Milly

Prim and Proper Bow Dress

$50 rental
$385 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

This flirty and feminine Milly dress recalls Audrey Hepburn's lady-like style. Finish off the look with sparkly accessories to channel your inner movie star.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for B cup sizes and bigger - bust runs slightly large
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout bodice - waist band, bow, and full skirt conceal lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt is not fitted on hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra with fashion tape or with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Product Details

Black cotton and silk Mikado. Scoop neckline. Satin waistband with bow detail. Full skirt. Satin band at hem. Hidden back zip. 34'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
308 reviews
Fit
Large
(101)
True to Size
(192)
Small
(15)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 127lbs
August 21, 2012
Gorgeous Dress!
After reading several reviews that said the dress ran large I decided to order the size down as well. I ended up wearing the size 2 typically I wear a 4. The straps were a little loose otherwise perfect!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
August 30, 2012
Beautiful Dress! Cute & Classy
Loved this dress, fit good with larger bust size. However, makes you look bigger if you have wider hips because of how the dress puffs out. I recommend for smaller frames, bow is the perfect touch!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 31, 2012
Fabulous
I loved this dress so much! I wish I owned it personally, it fit me perfectly. I felt like such a princess. Rent it ladies!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 3, 2012
The whistles I received from my boyfriend when I walked downstairs after getting dressed! Definitely makes a girl feel good knowing she chose the right outfit!!
I wore this dress to a friend's 'black tie optional' wedding and it was perfect!! Elegant and classy with just the right amount of sexy! I paired it with my own colorful jewelry and gold peep toe sling-backs. This was definitely the right dress to dance all night in!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
September 4, 2012
So many compliments, felt great in it.
Great fitting, lots of compliments. Dress a bit big in the chest, which was perfect for someone like me.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
September 5, 2012
Loved!
I'm 5' 4", and am quite larger on top. this dress was great! I actually wore it without a bra, which was a first and it was super comfortable and flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
September 6, 2012
Fun and Flirty in DC
So, I ordered an 8 and 12 (because they didn't have a 10 in stock). The 12 was way too big, and the 8 fit, but was tight. I went with the 8 because it showed off the waist (and let's be honest, the girls too). It was cute, and since I went plain on the dress I got some fun and sparkly jewelry. My only problem is that if you have a larger bum (like me) then you can't be bending down to grab things because you will embarrass yourself greatly. The dress was fun, and I had a great time, now if I could just find shoes that are fun and flirty AND COMFY... :(
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 12, 2012
this dress withstood the pouring rain and still made me look amazing!!
i truly dont know what size dress i am, i rented the 4 and 6 and the 4 fit awesome. its a cute yet classy dress, i loved it!!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 117lbs
September 12, 2012
Elegant, classy, yet sexy dress!
I'm usually a 2 but I read that this dress ran large, so I ordered a 0 with a back up of a 2. Well the 2 didn't come, so I was stuck wearing the 0 which was too small for me. Other than that, I really did love the dress. If I had the 2 it would have been the perfect size for me. I didn't even have to wear a bra which was a plus!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
September 13, 2012
Perfect little black dress for a special event.
Absolutely loved this dress. Great bow detail and the A-line mad it very figure flattering. The bust is slightly larger so beware if you are a b or smaller.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
September 17, 2012
Loved it! Came right on time, everything was so easy. Many compliments on the dress.
Definitely has a low neckline, would have preferred it to be a bit higher for a wedding. If you are between a bra size (i.e. 34, 36) aim higher when choosing your size. Wore the dress with patent black Michael Kors shoes, a plain black wrap and a sparkle navy clutch from Club Monaco.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
September 19, 2012
So flattering, classic, and fun!
If you're larger on the bottom, this is a great fit - the top is fitted and the skirt flares in a way that's flattering to those with curves. The scoop neck is a little low - it didn't seem overly revealing, but did require choosing a demi-cup bra over something fuller. Fabric had a nice weight to it without seeming heavy, and the black satin contrast band at the bottom of the skirt is a nice touch. Comfortable and classy!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
September 19, 2012
Classic black dress!
