Rent the Runway

Milly

Magnolia Lace Dress

$42 rental
$560 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Have a bridal shower to attend? Or baby shower? Rent this feminine lace dress by Milly. A cute and easy choice for a girls afternoon of fun. Throw in some glitz with the Tom Binns Crystal Ellis Glamour Necklace and the Judith Leiber Gimme a Beat Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for B cup sizes and bigger - bust runs slightly large
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout bodice - waist band, bow, and full skirt conceal lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt is not fitted on hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra with fashion tape or with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for B cup sizes and bigger - bust runs slightly large
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout bodice - waist band, bow, and full skirt conceal lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt is not fitted on hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra with fashion tape or with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black cotton with floral lace(50% cotton; 50% acyrlic). Scoop neckline. Scoop back. Large bow at true waist. Scalloped hem. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 37'' from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

53 reviews

Fit
Small 9
True to Size 30
Large 14
Photos 22
Cara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 20, 2011

So many compliments!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to a wedding reception and was absolutely thrilled with the look! This dress was much cuter on with tights and jewelry and I got so many compliments. My date wore a tux and we looked great in black and white. I would reccomend this dress every day of the week and twice on Sunday!
Bethany
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 1, 2012

Felt amazing in this dress! Fun little party dress!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for New Years Eve. It was my first time renting too!! I thought it fit well the 2 fit but was tight around the rib cage so opted to wear the bigger size. I have no boobs so the tape that they sent with the dress was very useful. The bottom of the dress was made of a heavy lace material and I really liked that it looked vintage. Overall this was a cute dress only thing I wasn't crazy about was the bow in the front. Will be renting from Rent the Runway again.!!!!
Brooke
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jan 9, 2012

getting all dolled up for New Years Eve with a fabulous dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This dress was so pretty! The skirt material was thick & heavy, so it was definitely high quality. The top had piping on the sides and back providing it with structure--- no stretch! I was a bit unhappy with how the dress hung on me though. I'm pretty tiny, but I thought the dress was going to be a bit tighter from the previous reviews. I wore it anyways and received a ton of compliments! It was definitely a different approach to NYE than the traditional sequins mini, but I wanted something classy for the occasion. I paired it with black peep-toe pumps, diamond studs, bracelet, and dainty necklace to keep the look simple. My recommendation for girls renting this dress would be to get your usual size and a size down to be on the safe side! :) i love RTR!
Caitlyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 9, 2012

Perfect party dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Wore this for a Christmas party. Absolutely loved it (especially the full skirt) and got tons of compliments! Runs a little small in the top though.
Samantha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jul 3, 2012

Wearing such a great dress made me feel very confident attending a wedding where I knew I'd see lots of good friends, and of course, I want to look my best when I see them! This RTR allowed me to do just that.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this to an outdoor wedding. Was surprised when I tried on the dress to find that it has a bit of tulle under the skirt to give it some shape. The dress came in perfect condition. Only issue was that the sleeves were a bit large, which I think caused it to hang a bit lower on my chest than I would have preferred. Wish I would've ordered one of the styling emergency fix kits to temporarily shorten the straps. Otherwise, very comfortable and happy with the fit, length (about 2 inches above the knee, not as short as pictured).
Shannon
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Jul 20, 2012

It was an easy return experience. The dress was cute, and I really like how you get 2 sizes to try on. Fun wearing a designer dress and getting lots of compliments.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The bow on the dress was flopping down on the left side, which was a negative. Overall it was a cute dress and I got quite a few compliments on it. One thing is that it runs large in the chest area. I felt that I had a lot of room to fill up in the chest, but it wasn't too noticeable. It would have been better if it was a little tighter all over. But fun to wear and very cute!
meg
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Aug 29, 2012

I wore this dress as a guest to a wedding and it was just perfect. I really was worried as this was my first time renting but it really was a great experience! Typically I wear a size 4 as I am petite and curvy but in this dress I had to go with the second size I ordered ( a size 2) I would definitely recommend that you size down if you get a second backup size as it seems to run big. It was comfortable and I was really pleased as I never felt uncomfortable at any point of wearing this dress. Its adorable and different I would recommend this dress and RTR to anyone.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress as a guest to a wedding and it was just perfect. I really was worried as this was my first time renting but it really was a great experience! Typically I wear a size 4 as I am petite and curvy but in this dress r I had to go with the second size I ordered ( a size 2) I would definitely recommend that you size down if you get a second backup size as it seems to run big. It was comfortable and I was really pleased as I never felt uncomfortable at any point of wearing this dress. Its adorable and different I would recommend this dress and RTR to anyone.
Danyel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 112 lbs
Sep 24, 2012

