Black Lace Combo Dress

$56 to buy
$380 retail
Stylist Notes

This girly Milly frock features geometric lace for a feminine update to a mod-inspired style. Simple add the Whiting & Davis' Black Mesh Glam Clutch to complete this look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size- fuller busted women should consider sizing up in backup due to high neckline
WAIST: Very fitted - Fitted at natural waist with bow belt
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow- curvier women should consider sizing up for length
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and SPANX to cinch in waist, hips, and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size- fuller busted women should consider sizing up in backup due to high neckline
WAIST: Very fitted - Fitted at natural waist with bow belt
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow- curvier women should consider sizing up for length
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and SPANX to cinch in waist, hips, and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Gold metallic brocade with black scallop lace overlay. Boat neckline. Back open slit with button closure. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 30'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
359 reviews
Fit
Large
(6)
True to Size
(222)
Small
(128)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
September 17, 2010
This dress is dainty & elegant, gave me a nice hourglass silhouette. It hit high on my leg, fine while I was standing, a touch tricky getting into cab
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
September 20, 2010
Beautiful dress, fits true to size. Elegant and comfortable.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 119lbs
September 27, 2010
Beautiful dress, true to size. Very elegant and lady-like; i got plenty of compliments. Be warned- it does run kind of short; not a huge problem for me since I'm also short, but walking up stairs was a bit tricky :)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
October 4, 2010
This dress was perfect for a rehearsal dinner.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
October 15, 2010
I know others say True to Size, but it was a bit snug on me, perhaps b/c I am a pear. Had to wear the larger size - and even that was close! It was lovely & I received many compliments, but it was a little big on top and snug on bottom. I still recommend though!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Body type: Petite
November 1, 2010
Great dress, a comfortable fit all around. You can wear with or without the bow belt.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
November 1, 2010
Beautiful dress, very flattering. I was slightly surprised by the length, it was slightly shorter than I expected and I wasn't planning on wearing with tights. I rented for a work event so I was probably slightly more sensitive that normal. Overall I would definitely rent again!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Body type: Athletic
November 16, 2010
I am a size 4 and ordered my size as well as the size 6. The size 4 fit perfectly but I wore the size 6 to be a bit more modest at a church wedding. This dress is adorable, the perfect length (NOT too short as indicated by many of the reviews I read) and I received so many compliments. I would highly recommend!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 51
Body type: Petite
November 17, 2010
This dress was a great pick for the recent fundraiser I attended. It really stood out among all the sea of black dresses in the room. I'm just shy of 5'4", 118 lbs and wore the size 2. I could have worn the Size 0 if I wanted a more sexy, fitted look but overall I was happy with the fit of the dress. Lots of compliments!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
November 17, 2010
The fit was perfect, the fabric was super comfortable, and I felt fabulous in it.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 22, 2010
I wore this to a night time wedding in November and received so many compliments. It fit perfectly and gave me a nice shape
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Body type: Straight & narrow
December 17, 2010
Gorgeous dress- extremely fitting for the holiday season. Bow belt is removable and color is as pictured. Was too short for me (5'8") without tights, but looked great with them!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Body type: Straight & narrow
December 19, 2010
I paired this dress with some black tights to wear to a cold November wedding in the Midwest. I wanted to rent it again for New Year's but took too many cute pics and luck would have it, i"ll be with the same group of friends. Would definitely consider renting it again for future events! Can be worn any time of the year. Fit perfect and I loved the length...I didn't think it was too short and had platform heels on. The detail in the dress is amazing!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
December 20, 2010
Awesome dress, very elegant. It is a little short, but paired with tights I didn't feel uncomfortable at all. Wore it to a work holiday party and got lots of compliments. I was sad to send it back!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Body type: Petite
December 20, 2010
A showstopper! Perfect dress for winter wedding or holiday party. Very elegant, can wear anywhere. It fit perfectly. The belt was a bit loose, but you can use the tape to make it tighter. Very flattering.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
December 22, 2010
Too short for me (I am 5'11") but overall a cute dress. I find Milly runs tight in the hips and bigger on top which can be tricky.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
December 25, 2010
Loved it and got a ton of compliments! The waist was a bit big and therefore so was the bow belt--but did not ruin the look at all. I did a size 0.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
December 27, 2010
I loved the dress. The only issue that I can comment on is the tweed fabric on the gold rubbed against my underarms. The fabric was quite itchy underneath the arms. I would recommend wearing the dress as they did on the runway, with a long sleeve black shirt.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 28, 2010
I wore this dress to a holiday party & got so many compliments on it! Gorgeous dress. I am 5'7", 120 pounds, and I ordered a size 4 (one size up than normal, because I was concerned about it being too short). The length was perfect! It was big in the waist (but most dresses are on me) and the belt was way too big (but I made it work with a safety pin). It fit everywhere else, however. I am so glad I rented this dress though - it's lovely!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
January 2, 2011
New Years in this dress can't be beat! Until next year...
I wore this dress for a New Years party and it was perfect! I have D boobs and a bit of a belly, but the dress fit beautifully. Milly runs small in general, so I usually wear a size 8 but actually had to get a 12. The 12 was a little lose for me up top, but fit the rest of my body well. You can also take the belt off, which I did, and it still looks great. I would definitely recommend this dress!
CharmeishaApril 19, 2012
you sized up form a 8 to a 12-so would you recommend I try a 4 with a backup of a 8 or a 6?i'm a 34D &5'2 so not far from you
AnneMay 25, 2012
