Milly

Magnolia Lace Dress

$42 to buy
$560 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Have a bridal shower to attend? Or baby shower? Rent this feminine lace dress by Milly. A cute and easy choice for a girls afternoon of fun. Throw in some glitz with the Tom Binns Crystal Ellis Glamour Necklace and the Judith Leiber Gimme a Beat Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for B cup sizes and bigger - bust runs slightly large
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout bodice - waist band, bow, and full skirt conceal lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt is not fitted on hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra with fashion tape or with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black cotton with floral lace(50% cotton; 50% acyrlic). Scoop neckline. Scoop back. Large bow at true waist. Scalloped hem. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 37'' from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share
53 reviews
Fit
Large
(14)
True to Size
(30)
Small
(9)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 4, 2011
Dress was great --
Wore this dress to my Holiday party - I'm 5"2 and it fit beautifully - loved the back and the puffy skirt - would recommend it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
December 7, 2011
Great dress
I loved the dress - it was my second choice of the two I got but it ended up working perfectly. I wore it for a sorority formal - It was super classy and everyone said it was perfect for christmas time. I normally wear a 4 but sized up because I know Milly tends to run a bit small - I Would suggest sizing up as the 6 fit perfectly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 20, 2011
So many compliments!
I wore this to a wedding reception and was absolutely thrilled with the look! This dress was much cuter on with tights and jewelry and I got so many compliments. My date wore a tux and we looked great in black and white. I would reccomend this dress every day of the week and twice on Sunday!
CaraNovember 26, 2012
Love your necklace, where did you get it?
CaraDecember 16, 2012
Yard sale :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 1, 2012
Felt amazing in this dress! Fun little party dress!!
I wore this dress for New Years Eve. It was my first time renting too!! I thought it fit well the 2 fit but was tight around the rib cage so opted to wear the bigger size. I have no boobs so the tape that they sent with the dress was very useful. The bottom of the dress was made of a heavy lace material and I really liked that it looked vintage. Overall this was a cute dress only thing I wasn't crazy about was the bow in the front. Will be renting from Rent the Runway again.!!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
January 5, 2012
Didn't blow me away
I had lots of issues with this dress. The fabric combination I found odd.. very heavy on the bottom. But more than that, I couldn't wear this dress. I ordered my normal sizes of an 8 and 10, but even the 8 was huge on me. (I would suggest ordering the dress to fit in the natural waist. I have a size 4-6 waist, but 8-10 in the hips) The dress was also extremely short, which I would have rectified by wearing black tights had the dress fit. (I rented this for a family evening at the theatre, if it's for a date or party, the length may not matter to you.)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
January 5, 2012
Wore for NYE.
I really liked this dress - but it looks better in the picture than in person. The dress runs large so buy a size or two down. Mine was bigger in the top than anything, but I wear a 34B usually so if you are bigger on top then you should be fine.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 9, 2012
getting all dolled up for New Years Eve with a fabulous dress!
This dress was so pretty! The skirt material was thick & heavy, so it was definitely high quality. The top had piping on the sides and back providing it with structure--- no stretch! I was a bit unhappy with how the dress hung on me though. I'm pretty tiny, but I thought the dress was going to be a bit tighter from the previous reviews. I wore it anyways and received a ton of compliments! It was definitely a different approach to NYE than the traditional sequins mini, but I wanted something classy for the occasion. I paired it with black peep-toe pumps, diamond studs, bracelet, and dainty necklace to keep the look simple. My recommendation for girls renting this dress would be to get your usual size and a size down to be on the safe side! :) i love RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
January 12, 2012
cream and black, not white
I wore this to a pretty formal new years eve event. I ended up wearing the smaller size of the two that i rented because i felt like the skirt looked bulkier on the larger size (and I did not want to look bigger!). The only thing I wasn't crazy about was that online, the skirt looks black and white but in reality, its actually a dark cream color. I switched my jewelery so it worked out but It would have been good to know! Also, I didn't love the floppy bow - to fix it I used a couple of strips of the fashion tape that RTR sent with the dress and pulled them up a little straighter. Overall, a great rental!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
January 19, 2012
Fabulous Party Dress
This is the perfect dress to wear to a work holiday party. Festive and fun, without feeling too overdressed.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
April 16, 2012
lovely dress
This was a backup rental I didn't end up wearing, but it is really cute. I normally wear a 2 in Ann Taylor or Loft and this was a PERFECT fit for me. I did feel as though it were fairly high-waisted, which gave it a bit of a childish feel. The skirt is beautiful, but it is a HEAVY lace making this dress probably more suitable for late fall through early spring.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 112lbs
April 30, 2012
Loved it!
