You are masquerading as ! (switch back)
| REVIEWS |
 
| MY BAG
 

FREE SHIPPING + INSURANCE
What's this?

Rent like a PRO all year long! One year of
free shipping & insurance. Plus, we'll throw in
a free birthday dress. Learn More

Our Runway
What's New
Dresses
Accessories
Occasions
Designers
Stores
Blog
Lace Illusion Flutter Dress
Rental $45 Retail $345
info
  • Stylist Notes
  • Product Details
  • Size & Fit
Rent this classic Milly lace sheath for a wedding or cocktail party you are throwing. Show off how great you look to your friends by adding a set of bangles like Chamak by Priya Kakkar's Arabian Nights Bangle Set.
Chat with a Stylist
Black floral lace(60% cotton; 40% nylon). Crew neckline with sheer lace. Belt at waist. Cascading ruffle detail on back skirt. Back button closure with keyhole opening. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.
Chat with a Stylist
This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Chat with a Stylist
  • Enter your shipping zip code
  • Select size
    Select free 2nd size
  • Select the day you'd like your dress to arrive
    We recommend you select a rental start date 1-2 days before your event.
    Renting for Thanksgiving weekend? Enjoy an extended rental on us! Rent for 11/27 and return 12/1.
    • Start Date
    • Mail Back
    • Unavailable
    • *No delivery on Sundays
Got A Minute? Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Photos20

