Prim and Proper Bow Dress

$50 rental
$385 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This flirty and feminine Milly dress recalls Audrey Hepburn's lady-like style. Finish off the look with sparkly accessories to channel your inner movie star.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for B cup sizes and bigger - bust runs slightly large
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout bodice - waist band, bow, and full skirt conceal lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt is not fitted on hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra with fashion tape or with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for B cup sizes and bigger - bust runs slightly large
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout bodice - waist band, bow, and full skirt conceal lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt is not fitted on hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra with fashion tape or with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black cotton and silk Mikado. Scoop neckline. Satin waistband with bow detail. Full skirt. Satin band at hem. Hidden back zip. 34'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
308 reviews
Fit
Large101
True to Size192
Small15
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
March 2, 2013
RTR always makes renting my dresses SO easy! This was my third time renting and still loving it!
The dress was true to size and has a great structure. The fabric is nice and thick, and I didn't even have to wear a bra because of the slight boning in the dress. Lovely dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 1, 2013
This dress was absolutely perfect for an October wedding!
I love this dress, I wish I owned it! Got compliments all night!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127lbs
February 27, 2013
Had to return it :(
I unfortunately had to return this dress, in the size 4. It was huge in the bust area, and the bow was floppy and unflattering. I was really excited about wearing this, but it was a disappointment.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
February 27, 2013
RTR was easy and fun. The dresses arrived on time, in a garment bag. Helped make me look great!
I loved this dress. It was not stretchy AT ALL. If you are big-chested, this might be difficult for you to get into. I wear a B cup. I wore a lightly padded bra and as you can see... I looked a lot bustier than i really am (PLUS!) I am hourglass/pear shaped and the dress's cut was great for me by drawing attention away from my big booty. The dress's straps have bra strap holders so you can wear a bra with straps which is great. Overall, comfortable, but be careful with the fit. It fits true to size, so don't think you can "squeeze" into this dress. You won't be able to breathe!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 26, 2013
Amazing dress!! It was absolutely beautiful and I got a ton of compliments!
I would normally wear a 4, but I went with the 2 in this dress. It was still a little loose, but not noticeably big around the waist. The built-in clips for your bra were amazing! I have a larger bust and really hate wearing strapless bras, so this allowed me to wear a normal bra and have it not show! Wore it for a NYE Party in Milwaukee, so I wore it with hose. Looked great!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
February 25, 2013
Audrey Hepburn moment!
This Milly dress is absolute perfection! Elegant and classy but fun too. The material feels great and looks beautiful on. Very danceable. Compliments all night long.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
February 24, 2013
Very flattering!
I ordered this dress in a size 6 and 8 and ended up wearing the 6. I am definitely not a 6 normally, but because the dress is goes out alot n the bottom and is smaller on top like me, this was the best fit. I felt great! it was a bit lower than I would have hoped, but I wore a regular bra and that made it feel pretty secure. This dress is a good bet for anyone larger on bottom and nervous about fit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
February 15, 2013
Customer service was great
A winter snowstorm caused this dress, which I rented for NYE, to arrive too late, unfortunately. The dress, however, was luxe and cute at the same time. Lovely material, perfect fit. I'm only sad I didn't get to wear it for real!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 13, 2013
perfect.
Cute and classy. Very comfortable fit. Very flattering for my figure.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
February 11, 2013
Cute little black dress!
I wish I owned this dress. It's so cute! It was a little tight in the bust, but I'm used to that problem. Other than that, I loved the fit. Cute length for a party or a night out.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
February 11, 2013
A classic dress!
Overall, this dress is absolutely perfect! Unfortunately I did not get to wear it because the event was canceled due to this weekend's snow, but I will be renting it again for the next affair I go to. It runs pretty true to size, but if you aren't sure I'd say to order a size down. This dress is classic, flattering, and gorgeous!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140lbs
February 7, 2013
LOVED this dress
im normally a size 4 and wore a size 2 in this dress. The 2 was a little tight but the 4 was way too big. Otherwise, loved the dress and got compliments all night long!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
February 4, 2013
Adorable, Forgiving, and Still Hot
I wore the dress for New Years and I was able to eat a huge dinner but still look great for a party afterwards thanks to the poof of the dress. It was a little more low cut in the bust than I expected, but that made it sexy despite the fact that the silhouette wasn't overly sexy.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
February 2, 2013
I loved this dress!
It is incredibly flattering as it flares out at the waist. The bow arrived a little smashed down, but after some fluffing, it was perfect. It is snug in the chest if you've got a fuller bust, but definitely wearable! I got tons of compliments, and felt great in it. I would definitely rent this dress again
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 65
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
January 28, 2013
Not for the short & curvy
My aunt ordered this dress for me so I am writing the review on her account. I am 5'1, 130lbs, with an hour glass shape. Although the dress is beautiful it's not intended for curvy girls. I think the bust draws too much attention if you have a full chest and the full skirt makes hips look even more hippy. I also felt too much like a cupcake since I am so short in stature. Just a note - the size 4 has a stuck zipper. I usually wear a size 6 but even the 4 was roomy on me but the zipper just wouldn't budge.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 24, 2013
So cute and flattering.
I wore this for my brithday dinner and it hide the little bit of weight I had put on and made my boobs look great. Definitley would rent again. Runs a tad small though so if you are inbetween sizes as I am I would reccomend going to the next size up instead of the next size down.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
January 24, 2013
Perfect! I received so many compliments
I wore the dress for an evening couples wedding shower that I was hosting. It was perfect for the occassion and I received so many compliments. Perfect mix of classy and sexy.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
January 22, 2013
Wow--a thousand compliments!