I rented this dress for a wedding and it was perfect. I am typically a 0 or 2 for dresses. I wore a 0 and it fit great. I got compliments all night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
July 3, 2012
Wearing such a great dress made me feel very confident attending a wedding where I knew I'd see lots of good friends, and of course, I want to look my best when I see them! This RTR allowed me to do just that.
Wore this to an outdoor wedding. Was surprised when I tried on the dress to find that it has a bit of tulle under the skirt to give it some shape. The dress came in perfect condition. Only issue was that the sleeves were a bit large, which I think caused it to hang a bit lower on my chest than I would have preferred. Wish I would've ordered one of the styling emergency fix kits to temporarily shorten the straps. Otherwise, very comfortable and happy with the fit, length (about 2 inches above the knee, not as short as pictured).
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
August 29, 2012
I wore this dress as a guest to a wedding and it was just perfect. I really was worried as this was my first time renting but it really was a great experience! Typically I wear a size 4 as I am petite and curvy but in this dress I had to go with the second size I ordered ( a size 2) I would definitely recommend that you size down if you get a second backup size as it seems to run big. It was comfortable and I was really pleased as I never felt uncomfortable at any point of wearing this dress. Its adorable and different I would recommend this dress and RTR to anyone.
I wore this dress as a guest to a wedding and it was just perfect. I really was worried as this was my first time renting but it really was a great experience! Typically I wear a size 4 as I am petite and curvy but in this dress r I had to go with the second size I ordered ( a size 2) I would definitely recommend that you size down if you get a second backup size as it seems to run big. It was comfortable and I was really pleased as I never felt uncomfortable at any point of wearing this dress. Its adorable and different I would recommend this dress and RTR to anyone.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
January 9, 2012
Perfect party dress!
Wore this for a Christmas party. Absolutely loved it (especially the full skirt) and got tons of compliments! Runs a little small in the top though.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 38
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 23, 2011
Holiday Party
I didn't end up wearing this, went with dress choice 2 but it fit true to size. Very cute!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 19, 2012
Precious dress!! I wore it for a rehearsal dinner and got compliments all night!
Looks great on an hourglass figure!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 112lbs
September 24, 2012
Simple, classy and beautiful!
I would rent a size smaller, the 2 was a little loose on me. But comfy and great fit, a little long if you're short. Wore it for a rehearsal dinner and got so many compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
September 24, 2012
Liked but not Loved
I liked the dress, but I have a short torso, so the fit wasn't as flattering for my body. It's definitely a beautiful dress and has high quality details, but it's a bit on the younger side. Overall good but not a show stopper.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117lbs
September 27, 2012
I love this dress!
The size 4 is in tough shape. It's discolored and just worn looking. The size 2 was a little tight but worth the being uncomfortable to look fab.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
October 4, 2012
I wore this for my sorority's first social of the semester and was very satisfied with the rental!
The fit was true to size. The chest area fit me just right, however if you have a larger chest I would recommend going up a size as the top was a bit more snug than I had expected.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
October 10, 2012
tons of compliments
Beautiful dress. Fit very true to size. Was really flaterring and comfy, I got tons of compliments on it all night!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 175lbs
October 14, 2012
Great, adorable preppy dress!!
Great dress! Received tons of compliments. I am 5'11 and normally wear a 10; however, the 8 fit much better as the 10 was too large. Only complaint was that the dress was a bit short on me being so tall, so I paired it with tights and it was perfect. Great dress!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
November 13, 2012
Bummed
I dropped the ball by having the dress delivered day of event. I'm 4 months pregnant and should have ordered the next size up, not size down. I didnt put into my size decision my new and ever growing chest or my growing tummy. I didn't get to wear it :( however if I knew I wasn't going to eat at this wedding the dress would have been perfect. But after the first bite I think the zipper would have shot across the dance floor. It is a bump friendly dress, and would reccommend it for renting, just give yourself time to try it on before the event.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 30, 2012
Pretty dress for a faculty dinner!
