Milly

Flutter Away Dress

$47 rental
$470 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Strut your stuff in this Milly one shoulder ruffle dress at the cocktail party and have everyone in awe of your stylish looks! Go with gold accessories like the House of Harlow 1960's Gold Textured Cuff, Kate Spade's Flicker Gold Monette Clutch, and the Erickson Beamon's Gold Digger Ring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a strapless bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with adjustable tie belt
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted on hips and backside - may be more fitted on full hips so consider sizing up in back-up size
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a strapless bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with adjustable tie belt
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted on hips and backside - may be more fitted on full hips so consider sizing up in back-up size
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Orange jacquard silk(95% silk; 5% spandex). One shoulder neckline. Cascading ruffles down center front and at shoulder. Self tie belt at waist. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 37'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

100 reviews

Fit
Small 12
True to Size 84
Large 3
Photos 43
Hannah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Jan 3, 2012

A compliment from a female bartender

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I usually wear neutral blacks, greys and tans but wanted to celebrate New Year's in something totally different. Received a ton of compliments and was exactly what I was looking for. Perfect length and showed the right amount of skin for the party I attended. Highly Recommend.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Aug 29, 2012

Perfect summer dress

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Got so many complements on this dress. It is really comfortable and lightweight. My husband liked it so much he said I should buy it! I might!
Rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 4, 2012

Pretty summer dress

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
When I called RTR panicking because nothing else fit, this was one that the stylist recommended. I have to say this was not my favorite. The hips are very fitted and the fabric flutters are not very flattering for curves. This is probably best for straight/narrow body types.
Courtney
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 7, 2012

Never even got to wear it.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The size itself fit, but the interior slip runs small so it was just overall very uncomfortable. Couldn't wear it for the event I rented it for and unfortunately only got one size, had to wear an old dress of mine. Too bad as it's a lovely colour.
Julie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 13, 2012

I wore this to my friend's rehearsal dinner- absolutely loved it!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit great, amazing color, lots of compliments!
Malorie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Sep 14, 2012

I absolutely loved this dress. It was the perfect early fall style!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress. It is a rich color, and I got many compliments.
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 18, 2012

Beautiful party dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to a rehearsal dinner, and received so many compliments on it. The color is a shade more red than orange. I normally wear a size 4, but wore the size 6 in this style. The neckline is a tad snug--perfect for a small bust!
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Sep 19, 2012

Bold and romantic

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this tangerine stunner to a friends wedding about 10 weeks post baby and it was the perfect dress! It highlighted my waist and was forgiving elsewhere. The color was bold and perfect for a spring wedding. I got tons of compliments - which is always nice to hear, especially when you are a new mom! You can't really go wrong with Milly in my eyes.
Little Lou
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110 lbs
Sep 19, 2012

Adorable dress and impeccable customer service!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is so adorable that I wanted to rush out and buy it! It is more of a day dress than an evening dress - the fabric is light and flowy. The color is more orangy/coral than I think it looks in the picture. This was my backup dress and really wasn't formal enough for the event, but the the fit was great and so I went with it. I received tons of compliments anyway! The dresses that I rented came in a day late rather than the day I requested, and I wasn't able to wear the dress for one of the events I intended. But RTR made it up to me. Great customer service!
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 19, 2012

Great post wedding fancy brunch dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Very flattering and flirty. Could also easily be worn to more dressy events. Great color!
Mehgan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Sep 25, 2012

fun, flattering dress

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
the dress style was good and would fit most nicely. i ordered the 10 and the 12 and ended up wearing the 12 - i am usually an 8/10. the bottom was a bit snug on me. also, i noticed a smell in the armpit that others have commented one. i thought that it was me at first, then i realized it was just the dress. the rental fit the purpose and looked good, but i wouldn't rent this dress again or buy it.
Nikki
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Sep 27, 2012

Perfect Summer Wedding

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress for a wedding I attended in the Summer. I wanted to wear Clemson-orange for the bride and groom (Clemson grads) and this color was perfect. The length was great and I was comfortable all night. Great one-shoulder style.
Allison
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 1, 2012

