Rent the Runway

Milly

Ravish Ruffle Gown

$70 rental
$545 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Wear this amazing textured ruffle gown by Milly to your next formal affair. A unique style that will make heads turn. Wear a statement cuff to complete your look like the Badgley Mischka's Art Deco Bling Cuff.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - exposed back does not allow for a strapless bra however
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips with flared skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 56'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'1''-5'6'') and long measures 59'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra due to exposed back
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Model's height is 5'10''.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - exposed back does not allow for a strapless bra however
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips with flared skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 56'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'1''-5'6'') and long measures 59'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra due to exposed back
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Model's height is 5'10''.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black cloque silk(100% silk). Halter neckline. Cascading ruffle detail at back and halter trim. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Made in USA. See size and fit tab for length.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

66 reviews

Fit
Small 6
True to Size 55
Large 5
Photos 39
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 28, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I wore this dress to a wedding and it was hit! The back of the dress is gorgeous and it really stands out. It ran true to size and fit my length perfectly (with 2 inch heels)
RTR Customer
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Body type: Straight & narrow
Oct 6, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
LOVE this dress! Classy and sexy. I chose this dress for opening night at the opera and was a hit. Beautiful, and the fabric keeps it modern. While in the picture, the fabric might not look lux, it does in person. And, the best part is that this is super comfortable.
RTR Customer
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 54
Body type: Petite
Nov 2, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Very flattering and comfortable! Was the perfect length with 4" heels. As others have noted, fabric is textured and luxurious looking in person.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Body type: Straight & narrow
Dec 1, 2011

Fabulous

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fabulous dress...easy to wear
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 6, 2011

Classic and sexy

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I felt great in this dress and had plenty of room to move, though be careful that you secure the buttons that hold the halter up or you'll have a wardrobe malfunction for sure! They held all night for me but the dress should include a snap for backup. I did not wear a bra and didn't feel exposed because the top is blousey with ruffles. The front hem is shorter than the back hem and with non-platform heels was the perfect length, I'm 5'2" and rented a 2R. The material is not as luxe as I had hoped and looks a bit cheap for a designer gown, thank god it was black. Comfortable and seriously fabulous!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 28, 2011

Lovely, but...

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
As other reviews have noted, the fabric is nicer than it appears in pictures. It is very delicate and silky. Tall girls, however, beware. I am 5'9'' and the Long barely touched the floor in the front when I was barefooted. The fit was not great on me (too loose on top and gaped on the sides a bit), so I am wearing my back-up dress. But this is a stunning dress; just not very fogiving on fit.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
May 11, 2012

Just OK

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was an easy, safe black dress but I felt the quality was a little low. I did appreciate however that the length was perfect for being 5'1" in 4 inch heels. The 0 was too short.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Jul 9, 2012

Pretty but not stunning!

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Rented this dress for black tie wedding. It was pretty but not what I had imagined. It did not help that someone was wearing the same dress as me!!! I think since I am short and petite it did not fit perfectly on the top. It seemed a little baggy on me and did not lay right. Loved the ruffles!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 114 lbs
Jul 19, 2012

Great Dress

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
First time using RTR and very pleased! Dresses (chosen size + backup) arrived on time and were packaged properly. 0R fit perfectly (grazed the floor) with 4 inch heels. I had no problems with the halter as others mentioned. Did not wear a bra but was perfectly fine as the fit was snug enough to prevent any mishaps. Dress was in great condition, no missing clasps or tears. Would definitely recommend RTR!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Aug 17, 2012

Beautiful

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was amazing. I felt so special in it and the fabric is to die for. I didn't notice the pattern in the fabric until I received it in the mail and it was great. I loved the open back too. The only downside is the length. I ordered a long based on other reviews and i'm glad I did. I wore 2 inch heels and had I worn anything taller it would have been too short.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 20, 2012

FABULOUS!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was the perfect fit. I was worried it might be too long (I'm only 5'2") but actually it was great once I put my heels on. The flowy accent pieces make it really feminine, but the high neckline gives it a hint of high fashion appeal. I wore it to a charity event for a regional theater in Tampa. The theme was the Adams' Family, so this dress was perfect as it reminds me a bit of Morticia.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Oct 13, 2012

Everyone at the event commented and looked at the back of the dress.

