Milly

Prim and Proper Bow Dress

$50 rental
$385 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

This flirty and feminine Milly dress recalls Audrey Hepburn's lady-like style. Finish off the look with sparkly accessories to channel your inner movie star.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for B cup sizes and bigger - bust runs slightly large
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout bodice - waist band, bow, and full skirt conceal lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt is not fitted on hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra with fashion tape or with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Product Details

Black cotton and silk Mikado. Scoop neckline. Satin waistband with bow detail. Full skirt. Satin band at hem. Hidden back zip. 34'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
308 reviews
Fit
Large
(101)
True to Size
(192)
Small
(15)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
October 28, 2012
Audrey Hepburn Halloween Castume
I rented the dress for a Halloween Party and it was a hit and looked the part! The 0 was a little big around the waist so i tightened it with a ribon . Also, the length was longer than I expected and the top straps could have fit better on someone with more of a chest than i do. Overall i got lots of compliments on the dress and it worked great for the event!
EmilyFebruary 22, 2013
I was just thinking the same thing, might rent this to be Audrey for Halloween!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
December 9, 2012
The perfect dress for the event.
This dress runs a little large as others have said, so my second size was the 4 and it fit perfectly (I'm normally a 6). It is so comfortable, and I got a lot of compliments on this dress. Perfect for holiday party, formal events--whole experience was great renting this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
March 19, 2014
Unfortunately runs way too big
Cute dress, but way too big. I'm normally a 4 (though bigger on the bottom than the top, and this is only fitted on the top), and the smallest size was too big. Also, the fabric is quite heavy. Good for fall/winter, not for summer.
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
September 24, 2010
Dress is really cute and well made, material is good but dress runs extremely large. I am a 26 waist and the 0 (24-25) was too big all around.
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Body type: Petite
October 5, 2010
I was so disappointed with this dress. It fit absolutely horribly, big in some places, small in others. Also, doesn't look as good as it does on the computer. I had to find another dress to wear and will not order from this company again after how rude one of their representatives was on the phone.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 1, 2010
The skirt was much fuller than I expected, and it wasn't all that flattering on me. The top portion of the dress was also a bit big.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Body type: Petite
November 8, 2010
Love this dress!! Picture does not do it justice. Such a great fit. I think it may run a little large .. I am typically a 4 and the 2 was perfect and still loose in all the right areas. I think Milly brand vanity sizes a little bit.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
November 26, 2010
The zipper on the back is extremely difficult also I wouldn't rent this dress if you are under 5"7 it's very long
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Apple
December 9, 2010
This dress is really cute and figure flattering, but it definitely runs large.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
June 6, 2011
I ordered the 4 and the 6 in this dress. the 4 looked perfect but the straps were a bit big. I usually wear 6 in Milly. Got lots of compliments! definitely recommend.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Body type: Pear
July 3, 2011
I wore this for my bridal shower (did a Breakfast at Tiffany's theme). Very very cute, received a lot of compliments on it, but it runs VERY large. I usually wear a 4 in dresses, and it was big all over. The 2 fit in the waist, but it was still large in the bust. Get 2 sizes just in case!
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 55
Body type: Hourglass
August 1, 2011
I wasn't able to wear this dress as it was too tight across my back and under the arms and too large around my waist. I ordered both the 4 and 6 (I am 5'5" and 34-26-34)but sadly could wear neither one. It also was much longer on me than it appeared to be on the model. It was a beautiful dress and well-made but just didn't work out for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 30, 2011
Black Dress
The dress was a little large especially through the bust but overall really cute!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
May 16, 2012
Great black tie affair dress
This dress is very flattering if you size down. I have a 34c chest and fit into the top of a size 0 with a strapless bra no problem. I'm normally a 2. The overall fit is very flattering and it is of very nice quality.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
August 15, 2012
Fun awesome dress! So comfy!
This dress was very flattering yet so comfortable and cute. Great dress for just about any occasion!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
September 8, 2012
Bigger than anticipated
It was lower cut in the front that I anticipated because the straps were too big on me. I felt like I should have worn the next size down but I got a 2 and a 4.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128lbs
September 18, 2012
Loved the dress! I received so many compliments. It does run a bit large. I would go a size down.
I normally wear a 6. I had to wear the 4 and the straps were still a little to big.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
October 17, 2012
I felt gorgeous and classy!
Loved this dress! I was worried it might be small as only a 4 was available instead of my usual 6. The material was heavy, and you could tell that it was made well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 26, 2012
Love the dress, love RTR.
Gorgeous dress, got lots of compliments, perfect for a fancy party. The bow in the front was a little messed up and flimsy when it got to me so I had to use the fashion tape to keep it in place. Overall, a very pretty and fun dress!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
December 9, 2012
Getting all sorts of compliments
I really liked this dress. The lustre and the weight of the material were particularly suited for a winter wedding, but also workable for a summer one. If you're very petite, this dress may not be for you, because while I do have a very small waist (21-22 in), I have a fairly large bust that didn't even come close to filling the dress out even with a pushup bra. Unfortunately when I received the dress, both the size I chose to wear and the backup were damaged. Both dresses looked as if they were on their last leg (i.e.- frayed hems, etc..)The bows on the front of both dresses were almost completely detached, so I pinned them on with safety pins. Overall I did enjoy wearing the dress as it was elegant and fun at the same time.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
