Milly

Ravish Ruffle Gown

$99 to buy
$545 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Wear this amazing textured ruffle gown by Milly to your next formal affair. A unique style that will make heads turn. Wear a statement cuff to complete your look like the Badgley Mischka's Art Deco Bling Cuff.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - exposed back does not allow for a strapless bra however
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips with flared skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 56'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'1''-5'6'') and long measures 59'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra due to exposed back
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Model's height is 5'10''.

Product Details

Black cloque silk(100% silk). Halter neckline. Cascading ruffle detail at back and halter trim. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Made in USA. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
72 reviews
Fit
Large
(5)
True to Size
(60)
Small
(6)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 20, 2015
Beautiful dress but too short
I did not end up wearing this dress as it was much too short. I rented the 4 regular as I am only 5' 4 1/2". The dress was too short even if I wore flats. Sad that it didn't work out but will definitely rent the long next time.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
December 28, 2012
8R too small, 10R too big...
I loved this dress. I really wanted to wear it for a formal work event. Sadly, the top fit on the 8R but was a bit snug through the hips, but the 10R was way too big. It was very pretty though. The fabric is a light flowy material.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
January 16, 2013
Pretty but too large.
Rented this as my back-up. They did not have any 4 or 6's but due to the comments I thought an 8 may work. It did not, it was huge. Pretty dress, true to size. Luckily this was my back-up dress. Will rent again soon!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
June 19, 2013
Glad it was my backup
I liked this dress, but it was not flattering on me. Too big on the top and in the waist. The back was sexy, and the material was nice, but having it too big made the trim on top seem ridiculous. Might work on someone else, though - I have a small chest.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
August 6, 2013
Stunning back and very comfortable!
The size 4 was large in the waist for me but fit great everywhere else. I loved the unique texture of the gown and the open back with the long ruffle detail. My only complaint was the length, it was definitely on the shorter side. I wore 4" inch heels and probably should have only worn 2" heels in order for the dress to have been the proper length. Overall, I enjoyed wearing it and got lots of compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 157lbs
August 5, 2014
Good for black tie event.
Nice dress. Wore it for a black tie wedding. A little loose on top, but I don't have a large bust size. I was annoyed with the ruffles and ended up tucking them in to show off my shoulder more, which worked out perfect.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
April 4, 2013
not flattering on me
my waist is not my smallest part, so this dress did not flatter me. i ended up wearing another one i rented. i liked the light weight material of this one, but i'd say its suited for girls with a slender waist. i'm 5'3 and wear a size 2, and it didn't look right on me
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
August 13, 2013
Happy I rented two dresses.
This dress runs very small. I'm an average size 6 and I couldn't zip the dress. I rented a 6 regular and the dress was at least 3 inches too short without heels. I'm glad I ordered two dresses for my friends wedding or I would have been in a bind. I also, wanted to return it and get a refund but partial returns are not excepted.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 7, 2013
'Long" not long enough if you are tall!
I ordered the 2L, and the dress fit great, except that it was about 5" too short, even if I'd worn flats -- not meant for anyone 5'8" or taller, even in the long size!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 33
May 27, 2014
Dress is great tall girls beware
Fabric was nice but the dress didn't even reach the floor in bare feet. The long is not very long at all
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
June 2, 2014
Washington Nationals Dream Foundation Gala
Cute dress, but not for a busty size 12. I just don't have the back for it- if you have back flab- avoid!
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 3, 2014
Beautiful dress but wish I had bigger size.
Dress has no stretch. Tight in tummy area but large in chest. I wear 34DD and was able to wear without bra with no problems but would have been better with top pinned. Wish I had gone up 2 sizes for a little extra room in the waist area. Overall a beautiful dress with a beautiful cut.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
September 28, 2011
I wore this dress to a wedding and it was hit! The back of the dress is gorgeous and it really stands out. It ran true to size and fit my length perfectly (with 2 inch heels)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 6, 2011
LOVE this dress! Classy and sexy. I chose this dress for opening night at the opera and was a hit. Beautiful, and the fabric keeps it modern. While in the picture, the fabric might not look lux, it does in person. And, the best part is that this is super comfortable.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 56
Body type: Petite
November 2, 2011
Very flattering and comfortable! Was the perfect length with 4" heels. As others have noted, fabric is textured and luxurious looking in person.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 41
Body type: Straight & narrow
December 1, 2011
Fabulous
Fabulous dress...easy to wear
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
December 28, 2011
Lovely, but...
