Rent the Runway

Milly

Lace Illusion Flutter Dress

$59 to buy
$470 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Rent this classic Milly lace sheath for a wedding or cocktail party you are throwing. Show off how great you look to your friends by adding a set of bangles like Chamak by Priya Kakkar's Arabian Nights Bangle Set.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black floral lace(60% cotton; 40% nylon). Crew neckline with sheer lace. Belt at waist. Cascading ruffle detail on back skirt. Back button closure with keyhole opening. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

91 reviews

Fit
Small 13
True to Size 76
Large 2
Photos 28
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 122 lbs
Nov 17, 2011

All the amazing compliments I received on the dress and bracelet!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for a weekend with 2 events - a Friday night wedding and a Saturday night black-tie event. It was perfect for both events - I have never received so many compliments on a dress! I wore black stockings, black patent pumps, and the Kenneth Jay Lane Ganesha bangle. Overall, I loved the dress. I used a stick-on bra since the keyhole back is pretty low and my strapless bra seemed to peek out, and I knew I'd be dancing and didn't want it to show. The dress was super comfy, very flattering in terms of cut and shape, and seemed to be good quality! I would definitely rent it again!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 114 lbs
Dec 28, 2011

The best moment was when a senior manager told me how great I looked in this dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I LOVED this dress! I want to buy it! I rented the 0 and it fit beautifully. I wore it to work (with an ivory cardigan) and received compliments on how good I looked and then went directly to my brother's wedding rehearsal and dinner (sans cardigan). And to drinks after dinner. I felt fabulous all day and well past midnight! If only I hadn't forgotten the Ganesha bangle in the morning.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
May 2, 2012

I had so many people ask me where I brought the dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit exactly as I imagined it would and was in great shape when it arrived. No pulls, etc on the lace overlay! I received so many compliments on this dress.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Body type: Pear
Aug 20, 2012

I received so many compliments, I had to rent it twice!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Love this dress! I rented it for my cousin's black tie wedding and it was a big hit. I got so many compliments! I found that the dress was a little too low cut in the back to wear a strapless bra so I just bought the stick on cups, which worked fine. I found the dress to be true to size. I wear a size 8 and the dress size 8 worked perfectly.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126 lbs
Oct 10, 2012

Nice for a semi-casual wedding!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I got so many compliments on my dress! I was nervous about it because everything else was rented out so this was a last resort but I actually ended up liking it a lot! I thought I would need the 6 but the 4 fit better.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 17, 2012

Very Flattering!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Got lots of compliments! This dress was perfect for a K St. business function. It was conservative enough for me not to feel like I was clubbing it with partners, but the length was right and the lace detail made it very fashionable. I wore the 6 without a bra (scandalous!) the night of the party and it was fitted, but I wore the 8 the night before at a nice meal (a little more wiggle room). I would say if you have a larger bust, go the size you normally wear or a size up. I'm not particularly blessed in that area, soooo. But a great dress!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Oct 23, 2012

I wore this to a formal reception. Everyone loved it and wanted to know where I got it!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fabric is more of a gauzy type than it looks in the picture which surprised me but was not a problem. It fit absolutely perfectly. I am 6 feet tall and I always have to worry about getting my dresses to an appropriate length and this length was fabulous.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Oct 27, 2012

This dress is very simple but the beauty is in the details.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Beautiful detail - sheer panel on front, open on back and the cut-out lace panel down the back. Very comfortable fit except the one I rented had a loose metal clasp that dug into my back all night. Just a very classic, beautiful dress.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 9, 2012

Perfect for a winter wedding!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this with black tights and maroon wedges - really cute and comfy. Could be dressed up or down. Length was suitable for a tall girl. Nice alternative to the standard LBD.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 28, 2012

Perfect for a wedding!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I felt totally comfortable in this dress all night long. The top is gorgeous and can be worn to a dressy cocktail party or a black tie affair. I wish I owned this dress!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 31, 2012

Such a beautiful and flattering dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Love the detail and the back!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150 lbs
Apr 22, 2013

Fun, flirty dress perfect for weddings, cocktail parties, and fundraising events!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Chose this dress after reading all the positive reviews from other renters for a black tie fundraiser. Snug in the top and low in the back so I was unable to wear a bra. I am 5'10 and the dress was a great length, ending just above my knees. Many complements throughout the evening. Could sit comfortably during the dinner portion of the evening and eat. Recommend to anyone looking for a upgrade to the LBD!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
May 28, 2013

This was a perfect little black dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress fit perfect - very true to size. I would recommend sizing up as your second size if you have a medium to large chest - that is where it could get a little snug. I would absolutely buy this dress!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 158 lbs
Jun 12, 2013

It's a perfect black dress. Lots of complements!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
A little tight in the bust
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Apple
Jun 30, 2013

Not the dress for me. :-(

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This was my back-up dress, and I ended up not wearing it. Even so, the dress did not fit my body shape well.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jul 23, 2013

This dress was really comfortable and cute.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit was perfect, and I thought it had a great balance: sexy and classy. I wore it to a Friday evening wedding, and the color and style were right on point.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122 lbs
Sep 5, 2013

Beautiful dress for a wedding or cocktail party

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress in ivory after my wedding two years ago so I had a good sense of how it would fit and as expected, the 4 fit just right. The cut is flattering and the design is beautiful and classy. Dress arrived on time and in perfect condition.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 5, 2013

Fit like a glove!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
On the hanger it looked a little heavy, especially for a March wedding, but it was actually perfect for the occassion!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158 lbs
Sep 18, 2013