Wore this for a nice faculty dinner and a formal event afterwards. It definitely fit in at both, I just wore a cardigan over it to dress it down. I didn't think the cut of the dress was all that great, though. I'm an hourglass shape and normally things that hit at the waist look very nice on me, but this didn't hit at the right spot and made me look a little big. Also, the arm holes were small and were cutting into me all evening.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 132lbs
December 14, 2012
Fun dress - perfect for a holiday cocktail party!
Loved this Milly dress - I picked it because I am short, and Milly dresses are usually on the shorter end, so I wouldn't worry about the hemline being too long. I got a ton of compliments, and I found the dress comfortable but still fun and fabulous, Would definitely recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Body type: Apple
December 19, 2012
Cute
I rented this dress for a wedding. I thought it was very cute but not really super special in the way I had hoped (I also forgot to take a picture!). I found that the top part ran a bit small since the boning in the bodice was very stiff - so I sized up. Overall, very cute but not my favorite RTR dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
December 20, 2012
Cute Party Dress
I rented this as a backup dress for my holiday party, but ended up wearing the other one I rented. It was a tough choice, as both were beautiful. The material is nice quality/heavy and the dress is well-constructed. The one downfall is the bow didn't stay in place well, as it would have if it were brand new. I would still recommend this dress. Runs large - the 4 fit me perfect and I'm usually closer to a 6.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
December 27, 2012
Absolutely Adorable!
I really really loved this dress. It was super cute, not overly dressy, feminine, and very me. I wish I had gotten a picture in it! It fit true to size and made my small bust line push up and look great. I was really thrilled with it. The only reason I'm not giving it 5 stars is because the flowers were really much more off white than white. It wasn't exactly what I expected and almost made it look a little dingy to me compared to the bright white that seems to be reflected in the pictures.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 1, 2013
The dress was adorable and I got so many compliments!
It was a little large in the bust area for me and slightly longer than I expected. I could wear a normal (push-up) bra with it though and was very comfortable!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 129lbs
January 2, 2013
Great dress for a company holiday dinner!
Top is tight- size up if you have any bust. The bottom half of the dress looked a tinge.. tinged.. like it could be more white but I'm sure no one thought that but me. It was length appropriate for a company dinner but short enough not to feel old and stodgy. Overall I thought it was super cute as it really gave my waist definition. My bf thought it was really cute :)
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
January 3, 2013
Adorable dress
Adorable party dress, a bit tight at the bust, but fits like a glove. The lace on the bottom was looking a bit warn in the size 8 though.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
March 1, 2013
Great Dress!
This was sent to me because my back up dress wasn't available. I loved it! It looks better in person than in the picture. Got lots of greta compliments and was very comfortable all night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
March 6, 2013
Wore this for our traditional Santa pic. Was perfect classic cut.
Bit conservative for a party, but perfect for a holiday with your family.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
May 3, 2013
Tons of people commented on my dress! I had 2 events in 1 night and the dress was a hit!
The only con was that I was pale and it was cold, so I wore a jacket over it. But I think it is a pretty dress! I usually wear a 10/12 and the 10 fit perfectly.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
May 20, 2013
loved the dress, if you're busty...go up a size! xo
the dress was a great for a holiday party and fit well ...i unfortunately am pretty busty so I would suggest going up a size so you're not popping out of this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 26
Body type: Athletic
May 30, 2013
Beautiful dress, perfect for semi-formal events.
Great fit, no complaints.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
June 10, 2013
This dress was spunky and fun!
The model makes the dress look shorter cut due to her height. On me, the dress fell just above my knees.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
July 11, 2013
Slightly worn at the bottom
This dress was my backup and I ended up wearing it for NYE 2012 and it was slightly tighter than what in used to but made my boobs look great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 26, 2013
Wore for a rehearsal dinner - great dress
flattering cut
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 60
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
December 25, 2013
Great fun dress!
Loved this dress! The material was heavier but very comfortable. The only problem I had was that the top was fairly low and I had to wear a black tank underneath. The size 6 fit me in the waist but the top was a little bit larger than I would have liked. Still a great dress. Wore it with a little black sweater, black tights and short black boots and received lots of compliments!
See more reviews:
1 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×