You are masquerading as ! (switch back)
| REVIEWS |
 
| MY BAG
 

FREE SHIPPING + INSURANCE
What's this?

Rent like a PRO all year long! One year of
free shipping & insurance. Plus, we'll throw in
a free birthday dress. Learn More

Our Runway
What's New
Dresses
Accessories
Occasions
Designers
Stores
Blog
Emerald Valentin Dress
Rental $85 Retail $355
info
  • Stylist Notes
  • Product Details
  • Size & Fit
Grab those dancing shoes and wear this sassy Milly exclusive style to Rent the Runway for your cocktail party! To amp up your look go with the Dannijo's Bea Necklace.
Chat with a Stylist
Emerald silk(100% silk). One shoulder neckline with ruffle shoulder. Sash tie at waist. 35'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.
Chat with a Stylist
This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a strapless bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with adjustable tie belt
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted on hips and backside - may be more fitted on full hips so consider sizing up in back-up size
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Chat with a Stylist
This style is currently unavailable.
Shop all dresses
Got A Minute? Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Photos19

0 Reviews from women like you:

Enter more for better results

Beth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 124 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3532
Aug 20, 2012
Pretty but cheap-ish.
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wore this to an awards gala and I was so excited about it. Once I got it I liked how it looked on me, but the fabric was not what I expected. It has a strange texture that makes it look almost cheap. There were also several small snags in it, but not too noticeable. A little tight on the bottom but I'm used to that, I have hips. Overall I was happy with the dress but I wouldn't rent it again
Morin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Canonical User Type: 7434
Aug 15, 2012
Super chic, great color
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This color was flattering on my skin and I loved the length! It also has a great nipped in waist to flatter your figure.
Tracy
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4524
Jul 27, 2012
Odd construction
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I got a size 4 and 6. The fabric and color were very beautiful, however I did have fit issues. The 4 fit well, however the bust seam was a little strange, like an outpouching that was sticking out awkwardly at the breast, if you can imagine. There was no way for me to hide it or cover it up. The size 6 was fine at the bust, but the bottom half fit even tighter than the 4! So much so that it made the fabric in the stomach area pooch out. So disappointed that it didn't fit, but because of the awesome return policy from RTR, I'll be sure to try another dress soon!
Kasie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 129 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4433
Jul 6, 2012
So Classy!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress felt so wonderful on my body! I rented the 6 and the 4, and ended up going with the 4, because it felt great. I have larger thighs (in my mind, possibly) but they looked great under the loose, skin-skimming emerald dress. I wore with nude pumps to elongate my legs and it looked great! The fabric is a little different than I had imagined (not your typical super-shiny, cheep silk material) but I liked that. It felt classier with a muted shine, if that makes sense. Unfortunately the only photos I have of this dress are of me sitting at a table (which doesn't help for you ladies interested in renting), but I promise I will update the next rental with a photo.
kimberly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4534
May 13, 2012
Great dress!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this to a holiday dinner in the city and it was fantastic. Fit was great, it was fun and easy to wear, highly recommend it!
Tora
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2533
Mar 12, 2012
Fun, flirty and sophisticated!
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It was true to size, and an easy fit considering its supposed to be worn loose. I am 5' 7" and it ended nicely on my legs - not too short, not too long.
Natalija
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3533
Feb 20, 2012
Glamorous and versatile
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
One thing to realize right off the bat is that the hem is on a slight bias, other than that the picture does the dress justice. The color and fit were stunning, and I received many compliments. I opted out of wearing the sash and put on a pewter belt to cinch it together, it fit beautifully and it was forgiving after a large meal.
SuzieQ
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 7541
Feb 16, 2012
great dress, beautiful color
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress definitely draws attention! Gorgeous emerald color and nice soft silky fabric. i was able to wear a strapless body shaper under it since it's not cut too low in the front or back. only thing is the belt, which if you have a butt, tends to unavoidably fold in the back and not remain smooth like in the picture. But that's ok, still a very cute fun dress.
ves
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 7333
Feb 4, 2012
Pretty!, not for those w/ hips
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
First, can I just say that this dress is beautiful in person and the color is perfect or any occasion, honestly. It fit perfectly on top and through the stomach but it barely got over my butt. I wish it would have worked out, it was perfect (Ordered it with the Super Sexy Cuff, works great with the color p.s). Customer service is very helpful and prompt when telling them about the fit problem, unfortunately I couldn't get a replacement in time, but it was worked out. Overall, I wouldn't recommend this for girls with big hips or butt, but would recommend this times ten if that's not a problem area.
Kaitlin
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 8423
Jan 8, 2012
Very Narrow in the Hips
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This was my first choice to wear. Very pretty dress. Fantastic color. Unfortunately I didn't end up wearing it because it was very narrow in the hips and thighs. Thankful for my backup dress!
Shan's
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 4423
Jan 8, 2012
New Years Eve Choice
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is prettier than I even expected. I wore it with black stockings for a New Years even formal event and felt very pretty. The shoulder is pretty and not puffy in anyway. FYI the diagonal neckline is pretty high up (you can tell on the model), unlike other one shoulder dresses. The hips were a little bit of a snug fit, I never even tried on the larger size but it might have worked a bit better (especially after a few champagnes!) The emerald is a nice change from the sea of black and reds.
Christen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 2432
Dec 27, 2011
Comfortable
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Comfortable and easy- I loved this dress!
rjbrew
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 6533
