Milly

Sail Away Dress

$50 rental
$425 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Milly's navy dress with white rope detailing is a super sweet Springtime look. Shown here with silver accessories and a white pump.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - elastic waistband is fitted with belt at natural waist; bust allows adjustable waist fit - flattering on all body types
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt is not fitted on hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Product Details

Navy silk with ivory rope appliqué. Nautical rope trim detail. V neckline. Tie waist. Gathered skirt. 34" from shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'10".

Share
96 reviews
Fit
Large
(42)
True to Size
(53)
Small
(1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
August 12, 2011
My one caveat with this dress is that it runs a full size smaller than every other Milly Dress I have rented. Usually the 8 is correct size in Milly, but in this dress the 8 was a bit to roomy. Also, I would recommend getting the fashion tape to keep bra straps in place on this dress. Overall I got many compliments on the dress.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Body type: Full Bust
August 8, 2011
True to size, wore it to a bridal shower about a year ago. Very cute!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
September 1, 2011
I rented this dress to wear to a wedding at the beach. Hurricane Irene cancelled the beach wedding which then became a fancy hotel wedding. The dress was alot baggier and larger than I thought it would be. I normally can fit into a 0 but am more comfortable in a 2 and the 0 was huge on me. I didn't end up wearing the dress b/c of the change of venue but I don't know if I would have been very happy wearing at the beach wedding either. Just not what I expected from the picture.
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Body type: Hourglass
September 1, 2011
I'm normally a 6, and very rarely a 4, but the 4 fit well, so I would order a size down. I couldn't tell from the picture that the white detailing is rope, so that was a pleasant surprise. I wore it to a very casual beach wedding, where I didn't want to be too dressy, so this dress was perfect. Like other reviewers have said, the fit is really easy because the style and the elastic waist. I'm small up top, but it's supposed to be kind of blousy, so I thought it looked fine.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
September 30, 2011
I absolutely loved this dress! It was so perfect for the summer wedding rehearsal dinner I wore it to! It definitely runs large. I usually wear a 6, but only the 4 was available. I decided just to get the 4, and it was actually a little big. The tie sash that the dress comes with helps fit the dress at the waist. The only thing is that the dress is unlined and a little sheer, but I wore a slip and it was fine.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
October 4, 2011
I wore this dress to my engagement brunch paired with a little white cardigan (it was a bit chilly out). The fit was super easy, I'd say you could even size down if you have a smaller bust. The fabric was light & airy and the rope detailing was too cute. Just a little shorter than I was hoping for, but so is everything when you're 5'11".
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
October 19, 2011
I wore this for my engagement photos & thought that the dress was FABULOUS - Couldn't have been happier with my rental!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
November 2, 2011
I loved this dress! Wore it to a dinner dance and got so many compliments. I'm 5"10, 145 pounds and a B - I ordered a 4 and 6 and wore the 4. It was a tiny little bit tighter in the armpits, but didn't bother me too much - the 6 wasn't as flattering overall!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
November 12, 2011
Rehearsal Dinner
I wore this for my rehearsal dinner and got rave reviews! (I also loved it!) Just a couple of notes for future renters - the embroidery is NOT white. I was planning to wear white shoes but it was more of a khaki. Ended up wearing some nude wedges and it worked fine. Also - it appears it should come with a belt as there are loops but there was not one to be found. And I paired it with a cropped khaki jacket as it was a little cold and it worked really well! :)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
April 9, 2012
I was at a wedding for one of my best friends from high school. Spent the entire night laughing, dancing and celebrating... and I looked good doing it, thanks to Rent the Runway! :)
I wore this dress to a day time wedding, spent the entire day in it, then the reception was at night. It was perfect for both occasions. The roping looked like it was supposed to be white, but definitely showed "wear," and was more of a grey-ish color. Runs VERY large. I normally wear a size 2, and i wore the 0, and it was still slightly big. You can see some gaping in the picture. But overall, I was happy with the dress. I felt comfortable and stylish.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
April 28, 2012
Easiest dress to wear ever!!
