Milly

Prim and Proper Bow Dress

$50 rental
$385 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This flirty and feminine Milly dress recalls Audrey Hepburn's lady-like style. Finish off the look with sparkly accessories to channel your inner movie star.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for B cup sizes and bigger - bust runs slightly large
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout bodice - waist band, bow, and full skirt conceal lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt is not fitted on hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra with fashion tape or with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for B cup sizes and bigger - bust runs slightly large
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout bodice - waist band, bow, and full skirt conceal lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt is not fitted on hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra with fashion tape or with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black cotton and silk Mikado. Scoop neckline. Satin waistband with bow detail. Full skirt. Satin band at hem. Hidden back zip. 34'' from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

307 reviews

Fit
Small 15
True to Size 192
Large 100
Photos 111
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 27, 2011

Loved this paired it with Kate Spades black sparkly shoes

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
So i rented this dress for a sweet 16. when i first got it i thought it was a little long and wasn't sure i was going to wear it. Im glad i did although it being long it looked great on. The dress was really easy to dance in all night long. Although i wish you could take the bow off i would defiantly rent it again.
Hayley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Jan 12, 2012

Mystery Bling made this order very exciting! Perfect for date night with my boyfriend and Christmas Eve with the family the next night.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
After I wore this, twice I might add, I immediately started scoring the website to see where I could buy it. Loved it and the length was perfect.
katie
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 16, 2012

this dress is great! i wore it to my winter formal. it fit very well. perfect length too! just long enough. extremely flattering, especially the fitted top. the straps were a little loose, but the provided Hollywood Tape took care of it. the dress also comes with snaps for you bra. everyone loved it! great dress.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
this dress is great! i wore it to my winter formal. it fit very well. perfect length too! just long enough. extremely flattering, especially the fitted top. the straps were a little loose, but the provided Hollywood Tape took care of it. the dress also comes with snaps for you bra. everyone loved it! great dress.
Mo
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 116 lbs
Apr 28, 2012

I felt very glamorous in a perfectly fitting dress.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Rent the Runway's service couldn't be better. The dress came early, was amazing quality, really flattering and fit perfectly. I received many compliments and just felt great. The dress was very comfortable too. It's loose in the waist, so you can feel free to eat and drink that night. It's snug on top but in a really flattering way. I loved the whole Rent the Runway experience and would love to order from them again.
Ashley
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124 lbs
Apr 30, 2012

I wore this to a Metro Times - "Best Of" party at the MGM Grand Detroit - received compliments galore!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I love this dress! It was classy but the scoop neck added a bit of pizzazz. I think the dress is perfect for a party or wedding but not so much for a formal affair.
ta
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
May 31, 2012

The whole process was very easy and my night was full of compliments because the dress was of excellent quality and the fit was outstanding.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress shapes your torso and defines the waist. It shows legs in an appropriate way. It is easy to accessorize and it's fun to dance with because of the full skirt swing. I got so many complements! My husband was inquiring about the retail price because he thinks I look great in it :)
J.E.
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Jun 13, 2013

Classic LBD!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Ah! I absolutely loved this dress. It's the perfect fit that looks just right on every body style. If you need a "go-to" black dress- pick this one!
Jolene
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110 lbs
Jul 25, 2013

The perfect little black party dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to my friends wedding and absolutely loved it! The perfect little black party dress. Dressy enough to catch the eye, but simple enough not to need too many accessories. Wore with black heels and diamond chandelier earrings. Includes clasps to hold bra straps in place. Runs true to size, rented sizes 2 and 4 but went with the 2.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140 lbs
Aug 6, 2013

Overall great dress, straps are kind of loose

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
In general i loved this dress and was very happy with how it fit. The length was great even though i'm short, and it fit well throughout the bodice. It's definitely lower cut than I expected, so keep that in mind in terms of undergarment choice. My only complaint was that the straps seemed too long for the dress. If I'd purchased this, I would have had a tailor take 2 inches off of each strap, no joke. Fashion tape fixed it easily enough. They didn't fall off the whole night, though there was probably an odd gap in the back. Overall I was happy with it and would probably rent it again.
kate
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Pear
Aug 14, 2013

