Milly

Lace Illusion Flutter Dress

$59 to buy
$470 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Rent this classic Milly lace sheath for a wedding or cocktail party you are throwing. Show off how great you look to your friends by adding a set of bangles like Chamak by Priya Kakkar's Arabian Nights Bangle Set.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black floral lace(60% cotton; 40% nylon). Crew neckline with sheer lace. Belt at waist. Cascading ruffle detail on back skirt. Back button closure with keyhole opening. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share
91 reviews
Fit
Large
(2)
True to Size
(76)
Small
(13)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 124lbs
March 17, 2012
Great dress if you have hips

Surprisingly, the size 6 fit me great. Usually my hips push me into an 8, but this dress has more room in the hips than in the bust. If I had a larger bust, I would have had to wear the 8. Very flattering dress. The back has a great detail.

Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
May 6, 2012
perfect!

Rented this dress for a semi-formal charity event (work related). Conservative enough to be comfortable around work colleagues but also a very pretty dress with the lace detail and fancy back. I ended up wearing a 0 which is not my real size. Am small-chested but my hip width is probably more typical for my height (5'7").

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
November 21, 2011
Great for work event!

I wore this to a fundraiser with some of my company's biggest clients. It was understated, yet had interesting details. I received a number of compliments and felt beautiful! I wore the 8 (which is my normal size) and it felt a bit tighter than I'd like.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
December 6, 2011
Classy, elegant dress!

I loved this dress for a winter wedding with bare legs and platform pumps. It was easy to dance in. I am glad I got a size up as my normal size was tight around my bust. Would definitely rent again!

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
January 15, 2012
Loved the dress

I rented this dress for a winter wedding. Loved it from the moment I put it on. I had a baby 4 months ago and I am still loosing the baby weight but wearing this dress made me feel so secure and confident about my body! It was comfortable the entire night.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145lbs
June 11, 2012
Classy dress, didn't fit

I am a pretty regular size 8, but have to size up to a 10 sometimes to fit my rib cage. I ordered an 8 and the 10 wasn't available so I hoped the 8 would work. It didn't. It was definitely tight over my rib cage. I tend to carry any extra weight in my tummy but that wasn't the problem here. The intent was to wear it to a fancy work dinner and this dress would have been perfect. The lace detailing is beautiful and elegant. Had I purchased this dress, I would have gone for a 10 and had it taken in to fit my bottom half. Beautiful dress for the right body type. Maybe some day I'll have some ribs removed and I won't have this problem. Just kidding ;-)

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 17, 2012
Beautiful dress but I thought the top was a little small.

I rented this dress for a friend's wedding. It was beautiful however I did think the top of the dress was very narrow. I usually wear a 4 in a dress and ordered both the 4 and the 6 to try. Both dresses fit, however I couldn't zip either dress while wearing a strapless bra. I would definitely recommend this dress, but maybe not to someone who is curvy.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Apple
June 30, 2013
Not the dress for me. :-(

This was my back-up dress, and I ended up not wearing it. Even so, the dress did not fit my body shape well.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133lbs
December 2, 2013
A little too tight for comfort.

This dress was nice but didn't have enough give for me to be comfortable all evening. It felt a little small for the size. The detail in the back was nice though. I ended up going with the other dress that I received as an alternate.

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
April 10, 2014
The lace detail was really nice and it was very appropriate for a formal work event.

I got both the 4 and 6 and I couldn't even zip the 4. It was very fitted in the torso, so keep that in mind when ordering. Great dress and I got a lot of compliments so I would still order it again!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 139lbs
April 26, 2014
I am renting this again!

This is a super classy, comfortable dress. You do need a strapless bra and it runs a bit small. I'm an 8 and the 10 was perfect. I am renting this again.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 59
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
May 6, 2014
Back-up dress that didn't work for me

This was a beautifully made dress, with a back that was even more interesting than the front. The photos on the site don't do it justice. However, unless you are a narrow body type, I would suggest ordering up a size. This was my back-up dress, and although it was the same size and designer as the dress I wore (the Milly Sara), it ran very tight through the waist and hips for my body type. I will try it again in the next size up for another occasion, because it really is an interesting LBD with a "kick"!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130lbs
June 30, 2014
Little black dress with pretty details.

