Sara Lace Shift

$30 rental
$430 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Looking for a modern take on a classic lace dress? Look no further! This gorgeous black lace Milly dress is lady-like with a contemporary feel. Simply pair with Lulu Frost’s Gold Drift Earrings to complete your look!

Also available in teal.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at the bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - slightly fuller skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at the bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - slightly fuller skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black lace over nude lining (70% nylon, 20% rayon.). Three-quarter sleeves. Boat neckline. A-line skirt. Exposed back zipper. Lined. 37” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
492 reviews
Fit
Large14
True to Size298
Small110
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 26
October 20, 2015
My dresses were delivered on time and in great condition.
I'm usually a 6. The 6 and 8 looked like they fit very similarly, but the 8 had a bit more room to eat and dance. I felt great all night and the best part... Pockets!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
October 19, 2015
Fun dress!
I was very reluctant to use RTR but I'm so glad I did! How nice to feel amazing for a fraction of the cost! I ordered the size 2 and a backup size 4. The 2 originally fit perfect the first day I received the dress. I put the 2 back on to wear to the event and the bottom felt a tad snug in my backside. I'm a petite and pair shape so often have difficulty finding dresses to fit. The size 4 was a little loose up top but worked just fine. This gave me more room to dance. I highly recommend trying RTR and this dress!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
October 15, 2015
Dress was amazing!
So unique looking and photographs well! However, arms definitely felt tight. I ordered a 4 and 6 but wore the 6. I question if I could have worn an 8. I didn't feel uncomfortable in it, just a bit snug. I did need to wear a strapless bra with it because straps would have shown. Would HIGHLY recommend this dress and Rent the Runway! It was great for an October wedding.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
October 14, 2015
I was at a beautiful, outdoor winery wedding and the dress fit the occasion perfectly.
I love EVERYTHING about this dress. The lining was soft and comfortable, the cut and style were super flattering, the length was perfect (and I'm relatively short!). I received so many compliments on this dress - my only complaint is that I couldn't keep it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 8, 2015
Everyone loved it!
Loved this dress, the sleeves are definitely tight, fits very true to size . Very comfortable !
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
October 7, 2015
Classically beautiful, memorable look!
I was not too sure about this dress when I received it. I was surprised how small it ran and had to go up a size. Once I got it on, I was not totally wow-ed by how I looked...until my boyfriend saw me and said "You look beautiful!". I got lots of compliments throughout the evening. The sleeves were a little tight but--like the others have said--loosened up throughout the evening. I had to go bra-less because it is quite tight in the chest, but it worked out just fine. I would definitely recommedn this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 7, 2015
Got tons of compliments. Felt confident and beautiful
Pros: gorgeous lace, true to fit. Cons: 3 holes in lace. Had to loosely see up the holes.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 129lbs
October 6, 2015
Knockout - It photographs beautifully!
I loved everything about this dress. It fit perfectly, photographed great and made me feel like a million bucks!
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
October 5, 2015
Beautiful elegant dress for fall event
So gorgeous and comfortable. The back is a nice surprise and the pockets are awesome. I got the 2 and the 4, thought the 2 fit fine until I tried the 4 -- so much more comfortable through the shoulders, which made dancing much easier! My first experience with RTR, will definitely be renting again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 32
October 5, 2015
Very cute dress, easy to wear
I could have worn the size 0 (I am 5'5", 115lbs) but it had a hole poked into the lace on the left sleeve, so I went with the size 2. This was great because it gave me a little extra room and was slightly longer in the hem. I did not find the arms too tight, as other reviewers pointed out, and was able to freely move and dance at my friend's wedding. I liked that there were sleeves (the ceremony was outside on a very cold and windy day in Chicago), but the dress was still sexy. I got a lot of compliments on the dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
October 4, 2015
Perfect dress for a casual fall wedding
The fit was true to size and while they call this dress a shift it is more of a fit and flare because there is a defined waist (which works better for short torso girls like me). The only downside is this dress is not that warm so I needed to wear a sweater with it when it got colder outside (55 degrees). Other then that it was a beautiful lace dress and I got tons of compliments on it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
October 1, 2015
I rent this one over and over. This time I was the wedding guest and wedding planner in one!
