Rent the Runway

Milly

Prim and Proper Bow Dress

$50 rental
$385 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This flirty and feminine Milly dress recalls Audrey Hepburn's lady-like style. Finish off the look with sparkly accessories to channel your inner movie star.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for B cup sizes and bigger - bust runs slightly large
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout bodice - waist band, bow, and full skirt conceal lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt is not fitted on hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra with fashion tape or with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for B cup sizes and bigger - bust runs slightly large
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout bodice - waist band, bow, and full skirt conceal lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt is not fitted on hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra with fashion tape or with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black cotton and silk Mikado. Scoop neckline. Satin waistband with bow detail. Full skirt. Satin band at hem. Hidden back zip. 34'' from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

307 reviews

Fit
Small 15
True to Size 192
Large 100
Photos 111
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 25, 2011

My dress was amazing and I wore it with black stiletto spike pumps. It was the perfect dress for this occasion. I was already wondering when I could rent again!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
AMAZING DRESS!! I couldn't believe how cute it was in person! I received so many compliments. Incredibly flatter and perfect for any celebratory occasion. I got it in a size 0 and it fit perfectly. The only thing I would say is that the straps on top were a bit lose, but the rest of perect.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 5, 2012

perfect NYE party dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was so comfortable, but it was a little shorter than I would have liked. I wore opaque tights with it so it worked out fine but just know it's pretty short. I liked that the straps had little button clasps to hold your bra straps in so you don't have to wear a strapless. All in all, it was exactly what I was hoping it would be, a cute party dress to wear for a wedding on New Years Eve!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jun 6, 2012

Sophisticated

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore a 4, but could have fit in a 2. It runs large, so go down a size or two. It was a fantastic dress. Well fitted, emphasized my small waist and long neck. It was a perfect prom dress, but could easily have worked for anything. Very sophisticated and classy, I loved it!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118 lbs
Aug 14, 2012

This dress made me feel so beautiful only 1 month after having my first baby. Highly recommended!!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress exactly 1 month after having my first baby. It was absolutely perfect, very flattering and hid all the parts of my body that I'm self conscious about at the moment (belly and hip/thigh areas). The only regret I have is not going a size up to an 8 for my second size. All the other reviews said order a size down as it runs big, however, I'm 5'2" and the length is very short even for me and the material has NO give at all. I'm currently sporting a very large chest postpartum and wished it would have stretched just a little.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 127 lbs
Aug 21, 2012

Gorgeous Dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
After reading several reviews that said the dress ran large I decided to order the size down as well. I ended up wearing the size 2 typically I wear a 4. The straps were a little loose otherwise perfect!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
Aug 30, 2012

Beautiful Dress! Cute & Classy

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Loved this dress, fit good with larger bust size. However, makes you look bigger if you have wider hips because of how the dress puffs out. I recommend for smaller frames, bow is the perfect touch!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Nov 29, 2012

Classy dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for a sorority semi-formal and it was perfect! I typically wear a 4 but ended up wearing the size 2. I could have worn either but I preferred the snugger fit around my rib cage. It was a very flattering dress and made my chest look great. Needless to say, it was a hit with the boyfriend as well. My only complaint was that the dress may was starting to show its wear. I had to spray the bow with starch and use double stick tape to give it some life.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 3, 2012

Classy and Fun

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a holiday party. I wore sheer tights with a back seam as shown in the photo. I felt great in the dress and was comfortable all night. It did run a tad big in the straps, however there were snaps to keep your bra in place that helped keep the straps up. I had requested a 2 as my backup, but it was unavailable. I think the 2 may have fit a tad better. I'd recommend that renters get a size down as a backup.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160 lbs
Dec 7, 2012

Perfect dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was fabulous. It fit great but was a tad tight up top. I can't tell you how many compliments I got!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 9, 2012

The perfect dress for the event.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress runs a little large as others have said, so my second size was the 4 and it fit perfectly (I'm normally a 6). It is so comfortable, and I got a lot of compliments on this dress. Perfect for holiday party, formal events--whole experience was great renting this dress.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Dec 28, 2012

Absolutely LOVE this dress. Incredibly flattering and classic.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for my engagement party and it was quite a hit! looked gorgeous with Nicole Miller pearl drop earrings!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 7, 2013

Perfectly pairs with my black satin Loub's!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
Wore it for my engagement pics and have received so many compliments. I paired the dress with my Christian Louboutin black satin Very Prive heels and RTR's Kenneth Jay Lane Emerald Drop Earrings. SIDE NOTE: I don't know if it's because I have a small upper body, but the straps fell down often mostly hanging off of the shoulders.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 7, 2013

