Milly

Metallic Bow Back Shift

$75 rental
$475 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This metallic Milly dress shines from the front and the back. With beautiful box detailing and tonal texturing, this dress looks great with Badgley Mischka's Art Deco Bling Cuff

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - slightly fitted at bust so consider sizing up for full bust sizes
WAIST: Not fitted - straight-cut dress is not fitted at waist
HIPS: Not fitted - shift style dress is not fitted at hips though may be fitted over full hips; consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - slightly fitted at bust so consider sizing up for full bust sizes
WAIST: Not fitted - straight-cut dress is not fitted at waist
HIPS: Not fitted - shift style dress is not fitted at hips though may be fitted over full hips; consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Ecru metallic diamond lightweight tweed. Crew neckline with bow detail on back. A-line body with side pockets. 34" from shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'10".

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

45 reviews

Fit
Small 5
True to Size 33
Large 7
Photos 12
Marlenne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 171 lbs
Aug 13, 2012

Felt super-comfy!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress!!! I received LOTS of compliments during the wedding plus I got the bouquet for the second time!!! Love the fashion taste at RTR <3
Rebecca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 131 lbs
Dec 7, 2011

I felt like I had the most original dress of the evening, and it was classic and appropriate for the work party.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The material is a tweed which made it that much more elegant. The dress was a little large, I should have ordered a size down from what I usually wear, but the dress still looked great! I wore it to a work Christmas pasrty and recieved lots of compliments! :)
Johnelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 25, 2013

Great dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wore for my office Christmas party, received a ton of compliements. Dress was very comfortable and I felt beautiful!
Hannah
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 21, 2013

The bow in the back is too cute!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I have a large bust but usually have to wear smaller sizes due to my otherwise small frame, but this dress fit tightly in the chest.
sophia
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Dec 21, 2012

The service is amazing and the dresses are awesome!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a barn wedding in late October and received tons of compliments! The fabric was perfect for a fall affair, the fit was perfect, and the bow was the icing on the cake.
Hope
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 30, 2012

Pretty Cute

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I liked this dress. Great fabric and cute details with the bow on the back. The pockets made this dress a big awkward. They would not lay flat so it made you look like you had bigger hips then you do. I thought the 6 would fit, which typically does, but I am glad I had the 8 as a backup. It looked better. All in all a cute dress....nothing I would RAVE about. My husband loved it!!!! Hate I didnt get a full length shot.
shannon
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Jul 17, 2012

wear your hair up so the bow can be seen in the back!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to a cocktail party and loved it. The fabric did surprise me its tweed but it was fine. I ordered both a size 2 and 4 but the 2 was just a bit tight .. the 4 fit perfect!!
Christina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Nov 15, 2011

The dress was perfect for attending a wedding on the east coast of Florida!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I recently rented this dress for a friend's wedding. I was happy from the start with the fit and how it looked. The picture they provide is how it really looks. The fabric was a little thicker than expected though I never got warm wearing it. In addition, I chose to accessorize it with nude pointy pumps, a gold bangle, pearl earrings, and white clutch. I received many compliments on the dress and would recommend it!
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 11, 2012

The timely delivery of the dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was my first time using RTR and I was impressed with the process! I ordered an 8 and 10 and went with the 8. The dress did look different online than when I received it in the mail, but I think I just didn't read the description! The material was thicker than I thought! Pros - photographs well! Cute back and was a complimentary fit. Cons - Shorter than I expected. I'm 5"8 and sitting down was an issue because it would ride up! Also, the zipper gave me trouble on both dresses. I wouldn't rent this dress again, but definitely rent other dresses from RTR!
Meg
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
May 12, 2014

Great NYE dress! But it does run a little big

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Colors were perfect for NYE but the dress does run a little big. The length was perfect but it was a little baggy
Katherine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 26, 2014

This was really not my color....or my cut!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I should've known that October isn't the time to try an ivory + metallic dress. Not only was this dress not my color, but the trapeze cut made me look larger in the chest and hips. Not my favorite Milly dress--although the fabric is really very pretty and I can't get over the bow in the back.
Emily
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Nov 20, 2013

