Rent the Runway

Milly

Ravish Ruffle Gown

$70 rental
$545 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Wear this amazing textured ruffle gown by Milly to your next formal affair. A unique style that will make heads turn. Wear a statement cuff to complete your look like the Badgley Mischka's Art Deco Bling Cuff.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - exposed back does not allow for a strapless bra however
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips with flared skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 56'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'1''-5'6'') and long measures 59'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra due to exposed back
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Model's height is 5'10''.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - exposed back does not allow for a strapless bra however
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips with flared skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 56'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'1''-5'6'') and long measures 59'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra due to exposed back
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Model's height is 5'10''.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black cloque silk(100% silk). Halter neckline. Cascading ruffle detail at back and halter trim. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Made in USA. See size and fit tab for length.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

64 reviews

Fit
Small 6
True to Size 53
Large 5
Photos 38
Kimberly
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 19, 2011

I would definitely recommend RTR.

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this gown for a company holiday party. I received many compliments throughout the night. Rent the Runway delivered the gown on time. I am very pleased with the service that I received.
Vivi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 26, 2012

RTR never fails to impress! I received so many compliments about the dress; it felt amazing!

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a black-tie wedding and it was a hit! The fabric is textured and looks awesome in photos. The color and length are perfectly appropriate for a black-tie wedding yet the ruffles and open back add a level of funk. I ordered the dress in a 4R and 4L; based on previous reviews, I anticipated that the R would be short when wearing heels. I was right! My intention was to wear heels for the first couple of hours then switch to flip-flops (hey, I like to dance!) I tried on both sizes and wouldn't have been able to wear ANY heels with the R without the dress looking too short. I wore the L and was able to wear 3 -inch heels without the dress dragging. In fact, I put on my flip-flops and the dress was still above the floor. The one drawback the prevented me from giving the dress 5 stars was that it arrived with some loose threads and a torn hem on the inside slip. In addition, the size-zipper kept shifting around, ending up in front. I found myself readjusting the dress throughout the night, which was a bit of a pain. Overall, the dress was fabulous- I received many compliments and the style was perfect! I felt fancy yet funky. Definitely a winner.
Cara
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Body type: Petite
Aug 15, 2012

Customer service with RTR was awesome, dresses arrived on time, packaged nicely and were so easy to send back! Dress was a total hit!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
If you have a formal event this is an awesome choice. The dress fits pretty true to size & the fabric is light and didn't restrict from dancing! I was worried that the bottom may have dragged on the floor but with 4-5 inch heels you're solid. LOVED it, got tons of compliments on it --overall two thumbs up!
Indira
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Sep 6, 2012

This was an amazing dress

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered this dress as well as another for last minute prom options. It came the day of prom at 4pm which was a friday, and I ordered on the Wednesday of the same week. The dress fit well, I was recovering from an illness so it was a bit loose at the top, but it fit everywhere else. I loved it, and it was perfect for being a last minute dress
Avie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Sep 23, 2012

Working with Rent the Runway was so easy and a great deal!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered the 2R and the 0R. I wore the 2R but the 0R fit as well, it was just a bit too snug for my liking. I am 5'2" and I wore 3 inch heels. The dress would be too short to wear any taller of a shoe. I have a very small bust and this dress was great for that. The top was a little baggy on me but looked great. I didn't wear anything underneath, not even pasties. It was comfortable for an evening gown and I got tons of compliments.
sarah
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 1, 2012

This dress was awesome. My most comfortable formal ever!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I didn't have to "re-adjust" myself the whole night. The fabric is light and comfortable, I love the detail and got lots of compliments. It was hard to tell in the online photo but there is one seamline right at the waist that makes it very flattering. I also love that I this dress made me feel tall(er) I selected true to size because the size details say to size up, I got two sizes. My size and one smaller and the smaller fit.
Robin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110 lbs
Oct 12, 2012

Amazing!

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I got soo many compliments on this dress! Absolutley LOVED it! The super low back and high front leads for a very sexy/elegant look.
Alyssa
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Nov 10, 2012

I loved this dress!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this to my sororities formal. I loved the dress. It fit great. It was a little loose in the waist area but I usually have that problem with dresses. It was also a little too short with my heels, they were about 4 inches. The material wasn't what I expected but it worked out great and I got a lot of compliments. Overall I loved the dress and I am very glad I rented it!
Adia
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Body type: Full Bust
Dec 12, 2012

Looking good in a dress and having everyone celebrate you is a wonderful feeling.

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great dress for black tie.
Alison
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 16, 2012

Love, love, love this dress!

