Milly

Prim and Proper Bow Dress

$50 rental
$385 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This flirty and feminine Milly dress recalls Audrey Hepburn's lady-like style. Finish off the look with sparkly accessories to channel your inner movie star.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for B cup sizes and bigger - bust runs slightly large
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout bodice - waist band, bow, and full skirt conceal lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt is not fitted on hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra with fashion tape or with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for B cup sizes and bigger - bust runs slightly large
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout bodice - waist band, bow, and full skirt conceal lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt is not fitted on hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra with fashion tape or with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black cotton and silk Mikado. Scoop neckline. Satin waistband with bow detail. Full skirt. Satin band at hem. Hidden back zip. 34'' from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

307 reviews

Fit
Small 15
True to Size 192
Large 100
Photos 111
Paige
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 22, 2012

really cute but a little tight

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Vacation
I wore this while on vacation with friends in San Fran. It was really cute and I loved the look of the dress but I am a 36C and it was a little tight in the chest. It fit well everywhere else though.
28 wedding
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 8, 2012

Cute and Classic

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Rented this for a NYE wedding - it was formal enough for the black-tie optional dress code AND youthful/flattering. Will definitely rent again!
Kathleen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 3, 2012

Great Dress!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to a New Year's Eve Wedding! It is a great dress! It is a little shorter than I thought it was going to be but I found some great tights to wear with it. I loved this dress and would recommend it!!!!
Karen
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 3, 2012

Cute, but did not fit well

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fits very awkwardly. It was very tight in the stomach, but loose on the top, and I don't usually have this problem. It was ok to wear for one night, but the fit was uncomfortable and awkward. I did receive compliments on it though, and no one noticed the fit.
ckelly
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 3, 2012

Great Party Dress!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a Christmas party recently. It was so cute and a classic style! The dress ran true to size and would probably look great on any body type.
L
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 3, 2012

One size down was perfect.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This dress runs large. I usually wear a 4, 6 or 8 depending on brand. I ordered sizes 6 and 4, and ended up wearing the 4. This dress has a very cutesy/ girly silhouette- but it was very flattering and I received many compliments. The bust fit me well with a little bit of cleavage showing (I wear a 30FF bra). The dress straps hid my standard bra perfectly. It fits snug in the waist and has a full skirt- which isn't too short (It's winter, so I wore the dress with black tights which made me less sensitive to skirt length). Don't forget a nice necklace to adorn that wide open neckline!
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Dec 30, 2011

I was proposed to in this

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress. It was perfect. My boyfriend had gotten my friends to trick me into thinking I was going to a party with them and instead they dropped me off and he was there. He proposed, I said yes. He took me to meet up with all of our friends afterwards and everyone kept saying 'Thank God you were wearing such a cute outfit!" Most memorable outfit EVER!!!
Kate
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 15, 2011

classy!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my first order with RTR, and I don't usually order anything without trying it on but the experience was wonderful! The material is thick enough to hold a beautiful shape on its own but isn't heavy. The bow hit exactly at my waist. I read reviews saying the straps were loose but neglected to realize that that meant the dress might fall lower and lower, depending on the positioning of the straps. I'm a 32 E so this was a problem, but I imagine it wouldn't be for anyone else. I ordered the 2 and 4 and ended up just wearing the 4 for less cleavage. The neckline is lovely. If you are on the fence about ordering this dress or any, do it! It's so easy and provided you follow the measurements, it will fit and look significantly nicer than anything you could buy for $50!
K
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 134 lbs
Dec 15, 2011

Beautiful, but runs big!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is so elegant and beautiful, I got tons of compliments! I wore it just like the model in the picture - with shear black tights and sky-high patent pumps, and silver sparkling jewels. BEWARE: dress runs VERY big! I usually wear a size 6, but was glad that I ordered a size down for my back up. In fact, I could have used a 2 (chest runs very big, as does the waist). Overall, great dress and it's always nice to fit into a smaller size :)
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 13, 2011

Adorable

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
This dress is absolutely darling, flattering, and just feels well made, however it does run quite a bit big. I'm usually a 0/2 and the 0 felt almost a size too big.
Vanessa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 12, 2011