Great dress for a wedding

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I didn't end up wearing this dress. I ordered two and wore the other dress because it was more summery. I loved the look of this dress and it worked with my 4 and a half month pregnant belly. However, the top was very large, even in the size 2.
Jennifer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 10, 2013

This dress looks great online and in other customers' pictures - the fit just wasn't for me.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This was perfect for a black tie-optional wedding I attended in April. I gathered from other reviews that the dress runs small, particularly in the bust, so I went with a 4 and a 6. The main problem was the fit of the bust and the size of the arm holes... very unflattering on me!
Brooke
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Sep 22, 2013

Super easy.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Overall fit true to size but tight in the bust.
HappyBrideToBe
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 22, 2013

Perfect flirty dress for my bachelorette party!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I absolutely love everything about this dress. Although the dress has no stretch at all, I didn't find wearing this to be uncomfortable at all. The bow in the front was the perfect little touch that this dress needed. I was worried it would be too revealing in terms of cleavage, too short, or that I couldn't wear a regular bra. Luckily, I didn't have a problem with any of that. I wore black pumps, silver stacked bracelets, diamond stud earrings, and a simple silver necklace. I received compliments all night!
jennifer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 25, 2013

Very flattering. Wore with red accessories to spice it up!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Perfect fit!
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 25, 2013

Too big

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I didn't end up wearing this dress because the fit was just too big. It was big in the chest area so I ended up wearing an alternate that I ordered.
Beth
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 2, 2013

So many compliments!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress! I wore it to a late summer wedding. I usually wear a 2 or a 4, but went with the 4 because I was nervous about the length (I'm pretty tall) - it fit perfectly. This was my first RTR experience, and I would recommend it to anyone.
Colby
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Oct 17, 2013

I thought the dress was adorable!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I am 5,9 and it was very short! I had to wear flats and it was still short. Also very booby, but if you are smaller chested this would not be a problem! All in all got a lot of compliments!!
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 23, 2013

It is the most adorable semi-formal Audrey Hepburn dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I think I was so crazy about this dress that I got it in a size 4 even though I normally wear a size 2 and the listing even said to go one size down which would mean a possible 0. Crazy right?! It was two inches too big in the waist for me, but I still was able to pull it off without anyone noticing. It was a wedding for someone at work and knew I wouldn't care as much about impressing the masses. I still got loads of compliments and people said they couldn't notice! I put my hands on my hip in most photos though! It was super fun to dance in!
J
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145 lbs
Oct 27, 2013

Cute dress, a bit weird in length

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I'm 5'3" so it was weird to find that the dress seemed a bit short. I also didn't like that the bow had fringed ends; it was also pretty "dead". However, the fit was great. I decided against rerenting this for a wedding but I could see how it could look great on another body shape.
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 5, 2013

Dress was adorable - but had to exchange it. Not good for busty gals.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Would be fun for a bachelorette type occasion, or for a more petite figure. I was busting out all over the place, top, bottom - it wasn't a good thing for a formal event.
keeley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 18, 2013

Loved it!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Great lenght,and overall fit! Very sexy dress!
Lindsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Dec 2, 2013

Best dress ever!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I would rent this over and over again...super comfortable but can be dressed way up or simple for any event!
Isabel
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 24, 2013

I wore this for our Pref Night during rush

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
and it fit beautifully! I ordered the 4 and the 2 and ended up going with the 2 (talk about a confidence boost!). It was elegant, appropriate, and flattering. I wish I could own it!
Brooke
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 6, 2014

Amazing, high quality dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was a great choice that I wish I owned! It was high quality and perfect for an upscale wedding. It definitely accentuates the bust and if you are very busty, be aware of that. All in all I thought it was very flattering as well. Loved it!
Cari
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Jan 17, 2014

