Milly

Lace Illusion Flutter Dress

$59 to buy
$470 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Rent this classic Milly lace sheath for a wedding or cocktail party you are throwing. Show off how great you look to your friends by adding a set of bangles like Chamak by Priya Kakkar's Arabian Nights Bangle Set.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black floral lace(60% cotton; 40% nylon). Crew neckline with sheer lace. Belt at waist. Cascading ruffle detail on back skirt. Back button closure with keyhole opening. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share
91 reviews
Fit
Large
(2)
True to Size
(76)
Small
(13)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 17, 2012
Beautiful dress but I thought the top was a little small.
I rented this dress for a friend's wedding. It was beautiful however I did think the top of the dress was very narrow. I usually wear a 4 in a dress and ordered both the 4 and the 6 to try. Both dresses fit, however I couldn't zip either dress while wearing a strapless bra. I would definitely recommend this dress, but maybe not to someone who is curvy.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 65
Body type: Hourglass
September 23, 2012
Lacy and very pretty. Made me feel special at a medical school graduation dinner
A little shorter than i usually wear, but with black hose and shoes, it was a simple sophisticated look
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 30, 2012
Great dancing dress!
I wore this dress to a 5:30 wedding and it was thee dress of the night. The back ruffle was so much fun on the dance floor!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
October 15, 2012
Amazing DRESS!
I had initially pre-ordered another dress and when I received it, neither size fit! I was in a huge state of panic. I called RTR to let them know I was returning both dresses and that neither fit. Serena(the rep) helped me go through dresses online that might be an option. I saw this dress and immediately thought it would be perfect unfortunately it said that my sizes were rented. Luckily Serena checked for me and by crazy luck, they had both. I had them overnighted got them the next day and the dress was PERFECT! I liked it better then the first dress I had ordered! I received tons of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
October 17, 2012
very pretty detail
This dress was great! very pretty and conservative enough for a family wedding. my only issue was that it was a little long on me. I'm only 5'0 though so I should have expected it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
October 23, 2012
I wore this to a formal reception. Everyone loved it and wanted to know where I got it!
The fabric is more of a gauzy type than it looks in the picture which surprised me but was not a problem. It fit absolutely perfectly. I am 6 feet tall and I always have to worry about getting my dresses to an appropriate length and this length was fabulous.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
October 27, 2012
This dress is very simple but the beauty is in the details.
Beautiful detail - sheer panel on front, open on back and the cut-out lace panel down the back. Very comfortable fit except the one I rented had a loose metal clasp that dug into my back all night. Just a very classic, beautiful dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
October 29, 2012
In LOVE!
So many people stopped to tell me how much they loved my dress! It's super classy and a little sassy and low cut in the back. You will have to wear a backless bra. It was a bit long on me, hit at my knee and I prefer right above the knee, but I am only 5'4. I was sad to send it back!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
November 19, 2012
wore this to a wedding
small in the chest, but not so much so that you should wear a different size. Very elegant and classic looking
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133lbs
November 26, 2012
I rented this for an outdoor, family wedding in November. Very appropriate and comfortable!!
Top was a bit snug but it fit perfectly! I normally wear a 4 so the 4 was the best choice (got a 6 as a back up). Bottom was looser and I felt very comfortable sitting, dancing, great length!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 139lbs
December 1, 2012
Dress fit perfect and I got many compliments on it all night.
The fit and quality of the dress were excellent, length was exactly what i wanted. I felt glamorous in my dress but was also comfortable in it all night long. I was extremely impressed by the great customer service i received from rent the runway. My dress was scheduled to arrive wednesday but was delayed due to ups vehicle issues. I received a phone call to let me know and to verify what day my event was on, someone was monitoring the issue with ups to make sure the dress would get to me on thursday, i was refunded the shipping for the inconvenience and was told that if the issue with ups was not resolved in time that another set of my dress would be overnighted to me. Rent the Runway customer service went above and beyond to ensure I had my dress in time and I was absolutely impressed by how it was all handled, plus i lovedddd the dress. I will definitely be using rent the runway again and telling all of my friends about it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
December 9, 2012
Perfect for a winter wedding!
