Milly

Lucky Clover Dress

$101 to buy
$560 retail
Stylist Notes

Have a mad crush on this Milly orange party girl dress. Flirty and fun for that bridal luncheon or summer picnic.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust area
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at midsection and includes an adjustable belt
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee to tea length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Orange Italian clover filcoupe(86% cotton;14% nylon). Strapless neckline. Full skirt. Belted waist. Button and tab detail at back. Hidden back zip. 41'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
90 reviews
Fit
Large
(12)
True to Size
(57)
Small
(15)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
September 13, 2012
Loved it!

Wore it to a backyard wedding in August and could not have been happier. Great color and so comfortable. Great skirt to dance in! Super fun!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
September 17, 2012
A Total Hit!

This dress was a hit at a summer wedding I attended! It was perfect for me - the strapless neckline worked just fine up top, and with the wide, flowing skirt I didn't feel constricted at all on bottom (as I'm curvy), and danced the night away. The pockets were definitely a plus, no need to bring a purse. My boyfriend loved it, too. I'm still getting compliments on it, 2 months later!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
November 5, 2012
Great dress, got so many compliments! Perfect for an afternoon wedding!

Fit true to size. Top half fit well on the body so I didn't have to adjust as often as I thought due to it being strapless. Very easy to move and perfect for dancing!

RTR CustomerNovember 5, 2012
so it didnt fall down or slip? im thinking of adding straps, woul dthat look bad?
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124lbs
November 16, 2012
Mad Men madness

Dress fits as described. Debated for a while between the zero and two but the two had a little more room in the bust. Perfect dress for the Mad Men themed birthday party I attended. Very comfortable dress and I didn't find mysel doing the strapless dress pull-up all night. Sat in place well. Fun, flirty and great color.

View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
November 24, 2012
Wore the dress for a beach wedding in Mexico. The color, style and fit were super flattering.

Loved, loved loved this dress and it was an incredibly great first experience with Rent the Runway. I had a wedding date in Cancun and wanted to wear a piece that stood out, but not in a revealing, exhibitionist way. This dress was long enough to be classy, with the right amount of swoosh for great dancing at the reception and the color is to DIE for. The picture, taken right at sunset in Isla Mujera, says it all. My only gripe is the chest section - it was bunchy. While it stood up well when standing, it crumbled on itself whenever I sat down, and while I'm small-chested, I'm not THAT small-chested for a size 0/2. Overall, great dress, great experience. Thanks Rent the Runway!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
August 16, 2012
chic and modest summer dress

loved it, received many compliments all night long!

Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
March 27, 2013
Cute and casual

I ordered the dress for a rehearsal dinner. It is great for a more casual event like that or a bridal/baby shower. I was worried that it would look cheap, but it looks cute and casual. It was a little to loose for me to feel comfortable and just looked to have been rented a time or two. I ended up wearing something in my closet.

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142lbs
April 5, 2013
Loved loved loved the dress. All around, the dress was a hit.

I wore this dress to a wedding shower hosted outside in a beautiful garden. This dress was absolutely spectacular, and I received tons of compliments. I wore cute wedges with the dress for the occasion, but the dress could easily be dressed up for an evening function. I loved that I never needed to pull up the dress (a pet peeve of mine with strapless dresses), it truly fit perfectly. Even for those of us girls that are a little more busty, the dress is designed so that the "girls" will not fall out. The dress came with a belt which I thought was a great accessory and the fuller skirt was fun .

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
April 7, 2013
Compliments all night!

I loved this dress! I rented this for a friend's wedding, and it was a big hit. The fabric is a little heavy, so I wouldn't recommend wearing this on a really warm day. It was very fitted at the top, which was fine for me because my chest is small. If you are bigger-chested, definitely go a size up. The photo on the web page is a little misleading for the length. I am REALLY leggy, and this dress hit me right at the knees. Don't worry about it being too short. It won't be. Goes great with turquoise accessories. :)

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
April 29, 2013
My husband told me I looked delicious.

