Milly

Lace Illusion Flutter Dress

$59 rental
$470 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Rent this classic Milly lace sheath for a wedding or cocktail party you are throwing. Show off how great you look to your friends by adding a set of bangles like Chamak by Priya Kakkar's Arabian Nights Bangle Set.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black floral lace(60% cotton; 40% nylon). Crew neckline with sheer lace. Belt at waist. Cascading ruffle detail on back skirt. Back button closure with keyhole opening. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

91 reviews

Fit
Small 13
True to Size 76
Large 2
Photos 28
Shannon
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Jan 26, 2012

LOVE. LOVE. LOVE.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Rented this dress for my engagement party Jan 21, 2012. I LOVED this dress! I received compliments on it all night. I loved the top lace neckline - no need for a necklace, just went with statement earrings instead. Dress fit true to size, verging on small. I was unable to wear a strapless bra with it, but didn't need to (the black portion of the dress was stiff/thick enough that I was fine without.) I would gladly rent this same dress again. I'm actually going to try to purchase it for myself. We'll see how that goes ... :)
Jen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Feb 13, 2012

WAY too long

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved everything about this dress other than the length. It looked so amazing on, and the back is beautiful. At my height, 5'2", It was jut too long - past my knees. A friend tried it on who is 5'6" and it was still way too long on her. Too bad because it is beautiful!
Lisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 56
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 168 lbs
Feb 19, 2012

Most beautiful dress ever

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was so exquisite. I felt like another person. I looked better than I ever have in my life! I usually wear a 10 but the 12 was perfect because I have a big chest. The dress is so beautiful. I wish I could own it. I looked younger, sexier and thinner!
Sue
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 124 lbs
Mar 17, 2012

Great dress if you have hips

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Surprisingly, the size 6 fit me great. Usually my hips push me into an 8, but this dress has more room in the hips than in the bust. If I had a larger bust, I would have had to wear the 8. Very flattering dress. The back has a great detail.
Rebecca
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
May 6, 2012

perfect!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Rented this dress for a semi-formal charity event (work related). Conservative enough to be comfortable around work colleagues but also a very pretty dress with the lace detail and fancy back. I ended up wearing a 0 which is not my real size. Am small-chested but my hip width is probably more typical for my height (5'7").
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
May 22, 2012

great for work event!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress and it was just the right amount of class and sexy. Fits like a glove. Really great back detail.
kim
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
May 24, 2012

perfect for the evening

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
stylish, well cut and made. i wore it to a work event. it feels current and work appropriate, but not conservative. love it!
Alli
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145 lbs
Jun 11, 2012

Classy dress, didn't fit

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I am a pretty regular size 8, but have to size up to a 10 sometimes to fit my rib cage. I ordered an 8 and the 10 wasn't available so I hoped the 8 would work. It didn't. It was definitely tight over my rib cage. I tend to carry any extra weight in my tummy but that wasn't the problem here. The intent was to wear it to a fancy work dinner and this dress would have been perfect. The lace detailing is beautiful and elegant. Had I purchased this dress, I would have gone for a 10 and had it taken in to fit my bottom half. Beautiful dress for the right body type. Maybe some day I'll have some ribs removed and I won't have this problem. Just kidding ;-)
Morgan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 22, 2012

Elegant and Comfortable

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Very comfortable. I received lots of compliments. This is the second time I have rented this dress---it's fabulous!
Amanda
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 132 lbs
Jul 14, 2012

Perfect

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I was maid of honor in my sister's wedding. This dress was beautiful, and bride approved with the simple lace gown she wore. This is the best fitting dress I've ever worn. Ever. Extremely well made. I received so many compliments, and always replied - "thanks! It's a rental" Then we would laugh & they would not believe me, and then I'd sing the praises of Rent the Runway. Thank you!
Allison
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 10, 2012

Perfect for a formal event

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to a wedding with an unclear dress code, and felt fantastic. It was a tight fit, but I think the sizing is spot on generally. I was able to wear a nude bra underneath and no one could tell. It was great for a night out dancing. I didn't love the ruffle on the back, but otherwise it was a simple, yet fantastically formal dress. The lacework was beautiful.
lulu
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Aug 17, 2012

elegant

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
awesome dress! comfortable fit and elegant details. i love the top lace on this dress. you may not be able to see it in the photos, but it has a little ruffle on the back side of the dress. it's very subtle though and adds to the dress. i wore it to a wedding and received many compliments. i had recently gained about 5 lbs and this dress was a great find because it wasnt oddly shaped or with difficult fabric. i felt classy in this dress. highly recommend!
Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Body type: Petite
Aug 21, 2012