I rented this dress for a cocktail attire wedding. It looked great out of the box. It seemed newer and in better shape than the last RTR dress I rented. The size 6 was so tight in the waist I couldn't get it zipped. The size 8 fit better, but was a little big in the shoulders, so the lace piece on top fit very loosely. Overall I liked the dress and I felt great in it.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 65
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
December 9, 2011
Channeling "Mad Men"

Oh, how I wish I had been able to wear this dress size 12. It runs small, and being between two sizes right now, I needed a 14. Alas! The back is the best part! The lace gives this dress a vintage feel with modern look.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 59
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128lbs
May 3, 2013
I received a lot of compliments!

It's a beautiful dress! I loved the lace across the top and back of dress. Very figure flattering!

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Body type: Pear
September 28, 2011

This dress is not done justice in the pictures. Very pretty on. Great for a business cocktail event when you need to dress more conservatively. Rent your size or go one up.

Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 44
Body type: Pear
October 24, 2011

I rented this dress for an evening wedding. It is very flattering and fit true to size. It is a classic design with a bit of whimsy in the back.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
October 27, 2011
Classy Dress!

THIS DRESS IS GORGEOUS! The model doesn't even do it justice. I have big boobs and most of my fat accumulates around my mid-section. This dress hid all my imperfections and I looked great! I got compliments all night long. I attended a work gala and found that I looked sophisticated and classy. The dress is also very sexy. The intricate lace design is gorgeous. I was worried about the length because I'm short so I bought 5inch heels to balance it out.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
November 2, 2011

I loved this dress, it was perfect for a fall wedding this past weekend. It was a little loose on top but not so much that I felt uncomfortable. Would rent it again in a heartbeat!

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
November 4, 2011

I rented this dress for a fall wedding and it was perfect! I got a size 0 and a size 2 and the size 0 fit perfectly. It fell right to my knees and with heels it looked just right. Just like the other reviews this pictures do not do this dress justice the back makes the whole dress! I will be renting this dress again!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 122lbs
November 17, 2011
All the amazing compliments I received on the dress and bracelet!

I rented this dress for a weekend with 2 events - a Friday night wedding and a Saturday night black-tie event. It was perfect for both events - I have never received so many compliments on a dress! I wore black stockings, black patent pumps, and the Kenneth Jay Lane Ganesha bangle. Overall, I loved the dress. I used a stick-on bra since the keyhole back is pretty low and my strapless bra seemed to peek out, and I knew I'd be dancing and didn't want it to show. The dress was super comfy, very flattering in terms of cut and shape, and seemed to be good quality! I would definitely rent it again!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
January 26, 2012
LOVE. LOVE. LOVE.

Rented this dress for my engagement party Jan 21, 2012. I LOVED this dress! I received compliments on it all night. I loved the top lace neckline - no need for a necklace, just went with statement earrings instead. Dress fit true to size, verging on small. I was unable to wear a strapless bra with it, but didn't need to (the black portion of the dress was stiff/thick enough that I was fine without.) I would gladly rent this same dress again. I'm actually going to try to purchase it for myself. We'll see how that goes ... :)

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
February 13, 2012
WAY too long

I loved everything about this dress other than the length. It looked so amazing on, and the back is beautiful. At my height, 5'2", It was jut too long - past my knees. A friend tried it on who is 5'6" and it was still way too long on her. Too bad because it is beautiful!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 59
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 168lbs
February 19, 2012
Most beautiful dress ever

This was so exquisite. I felt like another person. I looked better than I ever have in my life! I usually wear a 10 but the 12 was perfect because I have a big chest. The dress is so beautiful. I wish I could own it. I looked younger, sexier and thinner!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
May 2, 2012
I had so many people ask me where I brought the dress!

The dress fit exactly as I imagined it would and was in great shape when it arrived. No pulls, etc on the lace overlay! I received so many compliments on this dress.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
May 22, 2012
great for work event!

I rented this dress and it was just the right amount of class and sexy. Fits like a glove. Really great back detail.