As other reviews have noted, the fabric is nicer than it appears in pictures. It is very delicate and silky. Tall girls, however, beware. I am 5'9'' and the Long barely touched the floor in the front when I was barefooted. The fit was not great on me (too loose on top and gaped on the sides a bit), so I am wearing my back-up dress. But this is a stunning dress; just not very fogiving on fit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
April 26, 2012
RTR never fails to impress! I received so many compliments about the dress; it felt amazing!
I wore this dress to a black-tie wedding and it was a hit! The fabric is textured and looks awesome in photos. The color and length are perfectly appropriate for a black-tie wedding yet the ruffles and open back add a level of funk. I ordered the dress in a 4R and 4L; based on previous reviews, I anticipated that the R would be short when wearing heels. I was right! My intention was to wear heels for the first couple of hours then switch to flip-flops (hey, I like to dance!) I tried on both sizes and wouldn't have been able to wear ANY heels with the R without the dress looking too short. I wore the L and was able to wear 3 -inch heels without the dress dragging. In fact, I put on my flip-flops and the dress was still above the floor. The one drawback the prevented me from giving the dress 5 stars was that it arrived with some loose threads and a torn hem on the inside slip. In addition, the size-zipper kept shifting around, ending up in front. I found myself readjusting the dress throughout the night, which was a bit of a pain. Overall, the dress was fabulous- I received many compliments and the style was perfect! I felt fancy yet funky. Definitely a winner.
sarahJanuary 7, 2013
How do you wear a bra??? Or something to hold you up? Im a 36 C...
RTR CustomerJanuary 8, 2013
Hi Sarah! You can get one on our site under "fashion solutions!"
ViviJanuary 9, 2013
I wore a sticky bra and it worked great; but I'm 34B...
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
May 11, 2012
Just OK
This was an easy, safe black dress but I felt the quality was a little low. I did appreciate however that the length was perfect for being 5'1" in 4 inch heels. The 0 was too short.
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
July 9, 2012
Pretty but not stunning!
Rented this dress for black tie wedding. It was pretty but not what I had imagined. It did not help that someone was wearing the same dress as me!!! I think since I am short and petite it did not fit perfectly on the top. It seemed a little baggy on me and did not lay right. Loved the ruffles!
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 114lbs
July 19, 2012
Great Dress
First time using RTR and very pleased! Dresses (chosen size + backup) arrived on time and were packaged properly. 0R fit perfectly (grazed the floor) with 4 inch heels. I had no problems with the halter as others mentioned. Did not wear a bra but was perfectly fine as the fit was snug enough to prevent any mishaps. Dress was in great condition, no missing clasps or tears. Would definitely recommend RTR!
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
August 15, 2012
Customer service with RTR was awesome, dresses arrived on time, packaged nicely and were so easy to send back! Dress was a total hit!
If you have a formal event this is an awesome choice. The dress fits pretty true to size & the fabric is light and didn't restrict from dancing! I was worried that the bottom may have dragged on the floor but with 4-5 inch heels you're solid. LOVED it, got tons of compliments on it --overall two thumbs up!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
August 17, 2012
Beautiful
This dress was amazing. I felt so special in it and the fabric is to die for. I didn't notice the pattern in the fabric until I received it in the mail and it was great. I loved the open back too. The only downside is the length. I ordered a long based on other reviews and i'm glad I did. I wore 2 inch heels and had I worn anything taller it would have been too short.
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
September 6, 2012
This was an amazing dress
I ordered this dress as well as another for last minute prom options. It came the day of prom at 4pm which was a friday, and I ordered on the Wednesday of the same week. The dress fit well, I was recovering from an illness so it was a bit loose at the top, but it fit everywhere else. I loved it, and it was perfect for being a last minute dress
SophiaMay 6, 2013
You look great! Also, how random that I found someone I know on this website. LOl
IndiraMay 8, 2013
Aww thanks Sophia!! I know its crazy! I hope you find the dress/gown you're looking for! This is a great website!!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
October 12, 2012
Amazing!
I got soo many compliments on this dress! Absolutley LOVED it! The super low back and high front leads for a very sexy/elegant look.