Wore this with black tights and maroon wedges - really cute and comfy. Could be dressed up or down. Length was suitable for a tall girl. Nice alternative to the standard LBD.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 143lbs
December 10, 2012
elegant LBD
This is a beautiful dress! I ordered it as my back up dress, so did not actually wear it to the event, but may rent it again the the future to wear. It is nicely cut, and the lace overlay is like wearing a strapless dress without worrying that it will fall down. A strapless bra with a low back is necessary. It has a small ruffle in the back, but it is pretty small so it does not add a lot of volume to the back area. I am often between a size 6 or 8, and the 6 fit perfectly.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 57
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128lbs
December 19, 2012
Great dress, got lots of compliments
Loved this dress, fit well, very flattering. I have short legs, so it came to knee length which was fine.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
December 5, 2012
Too long
For a tall girl, it was not the most flattering cut, but the detailing was gorgeous!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
December 28, 2012
Perfect for a wedding!
I felt totally comfortable in this dress all night long. The top is gorgeous and can be worn to a dressy cocktail party or a black tie affair. I wish I owned this dress!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
December 31, 2012
Such a beautiful and flattering dress!
Love the detail and the back!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 170lbs
March 1, 2013
Perfect for a semi-formal wedding, the price of this rental is what makes RTR a great option!
I wore this to an out of town wedding and forgot a strapless bra, usually a huge issue as I'm 36D but went without and didn't have a problem. The length was perfect and the back ruffle was really fun. I would definitely rent this dress again! I usually wear a 10 but that was unavailable, I got the 12 and it was a little large but still looked good and fit comfortably.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
March 4, 2013
Very pretty! Loved the lace and the back bow details!
I wore this for my sisters sweet-15 party. I got so many compliments on this pretty dress. Everyone loved the back the best, but i really loved the lace detail in front. Super cute on, my only wish,(which is why its not a 5 Star review) is that it could have been a tad shorter on me than it was. OVERALL- Beautiful!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Body type: Pear
September 28, 2011
This dress is not done justice in the pictures. Very pretty on. Great for a business cocktail event when you need to dress more conservatively. Rent your size or go one up.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 43
Body type: Pear
October 24, 2011
I rented this dress for an evening wedding. It is very flattering and fit true to size. It is a classic design with a bit of whimsy in the back.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
October 27, 2011
Classy Dress!
THIS DRESS IS GORGEOUS! The model doesn't even do it justice. I have big boobs and most of my fat accumulates around my mid-section. This dress hid all my imperfections and I looked great! I got compliments all night long. I attended a work gala and found that I looked sophisticated and classy. The dress is also very sexy. The intricate lace design is gorgeous. I was worried about the length because I'm short so I bought 5inch heels to balance it out.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
November 2, 2011
I loved this dress, it was perfect for a fall wedding this past weekend. It was a little loose on top but not so much that I felt uncomfortable. Would rent it again in a heartbeat!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
November 4, 2011
I rented this dress for a fall wedding and it was perfect! I got a size 0 and a size 2 and the size 0 fit perfectly. It fell right to my knees and with heels it looked just right. Just like the other reviews this pictures do not do this dress justice the back makes the whole dress! I will be renting this dress again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 122lbs
November 17, 2011
All the amazing compliments I received on the dress and bracelet!
I rented this dress for a weekend with 2 events - a Friday night wedding and a Saturday night black-tie event. It was perfect for both events - I have never received so many compliments on a dress! I wore black stockings, black patent pumps, and the Kenneth Jay Lane Ganesha bangle. Overall, I loved the dress. I used a stick-on bra since the keyhole back is pretty low and my strapless bra seemed to peek out, and I knew I'd be dancing and didn't want it to show. The dress was super comfy, very flattering in terms of cut and shape, and seemed to be good quality! I would definitely rent it again!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 158lbs
November 21, 2011
Great for work event!
I wore this to a fundraiser with some of my company's biggest clients. It was understated, yet had interesting details. I received a number of compliments and felt beautiful! I wore the 8 (which is my normal size) and it felt a bit tighter than I'd like.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
December 6, 2011
Classy, elegant dress!