Loved this dress- fit true to size. I have long legs so it was a little short but still super cute!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
September 19, 2012
I felt so timelessly and classically dressed but still appropriate for a sorority formal!
I ended up needing the second size, and I'm so glad that RTR suggested I get a backup sized up because I got an 8 which ended up being too tight on my chest. The 10 fit better and wasn't too loose on my waist so it was perfect! I wore my own accessories but the dress was so classic and simply beautiful that it all fit together perfectly.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
September 19, 2012
Beautiful dress just not beautiful on me.
I am very slender and tall. The length was perfect but the top of this dress did not fit at all. I got the 0 and the 2 and the 0 was so big on the top. I think this is made for ladies with a little more cushion up top. I was sad that this one didnt work out because it really is a classy and beautiful dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
September 20, 2012
Perfect post maternity dress for wedding
What a fun little dress! I got it for a fall wedding at Deer Valley, UT I recently had a baby and the full skirt and waistline helped flatter. Loved the fit- though the chest area is a little big. Super fun and you can't go wrong with this classic dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
September 21, 2012
Cute dress!
This dress was very cute on; however, the straps were definitely too big. The bow kind of blends into the dress so you don't notice it as much. I have rented other dresses through RTR and this was one just alright, but that is comparing it to some pretty stellar dresses so the bar might be a little high.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
September 24, 2012
So many compliments!
Runs a little big, I'm small up top so the straps were a little loose-nothing some fashion tape couldn't fix. Overall gorgeous dress but I think would be better for fuller-busted girls.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 112lbs
September 26, 2012
So pretty but humungous
I got this as a potential for a wedding. It is beyond adorable but I had about 2 inches of loose fabric gapped under each arm because the top runs really really big. This was with a very padded bra on too. I was bummed because I wanted to wear it. If you're small-busted and you want to try this one DEFINITELY spring for the back-up alternate dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
September 26, 2012
Felt like a million bucks!
Dress ran big as most reviewers said, so I ordered a size smaller than I am right now (6), and the 4 fit perfectly! I felt classy, but sexy, and was comfortable on top of it all! Would love to own this as a little black dress :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
September 27, 2012
A very well constructed classic LBD with luxurious material
This dress was my backup to RTR's "Neatly Polished" by Tracy Reese. The fabric is luxurious and felt durable. It seemed so heavily constructed that it could flatter any body type, hiding all those little imperfections and flaws. It reminded of the material on corsets: shiny and soft but has some kind of layer or weaving that doesn't show your body through. I was going to pair it will pearl accessories: necklace, earrings and braclet. Along with black rights and sleek black pumps as shown in the RTR photo. However, I loved my other rental so much that I didn't get a chance to wear this dress. I also didn't take a picture. In the future I will, even if I don't end up wearing the dress. But I WOULD RENT AGAIN. NOTE: someone with nice looking arms, neck, décolleté and shoulders should wear this dress. The thickness of the material really hugs around every crevice and groove (like underarms and back) If they aren't toned it could look unflattering.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 29, 2012
This dress was amazing! I was comfortable all night but looked great!
I loved this dress! I wore it to my best friend's engagement party. It fit well - the neckline is great, but the lines at the waist are flattering for everyone. Love love loved it!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
October 3, 2012
SO EASY!
This dress fit really well. I ordered the 4 and the 6. Both fit but the 4 was a little snug under the arms. I really loved the cut of this dress and was happy that it was tight up top and cupcaked out at the right part of the midsection.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
October 3, 2012
Classy and well made.
The perfect girly dress for a wedding. Comfortable enough to wear all night long (especially for a girl with a larger bust like me!)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
October 4, 2012
Gorgeous! I felt like Audrey Heburn!
I absolutely loved the dress! It's so funny how every woman's body is completely different. I ordered my usual size (6) and a size down because all of the reviews said that the dress ran large. Well I have a 34DD and the dress was extremely small in my chest. I wore it anyways (bra less) and it looked great but it was hard to breathe at times. Overall, I loved it and would rent it again in a heartbeat!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
October 4, 2012
such an easy process. my dress arrived before i did to the hotel. Silver lining to a hellish day!!!