This is an adorable dress with a slightly retro feel. It could be dressed up or down....I wanted to feel beautiful but didn't want to make too much of a statement so I kept jewelry to a minimum wearing only a pair of gold drop earrings. This was my back-up look so I only got it in one size. Luckily for me, the 8 fit like a glove and after trying on my 2 dresses, the decision of which to wear was easy. This dress is special enough to make you feel WOWZA but simple enough that people won't stare all night.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
May 12, 2013
Fun dress!

I rented this dress for a semi-formal wedding and it was perfect. The color is bright and fun and I loved the flow-y skirt of the dress. I received many compliments on the dress and would definitely recommend it, although it was a bit long on me.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
June 4, 2013
Compliments all day long. Perfect race dress

The button popped. I am larger chested and thought I could pull it off. I didn't want to have to wear the 8 and keep tugging it up. Well I should've done that, bc not 10 in the races the button popped after someone hugged me. So I ended up tugging at it all day long regardless.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
June 6, 2013
Cute dress, but too casual for a wedding

I rented this dress for a friend's outdoor wedding in Lake George, but didn't end up wearing it. It looks a bit more formal in the photo than it does in person. It's a cute sundress, but I'd only wear it to a shower or outdoor party.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 109lbs
July 30, 2013
Stood out in a sea of black cocktail dresses

I loved this dress. I wish I could purchase. It was comfortable and stylish! I received so many compliments.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
August 6, 2013
Gorgeous, stand-out color!

This dress definitely worked well for a somewhat-chilly mid-April wedding in Wisconsin. The fabric has many layers so it kept me really warm even though it is strapless. The color is gorgeous and vibrant and the size 6 fit me perfectly. (I usually wear a 6 or medium in dresses and a 6 or 8 in pants.) The thick fabric was also nice because it allowed me to go bra-less (though larger-chested girls may still want to wear a bra). The belt is a nice accent, but it kept slipping open, almost completely coming un-done! There are no holes to keep it fastened, so even though it wasn't skin-tight or anything, it still kept trying to slip open. So, I had to constantly be aware of it and fix it on occasion throughout the night. Other than that one issue, this dress was a fantastic rental!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
September 2, 2013
Perfect for a summer wedding!

I loved this dress! The only issues I had with it was having to use tape to hold up the front and back...and the belt sort of stayed tight with tape, but I was messing with it all night. Not the most comfortable, but overall I was happy with it.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
September 23, 2013
Great color and great skirt to spin in! Compliments all night long!

Fit true to other Milly gowns - great color and great gown for daytime wedding in Newport. Only con was that it was a little stretched out at the top & a bit "shop-worn" - but no one other than me noticed. Great dress all in all.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
September 26, 2013
This dress is just perfect!!

Wore to a casual type wedding in September. I got so many compliments on the dress all night and I felt amazing in it. My boyfriend and I are on a hunt to buy this dress we loved it so much.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 138lbs
November 3, 2013
Nice dress!

This fit true to size. I ended up not wearing this dress, but it was nice. It is longer than the photo and I'm tall. I wanted it to be the length shown in the picture.

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
February 19, 2014
I got a lot of compliments about the color of this dress and the silhouette is very flattering.

Pros: The color of this dress is vibrant and really pops. The skirt was full and flattering Cons: The belt kept slipping and constantly needed to be retightened The dress itself looked a little worn when looking at it up close

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
June 13, 2014
Orange and fantastic!

Rented this dress for a charity fundraiser at the Indianapolis Zoo. The theme was "Rock the Orange" in celebration of the new International Orangutan Center, so this dress was optimal for the occasion. Dress arrived early, fit great, and was super comfy. The zipper was a little tight, so needed assistance to get it zipped up, but once on, it felt great. I am often a bit reticent about strapless gowns and dresses as I always feel like I'm pulling them up to keep them in place, but this one moved very little and kept the girls in place, no bra needed. I was a little sad to pack this dress up as I enjoyed it very much - I'd rent it again in a heartbeat!!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
June 25, 2014
I ordered this for my bachelorette, because our wedding colors are orange and blue.