Should have listened to you. I'm also usually an 8 and ordered an 8 and a 10. Even the 10 was too snug, so 2 sizes up would have been perfect. Definitely missed out by not going up 2 sizes and didn't get to wear the dress. :(
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
January 4, 2011
Perfect for New Years!
Stunning for New Years! This dress runs exactly like a Milly. This was my first RTR experience and the only thing I was disappointed with was that the zero (which was my size I picked) the bow was unglued and the lace was coming off at the top. Luckily I preferred how the 2 fit and there were no issues with the condition of that dress. I just would have preferred if both dresses had been in better condition. Overall though I was impressed with the RTR experience.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 195lbs
January 18, 2011
This dress is even more gorgeous in person than in pictures, but it was WAY too short - even with tights. Luckily I rented a backup after reading the reviews. If you are shorter, I would highly recommend renting this dress!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 110lbs
January 27, 2011
Got so many compliments on my dress all night long!
Wore this to a work party and received countless compliments! I wore a size 4 but luckily had the size 2 bow belt to use otherwise it would have been too big. The only possible negative thing I have to say about it is, if you have poor posture the neckline tends to bunch. Other than that I absolutely adored this dress. I was super sad to have to send it back the next day!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
February 7, 2011
I felt gorgeous and I had a great time!
LOVED this dress! So many compliments and so easy to rent!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 4
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
February 26, 2011
I got two sizes and had to wear the smaller size as it ran a bit big in the shoulder/chest area (and I wear a 34 D. Dress was a great length even for a super short gal. Wore it for my work xmas party and it was perfect.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Body type: Straight & narrow
February 27, 2011
I absolutly LOVED this dress!! I wore it to a auction and dinner and received many compliments. I did find that the side zipper was a little tough to zip past the waist, but other than that the dress was a huge HIT with me and would definitly rent again!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
March 6, 2011
This was my first RTR dress. I usually wear a size 4 but I had to go with one size up because it was a little snug on the hip. Since the top is covered, you couldn't tell it was a little loose on top. I wore it at at a birthday party and I have never gotten so many compliments in my life. I felt so classy and sexy at the same time. It was the perfect dress and I would rent it again.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 8, 2011
LOVED this dress. Wore it to a company Christmas party with opaque black tights. Usually I wear a 6 and that would have been fine, but we were dancing too so I wore the 8 so that I'd have a little more room to move around. Got lots of compliments!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
March 15, 2011
I recently wore this dress to a wedding. It was a great choice because it is still a winter dress, however because it's sleeveless it kept me cool. (I think late winter dresses are hard to dress for!) The dress fit really well. This was my first rent the runway experience and I was nervous because I have a big bust (34D) and I am small in the waist. I rented the 4 and the 6, but the 4 fit perfectly! Great dress for busty girls who want to minimize their chest. The dress is very elegant and I received a lot of compliments on the dress. I chose not to wear the belt because it was a little big. The dress is a bit short so be careful getting out of vehicles and sitting. I will definitely rent again!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
April 30, 2011
Very classy dress. I wore it at my brother's wedding and everyone complimented how lovely the dress was. very elegant.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
May 7, 2011
Wore to a rehearsal dinner
really loved this dress. i am 5'2 and about 125lbs and i ended up wearing the size 6 dress (the size 4 was too small around the bottom). received so many complements!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
May 23, 2011
This is a great dress, just a bit tricky getting in and out of cars! The belt was a bit loose and needed a safety pin.
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
May 31, 2011
I rented the dress for a friends wedding and got so many compliments on it. It is a wonderful dress to wear and looks great in person. I have a full chest and went up a size to accommodate that, but all in all I would highly recommend this rental.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
June 18, 2011
Cute dress, but it was way shorter than I expected it to be. It looked great in photos, but it was tough to wear (tight/itchy fabric). It was fun to wear once, but I wouldn't order it again.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
July 5, 2011
I loved this dress! I wore it to a wedding and got lots of compliments on it. The bow sash is way too big to stay on the waist, so I wore the dress without it, which worked fine. Highly recommend!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
July 25, 2011
Loved this dress! I got so many compliments. I liked it a million times better in person. The gold is not flashy -- it is just enough and very elegant. Definitely flattering, but a bit short for me (many dresses are because I'm tall). I wore it in the winter with black opaque stockings, which helped me to be less self conscious.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
August 5, 2011
gorgeous dress -- wish i owned it!
LOVED this dress, and I got so many compliments on it. It was a little short, which made for a nice contrast with the conservative neckline.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
February 18, 2011
Fabulous little party dress. As always, great fit from Milly.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
August 24, 2011
I was pretty happy with my first RTR experience renting this Milly dress. I appreciated getting two dress sizes, because the bigger size fit me better. I had to use the smaller size's bow belt, though, because the belt that came with my size was too loose. The dress had all the marks of a higher end garment (underlining, nicer materials, didn't wrinkle, good quality zippers/fasteners, etc.) I got compliments on the dress and it was very appropriate for the occasion. The only bummer is that the smaller size version of this dress arrived smelling faintly of cigarette smoke. I wish RTR will take all smokey smelling dresses out of rotation. If I rent again and continue to smell smoke on the garments, I probably won't rent anymore.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 58
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 109lbs
August 30, 2011
This is a pretty dress for the right person, but not for me - probably because it was a little young for me and didn't suit my figure. The smaller size looked a little too small and short for me and the larger size was too roomy and a bit dumpy on me. I think it was more that it didn't suit my body because it is a very pretty, well made dress.
See more reviews:
1 / 9

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×