This dress is beautiful and I loved how easy and comfy it is. It runs large I'm always a 4 and the 2 fit perfectly. Thanks to everyone's reviews I picked the right size!! If you are looking for a stylish hassle free dress! this is the one
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118lbs
May 21, 2012
cute dress
I wore this dress to a semiformal brunch. It was extremely comfortable and very cute. I received lots of compliments. The dress runs large, and was a bit loose on the top. I have large hips though, and the a-line skirt is great for pear-shaped bodies.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
May 25, 2012
Great experience!
I got this as my backup dress, and I was very glad my first dress fit. I ordered another Milly dress as my first choice and a 0 fit like a glove - this dress on the other hand, I was swimming in it. It also felt very heavy when I first put it on, not really a light and flowy dress. I was expecting the rope details to be a tan color, but found out that they were grey as well, so I didn't have the right shoes to wear. Overall, I ended up liking the dress, but it definitely was more casual than I was expecting. I wore it the day after the wedding to explore the boardwalk, and don't think I would've felt dressed up enough to wear it to a wedding.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
May 30, 2012
Perfect for a summer wedding rehearsal dinner at a yacht club!
This dress was perfect for a wedding rehearsal dinner at a yacht club! I felt beautiful in it and received several compliments! I would definitely rent this again. It also went great with the Lauren Merkin clutch I rented for the weekend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
June 12, 2012
Classic
I loved this dress. Perfect for a casual outing, great detail, classic. BUT it runs REALLY large. It felt like I was wearing a tent. Had to send back, but would order again in a smaller size. Great dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Body type: Pear
June 19, 2012
Great Casual Outfit
Outfit is cute! I am in between an 8 and a 10. Definitely size down as outfit has plenty of room. You can see a lil bit of of used in this dress. The nautical design is beigy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
July 11, 2012
Anchors Away
Totally loved this dress. I originally ordered an 8 because the 6 was not available, and it did fit a little big, but an added belt really added to the look and fit of the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
July 16, 2012
This was a much more special look than shorts and a tank top without being over the top.
I rented this dress for a party at the lake - I took the nautical theme literally! It was casual, comfortable and got lots of compliments. I liked that the material was heavy enough not to blow around and was not sheer. I did not like that the dress was much shorter on me than I was expecting. I am 5'8" and it was several inches above the knee. Also, the belt was a darker blue than the dress. I ordered the 8 and the 10 and wore the 10. The 8 probably would have fit too but the eleastic waist was totally stretched out. Overall I enjoyed wearing the dress but would not recommend it for anything more formal than a party.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
July 16, 2012
Everyone was in love with the dress. They thought it went perfectly with the wedding color theme and the bride and maids of honor (my boyfriend's sisters) said it's the favorite of the many dresses I've rented this summer!
I wore this dress for my boyfriend's sister's wedding - I was running around taking pictures and arranging desserts for the reception. It was a great dress to be moving around a lot in and it fit perfectly for the size it was. I normally fluctuate between a 2 and a 4, but the 2 wasn't available so I went with the 4. I was sooo happy there was a belt with it! The dress itself is great! I received compliments on it all night. The maid of honor said she wants to find it and buy!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 175lbs
August 5, 2012
I felt like I fit right in on the New England coast!
I rented this for a beach wedding up in Maine; I loved the subtle sailor vibe. I booked the rental more than a month in advance and was sad to see I couldn't get my backup size (8) even with that much notice. It is the height of wedding season, though. It was too big for me, especially in the top, but it was nothing the belt and some wardrobe tape couldn't remedy. The red wayfarers packed in the garment bag were such a great surprise, and really added some zing to my nautically themed look (and matched my red toenails to boot). I wore them all over the place that weekend.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
November 19, 2012
It served it's purpose
This dress was GREAT! Perfect for a Beach BBQ Wedding. SUPER COMFY and easy to eat lots of BBQ and still feel ok. It runs pretty big, I could have easily worn a 6.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 109lbs
April 10, 2013
Lots of compliments on the dress, but a tad shapeless
I liked this dress, although it wasn't particularly special. It was my sister's rehearsal dinner though, so I didn't feel like it was my turn to shine. I chose it in particular because it had an elastic waist, and I was pregnant at the time (first trimester). It was so comfortable, great fit, but a tad shapeless.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 26, 2013
Perfect for a daytime event
I wore this for my daughter's graduation and received tons of compliments. Nice quality, great detailing and very comfortable.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
April 29, 2013
Wore this for Thanksgiving dinner.
