Ravish Ruffle Gown

$99 to buy
$545 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Wear this amazing textured ruffle gown by Milly to your next formal affair. A unique style that will make heads turn. Wear a statement cuff to complete your look like the Badgley Mischka's Art Deco Bling Cuff.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - exposed back does not allow for a strapless bra however
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips with flared skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 56'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'1''-5'6'') and long measures 59'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra due to exposed back
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Model's height is 5'10''.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - exposed back does not allow for a strapless bra however
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips with flared skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 56'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'1''-5'6'') and long measures 59'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra due to exposed back
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Model's height is 5'10''.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black cloque silk(100% silk). Halter neckline. Cascading ruffle detail at back and halter trim. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Made in USA. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
70 reviews
Fit
Large
(5)
True to Size
(58)
Small
(6)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
February 13, 2016
It was my best friend's wedding.
The dress looked and fit exactly the way is was pictured. So happy with how it looked.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 20, 2015
Beautiful dress but too short
I did not end up wearing this dress as it was much too short. I rented the 4 regular as I am only 5' 4 1/2". The dress was too short even if I wore flats. Sad that it didn't work out but will definitely rent the long next time.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
December 16, 2015
Comfortable and elegant, this is a perfect black tie dress!
The material of this dress is both light weight and indestructible, so it looks like a new dress and remains pristine after a night of dancing. The Milly brand attention to detail with the front and back ruffles are just enough to make the dress stand out in an elegant way. The length is a little short, which is actually one of the reasons I picked the dress as I am only 5'4" so it was a perfect length for me. I had compliments all night on "my" dress-loved it! I'm never buying a black tie dress again!
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
August 10, 2015
Very fun, flattering and light weight dress that's perfect for a formal summer event
Perfect for summer as the material is thin and light yet still has an interesting design. The back of the dress is adorable with the open back and cascading ruffles. I only gave the dress 4 stars because it runs VERY short. I am 5'5.5" and initially got the 2R but it was way to short. RTR overnighted a 2L which worked out great, but I could only wear a 1.5 inch heel. I would definitely rent this dress again but would caution anyone taller than 5'7"to be aware of the length.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 22, 2015
Very comfortable formal dress. Loved the texture of the fabric.
If you are over 5'6" definitely get the long! I got 4R and 2L and the long was a little short and showed my shoes. I could have worn flats and been perfectly fine.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
May 19, 2015
Very elegant gown -- flattering and easy to wear.
I wore a 6R and felt that the it was a bit short, but it still worked. The fabric and back of the gown makes this dress special. Easy to wear - no adjusting through the night. This was a back-up dress shipped overnight since my first selections did not work. Since this was my first RTR experience, I was stressed about finding a dress that would work, but one phone call later with fingers crossed this lovely Milly saved the day.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
February 21, 2015
Glamor and comfort wrapped in one dress!
This dress was so comfortable. The one thing I will say is I am not very tall- almost 5'4- and my toes did show a bit with very short heels. I wore the 2R. However, it was a beautiful dress and I got a lot of complements on it. I am all about feeling comfortable and this dress was definitely that!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
January 11, 2015
Elegant & Comfortable
This dress shows off your shoulders, arms and back. The fabric is light and has a great drape to it - pretty ruffles. I would guess this dress works best for a smaller-chested person - high neckline and lots of ruffles up top. I wore 3-inch heels and it was perfect.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
December 11, 2014
Black Tie Christmas Eve
I LOVED THIS DRESS! I felt so beautiful in it and received so many compliments all night long. I could have gotten away with a 4L with the heels I was wearing, but it wasn't too bad.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 108lbs
December 4, 2014
This dress recieved so many compliments! Felt like belle of the ball for my office christmas party.
Would give 5 stars but the length of this dress was SO short for a long gown, 5'9" with 1.5" heels and you could see my feet the whole night. Otherwise great dress, recommend for taller women even with no heels get the long size.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
December 4, 2014
My friends wedding was beautiful and my dress was the best one!
The dress is stunning and flattering. I got compliments all night. It is true to size and other reviews mentioned it's too short but I had no issues at 5 feet 2 inches and wearing 3inch heels.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 112lbs
October 30, 2014
super lightweight and VERY comfortable.