I have rented the stress several times and wish I could buy it! It's my favorite. I usually wear a 6, but my rib cage is large, so in the 8 I knew I would be more comfortable. The dress is super flattering and so beautiful. You will get tons of compliments! This time it was perfect for me because I was a wedding guest but also the planner and needed to be able to put on flats and run around. Last time I wore it to a friends wedding in the Hamptons, and fit right in with all the celebrities and their fashion!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
September 30, 2015
Elegant and classy!
I picked this dress to wear to a wedding that specified "cocktail attire". It was at he Oklahoma Governor's Mansion, so I wanted the perfect dress. And it was! The dress was a bit snug in my arms and chest area. If I wasn't a nursing mom, I think the dress would have fit perfectly. The size 6 fit better in my chest, but the pleats in the back of the dress were not flattering whatsoever and stuck out away from my body, so I chose to go with the 4. I received SO many compliments on the dress and would definitely buy it if I could!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
September 28, 2015
Beautiful, classic, and just enough sexy to still be work appropriate!
Having more athletic arms and shoulders I had to go up a size because the lace does not stretch but that did not compromise the fit. I felt beautiful, received a ton of compliments, and danced the night away without a worry. Oh, and I had easy access to my lipstick because this dress has pockets!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Body type: Athletic
September 28, 2015
Perfect for a fall wedding!
I LOVED this dress. As many have stated, the arms were initially on the snug side but they loosened up as the night wore on. I also listened to other renters and ordered up a size. It was comfortable, easy to wear, & photographed beautifully! Only bad part was sending it back ;)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
September 27, 2015
Beautiful and sophisticated lace dress
Can be tight around the waist and too long if you are short. Size 2 was tight by the right length (above the knees), Size 4 was more of a relaxed fit but the dress was below my knees.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138lbs
September 27, 2015
Beautiful dress just not great. (On me)
This dress is beautiful. Was a little tight in the ribcage however which isn't normally my trouble spot. Fit well over my hips and butt. I thought it was a little short for this event. (I'm 5'8'').
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
September 22, 2015
I received so many compliments on this dress!
This dress fit perfectly. The only downside is it was a bit hard to dance with my arms up in the air, but that really wouldn't deter me from renting it again. This dress is gorgeous and it has pockets!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
September 14, 2015
Love the lace, but not my favorite fit
The black lace on this dress is VERY elegant. This wasn't the most flattering fit on me as I felt the waistline was higher than I normally like, making my hips look much wider than they are. It is still a very beautiful dress. The sleeves are a little tight and it was difficult to raise my arms up while wearing.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 137lbs
September 11, 2015
Nice dress
This dress is pretty and I received a lot of compliments. I was in a house party during an August wedding so it was a very nice choice for a black dress in summer! However, as others said, it runs very tight in the shoulders. I would normally wear a 4 in this shape of dress but had to size up to a 6 so I could move my arms around. I could easily pinch out an inch or 2 around my waist since I was wearing the bigger size.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 36
September 11, 2015
Beautiful lace details; elegant, fun, and comfortable, too!
My first experience with RtR was definitely a winner! I rented this dress for an evening wedding in late summer- it was the perfect combination of elegance and comfort. The lace overlay yields a beautiful neckline, and the slight dip in the back adds to the dress's appeal. And I had no trouble on the dance floor. I ordered both the size 2 and size 4, and really didn't notice much of a difference between the two. The lace overlay across the shoulders means a strapless bra is a must, though!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 5, 2015
Classic dress with a tailored fit!
I loved the way this dress hugged in all the right places! It made me feel amazing all night! It was modest enough for a family holiday party but didn't feel stuffy at all!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 35
September 1, 2015
So much fun.
The dress fit me perfectly. I was a little nervous because I'm very small but have big breast, it fit like glove though. I was really pleased with the dress, and the entire process because this was my first time renting from you all.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
August 24, 2015
LOVED THIS DRESS! Perfect for a modest wedding!
I loved this dress from the second I tried it on. I was looking for a dress that would cover a bit of my arms and go to about my knee and this totally did the trick! If you are short and looking for a good modest dress (mine was an orthodox wedding) then this is the dress for you! So flattering!
DevinApril 14, 2016
Hi Dahlia, it seems we have similar features. Were you able to wear a bra with this dress. If yes, did it have to be strapless? It looks like other ladies that worn the dress had mentioned it and was wondering your thoughts. Thank you!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
August 23, 2015
My back up dress. I ended up not wearing it but I will most likely rent it for another event!