Great fit! Classic and classy

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for my company holiday party and loved it. I have an hourglass figure, but am definitely larger on the bottom than on the top. I fit perfectly on top and I have no problems with the straps that other people have mentioned (although a am 5'9"). The skirt had lots of room and would look good on most sizes. Loved the dress and would definitely recommend it.
Doll
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Nov 30, 2011

Black Dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
The dress was a little large especially through the bust but overall really cute!
Ashleigh
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123 lbs
Nov 29, 2011

Timeless, Classy Dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was perfect! It was very classy because of the color, the cut, and the skirt, but the bow made it cute at the same time. Also, the bodice fits fairly tight and it made my chest look great--classy and sexy at the same time? I'm in. Would definitely reccommend this for almost any formal event... I will probably rent this again for my sorority's preference ceremony. At the time I wore it I was about 140 lbs and I'm 5' 5" so I ordered a 6 and an 8 and I went with the 6 but even though I wasn't wearing a 4 at that time I felt like I could have gone to a 4... for this dress you want the top part to be really tight. I would order a size down in this if I were you.
Molly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Nov 28, 2011

LOVED IT!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I needed a little black dress for a "Casino Royale" party. This dress was absolutely perfect. I am usually a 10 and got nervous when I was told at the last minute that the 10 was unavailable. (RTR sent the Magnolia Lace dress in a size 10 instead and it is far cuter in person than in the photos, even though I did not wear it). However, I tried the 8 and it fit absolutely perfectly. I thought that the bow hung a little lifelessly, so I used the clothing tape RTR included in my package and it looked great.
KKarch
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 27, 2011

Overall fit: Large
I usually wear a 4 or 6 so i ordered a 2 and 4 in this dress. The 2 ended up fitting a little snug but looking perfect. this dress is very classic and sophisticated and I got a lot of compliments on it. I wore it to my sorority semi-formal but it would work for a lot of different occasions. However, the boning does dig into your side a little bit, but hey, beauty is pain.
Jana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 168 lbs
Oct 14, 2011

Overall fit: Small
I loved the look of this dress but could not wear it. I ordered a size 6 and 8 after reading the reviews of how large it was (I normally wear a size 8) and they were both too small in the bust area but larger through the rest of the dress. So, I would agree that the dress runs large like the rest of the review and would not recommend it for larger busts.
TB
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 10, 2011

Overall fit: Large
LOVED IT! One size smaller than usual fit perfect.
loveRTR
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 28, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Gorgeous and classy. I wore this dress to my fiance's brother's wedding and it went so well with my fiance's black & white tux. People kept saying I looked like a classic movie star (I played up the Audrey Hepburn look with a high bun). I would definitely recommend this dress. Usually a 4 or 6, 4 fit great.
Emma
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 22, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I LOVE LOVE LOVED this dress!! It is a perfect tasteful length! I didn't have problems with the top being big, and I'm not busty (34 A-B), I just wore my push up bra and it fit great! I got it for a sorority formal and I showed my roommate who then promptly rented it for a wedding she was going to. Overall AMAZING!
AW123
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 21, 2011

Overall fit: Large
I usually wear a 4 or 6, and I ordered the 0 and it fit like a glove. I have a small chest (big b small c cup), small waist and large hips so it worked out perfectly! What everyone says about the straps is true, they fell down all night long, but that wouldn't keep me from renting this dress. I got many compliments from random people all night long.
Bidda
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Body type: Full Bust
Sep 19, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This is a very flattering dress, but does show a lot of cleavage. It also has snaps on the straps for you to connect your bra. This allowed me to wear a regular bra instead of a strapless, so it was even more comfortable! It's a very lady-like and precious dress!
WC
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Body type: Apple
Sep 12, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress was my back-up that I thought would be a sure fit and conservative choice for a wedding, but I ended up being disappointed. In person, the bow has intention frayed edges, but they don't look good. Also, the top of the dress so big I couldn't even keep the straps up. This would be better for a busty gal. I'm a B cup, size 4, 5'3, but the top couldn't even be salvaged with safety pins for me.
M
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 1, 2011

Overall fit: Large
I'm 5'6", 130lbs, with a large A, small B cup. I rented this dress in a 2 for my friends wedding, and ended up having to go with a 0 because the bust was so big! Even with the 0, I needed to be careful of my posture, and was careful to wear a black bra to conceal slip ups. All in all lovely, fun dress, but it's loose up top!
Mini
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 52
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 1, 2011