It definitely made my 21st birthday a night to remember!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I really liked the fit, was nice for the cooler weather. The other comments about the pockets were right, they do stick out a tiny bit. Overall it fit true to size and the length when I sat down was still classy. Loved it!
Ali
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Body type: Athletic
Sep 22, 2013

Great dress and fast ship!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
a little short
Jemi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 9, 2013

Beautiful fabric and texture!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was so much fun to wear. The subtle gold was great for a day to night event and the pockets made my life so easy! The pockets do stick out a bit which makes the bottom look boxy, but it wasn't terrible.
Kristen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jun 10, 2013

Cute cut, not great fabric.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The fabric appears shimmery in the pictures, but in person its very dull and almost curtain-like. The cut was very cute and the back bow was adorable, but ultimately I went with another dress that was more flattering. Also, I'm a 0-2 and the 2 was definitely too large for me.
BizzyAttorney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 3, 2013

Pretty dress but...

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Pretty dress but the material is incredibly thick and heavy for a hot summery type of day. I ordered this dress but ended up wearing my back-up because I was not impressed with the material. Also, the gold threads in the material was pulling out in some places. For the price, I didn't think the dress was in great condition.
Lynn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112 lbs
May 22, 2013

Very cute dress and beautiful color!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress! It was adorable and the goldish material was really nice. Beware, it's SHORT! I'm only 5'4" and it was almost too short to wear heels with it. However, I just wore lower heels and felt very comfortable. It's also a little more fitted in the hips so if you're pear shaped, then size up.
Kristen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
May 11, 2013

LOVED IT! And.....It has pockets!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was paranoid and ended up ordering this in several sizes. I had read other reviews that said it was snug in the hips. It is....but not so much that I needed to go up an entire size. The fabric is thicker, but I wore it in Arizona outside and I felt fine. I got this http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B001EOINXC/ref=oh_details_o02_s00_i00?ie=UTF8&psc=1 to accessorize....cheap and surprisingly nice. The gold was very nice and it went well with the dress.
Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155 lbs
Jan 2, 2013

I actually ended up wearing the other dress I rented, but this one was adorable!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Impossible to zip without assistance
Tania
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 189 lbs
Dec 19, 2012

It's a beautiful dress and comfortable. My event was a success with this outfit.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
this dress does run small, I usually wear an 8 but this was not the case here. the 8 got stuck at my hips. the 12 was a much better fit and comfortable. Very happy with my pick
JOIE0628
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 90 lbs
Dec 7, 2012

Perfect for my bridal shower!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I am on the petite side and typically wear a 00 or a 0. This dress was a very cute fit! It was perfect (almost a little snug) under the arms, but there was definitely no puckering of fabric or gaps in the arm openings which was nice. The dress hit me about 2-3 inches above my knees and looked great with some nude pumps. Warning: This dress is made out of a textured WOOL fabric so it's a little itchy even though it's lined and definitely is a cool weather dress, not a spring/summer dress! The hidden slit pockets were a great addition too :)
CFree
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 12, 2012

The dress was beautiful

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
but it was too loose in the chest for me to wear
lisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 14, 2012

It's short and sassy but the gold makes it glam.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Everyone commented on my dress. It was so different than anything else others were wearing. I wore sliver and gold heels with it and did a cat-eye for a 60's vibe. It's sexy but not overtly - and because it's not tight through the waist, you can eat! Your legs will look loooooong. I wore the size 4 - the 6 was a bit too roomy - and 4 is my normal size. But those with larger chests might want to order a larger size for back-up.
Alyson
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 27, 2012

Just OK

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this for New Years eve and it was fine but will probably never rent again. The color is a really pretty cream and gold but the fabric is thick, I mean like upholster your couch with it thick, so it wont show off your body at all. If you want something to hide under its a great choice, otherwise don't do it.
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 20, 2012

Awesome dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress fits true to size and was exactly as I was hoping. I wore it for a New Years Eve cocktail party and it was perfect...lots of compliments. Great color for darker skin/hair.
MMSP
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Apple
Aug 16, 2012