Beautiful Dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This was my first rent the runway experience and I am hooked! Loved the dress... I did size down to a 4... ( normally take between a size 4 or 6) and the 4 was still a bit roomy. Perfect fit other than the fact I had to pull up the dress alot from preventing my bra from showing.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 10, 2013

One of those dresses that makes people notice you in ways they hadn't before!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Very feminine, a little tight around the chest, but not too tight! Very comfortable and a joy to wear!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 57
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 20, 2013

Beautiful AND Comfortable!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The beauty of this dress, to me, is that it can look amazing on a woman of any age. The fit is true to size and it is so comfortable to wear. I didn't feel the need to tug or adjust at any time during the night. The length is flattering and not so short that I worried about dancing in it. I loved it and hope to rent it again - perhaps in a different size when I lose a few pounds!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 24, 2013

So cute and flattering.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I wore this for my brithday dinner and it hide the little bit of weight I had put on and made my boobs look great. Definitley would rent again. Runs a tad small though so if you are inbetween sizes as I am I would reccomend going to the next size up instead of the next size down.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 13, 2013

perfect.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Cute and classy. Very comfortable fit. Very flattering for my figure.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Feb 25, 2013

Audrey Hepburn moment!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This Milly dress is absolute perfection! Elegant and classy but fun too. The material feels great and looks beautiful on. Very danceable. Compliments all night long.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 26, 2013

Amazing dress!! It was absolutely beautiful and I got a ton of compliments!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I would normally wear a 4, but I went with the 2 in this dress. It was still a little loose, but not noticeably big around the waist. The built-in clips for your bra were amazing! I have a larger bust and really hate wearing strapless bras, so this allowed me to wear a normal bra and have it not show! Wore it for a NYE Party in Milwaukee, so I wore it with hose. Looked great!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Feb 27, 2013

RTR was easy and fun. The dresses arrived on time, in a garment bag. Helped make me look great!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress. It was not stretchy AT ALL. If you are big-chested, this might be difficult for you to get into. I wear a B cup. I wore a lightly padded bra and as you can see... I looked a lot bustier than i really am (PLUS!) I am hourglass/pear shaped and the dress's cut was great for me by drawing attention away from my big booty. The dress's straps have bra strap holders so you can wear a bra with straps which is great. Overall, comfortable, but be careful with the fit. It fits true to size, so don't think you can "squeeze" into this dress. You won't be able to breathe!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Mar 5, 2013

So easy!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this to be a bridesmaid in a friend's wedding this February. I was flying in from abroad, and couldn't shop for a black dress prior to the event. I rented the dress online, spoke with a fit specialist, and it was fantastic. Came on time, in great condition, and shipping it back couldn't have been easier (I literally just handed it to the hotel front desk on my way to the airport). It was wonderful not having to pack a fancy dress. The dress is really easy to wear, flattering, and photographs well. I am 5' 2" and the length was a couple inches above the knee. I am a 32D but did not find it tight in the chest, like some other reviewers. It is a bit low in the front, so I had to run and buy a new bra the day before the wedding to make sure it didn't show. Next time, I'll pack several underwear options when I rent a dress and am traveling!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 9, 2013

I wore this as a maid of honor in my brother's wedding.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was beautiful, simple, and incredibly flattering--the material was a thick satin and it draped perfectly. I loved this dress and did not want to return it!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 26, 2013

Adorable for a great date night in NYC!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress was the perfect mix of fun and class for a date night on vacation in NYC. Fit was true to size and even accommodated my larger chest, which isn't always the case. Got many compliments on the dress and loved pairing it with a black tight. I had a great first RTR experience and look forward to using the service again soon!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Mar 29, 2013

beautiful, amazing dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
this dress was a perfect fit and so flattering. loved it.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 109 lbs
Apr 23, 2013

I felt sophisticated and beautiful in this dress. The necklace was stunning and lightweight!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to my boyfriends formal in Canada. I received compliment on the dress and the INCREDIBLE necklace all night.The dress was a bit too large; I had to wear a belt and use dress tape. While I was a bit uncomfortable with the dress at first after some adjustments, I felt beautiful! The bubble skirt was adorable and great for dancing. The dress length was perfect and very enjoyable to wear. Would recommend this dress to my friends.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
May 14, 2013