GREAT dress, had loads of compliments and would rent it again for sure. Only frustrating part was that it was pretty short. Up to my low ankle on the 2L and I am 5"5", 113 lbs. so you cannot wear more than a 2 or 3" heel.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 157lbs
August 5, 2014
Good for black tie event.
Nice dress. Wore it for a black tie wedding. A little loose on top, but I don't have a large bust size. I was annoyed with the ruffles and ended up tucking them in to show off my shoulder more, which worked out perfect.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
August 1, 2014
I felt very sophisticated and elegant!
This was my first RTR experience and it was awesome! The dresses arrived three days before my event, which was a relief. The dresses looked great and did not have any issues. I wanted wear the 6R but ended up wearing the 8L because the length was perfect with my heels. The top of my dress was loose on the side, but that wasn't anything that fashion tape couldn't handle! The material of the dress was very light and perfect to wear during the summer evening. I did wear an adhesive bra that was strapless along with spanx. I was able dance without feeling that I might have wardrobe malfunction! I received multiple compliments all during the evening and my husband loved this backless dress! Thanks RTR for making me feel like a million bucks!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
June 2, 2014
Washington Nationals Dream Foundation Gala
Cute dress, but not for a busty size 12. I just don't have the back for it- if you have back flab- avoid!
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
May 30, 2014
Compliments all around!
I LOVED this dress...and so did everyone else. Its elegant and the open back adds a sexy but classy touch. I went with the longer length because with my shoes the regular looked a bit too short. You will need to get a backless bra for this dress even if you are small busted since the material isn't super thick. This was my first Rent the Runway dress and I couldn't be happier.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 32
May 27, 2014
Dress is great tall girls beware
Fabric was nice but the dress didn't even reach the floor in bare feet. The long is not very long at all
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
May 19, 2014
Perfectly formal
Had a great time in this dress - incredibly comfortable and flattering; made me feel skinner than I am at the moment! Wish I had a picture. Got lots of compliments.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 3, 2014
Beautiful dress but wish I had bigger size.
Dress has no stretch. Tight in tummy area but large in chest. I wear 34DD and was able to wear without bra with no problems but would have been better with top pinned. Wish I had gone up 2 sizes for a little extra room in the waist area. Overall a beautiful dress with a beautiful cut.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
May 2, 2014
LOVED, loved, loved this dress!
The back of the dress is stunning with the ruffles and open back. The neckline detail on the dress was beautiful. There is a pretty texture to the fabric. I loved this dress and would rent it again in a second for another event
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
March 12, 2014
Loved the back, fit perfectly.
Great dress. Fits like a glove. Thank God for RTR Customer Service-- I ordered a different dress and they didn't have it in my back up size, so I requested this Milly-- it was PERFECT!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
March 9, 2014
Beautiful and elegant
Fits nicely and beautiful fabric but unforgiving in the mid section - fabric is stretchy and soft but provides no compression if that's what you need. I'm small in the chest but the dress stayed in place all night with a few pieces of fabric tape. The ruffles added a really fun touch to the dress. Fabric has a nice texture and pattern to it that is much easier to see in person. Runs short - I had 2 in heels but the dress barely touched the ground when I was barefoot so tall ladies need the long. Great first RtR experience! Dress came 2 days early.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 114lbs
January 19, 2014
beautiful!
Perfect fit! LOVE!!! Would love to have purchased it!
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
November 17, 2013
Great for a black tie wedding!
Tons of conpliments all night long! Even the band members complimented it! Overall, great dress! It runs short! The 2L fit a little more snug along my back but was way too short(above ankle w heels). I used to 4R and the length was great. I had to add a little tape to the side to keep it from showing any side boob but so happy with the dress! RTR never fails
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
November 10, 2013
Rent the Runway is Genius!
I needed a long dress for a formal event and RTR saved the day! I have been wanting to try and you did not disappoint! The Milly dress was perfect! I am usually an 8l but that size was unavailable so I ordered the 10L. It was a little big up top but the fashion tape included solved that issue perfectly! The dress was gorgeous and receive tons of compliments! My backup dress was great too! It was hard to decide which to wear! Will definitely use again this holiday season! I told everyone at the event about your site and they are all excited to try it too!!! Thanks for a great experience!!!!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
October 24, 2013
Perfect for a black tie wedding!