0 Reviews from women like you:

Enter more for better results

leah
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 54
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5623
Dec 19, 2012
Great dress, got lots of compliments
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Loved this dress, fit well, very flattering. I have short legs, so it came to knee length which was fine.
Kerstin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 143 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6644
Dec 10, 2012
elegant LBD
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This is a beautiful dress! I ordered it as my back up dress, so did not actually wear it to the event, but may rent it again the the future to wear. It is nicely cut, and the lace overlay is like wearing a strapless dress without worrying that it will fall down. A strapless bra with a low back is necessary. It has a small ruffle in the back, but it is pretty small so it does not add a lot of volume to the back area. I am often between a size 6 or 8, and the 6 fit perfectly.
Nicole
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Canonical User Type: 8343
Dec 5, 2012
Too long
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
For a tall girl, it was not the most flattering cut, but the detailing was gorgeous!
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 4433
Dec 1, 2012
Dress fit perfect and I got many compliments on it all night.
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit and quality of the dress were excellent, length was exactly what i wanted. I felt glamorous in my dress but was also comfortable in it all night long. I was extremely impressed by the great customer service i received from rent the runway. My dress was scheduled to arrive wednesday but was delayed due to ups vehicle issues. I received a phone call to let me know and to verify what day my event was on, someone was monitoring the issue with ups to make sure the dress would get to me on thursday, i was refunded the shipping for the inconvenience and was told that if the issue with ups was not resolved in time that another set of my dress would be overnighted to me. Rent the Runway customer service went above and beyond to ensure I had my dress in time and I was absolutely impressed by how it was all handled, plus i lovedddd the dress. I will definitely be using rent the runway again and telling all of my friends about it!
Katie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4634
Nov 26, 2012
I rented this for an outdoor, family wedding in November. Very appropriate and comfortable!!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Top was a bit snug but it fit perfectly! I normally wear a 4 so the 4 was the best choice (got a 6 as a back up). Bottom was looser and I felt very comfortable sitting, dancing, great length!
rjbrew
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 6533
Nov 19, 2012
wore this to a wedding
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
small in the chest, but not so much so that you should wear a different size. Very elegant and classic looking
Jillian
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2532
Oct 29, 2012
In LOVE!
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
So many people stopped to tell me how much they loved my dress! It's super classy and a little sassy and low cut in the back. You will have to wear a backless bra. It was a bit long on me, hit at my knee and I prefer right above the knee, but I am only 5'4. I was sad to send it back!
Cameo
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4533
Oct 22, 2012
Beauty in the details
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Loved this dress! Wore it to my husband's 15 year high school reunion, and it really could not have been more perfect. The lace overlay is gorgeous, as is the back detail. It's so much more special than your typical LBD and is appropriate for practically any type of event (business, black tie, semi-formal). The fit is very flattering; I felt comfortable all evening. I would purchase this dress in a second if it was still available from Milly. Rent it, you won't be disappointed!
Amber
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 147 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6544
Oct 19, 2012
Beautiful
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Ladylike, understated and totally appropriate.
KellyB
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2523
Oct 17, 2012
very pretty detail
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was great! very pretty and conservative enough for a family wedding. my only issue was that it was a little long on me. I'm only 5'0 though so I should have expected it!
Angie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5534
Oct 15, 2012
Amazing DRESS!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I had initially pre-ordered another dress and when I received it, neither size fit! I was in a huge state of panic. I called RTR to let them know I was returning both dresses and that neither fit. Serena(the rep) helped me go through dresses online that might be an option. I saw this dress and immediately thought it would be perfect unfortunately it said that my sizes were rented. Luckily Serena checked for me and by crazy luck, they had both. I had them overnighted got them the next day and the dress was PERFECT! I liked it better then the first dress I had ordered! I received tons of compliments!
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5533
Oct 10, 2012
Pretty dress overall but matronly.
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It fit well size wise but it made my small bust look even smaller and it flattened out my butt. I have a pretty striaght figure so I like dresses that make me look curvy, this did not. Plus I think it could be a bit shorter. I am 5'6" and it came to the middle of my knees.
Kathleen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5433
Sep 30, 2012
Great dancing dress!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a 5:30 wedding and it was thee dress of the night. The back ruffle was so much fun on the dance floor!
shelly
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 62
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 8621
Sep 23, 2012
Lacy and very pretty. Made me feel special at a medical school graduation dinner
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
A little shorter than i usually wear, but with black hose and shoes, it was a simple sophisticated look
Ryan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4434
Sep 17, 2012
Beautiful dress but I thought the top was a little small.
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a friend's wedding. It was beautiful however I did think the top of the dress was very narrow. I usually wear a 4 in a dress and ordered both the 4 and the 6 to try. Both dresses fit, however I couldn't zip either dress while wearing a strapless bra. I would definitely recommend this dress, but maybe not to someone who is curvy.
meg
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2533
Aug 29, 2012
Loved this dress
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore it for a black tie work dinner. Felt very confident in it, I didn't want to feel overdressed, while still looking very formal/conservative. It fit like a dream. I still think about this dress, wish I owned it. Would consider renting again.
PMK
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5531
Aug 25, 2012
Dressy & Formal
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress blended in nicely at a formal wedding. It doesn't stand out, but it's fairly flattering. The lace overlay top was a bit saggy on me in the back, so I used the fashion tape to tuck it underneath. Worked out fine.
Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 2431
Aug 21, 2012
Perfect LBD
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit great. I loved the crochet top, and it was the perfect length (not too short/not too long)
lulu
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4433
Aug 17, 2012
elegant
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
awesome dress! comfortable fit and elegant details. i love the top lace on this dress. you may not be able to see it in the photos, but it has a little ruffle on the back side of the dress. it's very subtle though and adds to the dress. i wore it to a wedding and received many compliments. i had recently gained about 5 lbs and this dress was a great find because it wasnt oddly shaped or with difficult fabric. i felt classy in this dress. highly recommend!
Allison
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 8434
Aug 10, 2012
Perfect for a formal event
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to a wedding with an unclear dress code, and felt fantastic. It was a tight fit, but I think the sizing is spot on generally. I was able to wear a nude bra underneath and no one could tell. It was great for a night out dancing. I didn't love the ruffle on the back, but otherwise it was a simple, yet fantastically formal dress. The lacework was beautiful.
Amanda
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 132 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6633