April 25, 2013
This dress is classic. I felt like Audrey Hepburn
It was just a little long for my liking. But overall I really liked this dress.
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Body type: Full Bust
November 1, 2010
It was perfect for a fall wedding! I am usually an 8 but needed a 6 in this. It's actually not as short as it looks on the model, which I was happy about.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
January 3, 2012
Cute, but did not fit well
This dress fits very awkwardly. It was very tight in the stomach, but loose on the top, and I don't usually have this problem. It was ok to wear for one night, but the fit was uncomfortable and awkward. I did receive compliments on it though, and no one noticed the fit.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
January 22, 2012
really cute but a little tight
I wore this while on vacation with friends in San Fran. It was really cute and I loved the look of the dress but I am a 36C and it was a little tight in the chest. It fit well everywhere else though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 48
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
April 4, 2012
Party/fundraiser
I rented this dress in a size 4 as my backup dress. It fit but was a little snug in the bust area without a bra. Probably the size 6 would have been better on the top, however, I think it might have been too big everywhere else on me. I do not have large hips and may have looked like too much material. Needless to say I did not wear the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
September 19, 2012
I felt so timelessly and classically dressed but still appropriate for a sorority formal!
I ended up needing the second size, and I'm so glad that RTR suggested I get a backup sized up because I got an 8 which ended up being too tight on my chest. The 10 fit better and wasn't too loose on my waist so it was perfect! I wore my own accessories but the dress was so classic and simply beautiful that it all fit together perfectly.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
October 4, 2012
Gorgeous! I felt like Audrey Heburn!
I absolutely loved the dress! It's so funny how every woman's body is completely different. I ordered my usual size (6) and a size down because all of the reviews said that the dress ran large. Well I have a 34DD and the dress was extremely small in my chest. I wore it anyways (bra less) and it looked great but it was hard to breathe at times. Overall, I loved it and would rent it again in a heartbeat!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 24, 2013
So cute and flattering.
I wore this for my brithday dinner and it hide the little bit of weight I had put on and made my boobs look great. Definitley would rent again. Runs a tad small though so if you are inbetween sizes as I am I would reccomend going to the next size up instead of the next size down.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140lbs
February 7, 2013
LOVED this dress
im normally a size 4 and wore a size 2 in this dress. The 2 was a little tight but the 4 was way too big. Otherwise, loved the dress and got compliments all night long!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 116lbs
March 7, 2013
Adorable dress, just didn't quite fit right, so I had to return it.
A little small and short
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 38DD
Body type: Apple
Weight: 210lbs
May 20, 2013
Loved this dress online!!
Unfortunately, I didn't get to wear it. I rented this dress for my graduation from university. After reading the reviews, I chose my usual size (6) and went one size down (4) for my backup..many of the reviews said it ran large in the bust. I also had read reviews of girls with the same bra size wearing a 6, so I thought I would be okay. Sadly, I couldn't zip it up all the way. If you have a wide back and bust is a concern, I suggest sizing up, instead of down, as your backup. I will definitely rent the 8 in the future!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
September 10, 2013
This dress looks great online and in other customers' pictures - the fit just wasn't for me.
This was perfect for a black tie-optional wedding I attended in April. I gathered from other reviews that the dress runs small, particularly in the bust, so I went with a 4 and a 6. The main problem was the fit of the bust and the size of the arm holes... very unflattering on me!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Body type: Full Bust
March 26, 2014
Too small!
Wasn't able to wear the dress. Looked pretty but was a little worn and frayed. Ran small.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 168lbs
October 14, 2011
I loved the look of this dress but could not wear it. I ordered a size 6 and 8 after reading the reviews of how large it was (I normally wear a size 8) and they were both too small in the bust area but larger through the rest of the dress. So, I would agree that the dress runs large like the rest of the review and would not recommend it for larger busts.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 165lbs
May 1, 2013
A bit snug
The dress was pretty enough, but the belt just sort of hung there limply. I normally wear a 12, but I couldn't get the zipper all the way up. My rib cage is large and combine that with my bust, I wouldn't have been able to breath.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
May 27, 2013
tiiiiiny waist!
I ordered this as my backup and my usual size had a microscopic waist - everything else seemed to work, but the middle was so snug I just couldn't picture sitting through an event for hours and being comfortable (and I usually don't have this problem in other dresses!). I ended up not wearing it at all. Also, the dress i received looked pretty worn - wearable, but the interior lining was pretty beaten up, and you could see outer signs of wear if you looked reeeeally closely. If you do get this, go a size larger for the backup to allow yourself some breathing room!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
September 8, 2010
Love this dress! I found it to fit true to size and is very flattering on a curvy shape.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
October 4, 2010
I always wear a size 0 in dresses, and this dress fit perfectly. I wore it to a wedding and received many compliments. The material is a little thicker, so it was great for a chilly fall evening.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
October 14, 2010
I wore this to a wedding and it was a dream! It fit me like a glove and was delivered in perfect condition. My friends pleaded with me to actually buy the dress! Great dress!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
October 18, 2010
Wore the dress to a cocktail party and loved it! Very flattering and found it fit very well. The bow wasn't as defined as it seems in pictures though.
See more reviews:
3 / 8

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×