Lace Illusion Flutter Dress

$59 to buy
$470 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Rent this classic Milly lace sheath for a wedding or cocktail party you are throwing. Show off how great you look to your friends by adding a set of bangles like Chamak by Priya Kakkar's Arabian Nights Bangle Set.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black floral lace(60% cotton; 40% nylon). Crew neckline with sheer lace. Belt at waist. Cascading ruffle detail on back skirt. Back button closure with keyhole opening. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share
91 reviews
Fit
Large
(2)
True to Size
(76)
Small
(13)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133lbs
February 23, 2015
Not for Petites!
Rented for a party, but the dimensions were matronly on me. Went with a LBD from my own closet.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 180lbs
September 10, 2014
Twist on the classic LBD
I rented this for a semi-formal work fundraiser. The slit in the back was higher than I expected - it rode up quite a bit when I sat down or bent over... I felt a little more "exposed' than I was comfortable with.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
September 9, 2014
Dress it up or down
I rented this dress for a murder mystery party with the local young professionals group. It was not too tight or short for a professional event. I wore it once to an after work social with a cardigan and flats and dressed it up with chandelier earrings and pumps for the party. After I sent it back, it went on clearance on rtr, and I couldn't wait to get it back.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
August 13, 2014
Cute details
I didn't end up wearing this dress because it didn't really accentuate my natural curves. It was very cute and the lace was great, but not best for a curvy lady with hips.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130lbs
June 30, 2014
Little black dress with pretty details.
I rented this dress for a cocktail attire wedding. It looked great out of the box. It seemed newer and in better shape than the last RTR dress I rented. The size 6 was so tight in the waist I couldn't get it zipped. The size 8 fit better, but was a little big in the shoulders, so the lace piece on top fit very loosely. Overall I liked the dress and I felt great in it.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
June 29, 2014
Fits just fine. I got a fair number of compliments, but I didn't love it.
This dress is comfortable, but that ruffle on the back just kind of hangs there limply, and you MUST iron it before wearing, or it will just lay there looking sad. Other people liked it, I thought it was serviceable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 129lbs
June 25, 2014
Great dress :) fit the occassion
#christmasparty great dress love milly
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
May 22, 2014
Perfect little black dress but with a unique decorative top.
Something a little different for a traditional black cocktail dress, with the sheer decorative top. I wore this to a wedding in Oklahoma with a little red lipstick and called it good. Felt super comfortable all night and chic at the same time. Would highly recommend to a friend, or rent again. My fiance liked it as well.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 57
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
May 6, 2014
Back-up dress that didn't work for me
This was a beautifully made dress, with a back that was even more interesting than the front. The photos on the site don't do it justice. However, unless you are a narrow body type, I would suggest ordering up a size. This was my back-up dress, and although it was the same size and designer as the dress I wore (the Milly Sara), it ran very tight through the waist and hips for my body type. I will try it again in the next size up for another occasion, because it really is an interesting LBD with a "kick"!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 26, 2014
I am renting this again!
This is a super classy, comfortable dress. You do need a strapless bra and it runs a bit small. I'm an 8 and the 10 was perfect. I am renting this again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
April 10, 2014
The lace detail was really nice and it was very appropriate for a formal work event.
I got both the 4 and 6 and I couldn't even zip the 4. It was very fitted in the torso, so keep that in mind when ordering. Great dress and I got a lot of compliments so I would still order it again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 126lbs
February 10, 2014
Perfect for work dinner!
This dress is very flattering on. The size two was just a bit too tight in the hips for me. I'm 5'4" and the dress hits me right above the knee. It's easy to put on and zip up by yourself.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117lbs
January 15, 2014
Comfort and Class
I rented this dress for an event where I needed to be comfortable. It served it's purpose well! Loved wearing it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 2, 2014
Just the right amount of wow!
This was my backup dress and luckily the 0 fit me perfect. It is very fitted in the waist and after sitting through dinner and eating it was more noticeable to me. My only regret was using this dress for a dinner party because the back it where it's at. The waterfall accent was beautiful. I almost wish his came in another color to make it more wow! Con- was a little long in torso so my bra showed just a bit where the zipper ended, and the top of my bra showed in front. Not at all noticeable with a black bra (i'm also very short). As someone else reviewed the back being loose between the zipper and button, yes it was, but does not effect the dress at all.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133lbs
December 2, 2013
A little too tight for comfort.
This dress was nice but didn't have enough give for me to be comfortable all evening. It felt a little small for the size. The detail in the back was nice though. I ended up going with the other dress that I received as an alternate.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
December 1, 2013
Classy and elegant, but with gorgeous details.
Fit beautifully, received numerous compliments, felt pretty. A winner!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Body type: Hourglass
November 21, 2013
Love this LBD! The ruffle in the back is so fun and the fit is very flattering
This was my back up dress, but it was perfect for the wedding I went to. I paired it with a gold belt and flats and danced the night away! The top opening was a little big, but otherwise it he fit was fine. Would definitely rent again.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
November 14, 2013
I had over 20 people come up to me & ask me "Where Did I get that AMAZING Dress?!" Wonderful day!
Dress stayed true to its form. I had wonderful comments all night - from the moment I took the dress out of the bag till the end of leaving the wedding. I could not wear a bra with it, and it was during a bitter cold wedding in Wisconsin. But it didn't matter & didn't affect anything (you couldn't see anything). I want to rent this dress over & over again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
October 16, 2013
fit like a glove!