This dress was beautiful and very well made. I felt comfortable the entire night and didn't have to readjust anything! I wish it was a bit longer though - I was in 3" heels and the dress didn't touch the ground (I'm only 5'2").
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 7, 2013
'Long" not long enough if you are tall!
I ordered the 2L, and the dress fit great, except that it was about 5" too short, even if I'd worn flats -- not meant for anyone 5'8" or taller, even in the long size!
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
September 22, 2013
RNT's customer service team are exceptional. Great experience!
It was so comfortable and very elegant--no "rearranging" and I didn't have to worry about anything hanging out--but still felt very sexy. I originally ordered another dress but it was damaged--so RNT overnighted me this dress after speaking with one of their stylists. It arrived the morning of the event and I could not be more pleased.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 124lbs
September 11, 2013
Runs short.
I typically wear a 0 long, which is unfortunately not available in this dress, so I rented the 2 long. The fit on the 2 was actually spot on, I think the 0 would have probably been more form fitting that what I prefer, but I did not wear this dress because it was so short. I ended up wearing my backup dress (size small long) that was still touching the floor in 4 inch heels, but this one was probably 6 inches too short, even in lower heels.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
September 3, 2013
This was a fabulouse dress! Very flattering and comfortable.
I wore it with 4" heels and the length was perfect. My only complaint was that it was a bit loose in the front but I am not terribly well endowed. The cut is very slenderizing. Low cut back is not too low - just right.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
August 13, 2013
Happy I rented two dresses.
This dress runs very small. I'm an average size 6 and I couldn't zip the dress. I rented a 6 regular and the dress was at least 3 inches too short without heels. I'm glad I ordered two dresses for my friends wedding or I would have been in a bind. I also, wanted to return it and get a refund but partial returns are not excepted.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
August 6, 2013
Stunning back and very comfortable!
The size 4 was large in the waist for me but fit great everywhere else. I loved the unique texture of the gown and the open back with the long ruffle detail. My only complaint was the length, it was definitely on the shorter side. I wore 4" inch heels and probably should have only worn 2" heels in order for the dress to have been the proper length. Overall, I enjoyed wearing it and got lots of compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
July 12, 2013
cute dress, too short
This dress was really cute, the 4 fit great, but the 4R is short short short. Hit above my ankles (I am 5'7-ish). The 4L would probably have been perfect, but they didnt have it available.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
June 19, 2013
Glad it was my backup
I liked this dress, but it was not flattering on me. Too big on the top and in the waist. The back was sexy, and the material was nice, but having it too big made the trim on top seem ridiculous. Might work on someone else, though - I have a small chest.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
May 21, 2013
#obsessedwithmilly
I rented this dress for a charity gala. I am petite, but the 2R fit perfectly. This was my first long gown rental experience and I was nervous that I would be tripping over it - but it truly looked like it was made for me. I received countless compliments, especially about the open back. This dress is perfect for a black tie event!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
April 26, 2013
STUNNING!!!!
I can't say enough about this dress! It's a head turner and just stunning! I didn't want to send it back. It runs short so take that into consideration. Other than that, perfect!
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
April 4, 2013
not flattering on me
my waist is not my smallest part, so this dress did not flatter me. i ended up wearing another one i rented. i liked the light weight material of this one, but i'd say its suited for girls with a slender waist. i'm 5'3 and wear a size 2, and it didn't look right on me
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 175lbs
March 21, 2013
Didn't Wear It for Occasion, But Fit is Lovely
I didn't get to wear this dress for the occasion, but I had to try it on. The fit was beautiful. If I have another formal event, I will be ordering this gow.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 117lbs
March 13, 2013
awesome dress
This dress was one of two I rented for a 60s-themed formal. I ended up wearing the other one as being more theme-appropriate, but I LOVED this dress. It was forgiving in the bust and the hips (0R was the right size for me), the fabric felt amazing, and it was kicky and sexy. I would totally rent this dress in the future.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 6, 2013
Perfect dress for formal event
Dress came in 4R and 2L, no other sizes available at the time. As other reviewers mention the dress definitely runs short. Luckily my back up size saved the day. The 2L fit perfectly. This dress is very photo-friendly and looks great on a lot of body types. Very comfortable the entire night. The ruffle detail at the chest and down the back give it a little something extra. This dress got me through my first Inaugurational Ball, thank you RTR.
View photos (2)
See more reviews:
1 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×