The color and style of this dress is fabulous, but it is not made for larger chested girls. The fabric at the top has zero give, and I was afraid the button was going to pop, so I ended up not wearing it. I wasn't able to get the 10, so I don't know if it would have fit better.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158lbs
May 22, 2014
Gorgeous color, so comfortable, fabulous dress all around

Awesome fit, flattering,

View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 129lbs
August 19, 2014
Weird Material

I liked the fit and style of this dress but the material is really strange - kind of reminded me of curtains from the 70s. Its very think and looked pretty worn. Because of that, it makes the dress feel rather casual which is why I didn't end up wearing it. If you were looking for something more casual and fun this might be for you as the fit and style is very flattering, but not if you are needing something a bit dressier and formal.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
August 24, 2014
Great fit! Beautiful color, very flattering!

Nice full bottom, perfect sliimming waist and with a full bust it was still a perfect fit up top, I could have gotten away without a bra, but it's a comfort thing. Only thing is that the belt does not have holes so it doesn't stay closed; I had to use a pin to keep it nice and tight. I wish I could keep it!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
September 13, 2014
This dress was perfect for a late summer wedding!

The fit is a bit tight in the bust, but not too far off from normal for the size. It also stretches out a bit as you wear it. The dress is great, but the belt is unwearable. I think I got the wrong size with my dress, but aside from that there is no way to secure it closed. I ended up just ditching it, since I couldn't even pin it closed because the fabric is so thick. The dress was fine without it though, so as long as you either have an alternate belt handy or can wear without, it's great!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
August 15, 2012
Amazing, colorful, perfect girly dress!

Loved this dress. Not too red- an interesting color. Beautiful material and the belt looked great even though I usually don't like belts with dresses. Paired it with a Amrita Singh necklace which was perfect and contrasting colors. Wore this to a summer wedding and adored it!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
May 25, 2015
Great fun dress!

Loved how swingy the skirt on the dress is - GREAT for dancing! Very comfortable fabric. 2 minor issues with it though - they shipped both sizes to me without the belt. I think the dress looked funny without a belt, but fortunately I was able to find one that looked good with it since they couldn't ship me one on a weekend date. Keep this in mind - you may need a back up belt if the same happens to you!! Also, I ordered a 6 and an 8 based on customer reviews and the 8 barely fit, but held up. I will say however that I am nursing a 3 month old so my current build is perhaps not a "normal" body shape (if there is such a thing). I'm presently a 34DD, 150lbs, 5'6". I think I would have been more comfortable in a size 10, but the fabric did stretch just enough that I could breathe a bit easier in it by the end of the night. And nothing fell out while dancing up top but I felt that without a bra it didn't have quite enough support to keep good shape. Prob not an issue with a smaller chest though. Very cute dress overall and loved that it had pockets!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
June 2, 2015
Beautiful dress but has seen better days

I love the fit and shape of this dress. It's a little more orange in person and almost impossible to button alone but I got a lot of compliments. You can tell this dress has seen better day though. The fabric is a little dirty in places, the button is hanging by a thread, and the belt just never stayed tight. I was just a rehearsal dinner so not too much movement but I wouldn't try and dance in this with that belt.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Weight: 140lbs
August 4, 2015
Perfect summer dress for a semi-formal wedding.

I got both a size 4 and 6, the size 4 fit like a glove. My measurements are 32-27.5-41. I have a smaller upper body compared to my hips so this was the dream dress-- very fitted in the bodice but still enough room for a strapless bra and completely open hips. The dress is a beautiful reddish orange and I got several compliments. I chose not to wear the belt with the dress as it doesn't really fasten and stay in place at the closure and looked a little costumey. Also, the dress although layered did well in the heat of summer. All in all, it was a wonderful dress and I would not hesitate to rent again from RTR, it is such a great company with fabulous dresses.