Overall fit: Large
I wasn't able to wear this dress as it was too tight across my back and under the arms and too large around my waist. I ordered both the 4 and 6 (I am 5'5" and 34-26-34)but sadly could wear neither one. It also was much longer on me than it appeared to be on the model. It was a beautiful dress and well-made but just didn't work out for me.
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Body type: Pear
Jul 3, 2011

Overall fit: Large
I wore this for my bridal shower (did a Breakfast at Tiffany's theme). Very very cute, received a lot of compliments on it, but it runs VERY large. I usually wear a 4 in dresses, and it was big all over. The 2 fit in the waist, but it was still large in the bust. Get 2 sizes just in case!
Katy L.
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 7, 2011

Overall fit: Large
I absolutely loved this dress!!! It ran almost true to size - It was a little loose around my ribcage, but it was wonderful and fit my curves! It was perfect for going out and dancing in - I wish I could have kept it!
JS
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
Jun 6, 2011

Overall fit: Large
I ordered the 4 and the 6 in this dress. the 4 looked perfect but the straps were a bit big. I usually wear 6 in Milly. Got lots of compliments! definitely recommend.
Allison
Height: 4' 6"
Age: 25
Body type: Hourglass
May 25, 2011

Overall fit: Large
I loved this dress - I had found it in stores to try it on before I rented it - The dress fit well, except I have a short torso, so the straps were a little long on me, which meant I was adjusting the dress all night - other than that it is a very flattering shape!
Tate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 20
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150 lbs
May 16, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
The straps were a little long, and I found myself having to constantly pull the dress down so that it would fit right on my shoulders. Other than that It was adorable, and I got lots of compliments!
LP
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
May 16, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This picture was a little deceptive since the bow seems to pop out a lot in the picture and the dress that arrived had a very limp bow which made the dress a little frumpy. I rented a size four and it fit great, although a little tight in the boobs (I'm a size 34D)but it ended up making the dress a little sexier (in a good way!)
Steph
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
May 9, 2011

Overall fit: Large
This dress was very cute and it worked out, but the top runs very large. Would not necessary recommend for a small busted person, or order a smaller size.
Ashley
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Body type: Athletic
May 9, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Very cute dress. I am 36, and it looked a little young for me. Ended up not wearing it, but it fit very true to size.
Rachel.T
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 20, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
It's a cute dress. However, the shoulder strips are running a bit too long. They keep falling down.
Pam P.
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Body type: Pear
Apr 8, 2011

Overall fit: Large
Dress runs a little large, but I found that to be preferable for my body type. I received many compliments on this dress, and found it to be flattering.
Leah M
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106 lbs
Apr 7, 2011

Overall fit: Large
Dress is super cute, but like others have said, it runs very large! I, too, ordered a 0 and couldn't even wear it because it was literally falling off me. I haven't ordered anything else by Milly, so I'm not sure if it's their line or this particular dress. I would definitely order down, if possible.
EFF
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Body type: Straight & narrow
Mar 8, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
What a great, classic little black dress! It's super flattering and runs true to size. It was so comfortable for a long night out and I got tons of compliments on it. I would definitely reccommend renting this dress!
Amy E
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Feb 14, 2011

Overall fit: Large
I liked this dress a lot, but it ran huge in the chest. I had previously rented another Milly dress (the Paris Love dress) in a 2, so I rented a 2 again. The waist was ok, maybe a little big, but the bust was gigantic (I am a 32B). The straps were also quite long, which didn't help. I ended up not being able to wear it because the fit was so off, even though I love the style.
Caity
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 7, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I wore this dress to a New Years wedding and it was a hit. I'm usually a size 6 so I ordered the 6 and the 8. The 6 fit but was a little too tight in the bust so I went with the 8. If you have a larger bust you might want to go up a size.
ClaireT
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Body type: Pear
Feb 7, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This is a great party dress - the length was perfect for me and it was very flattering. I ordered a 6 and 8, the 6 fit in the waist but was way too tight in the chest (I'm a large C), so I went with the 8. I got lots of compliments.
EB
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 36
Body type: Apple
Jan 16, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress is fabulous! It is very flattering and fun to wear. Perfect for a cocktail attire wedding. And, RTR has the BEST customer service. Alissa was great to work with. I will definitely rent more dresses in the future.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×