Perfect LBD

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit great. I loved the crochet top, and it was the perfect length (not too short/not too long)
PMK
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 25, 2012

Dressy & Formal

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress blended in nicely at a formal wedding. It doesn't stand out, but it's fairly flattering. The lace overlay top was a bit saggy on me in the back, so I used the fashion tape to tuck it underneath. Worked out fine.
meg
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115 lbs
Aug 29, 2012

Loved this dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore it for a black tie work dinner. Felt very confident in it, I didn't want to feel overdressed, while still looking very formal/conservative. It fit like a dream. I still think about this dress, wish I owned it. Would consider renting again.
Ryan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 17, 2012

Beautiful dress but I thought the top was a little small.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a friend's wedding. It was beautiful however I did think the top of the dress was very narrow. I usually wear a 4 in a dress and ordered both the 4 and the 6 to try. Both dresses fit, however I couldn't zip either dress while wearing a strapless bra. I would definitely recommend this dress, but maybe not to someone who is curvy.
shelly
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 63
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 23, 2012

Lacy and very pretty. Made me feel special at a medical school graduation dinner

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
A little shorter than i usually wear, but with black hose and shoes, it was a simple sophisticated look
Kathleen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 30, 2012

Great dancing dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a 5:30 wedding and it was thee dress of the night. The back ruffle was so much fun on the dance floor!
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 10, 2012

Pretty dress overall but matronly.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It fit well size wise but it made my small bust look even smaller and it flattened out my butt. I have a pretty striaght figure so I like dresses that make me look curvy, this did not. Plus I think it could be a bit shorter. I am 5'6" and it came to the middle of my knees.
Angie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138 lbs
Oct 15, 2012

Amazing DRESS!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I had initially pre-ordered another dress and when I received it, neither size fit! I was in a huge state of panic. I called RTR to let them know I was returning both dresses and that neither fit. Serena(the rep) helped me go through dresses online that might be an option. I saw this dress and immediately thought it would be perfect unfortunately it said that my sizes were rented. Luckily Serena checked for me and by crazy luck, they had both. I had them overnighted got them the next day and the dress was PERFECT! I liked it better then the first dress I had ordered! I received tons of compliments!
KellyB
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Oct 17, 2012

very pretty detail

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was great! very pretty and conservative enough for a family wedding. my only issue was that it was a little long on me. I'm only 5'0 though so I should have expected it!
Amber
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 147 lbs
Oct 19, 2012

Beautiful

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Ladylike, understated and totally appropriate.
Cameo
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 22, 2012

Beauty in the details

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Loved this dress! Wore it to my husband's 15 year high school reunion, and it really could not have been more perfect. The lace overlay is gorgeous, as is the back detail. It's so much more special than your typical LBD and is appropriate for practically any type of event (business, black tie, semi-formal). The fit is very flattering; I felt comfortable all evening. I would purchase this dress in a second if it was still available from Milly. Rent it, you won't be disappointed!
Jillian
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Oct 29, 2012

In LOVE!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
So many people stopped to tell me how much they loved my dress! It's super classy and a little sassy and low cut in the back. You will have to wear a backless bra. It was a bit long on me, hit at my knee and I prefer right above the knee, but I am only 5'4. I was sad to send it back!
rjbrew
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 19, 2012

wore this to a wedding

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
small in the chest, but not so much so that you should wear a different size. Very elegant and classic looking
Katie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133 lbs
Nov 26, 2012

I rented this for an outdoor, family wedding in November. Very appropriate and comfortable!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Top was a bit snug but it fit perfectly! I normally wear a 4 so the 4 was the best choice (got a 6 as a back up). Bottom was looser and I felt very comfortable sitting, dancing, great length!
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 139 lbs
Dec 1, 2012