Dec 21, 2011
Small in the hips
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress is a gorgeous color but runs VERY small in the hips. I usually wear a size 6 and this dress was way way too tight. I would definitely order a size (or 2) up in this dress.
Elaine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6633
Dec 14, 2011
Great easy dress!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I felt festive and comfortable - wore with leggings and stillettos... very comfortable and elegant - I'd rent it again!
Lexi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 129 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4433
Dec 12, 2011
Gorgeous color!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I am usually smack in the middle of a 4 and a 6 (I'm small on top but have hips!). I've previously rented Milly dresses and worn the 4. However, this time I had to wear the 6. The 4 would have worked with Spanx but I wanted to be comfy!
Mary Catherine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 127 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5534
Dec 10, 2011
Huge in chest, tight in hips
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This dress was actually my back up dress and I loved the color and hoped to wear it instead of my originally ordered dress. It was, however, very oddly sized. I have a large chest and had so much fabric to work with I felt like I was swimming in the top. It was quite loose across the back and in the front so much that it fell far below my undergarment. The hips of the dress (in a size 6, my "normal" size) were quite snug. Ultimately, on my curvy figure, I could neither fill out the top enough to warrant the size, nor could I afford to modify down a size for the chest in order to fit the hip area. All together a stunning color, but it seems a difficult fit for many figures.
erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 2422
Dec 7, 2011
perfect for cocktail party.
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Rented the dress for a christmas cocktail party. It was perfect. The dress is the most gorgeous shade of green and it fit reallyreally well. I'm 5'2"/105 lbs and the size 0 worked out great!
CB
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4433
Dec 5, 2011
Nice dress, Pretty Color
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was my back-up dress so I didn't wear it, but did try it on. The material is very thin and the hem at the bottom seemed a little sloppy. The dress fit well and I really liked the color. The color would look great on anyone. The ruffles on the shoulder are arranged so that it would frame a necklace (like the one the model is wearing). I would highly recommend wearing a necklace with this dress as I felt the dress was incomplete without it.
Meg
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Body type: Straight & narrow
Canonical User Type: 2531
Nov 22, 2011
Amazing color
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a recent wedding. The color is amazing -- a rich hue and i got a lot of compliments on it. Even though it fit fine, it was very tight through the hips/butt when i was sitting (i even worried sometimes as i was sitting down that it could rip) so if the dress is really snug on you, you could have issues. it arrived quite wrinkled as the material is thin as others have noted, but nothing that a very steamy bathroom couldnt largely fix thankfully as i didnt have time to have it steamed before i needed to wear it. Would be a great holiday party dress!
Christen
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3433
Nov 22, 2011
Beautiful but fabric too thin
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I'm 5'5,130 lbs, and I wear a 34 C bra. I always wear a size 2 in every dress I've rented, and this one runs very true to size. Although I was warned that the dress runs narrow through the hips and thighs, I too am narrow in that area, so it worked for me! However, I have to agree with the comments above that the material of the dress is rather thin and cheapy feeling. Sadly, when I recieved mine, the size 2 had snags everywhere in the silky fabric, and the 4 was just a little too big. Also, for my particular body shape, the belt hit in the wrong area, and I would have had to wear a belt of my own to make it work.
Taryn
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 17
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3232
Nov 22, 2011
Loved It!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress mainly for the color, but I loved it and got a ton of compliments! Yes, the bust was a bit big and the hips a bit tight, but it worked fine. I would definetly wear it again!
Mel
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3543
Nov 21, 2011
perfect
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Got tons of compliments on this dress! The color is gorgeous and the style is beautiful. Wish I could have kept it for myself!
EllMS
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5434
Nov 4, 2011
Overall fit: Small
This dress was so cute, but the fit was very awkward. I ordered a 4 and a 6 based on what my stylist online had suggested. I have a large bust (32DD) and also slightly wider hips. I can't figure out how anyone could actually wear this dress, b/c if it fit me in the top it was too tight in the hips. The 6 was still a bit snug in the hips and huge on top! Overall it was just a poor fit for my body and I had to send it back. I think this dress would only work well for a narrow or athletic body that had a large bust and slender hips.... However, the color was gorgeous!
brittyb224
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 1441
Nov 3, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
I unfortunately wasn't able to wear this dress due to the fact that the hips were too tight. Liked the material though.
Tess
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2423
Nov 3, 2011
Beautiful and Fun!
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress but I had a few qualms with it. I'm 5'1 and very small but I have a big butt and thighs. This dress was very big on the top and hugged the hips tight. Since the next size up was just way too baggy, so I kept feeling like I was going to rip the skirt. Also I had to substitute the belt to actually show off my waist. The belt that came with it just didn't cinch it right or the low lay the way I liked.
Janine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2421
Oct 24, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
I rented this dress for a last minute cocktail event. The fit is very forgiving; I rented it knowing I would need something that would fit, given my time crunch, and this was the right dress for that. It runs pretty true to size, maybe a little narrow in the hips. I am 5'1", 105 lbs and the 0 fit perfectly, but I was swimming in the 2 (my backup size). The only thing I didn't like was the quality of the fabric, which seemed on the thing side. Maybe since this is a Milly "made for RTR" dress, the quality was not as high as other dresses I've rented. Overall though, a great dress, loved the color and very comfy.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×
×
Save at least $14.95 on every order and rent like a pro all year long. Details
  • free shipping
  • free insurance
  • free birthday dress