Ravish Ruffle Gown

$99 to buy
$545 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Wear this amazing textured ruffle gown by Milly to your next formal affair. A unique style that will make heads turn. Wear a statement cuff to complete your look like the Badgley Mischka's Art Deco Bling Cuff.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - exposed back does not allow for a strapless bra however
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips with flared skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 56'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'1''-5'6'') and long measures 59'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra due to exposed back
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Model's height is 5'10''.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - exposed back does not allow for a strapless bra however
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips with flared skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 56'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'1''-5'6'') and long measures 59'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra due to exposed back
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Model's height is 5'10''.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black cloque silk(100% silk). Halter neckline. Cascading ruffle detail at back and halter trim. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Made in USA. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
70 reviews
Fit
Large
(5)
True to Size
(58)
Small
(6)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
January 16, 2013
Pretty but too large.
Rented this as my back-up. They did not have any 4 or 6's but due to the comments I thought an 8 may work. It did not, it was huge. Pretty dress, true to size. Luckily this was my back-up dress. Will rent again soon!
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Body type: Petite
January 2, 2013
Elegant
The dress fit perfect. I am 5'6" and I rented a 2R. I was worried that it was going to be too short but it was perfect. The dress was not loose and it was not too tight where i was not able to move neither, it fit perfect. I got compliments all night long.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
December 28, 2012
8R too small, 10R too big...
I loved this dress. I really wanted to wear it for a formal work event. Sadly, the top fit on the 8R but was a bit snug through the hips, but the 10R was way too big. It was very pretty though. The fabric is a light flowy material.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
December 26, 2012
It is gorgeous - the back is so feminine and the ruffles add a beautiful detail.
It runs short - I am 5'8 and definitely recommend ordering the "long" if you are tall.
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
December 16, 2012
Love, love, love this dress!
Rented this dress for a evening wedding and received so many compliments! I'm 5'8, 135lbs and ordered the 6L. It fit perfectly! The ruffles in the back of the dress are so flattering. Beautiful dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Body type: Full Bust
December 12, 2012
Looking good in a dress and having everyone celebrate you is a wonderful feeling.
Great dress for black tie.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 30, 2012
Nice, simple dress that is conservative enough for a business affair.
The dress fit well. However, it runs short. I'm 5'8" tall and this event had a "flat shoe" theme. I ordered a regular so I could wear the dress with flats. It was still a little too short. It worked out fine but I should have ordered a long.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
November 12, 2012
Absolutely loved the back of the dress and the pattern. Classic with a modern twist and sexy.
This dress was amazing, except I am 5'4'' and I like my dresses to skim the ground. This dress was the perfect length when I was barefoot, and I didn't like how it looked even with 2.5 inch heels on. :(
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 12, 2012
A little shorter than I would have liked
I got this dress in the 4R because 4L was not available for the date I needed. I thought it would be fine because of some of the other reviews. I am 5'5" and wore 3.5" heels. The dress was about 2" shorter than I would have liked (the dress did not cover my toes or the tops of my feet), but it worked out fine because I did not have to worry about it dragging on the floor and someone stepping on it. Other than the minor issue with the length, I loved this dress. I probably could have fit into the 2, but the 4 was very comfortable and not constricting at all. I would rent it again if I could get the 4L.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
November 10, 2012
I loved this dress!
I wore this to my sororities formal. I loved the dress. It fit great. It was a little loose in the waist area but I usually have that problem with dresses. It was also a little too short with my heels, they were about 4 inches. The material wasn't what I expected but it worked out great and I got a lot of compliments. Overall I loved the dress and I am very glad I rented it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 8, 2012
RTR sent my dress out earlier than normal when Hurricane Sandy was approaching! Thank you!!
this is one of my favorite long black dresses, the ruffles down the back of it make your body flow with each step you take. The added flutter around your neck makes you feel very regal. My favorite was the snake like pattern, much better than just a flat fabric. It was gorgeous! AND THANK YOU for the earlier shipping, I panicked when I saw that storm headed towards NY!