Very pretty

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my back up dress, so I didnt get a chance to wear it anywhere. But tried it on and wore it around the house while deciding which one I liked better. The foil accent of leaves looked very pretty and made the dress pop just enough so you stand out. Took me a minute to figure out how to make the wrap look good with the dress, but overall the dress was great.
Meredith
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136 lbs
Oct 1, 2012

This dress was gorgeous. I felt like a million bucks and it was the perfect bright red color!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
At the time (now preggo), I wore a size 4 (hourglass figure, 34D, 27 inch waist) and fit perfect. It was a tad snug in the hip/butt area, but not uncomfortable and I didn't have the wrinkling that some people were complaining about. If you have an hourglass figure and/or some hips/butt, you should probably order a backup size higher than you think you'll need. I find that wrinkling in the front lap area tends to happen when the dress is just a teeny bit too tight (you can stand, but when sitting the material gets real snug). I highly recommend this dress. Wore it with gold earrings, black wedges, and hair pulled back into a wavy ponytail - looked great!
katie
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 5, 2012

Very cute but may not be dress cut for curvy women.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Very pretty color and cut but may be better on more slender, straight shaped women.
Megan
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165 lbs
Dec 28, 2012

Great fit. Easy to move around in!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
A little ruffly for me--made me look a little bigger.
Sierra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 30, 2012

Dress was damaged and looked different than online. Had a Salsa flair, wasn't me.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Rented this dress for a sorority cocktail/pre-formal. The pattern was much more distinct in person (looked like a bunch of lips, almost cheetah print of sorts). Didn't love the color as much as I thought (was more red than orange/poppy). The dress was stained and didn't have the belt included. Luckily, RTR's awesome customer service let me pick out a different dress and sent it overnight.
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 4, 2013

The dress was beautiful!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress is actually has a bit of orange to it... a really lovely color!
Catherine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 122 lbs
Jan 27, 2013

GORGEOUS color - loved the one shoulder, and very unique! Would definitely rent again!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I felt that this dress was a great fit for a variety of occasions. I ended up wearing it to a black-tie event, and it was perfect. I have larger hips compared to the rest of my body, so the tie at the waist accentuated my waist without making my hips look big. I also thought the one should was fun and made the attention be drawn to the top of the dress instead of the bottom. Highly recommend and love the subtle flower print throughout.
Kristina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110 lbs
Feb 4, 2013

Cute dress, fun color!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress as a backup for a wedding but didn't end up wearing it because I loved the other RTR dress so much. However, it was very cute and seemed to run true to size. I wasn't a huge fan of the wrinkle-prone material but loved the color.
Lindsay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Feb 6, 2013

A little too much going on...

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress has a great silhouette, but the combination of the one-shoulder silhouette, the ruffle down the side, and the print on the dress there was just a lot going on. I rented this for an engagement party and could have worn it there, but opted out due to the overall look of the dress. Additionally, I'm pretty tall with long legs and the belt didn't fall at my waistline properly.
Lola
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 13, 2013

stunning!!!!!!!!!!!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I could wear this dress over and over!! the fit is great, comfortable and makes you look slimmer!!!!!! doesn't get any better does it???
Kathryn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
May 6, 2013

Beautiful dress.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was my back-up dress, so i didn't actually get to wear it to my event because I loved my first choice. However, i did love this dress and it did make the decision difficult. I would certainly rent this dress again and use it as a first choice.
Morgan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Full Bust
May 6, 2013

A cute dress, but be aware of how short it really is!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for a bridal shower. It was comfortable, but I didn't like the belt at all. If I had thought ahead and packed a different belt I would have used that. This dress is short on anyone. I went up a size because I didn't want it to be tight (I have a booty) and I felt like it was just too short to be appropriate for a shower, which I didn't realize until I tried it on. If you rent the dress, make sure to steam it or let it hang while you are in the shower, or something because it was incredibly wrinkled.
DressRenter
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
May 8, 2013

