Milly

Emerald Valentin Dress

$85 rental
$355 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Grab those dancing shoes and wear this sassy Milly exclusive style to Rent the Runway for your cocktail party! To amp up your look go with the Dannijo's Bea Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a strapless bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with adjustable tie belt
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted on hips and backside - may be more fitted on full hips so consider sizing up in back-up size
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Emerald silk(100% silk). One shoulder neckline with ruffle shoulder. Sash tie at waist. 35'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
69 reviews
Fit
Large
(6)
True to Size
(46)
Small
(17)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
December 27, 2011
Comfortable
Comfortable and easy- I loved this dress!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
September 12, 2012
Great dress, absolutely loved the color. Easy to wear and very comfortable.
Good if you are busty, a little snug in the hips area.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 14, 2012
A beautiful dress. I ordered this as a back-up and did not wear it (but I loved it!).
The dress fit true to size, but the belt sat a little high on my torso. Also, the beautiful emerald green was too jewel-toned for an end of the summer wedding, I thought. Very pretty. I may order it again for another occasion!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
September 21, 2012
it was a beautiful dress and i the size 8 was available i would have LOVED it
fab dress but sadly they didnt have a size 8 for the dates i needed so I got a 6 and 10 (the six was a little tight on the bottom and i have small hips) and the ten was too big for me. i have a full bust (36D) and the 6 and 10 each fit it just fine. it is a gorgeous color and i have not doubt that if i had gotten it in an 8 i would have fallen in love with it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
September 25, 2012
A little too short, a little too tight
I was obsessed with this dress when I saw it on RTR, and I planned all of my weekend looks around it. Unfortunately, the dress was a little too short on me (I'm 5'11"), so the sash was tied around my rib cage rather than around my natural waist. I wear a size 10 in almost everything, including other Milly dresses, but the dress was too tight across my hips to be appropriate for a wedding. Aside from the fit issues, the dress is absolutely gorgeous and would look wonderful on someone just a bit shorter (it probably would have been great for me in a size 12, but I didn't order a back-up size in this one).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 2, 2012
Beautiful Color.
Runs a bit small in hips. Very beautiful emerald color and the belt really makes this dress fit perfectly.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
October 3, 2012
Great dres!! Wore it for my rehearsal dinner!
It was such a great color. Wore it with nude heels and minimal jewelry. I wore the 0, and the armhole was a little low on me, but that could be because of my small chest size. Hips fit well, may be a bit tight, but overall I LOVED it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115lbs
October 3, 2012
Perfect for New Year's Eve!
I loved the fit of this dress. It was comfy and pretty which is a rare combination. I rented the 4 and 6 and went with the 4. It hugged me a little better and stayed up on the strapless side of the dress. Only required a little fashion tape to keep it up. I'm rather chesty, so this was surprising. The 6 would've been a disaster. Paired it with gold accessories and emerald earrings which also worked out great. I wish it had pockets, but that's about it. I will use rent the runway again for sure!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
October 6, 2012
Gorgeous color and COMFORTABLE!
I was nervous as this was my first rental from RTR and I was arriving home from my honeymoon and heading immediately to another wedding. I wasn't sure what to expect but there wasn't much room for error! I am normally a 2, sometimes a 4 and the 2 fit me. It was a little tight in the hips but I am a little wider in the hips so that makes sense. The only downside was that there were little pulls all over the dress. I'm sure this particular style has been rented frequently since it is such a great dress, but it did take away from the experience a little. That is the only reason I didn't rate it 5 stars! I will be renting again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
October 26, 2012
beautiful and elegant!
wore this to a fraternity formal, and loved it. It was really simple could wear a nomral strapless bra, and didnt need spanx or anything. LOVED IT. comfortable and simple. looks just like it does in person as it photographs
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 18, 2012
RTR refunded the money. RTR is great to work with!
very pretty dress, but i couldn't wear it to the banquet. i have a big butt and thighs so the dress was too tight for me. it was sad because the top fit perfectly, but i've been blessed (and cursed) with curvy bottom.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 9, 2013
Didn't wear the dress.
This dress runs SO small. I am almost ALWAYS a 4 in dresses, no matter where they are from so I thought I'd be totally safe with a 4 and a 6. Neither of the size fit at all and the fabric has zero give to it. Really pretty dress, but what a disappointment!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
November 3, 2011
I unfortunately wasn't able to wear this dress due to the fact that the hips were too tight. Liked the material though.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136lbs
November 4, 2011
This dress was so cute, but the fit was very awkward. I ordered a 4 and a 6 based on what my stylist online had suggested. I have a large bust (32DD) and also slightly wider hips. I can't figure out how anyone could actually wear this dress, b/c if it fit me in the top it was too tight in the hips. The 6 was still a bit snug in the hips and huge on top! Overall it was just a poor fit for my body and I had to send it back. I think this dress would only work well for a narrow or athletic body that had a large bust and slender hips.... However, the color was gorgeous!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
November 10, 2011
I adored my accessories- they totally made the outfit!