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
October 13, 2012
Everyone at the event commented and looked at the back of the dress.
It was a perfect fit and length. I wore 4 inch heels and it didn't drag on the ground.
JacquelynDecember 28, 2012
Jennifer, I'm 5'2" and rented the 0R, I plan to wear a 4" heel, not platform. I'm getting nervous after reading all of the reviews mentioning how short the dress is. Did the dress hit the ground with your 4" shoes or was it noticeably shorter?
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
October 12, 2012
Amazing!
I got soo many compliments on this dress! Absolutley LOVED it! The super low back and high front leads for a very sexy/elegant look.
JacquelynDecember 28, 2012
I have the same body type as you and am looking for a black tie event dress. You look so cute that I had to rent it, I hope it works as well on me!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 1, 2012
This dress was awesome. My most comfortable formal ever!
I didn't have to "re-adjust" myself the whole night. The fabric is light and comfortable, I love the detail and got lots of compliments. It was hard to tell in the online photo but there is one seamline right at the waist that makes it very flattering. I also love that I this dress made me feel tall(er) I selected true to size because the size details say to size up, I got two sizes. My size and one smaller and the smaller fit.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
September 23, 2012
Working with Rent the Runway was so easy and a great deal!
I ordered the 2R and the 0R. I wore the 2R but the 0R fit as well, it was just a bit too snug for my liking. I am 5'2" and I wore 3 inch heels. The dress would be too short to wear any taller of a shoe. I have a very small bust and this dress was great for that. The top was a little baggy on me but looked great. I didn't wear anything underneath, not even pasties. It was comfortable for an evening gown and I got tons of compliments.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
September 6, 2012
This was an amazing dress
I ordered this dress as well as another for last minute prom options. It came the day of prom at 4pm which was a friday, and I ordered on the Wednesday of the same week. The dress fit well, I was recovering from an illness so it was a bit loose at the top, but it fit everywhere else. I loved it, and it was perfect for being a last minute dress
SophiaMay 6, 2013
You look great! Also, how random that I found someone I know on this website. LOl
IndiraMay 8, 2013
Aww thanks Sophia!! I know its crazy! I hope you find the dress/gown you're looking for! This is a great website!!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
August 20, 2012
FABULOUS!
This dress was the perfect fit. I was worried it might be too long (I'm only 5'2") but actually it was great once I put my heels on. The flowy accent pieces make it really feminine, but the high neckline gives it a hint of high fashion appeal. I wore it to a charity event for a regional theater in Tampa. The theme was the Adams' Family, so this dress was perfect as it reminds me a bit of Morticia.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
August 17, 2012
Beautiful
This dress was amazing. I felt so special in it and the fabric is to die for. I didn't notice the pattern in the fabric until I received it in the mail and it was great. I loved the open back too. The only downside is the length. I ordered a long based on other reviews and i'm glad I did. I wore 2 inch heels and had I worn anything taller it would have been too short.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Body type: Petite
August 15, 2012
Customer service with RTR was awesome, dresses arrived on time, packaged nicely and were so easy to send back! Dress was a total hit!
If you have a formal event this is an awesome choice. The dress fits pretty true to size & the fabric is light and didn't restrict from dancing! I was worried that the bottom may have dragged on the floor but with 4-5 inch heels you're solid. LOVED it, got tons of compliments on it --overall two thumbs up!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 114lbs
July 19, 2012
Great Dress
First time using RTR and very pleased! Dresses (chosen size + backup) arrived on time and were packaged properly. 0R fit perfectly (grazed the floor) with 4 inch heels. I had no problems with the halter as others mentioned. Did not wear a bra but was perfectly fine as the fit was snug enough to prevent any mishaps. Dress was in great condition, no missing clasps or tears. Would definitely recommend RTR!
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
July 9, 2012
Pretty but not stunning!