Classic

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fitted, not much stretch. Perfect length.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 143 lbs
Oct 8, 2013

Fit like a glove, felt confident all night long!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is even more fabulous in person. Very classy
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 14, 2013

I met my (now) boyfriend in this dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved everything about this dress. It was classy enough for the formal affair I was going to, but still cute and fun!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 16, 2013

fit like a glove!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I LOVE this dress so much, wish I could buy it. I needed a dress for a "black tie optional wedding" and rented a 12 and a 10 since reviews said it had no give in the hips. The 10 fit perfectly and I felt great in it. Slightly rode up when seated, but not enough to be bothersome. Can't wait to rent it again!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Nov 14, 2013

I had over 20 people come up to me & ask me "Where Did I get that AMAZING Dress?!" Wonderful day!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Dress stayed true to its form. I had wonderful comments all night - from the moment I took the dress out of the bag till the end of leaving the wedding. I could not wear a bra with it, and it was during a bitter cold wedding in Wisconsin. But it didn't matter & didn't affect anything (you couldn't see anything). I want to rent this dress over & over again.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 21, 2013

Love this LBD! The ruffle in the back is so fun and the fit is very flattering

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my back up dress, but it was perfect for the wedding I went to. I paired it with a gold belt and flats and danced the night away! The top opening was a little big, but otherwise it he fit was fine. Would definitely rent again.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 1, 2013

Classy and elegant, but with gorgeous details.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit beautifully, received numerous compliments, felt pretty. A winner!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133 lbs
Dec 2, 2013

A little too tight for comfort.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress was nice but didn't have enough give for me to be comfortable all evening. It felt a little small for the size. The detail in the back was nice though. I ended up going with the other dress that I received as an alternate.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107 lbs
Jan 2, 2014

Just the right amount of wow!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was my backup dress and luckily the 0 fit me perfect. It is very fitted in the waist and after sitting through dinner and eating it was more noticeable to me. My only regret was using this dress for a dinner party because the back it where it's at. The waterfall accent was beautiful. I almost wish his came in another color to make it more wow! Con- was a little long in torso so my bra showed just a bit where the zipper ended, and the top of my bra showed in front. Not at all noticeable with a black bra (i'm also very short). As someone else reviewed the back being loose between the zipper and button, yes it was, but does not effect the dress at all.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117 lbs
Jan 15, 2014

Comfort and Class

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for an event where I needed to be comfortable. It served it's purpose well! Loved wearing it!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 126 lbs
Feb 10, 2014

Perfect for work dinner!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress is very flattering on. The size two was just a bit too tight in the hips for me. I'm 5'4" and the dress hits me right above the knee. It's easy to put on and zip up by yourself.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 10, 2014

The lace detail was really nice and it was very appropriate for a formal work event.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I got both the 4 and 6 and I couldn't even zip the 4. It was very fitted in the torso, so keep that in mind when ordering. Great dress and I got a lot of compliments so I would still order it again!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 26, 2014

I am renting this again!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This is a super classy, comfortable dress. You do need a strapless bra and it runs a bit small. I'm an 8 and the 10 was perfect. I am renting this again.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 56
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
May 6, 2014

Back-up dress that didn't work for me

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This was a beautifully made dress, with a back that was even more interesting than the front. The photos on the site don't do it justice. However, unless you are a narrow body type, I would suggest ordering up a size. This was my back-up dress, and although it was the same size and designer as the dress I wore (the Milly Sara), it ran very tight through the waist and hips for my body type. I will try it again in the next size up for another occasion, because it really is an interesting LBD with a "kick"!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
May 22, 2014

Perfect little black dress but with a unique decorative top.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Something a little different for a traditional black cocktail dress, with the sheer decorative top. I wore this to a wedding in Oklahoma with a little red lipstick and called it good. Felt super comfortable all night and chic at the same time. Would highly recommend to a friend, or rent again. My fiance liked it as well.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 129 lbs
Jun 25, 2014

Great dress :) fit the occassion

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
#christmasparty great dress love milly
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jun 29, 2014

Fits just fine. I got a fair number of compliments, but I didn't love it.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress is comfortable, but that ruffle on the back just kind of hangs there limply, and you MUST iron it before wearing, or it will just lay there looking sad. Other people liked it, I thought it was serviceable.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130 lbs
Jun 30, 2014

Little black dress with pretty details.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a cocktail attire wedding. It looked great out of the box. It seemed newer and in better shape than the last RTR dress I rented. The size 6 was so tight in the waist I couldn't get it zipped. The size 8 fit better, but was a little big in the shoulders, so the lace piece on top fit very loosely. Overall I liked the dress and I felt great in it.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Aug 13, 2014

Cute details

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I didn't end up wearing this dress because it didn't really accentuate my natural curves. It was very cute and the lace was great, but not best for a curvy lady with hips.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 9, 2014

Dress it up or down

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a murder mystery party with the local young professionals group. It was not too tight or short for a professional event. I wore it once to an after work social with a cardigan and flats and dressed it up with chandelier earrings and pumps for the party. After I sent it back, it went on clearance on rtr, and I couldn't wait to get it back.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165 lbs
Sep 10, 2014

Twist on the classic LBD

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this for a semi-formal work fundraiser. The slit in the back was higher than I expected - it rode up quite a bit when I sat down or bent over... I felt a little more "exposed' than I was comfortable with.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133 lbs
Feb 23, 2015

Not for Petites!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Rented for a party, but the dimensions were matronly on me. Went with a LBD from my own closet.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×