Fit great. The 0 was right in the arms so I liked the 2 better. I will most likely rent this for another occasion
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
August 12, 2015
Bump friendly if you are in your first trimester
I wore this dress when I was about 8 weeks pregnant. I have a small bump which you do show early when it's your fourth. Material is stretchy so there was room for my baby bump.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 37
August 6, 2015
Loved, it very comfortable, could've worn a smaller size and been fine.
loved it! not tight
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 33
July 21, 2015
This dress is so classic and feminine. My only complaint is the arms are tight.
I rented this dress for a cocktail party. I ordered the 4 and 6 because I had read the arms are tight. The 4 fit my body perfectly, however, the arms were a tight squeeze. I went with the 4 though because the 6 was just too big in the body. I'm 5'5 125, 34D. I didn't need to wear a bra with it either, which was nice. The back is a low V, but not crazy low. It's a gorgeous dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
July 20, 2015
So many compliments loved delicate neckline lace
Perfect fit no problems
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
July 15, 2015
Beautiful and Classy Dress!!
This was my first RTR experience and I've already reserved dresses for 2 other events! This dress was elegant and classy, but not stuffy at all. I wore it to a co-worker's wedding and it was the perfect choice. I wore my usual size and it fit like a glove. Like other reviewers said, it was a little tight on the arms when I first tried it on (to be fair I have fairly large arms), but the fabric quickly loosened up. I felt extremely confident in this dress and would definitely recommend it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
June 27, 2015
Stunning Lace Dress!
This dress fit me perfectly! I wore it to my fiancé's fireman ball and received several complaints! I was also able to comfortably dance, which is always a plus!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
June 24, 2015
Perfect for a formal event or evening wedding
I received several compliments on this dress. I wore it to a formal work-related event and it was perfect for the occasion. I'm pear-shaped, so I'm usually cautious of form-fitting dresses, but it cuts out just enough at the waist, so it didn't look or feel snug on my hips. It was very comfortable to wear the entire evening. I'm usually a 6 or 8 in dresses, depending on the cut. I ended up wearing the 8 in this dress. The lace and champagne underlay definitely make it more special and eye-catching than just your average solid black dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
June 23, 2015
My first RTR experience and I loved it! The dress came early and was perfect for my modest event!
As other have said, the sleeves are a bit tight. I have what I will describe as "athletic" arms and shoulders from weight lifting. The sleeves were snug at the beginning of the day, but definitely loosened up as I moved around and danced. The length hit right at my knees, which was perfect for the religious wedding I attended. The rest of the dress was the perfect shape to flatter any body type. I got tons of compliments all night!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Body type: Hourglass
June 22, 2015
This dress photographed very well and I received multiple compliments.
I ordered a 6 & 8 with 8 being my normal size and the 6 still could have fit a bit better. Both dresses a received did have little tears in them but weren't very noticeable.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 56
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
June 8, 2015
Beautiful dress but small in the bust so I couldn't wear.
The fit was small in bust and arms so I could not wear the 4. I'm usually a 2 or 4 so I would rent up 2 sizes in this dress!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
June 6, 2015
Got a ton of compliments on this dress!
The fit was tighter, especially in the arms but they loosened up as the night went on. If you are in between sizes, go up a size. The sheath underneath is not sewn to the lace layer so the tighter the dress the more the lace tends to ride up. Overall this dress was great!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
June 2, 2015
Size way up if busty!
Was 32D, but breastfeeding boobs are crazy right now and had to size way up to accommodate as dress has no stretch. Loose in the waist and hips for me but fabric draped well enough so that it didn't look overly bizarre. The 6 is what I ultimately went with and looked great, but the lace on the 4 was pretty ratty. Overall very classy and pretty dress.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Body type: Pear
June 2, 2015
Great dress for a semi-formal occasion.
Arms fit a little tight, but overall, I LOVED this dress and wish I could keep it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
June 1, 2015
Great for attending a church wedding
This dress was very comfortable and still flattering. I was a reader at a Catholic wedding, and wanted to be a little more conservative but not dowdy. This was perfect.
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
May 24, 2015
I wore this while 6 months pregnant and received so many compliments! Great dress.
Fit was great even while pregnant!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
3 / 13

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×