this with nude or black heels, either would go nicely. I would definitely rent again!
Casey
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 2, 2015

Wore to work Christmas party.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Dress was a little short for work event so I wore tight underneath. Sleeve were tight on the 4 but a 6 was too big everywhere else. Still got lots of complements on the dress.
Ranesa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122 lbs
Jan 3, 2015

Elegant and beautiful

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress grew on me the longer I wore it. I felt perfectly dressed for a winter wedding at a Dallas Chapel and Museum reception. The dress is classy and effortless. As most others have stated, the arm and chest areas are very tight, but that wasn't a big deal. I paired with black tights and it still looked adorable. Lots of compliments, and photographed beautifully... I recommend this dress!
RTR Customer
Jan 11, 2015

Classy!

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Formal Affair
Really loved this dress! At first it feels tight in the arms, but as the night went on I was fine. It's classy & sexy at the same time. Love it!
JDean
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jan 12, 2015

Perfect dress for a wedding.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered a 2 and a 4 in this dress. I ended up wearing the 4 because the sleeves and bust were too tight on the 2. Received lots of compliments. It was cold and raining on the night of the wedding so I ended up wearing tights and booties with the dress and it still looked dressy enough for a wedding.
Amanda
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138 lbs
Jan 14, 2015

Loved the dress, lots of compliments

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this to wear to my cousin's wedding. I loved the dress and got lots of compliments throughout the night. It was comfy, I was able to wear a regular bra, and I felt great. It's definitely on the shorter side... it rides up when you sit down so I was pulling it down a lot. It also runs small. I am normally a size 6, and I ordered the 6 and 8 and ended up wearing the 8.
Arlene
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Jan 18, 2015

I received so many compliments!

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was true to size. I did have some issues with the zipper getting stuck, but overall a beautiful dress. Pairs nicely with red pumps!
nancy
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 22, 2015

I went to the wedding of a friend's daughter ... hard to forget such a special occasion!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was perfect! I got so many compliments on the dress. I normally wear a size 6 but had read the other reviews that it ran small so I ordered a size 8 as back-up and wound up wearing the 8. (I couldn't even zip the 6 as I had broad shoulders). The pockets were a great addition to the dress. Worth mentioning, some of the lace (on the shoulders, probably from hanging on a hanger) has seen better days.
Lucy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 25, 2015

The dress was really great, got a ton of compliments. Very classy, good for multiple occasions!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was true to size, being that my upper body and torso are smaller than my lower body, the top of the dress still somehow fit very tight, so I would recommend reading other people's opinions to see if you think you would fit the top of the dress in case you are more top heavy. The bottom of the dress gave me enough room to eat and not feel like a stuffed sausage. The sleeves fit "tight" as well, so if your arms are not "athletic" then I would try to read people's reviews to see if your arms will fit. I recommend going with your actual dress size and then going a dress size up for the second free dress. Totally falling in love with Rent the Runway and their awesome service. I would wear this dress again and again if I got to own it.
Christy
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 30, 2015

Love this dress!!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for my engagement party in January. Since it was cold, I added tights and some suede black wedges. This dress fits true to size and is very comfortable. Although the arms were a little tight when putting it on, it did not bother me throughout the night. My favorite details of the dress are the lace neck line and small dip in back. It also has pockets--so I could carry my phone with me! Another plus.. did not have to wear a bra with it! I really wish I didn't have to return it!!
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118 lbs
Feb 1, 2015

The black lace was gorgeous! I wore to SAG awards and was so pleased with the look of the dress.

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit true to size, arms were a bit snug as other reviewers mentioned but loosened up pretty quickly. Pockets were amazing! Loved the lace and the slightly lower back, wore a strapless bra which was fine.
Julia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 25, 2015

Lovely dress for a formal affair

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress! I'm thinking of renting it again for a friend's wedding. The 4 was a tiny bit big, but the arms were snug, so I couldn't go any smaller. The pockets are a great addition! Overall, great dress would highly recommend.
Audrey
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 3, 2015

This dress was in great condition and I loved it!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered the dress for a fundraising event, it was perfect! I have thin arms (I like to call them "skinny fat" arms haha not toned at all) and the arms on the dress were very snug at first but, by the middle of the night you hardly noticed because the material stretched out a bit! The lace was well maintained and looked new. I had to wear black tights because the dress was shorter then normal for me. The back V of the dress was beautiful and I could wear a typical strapless bra. I have a teeny tiny bust and the dress fit well through the torso.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×