Simple, classy and beautiful!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I would rent a size smaller, the 2 was a little loose on me. But comfy and great fit, a little long if you're short. Wore it for a rehearsal dinner and got so many compliments!
paula
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Sep 24, 2012

Liked but not Loved

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I liked the dress, but I have a short torso, so the fit wasn't as flattering for my body. It's definitely a beautiful dress and has high quality details, but it's a bit on the younger side. Overall good but not a show stopper.
Kimberly
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117 lbs
Sep 27, 2012

I love this dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The size 4 is in tough shape. It's discolored and just worn looking. The size 2 was a little tight but worth the being uncomfortable to look fab.
Cassie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 4, 2012

I wore this for my sorority's first social of the semester and was very satisfied with the rental!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The fit was true to size. The chest area fit me just right, however if you have a larger chest I would recommend going up a size as the top was a bit more snug than I had expected.
alison
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Oct 10, 2012

tons of compliments

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Beautiful dress. Fit very true to size. Was really flaterring and comfy, I got tons of compliments on it all night!
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 175 lbs
Oct 14, 2012

Great, adorable preppy dress!!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Great dress! Received tons of compliments. I am 5'11 and normally wear a 10; however, the 8 fit much better as the 10 was too large. Only complaint was that the dress was a bit short on me being so tall, so I paired it with tights and it was perfect. Great dress!
Ondine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Nov 7, 2012

Very pretty-runs large

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This is a very pretty dress-runs very large though! I would recommend going down a size or even two sizes for a good fit. Loved the details....an all-around classic dress.
Marissa
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Nov 13, 2012

Bummed

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I dropped the ball by having the dress delivered day of event. I'm 4 months pregnant and should have ordered the next size up, not size down. I didnt put into my size decision my new and ever growing chest or my growing tummy. I didn't get to wear it :( however if I knew I wasn't going to eat at this wedding the dress would have been perfect. But after the first bite I think the zipper would have shot across the dance floor. It is a bump friendly dress, and would reccommend it for renting, just give yourself time to try it on before the event.
Ruth
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 30, 2012

Pretty dress for a faculty dinner!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Wore this for a nice faculty dinner and a formal event afterwards. It definitely fit in at both, I just wore a cardigan over it to dress it down. I didn't think the cut of the dress was all that great, though. I'm an hourglass shape and normally things that hit at the waist look very nice on me, but this didn't hit at the right spot and made me look a little big. Also, the arm holes were small and were cutting into me all evening.
Grace
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 132 lbs
Dec 14, 2012

Fun dress - perfect for a holiday cocktail party!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved this Milly dress - I picked it because I am short, and Milly dresses are usually on the shorter end, so I wouldn't worry about the hemline being too long. I got a ton of compliments, and I found the dress comfortable but still fun and fabulous, Would definitely recommend!
Lisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Body type: Apple
Dec 19, 2012

Cute

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a wedding. I thought it was very cute but not really super special in the way I had hoped (I also forgot to take a picture!). I found that the top part ran a bit small since the boning in the bodice was very stiff - so I sized up. Overall, very cute but not my favorite RTR dress.
Keri
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Dec 20, 2012

Cute Party Dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I rented this as a backup dress for my holiday party, but ended up wearing the other one I rented. It was a tough choice, as both were beautiful. The material is nice quality/heavy and the dress is well-constructed. The one downfall is the bow didn't stay in place well, as it would have if it were brand new. I would still recommend this dress. Runs large - the 4 fit me perfect and I'm usually closer to a 6.
Martha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 27, 2012

Absolutely Adorable!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I really really loved this dress. It was super cute, not overly dressy, feminine, and very me. I wish I had gotten a picture in it! It fit true to size and made my small bust line push up and look great. I was really thrilled with it. The only reason I'm not giving it 5 stars is because the flowers were really much more off white than white. It wasn't exactly what I expected and almost made it look a little dingy to me compared to the bright white that seems to be reflected in the pictures.
Suzanne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jan 1, 2013

The dress was adorable and I got so many compliments!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was a little large in the bust area for me and slightly longer than I expected. I could wear a normal (push-up) bra with it though and was very comfortable!
Rebekah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170 lbs
Jan 2, 2013