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Rented this dress for a evening wedding and received so many compliments! I'm 5'8, 135lbs and ordered the 6L. It fit perfectly! The ruffles in the back of the dress are so flattering. Beautiful dress!
erica
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Petite
Jan 2, 2013

Elegant

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit perfect. I am 5'6" and I rented a 2R. I was worried that it was going to be too short but it was perfect. The dress was not loose and it was not too tight where i was not able to move neither, it fit perfect. I got compliments all night long.
Julie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 6, 2013

Perfect dress for formal event

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Dress came in 4R and 2L, no other sizes available at the time. As other reviewers mention the dress definitely runs short. Luckily my back up size saved the day. The 2L fit perfectly. This dress is very photo-friendly and looks great on a lot of body types. Very comfortable the entire night. The ruffle detail at the chest and down the back give it a little something extra. This dress got me through my first Inaugurational Ball, thank you RTR.
MKP
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
May 21, 2013

#obsessedwithmilly

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for a charity gala. I am petite, but the 2R fit perfectly. This was my first long gown rental experience and I was nervous that I would be tripping over it - but it truly looked like it was made for me. I received countless compliments, especially about the open back. This dress is perfect for a black tie event!
Jess
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Jul 12, 2013

cute dress, too short

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was really cute, the 4 fit great, but the 4R is short short short. Hit above my ankles (I am 5'7-ish). The 4L would probably have been perfect, but they didnt have it available.
Audrey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
Aug 6, 2013

Stunning back and very comfortable!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The size 4 was large in the waist for me but fit great everywhere else. I loved the unique texture of the gown and the open back with the long ruffle detail. My only complaint was the length, it was definitely on the shorter side. I wore 4" inch heels and probably should have only worn 2" heels in order for the dress to have been the proper length. Overall, I enjoyed wearing it and got lots of compliments!
Marie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 13, 2013

Happy I rented two dresses.

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress runs very small. I'm an average size 6 and I couldn't zip the dress. I rented a 6 regular and the dress was at least 3 inches too short without heels. I'm glad I ordered two dresses for my friends wedding or I would have been in a bind. I also, wanted to return it and get a refund but partial returns are not excepted.
Victoria
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Sep 3, 2013

This was a fabulouse dress! Very flattering and comfortable.

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore it with 4" heels and the length was perfect. My only complaint was that it was a bit loose in the front but I am not terribly well endowed. The cut is very slenderizing. Low cut back is not too low - just right.
Rachael
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 124 lbs
Sep 11, 2013

Runs short.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I typically wear a 0 long, which is unfortunately not available in this dress, so I rented the 2 long. The fit on the 2 was actually spot on, I think the 0 would have probably been more form fitting that what I prefer, but I did not wear this dress because it was so short. I ended up wearing my backup dress (size small long) that was still touching the floor in 4 inch heels, but this one was probably 6 inches too short, even in lower heels.
Amanda
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122 lbs
Sep 22, 2013

RNT's customer service team are exceptional. Great experience!

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was so comfortable and very elegant--no "rearranging" and I didn't have to worry about anything hanging out--but still felt very sexy. I originally ordered another dress but it was damaged--so RNT overnighted me this dress after speaking with one of their stylists. It arrived the morning of the event and I could not be more pleased.
Tara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Oct 7, 2013

'Long" not long enough if you are tall!

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered the 2L, and the dress fit great, except that it was about 5" too short, even if I'd worn flats -- not meant for anyone 5'8" or taller, even in the long size!
Liz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 24, 2013

Perfect for a black tie wedding!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was beautiful and very well made. I felt comfortable the entire night and didn't have to readjust anything! I wish it was a bit longer though - I was in 3" heels and the dress didn't touch the ground (I'm only 5'2").
Laura
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Nov 10, 2013

Rent the Runway is Genius!

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I needed a long dress for a formal event and RTR saved the day! I have been wanting to try and you did not disappoint! The Milly dress was perfect! I am usually an 8l but that size was unavailable so I ordered the 10L. It was a little big up top but the fashion tape included solved that issue perfectly! The dress was gorgeous and receive tons of compliments! My backup dress was great too! It was hard to decide which to wear! Will definitely use again this holiday season! I told everyone at the event about your site and they are all excited to try it too!!! Thanks for a great experience!!!!
victoria
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 17, 2013

Great for a black tie wedding!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Tons of conpliments all night long! Even the band members complimented it! Overall, great dress! It runs short! The 2L fit a little more snug along my back but was way too short(above ankle w heels). I used to 4R and the length was great. I had to add a little tape to the side to keep it from showing any side boob but so happy with the dress! RTR never fails
dani
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 114 lbs
Jan 19, 2014

beautiful!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Perfect fit! LOVE!!! Would love to have purchased it!
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 9, 2014

Beautiful and elegant

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fits nicely and beautiful fabric but unforgiving in the mid section - fabric is stretchy and soft but provides no compression if that's what you need. I'm small in the chest but the dress stayed in place all night with a few pieces of fabric tape. The ruffles added a really fun touch to the dress. Fabric has a nice texture and pattern to it that is much easier to see in person. Runs short - I had 2 in heels but the dress barely touched the ground when I was barefoot so tall ladies need the long. Great first RtR experience! Dress came 2 days early.
Emma
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Mar 12, 2014

Loved the back, fit perfectly.