Rented this dress for black tie wedding. It was pretty but not what I had imagined. It did not help that someone was wearing the same dress as me!!! I think since I am short and petite it did not fit perfectly on the top. It seemed a little baggy on me and did not lay right. Loved the ruffles!
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
May 11, 2012
Just OK
This was an easy, safe black dress but I felt the quality was a little low. I did appreciate however that the length was perfect for being 5'1" in 4 inch heels. The 0 was too short.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
April 26, 2012
RTR never fails to impress! I received so many compliments about the dress; it felt amazing!
I wore this dress to a black-tie wedding and it was a hit! The fabric is textured and looks awesome in photos. The color and length are perfectly appropriate for a black-tie wedding yet the ruffles and open back add a level of funk. I ordered the dress in a 4R and 4L; based on previous reviews, I anticipated that the R would be short when wearing heels. I was right! My intention was to wear heels for the first couple of hours then switch to flip-flops (hey, I like to dance!) I tried on both sizes and wouldn't have been able to wear ANY heels with the R without the dress looking too short. I wore the L and was able to wear 3 -inch heels without the dress dragging. In fact, I put on my flip-flops and the dress was still above the floor. The one drawback the prevented me from giving the dress 5 stars was that it arrived with some loose threads and a torn hem on the inside slip. In addition, the size-zipper kept shifting around, ending up in front. I found myself readjusting the dress throughout the night, which was a bit of a pain. Overall, the dress was fabulous- I received many compliments and the style was perfect! I felt fancy yet funky. Definitely a winner.
sarahJanuary 7, 2013
How do you wear a bra??? Or something to hold you up? Im a 36 C...
RTR CustomerJanuary 8, 2013
Hi Sarah! You can get one on our site under "fashion solutions!"
ViviJanuary 9, 2013
I wore a sticky bra and it worked great; but I'm 34B...
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
December 28, 2011
Lovely, but...
As other reviews have noted, the fabric is nicer than it appears in pictures. It is very delicate and silky. Tall girls, however, beware. I am 5'9'' and the Long barely touched the floor in the front when I was barefooted. The fit was not great on me (too loose on top and gaped on the sides a bit), so I am wearing my back-up dress. But this is a stunning dress; just not very fogiving on fit.
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Body type: Hourglass
December 19, 2011
I would definitely recommend RTR.
I wore this gown for a company holiday party. I received many compliments throughout the night. Rent the Runway delivered the gown on time. I am very pleased with the service that I received.
JamieSeptember 25, 2012
were you able to wear a bra with this dress?
RTR CustomerOctober 4, 2012
Hi Jamie! With the low back we would suggest a NuBra with this style!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
December 6, 2011
Classic and sexy
I felt great in this dress and had plenty of room to move, though be careful that you secure the buttons that hold the halter up or you'll have a wardrobe malfunction for sure! They held all night for me but the dress should include a snap for backup. I did not wear a bra and didn't feel exposed because the top is blousey with ruffles. The front hem is shorter than the back hem and with non-platform heels was the perfect length, I'm 5'2" and rented a 2R. The material is not as luxe as I had hoped and looks a bit cheap for a designer gown, thank god it was black. Comfortable and seriously fabulous!
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Body type: Straight & narrow
December 1, 2011
Fabulous
Fabulous dress...easy to wear
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 55
Body type: Petite
November 2, 2011
Very flattering and comfortable! Was the perfect length with 4" heels. As others have noted, fabric is textured and luxurious looking in person.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 6, 2011
LOVE this dress! Classy and sexy. I chose this dress for opening night at the opera and was a hit. Beautiful, and the fabric keeps it modern. While in the picture, the fabric might not look lux, it does in person. And, the best part is that this is super comfortable.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
September 28, 2011
I wore this dress to a wedding and it was hit! The back of the dress is gorgeous and it really stands out. It ran true to size and fit my length perfectly (with 2 inch heels)
See more reviews:
2 / 2
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited Bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×