I loved this dress for a winter wedding with bare legs and platform pumps. It was easy to dance in. I am glad I got a size up as my normal size was tight around my bust. Would definitely rent again!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Body type: Pear
January 15, 2012
Loved the dress
I rented this dress for a winter wedding. Loved it from the moment I put it on. I had a baby 4 months ago and I am still loosing the baby weight but wearing this dress made me feel so secure and confident about my body! It was comfortable the entire night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
January 26, 2012
LOVE. LOVE. LOVE.
Rented this dress for my engagement party Jan 21, 2012. I LOVED this dress! I received compliments on it all night. I loved the top lace neckline - no need for a necklace, just went with statement earrings instead. Dress fit true to size, verging on small. I was unable to wear a strapless bra with it, but didn't need to (the black portion of the dress was stiff/thick enough that I was fine without.) I would gladly rent this same dress again. I'm actually going to try to purchase it for myself. We'll see how that goes ... :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
February 13, 2012
WAY too long
I loved everything about this dress other than the length. It looked so amazing on, and the back is beautiful. At my height, 5'2", It was jut too long - past my knees. A friend tried it on who is 5'6" and it was still way too long on her. Too bad because it is beautiful!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 58
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 168lbs
February 19, 2012
Most beautiful dress ever
This was so exquisite. I felt like another person. I looked better than I ever have in my life! I usually wear a 10 but the 12 was perfect because I have a big chest. The dress is so beautiful. I wish I could own it. I looked younger, sexier and thinner!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 124lbs
March 17, 2012
Great dress if you have hips
Surprisingly, the size 6 fit me great. Usually my hips push me into an 8, but this dress has more room in the hips than in the bust. If I had a larger bust, I would have had to wear the 8. Very flattering dress. The back has a great detail.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
May 2, 2012
I had so many people ask me where I brought the dress!
The dress fit exactly as I imagined it would and was in great shape when it arrived. No pulls, etc on the lace overlay! I received so many compliments on this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
May 6, 2012
perfect!
Rented this dress for a semi-formal charity event (work related). Conservative enough to be comfortable around work colleagues but also a very pretty dress with the lace detail and fancy back. I ended up wearing a 0 which is not my real size. Am small-chested but my hip width is probably more typical for my height (5'7").
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
May 22, 2012
great for work event!
I rented this dress and it was just the right amount of class and sexy. Fits like a glove. Really great back detail.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
May 24, 2012
perfect for the evening
stylish, well cut and made. i wore it to a work event. it feels current and work appropriate, but not conservative. love it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145lbs
June 11, 2012
Classy dress, didn't fit
I am a pretty regular size 8, but have to size up to a 10 sometimes to fit my rib cage. I ordered an 8 and the 10 wasn't available so I hoped the 8 would work. It didn't. It was definitely tight over my rib cage. I tend to carry any extra weight in my tummy but that wasn't the problem here. The intent was to wear it to a fancy work dinner and this dress would have been perfect. The lace detailing is beautiful and elegant. Had I purchased this dress, I would have gone for a 10 and had it taken in to fit my bottom half. Beautiful dress for the right body type. Maybe some day I'll have some ribs removed and I won't have this problem. Just kidding ;-)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
June 22, 2012
Elegant and Comfortable
Very comfortable. I received lots of compliments. This is the second time I have rented this dress---it's fabulous!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 132lbs
July 14, 2012
Perfect
I was maid of honor in my sister's wedding. This dress was beautiful, and bride approved with the simple lace gown she wore. This is the best fitting dress I've ever worn. Ever. Extremely well made. I received so many compliments, and always replied - "thanks! It's a rental" Then we would laugh & they would not believe me, and then I'd sing the praises of Rent the Runway. Thank you!
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
August 10, 2012
Perfect for a formal event
I wore this to a wedding with an unclear dress code, and felt fantastic. It was a tight fit, but I think the sizing is spot on generally. I was able to wear a nude bra underneath and no one could tell. It was great for a night out dancing. I didn't love the ruffle on the back, but otherwise it was a simple, yet fantastically formal dress. The lacework was beautiful.
See more reviews:
1 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×