This was my first rental and everything went smoothly. The piping was a little bit worn looking - blue color of the dress had tinged it a bit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
July 18, 2013
Favorite Dress!
This is one of my all time favorite dresses! I wish I could buy it! So perfect. Wore to a Mother's Day formal brunch. Easy fit, very flattering!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
April 26, 2014
Very comfortable
I wore this dress to my brother in law's wedding. I had a baby a month before I wore it. It was nice and comfortable and not tight.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 36
Body type: Pear
March 25, 2011
Great dress. But shorter than I expected from the measurements.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 114lbs
June 5, 2011
Adorable dress. Easy and comfortable fit. Was perfect for Sunday night dinner with the fiance's family.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 134lbs
June 20, 2011
Loved this dress! Very comfortable and perfect for a "dressy casual" summer rehearsal dinner. I'd say it runs a tad large, so if you're in between sizes, consider the smaller one.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
June 30, 2011
Because of the elastic band beneath the belt and loose fit, most could probably size down in this dress! very flattering and comfortable! Loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
December 16, 2013
Great dress!
Super cute dress. Fun and got lots of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 31
November 6, 2015
This dress was perfect for an end-of-summer formal at an aquarium!
Fit was true to size, fabric was soft and comfortable, and it was ver flattering. I'd definitely wear it again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Apple
August 12, 2010
Easiest fit ever. The waist is elastic but the sash disguises it so easy to eat a big meal:) Could wear whatever bra as well.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
November 9, 2010
Wore this for my rehearsal dinner and loved it! Flattering fit and the print is so fun. Received so many compliments on this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 19, 2012
My 1st RTR experience!
The dress was easy to wear and very comfortable. The wedding was at a Yacht club so the dress was a perfect fit for the venue. So many people raved about my dress and were excited to hear about RTR.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 121lbs
October 22, 2012
I wore this to the spring VA Gold Cup horse race.
This dress was super cute - the nautical detailing was classy, and perfect for this uber preppy event. The fit was pretty loose (I can't remember if I wore the 0 or 2), so I didn't have to worry about shapewear, or my bra showing or anything. That being said, it didn't feel that special; I do think it's a very versatile dress though - it could be dressed up for work, worn on a date, or to an event.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 15, 2010
I loved this dress -- wore it to a June wedding and it was perfect for dancing, very comfortable, no special undergarments required. Great light fabric but the embroidery feels substantial without being heavy. Definitely a summer/nautical feel that might not be as good now that fall is here.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 59
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 9, 2011
For taller and bustier women. I usually fill out the tops of things but this one gapped at the sides. This particular dress also seemed a bit worn and past its prime. The rope trim pulled at the silky fabric. The dress seemed dowdy and frumpy overall.
LakeyaAugust 12, 2015
Thank you so much for saying it didn't feel Christmas like...I was worried about that!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
September 26, 2011
I agree with the other reviews that say this dress is an easy fit. The elastic waistband and loose fit means that almost anyone could wear it but if you have a smaller chest I'd go a size down. I also found it shorter than in the picture, too short for me in fact. Cute dress for the right occasion.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 155lbs
April 5, 2012
Want to rent again!
This is such a cute, easy to wear dress. The way it flows is so nice. The fabric just takes it up a notch from a regular little sundress. Do not make the mistake of thinking the trim is white though. It is more natural. Looked perfect with nude wedge sandals. Absolutely loved this little dress.
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×