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
May 24, 2012
perfect for the evening

stylish, well cut and made. i wore it to a work event. it feels current and work appropriate, but not conservative. love it!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
June 22, 2012
Elegant and Comfortable

Very comfortable. I received lots of compliments. This is the second time I have rented this dress---it's fabulous!

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 132lbs
July 14, 2012
Perfect

I was maid of honor in my sister's wedding. This dress was beautiful, and bride approved with the simple lace gown she wore. This is the best fitting dress I've ever worn. Ever. Extremely well made. I received so many compliments, and always replied - "thanks! It's a rental" Then we would laugh & they would not believe me, and then I'd sing the praises of Rent the Runway. Thank you!

Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
August 10, 2012
Perfect for a formal event

I wore this to a wedding with an unclear dress code, and felt fantastic. It was a tight fit, but I think the sizing is spot on generally. I was able to wear a nude bra underneath and no one could tell. It was great for a night out dancing. I didn't love the ruffle on the back, but otherwise it was a simple, yet fantastically formal dress. The lacework was beautiful.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128lbs
August 17, 2012
elegant

awesome dress! comfortable fit and elegant details. i love the top lace on this dress. you may not be able to see it in the photos, but it has a little ruffle on the back side of the dress. it's very subtle though and adds to the dress. i wore it to a wedding and received many compliments. i had recently gained about 5 lbs and this dress was a great find because it wasnt oddly shaped or with difficult fabric. i felt classy in this dress. highly recommend!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Body type: Pear
August 20, 2012
I received so many compliments, I had to rent it twice!

Love this dress! I rented it for my cousin's black tie wedding and it was a big hit. I got so many compliments! I found that the dress was a little too low cut in the back to wear a strapless bra so I just bought the stick on cups, which worked fine. I found the dress to be true to size. I wear a size 8 and the dress size 8 worked perfectly.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
August 29, 2012
Loved this dress

I wore it for a black tie work dinner. Felt very confident in it, I didn't want to feel overdressed, while still looking very formal/conservative. It fit like a dream. I still think about this dress, wish I owned it. Would consider renting again.

Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 66
Body type: Hourglass
September 23, 2012
Lacy and very pretty. Made me feel special at a medical school graduation dinner

A little shorter than i usually wear, but with black hose and shoes, it was a simple sophisticated look

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 30, 2012
Great dancing dress!

I wore this dress to a 5:30 wedding and it was thee dress of the night. The back ruffle was so much fun on the dance floor!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
October 15, 2012
Amazing DRESS!

I had initially pre-ordered another dress and when I received it, neither size fit! I was in a huge state of panic. I called RTR to let them know I was returning both dresses and that neither fit. Serena(the rep) helped me go through dresses online that might be an option. I saw this dress and immediately thought it would be perfect unfortunately it said that my sizes were rented. Luckily Serena checked for me and by crazy luck, they had both. I had them overnighted got them the next day and the dress was PERFECT! I liked it better then the first dress I had ordered! I received tons of compliments!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
October 17, 2012
very pretty detail

This dress was great! very pretty and conservative enough for a family wedding. my only issue was that it was a little long on me. I'm only 5'0 though so I should have expected it!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
October 23, 2012
I wore this to a formal reception. Everyone loved it and wanted to know where I got it!

The fabric is more of a gauzy type than it looks in the picture which surprised me but was not a problem. It fit absolutely perfectly. I am 6 feet tall and I always have to worry about getting my dresses to an appropriate length and this length was fabulous.

View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
October 27, 2012
This dress is very simple but the beauty is in the details.

Beautiful detail - sheer panel on front, open on back and the cut-out lace panel down the back. Very comfortable fit except the one I rented had a loose metal clasp that dug into my back all night. Just a very classic, beautiful dress.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
October 29, 2012
In LOVE!

So many people stopped to tell me how much they loved my dress! It's super classy and a little sassy and low cut in the back. You will have to wear a backless bra. It was a bit long on me, hit at my knee and I prefer right above the knee, but I am only 5'4. I was sad to send it back!

See more reviews:
1 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×