Loved this dress! Fun color, fit well, and got lots of compliments.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Dress fit really well - wasn't too loose on top, the belt helped cinch at the waist, and the length wasn't too short. Despite packing it in a suitcase, it also wasn't really wrinkled or static-y. Would definitely recommend it to others.
A
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Jun 12, 2013

Bright color!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Lovely coral color, really pops with a bright accessory.
Catherine
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Jul 8, 2013

returned

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
unflattering on my body shape
Jennifer
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Body type: Pear
Jul 10, 2013

great customer service and the packaging was awesome!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
fit great and was very flattering
Sara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 3, 2013

Great color & fabric!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was a fun dress - great color, nice flirty detail with the ruffles, pretty fabric - my only complaint is that there's a slit along the ruffle at the hem and mine was not sewn properly so it kept flipping open, looking awkward and revealing the lining. I was able to safety pin the ruffle over it to keep it in place and cover it up so it wasn't a huge deal but kind of annoying when you're paying to rent a "designer" dress!
LG
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Aug 7, 2013

Super flattering, great color!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was comfortable and versatile--I loved the color best and the cut was really flattering!
Alice
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 20, 2013

Beautiful color and details!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved the color of the dress, it was very unique and made me stand out. Note that it is a bit different from the photo, it definitely is a little more red. I personally thought that the sizing was fine, but if you have a large bust or hip, you'll want to size up to see if a larger size fits better. Sometimes the covered shoulder looked a bit strange because the ruffle there opens right at the shoulder, so just be careful to adjust it before a photo. The sash added the perfect pretty touch to this dress! I received many compliments throughout the entire event!
Laurel
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 195 lbs
Sep 13, 2013

Got so many compliments on the color and design!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I thought this dress fit like a glove. I love the way it was designed, it has a very slimming effect. I was able to dance and move freely throughout the evening and never once felt like it was tight or anything. Definitely recommend it!
bmoregal
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Sep 24, 2013

Perfect for a summer wedding on the Cape!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Dress fit true to size, was comfortable all night long. Got a ton of compliments!
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Jan 15, 2014

Pretty color

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress to wear to a party but didn't end up wearing it because I couldn't get the ruffles to look as good as they look in the pictures and it made my shoulders look funny.
Sami
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 25, 2014

I wore this dress for a girls' night out (drinks, dinner, dancing). I got lots of attention!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Even though many reviewers said the dress runs small, I found it fit pretty true to size. I almost always wear a size 2, and the 2 fit perfectly. It wasn't too short on me (I'm 5'4") but wasn't awkwardly long, either. The only thing I wasn't a fan of was the belt, so I just didn't wear it. (That's the only reason I gave it 4/5 stars instead of 5/5.) The belt loops are just strings, so they weren't super noticeable. Overall, I had a great time wearing this dress!
kimberly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
May 2, 2014

Loved it! Fun and flattering

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this for a formal event in June. The dress was perfect. The fit was wonderful and flattering and the fabric has a nice detail to it. The color was great and perfect for a summer event. Loved it!
Ali
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
May 12, 2014

Loved the one shoulder/ruffle! Such a fun bright dress!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great dress, fits true to size, is a little shorter than I had gathered from others. But be mindful that I am 5'11" with very long legs. The ruffle down the front runs down to the hem but also hides that there is a little 4-5" slit, making it feel even shorter. I wore it and got many compliments! RTR was a seamless experience and I have already rented another dress for a wedding next weekend!
Julie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134 lbs
Jun 9, 2014

Fit is nice, but fabric snags

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this for my own wedding rehearsal dinner but ended up not wearing it because there was a thread snag in the front of the dress. The fit is cute, although you have to like the half sleeve feel.
Amethyst
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Jul 28, 2014

N/A

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This was a replacement dress. Unfortunately RTR sent the wrong size initially so the correct size didn't arrive in time. I did try it on though and it fit quit snug in the hips. You may need to size up if you're curvy.
girlygirl
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 29, 2014

Very easy and comfortable to wear

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this to an Indian wedding since they typically wear lots of bright colors. The color is a little more neon orange/red than I was expecting, but the fabric had a little sheen to it which makes it feel more fancy/luxe. Very easy to dance in
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×