I LOVE this dress so much, wish I could buy it. I needed a dress for a "black tie optional wedding" and rented a 12 and a 10 since reviews said it had no give in the hips. The 10 fit perfectly and I felt great in it. Slightly rode up when seated, but not enough to be bothersome. Can't wait to rent it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 14, 2013
I met my (now) boyfriend in this dress!
I loved everything about this dress. It was classy enough for the formal affair I was going to, but still cute and fun!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 143lbs
October 8, 2013
Fit like a glove, felt confident all night long!
This dress is even more fabulous in person. Very classy
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158lbs
September 18, 2013
Classic
Fitted, not much stretch. Perfect length.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
September 5, 2013
Fit like a glove!
On the hanger it looked a little heavy, especially for a March wedding, but it was actually perfect for the occassion!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
September 5, 2013
Beautiful dress for a wedding or cocktail party
I wore this dress in ivory after my wedding two years ago so I had a good sense of how it would fit and as expected, the 4 fit just right. The cut is flattering and the design is beautiful and classy. Dress arrived on time and in perfect condition.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
July 23, 2013
This dress was really comfortable and cute.
The fit was perfect, and I thought it had a great balance: sexy and classy. I wore it to a Friday evening wedding, and the color and style were right on point.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Apple
June 30, 2013
Not the dress for me. :-(
This was my back-up dress, and I ended up not wearing it. Even so, the dress did not fit my body shape well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 158lbs
June 12, 2013
It's a perfect black dress. Lots of complements!
A little tight in the bust
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
May 28, 2013
This was a perfect little black dress!
This dress fit perfect - very true to size. I would recommend sizing up as your second size if you have a medium to large chest - that is where it could get a little snug. I would absolutely buy this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 58
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128lbs
May 3, 2013
I received a lot of compliments!
It's a beautiful dress! I loved the lace across the top and back of dress. Very figure flattering!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103lbs
May 3, 2013
Disappointed in the fit
I wanted to love this dress; in fact, I loved it--except for one important thing. The lace connects in the back with a button hook by the nape of the neck, and the excess material bunched out by my upper back (too much material). Had I been planning to wear a pashmina or cardigan all night, I think I would've still worn the dress, because it fit beautifully everywhere else. But short women likely will have a problem with the lace/sheer fabric bunching and ruining what otherwise is a gorgeous look! I went with the Lilly "Beauty Within" Dress and was really happy with it! Definitely recommend ordering a back-up dress if you plan to order the Milly dress and are petite like me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
April 26, 2013
perfect wedding dress. not too short on a 5'7" frame.
this dress was perfect for an evening wedding. the length made it appropriate and allowed m to wear heels without showing off too much leg, yet the top was still delicate and pretty. It was not tight but I did not feel frumpy at all. very comfortable overall. I thought the lace "tail" on the back was a little odd, but didn't stop me from loving it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150lbs
April 22, 2013
Fun, flirty dress perfect for weddings, cocktail parties, and fundraising events!
Chose this dress after reading all the positive reviews from other renters for a black tie fundraiser. Snug in the top and low in the back so I was unable to wear a bra. I am 5'10 and the dress was a great length, ending just above my knees. Many complements throughout the evening. Could sit comfortably during the dinner portion of the evening and eat. Recommend to anyone looking for a upgrade to the LBD!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
April 5, 2013
No movement, but very classy and looked great in photos.
I am pear-sized and I wouldn't recommend this dress if you need to move, dance etc. There is no stretch in the dress so if you have hips and want to dance at your event, I would recommend something with a little more movement. Otherwise the dress was great and looked great in pictures! I was getting compliments all night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
March 24, 2013
Gorgeous and comfortable
The dress fit like a glove. It was beautiful and everyone wanted to know where it was from! I would absolutely recommend it!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 21, 2013
This dress is so fun! It is timeless from the front with a bit of flare in the back!
This dress was such a fun choice for a formal cocktail event I attended in NYC. From the front, the sheer illusion neck is very tasteful and the back adds a bit of flare. I thought the dress fit perfectly and would recommend anyone to rent it!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
March 4, 2013
Very pretty! Loved the lace and the back bow details!
I wore this for my sisters sweet-15 party. I got so many compliments on this pretty dress. Everyone loved the back the best, but i really loved the lace detail in front. Super cute on, my only wish,(which is why its not a 5 Star review) is that it could have been a tad shorter on me than it was. OVERALL- Beautiful!
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 170lbs
March 1, 2013
Perfect for a semi-formal wedding, the price of this rental is what makes RTR a great option!
I wore this to an out of town wedding and forgot a strapless bra, usually a huge issue as I'm 36D but went without and didn't have a problem. The length was perfect and the back ruffle was really fun. I would definitely rent this dress again! I usually wear a 10 but that was unavailable, I got the 12 and it was a little large but still looked good and fit comfortably.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
January 28, 2013
Classic LBD
I ordered this for a winter wedding reception. I was looking for a classic LBD, and the lace detail and back design make this one fun. Because it was winter, I wore this with black tights and black suede pumps.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
December 31, 2012
Such a beautiful and flattering dress!
Love the detail and the back!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
December 28, 2012
Perfect for a wedding!
I felt totally comfortable in this dress all night long. The top is gorgeous and can be worn to a dressy cocktail party or a black tie affair. I wish I owned this dress!
View photos (2)
See more reviews:
1 / 3
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited Bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×