Great dress for a company holiday dinner!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Top is tight- size up if you have any bust. The bottom half of the dress looked a tinge.. tinged.. like it could be more white but I'm sure no one thought that but me. It was length appropriate for a company dinner but short enough not to feel old and stodgy. Overall I thought it was super cute as it really gave my waist definition. My bf thought it was really cute :)
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Jan 3, 2013

Adorable dress

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Adorable party dress, a bit tight at the bust, but fits like a glove. The lace on the bottom was looking a bit warn in the size 8 though.
jessica
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Mar 1, 2013

Great Dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was sent to me because my back up dress wasn't available. I loved it! It looks better in person than in the picture. Got lots of greta compliments and was very comfortable all night!
meaghan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 6, 2013

Wore this for our traditional Santa pic. Was perfect classic cut.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Bit conservative for a party, but perfect for a holiday with your family.
Alex
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
May 3, 2013

Tons of people commented on my dress! I had 2 events in 1 night and the dress was a hit!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The only con was that I was pale and it was cold, so I wore a jacket over it. But I think it is a pretty dress! I usually wear a 10/12 and the 10 fit perfectly.
Bridget
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117 lbs
May 20, 2013

loved the dress, if you're busty...go up a size! xo

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
the dress was a great for a holiday party and fit well ...i unfortunately am pretty busty so I would suggest going up a size so you're not popping out of this dress!
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 23
Body type: Athletic
May 30, 2013

Beautiful dress, perfect for semi-formal events.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great fit, no complaints.
Amanda
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Jun 10, 2013

This dress was spunky and fun!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The model makes the dress look shorter cut due to her height. On me, the dress fell just above my knees.
paula
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Jul 11, 2013

Slightly worn at the bottom

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress was my backup and I ended up wearing it for NYE 2012 and it was slightly tighter than what in used to but made my boobs look great.
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Oct 17, 2013

Amazing dress that takes the traditional LBD and kicks is up a notch!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Great fit and the bow on the waist creates a great shape!
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 26, 2013

Wore for a rehearsal dinner - great dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
flattering cut
Gail
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 58
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116 lbs
Dec 25, 2013

Great fun dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved this dress! The material was heavier but very comfortable. The only problem I had was that the top was fairly low and I had to wear a black tank underneath. The size 6 fit me in the waist but the top was a little bit larger than I would have liked. Still a great dress. Wore it with a little black sweater, black tights and short black boots and received lots of compliments!
TXHolly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160 lbs
Jan 2, 2014

Cute Take on the LBD

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I wore this to a Christmas cocktail party and I loved the becoming neckline and bow at the waist. Milly designs are always fun and feminine adn this is no exception. I thought the material was a little heavy and the almost crochet look and feel to the skirt made it seem like it might look old and frumpy on. So far from the truth! It's youthful and becoming on my middle-age pear shape. Milly styles are also slightly small, so this did feel a trifle little in the bust and wasit, but not enough to be uncomfortable. Renters, pay particular attention to the reviews and your own measurements. If I were just a few inches larger, this dress wuold never have fit. I loved the length on my short frame and it was super pretty and comfortable. Highly recommend!
Mallory
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 17, 2014

bow and lace

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
this dress is fabulous! i wore the size 4, which runs a little bit tight only because there is no stretch the fabric across the bust and back. i wasnt able to wear a bra without looking too tight, so i went without and was fine. I have fuller hips and booty which wasnt a problem with this dress because there is plenty of room without being too much fabric. loved- wish i still had it!
Christine
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 24, 2014

The dress was a hit at my company Christmas party!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress fit really well and was true to size! The length was perfect!
bridget
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 1, 2014

The dress looked great! A really nice quality fabric.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was great to be able to wear a bra with a dress too.
adrianne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 21, 2014

Detail on dress unbelievable, material top quality. Looks like a piece Audrey Hepburn would wear!

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The 8 was too small up top, you can't see in the picture but it didn't zip all the way up. The skirt and waist for fine. I didn't end up wearing it, just tried it on to review. This dress would be great to have as a word robe staple. Length was great!
Lindsay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112 lbs
May 27, 2014

Cute dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress fit well and was cute. I didn't end up wearing it, but overall it was adorable.
Brooke
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Dec 19, 2014

I wore this to a wedding and loved the flirty easy shape.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress is really easy to wear and so fun for dancing. Very bra friendly and loved the fabric!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×