Modern, fun take on a classic sihouette

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
It's elegant without being stuffy, and looks great with a simple pair of black heels. Overall fits well but the straps are a bit large and slipped around and the bodice felt roomy.
Hillary
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 18, 2014

I felt really classy wearing this!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
For a petite girl, this dress was perfect length. The only tough part of this dress was making sure my bra did not show.
StephFont
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
Feb 3, 2014

Mixes classy and flirty with little effort!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress! I wore it with an updo for a dress rehearsal dinner for a friend and felt so very elegant. The cut around the bodice is beautiful and shows just enough skin. I would definitely go for an updo if you're wearing this in the evening. Loved the way the skirt flared out on the bottom. Great for adding a little more curve. Beautiful dress all around.
ADK
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 9, 2014

It was a nice little black dress for the wedding.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The only downside of this dress was that the straps were a little long on my frame. Other than that, I loved the construction and shape of this dress.
Mary
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 13, 2014

As expected

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was easy to wear and very comfortable. The material was really fancy and overall I had a good experience.
KB
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Mar 14, 2014

Great, comfortable dress for a night of dancing!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I was newly pregnant when I wore this dress, so it was perfect to hide my little "bump". I was comfortable in it all night. I'm not well endowed when it comes to my "girls" so the top was a little big around the bust area but nothing too bad!
Carolyn
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Mar 19, 2014

Unfortunately runs way too big

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Cute dress, but way too big. I'm normally a 4 (though bigger on the bottom than the top, and this is only fitted on the top), and the smallest size was too big. Also, the fabric is quite heavy. Good for fall/winter, not for summer.
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Body type: Full Bust
Mar 26, 2014

Too small!

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Wasn't able to wear the dress. Looked pretty but was a little worn and frayed. Ran small.
Alexandra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Mar 27, 2014

First ever RTR rental and felt like a princess. Gorgeous, chic and made people stop and stare.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit true to size. PERFECT IN ALL AREAS
Carolyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 20, 2014

Lovely dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Unfortunately I ordered a size a bit too big for me, but other than that the dress was great.
Jackie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
May 2, 2014

Ehh...

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Besides the fact that the zipper on this dress was broken, I wouldn't have worn it anyway. The fabric was worn out and pulling in places. I am normally a 2 or 4 and the dress made me look huge in all the wrong places, while simultaneously smushing my chest down so I looked flat as well. Didn't look a thing like it did on the model. Ended up having to get another dress sent for the next day, which RTR was very helpful with.
Mackenzie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
May 6, 2014

Unable to wear :-(

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
It arrived with a broken zipper and I was unable to wear it. The customer service was excellent and I was able to get the issue resolved. Would definitely rent this dress again. It was beautiful!
tmcmaste
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
May 8, 2014

night out in vegas to celebrate my baby bro turning 21!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
I ordered the 6 with the 4 as the backup. The 6 was a little loose, so I ended up wearing the 4. It was a bit tighter in the bust, but it gave me some nice cleavage! It was perfect for our night out in Vegas.
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
May 22, 2014

Fabulous LBD with a wonderful scoop neckline

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this Milly dress! I wore it to a Kansas wedding, the only problem was that it was in June and warmmmm... and at the time I kind of wished I wasn't in a black dress (that was a somewhat heavier material) under the sun. However, it was amazing and gorgeous and once I was in air conditioning, it was much more fitting for the event. I loved the scoop neckline in the front and it fit wonderfully. Shows off a small waistline wonderfully, and then flared out before being too tight on my larger pear hips. The only section that was a little weird fitting was the chest, but nothing that a little Hollywood Fashion tape couldn't solve (and it even held up to the sweaty Kansas weather).
Kristin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
May 29, 2014

Hill Country Winter Wedding

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was the best dress ever. The top was very structured - almost corsetlike - so I didn't need to wear a bra. The dress was fairly short, but worn with tights it ended up being a great look that rode the line between formal/cocktail attire.
Kimberlynn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 1, 2014

Fabulous!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Classic lovely style. Got compliments all night!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×