JacquelynDecember 28, 2012
I have the same body type as you and am looking for a black tie event dress. You look so cute that I had to rent it, I hope it works as well on me!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 8, 2012
RTR sent my dress out earlier than normal when Hurricane Sandy was approaching! Thank you!!
this is one of my favorite long black dresses, the ruffles down the back of it make your body flow with each step you take. The added flutter around your neck makes you feel very regal. My favorite was the snake like pattern, much better than just a flat fabric. It was gorgeous! AND THANK YOU for the earlier shipping, I panicked when I saw that storm headed towards NY!
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
November 10, 2012
I loved this dress!
I wore this to my sororities formal. I loved the dress. It fit great. It was a little loose in the waist area but I usually have that problem with dresses. It was also a little too short with my heels, they were about 4 inches. The material wasn't what I expected but it worked out great and I got a lot of compliments. Overall I loved the dress and I am very glad I rented it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 12, 2012
A little shorter than I would have liked
I got this dress in the 4R because 4L was not available for the date I needed. I thought it would be fine because of some of the other reviews. I am 5'5" and wore 3.5" heels. The dress was about 2" shorter than I would have liked (the dress did not cover my toes or the tops of my feet), but it worked out fine because I did not have to worry about it dragging on the floor and someone stepping on it. Other than the minor issue with the length, I loved this dress. I probably could have fit into the 2, but the 4 was very comfortable and not constricting at all. I would rent it again if I could get the 4L.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
November 12, 2012
Absolutely loved the back of the dress and the pattern. Classic with a modern twist and sexy.
This dress was amazing, except I am 5'4'' and I like my dresses to skim the ground. This dress was the perfect length when I was barefoot, and I didn't like how it looked even with 2.5 inch heels on. :(
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 30, 2012
Nice, simple dress that is conservative enough for a business affair.
The dress fit well. However, it runs short. I'm 5'8" tall and this event had a "flat shoe" theme. I ordered a regular so I could wear the dress with flats. It was still a little too short. It worked out fine but I should have ordered a long.
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
December 16, 2012
Love, love, love this dress!
Rented this dress for a evening wedding and received so many compliments! I'm 5'8, 135lbs and ordered the 6L. It fit perfectly! The ruffles in the back of the dress are so flattering. Beautiful dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
December 26, 2012
It is gorgeous - the back is so feminine and the ruffles add a beautiful detail.
It runs short - I am 5'8 and definitely recommend ordering the "long" if you are tall.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Body type: Petite
January 2, 2013
Elegant
The dress fit perfect. I am 5'6" and I rented a 2R. I was worried that it was going to be too short but it was perfect. The dress was not loose and it was not too tight where i was not able to move neither, it fit perfect. I got compliments all night long.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 117lbs
March 13, 2013
awesome dress
This dress was one of two I rented for a 60s-themed formal. I ended up wearing the other one as being more theme-appropriate, but I LOVED this dress. It was forgiving in the bust and the hips (0R was the right size for me), the fabric felt amazing, and it was kicky and sexy. I would totally rent this dress in the future.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 175lbs
March 21, 2013
Didn't Wear It for Occasion, But Fit is Lovely
I didn't get to wear this dress for the occasion, but I had to try it on. The fit was beautiful. If I have another formal event, I will be ordering this gow.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
April 26, 2013
STUNNING!!!!
I can't say enough about this dress! It's a head turner and just stunning! I didn't want to send it back. It runs short so take that into consideration. Other than that, perfect!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
May 21, 2013
#obsessedwithmilly
I rented this dress for a charity gala. I am petite, but the 2R fit perfectly. This was my first long gown rental experience and I was nervous that I would be tripping over it - but it truly looked like it was made for me. I received countless compliments, especially about the open back. This dress is perfect for a black tie event!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
July 12, 2013
cute dress, too short
This dress was really cute, the 4 fit great, but the 4R is short short short. Hit above my ankles (I am 5'7-ish). The 4L would probably have been perfect, but they didnt have it available.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
September 3, 2013
This was a fabulouse dress! Very flattering and comfortable.
I wore it with 4" heels and the length was perfect. My only complaint was that it was a bit loose in the front but I am not terribly well endowed. The cut is very slenderizing. Low cut back is not too low - just right.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 124lbs
September 11, 2013
Runs short.
I typically wear a 0 long, which is unfortunately not available in this dress, so I rented the 2 long. The fit on the 2 was actually spot on, I think the 0 would have probably been more form fitting that what I prefer, but I did not wear this dress because it was so short. I ended up wearing my backup dress (size small long) that was still touching the floor in 4 inch heels, but this one was probably 6 inches too short, even in lower heels.
See more reviews:
1 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×