I got so many compliments on this dress. RTR is a great idea for any occasion.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The dress wasn't offered in the 10, so I got the 8 and 12. The 12 worked but I do think that the 10 may have been better. I used all of the run way tape they gave me in the kit for the back. The front fit perfectly and the length wasn't an issue. The back puckers, so be sure to have the tape for that. I would wear this dress again and recommend it for anyone. Enjoy ladies!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
May 28, 2013

Comfortable and classic dress for many occassions

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress! I was scared to rent at first because my chest is so large (34DDD) but with that said the dress fit quite well. I wore it to the Naval Academy's graduation ball, the top was a little small for me and a little lower cut than I prefer usually but neither of those things are unusual for me. With all of that said, great first rental!!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Jun 3, 2013

Cute dress, but didn't wear

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered this as a backup but ended up wearing the other dress I rented. However, this is a very cute dress. A little plain, even with the bow, so plan on accessorizing!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110 lbs
Jul 15, 2013

This dress was the perfect combination of simple but fun. I loved the cut and the bow on front!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The fit was true to size. The cut is low, so that is something to be conscious of, but the length was perfect for a mid-day or evening cocktail event.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jul 23, 2013

fit well and great for dancing!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I got tons of compliments on this dress and it was SO comfortable. It's especially good for girls with a little bit larger chest - everything stayed in place all night even though I was dancing around. The bow needed a little life so I just taped it in place with the double sided fashion tape they give you. I'm usually between a 6 and an 8 but the 6 fit perfectly.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Body type: Full Bust
Jul 24, 2013

The cutest little black dress I have ever worn! So many compliments and so comfortable!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The dress ran bigger than I expected. I generally would wear a size 6, but wore it in a 4.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132 lbs
Aug 14, 2013

No hassle, helpful staff made my rental experience amazing!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered the 4 and the 2 as my backup. While the 2 fit like a glove, it was a little tough to take a deep breath, so I figured I would be more comfortable in the 4. Like others said, the dress doesn't have any stretch or give and I wanted to be able to dance and eat without feeling uncomfortable. The 4 was definitely a bit more roomy but it still looked great. The length was appropriate, a bit higher than knee length. I paired it with a chic white blazer but any color sweater or wrap would look great as well. There were snaps on the straps to keep my bra in place but I wish there had been two or three sets because my bra straps were sometimes a little visible. I can't stand strapless bras but if you can it would probably be better to wear one. With the way the size 2 fit, I wouldn't have had to wear a bra and still have nice cleavage but it was for a wedding and didn't want to be THAT girl. Great experience with RTR, it's just so convenient and I am so the type of girl that loves having a new dress for any event so this makes it easy to do so.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Aug 18, 2013

LOVED this dress

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress fit so well and I got tons of compliments! I would rent this again in a heart beat. I got the 10 and the 8. I typically wear a 10 because of my backside but the 8 fit better.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Aug 19, 2013

Simple, classic, perfect dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was perfect and exactly what I expected! It is simple, classy and very flattering. It does run slightly big...I usually wear a 4 or a 6 but the 4 was more than perfect and very comfortable.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Aug 30, 2013

Cute and Classy!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This is probably my favorite RTR dress to date. It is also one of my first! I wore this to a formal concert/dinner ball event for our alma mater. It fit perfectly and wasn't too short. The neckline is so flattering and the straps are very comfortable. I paired it with pearls to give a bit of a Breakfast at Tiffany's vibe. I received so many comments!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 145 lbs
Sep 30, 2013

Loved the dress, it has a very flattering fit!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered this dress to wear to a September wedding. After reading other reviews I ordered a 4 instead of a 6 (my usual size), and the 4 fit perfectly. It was a little lower cut than I expected but nothing a sweater couldn't cover up in the church! I paired it with a Lee Angel necklace as well! My only complaint is that the dress looked like it had been dry cleaned one too many times but overall I wouldn't definitely recommend it.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Oct 18, 2013

Classic and easy to wear

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great for pear shape. It was comfortable and looked beautiful for my sister's graduation.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 6, 2013

I felt like Christina Hendricks!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is definitely for smaller busts. I loved the short length and the big bow. It was perfect for a night at the ballet!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Mar 10, 2014

I felt like a million bucks in this dress! I just felt like a rock star!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It is on the shorter side because it tends to poof out more than the model's picture. I would not recommend it if you are self conscience about cleavage! However it does make your bust look awesome. This dress accentuates your figure so rock it if you've got it!!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 16, 2014

Very flattering!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore a size smaller thn usual. This dress was perfect for a formal!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×