Milly

Sail Away Dress

$50 rental
$425 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Milly's navy dress with white rope detailing is a super sweet Springtime look. Shown here with silver accessories and a white pump.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - elastic waistband is fitted with belt at natural waist; bust allows adjustable waist fit - flattering on all body types
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt is not fitted on hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Product Details

Navy silk with ivory rope appliqué. Nautical rope trim detail. V neckline. Tie waist. Gathered skirt. 34" from shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'10".

Share
96 reviews
Fit
Large
(42)
True to Size
(53)
Small
(1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
April 23, 2012
Better in person
I thought the dress would be more casual looking, but I was pleasantly surprised that it looked fancier than I originally thought. The dress doesn't appears as "nautical" in person, which makes the dress more versatile, in my opinion. As mentioned, the rope detail is not white - it's definitely more khaki. The dress definitely runs large, so it's best to size down at least one size. Having a large bust, I was thankful the top was quite roomy, but if you are small-chested, you may be able to size down two dress sizes. Would definitely rent again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 25, 2012
Wish that they had a size 6!
This dress is super flattering and very comfortable! The detailing is really something. They didn't have a size 6 and I took a gamble and rented the size 8 and the size 4. The size 8 was way too big on me and the size 4 didn't really fit me (I have a post partum body from a 5 month old baby) around the chest area. I ended up not being able to wear either dress but wanted to note that the white in the dress is definitely closer to a cream color.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 8, 2012
Great casual dress
This was a backup rental I didn't end up wearing, but it is really cute. I normally wear a 2 in Jcrew, and this was a bit large for me. Cute dress overall, though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
August 20, 2012
Perfect for us "larger" gals!
I have an extreme hourglass figure, and this dress is perfect for it. If you have a large bust or hips, this is a great choice. It runs VERY LARGE. I wear an 8, but I rented a 4 as a backup based on reviews. If the 4 was even an inch longer, I would have worn it instead of the 8. I also felt that it was maybe not dressy enough for an evening wedding, but the fabric is silky so I think I got away with it!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
August 23, 2012
Perfect ant dress code dress
I rented this dress for an outdoor wedding, where the dress code was unspecified. I dressed it up with pearls and heels, and it was perfect! I received many compliments on it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
August 30, 2012
Cute but a little casual
i rented this for a wedding and ended up wearing it to the rehersal bbq instead - it fit great and was really cute, but it was a little casual for the actual wedding. Perfect for a laid back or casual affair.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 219lbs
September 21, 2012
Keeping it Blue!!!!!
I wore this for a special banquet and it looked lovely. Plenty of room in the bust area.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
September 25, 2012
Rented this for nephew's baptism, very comfortable and easy to move in. Lots of compliments.
Ran a little bit large in the waist. The unique rope detailing got a lot of people's attention. The rope color was not as light/bright as in the photos on the site. It was more like a khaki/light tan color that to me, looked a little bit dirty. Others didn't seems to notice, but that did bother me a bit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134lbs
October 1, 2012
Perfect for Cape Cod!
The fabric is very stretchy, silky and forgiving. The details in the front are really cute. I wasn't a huge fan of the ribbon sash -- it could be improved with a a slim red, orange, or yellow belt.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
October 12, 2012
Love the rope designs
This was my backup dress and I didn't end up wearing it, but it was nice. You can't tell how lightweight the material is in the picture. And the designs on it are really cool in person. It didn't end up mattering because my other dress worked out so well, but I got a call from RTR the night before they sent it saying that it was missing its belt (in their defense, they offered to replace it with another one OR if I wanted to try one of my belts with it they would overnight a different one to me if it didn't work out-- good customer service). The few belts that I have looked really goofy with it and it is a moo moo without a belt. I recommend using their belt with it only. Also, I'm usually an 6-8 and 4 fit just right in this dress. SIZE DOWN.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
October 27, 2012
Love the detail, but the fit was off
The fit on this was awkward because the elastic didn't hit right at my waist. Beautiful dress though!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
December 17, 2012
didn't care for this one
This was a backup option for me. I found that it looked dirty and just wasn't a flattering fit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Straight & narrow
February 13, 2013
VEry classy summer outdoor event dress.
The dress fit very well, the silk was lightweight but hung well. The embroidery is a unique detail and helps create the nautical theme of the dress with a rope-like scrolling. It runs a little large so I wore the smaller size. It was easy to wear and very comfortable. My only regret was that I had to wear a sweater because the weather became chilly ( outside graduation.) It looks great in the graduation photos.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
March 3, 2014
Loved this dress as it immediately made me feel like summer!
I rented this dress for my son's christening in July. It was very demure in its cut but so fun to wear. I got a ton of compliments! I paired this with nude espadrilles and gold bangles.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 39
Body type: Hourglass
April 19, 2014
Not a flattering dress
I rented this dress to wear for my bridal shower and it didn't work out at all. I was bummed but I have my eye on another dress that I am planning to rent for a cousin's wedding.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 35
November 14, 2015
The perfect dress for a wedding by the sea!
Great fit, lightweight, adorable detail.
See more reviews:
3 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×