Need to read

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved the dress and got lots of compliments. The only thing, was I did not read carefully and notice it is WOOL. South Mississippi, summer and wool are not a good combination. Good thing the wedding was inside!
Annie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Body type: Apple
Jun 25, 2012

Cannot wait to rent again!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was so cute! It was very reminiscent of the 1970’s yet very modern! I had been eyeing this dress for a while but didn’t have anywhere to wear it so when I finally had an occasion I jumped at the opportunity! I wore it in the summer to Atlantic City, which one probably wouldn’t pick this dress for but it turned out to be great! I could also see it being easily dressed down though. The fabric was definitely thicker than I was expecting but wasn’t a problem in the long run. It is lose in all of the right places but still flattered my figure. I highly recommend this dress for just about any occasion!
Cara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
May 6, 2012

Rented for a Bridal Tea

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to my Bridal Tea and it was perfect! The gold shimmered beautifully. I received many compliments and felt darling all day long! I especially loved the precious bow on the back.
Jill
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 133 lbs
Apr 11, 2012

Meh!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
On me this was a little tight in the hips and baggy/pouchy in the stomach... not so flattering, so I didn't end up wearing it. I am sure it would be cute on someone who can pull off the more shapeless/sack dress look... Unfortunately I couldn't!
Lauren
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 11, 2012

Didn't get to wear it

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
I rented this dress for NYE, but unfortunately was unable to wear it. I usually wear a 4 or a 6, so I ordered both and neither fit. It was quite tight around the hips. However, if I would have sized up any more, it would have fit like a sack. Not really for an hour glass shaped girl.
CK
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 110 lbs
Nov 29, 2011

Cute and classy

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Vacation
This dress is beautiful. The fit is easy so you can eat/drink and not worry about a tummy bulge. The fabric is gorgeous, rich gold thread. It can easily be dressed up or down - could work with Jack Rogers flats or strappy stilletoes. A great dress.
Rebekah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 14, 2011

LOVE IT!!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress!! Looks great with gold jewelry and tan pumps!
mrsavcm
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148 lbs
Oct 3, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress is cute and very comfy! I am almost 5'5" and about 135 lbs. I ordered a size 8 and it was perfect. I ended up wearing the Halston Heritage Day and Night dress just because it was more figure-flattering.
Jenna
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
Aug 25, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
At first I was unsure about this dress. But then I put some hot tan shoes on and some gold jewelry and I was looking hot! Everyone loved the dress and I felt great. The dress is true to size so I would recommend getting your size and one size bigger.
Holly
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Body type: Straight & narrow
Dec 1, 2010

Overall fit: Large
was ok... fits a little like a sac. i would order a size down if i could do it again. also you have to be tan to look good in this color. not that fancy because the metallic is thread woven into a cream fabric, the entire fabric isnt a metallic.
that girl
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Nov 11, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
Loved this dress and got lots of compliments. I have a D cup and not much waist, and this dress was comfortable and very flattering.
Kathy
Height: 4' 6"
Age: 44
Body type: Petite
Nov 8, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
I rented this dress for my 40th bday party and it was Fabulous!! Everyone loved it and it was so much better than wearing the typical little black dress that people expected. I work gold chandelier earrings and gold strappy shoes. I'm 5'3" and it it hit me just a little below mid-thigh.... maybe 5" above my knees. Loved the dress and love this service!
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Oct 28, 2010

Overall fit: Large
This dress is super cute! It runs a little big. I usually wear a 4 and could have worn the 4 in this dress, but the 2 was a little more flattering. It wasn't too short if standing but sitting was more of a challenge. I wore it to a wedding, though, and it was perfect.
AWS
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Body type: Apple
Oct 16, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
I wore the dress to a cocktail party and agree with previous reviews. The pockets hit in a really odd spot so it's a bit unflattering in the hip area. I used double stick tape to keep them flat, and it helped a little.
Lili
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 12, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress runs true to size and is typical of the Milly fit. The material looks really rich and I think the tweed can be worn through all the winter months!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×