Jul 14, 2012
Perfect
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I was maid of honor in my sister's wedding. This dress was beautiful, and bride approved with the simple lace gown she wore. This is the best fitting dress I've ever worn. Ever. Extremely well made. I received so many compliments, and always replied - "thanks! It's a rental" Then we would laugh & they would not believe me, and then I'd sing the praises of Rent the Runway. Thank you!
Morgan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 7443
Jun 22, 2012
Elegant and Comfortable
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Very comfortable. I received lots of compliments. This is the second time I have rented this dress---it's fabulous!
Alli
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6533
Jun 11, 2012
Classy dress, didn't fit
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I am a pretty regular size 8, but have to size up to a 10 sometimes to fit my rib cage. I ordered an 8 and the 10 wasn't available so I hoped the 8 would work. It didn't. It was definitely tight over my rib cage. I tend to carry any extra weight in my tummy but that wasn't the problem here. The intent was to wear it to a fancy work dinner and this dress would have been perfect. The lace detailing is beautiful and elegant. Had I purchased this dress, I would have gone for a 10 and had it taken in to fit my bottom half. Beautiful dress for the right body type. Maybe some day I'll have some ribs removed and I won't have this problem. Just kidding ;-)
kim
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5633
May 24, 2012
perfect for the evening
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
stylish, well cut and made. i wore it to a work event. it feels current and work appropriate, but not conservative. love it!
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Canonical User Type: 4543
May 22, 2012
great for work event!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress and it was just the right amount of class and sexy. Fits like a glove. Really great back detail.
Rebecca
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4532
May 6, 2012
perfect!
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Rented this dress for a semi-formal charity event (work related). Conservative enough to be comfortable around work colleagues but also a very pretty dress with the lace detail and fancy back. I ended up wearing a 0 which is not my real size. Am small-chested but my hip width is probably more typical for my height (5'7").
Sue
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5633
Mar 17, 2012
Great dress if you have hips
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Surprisingly, the size 6 fit me great. Usually my hips push me into an 8, but this dress has more room in the hips than in the bust. If I had a larger bust, I would have had to wear the 8. Very flattering dress. The back has a great detail.
Lisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 55
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 168 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7633
Feb 19, 2012
Most beautiful dress ever
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was so exquisite. I felt like another person. I looked better than I ever have in my life! I usually wear a 10 but the 12 was perfect because I have a big chest. The dress is so beautiful. I wish I could own it. I looked younger, sexier and thinner!
Jen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Canonical User Type: 6424
Feb 13, 2012
WAY too long
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved everything about this dress other than the length. It looked so amazing on, and the back is beautiful. At my height, 5'2", It was jut too long - past my knees. A friend tried it on who is 5'6" and it was still way too long on her. Too bad because it is beautiful!
Shannon
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6423
Jan 26, 2012
LOVE. LOVE. LOVE.
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Rented this dress for my engagement party Jan 21, 2012. I LOVED this dress! I received compliments on it all night. I loved the top lace neckline - no need for a necklace, just went with statement earrings instead. Dress fit true to size, verging on small. I was unable to wear a strapless bra with it, but didn't need to (the black portion of the dress was stiff/thick enough that I was fine without.) I would gladly rent this same dress again. I'm actually going to try to purchase it for myself. We'll see how that goes ... :)
Elsa
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 5531
Jan 15, 2012
Loved the dress
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a winter wedding. Loved it from the moment I put it on. I had a baby 4 months ago and I am still loosing the baby weight but wearing this dress made me feel so secure and confident about my body! It was comfortable the entire night.
Lydia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 61
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Canonical User Type: 8633
Dec 9, 2011
Channeling "Mad Men"
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Oh, how I wish I had been able to wear this dress size 12. It runs small, and being between two sizes right now, I needed a 14. Alas! The back is the best part! The lace gives this dress a vintage feel with modern look.
Elisa
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Canonical User Type: 4533
Dec 6, 2011
Classy, elegant dress!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress for a winter wedding with bare legs and platform pumps. It was easy to dance in. I am glad I got a size up as my normal size was tight around my bust. Would definitely rent again!
LC
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 5541
Nov 21, 2011
Great for work event!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I wore this to a fundraiser with some of my company's biggest clients. It was understated, yet had interesting details. I received a number of compliments and felt beautiful! I wore the 8 (which is my normal size) and it felt a bit tighter than I'd like.
kac612
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2422
Nov 4, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
I rented this dress for a fall wedding and it was perfect! I got a size 0 and a size 2 and the size 0 fit perfectly. It fell right to my knees and with heels it looked just right. Just like the other reviews this pictures do not do this dress justice the back makes the whole dress! I will be renting this dress again!
RC
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 2433
Nov 2, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
I loved this dress, it was perfect for a fall wedding this past weekend. It was a little loose on top but not so much that I felt uncomfortable. Would rent it again in a heartbeat!
Cristina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Canonical User Type: 5424
Oct 27, 2011
Classy Dress!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
THIS DRESS IS GORGEOUS! The model doesn't even do it justice. I have big boobs and most of my fat accumulates around my mid-section. This dress hid all my imperfections and I looked great! I got compliments all night long. I attended a work gala and found that I looked sophisticated and classy. The dress is also very sexy. The intricate lace design is gorgeous. I was worried about the length because I'm short so I bought 5inch heels to balance it out.
Katie
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 40
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 1541
Oct 24, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
I rented this dress for an evening wedding. It is very flattering and fit true to size. It is a classic design with a bit of whimsy in the back.
CH
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6434
Oct 16, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
I wore this dress to a wedding. I felt that sizing was right on. I'm usually a 6 dress size (5'7" and 140lbs), and the 6 fit perfectly. This dress was comfortable and supportive enough - there is some very mild boning in the bodice. The hem hit at my knees and the dress looked great with heels! The only issue I had was that the lace had been pulled on the front upon arrival. It wasn't super visible because the dress is black lace on black lining, but annoying nonetheless. The ruffle in back is subtle, but cute. I enjoyed wearing this dress!
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 4431
Oct 2, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented this dress for a wedding this weekend and got so many compliments - everyone wanted to know where I got my dresss! The lace detailing is beautiful! It hit right at my knee, which was great for a rather conservative family event. I rented both the 4 and the 6, as I'm usually between the two, but went with the 6 as the 4 was too snug. It might be a good idea to size up for your extra size. Overall great dress!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×
×
Save at least $14.95 on every order and rent like a pro all year long. Details
  • free shipping
  • free insurance
  • free birthday dress