Black Lace Combo Dress

$56 to buy
$380 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This girly Milly frock features geometric lace for a feminine update to a mod-inspired style. Simple add the Whiting & Davis' Black Mesh Glam Clutch to complete this look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size- fuller busted women should consider sizing up in backup due to high neckline
WAIST: Very fitted - Fitted at natural waist with bow belt
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow- curvier women should consider sizing up for length
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and SPANX to cinch in waist, hips, and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size- fuller busted women should consider sizing up in backup due to high neckline
WAIST: Very fitted - Fitted at natural waist with bow belt
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow- curvier women should consider sizing up for length
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and SPANX to cinch in waist, hips, and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Gold metallic brocade with black scallop lace overlay. Boat neckline. Back open slit with button closure. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 30'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
359 reviews
Fit
Large6
True to Size222
Small128
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
January 25, 2016
Liked the dress but runs on the small side.
Ran small from other dresses but still liked the dress
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 180lbs
June 18, 2015
Photographs well but awkward cut
dress was not flattering for my chest, I was able to zip it up but it squashed my girls into a weird shape. Material was not very yielding. And scratchy to the touch. Did not end up wearing it out.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
May 29, 2015
It was the perfect amount of sparkle for a December wedding.
Great in pictures, great for dancing. A very pretty silhouette and it was really comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 195lbs
March 5, 2015
Not a great fit for larger sizes.
This is a cute dress but I am a size 12 with also a large bust. So it ended up looking awkward on my frame. I'm sure it'll look cute on a smaller female.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117lbs
January 21, 2015
Loved the whole experience. The dress was beautiful!
Loved the dress. Many reviews said it fits small but the 0 fit me perfectly. It is a great dress if you are short (I am 5'2") and the dress was a perfect length on me. It was a couple inches above my knee. Got lots of compliments on the dress!! I will def rent from Rent the Runway again. Great experience overall.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 12, 2015
Amazing doesn't begin to describe this dress!
I scoped this dress out 2 months ago and knew it was perfect for the winter wedding I attended! I ordered sizes 6 and 10 because the 8 was not in stock for that weekend. I usually run between a 6 and 8 depending on stretch of the dress, which this doesn't have much of and is true to size! However, I was able to wear the 6 comfortably. I have hips, so the dress was a tad tight in that area, but I was still able to sit and dance without issue. I paired it with black tights because I didn't want to be cold, but the dress was short so I wanted to look presentable. This dress outshines itself so minimal jewelry is good, so I wore gold studded earrings and nude shoes. I received over a dozen compliments throughout the night and from the bride! I did not want to return this dress, I wish I could have kept it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
December 20, 2014
It was very easy to rent from and the two size options made it extremely convenient
This was a beautiful and unique dress. I absolutely loved it. A little snug around the hips but it still fit. I'm usually between a 4 or a 6 and wore the 6. I got a lot of compliments on this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
December 15, 2014
Sparkly and fun for a fall/winter wedding.
I usually wear a four, but the four was pretty short for a church wedding. The six fit well, but the lining was showing so I did have to use sewing tape to keep parts of it hidden.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
December 10, 2014
Gorgeous!
This dress is fantastic. I received so many compliments at my work Christmas Party. A fellow renter even commented that she wanted to rent this dress after seeing it in person. I am typically a size 10, to fit my upper body (large shoulders), this dress fit perfectly and the length was great. It has so much more pop in person that it does on the website or in pictures. Will definitely be renting again if I have another winter event to attend!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Age: 30
December 9, 2014
Awesome dress!
Dress was a bit small in chest are so I sized up. It was long enough to be comfortable, since I'm tall this is important!! Loved the dress was perfect for my husbands holiday party! Would rent again the whole RTR experience was fantastic!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
December 8, 2014
Great fit, love that it had some sparkle but wasn't too much
I am 105 pounds 5'2 and this dress fit very well. Wasn't too long or baggy. I wore this to my husbands office party in Florida. It was very cute and appropriate for a holiday event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 100lbs
December 6, 2014
Beautiful dress!
I rented this dress for a Thanksgiving party. It was perfect and festive for the event! It fit true to size, and the gold with black is really beautiful and perfect for the holiday time. I would definitely recommend this dress!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 2, 2014
Sorority semi-formal
Very comfortable and super cute! I loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 147lbs
November 10, 2014
Loved the shimmer to this dress !
Dress was even more beautiful in person ! The cons... Iam usually in a size 8, this dress runs extremely Small in the lower half, especially if you are curvy . I had to wear the 12. It was a good fit on the bottom, but a little Lose on the top. Overall I did love the dress, just make sure you order sizes up (:
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
November 5, 2014
Odd shape
I didn't end up wearing this because the arm holes were too small and uncomfortably scratchy next to that glitter; the hips were extremely tight but was baggy everywhere else, even in the bust.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 1, 2014
A little snug in the hips
It was a little snug through the hips but overall it was flattering. I wore to a wedding in an uptown loft that was vintage and eclectic.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
October 25, 2014
Many compliments!
The fit definitely ran small and I had to be careful when sitting but still looked great on! I would definitely recommend ordering your next size up. I wore this to a fall wedding and it worked perfectly.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
October 6, 2014
Great dress for Fall wedding
I ordered this dress for a friends Fall wedding. The material was thick which was good. I think this dress runs a little but small, the 4 was very short and too tight - the fabric has no stretch. The 6 was a little loose in the shoulders but tight over my butt/legs. Overall the 6 fit well. I love RTR and plan to rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
September 30, 2014
Gorgeous dress that made me feel lovely
I wasn't sure about renting this dress because I thought it was going to run long. However it turned out to be a perfect fit. I am about 5'3 and the dress fit snug and short. I loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
September 28, 2014
Fun fall wedding dress!