Overall, I think this fit was pretty easy breezy. I also thought the color was beautiful. I would agree that it runs a bit narrow in the hip and a bit big in the bust- it's definitely well suited for a bigger bust. Being a 34B myself , I just wore a push up bra to help fill it out!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
November 20, 2011
-
loved the dress. agree with other reviewers though, the hips are a bit small!! I had some trouble sitting without the dress feeling like it might split in the sides. I'm a pretty standard size 6 though with a large bust, 5'1 about 140 lbs and although the hips were a tiny bit tight, it was still a great rental and as always great service. I rented a gorgeous pair or earrings too seen in the photo.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
November 21, 2011
perfect
Got tons of compliments on this dress! The color is gorgeous and the style is beautiful. Wish I could have kept it for myself!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
November 22, 2011
Loved It!
I rented this dress mainly for the color, but I loved it and got a ton of compliments! Yes, the bust was a bit big and the hips a bit tight, but it worked fine. I would definetly wear it again!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
November 22, 2011
Beautiful but fabric too thin
I'm 5'5,130 lbs, and I wear a 34 C bra. I always wear a size 2 in every dress I've rented, and this one runs very true to size. Although I was warned that the dress runs narrow through the hips and thighs, I too am narrow in that area, so it worked for me! However, I have to agree with the comments above that the material of the dress is rather thin and cheapy feeling. Sadly, when I recieved mine, the size 2 had snags everywhere in the silky fabric, and the 4 was just a little too big. Also, for my particular body shape, the belt hit in the wrong area, and I would have had to wear a belt of my own to make it work.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Body type: Straight & narrow
November 22, 2011
Amazing color
I rented this dress for a recent wedding. The color is amazing -- a rich hue and i got a lot of compliments on it. Even though it fit fine, it was very tight through the hips/butt when i was sitting (i even worried sometimes as i was sitting down that it could rip) so if the dress is really snug on you, you could have issues. it arrived quite wrinkled as the material is thin as others have noted, but nothing that a very steamy bathroom couldnt largely fix thankfully as i didnt have time to have it steamed before i needed to wear it. Would be a great holiday party dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
November 30, 2011
First time to the midwest!
I wore this dress to a November wedding in Cincinnati and I loved the dress. It was a teeny bit snug in the hips/ butt area, but the rest of the dress fit perfectly. I loved the detailing on the shoulder and it was the perfect length for me (I'm short).
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
December 2, 2011
All the compliments I got all night and feeling fabulous in a dress I didn't have to dry clean the next day or feel bad how much I spent on it.
Loved it and would actually rent it again. There's two layers and neither bunched or were awkward. The fabric was very wrinkle resistant. Length was perfect. Definitely looked better with hair up to show off the dress. I'm curvy and it complimented my body type very nicely and I felt very confident. I got so many compliments from strangers and felt everyone's eyes on me all night- as if they were wondering who I was. Hehe, it felt really good.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
December 5, 2011
Nice dress, Pretty Color
This was my back-up dress so I didn't wear it, but did try it on. The material is very thin and the hem at the bottom seemed a little sloppy. The dress fit well and I really liked the color. The color would look great on anyone. The ruffles on the shoulder are arranged so that it would frame a necklace (like the one the model is wearing). I would highly recommend wearing a necklace with this dress as I felt the dress was incomplete without it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 127lbs
December 10, 2011
Huge in chest, tight in hips
This dress was actually my back up dress and I loved the color and hoped to wear it instead of my originally ordered dress. It was, however, very oddly sized. I have a large chest and had so much fabric to work with I felt like I was swimming in the top. It was quite loose across the back and in the front so much that it fell far below my undergarment. The hips of the dress (in a size 6, my "normal" size) were quite snug. Ultimately, on my curvy figure, I could neither fill out the top enough to warrant the size, nor could I afford to modify down a size for the chest in order to fit the hip area. All together a stunning color, but it seems a difficult fit for many figures.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 136lbs
December 12, 2011
Gorgeous color!
I am usually smack in the middle of a 4 and a 6 (I'm small on top but have hips!). I've previously rented Milly dresses and worn the 4. However, this time I had to wear the 6. The 4 would have worked with Spanx but I wanted to be comfy!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150lbs
December 14, 2011
Great easy dress!