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was a perfect fit and length. I wore 4 inch heels and it didn't drag on the ground.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 8, 2012

RTR sent my dress out earlier than normal when Hurricane Sandy was approaching! Thank you!!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
this is one of my favorite long black dresses, the ruffles down the back of it make your body flow with each step you take. The added flutter around your neck makes you feel very regal. My favorite was the snake like pattern, much better than just a flat fabric. It was gorgeous! AND THANK YOU for the earlier shipping, I panicked when I saw that storm headed towards NY!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Nov 12, 2012

A little shorter than I would have liked

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I got this dress in the 4R because 4L was not available for the date I needed. I thought it would be fine because of some of the other reviews. I am 5'5" and wore 3.5" heels. The dress was about 2" shorter than I would have liked (the dress did not cover my toes or the tops of my feet), but it worked out fine because I did not have to worry about it dragging on the floor and someone stepping on it. Other than the minor issue with the length, I loved this dress. I probably could have fit into the 2, but the 4 was very comfortable and not constricting at all. I would rent it again if I could get the 4L.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118 lbs
Nov 12, 2012

Absolutely loved the back of the dress and the pattern. Classic with a modern twist and sexy.

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was amazing, except I am 5'4'' and I like my dresses to skim the ground. This dress was the perfect length when I was barefoot, and I didn't like how it looked even with 2.5 inch heels on. :(
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 30, 2012

Nice, simple dress that is conservative enough for a business affair.

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit well. However, it runs short. I'm 5'8" tall and this event had a "flat shoe" theme. I ordered a regular so I could wear the dress with flats. It was still a little too short. It worked out fine but I should have ordered a long.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 26, 2012

It is gorgeous - the back is so feminine and the ruffles add a beautiful detail.

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It runs short - I am 5'8 and definitely recommend ordering the "long" if you are tall.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 28, 2012

8R too small, 10R too big...

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress. I really wanted to wear it for a formal work event. Sadly, the top fit on the 8R but was a bit snug through the hips, but the 10R was way too big. It was very pretty though. The fabric is a light flowy material.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 16, 2013

Pretty but too large.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Rented this as my back-up. They did not have any 4 or 6's but due to the comments I thought an 8 may work. It did not, it was huge. Pretty dress, true to size. Luckily this was my back-up dress. Will rent again soon!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 117 lbs
Mar 13, 2013

awesome dress

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was one of two I rented for a 60s-themed formal. I ended up wearing the other one as being more theme-appropriate, but I LOVED this dress. It was forgiving in the bust and the hips (0R was the right size for me), the fabric felt amazing, and it was kicky and sexy. I would totally rent this dress in the future.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 175 lbs
Mar 21, 2013

Didn't Wear It for Occasion, But Fit is Lovely

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I didn't get to wear this dress for the occasion, but I had to try it on. The fit was beautiful. If I have another formal event, I will be ordering this gow.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Apr 4, 2013

not flattering on me

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
my waist is not my smallest part, so this dress did not flatter me. i ended up wearing another one i rented. i liked the light weight material of this one, but i'd say its suited for girls with a slender waist. i'm 5'3 and wear a size 2, and it didn't look right on me
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Apr 26, 2013

STUNNING!!!!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I can't say enough about this dress! It's a head turner and just stunning! I didn't want to send it back. It runs short so take that into consideration. Other than that, perfect!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 19, 2013

Glad it was my backup

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I liked this dress, but it was not flattering on me. Too big on the top and in the waist. The back was sexy, and the material was nice, but having it too big made the trim on top seem ridiculous. Might work on someone else, though - I have a small chest.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Jul 12, 2013

cute dress, too short

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was really cute, the 4 fit great, but the 4R is short short short. Hit above my ankles (I am 5'7-ish). The 4L would probably have been perfect, but they didnt have it available.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 13, 2013

Happy I rented two dresses.

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress runs very small. I'm an average size 6 and I couldn't zip the dress. I rented a 6 regular and the dress was at least 3 inches too short without heels. I'm glad I ordered two dresses for my friends wedding or I would have been in a bind. I also, wanted to return it and get a refund but partial returns are not excepted.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×