The dress fit great, but was too short for my comfort. I was concerned about the armpits rubbing being uncomfortable but it didn't bother me at all. The lining of the dress hung out the bottom and I couldn't tell if it was supposed to be that way or not. Overall I was happy with the dress and got a lot of compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
September 26, 2014
Runs very small
i usually wear between a 10 and a 12. but i couldn't even get the 12 zippered on this dress. Much smaller than i expected unfortunately. It was beautiful, wish it fit!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Bust size: 32B
Weight: 117lbs
August 31, 2014
Received compliments on this dress all night!
Dress fit very snug, would maybe select a size 4 next time.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 136lbs
August 24, 2014
comfortable fit + work appropriate
Wore for a work event. Chic, comfortable for dancing, but also appropriate for work occasion! The fabric is beautiful but has no give/stretch in it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 16, 2014
By far my favorite rental!!
Absolutely loved this dress. I wore it for a rehearsal dinner and got tons of compliments! Fit very snug in the waist and hips, even in a 2 (and I usually wear 0), so maybe size up as your backup. It was more sparkly than I was expecting from the pictures, but I still thought it was appropriate. I would most definitely rent this again!!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150lbs
August 13, 2014
Didn't fit!
It was really short and tight. The fit was really off for me!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
August 2, 2014
actually didn't end up wearing
dress was a tad small in the 4 but did fit. it was pretty! irented it as a backup and actually went with the other dress i rented.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
July 21, 2014
Tons of compliments.
True to size fit. Perfect for a winter wedding or holiday affair. Just enough sparkle without being too much. Good for shorter women.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
July 15, 2014
Great print, perfect for a winter cocktail party...fit ideal for tall, slim shapes!
for a cocktail party, the fit was not meant for my 5'2'' frame - it ran very long (a few inches below my knee) and was a big snug around my hips. so cute, but in the end i couldn't make it work.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
July 12, 2014
short!!!!!
way too short!!! I am 5'7 and there is no way I could wear this in public, I returned it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
July 7, 2014
Overall, I had a great time at the wedding, but the dress was somewhat of an unpleasant distraction.
Beautiful dress, but the fit wasn't good. The dress was very snug around the hips, and I had to hike it up a bit to sit down...which was a problem because it is already very short! The black slip was showing an inch at the bottom, which was a little annoying. It also kept riding up, which made it impossible to dance. I do have wide hips and a smaller bust which makes dress shopping difficult, but I typically wear a size 4 or 6, so it seems this dress runs a little small. Additionally, you could tell the dress had been worn a few times, since some of the gold threads were frayed.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
July 5, 2014
Got comments all night about how gorgeous the dress was!
Beautiful dress! Fits tightly in the hips - I usually wear a 2 and the 4 was uncomfortably tight so make sure you order your second size up. Besides that it was the perfect dress for our event. It was a little short when I sat down but I think that is because it was a little small. Would definitely recommend this dress to anyone!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
June 17, 2014
Too small
Tried to wear this for a evening cocktail wedding. However it was too small to even get on definitely go a size or two up
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 170lbs
June 10, 2014
Too small!
I tried this on in the 12 and couldn't even get it on. I'm not exactly a slim 12 but I've never had that issue before (and, in fact, wore another Milly dress in a 12 instead). It's very small and VERY short. That said, the dress itself is beautiful so if you're lean and mean go for it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
June 10, 2014
Wanted this dress to fit but it ran incredibly small so I didn't end up wearing it
Too small
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
June 8, 2014
Great dress, but runs very small
You definitely want to size UP with this dress. I'm normally a 4 or 6, but both sizes were too small. The next size wasn't available when I called, so I had to pick a different dress. The dress was gorgeous, and I would love to rent it again in a bigger size.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Body type: Hourglass
June 4, 2014
very flattering, sparkly!
I rented this for a birthday outing in NYC - snug fit but very flattering - easy to move/dance in, lots of compliments - I didn't need to accessorize much, as the neckline is very sparkly (along with the rest of the dress). You can get away with wearing a regular bra in this, too. I accompanied with black/gold platform shoes. Very lightweight, I would highly recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 29, 2014
Great dress!!
I wore this to a company holiday party! I wanted something a little flashy yet conservative and this hit the mark! It ran true to size and fit great!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
May 20, 2014
Wore this to a "gatsby" wedding, the fun sparkle with black dot overlay way perfect.
This dress fit amazing. It was very flattering, not too tight, not too loose. The sparkle was off set by the black lace dots, so it was perfect for a late fall/gatsby theme wedding. Since there is sparkle in the dress minimal jewelry is required, so it's very easy to wear! I would rent this one again for another formal event!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
May 16, 2014
Compliments all night!
Fantastic dress- first time ever using this system. Wore this the President's Box at a sporting event and had nothing but compliments all evening. (Sorry I don't have a full length photo!) Ordered both a 0 & 2. Size 0 was perfect- I'm 5' 6" and the hem line was exactly where it needed to be. Not to short as to look questionable but just short enough to make my legs look amazing. Paired with black pumps and simple jewelry- a classic look with a hint of pizzazz. My only regret is that I can't wear it for the same function! Totally recommended.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115lbs
May 11, 2014
I loved that this was not the same old little black dress. The gold gave a little pizzaz to it!!
This dress for perfect however it also ran short!!! I'm no prude but would have preferred it to have been a little longer, as I was chaperoning my high school's prom. I got a lot of compliments on this dress!
View photos (2)
See more reviews:
1 / 9

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×