View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 100lbs
September 21, 2015
Amazing color!

I absolutely loved this dress... the color, fabric, cut, fit, everything! except... the belt would NOT stay snug - there was nothing to keep it tight! Whoever wore it before me tried double-sided tape, and I tried putting on another strip, but it didn't work. Tried safety pins, too but the fabric was too thick. Finally just left it loose, which was a shame! But other than that little tic, the dress was perfect for the summer wedding, and a standout on the dance floor! It had an edgy 1950's prom feel. I wish owned it because I could have taken the silly belt to the tailor and had a hook put in!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
October 8, 2015
Super fun dress!

I loved this dress. Unfortunately I didn't get to wear it out as I'd planned, so I'll just have to rent it again! It fit great, I loved the wide belt that made my waistline look small, the twirly, full skirt is fab-U-lous. And it has pockets!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
June 22, 2012
I wore the dress to see "The Newsies" in New York, and was pulled aside at the end by a couple girls to tell me that they couldn't take their eyes off my dress. What a great reaction!

I wore this dress to a Broadway show, and got SO many compliments. It runs true to size, but the belt that comes with it has no holes, so it does not cinch in you waist at all. However, it fit perfectly, and I LOVE the button detail on the back.

mariaJune 22, 2012
did you pick a size 8 or bigger, i am 145 lbs too thank you!
ElizabethJune 22, 2012
I'm also about 140, but smaller chested and the size 6 was perfect. I'd get the 8 if you've got a larger bust.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
August 12, 2012
Such a perfect dress for a wedding! Had a blast wearing it.

Amazing material and so much fun to wear, perfect for dancing and got tons of complements too!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
November 10, 2012
So fun, wish I could find a place to buy it!

So fun! Great thick kind of retro fabric, good for any season. I wore this on my birthday and I didn't want to give it back. One of my top rentals of all time. 4 was all that was available and it fit true to size. Would be great for a daytime wedding at any time of year, or evening wedding in summer!

View photos (3)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 10, 2012
I loved this dress!

I can't say enough about this dress, I loved wearing it. I got compliments all night, many from strangers. It was a great fit, very comfortable. I didn't want to return it! The pockets were a bonus.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 142lbs
May 30, 2013
Fun, festive dress! Felt like a superstar. Great for dancing.

This dress is great. The material is heavier than you might expect--really thick and cottony. I loved the length--about knee-length on me--and the skirt was big and swirly, great for dancing. I thought the waistline was very flattering as well. The color is also amazing and highly saturated, so the dress gets a lot of attention. I got compliments all night! Now for the not-so-great features: As other girls have mentioned, the belt is a little annoying because there is no clasp, so I had to keep tightening it all night. (Maybe some double sided tape could cure this?) I also found myself hitching it up fairly often (a problem I always have and the fatal flaw of most strapless dresses). Def to be worn with a strapless bra. All in all, I'd wear it again, and it was the perfect thing for the event I attended (ranch wedding in New Mexico.)

View photos (3)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
July 29, 2013
Great time & great dress

It was a hit :) I was scared to rent in the beginning, but the whole process was so smooth. It blew me away. I loved the dress and the way it fitted. Belt would come loose but that wasn't a big issue. Thank you RTR

View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 17, 2014
Flirty, fun, fabulous!

The color of this dress is stunning. The fabric/weight was perfect for weather transitioning from Winter to Spring. As stated by others, the band at the very top of this dress fits snug... I'm between a 34 B and 34 C cup and struggled to get it buttoned. The belt wasn't as troublesome but I did wish there was a way to fasten it more security.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 21, 2014
This dress was great, but picked a different one I rented because it just wasn't fancy enough.

The fit was wonderful, a very cute dress! The couple minutes I had it on, the belt was definitely slipping so you'd have to pin it. The top is very well fitted, would never have to be concerned about pulling it up. I think it would be a bit too much fabric for a hot summer day - heavy fabric.

View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×