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great dress. Fits like a glove. Thank God for RTR Customer Service-- I ordered a different dress and they didn't have it in my back up size, so I requested this Milly-- it was PERFECT!
kimberly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
May 2, 2014

LOVED, loved, loved this dress!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The back of the dress is stunning with the ruffles and open back. The neckline detail on the dress was beautiful. There is a pretty texture to the fabric. I loved this dress and would rent it again in a second for another event
Erin
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136 lbs
May 3, 2014

Beautiful dress but wish I had bigger size.

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Dress has no stretch. Tight in tummy area but large in chest. I wear 34DD and was able to wear without bra with no problems but would have been better with top pinned. Wish I had gone up 2 sizes for a little extra room in the waist area. Overall a beautiful dress with a beautiful cut.
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
May 19, 2014

Perfectly formal

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Had a great time in this dress - incredibly comfortable and flattering; made me feel skinner than I am at the moment! Wish I had a picture. Got lots of compliments.
chanteal
Top Contributor
Age: 31
May 27, 2014

Dress is great tall girls beware

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Fabric was nice but the dress didn't even reach the floor in bare feet. The long is not very long at all
Andrea
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
May 30, 2014

Compliments all around!

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I LOVED this dress...and so did everyone else. Its elegant and the open back adds a sexy but classy touch. I went with the longer length because with my shoes the regular looked a bit too short. You will need to get a backless bra for this dress even if you are small busted since the material isn't super thick. This was my first Rent the Runway dress and I couldn't be happier.
Mollie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 2, 2014

Washington Nationals Dream Foundation Gala

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Cute dress, but not for a busty size 12. I just don't have the back for it- if you have back flab- avoid!
Ebony
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 1, 2014

I felt very sophisticated and elegant!

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my first RTR experience and it was awesome! The dresses arrived three days before my event, which was a relief. The dresses looked great and did not have any issues. I wanted wear the 6R but ended up wearing the 8L because the length was perfect with my heels. The top of my dress was loose on the side, but that wasn't anything that fashion tape couldn't handle! The material of the dress was very light and perfect to wear during the summer evening. I did wear an adhesive bra that was strapless along with spanx. I was able dance without feeling that I might have wardrobe malfunction! I received multiple compliments all during the evening and my husband loved this backless dress! Thanks RTR for making me feel like a million bucks!
rhodesy83
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 157 lbs
Aug 5, 2014

Good for black tie event.

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Nice dress. Wore it for a black tie wedding. A little loose on top, but I don't have a large bust size. I was annoyed with the ruffles and ended up tucking them in to show off my shoulder more, which worked out perfect.
Devonious
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 112 lbs
Oct 30, 2014

super lightweight and VERY comfortable.

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
GREAT dress, had loads of compliments and would rent it again for sure. Only frustrating part was that it was pretty short. Up to my low ankle on the 2L and I am 5"5", 113 lbs. so you cannot wear more than a 2 or 3" heel.
lyds
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 4, 2014

My friends wedding was beautiful and my dress was the best one!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress is stunning and flattering. I got compliments all night. It is true to size and other reviews mentioned it's too short but I had no issues at 5 feet 2 inches and wearing 3inch heels.
Becca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 108 lbs
Dec 4, 2014

This dress recieved so many compliments! Felt like belle of the ball for my office christmas party.

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Would give 5 stars but the length of this dress was SO short for a long gown, 5'9" with 1.5" heels and you could see my feet the whole night. Otherwise great dress, recommend for taller women even with no heels get the long size.
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 11, 2014

Black Tie Christmas Eve

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I LOVED THIS DRESS! I felt so beautiful in it and received so many compliments all night long. I could have gotten away with a 4L with the heels I was wearing, but it wasn't too bad.
Cat
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 11, 2015

Elegant & Comfortable

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress shows off your shoulders, arms and back. The fabric is light and has a great drape to it - pretty ruffles. I would guess this dress works best for a smaller-chested person - high neckline and lots of ruffles up top. I wore 3-inch heels and it was perfect.
Lana
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122 lbs
Feb 21, 2015

Glamor and comfort wrapped in one dress!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was so comfortable. The one thing I will say is I am not very tall- almost 5'4- and my toes did show a bit with very short heels. I wore the 2R. However, it was a beautiful dress and I got a lot of complements on it. I am all about feeling comfortable and this dress was definitely that!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×