Dress fit perfect and I got many compliments on it all night.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit and quality of the dress were excellent, length was exactly what i wanted. I felt glamorous in my dress but was also comfortable in it all night long. I was extremely impressed by the great customer service i received from rent the runway. My dress was scheduled to arrive wednesday but was delayed due to ups vehicle issues. I received a phone call to let me know and to verify what day my event was on, someone was monitoring the issue with ups to make sure the dress would get to me on thursday, i was refunded the shipping for the inconvenience and was told that if the issue with ups was not resolved in time that another set of my dress would be overnighted to me. Rent the Runway customer service went above and beyond to ensure I had my dress in time and I was absolutely impressed by how it was all handled, plus i lovedddd the dress. I will definitely be using rent the runway again and telling all of my friends about it!
Nicole
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Dec 5, 2012

Too long

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
For a tall girl, it was not the most flattering cut, but the detailing was gorgeous!
Kerstin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 143 lbs
Dec 10, 2012

elegant LBD

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This is a beautiful dress! I ordered it as my back up dress, so did not actually wear it to the event, but may rent it again the the future to wear. It is nicely cut, and the lace overlay is like wearing a strapless dress without worrying that it will fall down. A strapless bra with a low back is necessary. It has a small ruffle in the back, but it is pretty small so it does not add a lot of volume to the back area. I am often between a size 6 or 8, and the 6 fit perfectly.
leah
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 55
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128 lbs
Dec 19, 2012

Great dress, got lots of compliments

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Loved this dress, fit well, very flattering. I have short legs, so it came to knee length which was fine.
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 20, 2012

Love this dress. Classic and comfortable.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The size 4 fit perfectly. The lace back and small lace bustle make this dress more formal than a standard LBD. The top was fitted enough that I didn't have to wear a bra. Would highly recommend this dress!
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 28, 2013

Classic LBD

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered this for a winter wedding reception. I was looking for a classic LBD, and the lace detail and back design make this one fun. Because it was winter, I wore this with black tights and black suede pumps.
LB
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 170 lbs
Mar 1, 2013

Perfect for a semi-formal wedding, the price of this rental is what makes RTR a great option!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to an out of town wedding and forgot a strapless bra, usually a huge issue as I'm 36D but went without and didn't have a problem. The length was perfect and the back ruffle was really fun. I would definitely rent this dress again! I usually wear a 10 but that was unavailable, I got the 12 and it was a little large but still looked good and fit comfortably.
Krystal
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Mar 4, 2013

Very pretty! Loved the lace and the back bow details!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this for my sisters sweet-15 party. I got so many compliments on this pretty dress. Everyone loved the back the best, but i really loved the lace detail in front. Super cute on, my only wish,(which is why its not a 5 Star review) is that it could have been a tad shorter on me than it was. OVERALL- Beautiful!
Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 21, 2013

This dress is so fun! It is timeless from the front with a bit of flare in the back!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was such a fun choice for a formal cocktail event I attended in NYC. From the front, the sheer illusion neck is very tasteful and the back adds a bit of flare. I thought the dress fit perfectly and would recommend anyone to rent it!
Becci
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 24, 2013

Gorgeous and comfortable

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit like a glove. It was beautiful and everyone wanted to know where it was from! I would absolutely recommend it!!
Kathleen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 5, 2013

No movement, but very classy and looked great in photos.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I am pear-sized and I wouldn't recommend this dress if you need to move, dance etc. There is no stretch in the dress so if you have hips and want to dance at your event, I would recommend something with a little more movement. Otherwise the dress was great and looked great in pictures! I was getting compliments all night!
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Apr 26, 2013

perfect wedding dress. not too short on a 5'7" frame.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
this dress was perfect for an evening wedding. the length made it appropriate and allowed m to wear heels without showing off too much leg, yet the top was still delicate and pretty. It was not tight but I did not feel frumpy at all. very comfortable overall. I thought the lace "tail" on the back was a little odd, but didn't stop me from loving it.
Melanie
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103 lbs
May 3, 2013

Disappointed in the fit

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wanted to love this dress; in fact, I loved it--except for one important thing. The lace connects in the back with a button hook by the nape of the neck, and the excess material bunched out by my upper back (too much material). Had I been planning to wear a pashmina or cardigan all night, I think I would've still worn the dress, because it fit beautifully everywhere else. But short women likely will have a problem with the lace/sheer fabric bunching and ruining what otherwise is a gorgeous look! I went with the Lilly "Beauty Within" Dress and was really happy with it! Definitely recommend ordering a back-up dress if you plan to order the Milly dress and are petite like me.
Suz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128 lbs
May 3, 2013

I received a lot of compliments!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
It's a beautiful dress! I loved the lace across the top and back of dress. Very figure flattering!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×