I felt festive and comfortable - wore with leggings and stillettos... very comfortable and elegant - I'd rent it again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
December 21, 2011
Small in the hips
This dress is a gorgeous color but runs VERY small in the hips. I usually wear a size 6 and this dress was way way too tight. I would definitely order a size (or 2) up in this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
January 8, 2012
New Years Eve Choice
This dress is prettier than I even expected. I wore it with black stockings for a New Years even formal event and felt very pretty. The shoulder is pretty and not puffy in anyway. FYI the diagonal neckline is pretty high up (you can tell on the model), unlike other one shoulder dresses. The hips were a little bit of a snug fit, I never even tried on the larger size but it might have worked a bit better (especially after a few champagnes!) The emerald is a nice change from the sea of black and reds.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
January 8, 2012
Very Narrow in the Hips
This was my first choice to wear. Very pretty dress. Fantastic color. Unfortunately I didn't end up wearing it because it was very narrow in the hips and thighs. Thankful for my backup dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
February 4, 2012
Pretty!, not for those w/ hips
First, can I just say that this dress is beautiful in person and the color is perfect or any occasion, honestly. It fit perfectly on top and through the stomach but it barely got over my butt. I wish it would have worked out, it was perfect (Ordered it with the Super Sexy Cuff, works great with the color p.s). Customer service is very helpful and prompt when telling them about the fit problem, unfortunately I couldn't get a replacement in time, but it was worked out. Overall, I wouldn't recommend this for girls with big hips or butt, but would recommend this times ten if that's not a problem area.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Body type: Petite
February 5, 2012
The color was perfect
I absolutely loved the green color of this dress. I'm a natural redhead, and I got lots of compliments about how the color looked with my hair. I wore a size 0, and it fit, but I agree with the other reviewers that it is tighter in the butt area. I'd say it's better for people who don't have really great curves. Overall, I loved it and wish I could buy it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 15, 2012
fun dress with great color
I really liked this dress. I ordered the two and the four. I have worn 4s in the past but i wore the 2 this time and there wasn't much size difference. As other reviews say, it was a little snug about the hips which made it a little hard to sit and dance for a long time, but overall it was a fun dress and i got lots of complements on it. Wore it without stockings, a black peacoat and nude/gold shoes
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
February 16, 2012
great dress, beautiful color
This dress definitely draws attention! Gorgeous emerald color and nice soft silky fabric. i was able to wear a strapless body shaper under it since it's not cut too low in the front or back. only thing is the belt, which if you have a butt, tends to unavoidably fold in the back and not remain smooth like in the picture. But that's ok, still a very cute fun dress.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Body type: Pear
March 20, 2012
The shipping was so fast! I like how easy it was to mail the dress back.
I wore this dress to my sorority's spring formal and it was perfect! It fit so well. I am smaller up top, with larger hips and it was a perfect fit. I was a little worried the bottom would be too tight but it was perfect. The color is absolutely beautiful and photographs really well. I got so many compliments on it all night! My only concern was that the belt loops for the sash were a tad high. I wish they were an inch or two lower so that they would fall right on my waist, but it didn't end up being a problem at all. Would DEFINITELY recommend this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
May 13, 2012
Great dress!
I wore this to a holiday dinner in the city and it was fantastic. Fit was great, it was fun and easy to wear, highly recommend it!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Pear
Weight: 154lbs
June 12, 2012
It was fast and easy - they shipped it directly to my hotel out of town and I got it in perfect condition just in time for my event!
I rented the 6 and 10 as my backup size (I really needed the 8, but it was unavailable) for a wedding - the 6 fit, but was smaller in the booty/hip area, so I sized up to the 10 to hide my postpartum baby bump, which worked because I could cinch in the waist with the belt (was a little small on top, but it was ok). I loved the rich emerald color and the great fabric - got compliments all night. I loved the mystery bling kate spade bangle bracelet - it was beautiful and I wanted to keep it so badly!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Body type: Petite
June 19, 2012
my boyfriend
The color they show for this dress is really drab... This actual dress is a very pretty green. It wrinkles very easy.. After sitting through a ceremony I had crease lines everywhere the dress folded, such as on my lap area. The wrinkles are very noticeable which bummed me out. There is NO stretch to this dress at all what so ever. I noticed that the seams from the dress were stretched from the previous rental. All in all beautiful dress...
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 129lbs
July 6, 2012
So Classy!
This dress felt so wonderful on my body! I rented the 6 and the 4, and ended up going with the 4, because it felt great. I have larger thighs (in my mind, possibly) but they looked great under the loose, skin-skimming emerald dress. I wore with nude pumps to elongate my legs and it looked great! The fabric is a little different than I had imagined (not your typical super-shiny, cheep silk material) but I liked that. It felt classier with a muted shine, if that makes sense. Unfortunately the only photos I have of this dress are of me sitting at a table (which doesn't help for you ladies interested in renting), but I promise I will update the next rental with a photo.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
July 27, 2012
Odd construction
I got a size 4 and 6. The fabric and color were very beautiful, however I did have fit issues. The 4 fit well, however the bust seam was a little strange, like an outpouching that was sticking out awkwardly at the breast, if you can imagine. There was no way for me to hide it or cover it up. The size 6 was fine at the bust, but the bottom half fit even tighter than the 4! So much so that it made the fabric in the stomach area pooch out. So disappointed that it didn't fit, but because of the awesome return policy from RTR, I'll be sure to try another dress soon!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
August 15, 2012
Super chic, great color
This color was flattering on my skin and I loved the length! It also has a great nipped in waist to flatter your figure.
See more reviews:
1 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×