I've worn Milly before, but this dress ran very large. I'm usually between a 4-6 and I could've worn this in a 2. The dress itself is very cute; however, this dress in particular was definitely showing some wear. It was great that Rent the Runway included fashion tape because I used almost all of it. The lining was coming out of the dress so I had to tape it down. Yes, I was able to wear a regular bra with this dress, but I still had to tape the back part as it was a little worn in the straps. I personally own a lot of black dresses, but there was something very classic and unique about this dress. Very cute and received a ton of compliments. Great for a shorter girl, too!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 138lbs
January 21, 2013
Great little black dress for any affair!
I generally wear an 8 but I wore the smaller size and didnt need to wear a bra!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 58
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
January 20, 2013
Beautiful AND Comfortable!
The beauty of this dress, to me, is that it can look amazing on a woman of any age. The fit is true to size and it is so comfortable to wear. I didn't feel the need to tug or adjust at any time during the night. The length is flattering and not so short that I worried about dancing in it. I loved it and hope to rent it again - perhaps in a different size when I lose a few pounds!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
January 18, 2013
have rented this dress twice now, which says it all ... I LOVE it. Great fit, very flattering!
This dress is pretty short, but works for me since I am not very tall and hate things that are too long. Fits pretty true to size but I wore the 4 b/c it fit better on top.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95lbs
January 18, 2013
Polished
I was 16 weeks pregnant with my 2nd child when I rented this dress for a party. We hadn't announced my pregnancy at the time, so I wanted a dress that would conceal my swollen tummy and this did just the trick! The few people who did know were so surprised. Beautiful, fun dress... and perfect if you want to hide a tummy... or a baby bump! lol!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
January 17, 2013
Looking back in the pictures and loving every one!
The dress fit and looked awesome! The shoulder straps were a bit too big and kept falling down but other than that it was great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 17, 2013
LOVED IT!!!
Will definately rent this dress again! Perfect fit! Very flattering
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117lbs
January 13, 2013
Love it
Very cute
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
January 10, 2013
One of those dresses that makes people notice you in ways they hadn't before!
Very feminine, a little tight around the chest, but not too tight! Very comfortable and a joy to wear!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
January 10, 2013
This is my second time renting this dress. Love it. Love the fit! Would rent it again.
Fits great, I think it's a very flattering dress. Timeless!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
January 10, 2013
I would rent it again.
This was not my first option but it fit better than the other one. Overall, it was perfect. It was a little tight on my chest but not uncomfortable. I liked the lenght; being 5'2 a lot of the dresses are too long and this one was perfect. I thought it was a little worn out; not as nice as other dresses I've rented.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 7, 2013
Beautiful Dress!
This was my first rent the runway experience and I am hooked! Loved the dress... I did size down to a 4... ( normally take between a size 4 or 6) and the 4 was still a bit roomy. Perfect fit other than the fact I had to pull up the dress alot from preventing my bra from showing.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 7, 2013
Perfectly pairs with my black satin Loub's!
Wore it for my engagement pics and have received so many compliments. I paired the dress with my Christian Louboutin black satin Very Prive heels and RTR's Kenneth Jay Lane Emerald Drop Earrings. SIDE NOTE: I don't know if it's because I have a small upper body, but the straps fell down often mostly hanging off of the shoulders.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
January 7, 2013
Loved this dress!
Wore this for New Years eve and it was such a hit! I got so many compliments and it fit perfectly, very true to size!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
January 4, 2013
I would rent it again!
I absolutely loved this dress, so did my boyfriend. I wore it to his brother's wedding and felt classy and sexy at the same time! I actually ordered it in a size smaller than I usually wear because of the A line. I got a ton of compliments on it as well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
January 2, 2013
Beautiful fabric
This dress would have been great if I had gotten it in a smaller size. The dress runs large for a 4, especially in the chest region. The shape of the dress and the fabric is beautiful, but definitely runs large.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
December 28, 2012
Absolutely LOVE this dress. Incredibly flattering and classic.
I wore this dress for my engagement party and it was quite a hit! looked gorgeous with Nicole Miller pearl drop earrings!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
December 25, 2012
love this dress so much - wish i could buy it
fit like a glove, was tight across the chest and overall very flattering
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
December 17, 2012
Nice dress, had some issues though.
I usually wear a 2, but wore a 0 in this dress. Two minor issues: (1) the top of the dress did not lie flat against my chest, but fixed this issue with fashion tape, and (2) the bow is not as pictured; it was completely floppy, so I ironed and starched it into shape and then it looked perfect. Would still recommend this dress, classic shape, nice fabric, overall very flattering shape.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 16, 2012
Perfect flattering, semi-conservative dress. Tons of compliments!
I'm 5'2 and it hits a few inches above the knee but isn't too short. Cinched waist was very flattering but the bodice left room for my size D ladies. I want to buy this dress now!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 12, 2012
Bow falls flat.
I thought this dress looked adorable on the model, but in person, the material was kind of worn, and the cute bow around the waist falls flat and looks dopey. I ended up not wearing this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
December 11, 2012
The customer service!
This was the original dress I wanted for a wedding, but after it wasn't available the stylist stayed on the phone with me for almost an hour to pick the perfect dress! Still want to try this one though!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
December 9, 2012
Getting all sorts of compliments
I really liked this dress. The lustre and the weight of the material were particularly suited for a winter wedding, but also workable for a summer one. If you're very petite, this dress may not be for you, because while I do have a very small waist (21-22 in), I have a fairly large bust that didn't even come close to filling the dress out even with a pushup bra. Unfortunately when I received the dress, both the size I chose to wear and the backup were damaged. Both dresses looked as if they were on their last leg (i.e.- frayed hems, etc..)The bows on the front of both dresses were almost completely detached, so I pinned them on with safety pins. Overall I did enjoy wearing the dress as it was elegant and fun at the same time.
See more reviews:
3 / 8

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×