I loved this dress. I felt like a modern day Audrey Hepburn. I top sticked the bow so it wasn't so limp and had to top stick the straps because the bust was a little big on me. But overall, it was a hit! thanks RTR
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
October 6, 2012
Perfect dress to ring in the New Year!
Waist was a little short but the wide bow belt was very flattering, and the fit was fantastic overall.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
October 6, 2012
Beautiful Dress!!
I loved this dress! I felt incredibly sexy the whole night and received tons of compliments. The only problem I had with the dress was that the zipper was a little stubborn and I needed help to zip it up. I wore it with some sheer tights to complete the look. Also I do have a bigger bust and I was worried that I would be pulling the top but that wasn't the case at all. I would definitely wear this dress again. I loved the color and feel!
MelissaMay 29, 2013
Did you need to wear a bra with this dress? I'm the same body type and size as you (5'2", 150 pounds, size 10). Thanks!
CecilliaMay 31, 2013
Melissa, I did wear a strapless bra with the dress, I just needed the extra support and lift but I did not feel squished in anyway with the bra in the dress
View photos (3)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
October 6, 2012
Effortlessly Elegant
Love, love, love this dress!! It was just the perfect fit. The dress slimmed down my middle and showed off my legs. A warning for chesty girls, I have 34 DD's and they were all sorts of out but not necessarily in a bad way. I got so many compliments throughout the night, I'm so glad I rented this little number!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
October 7, 2012
Wore this to a sorority formal and received many compliments! Very pleased!
It fit like a glove! However I didn't like that the bow in the front was droopy, so I used the tape provided to pin it up! Looked great!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
October 11, 2012
Really classy and fun dress!
I really liked the dress. It ran large, I could have worn a 0. Its extremely flattering and very comfortable! I would definitely recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105lbs
October 14, 2012
This dress got me a million compliments! It was so flattering!
Great hook think that allowed me to wear whatever bra I wanted!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
October 14, 2012
The great memories while wearing it, of course!
love this dress! I rented for sorority recruitment and I felt great! This dress fit me so well, I would absolutely rent it again! I usually wear a 6 because I'm wider in the hips but the 4 was a perfect fit.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
October 17, 2012
Got compliments all night on this dress! I would rent this dress again in a heartbeat!
The dress is constructed very well and looked flawless while hiding my flaws. I'm narrow but on the curvier side so the fact that it nipped in my waist and hid my lower half was great. I did get a fair amount of notice where the cleavage is concerned so it's not for anyone who's a little shy!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 107lbs
October 17, 2012
The only real problem was that it was a little bit big
I usually fit well in a 0 but this was big in every way. The straps seemed to long making the neckline really low and it gaped a little and the fabric all over was quite far from my body. It worked find though. It was a good overall length.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
October 17, 2012
The bow was perfect for the venue and occasion!
Super cute for a formal play and dinner in January. However, skirt was SHORT and boob area was big. I had to keep my hair in front so that it would kind of weigh down the gap.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 22, 2012
Great LBD for any occasion!
Rented the 4 and the 2, 4 was way too large but the 2 fit perfectly. You can wear a regular bra with this dress. I thought the smaller size might be too short but it was just a little above knee length on me. Very comfortable and easy to dance in!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
October 24, 2012
Perfect Dress!
I rented this as my backup look, but it ended up being far more flattering! A bit snug in the chest, that created a good push up effect, without the use of a bra! Also, I didnt have to wear spanx, which is always a plus!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
October 26, 2012
love it!
I really loved this dress felt so feminine and pretty in it, could wear it all day/night long!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 27, 2012
This dress is comfortable, flattering, and the perfect spin on a basic black dress!
I'm about 5"4, 130 pounds and it fit perfectly. I wear a D cup and the top wasn't constricting at all. It was also a nice length for the event and hit me mid to lower thigh. The bow in the middle is a really nice touch. Makes the dress very flattering! It has a satin-y look to it, so it could definitely be worn to a formal event. I wore it to my sorority's bid night and I got so many compliments on this dress - would definitely rent again!
View photos (2)
See more reviews:
3 / 8

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×